Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 

9th December 2014:
Hey Dan,

I had a little bit of time, so I came back to review the next chapter :)

This one also did not disappoint. I'm really enjoying watching this mystery unfold. You truly are a master of the little details - and this story is so well fleshed out that I feel like I need to read each chapter a few times, to catch everything.

You've done a great job portraying Harry as a leader of the department. He takes care of all the little details and also delegates where needed. He's comfortable dealing with high-ranking officials on a regular basis.

Ron, Ron, Ron. Stubborn and always a tad clueless and doesn't exactly know what to do with himself with Hermione out of commission. At least he's willing to take a small amount of direction from Harry - I was getting really worried about him.

Wow! They found Ron and Hermione's wands! That is amazing. Although, I'm suspicious. Draco and Astoria already searched the place and they didn't find them.

Haha - I can't even with the horse stuff...

This is another line that caught my attention and I feel like might be a bit foreshadowing:

"Hermys," Harry replied, kneeling so he could speak to him at eye level, "if Hermione or Ron ever need anything, you always have my permission to help."

I feel like there is more coming with Hermys and Ron/Hermione or... something, I can't put my finger on it.

Haha - of course Ron and Hugo can sit next to Hermione's bed and argue for hours and not think it's getting to her... men.

At first I thought it seemed odd that Hermione wasn't getting better (especially after the horrid news that Harry received), but then I remembered that magical injuries always seemed to take a really long time to heal - especially dark magic. I was thinking of the curse that Katie Bell endured during Harry's sixth year. She was out of school for quite a while. Maybe I'm just being a hopeless optimist here, but I think, especially given the fact that they have all the top minds working on this one, that Healer Gelbard might be right and it will just take some time.

I really loved the Harry/Hermione moment. It was heart-warming.

And Dennis Northway is back. Harry obviously left an impression on him and I'm glad to see that.

Lady Tenebra... I'm going to check up on that, but the name doesn't ring a bell. And she's really, really blond... like the Malfoys.

This is really, really nitpicky, but I found a few places where the kinship names should be capitalized. Here:

"Thanks, uncle Harry," she heard her son yawn,

I think it should be "Uncle Harry."

And here:

"Bye, mum," she felt Hugo lean over and kiss her on the cheek.

Since Hugo is addressing her, it probably should be "Mum."

My uncle Leland was working in Magical Records when it was attacked

Uncle Leland

Those were the ones that I found.

And I just KNEW this was all connected to Ginny's death - there was no way that was a simple accident. I also feel like there's more going on with the whole Percy thing too. I can't wait to find out more!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth! I **will** get through these today! :)

I'm really pleased that you like the way the story is unfolding. There was a period of time in the story where I felt like I was getting ahead of myself, so I tried really hard to slow the narrative down and focus more on descriptions and making sure that I wasn't glossing over any events that added more context to the story. Harry's interactions with his coworkers were definitely a part of that. I wanted to show him really functioning in the day-to-day tasks that make up his job, and then show how things change as the story unfolds. I think the shift from the ordinary to the extraordinary helps to define how the different characters behave when the real action starts.

You're going to see Ron struggle to function a bit over the next few chapters. I think he more than makes up for it later in the story, though. Stay tuned...

I'm not sure suspicion is the right way to think about Ron and Hermione's wands, but don't forget about them, either. You'll definitely see them again. That said, while I was writing this I remember wondering what would have happened to them after the Snatchers took them away.

Your instincts are good here. You definitely haven't seen the last of Hermys. ;)

Healer Gelbard is competent and he'll do the best he can within the limits of what he knows. You're correct that dark magical injuries take a long time to heal and the dark curse that was used on Hermione is not a common piece of magic. Will she improve? Yep. But she has a long, slow process in front of her.

Dennis is another character that will be present throughout the story. He's starting to open his eyes in this chapter, to realize what's really going on around him. It's a good sign.

I really appreciate you nit-picking the capitalization. I wasn't nearly as picky when I wrote this, so it's good to go back and clean things like that up.

Lady Tenabra certainly wants her minions to believe that Ginny's death was no random act of muggle-on-magical violence. Then again, she's been known to stretch the truth a bit when it suits her. All will be revealed...

Thanks so much for the awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #2, by GingeredTea 

14th June 2014:
The idea that one would need to be 'studious' to avoid family really made me laugh, because it made me really analyze how big the 'family was' and that made me realize how 'studiously avoiding' really did fit. Sorry for the long rant about one word, but it was really a perfect choice. :D

As a teacher who sometimes has to deal with permission slips and 'so-and-so is going to take little Timmy home today' sort of notes (and then the matter-of-fact moment where you ask that person to see their license because no, it doesn't matter that the child knows them and calls them the right name), really made me appreciate what Neville went through before he conceded to having one person make the request for all of them.

Oh my, you too this very serious moment between Hugo, Ron and Hermione and managed to make me laugh. Ron's comment about sleeping in the bed next to Hermione was simply so RON! :D

You transition from one joke to another, tempering the seriousness of both scenes.

"It had given the guard just enough pause for one of the Aurors to stun him. Harry and Terry both agreed that the older they became, the more uses they found for Luna’s peculiar beliefs."

I loved that!

