Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dumbledore_wannabe 

30th March 2016:
Dennis' lesson. Brilliant.

Author's Response: Nobody understands Dementors until they've felt the cold. Or something like that. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 

11th October 2014:
Hello Dan,

You were right - this chapter is much less intense in terms of emotions. But it was no less enjoyable to read! Lots of good information here, and knowing you, most of it is in place to set up the mystery part of the story.

I have to keep reminding myself that we are two generations out from the dark times when Voldemort terrorized the Wizarding world. On one hand, it seems crazy that the sacrifices and hardships would be so easily forgotten, but when you think about it - it is totally believable. I liken it to the Muggle WWII. My grandfather fought, but I am sure that I will never fully appreciate the service he and his contemporaries provided to our country - and the world. And the next generation can't even relate because they don't even have relatives to recount the stories. Growing up in a world that always feels safe has a distinct disadvantage. You could tell that even Harry's grandson doesn't fully understand the situations that his grandparents and great-grandparents were in. While everyone wants the best for our kids, history is bound to repeat itself if we don't educate.

On that note, I am flabbergasted at the serious lack of instruction the students are getting on this topic. I can see Neville's issue. No one ever seemed to enjoy History of Magic in Harry's time and I'm sure that subject has not increased in popularity over time. Perhaps Hermione would be willing to be a guest lecturer - kind of what Harry does, at least for the older kids. She seemed to be the only one who actually listened in History of Magic and I think she would be really good at setting the record of recent history straight. Ok. You can tell I'm really into your story when I'm giving suggestions and I know its been completed for over two years...

I found a couple of typos. Here:

I doubt you're going to be able to conjur a bighorn sheep, but let's not take any chances, right?

Should it be "conjure" instead of "conjur?"

And here:

After a while, be noticed that they had begun to alternate their casting of offensive spells, trying to spread Harry's defenses.

I think you mean "he" and not "be." ♥

Harry seems the happiest when he is working with the kids - or perhaps it is just that he is at Hogwarts - his first true home. Either way, this is a very different Harry than we've seen in previous chapters and it made my heart warm. I was so happy to see that he still has the ability to cast a patronus. It is a small thing, but to me it speaks volumes that the real Harry is still in there, somewhere.

I really love the concept you've created that the more you talk to a portrait, the more it responds. It explains so much about the portraits in the Headmaster's office. Years and years of seeking advice from the current Headmaster or Headmistress has led them to be really chatty and so much like their own personalities from when they were alive. I can't imagine that the Dumbledore and Snape portraits won't agree with Harry about the teachings of recent magical history lessons.

What?! The kids don't even know what dementors are??!! Geez, kids these days - they just live in a bubble of peaceful oblivion, don't they...

Awesome chapter, Dan!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

I think complacency and naiveté are almost to be expected when you have two whole generations that have come of age in a world where things are safe and easy (relatively) and predictable. I like the World War II analogy, it captures the state of affairs pretty well. You'll definitely see some conflict in this story between wanting the keep the younger generations safe and needing them to have a stake in the well-being of the magical world.

Magical History has always been such a dry, dull subject at Hogwarts that very few people ever keep going with it. Also, having the subject taught by a ghost is an obvious path of least resistance. He never complains, calls in sick or retires. There's definitely a problem, though, and as Harry fairly points out, a danger. Hang onto that idea about Hermione. You might be pleasantly surprised. ;)

Wow. My hat is off and I humbly bow to your proof-reading skills. You caught not one but two typos in a chapter with 43 previous reviews that hasn't been updated in nearly 2 years. Bravo! I shall get those tidied up right away.

Harry does take a lot of joy in working with the Hogwarts students. I think he'd enjoy it no matter what, but it also helps to take his mind off of Ginny. I hope you'll see a lot of sides of Harry in this story. At the time, I couldn't get enough of writing his PoV.

I always loved the idea of the magical portraits in the books and like a lot of other things, I wished that JKR had used them more. They offer this amazing continuity between past and present. The idea that they would start off lifeless and become more alive as you talked to them came to me before I started writing this and it was one of the things that motivated me to start writing.

In fairness to the students, they don't really have a need to know much about Dementors since the Ministry rounded them up and imprisoned them. The Dementors, that is, not the students. ;) But you're right, their bubble is warm and comfortable.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by GingeredTea 

26th May 2014:
Once more, this was a brilliant story. As someone who has tried to write Harry as a guest teacher - I give you many many gold stars.

This whole chapter was jam packed with information, although I'm still itching to know what happened to Ginny. I liked how you didn't make Harry's grandson super great at dueling.

The scene with Dennis - I could see how much that would bother Harry and what he did to rectify such a misunderstand/lack of information as both brave, brilliant and a bit rash (a perfect Harry plan).

Professor Binns...why don't they just move the classroom and professor Binns can just talk to an empty room? I honestly feel like from cannon description he wouldn't know the difference!

Brilliant chapter! Thank you for the chance to swap!

