Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Sparks, Chapter 4: Obscurity
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by VampireMaidenPhoenix 

8th August 2012:
Awww, once again, I find Hill just so adorable! I feel terrible that he feels so inadequate around Roxy. Can I keep him, please? I'll take him home and pet and feed him and Hilarion wouldn't have to feel inadequate around me at all. I promise.

The atmosphere that you created in the earlier scenes between Roxy and Perry and the musicians just felt like so much fun, almost festive! I could practically feel the energy on the page, you know? Like, my friends and I don't quite interact in that same way, but it did remind me of just hanging out and chatting and goofing off with my own friends. It was brilliant.

Author's Response: Poor guy, he is a rich, gorgeous, famous athlete and still feels he isn't good enough. He wants to be smart and really just isn't clever or witty. Haha you can take him home, but Lucy might fight you for him ;)

I adored the musicians, so I'm glad you liked them! They're a fun bunch. I love that kind of socializing. And Perry and Roxy should be together, I feel. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Kat1212 

5th July 2012:
I love the idea of hipster wizards! They really make me smile. I'm so glad I finally got to reading this story because I'm loving it so much!

Author's Response: I think of them as hippies/bohemian/grunge combined, but I suppose that's similar to hipsters in a lot of ways. Most of my friends these days are this sort - musicians, sideshow artists, and other belly dancers - so I based Perry's friends on them. I'm glad you're enjoying the story, thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemorefic 

24th March 2012:
Molly is such a wham bam fab. I always adored the prospect of Molly and Lucy being very different but close at the same time. That Percy somehow managed to have very normal children 8D

I love that Lucy's mulling it over so, really getting into her thoughts. She's kind of trying to justify it to herself, and figure out that grey fuzzy line. Roxy might be all right, but let's face it, most of us probably complain more about our cousins than we do praise them xD Omg, trying to explain Roxanne and Hilarion to Percy. Where would she even begin?

Perry or Percy or something LOL oh poor Perry. If he was named Percy. OH OH OH HE WROTE THE VIOLIN SONG. omg are you perfection or are you perfection Perry? Now it just makes me want to shake them. YOU GUYS CAN FEEL A MISSING DRUM BEAT. If that isn't fate covered in chocolate, I don't know what is.

Baww :3 everyone is so cute this chapter. GUH HILARION AND LUCY FOREVER AND THEIR BOOK BONDING. Bawww poor Hilarion with his jokes-that-are-not-jokes and his non-whiskey. I COULD HUG YOU.

-smacks everyone on the head- You are all so love-blind and adorable. ♥

Author's Response: Percy did manage to have normal children, which is both shocking (cause he was a prat as a teen/young adult) and not shocking (cause he was brought up right, as Weasleys do). And remember the girls are in their 20s here, so they're past the silly teenage squabbling. Which I'm sure they had at times haha

Poor Lucy, she's really trying not to do anything "bad" to her cousin over a guy, but she really does like him. And she definitely could not explain the Roxanne crazy crush to her dad!

Hilarion's non-whiskey XD haha. He's totally that guy who orders appletinis cause he doesn't like manly drinks like whiskey and soda. Only more so, cause he only drinks butterbeer. Like a boss.

Perry and Roxanne are totally fate covered in chocolate. And so are Hilarion/Lucy. Love it. Your reviews are making me smile so much :D Love you girl, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Moonyxluna 

8th March 2012:
Alright.. I give up on Roxanne and Hilarion. I want him and Lucy together right now!

I loved all of the tension you wrote with Roxanne and Perry. I've been trying to guess what his full name could possibly be, but I haven't got any clue. He was sweet, trying not to stare at her :) I loved all the detail as well, with the music and the instruments.

The Lucy/Hilarion little break date was just the cutest thing ever. Brilliant work on this! Your writing is so lovely, it always just instantly drags me deep into the story; I love it.

Author's Response: lol - Yep, I think a lot of people gave up at this point and started shipping Hilarion/Lucy and Perry/Roxanne.