You did a really brilliant job with the Harry and Hermione scene. Setting him up to be physically near her and then describing his slight tensing as she worried about not getting well and he thought of how she might not walk - that was a great setup.

You write an older Trio very very well.

Uncle Harry playing keeper made me laugh!

"“You imperiused the muggle who killed Potter’s wife? Seriously?” Nott couldn’t help himself. She offered a slight nod from beneath her hood."

The plot thickens! What is up? Who is she? Pale and blond. Did Mrs. Malfoy really die? Luna? No way, right?

Author's Response: Hi! Today seems like a good day to answer reviews. I'm getting ever so far behind.

I'm glad you liked Harry's studiousness. It's been a long time, but I think I actually remember trying a few different words there before I settled on that one.

Given that Neville was a family friend and also a very practical sort of guy, I just had it figured that he eventually would have accepted somebody speaking collectively for Molly and Arthur's family.

Poor Hugo is caught in the middle of the mess. He can't really *make* his father do anything, but he's giving it the old college try.

Everyone can learn something useful from Luna if they listen closely enough. ;)

I really enjoyed writing the Harry/Hermione scene because it's the sort of physical closeness that a lot of fan fic authors shy away from for some reason. I don't get it. They've been friends for over 50 years by this point. A few hugs are too be expected, I think.

The pale, blond woman will be revealed in good time, as will the truth about her involvement in Ginny's murder. If I told you now, it would spoil the fun. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by peggy77 

21st November 2013:
Is Lady Tenabra actually a Malfoy? You don't imply her age, other than she's obviously an adult, so she could be an illegitimate daughter of either Lucius or Draco...something in your description made me suspect that she's a Malfoy.

Author's Response: She could be, but I'm afraid you'll have to wait to find out. I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by APerkins 

21st October 2013:
Umm. So I was gonna quit for the day. . And probably the week when I realised I had spent the entire last review calling hermys kriffin.
Oops.

Also. Really really like your story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the clarification! I was getting really confused. ;)

Glad you like it. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Debra20 

28th August 2013:
I iz back!!

Okai, so I usually offer my thoughts/feelings on the chapter I read of a story in chronological order, in tune with the events unfolding in the chapter but today is not one of those days. Today, I am bursting to say "OMG OMG OMG WHO IS WHAT WOMAN???" I am literally sitting here, biting my nails and jumping up and down in my chair from the excitement. I haven't been this excited about a fictional villain since HP and A Song of Ice and Fire! Especially since I have a haunch that Madam Tenebra is a canon character. I might be wrong, but when you described the moonlight highlighting her features, I immediately imagined Narcissa Malfoy. The gasp I let out almost woke up my family haha

Ok, so now that that's out of the way, I can make more sense of this review. Chapter by chapter, I am more and more appreciative of they way you're pulling Harry off. People don't list him as a difficult character to write because he's central to the canon books, but sometimes, that exact fact is what makes him not so easy to tackle. I think you're doing him a great justice. He still retains much of his adolescent feel, and his mature allure fits right into place with how I imagine him to be as a grown up. I love your Harry!

Just so you know, I am afraid to read the next chapter. I haven't read the preview of it from the description (I never read in advance), but since the plan Madam Tenebra and Flint created is ready to be taken out, I am sure it will happen next chapter. And I am afraid of what it's going to mean for Draco and Astoria! This may be silly, but I have a hard time distinguishing from Draco/Astoria here and Draco/Astoria from Detox. In my mind, the way you've made them work together in Detox is canon for all your stories and I am really, really scared about what's gonna happen to them here, in CoB. Not to mention if someone else is home with them at the same moment (I am thinking about Scorpius here). I just...gah! Your story is not an easy read when it comes to feels!!

I will not even mention Hermione, because only the thought of her and what she will most probably have to face is enough to reduce me to tears.

Also, I am looking forward to the Weasley family reunion! It's bound to be a fun moment, all that family reunited *swoon*

Author's Response: Hi, there! Sorry for Ral and I ribbing you a little about the mystery woman, but it's so much fun! Who is she? Well, it really wouldn't be much fun if I told you, would it?

I am relieved and overjoyed that you like the way Harry comes off in this. Out of all the characters, he's the one that I spent to most time on, obsessing over his thoughts and dialog and reactions. It is really tricky to preserve the things that make Harry who he is while aging the character realistically. So happy that it works for you!

The next chapter has some bumpy stretches for our heroes, as you know already. I don't think it's silly at all that you have a hard time keeping Draco and Astoria straight between the two stories. In fact, I was hoping it would work out that way. The Draco and Astoria you see in Detox are meant to be younger versions of the characters you see in this story. Marked, Detox and CoB show Draco at three different stages of his life, all very enjoyable to write.

Hermione has tough times ahead, but she's strong. Hopefully, she'll surprise you with her resilience. :)

Wow, you are moving right along. Thanks so much for stopping to share your thoughts and reactions!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney Dark 

21st July 2013:
Woo, I'm back! And I realize it has been a long time since my last review, but better late than never!

I really had forgotten how much I loved this story and how well it's written. I actually went back and re-read the previous eight chapters to jog my memory and fell in love with it, and all your characters all over again!

I think the thing that amazes me the most about this story is how close to canon you keep all your characters, especially Harry, Ron, and Hermione, while adding your own sort of twist to them, which has obviously come with age. I also love that there is always this edge of mystery and darkness to each chapter, that surrounds the former Death Eaters and Slytherins - Flint, Gamp and co!