Author's Response: I can't tell you how much fun I had writing the whole dueling lesson. It was one of those times I could really indulge my love of writing action scenes and also give Harry a rare happy moment in the sun. I really can't stand stories where every member of the Potter and Weasley family is automatically a super-talented duelist and automatic Auror material. Harry's grandchildren are having to work for it like anyone else.

Keep an eye on Dennis as the story goes on. Harry opens his eyes to some unpleasant truths in this chapter. Dennis is sort of a microcosm of a wizarding world that's become complacent and naive about the dangers of dark magic.

Interesting you should say that about Professor Binns. Try to remember that thought when you make it to chapter 40. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks to you for the swap, as well!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sharvi 

4th January 2014:
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed reading Harry duel six students. It was amazing because as a kid he would just be throwing spells all over the place, without much thought as long as it looked like he had a good aim. Being an Auror for however many years seems to really have changed him (obviously!) But it's still fun to note the difference. And the line where Harry says that the hardest part is not letting the students know how tired he is, just made me realize that a lot of time has passed since 1997 :P

The point Harry made with Dennis was extremely significant because we see it in our own lives where people start forgetting the past and the lesson we were supposed to learn from them. Also, I think it's appropriate for Binns to discontinue teaching even though it would mean a big change to Hogwarts. (I kind of liked the idea of a ghost professor in a magical school nonetheless)

Where did those Dementors come from? I bet Harry ran off to the Ministry to asemble a team to search for them.

Another great chapter (Also, I can totally imagine Ron and Harry playing pranks on the trainees. I'm glad you included that detail!)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I enjoyed writing that dueling scene as much as anything else in the story. I love the idea of Harry and Ron as very powerful, experienced wizards who have developed the martial skills that go with their jobs. Putting on a little show for the students seemed like something Harry would enjoy. For once, he's being admired for something that he worked hard for, not just because of what happened when he was a baby.

Keep a close eye on Dennis as you read. He's sort of a metaphor for magical world that's grown naive and complacent after 50 years of peace and prosperity. As Dennis gradually opens his eyes and realizes that danger lurks around him, so goes the rest of the magical world.

After the Second Wizarding War, the Ministry decided not to use Dementors as prison guards any more, but they were also too dangerous to be allowed to roam freely. So they rounded them all up and trapped them on a mountaintop, surrounded by strong magical wards to keep them from escaping. At least that's my version of events. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! The real plot of the story begins in earnest with the next chapter, so I'm eager to see what you think of it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 

16th December 2013:
Man have I missed this story. I don't care that its been over a year since I last read anything from this story (a thought that is rather sad) but it still managed to pull me right back in and not let go until I finished the last word of the last sentence. You have a wonderful talent with storytelling and I hope that you continue to write!

The idea behind this story is rather interesting and it has pulled me in so much. I find myself wondering about future chapters and what will happen and if Harry will step up and take the place for the History professor which is honestly a very original idea as most would pin him for Defense. But I like that he already comes into the school and is preparing student who might be interested in becoming an Auror once their schooling is done. I loved the snippets that he showed Northway to prove that its not just a story that adults made up about Voldemort but something that actually happened. I think that they were great things to show him that were heartbreaking but real things. I also like that it started off as somewhere safe, the Ministry, instead of starting somewhere else as its always easier to get to people when they feel safe. It was rather sad that a student didn't know who Professor Dumbledore was and hope that that also gets corrected.

Honestly, I couldn't find any mistakes or areas where you could improve with this story. I think that its written very well and has a great "voice" to pull people in and keep them wanting to know more. You can bet that I will be back to read more of this story sometime, hopefully soon but we shall see what real life has in store for me. Absolutely wonderful job, I enjoyed this chapter very much!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi! It has been a long time, but always nice to see an old reader come back.

Well, without spoiling anything, there is definitely a possibility that you'll see Harry at Hogwarts again. And a lot of other things.

Dennis Northway is a character that I've tried to use to show just how naive and complacent the wizarding world has become after decades of peace and prosperity. As his eyes gradually open to the dangers around him, it's sort of a metaphor for what's going on in the larger world. He'll be around until the very end of the story, so you'll get to see his understanding of things evolve.

Whew! I always worry that there are still things that I've missed. I guess after this long, most of them have been stamped out.

Thank you so much for all of the kind words. I've written several other things since I marked CoB Complete, but it is and always will be my first love on my author's page. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by 1917farmgirl 

24th September 2013:
Nice to see Harry and Neville together again. Always liked Neville.

Love how Harry still has a sense of awe for the Headmaster's office. And your take on magical portraits is very original - that portraits of a person in one location could have slightly different personalities than in another. I always kind of thought the same ďpersonĒ inhabited all their portraits, that's how they can move back and forth between them.

Intriguing choices of names for the kids - very JKR but not that common. I like them. But where did you get Veratrice? And how did you keep Beatrice and Veratrice straight in your head?

