Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 

9th December 2014:
Hello!

The chapter summary was right - the Burrow is a nice break from all of the drama and angst going on in Harry's life right now. However, you've managed to thread some important details into the events that transpired during that afternoon.

First off, I don't know if this is significant or not, but I'm not exactly a fan of Fiona. You mentioned in an earlier chapter that Hugo seemed to have the easier life between him and Rose, but it seems that he might have his hands full here. I don't see why she would have a problem with him visiting his mother in the hospital as much as he felt he needed to - especially considering she is not doing that well. Geez, Fiona show a little heart, will ya?

Wow. Arthur is up for fighting WWIII (That's Wizarding War III - but I'm sure you figured that out), huh? That is definitely noble of him. Let's hope it doesn't come to that.

Ah! Sibling rivalry - I've always pictured James and Albus would fight over Quidditch.

That prank was awesome. I was never expecting it. Very clever.

Great job writing all of the Weasleys. I have no idea how you managed to keep a family gathering with that many people straight. But it was just perfect. I could feel the chaos and the love and the deep discussions along with the fun times as well. Just as a family should be ♥

I do have one question - I haven't seen Aidan Malfoy make an appearance yet. I'm sorry if I missed something from an earlier chapter, but I figured that he would've graduated from Hogwarts already - probably one of the older children of the next-next gen? I know it was mentioned that Scorpius was in the States on business, but I would think Aidan's presence would be required at this family event - especially if it was implied that Ron should be there. As far as I remember, Aidan also hasn't visited Hermione. Is there something too that?

I love the Rose/Harry interaction. As you know, I'm a huge fan of the Rose/Harry relationship and you've taken this to another level. They understand each other - not because of shared experiences, but it seems like it is something deeper with those two. She finds a confidant in Harry that she can't with her immediate family and vice versa. She makes some really good points to Harry and I feel like he *might* just be willing to open up and let go of Ginny's memory - if only a small amount.

And holy cow! That was quite the attack on Malfoy Manor! I *knew* Harry should've left some more experienced duelers on the site. Draco barely made it out. At the same time, you've managed to show how much Astoria means to him. He's even willing to be brave for her - how very un-Draco like - haha!

Now I'm thoroughly confused. Was Magical Me the journal or not? Lady Tenabra threw it out!! Was it a fake?! Or just a plot to get Draco out of Malfoy Manor so she could get in there. I have no idea what to expect next!

Great job, fantastic chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I definitely think you can burn readers out on action and angst if you don't sprinkle in a little levity here and there. Authors too, for that matter. It was nice to give the characters a break for something a little more fun.

I didn't make Fiona the most likeable character, did I? She represents sort of an outsider's perspective on the non-stop circus that is the Weasley clan. Outsider with limited patience, who also happens to be French and a small fraction of Veela.

Arthur and Molly are not ones to be sidelined if there's any conceivable danger to the family. Keep that in mind, you'll see a lot more of them.

The prank was one of my favorite things I came up with for the early part of the story. George doesn't appear that often in this, but every time is a treat.

Poor Aidan. There are characters that got short-changed in this story and there are some who ended up on the cutting room floor. Aidan is unfortunately in the latter category. There just wasn't any way to get some of these characters involved without the story starting to drag. Don't read anything in particular into his absence, it was simply a matter of limited time and attention span.

Given how much you've thought about them, I'm very pleased that you liked Rose and Harry together. There is quite a bond between the two of them. Rose embodies a lot of the best -- and worst ;) -- characteristics of her parents, so I thought it was natural that Harry would be able to relate to her really well. Better than either of her parents, in some situations. She's also able to talk to Harry about difficult subjects better than the rest of the family. He's helped her through so many tough times that it would be hard for him to turn away her help, no matter how much he might want to.

Yep, you were right. It was not a good idea to pull all of the most experienced fighters away from Malfoy Manor. Draco is very selfless where his family is concerned. You'll see a lot more of that later on.

Magical Me was not what Flint was led to believe it was. The spells Lady Tenabra gave him were nothing but ruses. What is she playing at? You'll soon see...

Awesome, I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by GingeredTea 

28th August 2014:
It's always so much fun to sink myself into your story again and read an much older Harry than I am used to. When we entered into the Burrow and he saw the chatting kids, it was almost like my mind lingered on them and I expected Harry to join them, but then he goes to the adults, and I realize how far from a child he is in your story! Then of course I continue and realize it's not Fred but Freddie - and that he's old enough to be an adult. I love when this happens in your story!

You do a wonderful job of catching the sense and mood of a big family coming together. Harry's focus is on all of them, but he notices the small details of his own children - a result of a habit to watch them carefully. Loved all of this. You even managed to perfectly weave in the sense of sadness at the missing Ron and Hermione.

This made me laugh!

Every so often, he caught a glimpse of something small and blue being passed from hand to hand. Once again he fixed his gaze on George, who was innocently devouring a plate of chicken and potatoes. A little too innocently, by Harry’s estimation.

By the way, you must tell me how you make my quotes italicized in the comment box! I never manage anything so fancy. LOL

And then the toasts - it was heart warming and you managed Harry's disappearance perfectly.

This almost made me cry: “I’d say not,” Al replied, pondering his last bite of tart. “If he wanted to talk about it, he’d still be here.”

I'm really enjoying your Draco Malfoy. And Phineas Nigellus Black was hilarious!

Okay, obviously, I'm getting a bit wrapped up in this - I always do. But, this is the next thing that made me laugh: "You used to wipe my bum. I’d say we have a long way to go before we’re even."

I love how all your characters are such individuals and dynamic - and how you are able to manage them in large crowds just as well as you are able to manage them in small intimate settings. Love!

I have a feeling Rosie is really going to help Harry out a lot emotionally.

Then you jump back the Malfoy's and I had a horrible feeling from the first sentence. :(

I laughed at the politeness of the elf, despite the situation! “Mistress requests the pleasure of your company,” the elf stated with a deep bow."

I'm starting to wonder if there really is a journal. Perhaps this Lady is merely using the idea and she will later claim her own ideas as those that Voldemort left behind.

You always make me want to stay up far to late and keep reading...must resist...must resist...must resist...

Author's Response: Hi! I always enjoy it when you sink yourself in. It was a challenge throughout this story to keep Harry, Ron, Hermione and the other canon characters age-appropriate. Which is not to say that I wanted them to sound "old", per se, but rather that I wanted them to seem like the elder members of a large and rather messy family. The family get-together was one of the more challenging parts to write, in that sense. So many generations interacting with one another.

George is still the sly one! The adults know enough to be wary and the children will soon learn...