And just for the record, Lady Tenabra is one creepy chick! I have this feeling that I should know who she is by now, but I honestly have no idea!

I am feeling incredibly bad for both Hermione and Harry at the moment. Hermione for obvious reasons, but Harry because I can see the effect Ginny's has had on him - he's not quite the same as he might have been if she was still alive. And then there's Ron, who's terrible at dealing with change. I really enjoyed reading the argument between Ron and Hugo, actually - particularly because I always enjoy reading about the next-generation characters through the eyes of the original cast.

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi! You are too kind to me, you know that? Too kind! Don't feel like you have to stop, though. ;)

I can't tell you how pleased I am that you feel that way about the characters. Some people like to write non-canon versions of the characters or focus on original characters. I like to write canon stories and keep the characters as close as possible. So it's the highest compliment I can get to hear that they seem as they did in the books. Thank you!

Lady Tenabra was so much fun to write. I haven't enjoyed another character quite as much since. I think of her as sort of a female Professor Moriarty. She's very intelligent, cultured and quick-witted, but also cunning, cold and completely ruthless.

All of the canon characters have their own personal trials to overcome in this story as well as contending with the Blood Order. You'll see Harry struggle a lot with Ginny's death. He never truly got over it. Hermione and Ron both have a very hard time dealing with her injury. Hugo also has interesting times ahead of him, as you'll see later on.

I'm so happy that you're enjoying the story! Thanks for sharing all of your thoughts and reactions!


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
I think that Harry might have to get Molly involved to make Ron sleep, he's love for Hermione is awesome and it's easy to see that he truly loves Hermione and he's really sweet. But the dude needs to sleep!

Harry has a tapestry for his family? That is so awesome! I love that!

I really love the way that you've written Harry, he's exactly how I pictured him when he's older, as well as Ron and Hermione. You've written them so brilliantly, you've written them spot on!

:O So this lady is behind the muggle killing Ginny! Who is she? Can I hurt her? Will Theo protect me if I do?

Author's Response: Isn't it amusing that Molly is still the "doomsday solution" that Harry uses to get Ron to take care of himself? Some things simply won't ever change.

I always thought the Black family tapestry was neat, so why not have a version of it that isn't covered in scorch marks? Harry needs some little prompts to keep his mind organized.

Whew! I always wonder how the Trio are going to sound to people. I'm glad that you think I got them right. That was really important to me.

Yes, she claims that she was the one behind Ginny's murder. Like most things she says, you'll have to wait and see whether or not it's true. ;) And Theo would be well advised to look after his own well-being before he tries to protect anyone else.

Ooh, this is so much fun! Thanks so much!
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #8, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

10th May 2013:
Hello hello :)

I'm back again! Trust me you will be hearing my thoughts on every chapter as I can't help but leave my thoughts on the chapter after I read it and I love reading your responses back! I was just letting you know your story is highly addictive haha!

I love the idea of the Weasley family dinner being a full on mission for everybody with tasks designated to each person. Twelve sets of parents is just crazy - have you or did you I guess set yourself up a family tree to keep up?

Dan! I really didn't need the mental pictures of Lucius and Narcissa and leather and yeah. It did make me laugh though. Finding Ron and Hermiones old wands was a really awesome idea though. I never thought about them never getting them back. I love love love the small details in this story Dan, each one always makes me smile.

Lets add Hugo on the list of grown men who are scared of Molly Weasley. I really hope we get to see more of her as the story develops, she's such an amazing character.

I loved Harrys thoughtfulness with the box of goodies - I can't think of anything more perfect when you have an extended hospital stay. I like how you added in that actually the deodrant gave her a rash. It just goes to show how little Ron and Harry probably do pay attention bless them.

Neville's right, Harry would make a good teacher. The way he was with Dennis in the hospital was great, there really is no wonder he has so much respect from everybody around him.

The mystery around Tenebra continues. I love her as a villain, I have a feeling I should know who she is by now though and it's bugging me.

Amazing chapter as always!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hi, Lauren!

I'm really excited to hear all of your thoughts, I just didn't want you to feel obligated. ;) I'll do my best to keep the responses fun and informative. And I love that you find it addictive. :D

I imagine that the Weasley family dinner requires a lot of planning and effort because it isn't easy to create that level of chaos. It takes hard work and dedication. It really is a huge group of people, even we allow ourselves the luxury of imagining that the Burrow has been magically -- or non-magically -- enlarged since the time of the books.

Sorry about the whole Lucius-Narcissa thing. It's pretty yucky, I agree. But these people were so stiff and frumpy, you have to imagine they did *something* to let their hair down. Finding Ron and Hermione's wands popped into my head when I was working on my plot diagram after the first few chapters were complete. Keep an eye on those two pieces of wood. One of them will prove rather significant in the long run...

I think *most* grown men -- and women -- should be afraid of Molly. She's such a formidable woman. You will definitely see more of her in all her mother lioness glory.

Going all the way back to his school days, Harry has spent plenty of time in hospitals. So I'm sure he knows what sorts of things are likely to make the stay a little less awful.

I would be really, *REALLY* impressed if you figured at Lady T at this point. A bit later, perhaps. But to figure her at at this point you'd have to be nearly psychic.

So glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for the awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Cassius Alcinder 

8th May 2013:
Review tag!

So its been way too long since I left off with the last chapter, but better late than never, it's great to be back.

I really enjoyed the way you've seamlessly adapted the classic trappings of politics and bureaucracy into the magical world; something we got a some good glimpses at in the books, but would be much more prevalent to the story when the characters are older and working.

You've also done an excellent job at portraying the character's mental states, particularly Harry. I could really feel the tension of all the pressures he was under, and how its tearing him apart to see Hermione in that state and not be able to tell her the whole truth, and also the lingering fears he must have about a renewed war.

Lady Tenabra seems like a classic villain; she had that intense chill about her when she spoke, and you could tell that she is not somebody to mess with. I feel like Flint and company don't really appreciate what they're getting into.

The plot continues to be very compelling, and I hope to read the rest of the story in the near future.

Author's Response: Hi, there! It has been a long time. I'm so glad you came back.

As much as I feel like the Ministry went through a "golden age" under Kingsley's leadership after the death of Voldemort, the pendulum swings both ways. Governments, as a general rule of thumb, can't handle prosperity and success for very long without messing it up somehow. You're correct; the canon characters are much more aware of the goings on inside the Ministry now because of their age and professions.

Poor Harry isn't mentally well and he really hasn't been since Ginny's death. Hermione has been one of the anchors of his life since he was 11 years old, so he definitely doesn't deal well with how close he came to losing her.

Flint and his friends have *no idea* who they're messing with, but they'll find out soon enough. Aside from her eloquence, Tenabra also has a talent for manipulating the circumstances to her advantage, as you'll soon see.

I do hope you get a chance to read more. Thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

8th January 2013:
It's so strange, reading a straight Hugo... :P

Anyway, the plot thickens. I love the mystery surrounding the case. It just pulls me in. I'm seriously having a hard time putting this away now that I'm this far in. I'm just desperate to know more.

The way you wrote Harry's emotions when talking about his guilt over not telling Hermione about her maybe not being able to walk was so heartbreaking. Especially since Hermione has been crying. Sometimes it's so hard for me to imagine Hermione crying, even though we've seen it in the books/movies. But she's so strong, helping everyone, that reading her feel helpless and crying is so sad. You're amazing at writing that, not a lot makes me want to cry.

*Gasp* They killed Ginny! ...Given everything they've done, that doesn't surprise me so much, but I was waiting for when the connection between them and Ginny would come up.

This woman, Tenabra, is a rather scary bad guy, she knows everything! Is she completely new or is this an alias and we know her (from canon or someone who's already been in previous chapters)? Because I keep thinking that if she's keeping her face covered, does that mean the ex Death Eaters know her? And do readers? It'll be interesting to find out.

I have more and more respect for Dennis now. :D

I was right: amazing chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Isn't it funny how you start to think of certain characters in certain ways and then it's really hard to shake? I'll never think of Hugo as anything other than the highly normal kid who went through a rebellious phase because he felt overshadowed by his sister and cousins and McGonagall snapped him out of it and he turned out essentially normal. Different strokes...

I don't think of Hermione as somebody who cries often, but she's in a really tough spot at the moment. Harry desperately wants to tell her what he knows, but she's just not strong enough to handle it at this point and Ron would probably come unglued.

Well, they claim to have killed Ginny. We'll see whether or not it's true.

Tenabra stays rather well informed, and she has thought her plan out far in advance. Who is she? It will be quite a while before we know for sure. ;)

Dennis is gradually waking up to the realities of the world around him. Like I said before, keep an eye on him. His awakening is symbolic of the rest of the wizarding world.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by shadowycorner 

22nd November 2012:
Is Lady Tenabra a canon person? I just feel it's possible since you described her appearance, maybe giving us a hint? Ack, so many questions! I gathered that Ginny's death went deeper than just a Muggle attack, but you set the scene up so well it still sort of surprised me. I hate them, the whole lot of them for that. This story is so intriguing so far. I am absolutely loving every bit of it. Well, in a way.parts where I see Hermione suffer kill me but they're still so well-written and emotional. And with each chapter you just leave me begging for more. I'm so excited for the Weasley dinner. Boy it will be hard keeping track of all the family members. There must be so much of them.

I wonder how Hermione takes the news about her injuries. I mean, she's really strong and collected, but something as horrible as this can break anyone for some time. Sleep-deprived Ron is so sweet! I am making noises every time he gives her a kiss and when he wanted to be with her even though he'd be sick in the next bed! These little things are why I love Ronmione so much.

This story is awesome. It's starting to be very sinister and there's so many more chapters to come, so I'm terrified and excited at the same time. But just so you know, I'm enjoying this novel very much! I didn't read much of these Post-Hogwarts new evil plots, but I had a sudden craving for a Trio fic and deciding to read this is really paying off so far. Fantastic work and your writing is flawless.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

The story is full of hints as to Lady Tenabra's true identity. The difficult part is that not all of them are genuine. ;)

Ginny's death was definitely bigger than just a random muggle shooting. There was a real motive behind it. The details will be gradually revealed, but suffice it to say that the circumstances are actually quite critical to the outcome of the story. ;)

I **really** hope you like the family dinner. It was a lot of fun to write! As far as keeping track of all the family members, the only ones that are really tough are the fourth generation, i.e. Molly and Arthur's great-grandchildren. I finally had to break down and make a family tree to keep them all straight. ;)

You'll find out fairly soon how Hermione copes with the knowledge that Harry now possesses. He certainly won't keep her in the dark forever, but the Healer has a point: neither she nor Ron are strong enough to deal with that knowledge right now. He probably would prefer to be sick in a bed next to her if it meant that he got to stay, except for his burning need to catch the people who hurt her in the first place.