Reading about the class Harry's teaching is very interesting, as is the great duel you had him do against the six of them. I am SO bad at writing duels and magical battles and spellsÖI don't know what I'm going to do later in my own stories. It really impresses me when I read someone who can write it well and keep the excitement. You've really put a lot of thought into wand technique and the way dueling with spells must work. Bravo!

You have Harry being very ---I want to say powerful but I think the word is more accomplished ---here. Nonverbal magic, dueling skills. Interesting. Makes me wondering something, kind of like the chicken and the egg. Were the trio very, very skilled at magic and THAT'S why they managed to do what they did? Or did going through what they did MAKE them skilled at magic?

Decoy spell - wow, cool! That could be a handy spell. Did you make that one up?

Love the teenage humor youíve got in here. Nailed that pretty effectively. LOL.

Beach to the Alps, huh? Chilly. And for the record, where exactly do you PUT your wand when wearing a bathing suit?

HmÖ.. Wonder who Beatrice's sister is.

WHAT?!? They don't know who Dumbledore is? Neville, what have you been teaching at this school??

Okay, now I'm really intrigued. The idea that just two generations after people have already consigned the events of the First and Second Wizarding Wars to myths and stories is such a new idea, at least for Harry Potter fanfiction. But the historian totally believes it. Out of sight, out of mind - it didnít really happen. This is such an accurate imposing of real attitudes onto the world of Harry Potter.

Oh, what is Harry up to?

And why is Dumbledore avoiding his stare?

So, nobody is studying the history of their world? That is VERY dangerous! And I am more and more hooked by this story! You bring up so many things I've never even thought of! (And I wonder if I studied really hard, if I could apply for the job, LOL?)

I love the end of that scene, where Harry asks to take the students outside the castle, and Neville is all suspicious of him, and then Harry gets away with it. Such a throwback to their days in school.

Okay, I kind of stopped commenting there because I got very caught up in what I was reading. I really, really liked this last part of the story. The first two were fun, but this last one had so much meaning. It is SO important not to forget the past and the lessons it teaches us.

And there was so much I could have said about this part and didn't Ė the Dementors, the Longbottoms, the boys' reactions.

I'm also starting to think I shouldn't read this story as I'm writing my own, because now there is an entire scene for Sadie Fic that I will have to scrap. It's too close to the ultimate theme of this chapter, although in an entirely different setting. Oh well, this chapter was brilliant and I will think of something else to do.

Thanks for making me think. And reminding me why I studied history in the first place.

And, for the record, I think Harry Potter would make an excellent history of magic teacher as well as Defense teacher.

Sorry for the long wait for this review. I hope to read another chapter soon to make up for it.

Author's Response: Hello, hello!

Harry experienced so many "Aha!" moments in the Headmaster's office, I feel like he would always have a certain attachment to the place. As far as Dumbledore's portrait goes, I feel like even portraits can be affected a bit by their surroundings. Dumbledore is probably at his most profound when he's in his old office. And as far as why he's avoiding Harry's gaze, let's just say that he's been putting ideas into Neville's head about what a great teacher Harry might be. ;)

Honestly, I didn't even notice the Beatrice/Veratrice thing until it was much too late to change it. Oops.

At this point in his life, Harry has been an Auror for a very long time. He's had extensive training and years of practice to hone his skills, which weren't too shabby to begin with. I felt like he should be an amazing duelist by this point, easily capable of taking on a half-dozen students. I'm very glad you liked the dueling. Much more of that to come in later chapters. I did make up the decoy spell. I had to dust off my high school Latin to come up with it.

I did maybe exaggerate a bit on how ignorant Dennis Northway is about the two wizarding wars, but I'm quite sure that I can find plenty of Millennials who are equally ignorant about the Vietnam War. The point I was trying to make with him is that magical society has become very naive and complacent about the dangers of dark magic. Keep an eye on Dennis. He'll be around until the very end of the story.

The scene with Frank and Alice was tough to write. Whenever I do anything with them, I'm always tempted to let them have some sort of breakthrough, like a moment of clarity. I think I just love the characters so much that I want *something* good to happen for them. That said, I feel like it would cheapen the sacrifice they made for Neville and Harry if they were ever to just magically "get better". Awful things happen to good people in a war. That was the point that Harry was trying to make to Dennis. And putting the Dementors in a cave in the mountains was an attempt on my part to tie up what I always thought was a loose plot strand left by JKR. You have these awful creatures and the Ministry stops using them as prison guards and they go... where, exactly? To me, they're far to dangerous to be allowed to just roam around.

I really, really hope you don't change your plans for your story on account of reading this. I would actually feel badly about that because I enjoy your story so much. When you go to write, just pretend you never read this, OK? I really want to see your take on things!