You can use standard HTML tags in a review, so you just put the italics tags around any section of text and it will come out italicized. ;)

I knew I needed to get Harry in a bad state of mind and get him away from the dinner, and the toasts were an idea that came to me late in the writing process. I think it works better than my initial game plan. Writing is such an iterative process: draft and edit, draft and edit...

I'm glad you like Phineas Nigellus. I wanted to add a bit of comic relief to an otherwise rough moment for Draco and Astoria.

Rose has a way of boiling a situation down to its bare essence, don't you think? ;) She's also quite good at drawing Harry out of his shell, a skill that still isn't widespread even after so many years. They will both help one another, as you'll see.

Yeah, I did foreshadow a bit at the start of the second stint at Malfoy Manor.

Is there really a journal? You'll have to wait and see, I suppose. Regardless, it isn't the book that Flint took from Malfoy Manor. That's all I can say about that.

Aw, why resist? :p Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Yoshi_Kitten 

22nd August 2014:
Ohmigawdholycow!!! Has it really been 2 years? Are you serious?!? Dang, it seems like it was only last month some time that I was reading this story before, lol. Where the crap did all that time GO??? 0_o'

Anyways, sorry the swap has taken me so long to get to tonight. Work suddenly got busy right after I requested the swap. Go figure. But anyways, I decided to try and pick this back up right where I left off at. But then I realized that I needed to go back a few chapters and jog my memory as to what exactly had happened in the first place, lol! I have been reading this story for over an hour now though, and man do I ever LOVE it!!! Gosh, did I ever miss this place while I was away at school last year! Your writing especially!! ^_^

Ok, so this was one of my favorite chapters so far, I think. It literally had EVERYTHING in it!!! Humor, love, drama, angst, action – this one had it ALL!! I really love the way you switch scenes and give us different glimpses into what's going on with the other characters in this story all within the same chapter. You are really good at knowing where one scene should end, and the other should begin. I've always had such a difficult time choosing where and when to end my chapters. But you do it do flawlessly every single time!! And that takes some seriously mad-skillz, lol. ;)

And I enjoyed reading everyone's interactions with one another here. And I for one am SO glad that you kept Molly & Arthur around even though they are all so much older now. It makes me very happy to see Molly getting to hold dinners and take care of such a LARGE family. I can imagine that this has all been such a dream come true for her. And she deserves it too, after everything that her and Arthur have been through over the years. And your characterization of her was perfect. Honestly tho, you write everybody in the Weasley clan SO WELL, Dan!! How you keep track of everybody is beyond me, lol. There are so many of them also, yet you manage to give each character their own distinct voice and personality. I loved the bit about how Charlie is still caring for Dragons, instead of retiring, and OMG! George's prank on the children was priceless!! That was one of my favorite parts, haha! =D

The conversation between Harry and Rose was so sad! Yet I really loved reading this tender moment between the two of them, especially what she was brought up the fact that he was “just Uncle Harry” and not the Famous Harry Potter who defeated Voldemort. That was a really great way to put things into perspective, I think. Like her mother, Rose seems to be very wise beyond her years... Also, not sure if I mentioned this in any of my previous reviews, but I LOVE the fact that you paired her with Scorpius!! And their daughter, Octavia, is such a cutie. I really like her a lot too.

OMG, when Rose said this:
"...Not judging, mind you. I'd be doing the same thing if we were talking about Scorpius. But what would you do if you caught me pining over his grave? I mean, assuming that it wasn't me who killed him?"
I laughed so much at that statement!! I really so hope that we will get to see more of Scorpius soon too. And speaking of the Malfoys, I'm pretty sure this goes without saying at this point; but I absolutely LOVE the way that you write Draco, lol!!! Always have, always will!! =P

OMGosh, at the beginning of the attack scene at Malfoy Manor, when the two guards were all like “nothing bad will happen” I literally smacked myself upside the forehead, lol! I was like, “why did you just say that?” Any time someone says something like that, it is a sure sign that something bad is most definitely about to happen, haha. And sure enough, right after he said that, all Hades broke loose!! Honestly, Dan, you write those fight scenes SO spectacularly!! I wish that I was half as good as you when it comes scenes like that, lol. And hows about that ending?!? OMG, I was SO stunned!!! I literally sat and stared at the computer screen, with my mouth gaping open in shock, for like ten seconds or more when I got done reading that!! Holyeffinshiznits, did she really just kill him??!?? Yes, yes, I think that she did, lol. :O

OMG, WHO IS THIS WOMAN!?!?? In spite of all her evilness and such, I really do admire her as a Villain. She seems so much more... Idk the right word. Calculated? Anyhow, her vision may certainly be even more terrifying that Voldemort's ever was, and that's saying something. *shivers* It's no wonder you got Best Villain with her though. I just WISH that we knew who she really was, lol!! Is she someone related to Cannon, or just someone you came up with all on your own. The latter would honestly not surprise me at all tho, considering how clever and ingenious you are, Dan. (:

And again, I CANNOT believe that it has been 2 YEARS and I still have yet to finish this Novel!! Oh, and before I forget, what was up with the book? Was it really the Dark Lord's journal in disguise or not? I am assuming not, since she cast it aside along with Flint. But then, what does that mean? Does she have any other leads? Does said journal even exist? Will they give up? GAH!! I need answers, haha!!! =P

Haha, I was so happy when you requested to swap with me, Dan!! God I needed this so badly, lol! I have missed you, and your fantastical writing so gosh darn much!!! OMGosh, this is just amazing!!

Author's Response: Time flies, doesn't it? And the older you get, the faster it flies...

This chapter had an awful lot in it, to the point where I remember being worried that it was too busy. The Weasley family picnic scene nearly ended up on the cutting room floor, but with the benefit of hindsight I'm really glad that I kept it in. Aside from starting to set up a character who plays a major role later on (Albus), it gives more insight into the guilt and grief that still plague Harry and we get to see the Weasleys in a happy setting before all heck breaks loose later on. I liked giving Molly and Arthur a very happy, fulfilling old age as well. Like you said, it just felt right after all of the sacrifices they made over the years.

I wanted to give Harry and Rose a unique relationship in this story. Rose is very smart, but she has her moments of poor judgment and weakness. She's flawed in that way, very much like Harry. She's impulsive and follows her heart. The relationship between Harry and Rose will play a significant role in what happens later. You will see quite a bit of Scorpius before the story is done. I hope you like the dynamic between him and Rose.

When a character thinks that nothing bad is going to happen, that usually is a tip-off, isn't it? If you like fight scenes, well, I don't want to reveal too much but the best is yet to come. Many more fight scenes that, at least in my opinion, I did a much better job with. Yes, she did kill Flint. Unceremoniously and without a smidgen of remorse. Thus endeth the story's first minor villain.