If my writing seems flawless, it's mostly because of my awesome beta reader and all of the reviewers who've come before you and ferreted out all of the typos. A great HPFF story is always, at least in part, a community effort. Thanks for adding your own input!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Illuminate 

14th November 2012:
Hi! Another interesting chapter!

Characterisation of Hermione was very good, as we see the story from her point of view for a while. Seems very likely she'd be obsessing over what's going on instead of trying to get better. I wonder how she will react when she learns the rest about her condition, and how her family will react!

We know the name of the lady! Tenabra. Ooh, and I'm wondering about whether or not what she said about Ginny was true. Seems to me what she meant by casting a die could have included that. I'm intrigued as to who she really is and what her motive would be to have Ginny killed.

Great job again!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I tried hard to keep some balance in Hermione's character. She still tends to put the common good above her own, but she's also old and wise enough to understand that she has to take care of herself or she won't be able to help very much. You'll find out fairly soon how she reacts to her condition.

Did Lady Tenabra kill Ginny or is she bluffing? It's an interesting question, one that will be answered later in the story. Suffice it to say that she is both more and less than she appears to be. ;)

I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Adele Share 

25th August 2012:
HA! Knew it! Ginny's death wasn't just some pointless fatality of a Muggle mugging! Loving the plot so far, has me totally hooked. Although, sometimes its hard to descern that the characters are all elderly. Cause in 2046 Harry would be like 65, and alot of the time it reads like their still really young. Only thing that bothers me slightly though. Still loving it!!" :D

Author's Response: Hello again!

It was definitely a tricky balance, trying to keep the characters consistent while also aging them realistically. I guess one thing I'll say in my defense is that wizards live a lot longer than muggles, so maybe they're less likely to "act their age".

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by happy_reader 

7th August 2012:
yeah that would be so great if you could reply to this with the weasley family tree! :)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Here's how it looked in my mind:

1~ Arthur Weasley - age 95
M Molly Prewett Weasley - age 95

2~1 William Weasley - age 74
M Fleur Delacour Weasley - age 67

2~1~1 Victoire Weasley - age 44
M Teddy Remus Lupin - age 47

2~1~1~1 Remus II Lupin - age 21

2~1~1~2 Billy Lupin - age 8

2~1~2 Dominique Weasley - age 39
M unnamed

2~1~2~1 Vanessa - age 13

2~1~2~2 Calliope - age 7

2~1~3 Louis Weasley - age 36
M unnamed

2~1~3~1 Charles Weasley - age 12

2~1~3~2 Jean Weasley - age 3

2~2 Charlie Weasley - age 72

2~3 Percy Weasley - age 69
M Audrey Weasley - age 69

2~3~1 Molly Weasley - age 39
M unknown

2~3~1~1 unnamed child

2~3~1~2 unnamed child

2~3~2 Lucy Weasley - age 35
M unknown

2~3~2~1 unnamed child

2~3~2~2 unnamed child

2~4 George Fabian Weasley - age 67
M Angelina Johnson Weasley - age 67

2~4~1 Fred II Weasley - age 38
M unknown

2~4~1~1 Angie Weasley - age 12

2~4~1~2 unnamed child

2~4~2 Roxanne Weasley - age 35
M unknown

2~4~2~1 Albert - age 13

2~4~2~2 Michael - age 9

2~5 Fred Gideon Weasley - deceased, would have been 67

2~6 Ronald Bilius Weasley - age 65
M Hermione Granger Weasley - age 65

2~6~1 Rose Jane Weasley - age 39
M Scorpius Hyperion Malfoy - age 39

2~6~1~1 Aiden Malfoy - age 17

2~6~1~2 Octavia Astoria Malfoy - age 6

2~6~2 Hugo Weasley - age 36
M Fiona Weasley - age 35

2~6~2~1 Celeste Weasley - age 16

2~6~2~2 Robert Weasley - age 12

2~5~2~3 Amelie Weasley - age 2

2~7 Ginevra Molly Weasley Potter - deceased, would have been 64
M Harry James Potter - age 65

2~7~1 James Sirius Potter - age 43
M Brandy Potter - age 41

2~7~1~1 Arthur II Potter - age 16

2~7~1~2 Viktor Potter - age 14

2~7~2 Albus Severus Potter - age 39
M Jenny Potter - age 38

2~7~2~1 Oliver Potter - age 16

2~7~2~2 Lillian Potter - age 11

2~7~3 Lily Luna Potter - age 37
M Brandon - age 36

2~7~3~1 Ronald - age 14

2~7~3~2 Ellie - age 10

Obviously there are some gaps, but I really tried to introduce characters in a context where they were important instead of doing a big dump of name-rank-serial number~

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by academica 

27th June 2012:
Hi Dan! Here with another requested review :)

I really love your characterization of Hugo. I don't read much next-gen, but he always seems to be portrayed as being sort of doughy, like the comic relief in a more hapless way than Fred and George. (Maybe that's my head canon? I don't know.) Anyway, I like that he has more fire in him here, and I really enjoyed his exchange with his dad. It's nice to see Ron take some of what he dishes out.