I'm not sure that Harry would make such a great History of Magic teacher. He'd fall asleep while trying to teach the class. Don't worry, I have that plot point covered. If either of us still remember this review when you get to the end, I'll remind you that you thought of it. ;)

Thanks so much for such a long, detailed review! I really meant what I said, by the way. Please don't change what you're writing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
I think that Harry would make a great teacher! He's so awesome and if I was one of those students I would be in awe of him.

His training duel was absolutely brilliant! Harry is brilliant! And so epic. He can take on six of them! I clapped for him, he deserved those claps.

I can't believe that Northway said that about Voldemort, if I were there I would have put him in his place, just like I'm glad that Harry done. He needed to be shown the error of his ways.

Off to read another chapter, which I know shall be brilliant! :D

Author's Response: I absolutely love the idea of Harry as a teacher. He has so much first-hand experience, but he's so humble. The best teachers are always the ones who realize that they still have things to learn.

I have so much fun writing dueling scenes. More to come... ;)

Keep an eye on Dennis Northway. You're not meant to like him right away, but I suspect he might just grow on you.

Whee! This is so much fun for me. Every time a new reviewer starts working their way through the story, I get this urge to go back and edit. Stop looking at me like that, I *know* it's weird, but I like it!

Thanks,
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #8, by Debra20 

25th April 2013:
Hey Dan! I'm back! ;)

First off, let me tell you how happy I am that you divide your longer chapters in a few pieces. It helps me a lot. As I've told you before, I'm not used to reading chapters this long without my attention being caught by other detractors, so having the chapters split in a few scenes is of great help to me. It allows me to take a break from the chapter if I feel I can't keep up with it and come back later without wondering where I've left off. I'm sure when you decided to use the breakers in the story wasn't for this reason, but I just wanted to tell you that it helps me enjoy the story a lot more like this :D

I loved the defensive spells teaching lesson. Like when reading the HP books, this particular scene made me want to live the magical world as well, only to be taught by Harry. I find your Harry an amazing depiction of the original one from the books. You always know what to say or what to make him do to bring back the young Harry, while also providing him the necessary characteristics to show that he's indeed grown. The balance between younger Harry and older Harry from your story feels so natural, it makes reading his thoughts a real treat!

Would it be too pathetic to say that I squealed when even Snape greeted Harry when he joined Neville in his office? I've always desperately wanted to see stories, or scenes or anything that would show that in at least some way Snape liked Harry. Or at least respected him...any feeling other than his intense hate and dislike we've been shown in the books. To know that behind the wall of animosity that he'd built for himself, Snape still thought somewhat nice about Harry. It just pains me too much to imagine that he never held any positive thought for Harry :(

Another amazing chapter. A fair warning. I'm falling rapidly in love with your story :P

Author's Response: Hi!

I've always tended to write longer chapter with multiple scenes as opposed to breaking them up into a lot of short chapters. For me, at least, doing it that way is less disruptive and makes it easier to stay in the flow of a story. The other reason, to be honest, is that it made it easier to manage the validation queue. If you're reading this, Validators, sorry! ;)

I absolutely loved the idea of Harry as a teacher. I thought he would be really good at it because he is so unassuming and approachable, especially toward people who aren't eaten up with a case of hero worship. It was tricky at times to age Harry in a realistic way and still make him recognizable, so I'm glad you thought it worked.

I'd like to think that Harry eventually got his head around the choices that Snape made in life. That's not to say that he necessarily approved of all of them or that he thought of Snape as a "good" person. But in the end, I imagine that Harry figured out what made Snape do the things that he did and Harry obviously came to respect the man enough that he named his middle child for him.

Gah! I'm so pleased that you're getting into it. It makes my day to see your thoughts and reactions. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotter 

18th March 2013:
Hello again!
I thought this chapter was really great! I loved Harry's class that he taught, and think it's awesome that he doesn't want the students to call him Mr. Potter! I can definitely picture him beating six people in a duel, too! And I thought you did a wonderful job showing the seriousness of being ignorant of someone like Voldemort, and how it can have really dangerous consequences! I can't wait to read more! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Harry is all grown up in this story, but in a very grandfatherly sort of way. I tend to thing of him as somebody who had enough of being an adult before he turned 18 to last a lifetime, so he does his best to avoid acting like one when he can.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Courtney Dark 

1st March 2013:
Another awesome chapter.

Your characterization of Harry is so spot on and amazing-when reading this chapter, I actually felt like I was reading a sequel J.K Rowling had written, it was just that good. I loved the idea of Harry going back to Hogwarts and lecturing the older students-and it was nice to see what the latest generation seems to be like.

The idea that this generation, or at least some of the students, don't seem to know much about Voldemort is very interesting, and I am definitely wondering if this ignorance of dark magic is going to add to the plot somehow-I can't wait to find out more!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I think that's the highest compliment that anyone can pay to this story. I've tried very hard throughout to keep those essential things that make Harry who he is while also aging him in what I hope is a realistic way.