You'll get his full name eventually - and I really enjoyed writing his musician friends and his musical talent, so I'm glad you liked it!

Aw thanks so much for the kind words - I love writing, and I'm always happy to have people enjoy the stories that live in my head ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by letters 

30th December 2011:
You a quite an amazing author and I don't really know how you do it. Hopefully you will keep up with more and more chapters because I do like reading them.

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! I'm still working on the next chapter - NaNoWriMo often has this effect, killing off my will to write for a while haha, but I'm pushing through it. I hope you'll come back to read it when it's posted! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheWorldISee 

18th November 2011:
As usual, I love every minute of your writing!! Your portrayal of Percy, Audrey, Molly and Lucy is wonderful. A lot of people make that family particularly lame, I assume because Percy is probably most people's least favorite Weasley. But just because Percy is a staunchy butt doesn't mean his daughters would be. I love that Molly has this rocker edge, but is cool and normal all the same. And Lucy is such a great girl, she seems like a very regular kind of person. The sort of person I bet most readers would be able to picture being friends with. And man is she in a predicament! I really wanted Roxanne to get her happily ever after when this story started, but now I'm rooting for Lucy/Hilarion. How do you do this to me?! You're playing me like a fiddle, I'm absolutely feeling everything you're intending the reader to feel (I think). Marvelous job with it!

Now on to Perry. I. Love. Perry. I want Perry all to myself! Haha. He's witty and quirky, real and sarcastic, confident but not cocky, he seems like my kind of guy. And I love his group of friends. Now while Roxanne does fit in much better with his friends, for some reason I just don't want to see Roxanne/Perry. I don't know why. I'm interested to see where you take things and how I end up feeling about it!

I'm loving all the possibilities here. And I'm sure there is some drama and heart break waiting around the corner for some of the characters. Keep it up, it's wonderful!

Author's Response: Apologies for the late response, I was out of town for a NaNoWriMo event :) Thank you very much for the wonderful review! I'm really glad you like this story so much. I've actually had a soft spot for Percy ever since I wrote a one-shot about him for a collaboration. And yeah, I don't like the fanfic common writing that Percy's kids are just like him. The girls do have their dad in them in some ways, but they're their own people, too. My favorite part is that the two sisters are close. Family is so important to the Weasleys. Molly might be a punk rock professional athlete, but she was Head Girl and is a little OCD too - like her dad. Lucy's got a bit of that meticulousness to her too, like Percy, but in a much calmer and quieter way. I think she's more like her mom, who I am highly influenced in thinking of as the way RonsGirlFriday writes Audrey in "Irrational".

Ah I wanted to get people going on Roxanne/Hilarion first before splitting to the new pairings, so getting reviewers a bit confused about who to root for just yet is totally right on ;) There will be some new schemes coming up in the next chapter. NaNoWriMo isn't quite over, so it may be another two weeks or so before the next chapter is posted. Hopefully everyone will hang in there and keep reading!

I'm really glad to hear you love Perry! I have to say, I'm really very fond of him myself. He's so bohemian and just interesting. He definitely suits Roxanne, but she is only seeing him as a friend right now cause he's not as hot as Hilarion. She's a bit shallow that way.

Drama is coming! Thank you so much for the review, I really enjoyed reading it :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by The_seeker12 

20th October 2011:
I love this story! It's great.
I absolutely love Perry. He's funny. And Roxanne is a very interesting character.
Lucy and Hilarion are great together. They just... Fit.
I'm looking forward to seeing where this is going.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like the characters. I've got chapter 5 about halfway done, hoping to have it finished in the next few days :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Giola 

11th October 2011:
Hello again!

As always, I loved this chapter :) The inclusion of the bohemian musicians was probably my favourite part here (being a musician myself), it's something very rarely seen in fanfiction. I, personally, think there must have been wizarding buskers and performers, but they were some of those things that never really interacted with Harry's life, and therefore weren't shown by JKR. You do a wonderful job of portraying the group of musicians, and I love that Perry's a composer. I didn't see the coming, but it fits nicely, and works well with Roxanne's personality.