On another note, I love your little details, because I think that sort of focused attention and need to tie up the loose ends really sets this story apart. I love the little comment about Zabini spending his mother's dead husbands' gold. Seems sort of ironic, really, him being male! I also love the section where Harry and Hermione are talking, not so much because of them but because of the comments you make about the relationship between the Malfoys and Hermione. Even if Draco and Astoria are still working things out in that area, it's very sweet to see Narcissa and Octavia behaving in a much warmer, kinder manner. Since you asked about Harry and Hermione, though, I do think it's believable. Typical for Harry to bite back his feelings and Hermione to feel suspicious.

The ending is very interesting! I get the sense that Tenabra is sort of playing both sides of the chess board, a little like the Joker from Batman but with a pinch more composure, just so she can see the chaos unfold. I'm curious to learn more about her and see how things are shaping up for her minions.

Great job! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm glad you liked Hugo. I've done my best to give him a fair and even portrayal. I don't think of him as being a rock star among the next generation characters, but a solid guy who has lived a very normal life, at least for a wizard. You'll see more of him coming up.

I think little details are very important to telling a good story. They help the reader paint a picture in their mind and place the characters and their actions into context. I'm so glad to know that Harry and Hermione's chat worked for you. Some reviewers have been kind of meh on that.

Tenabra certainly has more going on than meets the eye. It wouldn't be safe for anyone, including her own minions, to assume that they understand her objectives.

Thanks so much for another awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by charlottetrips 

7th May 2012:
I am back again! I really do just want to read through this story but seeing as how I’m helping you so much with keeping an eye out for typos and being all thorough and such, I’m going to keep going through this at my snail’s pace :/

Again with the little details that just add more to the canon universe. I like that Harry can’t keep track of his family in terms of who’s at Hogwarts and such. I like the tree, just a very nice touch.

He sent the owl on its way and sat down to reread [Richards’s] report. - just [Richards’] no extra “s” at the end

Political damage control always began with assigning blame. - true that.

I’m here and [mum] is fine. – capitalize “m”. Also “dad” later in the same section. Used when “Mother”, “Father” and “Uncle Harry” are being addressed as proper nouns.

Harry and Terry both agreed that the older they became, the more uses they found for Luna’s peculiar beliefs. - ♥

“Hermys,” Harry replied, kneeling so he could speak to him at eye level, “if Hermione or Ron ever need anything, you always have my permission to help.” - is this going to be useful in the future? Because I feel like it is going to be.

“Is he in the lift yet[,]” Harry asked in a low voice[?] – [,] = [?] and the [?] should be a period [.]

I love this exchange between Harry and Hermione. I can’t ship them because their friendship is so true to just being friends, it’s quite lovely to read. She really does know him so well and he really does care for her and it’s just great.

She was once again dressed in her black hooded cloak, with only her lips and chin visible beneath its dark cowl. - reminds me of the Emperor in Star Wars :P

I really like the tension you have between Flint and Tenebra. He’s trying to one up her and failing and she’s handling it with a contemptible cool while Flint’s getting riled up about it. It’s evident in how he tries to appear equal to her and how he basically can’t compare.

One more thing:

IS SHE…NARCISSA?!?

xChar

Author's Response: Narcissa? Now there's a theory that I hadn't seen yet, and I've seen quite a few. *If* Narcissa is Lady Tenabra, it means that she faked her own death. I'll leave it at that for now.

First off, thanks for pointing out all the typos. This story is going to be press-ready by the time you're done reading it. ;)

I can't imagine that Harry is any better at keeping track of a large list of family members than he has ever been at keeping track of large amounts of information. So an enchanted tapestry would be a big help.

You have more Luna to look forward to, beginning in about 3 chapters. She was hard to work into this story, as much as I wanted to.

I like to think that Harry and Hermione have a very deep, brother-sister type relationship. And you're right, try as I might, I just can't pair the two of them in a romantic way. An ongoing fic by one of my favorite authors is doing this in a sort of AU, influenced by outside forces sort of way, and I'm actually very interested to see how it turns out.

I have taken a few influences from the Emperor and Vader both as I've written Tenabra. She's shrewd and shadowy like the Emperor, but she likes her minions to believe that she's blunt and brutal like Vader.

Yes, Flint likes to believe that he's in control. As you'll soon discover, he is very, very wrong.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by shadowcat2 

29th April 2012:
Apparently, my review for your last chapter got lost. I think I forgot to press the review button at the end. hehe.

The lady killed Ginny! I felt so angry.

The interaction between Hermione and Harry was amazing. The part where you mentioned how Terry Boot made use of Luna's peculiarity made me laugh out loud. Next chapter, here i come.

Author's Response: Wow, what an awesome surprise to find in my reviews!

Lady Tenabra is at least claiming credit for killing Ginny. As the story plays out, we'll find out more about her true motives and the circumstances of Ginny's death.