The youngest generation of characters -- as well as the children of Harry, Ron and the others, to a lesser extent -- don't understand much at all about what the war was really like. It's sort of like trying to explain Vietnam to somebody who was born in the 90's. Most of the context is lost. I think it does make them vulnerable to making some of the same mistakes that past generations made.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

14th February 2013:
I'm back once again, enjoying more amazingness.

I love that Neville is headmaster of Hogwarts. I think it would definitely be something he would go for after being the Herbology professor. The conversation between the two of them was so easy to read and very in character. I really hope we get to see more of Neville in future chapters.

I've like the idea of Harry going in teaching students to duel - it took me right back to the DA days of OTTP which were some of my favourite moments by far. He does have a flair for teaching too although the relaxed atmosphere of the class does suit him much better. I liked the fact that the scene wasn't rushed in the slightest bit, you gave us plenty of details and lots of things to enjoy but it didn't drag either. You kept the action going with Harry not being able to resist showing off a little.

I really like the next section and how you explored the possibility that the next generation wouldn't appreciate the war as they should. I took a dislike to Northway straight away - a tad unfair maybe, I don't know but I just didn't like him. When he said Fred probably blew himself up I kind of wanted to punch him. I like the way Harry dealt with the situation though - showing him these things did happen. A much better way than simply lecturing him. It was nice to see Frank and Alice too - even if it is bittersweet as there is no hope for them.

I'm very glad you brought up the Magical History class - I always wondered if the curriculum would change, although knowing Binns, you almost certainly got it right. I'm glad Harry is looking to get some much needed change! He's right that ignorance is dangerous.

A great chapter as always.

Lauren

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Neville's done quite well for himself, hasn't he? To my mind, there was somebody in between McGonagall and Neville because JKR said that she was retired by the time Harry and Ginny's kids were at Hogwarts. Maybe Flitwick? At any rate, he and Harry are still very close.

Harry is a natural teacher. Not only is he a master of the subject matter, but he has such an easy, unassuming manner about him. I feel like the kids would really gravitate toward him. And he definitely couldn't resist putting on a little show for their benefit. He isn't the Head of the Aurors for no reason, after all.

I'm not sure which generation you're describing, but definitely the youngest generation -- the grandchildren of Harry, Ron and the other Weasley brothers -- only knows about the war in very abstract terms. It's the same what that kids today are learning about the Vietnam War, basically. Don't judge Dennis too quickly, I guess. He's a product of his environment, and he gets a pretty harsh lesson in reality.

I always thought that Magical History was one of those things that Dumbledore completely neglected in his zeal to stop Tom Riddle. The subject could have been so valuable to Harry and the others -- just look at how many times something Hermione read in Hogwarts: A History helps the trio out -- but instead it's taught by somebody who's been dead for all of the most relevant portions of wizarding history.

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. The next chapter is the beginning of the "real" plot of the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Arithmancy_Wiz 

15th January 2013:
Hello again. Stopping back in with another review. It seems like every time I leave one for Jami, I'm inspired to pop back here, no doubt as a result of always seeing your name at the bottom of all her chapters. And this was another excellent chapter. I'm afraid my review won't be long enough to reflect my enjoyment of it. I usually take little notes as I go when I know I'm going to leave a review, but I sort of just got caught up in enjoying this one. But I shall do my best...

I really enjoyed the scene with Harry in the classroom for so many reasons. First, it's sort of lovely to imagine his character like this -- teaching back at Hogwarts. Somehow the less formal position of guest lecturer seems to suit him far better than being a full time professor. Maybe because he didn't ever love the academic side of school? Anyway, I just really like the idea. This job is almost like having him leading an aboveboard version of Dumbledore's Army.

I think even more than that though, I loved the intricacy and detail you added to the spellwork itself. The line about keeping your arm up or you'll wind up with a broken nose was perfect. And the lesson on handling spells fired in rapid succession was great. This may be an odd comparison but it reminded me of that moment in HBP (at least the movie version), when Harry shoots a spell at Snape, and Snape swats it away like it's no more a concern than a fly. You know the students learn all these individual spells at school, but there must be this level of expertise that simply comes from years and years of practice. It's like learning addition and subtraction in school, and how adding two numbers is a lesson in itself. But then you get to college and your doing multivariate cluster analysis by hand and you no longer think about how two and two is four. You just do it. The complexity builds without having to always go back to addition 101. Anyway, that's just my very, very long-winded way of saying I thought this was a brilliant scene and it expanded on something from the books I always wondered about.

As a random aside, I loved the line: Never set your wand aside, even when you're wearing your bathing suit. I rarely actually laugh out loud when I'm reading, but this honestly made me chuckle. The mental image was too funny.

Okay, so this is the point in the chapter where I stopped making notes, and truly, the rest of it was just as good as the first part. I was kind of expecting something to happen with Dennis that would push the plot forward -- this chapter did feel like it lacked in forward momentum a bit, at least in comparison to the last -- but it was still very enjoyable to read. I thought the references to teaching muggle studies still being controversial after all these years was perfect. It made me think of debates over what to teach kids in sex-ed classes.

