Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Off the Rails, Chapter 5: five
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

30th July 2016:
Okay, I think I like Carlotta. She seems better than the one-night-stand type of gal. Plus, she had the decency to return James's jumper to him. I'm rooting for them to get together as more than sleeping together.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aleine 

10th June 2015:
I still can't pronounce the Muggle's name properly.

You know, Brie is fast becoming my favourite character. You've done an excellent job with her.

The Muggle's portrayal is superb. Not just as a Muggle, but also as a girl. Her actions and reactions are so realistic, and life-like.

You've won the Dobby for the best plot twist...

You better not hurt Brie...

(Too much game of Thrones)

Author's Response: Thank you for the Brie love! She is one of my personal favourites :) Aha no need to worry, nothing Game of Thrones-esque in this! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon 

5th March 2015:
Carlotta has definitely had an impact on James now. It's interesting to see him at the end of this chapter sliding into awkwardness more typical of "lesser beings." To her credit she doesn't call him out on the change with even a raised eyebrow though.

It was also interesting to see that he ISN'T entirely self-centered. Between trying to help Brigid and his detailed memory of every Weasley jumper, it seems like James is actually more "decent" (to use the word he used to describe Carlotta) than he wants to let on. Is he perhaps hiding his true self for his career or is he just changing?

I can't wait to see how he develops!

Author's Response: James has got himself into a bit of a situation here - he finds Carlotta a breath of fresh air, which is very at odds with his usual outlook on women. Bless him.

And you're right, he's not all that self-centered at all. He can just be quite obtuse, and that makes him come across as not caring about other people. Development is (hopefully) oncoming in leaps and bounds.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

14th March 2014:
Aw I love seeing the friendship between James and Brie. I think they are really sweet together and if I wasn't pulling for Freddie and Brie I would probably hope that James and her would at least try something. The ending of this chapter was really sweet! I love that James can remember when he got each jumper and that he won't get rid of them even if he has out grown them. The fact that Carlotta came back and gave him his jumper was really nice as well. Some girls would just think to keep it or be too embarrassed to want to see the person again. I'm so looking forward to seeing more between James and Carlotta and how getting involved with a muggle will work out for him. In particular I'm interested in seeing how he will end up examining things like his job and such and also how she ends up finding out about the wizarding world. I look forward to reading more! Great job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Actually, one of the relationships I'm most proud of in this fic is the friendship between James and Brigid. It's not all plain sailing but they really do love each other so much, and I think it's nice for James to have a platonic relationship with someone who isn't family. But I can understand the appeal for a more romantic relationship between them; I can see the potential for it myself if I'm honest!

Naw, the Weasley jumpers. I love them and all that they symbolise, so I project all over James by having him regard them so highly. I like your list of things you're looking forward to ... :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by LavenderBlue 

25th February 2014:
I'm baaack! It's always such a treat to hop back into this story. Chapter Five, here I come.

He offered to cook breakfast. Good boy. She offered to cook breakfast even better than James can. Win, Carlotta. Win. Also, I find it equal parts adorable and pathetic that Ginny restocks James' fridge. Haha. Oh James, you are not all man. You are still a little boy. If some guy told me his mom did his grocery shopping, I would run for the hills. But I'm glad Carlotta isn't as judgey-pants as I am. Then again, he gives her his sweater, which is nice and cute, so I guess that makes up for it. :]

Listen to James' advice, Brie! Stop moping over stupid Fred who is stupid. Bahaha, Nana Weasley. I love that Mrs. Weasley is still in the business of knitting sweaters for the family, though dude, that's gotta be a TON of sweaters, given the astronomical size the Weasley clan has reached. Rock on, Nana Weasley. Rock on.

May I just state again how much I love Brigid? She's fantastic. So on top of things, ever so clever, an excellent friend, and killer at her job. I want a Brigid Friend now.

And Carlotta came BACK. CUTE. I mean, I guess it was only common courtesy or whatever, but still. I think there's something there. If Leggy Allegra can wait a few weeks, there's gotta be something there, right? RIGHT?! Maybe I should just, like, keep reading. Great chapter, as always!

Author's Response: Adorable and pathetic are definitely two words which aptly describe James at this point in his life. He is far from self-sufficient, and that is both endearing and utterly pitiful. One of these days he will need to learn to stand on his own two feet! Today is not that day.

Oh, Brie. There reviews are lovely because they're refreshing my memory; I've largely forgotten the detail of these chapters, given I wrote them three or so years ago now (*DIES*). I forgot how cruel I am to her. I'm very glad that you like her, naturally! I look forward to hearing (reading?) your thoughts on her as things progress. Hopefully less mopey in nature.

I like to think Molly Weasley spends all her time knitting for the family these days. All those birthday deadlines to meet, not to mention the huge Christmas order ... few pairs of magical knitting needles and she's away, wouldn't you think? I have such a love for the symbolism of the simple Weasley jumper, so they hold a special place in James' heart as a result.

SHE CAME BACK. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by feathers101 

5th September 2012:
I love Carlotta so so much!!! Can't wait to read more!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Slide 

18th May 2012:
Breakfast is ADORABLE. I also like that James IS nice in the morning. Just because it's no-strings-attached doesn't mean he'll crowbar them out his front door.

Oh BRIE, don't hate on the other women because of those silly men. It's okay. Freddie will get over being stupid or you'll find someone better. *pats*

Yes, James. Pursue the Muggle. What could go wrong??

Author's Response: He won't crowbar them out because he likes to keep things going for a while, otherwise he'd run out of girls before long, haha. And naturally they had orange juice with their breakfast. And bacon. And egg. Possibly not in sandwich form though.

Poor Brigid is suffering right now. Things will pick up for her, she's too much of a babe to remain unhappy.

NOTHING WILL GO WRONG because nothing EVER goes wrong in James' world *coughs*


 Report Review

Review #8, by ForTheLoveOfWords 

29th November 2011:
Haaah that would have been hilarious (and really hard to explain) if Brie apparated on top of Carlotta. And James is such a gentleman in that little man-whore way of his.

Author's Response: LOL can you IMAGINE James having to explain that? Haha. I'm literally laughing at the thought of it. And if I could have any of the guys from my story, it would be James because he's such a softie at heart :) Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ashleym15 

13th October 2011:
i quite like Carlotta. seems sweet. I hope she gives James a run for his money!

Author's Response: Oh, she will, don't worry :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Tonia 

3rd October 2011:
Hey, I enjoyed reading this a lot. Great story!
I like your characters very much. Your way of telling a story. Your writing. This is really, really good. The world you describe, James' way of living and the fashion in which you include other people, his friends, family, acquaintances, that's really excellently done. I can picture that Quidditch world really well, thanks to how you write it.
The story has a nice flow. I like your little details. Like, how the Pygmy Puff keeps eating from insided the bowl, or how Lily "tried to forget her school books as usual".
I like the way you describe the family life and the interaction between the Quidditch players and friends.
I wonder how things are between Harry and James... anything more on that coming up?
And I like Carlotta. Of course I like James. And Brie, and most of your other characters. ;)
This is great. Thanks for sharing it!

Author's Response: Aah, thank you so much! :) I love love love that you're enjoying, this little baby is my pride and joy right now *huggles it*

The Harry/James dynamic will become a big part of the story, but later on. It starts off fairly light-hearted but gets deeper as we go on, and as James begins to face his demons :)

Thank you so so much for reviewing! To read such nice things just makes me want to write more and more, which can only be a good thing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review