The mystery woman... well, that will be revealed in good time. Can't really say anything without giving it away. I'm really pleased that you liked the character, though.

The book was exactly what it appeared to be: Draco's (mostly unread) copy of Magical Me. What is the mystery woman playing at? Again, can't say without giving it all away. ;)

Let's swap again soon. I'd love to see how your novel is coming along as you edit it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Debra20 

29th August 2013:
OK, so what did just happen? I think my jaw dropped to the floor, literally, at the ending of this chapter. So like, Malfoy Manor got attacked and 3 Aurors died for nothing? So much for the Dark Lord's journal *face-palm* At least Flint got what he was asking for a long time now. I was just talking to Ral about this topic earlier today. If you get greedy, your downfall is guaranteed eventually. Flint wanted power, he wanted to be the top, the leader, and now he's not even alive. Oh wel...

Lady Tenebra is proving to be more intriguing by the minute. I love the shroud of mystery surrounding her. I am a bit scared to learn her real identity, but at the same time, I keep scratching the top of my head, wondering who she is. If she's an OC, let me tell you that you're doing an excellent job with her character. She seems cruel, analytical, someone who doesn't mind using others just so that she can achieve her goals, much like Voldemort. Which is what makes her scary. Because, how can you reason with someone like her? No conscience, seemingly heartless and totally brutal. That's just...frightening.

The Weasly family reunion was amazing! I got so much feels while reading that part, I think I teared up more than once. Molly must have felt very happy because being surrounded by family is what she's always wanted. And we cant pretend the Weasleys aren't a numerous family haha

But the scene that stole this chapter was the moment shared by Rose and Harry. When he jumped at her and demanded his bottle back, my heart shrank to the size of a mouse. His reaction to Ginny's death is very close to how I deal with hardships. I refuse to talk about them with anyone else, many times even with myself...which is not very healthy because there comes a time when you can't keep the memories and feelings at bay and they come crashing down on you at once. As much as it hurts, you need to confront your grief and I think Harry is finally starting to do so. I can't emphasise enough how touching the scene was. Having lost my uncle recently, it made me remember my own moments with him and I had this funny feeling that I can't explain exactly...but it was a good kind of feeling. A tender, loving emotions. I think you've truly outdone yourself with this scene. It's definitely the one I cherish most up until now from CoB :)

P.S: Told ya things would end up badly at Malfoy Manor.just...gah! But wait, I mentioned this before haha. Can't wait to read what happens next tho. The story is getting better chapter by chapter

Author's Response: Well, a few things just happened. You're spot on the basics: there was significant destruction and loss of life for very dubious reasons. As far as the Dark Lord's journal... well, keep the thought in the back of your head. That story line is far from over. Lastly, Flint got his just desserts. I usually feel bad about killing off characters, even the nasty ones. Flint? Eh...

When I was figuring out my mental model of Lady Tenabra, I kept coming back to a female version of Professor Moriarty. She's cunning, ambitious and completely ruthless, but also cultured, brilliant and genteel. Her lack of empathy is scary. People are merely pawns to her.

I'm really glad you liked the family reunion. I came so close to taking out that entire section because I felt like it made the chapter drag. In the end, I think it helps with the pacing and it gives a really natural entree into Harry's moment with Rose. At any rate, I'm glad that you liked it.

Harry still isn't good at dealing with his emotions, even after all the years. Rose is one of a very few people that he'll actually open up to, and I really enjoyed putting the two of them together in this scene, even though the subject matter is far from happy. I'm really pleased that you felt the emotions, because it was sad for me to write. I had to introduce a good bit of Rose snark into it to keep it from turning into a total tear-jerker.

And yes, things ended badly at Malfoy Manor. How how badly remains to be seen.

Thanks so much for sharing all of your thoughts and reactions. I really enjoy reading them!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Courtney Dark 

22nd July 2013:
Wow, I am more confused than ever now - and I love it! That whole ruse with the Magical Me book (at least I think it's a ruse) was extremely clever - I have to admit, I found it quite amusing that Flint seemed so self-satisfied after he'd found 'the journal' (which I'm guessing doesn't actually exist? Or maybe it does and Lady Tenebra just wanted to through everyone off the trail...I really have no idea) and then, shortly afterwards, was outwitted and killed. Lady Tenebra is one nasty woman!

I LOVED the Weasley dinner scene, because the Weasley's are just the best family in the world and I always enjoy reading about them. I think my favourite parts would have to be the Quidditch match, with James and Al being super competitive with each other - I could just imagine two full grown men bickering like teenagers - and George's speech, which I think you wrote perfectly, especially since a lot of time has passed since Fred's death.

Aw, Harry! I really liked his conversation with Rose, too - the two of them definitely seem to have a close bond.

Great chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi!

I promise that things start to get more clear rather than less clear pretty soon. The mission to retrieve Magical Me from Malfoy Manor was indeed a ruse. But to what end? Eliminating Flint was certainly on Lady Tenabra's short list to things to do, but it wasn't the only objective.

I'm really glad you liked the family dinner. I gave a lot of thought to either cutting it much shorter or taking it out entirely. I was worried it would make the chapter drag. I guess everyone can use a break from the action from time to time.

I imagine Harry and Rose being very close. She's sort of a combination of her mother and father, who are Harry's two closest friends in the world. So it made sense that the two of them would get along really well.

Thanks again for all the lovely reviews!
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
I really like seeing all of the family members and finding out just what they're all up to.
Arthur and Molly are pretty awesome aren't they? Volunteering like that.

I love Al and James's rivalry and that fact that Harry knows George and the others are up to something, nothing get's past Auror Potter!

I LOVED LOVED LOVED George's prank in honour of Fred, that was such a great thing for George to do.

Awww Harry! I just want to hug him because he's so sad! *hugs him tightly*

Oh no! An attack on Malfoy Manor! I'm glad that Draco and Astoria managed to get away in time.

That's very clever that the book was hidden like that, very very clever.

What? Oh no! She killed Flint! I probably shouldn't be as sad as I am for that... but now I'm sad, Theo's friend has gone!

Author's Response: Whew! Another fan of the family picnic. I came so very close to cutting this scene way back. At the time, I felt like it made the chapter drag. That was back when really long chapters used to scare me.

That said, the entire family gathering was so much fun to write. I'm the type of person who likes to believe that things turned out really, really well for the Potter/Weasley clan. So giving Arthur and Molly loads of grandchildren and great-grandchildren, having James and Al continue this silly sibling rivalry well into middle age, putting George up to something... it all fits well with what I wanted to happen for these wonderful people after the war.

Poor Harry. He puts on a good face for the world, but he's still struggling in a lot of ways. Much more on this to come...

The attack was another fun scene to write, because I was able to take the wraps of civility off of Draco and let him use a bit of what he had to learn to survive the war.