I know I'm always looking for CC, so I usually try to include a little when I review. I'm not really sure how helpful it will be to you considering that you're already done with the story, and I'm sure that your writing has improved over time anyway and these may be non-issues at this point, but I'll post them anyway. Please feel free to ignore as you see fit.

First, there was a sudden change in POV during the dementor scene. For a few paragraphs there, we were in both Dennis and Artie's heads. Nothing wrong with using omniscient narration, it was just a bit jarring since the other 6500 words were in Harry's POV. Second, there were a few times where you broke up a character's "monologue" into separate paragraphs and you didn't leave open quotation marks at the end, or otherwise use something like "he continued on." It just muddles the clarity a touch so it might be something to keep an eye out for.

That said, I'm continuing to be genuinely impressed with your quality of writing. I just reread that sentence and it came off sounding super conceited, like I was *surprised* to find myself enjoying your writing. That's not what I mean at all. It's just that your style is clear and concise, and it reads effortlessly. It's not simplistic, just very reader-friendly. It doesn't "feel" like writing. It feels like your watching the story happen, not reading an author's attempt to convey to you what's happening. I am hugely envious of anyone able to do that.

Okay, so maybe not such a short review after all. I sort of feel bad about it, springing long reviews on people who didn't ask for them. Hope you don't mind too terribly much. For some reason, your chapters make me chatty :P

Author's Response: Beta reading for awesome stories has its perks! You don't think I just do it to find out what's going to happen between James and Lily before everyone else, do you? OK, actually that is why I do it. ;)

I enjoyed every word of writing Harry in class with the students. I loved the idea of him being very approachable in spite of the fact that he's famous. Or perhaps because of it. Kids have an interesting way of cutting through things like that and getting to the heart of a person, especially somebody like Harry who always seemed to have some very child-like qualities.

Math geeks of the world, unite! For my particular major, I didn't have to go any higher than complex analysis and linear algebra, but I completely understand what you're saying. I have twin four-year-old boys and when I'm trying to teach them math, it makes me aware of all the little shortcuts I take in my own head. To me, magic works the same way. You start out having to focus very intently on incantations and wand motions and as those things become second nature, you start to learn how to do things faster while combining spells and eventually when you get to be Dumbledore's age you're improvising extensively and doing a lot of things without a wand.

I *have* to imagine that Auror trainees suffer through a lot of practical jokes and hazing. When you have that many intense, Type A personalities, the game is all about dominance and pecking order.

Dennis's role in the story is somewhat practical and somewhat metaphorical. I can't really get into the practical part without ruining the surprise, but the metaphorical part is that his character represents a broader wizarding world that has become complacent and more than a little naive after almost five decades of peace and prosperity. There are two generations at this point -- relatively large ones at that. War babies ;) -- who were born after Voldemort's reign of terror. They have no concept of what it's like to live in fear for your life. They hear the stories that their grandparents and great-grandparents tell, but after a while it starts to sound like your parents who walked back and forth to school through 8 feet of snow, uphill in both directions. As Dennis begins to wake up to reality, so does the rest of wizarding society.

I always love hearing constructive criticism. Whether or not I ever go back and edit this story, I'm still writing other things and it's important to know what works and what doesn't.

Yep, you caught me on the change of PoV. It was one of those moments where I thought it was important enough to know what the two schoolboys were thinking that it was worth it. I promise I won't do it again. ;)

Thank you so much! Throughout the story, I tried really hard to maintain a high standard. Mountains of credit go to my beta reader, but I can't lay any blame on her for the early chapters since we didn't start working together until somewhere around chapter 7 or 8. Suffice it to say that you will probably notice the difference.

Oh, don't feel bad about a thing! I absolutely love getting peoples reactions to the story, and I don't mind one bit taking the time to read them and think about them and respond. That's a big part of what makes HPFF such a great place. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by LovlyRita 

17th December 2012:
Hi!! :D

I'm so sorry it's taken me this long, you know how the holiday season can be :) What matters is I'm here now and I'm ready to dive into this chapter!!

Neville is headmaster, aww I knew he could do it! I'm having the fluffy time sitting here imagining old Harry and old Neville having a conversation at Hogwarts. At first I tried giving Neville the Dumbledore beard in my head which, let me tell you what, does NOT work out at all. But then I just kind of imagined an older Neville...with wrinkles and glasses and...I love old people :P

So I'm finding this whole class that Harry is teaching fun. The names for the students are very interesting, I'm digging Ulysses, reminds me of the president after the civil war, Ulysses S. Grant, so for some reason I'm imagining a civil war general duelling with a wand LOL. I bet Ulysses S Grant wished he had a wand.aannyywwaayy...