I believe I said in one of my earlier reviews that I could see Perry/Roxanne and Lucy/Hilarion becoming future ships. I clearly was right :P You've done a wonderful job at showing the push and pull between the four characters, and how they all feel conflicted about the budding relationships.

The easy interaction between Perry and Roxanne was a delight to read, it really shows the depth of both of their personalities. Likewise, the contrasting scene of her date with Hilarion highlighted the differences between the two of them, and ultimately why I don't think they'll work. It will be interesting to see how that all plays out.

The quotes at the beginning of each chapter intrigue me, and I think I may end up reading more into them than I should. Who knows, I'll just have to wait till the end to figure it all out! Lovely chapter, as always, and effortless and delightful read.

Finally, good luck for NaNoWriMo (not that you need it, from what I've heard). I look forward to more updates of this once November's passed, though that may understandably take a while :)

-Giola

Author's Response: Who doesn't love a bohemian musician? ;) I've been a street busker on occasion myself (dancing, not music, I'm no musician sadly) and I think there would absolutely be buskers in the wizard world. Artistic people need somewhere to be artistic, and there's bound to be hole-in-the-wall gigs and busking for them. Perry writes music! Beautiful music, and sometimes beautiful lyrics as well. Roxanne, being a writer herself, can appreciate that. Although she wants to write about sports. Nevertheless.

Yes, you were right! I've been trying not to give away anything in future plot though. But clearly, we've got competing ships here. I think you're very perceptive on the Perry/Roxanne and Hilarion/Roxanne dynamics. ;)

Have you read or seen Cyrano before? I've always loved it, so clever. But they are quite relevant, and also a big plot hint. You'll see what I mean next chapter.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I want to have one more chapter in this posted in the next week or so here, then it'll be time to focus on NaNoWrimo (I always need luck! Thank you!) so it'll be December before Sparks returns with new chapters. I hope everyone hangs in there for chapter 6. Anyway thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by ruby_slippers 

10th October 2011:
oh my goodness how cute is Perry with Roxanne?!! So adorable! Loved that scene thanks heaps for that!
Poor Hilarion ... Here's hoping that after a little drama he and Rose realise that they only want to be friends and then the real matches can be made! :D

Author's Response: Aren't they cute? I like them, glad you liked the scene too! There'll be some fun drama in the next chapter. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by coldplay465 

9th October 2011:
I am in love with this story. From the get-go, I shipped Lucy and Hilarion together. They are so cute together. I hope he soon realizes that Roxanne is too fast paced for him. She's much better off with Perry. Can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: People shipping any of the characters is making me wildly happy, but Lucy and Hilarion are a favorite of mine. Thank you so much for reviewing! I'll try to have the next chapter posted before the 20th, that's my goal.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Georgia Weasley 

9th October 2011:
That something to 'fix it' ought to be to give up on her and ask our Lucy out. Once again, the attention to detail and the characters is just brilliant. I loved the bit about the mermaid and the piper. Your brain is just filled with all kinds of information, isn't it! I like the chemistry between Perry and Roxanne, but the depiction of Hilarion and Lucy makes me smile. He's famous, and should be this arrogant, confident jock, but he's so insecure. She's the little bookworm who kinda lives in the shadows of her sister and cousins. They both feel awkward and insignificant a lot. Together, they're completely at ease. It's very sweet, and very well done. Excellent chapter, as usual. ~GW

Author's Response: Hehe, it ought to be, yeah. But he has something else in mind ;) The mermaid story was fun, yeah? I liked that one. It seemed the perfect sort of folk mythology that blends well into the wizard world. Now you see how Molly daughter-of-Percy can think Hilarion's a twit who can't string two words together: he's just an awkward kind of a guy. Confident on the field but not so much around women. He's secretly still the geeky guy he was before he got tall and handsome and discovered the right hair products ;) Thanks for reviewing hon!