Poor Theo. His best ally is now dead. He'll just have to cozy up with Gamp and Goyle, instead. Or maybe go find Zabini. ;)

Whee! Responding to reviews is awesome!

-Dan


 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

10th May 2013:
I just can't keep away!

I really enjoyed reading the Weasley family dinner. It was a nice break from the action, which is great, don't get me wrong, but it's always nice to read some normal things actually happening!

I loved everything that happened. George planning his prank, which in the end was perfect by the way - it took me completely by surprise. Meeting some of the new family members for the first time and of coursing seeing how our old favourites are getting on. Oh and the quidditch match of course. I like the bit of rivalry between James and Al - I see Al as a Slytherin too and I think the competition between them was fun to read.

Molly and Arthur - just wow. In their nineties and still willing to fight to save their families. I expected nothing less of course but the conversation between Harry and Arthur was spot on. Although I know it's probably going to happen I hope it doesn't come to that.

I have to admit you brought tears to my eyes with Georges little speech about Fred (I will NEVER get over that) and then Teddys about his mum and dad. I think it was when George spoke to him after that got me the most. My heart breaks every time.

I was really surprised at your decision to bring Rose up to help Harry but I was also really happy when I was reading it. She's really strong and told him how it was which is obviously what he needed. I'm not used to seeing drunk Harry though, it was a little shocking! I do think my favourite line in that scene was 'You used to wipe my bum. I'd say we have a long way to go before we're even.'. Or maybe 'Uncle Harry, nobody can understand the connection you had with Aunt Ginny. You fought a war for each other. You died for her and then you came back for her. You two were meant to grow old and, I don’t know, die hand in hand while saving the world or something. Nobody in the history of love got screwed worse than you two' I'm not sure. They were both perfect lines from Rose.

The fight scene your wrote at Malfoy Manor was well paced and I felt I could see everything as it was happening so your descriptions were great. I liked that Draco sent Astoria away and then she sent the elf back 'requesting the pleasure of his company' as though there wasn't any fighting going on.

So when Magical Me flew off the shelf to Flint I was slightly confused. Then I had the same thought as Flint that it obviously wouldn't look like what they were expecting it too but still - Magical Me? Then after killing Flint so coldly (I see what you mean about him not being a main villain at all) Lady Tenbra tosses it in the bin? I'm guessing not the journal of Lord Voldemort. All the theories are now kind of driving me crazy - I want to know what's happening!!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hello, hello!

I gave a lot of thought to paring the family dinner way back or cutting it out entirely because at the time I felt like it didn't add enough to the plot to justify the word count. In the end, I'm really glad that I left it in. It sets up a thing or two about a few of the characters that turn out to be meaningful in the long run.

In my mind, as long as they're able, Molly and Arthur will always be the first ones to step up and fight to keep the family safe. That's just the type of parents (grandparents, great-grandparents, probably great-great-grandparents at some point) they are.

Ah, Fred. Always the sad feelings whenever he comes up. I hate to being tears to anyone's eyes, but I'm glad George's toast made the impact I wanted it to. The same is true for Teddy.

One thing I've tried to set up is a very close relationship between Harry and Rose. It all comes down to the way I imagine Rose being -- sort of a linear combination of her mother and father with some of the more endearing traits of each. Harry can see so much of his two best friends whenever he looks at Rose, I think it's only natural that he'd hit it off well with her. She definitely did a good job of talking Harry out of his funk, and I think the difficulties in her own love life help her understand parts of what he's struggling with.

I really love writing fight scenes, and I can't think of a higher compliment than you saying that you found it easy to visualize what was going on. It's so tricky to work in enough details to make that possible without having the action drag. Elves don't seem to feel as threatened by open conflict as wizards. I think that's partly because they're so bound to their duty that death and injury don't concern them as much.

You're correct about Magical Me. It was not the Dark Lord's journal, and Lady Tenabra didn't care about it one bit. Why would she go to such lengths to make everyone think that it was Voldemort's journal? Hmmmnnn... ;)

You're getting closer to getting some answers, my dear. Unfortunately, some of those answers come with even more questions. Muahahahaaa!


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

8th January 2013:
Ooh. Is the journal a myth for something bigger or was that just a fake? So many questions... And I must know the answers.

The conversation between Harry and Rose was so heartwarming, but also a little sad. I hope she's helped him to see sense and now he can talk to people about Ginny, as Ted and George did. More aww moments.

So excited to read the next chapter now. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello, again! So it seems that the journal was merely a ruse. But why? What is she playing at? The answers lie ahead...

I love writing Harry and Rose together. There's definitely an uncle/niece relationship there, but also a strong underlying confidence in one another. They can just talk.

I am loving it as I discover your reactions to all of the events in the story. Thanks for sharing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by shadowycorner 

8th December 2012:
Aaaah! What was that? Lady Tenabra killing Flint? I should've expected that, he was just a henchmen anyway, but what's the deal with the book? I don't know what it means and it's killing me, lol! :D

I'm so happy I finally found some time to read a new chapter. You create a wonderful, well-balanced mix of action and moving scenes that paint the characters so beautifully. I loved the Weasley family dinner and even the joke George pulled on the kids. And there were so many of them, I really don't understand how even the Weasleys themselves are able to keep track. :D My heart was totally beating wildly for the awesomeness of Arthur and Molly volunteering to help again. That's what makes these people strong, their bravery is touching and admirable. It's all about the family, you threaten my family, and then I'll come back and get you no matter how old I am. Then there was another scene full of partnership dynamic between Draco and Astoria. It's also kind of realistic to think Draco probably has some issues with other parts of Astoria's family. He sounded just like a man frustrated with the in-laws, be it mother or sister.

Poor Harry, hurting on his own, refusing help because he's just like that. i was glad Rose walked after him and gave her a piece of her mind, but in a gentle and understanding way. I guess he needed just that. I'm loving the relationship between them. It reminds me of the way I adore my mum's brother, who's a very quiet and stern man, but I've always admired him because he's been more a father to me than my own when I was a kid. Also, the line assuming that it wasn't me who killed him? cracked me up. Those two. It was nice to smile a little through all the heartache I was experiencing for poor Harry.

It's so good of Harry to listen to reason and Rose and go back to the Burrow instead of weeping and drinking over Ginny's grave. I really liked how Rose talked about their connection, it was beautiful. I guess he's taking his grief too far, but I also think there's a very good reason for that. He must feel somehow that he simply cannot move on because inside he knows it's not solved yet and there's more to it. That's the deal, I guess. And also the fact that when a loved one dies, we never truly move on, never. I'm more and more curious to learn what really happened to Ginny.