So this scene with all the students attacking him...kind of LOOSELY makes me think of the scene in HBP at the end where he's trying to throw curses at Snape but he impassively just blocks them while still trying to teach him as he runs. Obviously not close to the same thing but it's the image I got when I read it. And LOL at Harry throwing a full bind body curse at his Grandson! How many grandfathers wish occasionally the could do that?! hahaha

Ok I just had this whole paragraph typed out about how confused I was when Veratrice gets him and then he's behind her until I read on about the apparation, but then I was still confused until I read on about how their was a decoy. So in conclusion, maybe I should stop reviewing as I go and just read the whole chapter in one sitting :P

It's also interesting to see that levicorpus has become a spell that is being used in every day defensive/offensive magic. It was used as torture for Snape during the marauder's age and now it's a fun, if not sort of whimsical spell that can be used in a classroom setting. I think I just never really gained a liking for it because I am a huge Snape fan :P I'm biased, don't listen to me

Ok I've just finished the chapter and I have to say, I think Harry is like the ghost of Christmas past, except it's not Christmas, it's like horrormas. First and foremost, I think that this is probably a common problem with kids nowadays. Or stupid people who deny the holocaust ever happened, that it was all made up, that kind of thing. And of course it's important to learn history so it doesn't repeat itself. So the fact that the magical education system on history is so bad makes me a little worried for this story. It is called conspiracy of blood after all.

I think the places that Harry chose to take them were good choices. At first I thought he might pour his memories into a pensieve and make the kid watch it, but that would have been really bad. I do wonder what Neville would have to say about him taking the children to see his parents, which I thought was written very well. Writing about mental illness can be difficult but i think you did a good job depicting their indifference to the world.

The scene with the dementors, I didn't know what was going on, at first I thought he brought them to the cave where the locket was found and I was like SURELY not lol. Silly dementors. I'm glad that Harry was able to shake some sense into that kid though. I got mad just reading about it! Especially what he said about Fred :(

Overall I thought the flow and the description of this chapter was nice and masterfully done. The storyline continues to have me on the edge of my seat, even though nothing particularly like...major happened in this chapter, I was still glued to my computer screen trying to figure out what was going on. I feel like everything is always constantly building at a very slow and steady pace and I am still so excited to read on and find out where you are taking this, because I can never predict what a chapter will be about!

Great job!

Author's Response: Wow. You dove in and didn't come up for air for quite a while! Reviews like this are a bit intimidating to respond to, although I obviously enjoy the challenge. Let's get to it.

Ha! I can't imagine Neville with any sort of beard. I'm sure he probably tried it once or twice and it looked silly and Hannah made him shave it off. It was really fun to imagine Harry and Neville as these two very respected, influential wizards, sitting around and reminiscing about old times.

The dueling lesson was fun to write from beginning to end. I think of it as such a treat for the students to have a chance to learn from somebody with so much practical experience and then get a chance to test their skills against the cagey, old master. Harry obviously gets something out of it, as well, keeping his pipeline into the Auror training program full.

There's been some debate in my reviews about Harry apparating across the room and whether that's possible inside Hogwarts. I think of anti-apparition jinxes as being more like boundaries than "restricted airspace". Take the Department of Mysteries, for example. You're plainly not allowed to apparate into or out of the Ministry of Magic, but during the battle people were disapparating all around the room. Just my theory, of course. Your mileage may vary.

I guess yesterday's dark curse is today's light-hearted bit of magical fun. ;) It all comes down to the intentions of the caster, I think. Harry didn't mean to humiliate Veratrice, he was merely having a bit of fun at her expense. Good thing she had something on underneath her school robes, though.

I am sitting here with my mouth hanging slightly open, in awe of how you managed to fairly seamlessly make the connection between this chapter and A Christmas Carol. You've hit on a key theme of the story, though. The magical world has enjoyed nearly fifty years of peace and prosperity since Voldemort's death. People have become complacent and naive. Keep an eye on young Mr. Northway. He's more than just a character, he's also somewhat symbolic of a wizarding world that needs to wake up and smell the coffee. As his character goes, so goes the broader wizarding world.

Neville is, at his heart, an educator. He might have had some misgivings about Harry taking Dennis and Artie to meet Frank and Alice, but as long as Dennis learned the proper lesson from the visit, I think he would have seen the merit of the idea. And taking them to experience the Dementors up close and personal was all about driving the point home. Terrible, awful things happened during the Second Wizarding War. When people no longer remember and understand, the next war is just a matter of time.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this chapter and you find the story engaging. I promise that something *very* major will happen in the next one. You just may not like it. :-/ Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

7th December 2012:
I could totally imagine Harry as a teacher... If bad guys were no more or someone forced him to retire or he knew there was someone to take over he'd trust. Okay, so there are a few barriers between Harry and teaching, but he's good at teaching others and you've only strengthened that belief I have. I could totally imagine Harry being a teacher; DADA or, after this chapter, History. Yep. :D

I can't really say why, maybe because it's something I've always wondered, but I think my favorite part of this chapter was Harry teaching Dennis about Voldemort and the war and his want for kids to know their recent history. People grew up with the stories, Muggleborns might not even believe it, and they'll just be stories to them. It would be interesting to read how people would take being taught about it, so I really liked reading this chapter.