Harry and Hermione still have that friendship, even after all the years. I just don't see that ever changing.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Erised 

26th April 2012:
Hi!

Another great chapter. As I've only just read it, the brilliant ending is still in my mind. Lady Tenebra is clearly not someone to be messed with, poor Ginny. And the brief description of her face set all sorts of questions off about who she might be! I have a few theories, but I won't say yet...

All of the scenes with Hermione at the hospital I found to be very touching. It's great to see Ron's devotion to his wife, to the point of exhaustion because it's exactly in line with his characterisation. It's really heartbreaking that Harry can't tell Hermione yet about her condition, and I hope she finds out soon, although I'm sure it'll be a very emotional scene :( however I did also love the fact that they found their old wands! It was a very nice touch.

If I do have a small point about this chapter, it's that it seemed somewhat similar to the last in terms of its content. I'm sure we'll see a change in pace soon what with the planned raid on Malfoy Manor, but they did strike me as quite alike.

Great work and I look forward to reading the next!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I always welcome theories. They help me figure out whether I'm being devious enough. Bwahahaha!

Poor Hermione. She has a long, difficult path ahead of her. And Ron is completely devoted. He's burning himself out for her, even though she doesn't want him to. I'm glad you liked the idea of the wands. It came to me while I was trying to think of ways to make this part a bit less grim.

The pacing of the story varies a bit as you move through. I can tell you that it picks up in a big way in the next chapter.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Pixileanin 

13th April 2012:
Things are looking dire for Harry and his friends/family. He was pretty restless with all the paperwork and letters, and I felt the release when he finally had something to do.

I love how Ron is adamant to stay by Hermione's side as she heals. The argument with Hugo was fun to read.

This older, introspective Harry seems right in character for his age. You have done a fantastic job with the physical descriptions, the thoughts, everything to make him come across as having lived and experienced what he has. Very impressive characterization! I smile every time he yells out to his house elf as he's leaving the house.

And there are plans for backstabbing in the works. Very interesting...

Author's Response: There are always plans for back-stabbing. That Lady Tenabra, you just can't turn your back on her for a moment!

Yes, Harry is much happier when he can take action than when he has to wait and do paperwork. He's just not the wait-and-see type.

Ron is such a protective husband. That part of his character I never see changing. He's also very stubborn, just like his wife.

Harry has grown very introspective with age, but especially since he's been trying to cope with Ginny's death.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Elenia 

3rd April 2012:
I'm here again (x

And wow, such an interesting chapter again. It's always nice to start reading a new chapter, because you capture all my attention immediately from the very first sentence!

Right there, in the beginning, there's one of the reasons why I love this story so much. The first scene of this chapter, it's just a normal scene about Harry thinking about things, nothing really happens in it but still you manage to make it so interesting! And we learn new things in such a subtle way. That's what keeps this so fascinating all the time and that's all thanks to your writing. Your word choices and the way you've build your sentences are just so brilliant.

Poor Hermione, I hope she gets better. I liked the scene, it showed me the dynamics in their family more, and as always everybody were in character. I'm always so awed by that, you manage to keep them exactly like we've learned to know them and still add something of your own.

I liked the part where they found Ron and Hermione's old wands. That was a nice touch.

Oh, and Hermys! I don't think I've mentioned this before but I really like what you've done with the house-elf. She/he(?) is a well developed character as well. I like it that I can see the old traits of the house-eves still in her, but it's also clear that Harry treats her so much better, like an equal.

Again in the hospital, I really like how you've kept the trio's friendship so real. I really enjoyed reading that scene.

"Thanks for playing keeper, Uncle Harry," Rose said. - loved that sentence!

And the ending! Ooh, so interesting! Can't wait to see what happens next! I have no idea how I'll be able to write my own story because all I want to do is read forwards! I guess I'll have to be really quick with the rest of your chapters so I can have peace (x

Great work!

~E

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Harry definitely has a lot on his mind, and it's a great way to get some narrative across without launching into full-on exposition.

Hermione is really quite injured. The extent becomes apparent over the next few chapters. Finding their old wands was a fun little thing to snatch out of canon, but there is an added significance later in the story.

Hermys is a lot of fun to write. He's different in a lot of ways from the elves in the stories. He's never suffered under terrible masters like Dobby and Kreacher, so his outlook on things is naturally much more optimistic and he has a very tight bond with Harry and the rest of his family. And he is a he, BTW.

So what is Lady Tenabra playing at? Did she really kill Ginny, or is she lying? You'll find that she lies a lot. She really is a master manipulator.

Thanks so much for all of the great reviews. Now please go write some more of your story, because I'm fresh out! ;-)


 Report Review

Review #21, by starryskies55 

6th March 2012:
Gryffie reviewing :D

Ooh.
Oh.
Well. Interesting. Are Ron and Hermione's wands going to be important? I really hope Hermione gets better, and that Ron gets some sleep :(
Tenebra's description makes me think she's a Malfoy. and they had better not hurt Astoria! Harry/Ron have GOT to show up and show them who's boss.
:D
AND we found out about Ginny! I can't believe it.
Another amazing chapter :D

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Ron and Hermione's wands... well, that would be giving too much away. ;-) For the moment, let's just say that it was a nice side effect of Draco waking up and smelling the coffee.