Oh and then the attack on the Manor, you had me at the edge of my seat there! Every part of the chapter was extremely captivating and it's getting better and better...well, not the events, but the story overall I mean. I just love your writing so much.

Author's Response: Sigh. I suppose it's high time I responded to this lovely review, isn't it? It's such sweet sadness, watching them disappear from my unanswered reviews page. But it's the right thing to do, so here we go.

Yes, Flint's shelf life turned out to be quite short. From the moment he got involved with Lady Tenabra, he underestimated her. That mistake turned out to be fatal. The book was... well, just a book. I think her actions tell you everything you need to know about it. As far as what it means, you'll find out very soon. ;)

The Weasley family dinner is something I'm rather proud of when I look back at it. I nearly decided to cut the majority of it out because I thought it made the chapter drag too much. Fortunately, I talked myself out of it. I'll tell you how I keep track of all the Weasleys: I made myself a family tree that I kept in my Google docs all throughout writing the story. Believe me, I wound up referring to it frequently!

I hope you continue to like the way I've imagined Draco and Astoria. They turned into two of my favorite characters in this story.

In my mind, Harry and Rose were always very close. She's such an endearing mix of her mother and father, it seemed only reasonable that Harry would be drawn to her. And since he's also her godfather, I think he felt a duty to play an active role in her life, the same way that Sirius did for him in the brief time they had together. For her part, Rose adores Harry, but she doesn't quite idolize him in the same what that most people do. She sees the human side of the hero.

You'll learn a lot more about what happened to Ginny over the next few chapters. It's definitely more than meets the eye.

The attack on the Manor was fun to write. I really enjoy writing fight scenes, and this one was much longer and more spread out than the attack on Magical Records. It definitely won't be the last. ;)

I'm really glad you're enjoying the story. Thanks so much for all of your lovely reviews and Happy Holidays!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Illuminate 

16th November 2012:
Hi!

Wow, what an eventful chapter! I feel really bad for Harry, family gatherings must be tough for him after Ginny died. But they've all lost people in their lives, so I hope Harry can let himself need others again soon. I love Rose and Octavia :) Poor Ron. I don't know how I feel about Harry calling Molly and Arthur "Mum and Dad," especially seeing as he has the portraits of his actual parents at home. But that's just my nitpickyness xD

On the other side of the story, Flint!! I'm glad Draco and his wife get out of there safely. I wonder what on earth Tenabra is getting up to now...looks like the whole thing about Voldemort's journal was a load of tosh she used to get them to her cause, or to kill Flint. Maybe now she's going to get it for herself, or something else. The plot thickens.

The characters are so rich and full, I'm loving it!!

Good job!

Author's Response: OK, so first off, I need to credit you with a milestone of sorts. So many people have had off reactions to Harry calling Arthur and Molly "mum and dad" that I read your review and I finally went in and changed it. I also cleaned up a lot of other things, so thanks for giving me the impetus.

Rose and Octavia are far up on my list of favorite characters, as well. You'll be seeing a lot more of them.

Tenabra is up to something, you can be certain of that. I promise you'll find out a lot more about it over the next few chapters. And, yes, Flint is done for. I, for one, do not miss him at all.

I'm really glad the characters seem well-fleshed out. I really try to give each of them something special to make them stand out.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by academica 

1st July 2012:
Hey Dan! Here with another requested review :)

Small note - I love how Harry calls Mrs. Weasley 'mum' and Mr. Weasley 'dad'. Those moments really touched my heart, and it set in stone for me that fact that the Weasleys are all that are left to tie Harry, Ron, Hermione and the others together.

I loved the family dinner. I think you did something really amazing by mixing the more sentimental moments with the more humorous ones. The moment in the shed reminded me a lot of canon, and I liked the Quidditch game as well. George's prank was fantastic and really made me laugh. Then, to wrap it up with Teddy's speech and the moment between the three Potter children really brought me back to the seriousness of the story. It definitely didn't slow the story down at all for me, and I found it very interesting. To me, what it added was a deeper understanding of the bonds between the canon characters and their families, with the Weasleys right there in the middle of it all.

The discovery of the bust made me chuckle, too. I think you did a lovely job characterizing Phineas, and I liked the bickering between Astoria and Draco. Those in-laws can be troublesome! :)

I really liked the conversation between Harry and Rose. I thought that the dialogue seemed realistic, and I liked how you gave Rose a touch of fiery spirit without allowing it to dominate her totally. It's nice to see Harry in a moment of weakness - as much as I pity him, it's those moments that always added depth to his character and made him interesting for me in the canon series.

I thought the attack was great - nice lead-up with the Aurors and good work bringing Draco and Astoria into it. It's nice to see Draco not being portrayed as totally inept (and to see Sectumsempra being put to good use). It kind of shocked me to see the diary being concealed as one of Lockhart's books, and I'm even more surprised that Tenabra just discarded it along with Flint. I wonder what she pulled from it, or was it just a ruse all along? I also love how she tricked Flint and killed him - the action was well-written.

No CC, it seems, but I know that it can be nice to get gushy reviews sometimes, so I won't feel too badly about it :) I'm glad that you keep re-requesting from me, because I really enjoy this story, and yet I don't know if I would be able to make time for it on my own. Keep it up, please!

Great work! Hope this was helpful!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the family dinner, because I agonized over that a lot. Most of it doesn't really add to the plot as such. It just gives a little more depth to the family as characters, I hope. George's prank was a lot of fun to write, so I'm happy that you enjoyed it.

The scene with the bust of Phineas Nigellus was similar. Just a way to take what would have been a fairly dry scene of the Malfoys arriving home and arguing a little more fun.

The conversation between Harry and Rose is important, both in terms of character development as well as the underlying plot. Rose is pretty much the only person that Harry really opens up to about his unresolved feelings of guilt and grief. He has never truly been able to let Ginny go, and that fact haunts him.

The attack on Malfoy Manor and the subsequent death of Flint are also important clues to what Lady Tenabta is really playing at. It is not what it appears.

I really appreciate your reviews and if you couldn't come up with any constructive criticism then I'll feel really good about that. ;) Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gin_gin06 

14th June 2012:
Oh My Gods! I am sooo sorry for not reviewing more. School was getting far to hectic and then I lost the link to your story and have been trying to find it! But now I did! And I'm soo glad because i have missed this story.

1) Camb, can I call you Camb? I love the Weasleys family scene. Arthur volunteering was so canon, and oddly reminded me of the time in the thrid movie (was it in the book too?) where he pulls Harry to hte side and tells him about Sirius.


2) George's prank was great, I was not expecting it to backfire on the kids, but I guess I should have. When George said ' “That was a good one, Freddie,” he murmured to himself. “Not our best work, but a good one.”' I thought he was talking to his son at first then I reread that line, and nearly cried knowing his was talking to his brother. :( I can only imagine what it could be like to lose someone so close.