 Report Review

Review #12, by DetectiveMenace 

8th October 2011:
YAY more Perry! I think that right now, he might be my favorite character, although I love Roxanne, Lucy, and Hilarion as well!

This chapter was so adorable, with all the Roxy/Perry interaction; dancing in Diagon Alley, having coffee, it just made me smile :). I really can't wait for them to get together; they're just so...fun and squee inducing! SQUEE!

Hilarion and Lucy are a cute pairing too, it's just that they're both so reserved, especially compared to Roxanne and Perry. I have nothing wrong with that, it's just that...SQUEE R/P!

So. Much. Squee.

It's been a while since your last chapter, but I don't mind! I'm very patient when it comes to waiting for chapters (although I will occasionally grumble if it's been a few months). Anyway, I can't wait for your next update! This story makes me squee and smile and feel fuzzy in my tummy with its cuteness!

Author's Response: I kind of love him too! Perry and Roxanne are cute together, aren't they? They just don't know it yet. Although his friends did notice something there ;)

Hilarion and Lucy are sort of staid compared to Roxanne and Perry. Probably why mixing it up is not working out for them. I'm glad you're squeeing over the couples! XD

So sorry for the delay, but I'm glad you hung in there and came back to read and review! I will try to have the next one up much faster. I appreciate your patience, and thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Celestie 

8th October 2011:
Yay, an update! :D

Ahh, now see what you've done to me? Now I'm all unsure about Roxarion and transitioned to a Roxanne/Perry fan. I think it was the dancing and the obscure musicians that did it. But mostly the dancing. Also Hilarion doesn't seem to mesh well in the least with Roxanne; poor miserable guy. He probably spent half the evening listening to her talk to her friend and the other half fumbling for words. It's kind of a pity because I so wanted Roxanne to work well with Hilarion and it just didn't work out.

I sympathize with her though, but I really see how awkward and strange they would feel around each other. Lucy seems to be kinder and more down to earth with him rather than overwhelm him with her personality. So I suppose I can go for Lucy/Hilarion. Lularion? :)

And PERRY. He's so cute with Roxanne. Especially where he was acting like a gentleman and retracting his attraction for her because she was Hilarion's. At this point, I think I am shipping them because them being together seems exciting and fast paced for both of them.

Ooh, but with all the ship switching, I see some love triangle/rectangle emerging and some misunderstandings appearing. I'm excited for future chapters! ^_^

Thanks for updating!

Author's Response: I love some dancing myself, so I can hardly blame you. And you're absolutely right about poor Hilarion; he's trying to be someone he's not when he's with Roxanne, but with Lucy he can just relax. He hasn't noticed this yet, of course, and thinks they're friends. I do know what you mean about wanting Roxanne's dreams come true, but really, dreams aren't always realistic.

I love the ship names you come up with! XD "Ship switching" is a great way to describe it. It's definitely one of those kind of stories!

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you're enjoying the story :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by choufleur 

7th October 2011:
I love this story, and how it's developing - not too fast not too slow :). Looked to see if it had been updated earlier - it hadn't - then saw on the forums two minutes later that it had which made me very happy!
Poor Hilarion - they will all be so much happier the right way round (I hope, when (if?) they get there!).
How long do you think this will be in the end?
Liked Hilarion's comparison of his tie to a noose!
Can't wait for more... if NaNo doesn't get in the way...

Author's Response: I have it planned out, and if all goes according to plan ;) it will be 10 chapters long. Not sure of the word count though, this one turned out longer than I'd meant, but it felt right for what I was trying to tell so... We'll see.

Poor Hilarion, yeah. He wants to be much smarter than he is, much more like his friend than he is. Thank you so much for the review! I am planning NaNo this year as always, so this will be on hold during November, but I want to get chapter 5 up before then. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review