Sorry, to dash your theory, but I will tell you this much: There are no "secret" Malfoys in the world. Draco was Lucius's only child and Scorpius is Draco's only child. You'll have to keep reading to find out more about Lady Tenabra.

Poor Ginny. Her death was tied in to the Blood Order. But why? Soon, my friend, soon...

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gin-gin06 

23rd January 2012:
I love how you write Ron. He's so serious and sweet, but it always ends up to me, just like the real Ron. Infact you always write the characters true to THEIR character.

You aren't J K Rowling under a username are you???

My favorites! Apart from Harry of course :) Octavia and Dennis! Gosh, I was all but crying as i read this part stating with Hermione and ending with Dennis. It was beautful.

WHAT! That, that woman planned Ginny's death!!! I'm going to Avada her too. I'm Avada the whole lot of them. Evil Death Eaters!

amazing as always :D

Gin-gin

Author's Response: Of all the canon characters, Ron is far and away the hardest to write. He's noble, loyal, brave when it counts, but a complete kid at heart. So taking a character like that and aging him into his sixties is quite a challenge. I almost always wind up erring on the side of staying true to his character from Deathly Hallows, which probably isn't the best approach in some cases.

Poor Hermione. I hate to make you cry, but it really is touchy subject matter and I wanted to do the emotions justice.

And, yes, as it turns out, she had a rather significant role in Ginny's death. But her motivations may not be as simple as they seem at this stage of the story. 'nuff said.

You are quickly becoming one of my favorite readers. I love the enthusiasm. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by ashling586 

4th January 2012:
Another wonderful chapter. You did a great job balancing the humorous points with the seriousness of everything else that is going on. Without those few hints of humor I think it would have been too serious and my attention might have wavered. I love the idea of using a family tapestry to keep track of all the family members. Considering how big the Weasley/Potter group has grown over the years even the best of memories might forget someone, or a birthday. I also loved how Molly sent out assignments for the family dinner, it reminded me a lot of my great grandma. When she was alive, she would send out arrival time assignments to the family whenever there was a huge get together so that she had plenty of time to spend with each member before dinner.
My absolute favorite line in this chapter was when Hugo mentioned his wife finding her father in law on the sofa in his underwear. Hilarious, I could so envision that happening.

Author's Response: Poor Ron. He's coming unglued, no? Hopefully Hermione gets better soon. ;-)

I have to confess that I borrowed the idea of the enchanted tapestry from another fan fic that I love. It's very sensible, I think. Harry does have a very large family at this point. My grandparents used to do something very similar, although not down to the minute. But they did like to see everyone.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Akussa 

14th December 2011:
Hello, hello!

Things are moving fast, I love it!
Lady Tenebra is quite an interesting character. The mystery around her is very well designed and her hyper senses and knowledge must be revolting for those man!

I have to give you major kudos for your characterization of Ron in this chapter. I think you not only make him act and talk in character, you also really captured the essence of the canon character. He was notoriously bad at handling change and he would be still terrified of his mother!! His conversation with Hugo was pure brilliance; it had the color of years of arguing, even though we've barely known them for 8 chapters.

I noticed a couple little errors in this chapter (I hope it doesn't bother you that I keep bringing those up, does it?) :

"...If the Minister was feeling generous, the warden be quietly..." the warden 'would be'

“...Is he in the lift yet,” Harry asked in a low voice?"; the interrogation point isn't in the right spot... :)

That's it though. I really like how the story is moving forward and how you are still keeping the normal daily activities such as the family dinners. Usually, most people will focus so much on the action and the mystery that everything else stops. In this story, you manage to show that life still goes on.

Great chapter once again!

Author's Response: First and foremost, I **always** appreciate it when people point out my typos. When I read other people's stories, they drive me to distraction, so I like to stamp them out of mine to the greatest extent possible.

Writing Ron always feels strange to me. I never quite feel like I'm doing him justice. Perhaps it's because he winds up playing straight man to Harry and Hermione so much in the books. I feel like I should try to bring him out more as a character who can carry a scene all by himself, and when I try it always seems to me like I never quite get there. But if you enjoyed it, that's all that matters. I'll stop prattling on about my feelings of inadequacy.

The bulk of the family dinner was totally tangential and I probably could have left it out, but I just didn't want to. It was a joy to write and thankfully people seem to enjoy reading it, so I'm glad I didn't leave any more of it in the proverbial dustbin.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

30th November 2011:
I really don't have much to say but I don't like to leave chapters within a story not reviewed because then it seems like 'well she reviewed every other chapter, did she not like this one?' There's just so much going on I'm trying to wrap my head around it and come up with questions or ideas to try and guess what's going to happen. I'm actually a bit unsure if Harry dies or not in the end. I think it would be different if you have him die at the end of the story. Is that bad that I would like that? I just feel like if he saves the wizarding world again he wouldn't be so lucky to live a second time around and no one likes to kill him. They only do so Ginny can get with Draco or someone.

Author's Response: You keep this up, I'm gonna write more words in responses today than I did for the actual story!

Does Harry die in the end? Well, I can't tell you that. I'll throw a rhetorical question back at you. Did he really die in Deathly Hallows, or was he alive during the time he spent in King's Cross with Dumbledore? Does it really matter?

And Ginny and Draco? Yuck!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>