3) I really love Phineas Black. I was soo upset when he wasn't in any of the eight movies. Peeves wasn't either, or Charlie. But you wrote them brilliantly. Once again I have to ask, are you J K Rowling?

4) Oh no! The Malfoy's got attacked again! That's not good! And Flint got hold of Voldemort's diary!?!? D: Run people, run for your lives!

5) Wher is Octavia she was only mentioned once or twice. :( I love that little munchkin!

6) I do not like the sound of this Lady Tenabra. She may have given Flint the what for, but she is evil. PUUURRE EEEVIILLL!

Bubububumm! I'm lovin' it!
--Gin-gin

Author's Response: Hello, again! You can just call me Dan if you like. Please don't feel badly. Real life has to take priority.

I'm glad that you liked the Weasley family dinner. I went back and forth on that scene as to whether I was going to shorten it dramatically. It doesn't really add to the central plot of the story, aside from highlighting Harry's struggles to come to grips with Ginny's death.

George's prank was so much fun to come up with. Honestly, it's the main reason that I couldn't bring myself to cut the scene shorter. So I'm really glad you liked it.

Phineas Nigellus is a fun little character. Even more fun in statuette form.

Flint got hold of what he thinks is the Dark Lord's journal. Apparently, it was not. ;)

You'll see much, much more of Octavia before all is said and done. I love her, too. So much fun to write!

Yes, Tenabra is pure evil. But in a very calculating, cunning sort of way. She's not "brute force evil" like Voldemort.

Thanks so much for coming back and reading and reviewing some more!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jchrissy 

30th May 2012:
Okay, I'm back tracking. I read quite a few chapters today, but I was on my iphone and typing large amounts on that is a HUGE pain.

I really like how are you able to make something as simple as a family dinner seem real enough that I'm enjoying reading about it. The little details you add, playing quidditch, the joke pulled by George, and of course the memories of there dead that smoothly transitioned into the confrontation with Rose and Harry, it is all really remarkable.

I like that you keep switching to who is doing what, and more importantly, I am not bored during ANY of the POVs. I get nervous each time we are taken back to Lady Tenabra, but obviosuly that is your intention and that fact that it works so well everytime is a huge compliment to your talent.

FYI- I have skewed, mixed, and generally mishcocked the letters of Lady Tenabra so many times and still have NOTHING!

HMPH.

Also, I'm very happy you had Draco leave, not stay and fight. Him facing that kind of confrontation and certain injury would have been very out of canon in my opinion. Using his head and getting out asap was exactly what I would see Draco doing. You really are doing an AMAZING job keeping your characters canon.

:)

Author's Response: I've tried and tried to do decent reviews on my iPhone, and unless the chapter is very short, I just can't. So I totally sympathize.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this chapter. I lost a lot of sleep over it at the time because I thought the family dinner scene was too long and it made the chapter drag. With the benefit of hindsight, I'm glad I left it in.

The Rose/Harry confrontation was challenging to write, because I wanted it to sound a certain way. I think I did alright.

Lady Tenabra is rather mysterious, isn't she? I'm glad she inspires nervous feelings.

There was no way Draco was going to stay and fight when he had a way out. It would have been a virtual death sentence, and that's simply not his cup of tea. He made sure that Astoria was safe and then he got out as soon as he could. The fact that he managed to inflict some injury on his opponents was just a bonus for him.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Erised 

3rd May 2012:
Hi!

A real mix of events in this chapter, all of which I enjoyed. The family dinner at the Weasleys' was excellent, with once again your attention to detail being amazing. Seriously, it's awesome. I felt as if I were there with them. The little joke by George was hilarious too! Just in the spirit of Fred. The little line he said 'to' him also really moved me. It was a small thing that really made an impact.

It's also nice to see a more human side to Harry with the help of Rose. Throughout this fic he's been the pillar of the family, staying strong for everyone else. Even though we as readers can see him cracking up internally, it's good that he is getting some sort of catharsis. I hope he opens up a bit more to his family in future chapters. It's also interesting how Rose is his 'confidante' instead f an older family member - is it because of the Boggart situation earlier on?

And can I just say, my goodness you've absolutely killed me with the ending! So so good! The whole way through I've been thinking that it's strange that Voldemort kept a journal - far too human - and I was right! (At least I think...) I have a thousand theories running through my mind right now about what could be the mysterious Lady Tenebra's ulterior motive - perhaps she has a family link with Voldy, considering the 'Lady' part?... hmm. So many theories! I can't wait to read more!

Great chapter and I'll be back soon!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the family dinner. This chapter wound up being so long that I nearly decided to cut a lot of it out. With the benefit of hindsight, I'm glad that I didn't. Everything about it was extremely fun to write.

Harry and Rose have a pretty special relationship in this story. She is so much like her parents, kind of an average of the two of them, and all three of them can be so stubborn. As much as they love each other, they have problems communicating because they're too much alike. Harry, on the other hand, is so at ease with both Ron and Hermione that he and Rose just mesh very naturally. I am totally going to do some one-shots featuring Harry and Rose when I have free time again.

The ending of this chapter was a big twist that has been building since Flint was first introduced back in chapter 6, so I'm glad you liked it. More to come...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by shadowcat2 

29th April 2012:
Oh my god, this is getting crazier. All of these was for nothing? I did NOT expect that twist. As usual, brilliant. The way you write about Harry and Ginny is really really beautiful, you know. :)

I think I will finish the whole story by today. *Moving to the next chapter now.* :D

Author's Response: There's an awful lot going on, I agree. Sometimes it gets hard to keep track of it all. I really enjoy writing about Harry and Ginny and unfortunately the plot I've chosen doesn't afford me a whole lot of opportunities. I'm really glad you liked Harry's ruminations.

I'm really happy that I've been able to capture your attention. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Pixileanin 

15th April 2012:
I loved the immediate juxtaposition of the Weasley family and the Malfoys.Poor Draco doesn't get a rest, does he? Haha!

I think you did a wonderful job of capturing the Weasley clan at its most hectic. The memorial prank was really fun. I loved that George had it twisted to the children.

"Here here!" cheered the bust. "Take no guff from that trifling woman."

Ah haha! What a great line. I really like this bust fellow. Too bad that he's not a real character... or is he??

I like how you chose Rose to come to Harry's aide when he needed a pep talk. Seems like that was just the thing he needed at the moment.

I also loved the "happy thought" that Eglin used to get his patronus going. Good thing too. Everybody needs a happy thought before they go. Oh, and that evil Lady Tenabra!

"Magical Me tumbled to the ground next to Flint's lifeless body."

