Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

29th July 2016:
I like the way James and his friends are together. So natural and realistic. This chapter was a lot of fun.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aleine 

10th June 2015:
"Women" I like how it ends.

I should say though, the repetitive reference to James' character as a player is putting me off.

Probably because I didn't expect him to be so... Bad :/

I'll have to read and see how it sits with me

Author's Response: Hopefully James' character will become clear in time. He's certainly not a bad person, he just has flaws. As do all of us. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon 

5th March 2015:
It's nice to see your characters in a different setting and to get a more personal dimension on Brigid outside her professional responsibilities and friendly relationship with only James. You do a good job showing that agents have hearts and needs too - I'll keep my fingers crossed for her.

I also liked the moments in the discussion about the Witch Weekly interview where you pulled back the curtain on what the media-side of Quidditch fame is like. Seeing it through the view of two insiders was also intriguing because it gave us a view of some of the cynicism and politicking that we know is at play in our world too, but exposes it for what it is.

One thing I did note at the beginning was some occasional repetitive phrasing, but that's about it.

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Lots of people tend to root for Brigid! Good to know you're waving a flag for her too. :)

Its been fun to delve into the professional world of Quidditch - I've tried to create the sort of media scene on a par with sports players here in Britain, partly because of familiarity - given Quidditch is evidently by far and away the wizarding world's biggest sport, it seems logical that there would be a lot of media focus on the players.

Ugh, yeah, I'm fairly guilty of repetitive phrasing, especially in the early parts of Rails. I keep meaning to re-read and edit, so I'll make a note to check this out. Thanks for the pointer, and the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

14th March 2014:
Another chapter and still all I can really say is how well done everything is. You can tell just in these few chapters that I've read that you put a lot of work into your stories! The characters are so amazing and real, they are just a great to read! And the writing is all flowing so well from one chapter to the next it's just so seamless! I love how each chapter has shown me more about James and his character and has really made me pull for him and hope for good things to come his way! I love seeing his friendships with everyone and how he acts around them. It's also really cool to see your versions of the next gen characters as they are all a rather fresh take on them! I'm very much enjoying this story and can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: It's really satisfying to know you find the characters come across as being real, because that's something I really try to work on in my writing. Strong characterisation is everything in a fic for me. Also, James needs to be likeable if you're to empathise with him and thus find the fic remotely engaging. :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ComeOnSweetCatastrophe 

17th February 2014:
Loving this! I'm terrible at dialogue myself, so your snappy, realistic dialogue is just to die for. :) The attention to detail on all the Quidditch stuff is great, too. I do love me some Quidditch! Oh, and I want my own Cordelia :D

Author's Response: I love writing dialogue. Sometimes I put too much emphasis on that side of things though, and my general narration slips. But it's good to know you're enjoying the conversational side of things! And the Quidditch of course, because that's a bit part of this fic. :) If pygmy puffs existed, I would own one. Or ten. Poor Cordelia, she gets put through a lot. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LavenderBlue 

15th February 2014:
Poor Jamsies and the total bore of being famous. Interviewing for stupid Witch Weekly. SIGH. It's refreshing, though, that James seems to prefer focusing on the game itself and not the fame. It's clear how much of a priority Quidditch is to him, and despite his total lack of relational commitment, he's got one impressive commitment to his career. So carry on, James. Carry on.

BRIGID. YOU'RE TOTALLY BETTER THAN A HALF VEELA. She shouldn't let anyone convince her otherwise! Ugh. The pining. The feels. Stupid Freddie is stupid. James trying to comfort her is adorable, though. For a somewhat insensitive guy, he does an okay job. Even if it what he says doesn't entirely make sense. . .

By the way, major kudos for managing to keep up with all of the extended relatives. I imagine it must be tough work juggling all the cousins, aunts, and uncles and their myriad personalities, but you've done such a great job of it. Omg, and James has a pygmy puff. An alcoholic pygmy puff. Bahahaha. I love it. I just hope Cordelia doesn't come to a gruesome demise like Camilla and Cassandra. D:

Author's Response: James plays Quidditch for the love of the game, and not for the fame that comes with it. Because, let's face it, he doesn't need to find fame anywhere. Unfortunately a career in Quidditch comes with a dose of fame on the side, especially for those who become successful or have well-known surnames, so it's something he's going to have to get used to. And you're right; he's remarkably committed to his Quidditch, which is a complete contrast to his love life.

I'd forgotten how much hell I put Brigid through in the first few chapters of this. Poor girl. James does his best to try to make her feel better, but it's not really his thing. Still, full marks for effort, right?

HA, yeah. Avoid Weasleys at all costs. I never have any issues remembering the kids, so I naively assumed they'd be easy to write. The struggle comes when trying to juggle them about in the fic. Of course James isn't equally close to them all, so they shouldn't all feature on a par, but at the same time the cousins he's less close to shouldn't completely disappear. It's something I think I've possibly been guilty of throughout this fic with a couple of cousins in particular. In the early stages I was very deliberately ensuring they all featured to some extent, but as I've gotten carried away with plot and non-Weasley characters, some have fallen by the wayside somewhat. Oh well, at least I know for next time. :)

Giving James a pygmy puff was probably the best thing I ever did. EVER. Cheers for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by feathers101 

5th September 2012:
Love love loved this chapter! Can't wait to read the next!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Slide 

18th May 2012:
Aww, poor James, trying to make things right. At least he doesn't go into flat-out panic-mode at the sight of a crying woman. Hug her and give her chocolate cake, James, you'll do fine, you've got the right idea! Names of wizarding bars, clubs, and pubs are always fun, considering most British pubs have RIDICULOUS names so you have to go even SILLIER for wizarding ones...

Author's Response: To be fair to him, James isn't too bad with emotional!Brigid. It doesn't happen often and if it does it's generally due to one reason, so he doesn't tend to lose his head. I'm yet to write a scene involving Freddie and an emotional woman though, now THAT would be a different situation entirely. Oh, the Drunken Hinkypunk is a great name if I do say so myself, until I go to type 'Hinky' and get 'Kinky' instead. Which would certainly make it sound a very interesting place for a night out, especially for someone like James...

 Report Review

Review #9, by ForTheLoveOfWords 

29th November 2011:
I feel so bad for Brigid :( My best friend is in the same position...she's miserable.

Author's Response: Yeah, she's in a pretty sucky position, bless her. Things will begin to look up for her though! :) Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review