Another well-placed line. Great things are happening now.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Draco is definitely a bit trodden upon so far in the story, isn't he? Unfortunately, things may get a bit worse for him before they get better.

I enjoyed writing the family dinner enormously. I worried that it made the chapter too long and it really didn't add much to the plot and I almost cut the majority of it out, but in retrospect I'm really glad that I didn't.

Sadly, the bust of Headmaster Black will not be a recurring character. He was a lot of fun to write, but it was a one-time thing.

Rose and Harry have a pretty special relationship. He's her godfather and favorite uncle and being that she embodies a lot of the stronger personality traits of both of her parents, he gets her in a way that most people don't. For her part, Rose is never afraid to cut through Harry's brooding and knock down the walls that he puts up around himself.

You are absolutely correct. Everyone needs a happy through!

So glad that you enjoyed this chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Elenia 

5th April 2012:
Wow! amazing chapter once again! So much happening that it was just... wow!

Loved the family meal with Weasley's at the beginning. It was nicely written and showed the dynamics of the family in a very nice way, also showing something more of the characters! Really loved it. Though Harry calling Arthur and Molly mum and dad bothered me a bit, but that's my problem, not yours (x

The attack to the Malfoy manor was amazing. I could really feel the energy in it. I always enjoy action scenes when they're well done and yours was just splendid! You really have a talent for that!

And the ending! That was so surprising! I was suspecting her to kill Flint, but I didn't think it would happen so soon and so coldbloodedly like that! That was an awesome twist! Well done!

Urgh, why do you do this to me? I have so many things to do, but all I want to do is read more!

~E

Author's Response: Bwahahahah! All your spare time is mine!

The family dinner was so much fun to write. I almost cut a lot of it out because I was afraid it made the chapter drag, but I'm glad that I changed my mind. Several reviewers didn't like Harry referring to Arthur and Molly that way, but a couple also did seem to like it. I haven't actually decided what to do.

I'm really glad you like the attack. I try not to drag them out, and it always makes me feel like they're too short, but it sounds like I've done alright.

I was pretty tired of Flint and this seemed like a good time to be rid of him. Don't worry, others step up to fill his role.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by starryskies55 

3rd April 2012:
*tagging you from review thread*

CRACKING CHAPTER!

So much to say... it's all going to be in the wrong order, sorry!

YAY FLINT IS DEAD- what? Magical Me? So that creepy woman knew that there was no journal? How did she manage to convince Flint that Lockhart's drivel was Voldemort's dark plans? Totally confused.

It's sad the Aurors died though. Harry is going to be annoyed.

IT WAS SO SWEET THAT HARRY CALLED MOLLY AND ARTHUR MUM AND DAD! It really was lovely. And the concern for Hermione was touching- I assume her parents are dead? :(

I thought Harry not wanting to let anyone in was very canon- like GoF and I remember Hermione saying once that he had a 'saving people thing'. It was adorable, Rose being so nice, and I'm glad she's made him see sense.

The family dinner was great too, although how you or Harry keep up with all the grandkids, I have no idea. I remember Octavia, and that is roughly it.

George's prank was pretty awesome- attacking the kids, not that adults, although it took me two reads to work that out. I also really liked the touch with James/Albus rivalry- very believable.

On the whole, another amazing chapter that I thoroughly enjoyed!

And I'm really glad Flint is dead- although I'd prefer mindless thugs to the clever evil woman. :(

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'll follow your comments in the order they were received. Yes, Flint is dead, and I can't say that I'm going to miss him very much. From Lady Tenabra's point of view, he had served his purpose and become more of a liability than an asset, so he had to die. She gave Flint an ancient spell that was supposed to summon the Dark Lord's journal and Flint's imagination did the rest, convincing him that Voldemort had disguised the journal to make it look like a book that nobody would ever bother to look at: Magical Me. It was only a plot, to convince the rest of her followers that they had found the journal so that her plans carried the weight of the Dark Lord's name. So what is the book that she actually has now? We shall see...

I like to think that Harry got comfortable speaking to Molly and Arthur like family, although some readers didn't like the idea. I may yet change it. We shall see...

Harry still has a bad tendency to hide some things from his family, although he's gotten better about it as you'll see in some upcoming chapters. He and Rose have a very special relationship, which is an important element of the story.

The family dinner was loads of fun to write. It did slow the chapter down a bit and I was very tempted to scale it back extensively, but I'm glad I didn't.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! Hope to see you again soon.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Akussa 

8th March 2012:
Hi! You'er tagged!

I haven't had the pleasure to read this novel in a long time and I really missed it. Problem was, I never had enough time to read an entire chapter and leave a worthy review at the end. All this to say that I'm back at reviewing this story and it is still as good as I remembered.

I definitly loved the family time at the Weasley. It was nice and normal; something that Harry definitly needed and you wrote it very nicely.
I loved the conversation between Harry and Rose. I really like the relationship between those two. The honesty they can have toward each other is believable and probably reminds arry of the one he had with Ginny (not the love thing but the personal, human relationship; almost a friendship).

I noticed one slight spelling slip (at the end of the diner scene):

"...James walked up and propped his elbow on Lili’s head..."; you mispelled 'Lily'

Aside from that, everything looked perfect. I really like the ending as well; the attack on the manor was nicely executed and gripping. As for Flint's end, well that was to be expected although I did love carelessly she killed him.

Great chapter once again, can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Welcome back! It's good to see you again.

The Weasley family dinner was something that I really enjoyed writing, even though most of it is not relevant to the plot, strictly speaking. It does offer a pretty nice break after all of heavy stuff in the preceding few chapters and before the attack at the end of this one.

Harry still has a lot of issues, and Rose is one of the few people he can really discuss them with. I envision her as having a combination of her father's irreverence and her mother's insightfulness, along with a healthy dose of her Aunt Ginny's empathy.

Thanks for pointing out the type in Lily's name. I'm patch that up.

And I'm glad you liked Flint's death. To me, it seemed a fitting end for an obnoxiously self-important and deluded individual.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ashling586 

4th January 2012:
Okay, so the book that Flint took from the Malfoy study wasn't the journal? Was it just some ploy? A way to get rid of Flint? What in the world happened? Did I miss something? Who in the world is this mysterious woman?
Now that was a cliff hanger if I ever truly saw one. I love the prank that George pulled on the kids, that was just brilliantly classic. I also loved the scene between Harry and Rosie, it showed even more the bond that the two of them have. It was sweet and very natural at the same time. Overall it was another wonderful chapter to a great story.

Author's Response: Mysterious, no? So it turns out that Gilderoy Lockhart's rubbish book is just that: a rubbish book. Whatever is Tenabra playing at? Stay tuned...

The prank came to me in a moment of inspiration as I was saying to myself, "this section on the family dinner is awful. If I can't improve it, it has to go." I really liked it, so I was really happy to be able to salvage it, and do it in a way that feeds right into Harry's troubles.

Rosie is just a joy to write. I probably enjoy her more than any other character besides Tenabra.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

30th November 2011:
Hm. I don't know how I feel about this chapter. I mean I enjoyed it but there were a few parts I felt iffy on.

Harry calling Arthur and Molly 'Mum' and 'Dad.' That seems odd to me only because his own parents, well he never had anyone to call 'Mum' or 'Dad' all those years so it kind of seems to be betraying the emotion and the power of those two words. I could see him perhaps calling them by their actual names and then if there's a battle and one of them gets killed, in a fit of desperation and pain he might scream out 'Mum!' But that's more personal opinion then anything.

Also, I kind of expected Flint to die. The way you set it up letting us know what was going to happen (what they were supposed to do) kind of gave it away. I think it would have added a bit more drama if you didn't give away everything the 'Dark' side was going to do. Sometimes surprise is key, especially if you're going to kill someone off.

Other than that I enjoyed the chapter. I really felt for Harry because his loss is so great. Ginny was his soul mate. The entire dinner between the family was enjoyable as well. You really don't forget one character! I would go crazy trying to remember to add them all in!

Author's Response: She. Is. A. Machine!

The bit with Harry calling Molly and Arthur "Mum" and "Dad" seems to bother a lot of people. I should probably reconsider it. It's just that he's been like a son to them for so long and he never really knew his own parents...

You are the only commenter so far who claims to have seen Flint's death coming, so maybe you're better at seeing what's coming than you give yourself credit for. It was satisfying to kill him off. I didn't really like him.

Harry's struggles are going to get worse before they get better. It's a central premise of the whole story.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Occlument 

15th November 2011:
hey, it's Occlument again

I'm desperately trying to find something to criticize but this chapter is too damn well written. I have to say you are brilliant when the action comes along.

I thought the family reunion bit was also fantastic. This is the proper time to introduce everybody's lives and to show just how deep Harry's love and grief goes, how he is coping.

I just love Rose Weasely. That has no constructive value to you, but I love her anyway.

So that's that for flint. I stand by what I've said previosly, though. Just imagine how much more explosive this action scene could have been if we hadn't expected it.

Really enjoying this story. Great job.

Author's Response: Welcome back!

Wow. I'm kind of at a loss for words. You are only of my most insightful reviewers when it comes to big-picture topics like pace and plot development. If you can't find anything to critique then I feel like I did a great job.

I was originally very worried about the family reunion. I thought it was extraneous fluff that slowed the story down too much. But it's growing on me and people seem to like it. Harry is... well, he's not coping well. And sadly it gets worse before it gets better.

Rose is so much fun to write. She's the snarky voice inside all of our heads that wants to gag when we read over-written, overly emotional fan fic. She really helps balance out the story.

Point taken on the attack and Flint's untimely demise. I promise you won't see the next attack coming.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Remus 

28th October 2011:
Hey, its me again! Sorry it has taken a while to come and review your story! I've been down/busy/not in a mood to read/blegh. Hahaha. All mixed.

Anyway, this chapter is great despite your plot moving just a bit towards the end. I would like to point out that I absolutely love:

1) The rivalry that Al and James have. Its very realistic for there to be sibling rivalry and the way you portray it is fantastic.

2) The scene with Rose and Harry. The dialogue between the two of them is absolutely brilliant.

3) Draco and Astoria. In fact, I like the way you write them that I hope you write a story about them. Hahaha! Its just great!

4) And really?! The journal was hidden in a Lockhart book? Bah! So genius! :D

One thing I'm iffy about:

Harry calling Molly and Arthur mum and dad. Yes, they've been his family for a long time but idk. You'd think that it would betray the memory of his own mother and father. Then again, a lot of people call their close friends' parents "mom" or "dad". So like I said...I'm kinda iffy about it but not a whole lot. It can go either way, you know.

Anyway, must read the following chapter now! :D

Author's Response: Welcome back!

I'm not completely sure what you mean by the plot moving just a bit. I was kind of hoping that it was moving along throughout the chapter. Anyway, maybe I'll PM you about that.

I'm really trying to think of more ways to involve Harry's children in the story. At the same time, I'm getting worried that it has too many moving parts. The quest for balance goes on...

I had a great time writing the scene with Rose and Harry, even though it's not the world's happiest subject matter. Rose and Draco are my two biggest points of levity so far although they will both have some heavier moments.

You might want to reread the last few paragraphs if you think that Magical Me was really Tom Riddle's journal. Especially the last couple of sentences.

I've had a few people react to Harry's terms of affection for his in-laws. Maybe I'll rethink that. Hopefully it wasn't too distracting.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. On to your next chapter review...


 Report Review

Review #24, by sophie_hatter 

20th October 2011:
Lots and lots of good things here. Dinner at The Burrow is really fantastic. I love seeing Harry with his kids and I hope we get more of that.

Draco and Astoria are brilliant. I think they are a fantastic double act, and I love how you write them.

The scene with Rose and Harry is one of my favourites that you've written, just so touching.

And then finally, the ending is breath-takingly brilliant. I sooo did not see that one coming!

Author's Response: Another chapter that was kind of painful to write, so I'm glad it turned out OK.

Draco and Astoria are a lot of fun to write. She's a great counter-balance to his pomposity and cynicism. I haven't 100% figured out how to use her the rest of the way through the story. She's already kind of admitted that she wasn't a strong DADA student, but you can make up for some things with determination. Time will tell...

The scene with Rose and Harry worked out OK, I think. It was originally more of a tear-jerker, but I feel like maybe I've had too many of those already. I'd like to keep the story from going over one box of tissues.

Glad you liked the ending. Flint served a purpose, but honestly I didn't really like the character. So it was time for him to go.

Thanks again for reading, editing, reading some more and reviewing. Talk to you soon...


 Report Review

Review #25, by Emmanuelle 

16th October 2011:
Wow,
There sure is a lot going on in this chapter.
Everything is written well and I enjoyed reading it.
The only thing is harry, no matter what he can't seem to get over losing Ginny, He is also calling Mr. Weasley "Dad" and even though I like that a LOT I am not sure it is Harry like.
But with all the years Harry has been part of the Weasley family it si very fitting.
Another good chapter.
Happy writing,
Emmanuelle

Author's Response: Hello, again.

I've always thought of Harry's relationship with Molly and Arthur as that of an adopted son. Maybe I read more into it that most people, but after being Ron's best friend for over 50 years and Ginny's husband for around 40, I figure he and Arthur are really close.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>