Amazing chapter!

Sam.

(You may see my name pop up a few times, but they won't all be for the Holiday Review thing-y. :D)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So I definitely thought of Harry as somebody who was well-suited to teach, going all the way back to Dumbledore's Army in OotP. There are a few barriers, not least of which is that fact that his day job is about to become rather demanding, but it's something he enjoys doing. And he easily justifies it to the Minister as a recruiting activity for the Auror Department.

If you continue reading, keep a close eye on Dennis. He actually disappears for a long stretch of the story, but suffice it to say that he will be there near the end and he plays a fairly important role. Dennis is not just a character, he's also representative of a wizarding society that has become very complacent and naive. Just as Dennis begins to wake up to the uncomfortable realities of the world around him, so too does the rest of the wizarding world gradually come to realize that life is not as safe and predictable as they'd been raised to believe.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Looking forward to your thoughts on the upcoming chapters, where the plot really begins to unfold. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by shadowycorner 

20th November 2012:
Hello again! I've read this one a few days ago, so I hope I remember everything. :)

It was to be expected that so far ahead there would be people who would no longer think the war had been so important. It always happens. People who weren't at its center can never really get it. I'm glad the other Potter-Weasley kids don't ignore what their parents had to go through in order to preserve the world for them. Harry did good to take that boy for a stroll down memory lane. I think taking them to the cave was sort of extreme and dangerous, but I believe Harry's powerful enough to protect the two boys.

I really, really liked him as a teacher. It warmed my heart and filled it with joy, and he made me cheer for him when he dueled the students. It was a great reminder of what an extraordinary wizard he is. After the duel, I just wanted to hug him and fetch him tea when he mentioned how tired he actually was. It was a little strange reading that, and sad, because he's still my childhood hero. He's very alive in your fic, so it was like he...really got old! There's always something strange about seeing the always young and strong grow old slowly if I'm making any sense. But anyway, I think he still has some journey ahead of him and that he's still the great Harry Potter. I can't wait to read all about it. :)

Going back to Hogwarts was wonderful. You really painted all the scenes well. I also liked Neville's inclusion! Another great chapter. :)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

It's so hard to find the time, isn't it? I feel awful reading something and thinking, "I'll review it as soon as I have time..." But I guess it's better than not reading at all.

Anyway, this was another chapter dedicated to "setting the stage." You're correct that a large portion of the wizarding population in this era were born after the war, so they have no idea how terrible things really were. In spite of that, Harry is seriously shocked that anyone could think that Voldemort was just a fairy tale, so he decides to give Dennis Northway a bit of first-hand education. Taking them to the Dementor cave was perhaps not the best judgment he could have exercised, but it sure got the point across. ;)

I think of Harry as a very good teacher because he's both very skilled and very humble about it. He's never going to stand at the front of the room and pontificate to the students because he hated it so much when Snape would do that. But he is in his mid-sixties. Not elderly by wizarding standards, but he's not a young man anymore. He still has many good years ahead of him, but I imagine he feels it more now when he exerts himself.

There will be a few more trips back to Hogwarts, because everything in these stories always seems to come back there, doesn't it? Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Illuminate 

6th November 2012:
Hi!

Your chapters are very long, but they don't feel it. I like how you're still building the story up, and I think I'm beginning to see a little of where some of the story may go. I think it's a little dispicable that students aren't being taught about anything to do with the War, especially as Neville is Headmaster. I wonder exactly what Harry is going to do to change this and how it will affect his life and relationship with Neville.

I think the lesson with the kids was really fun :) And you show Harry's experience and how much he's developed throughout his life- because we've only seen a small portion of his life in the original books. You fill it up for the readers and make it more believable.

Really great job, the only thing that jumped out at me was that you described Dennis as being a sixth year but he used the OWLS as his excuse not to go with Harry? The curriculum might have changed for all I know, but that just popped out at me when I was reading it xD

Great job!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Whew! Sometimes I look at these monsters and I'm really afraid that they drag. Obviously we can't completely excuse Neville for the shortcomings in the way magical history is being taught because he's the Headmaster. But I think he does have a point. Changes at Hogwarts are somewhat controversial, as they are in all secondary schools. And Neville doesn't really have the same force of personality as some of his peers. Don't be too hard on him until you see his character play out over the rest of the story.

The dueling lesson was a lot of fun to write. I love the idea of Harry as this very seasoned, very powerful Auror who brings a lifetime of experience to bear, yet at the same time he doesn't talk down to the students and they relate to him in a way that's different from their other teachers.

I actually think you have a very good point about O.W.L.s, and I have to commend you for being the first person in 31 reviews to point that out. Good eye, as we say in softball!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by rez 

5th November 2012:
I'm amazed by how fantastic this is. I haven' reviewed this at in because I generally wouldn't bother on completed stories, but MAN that was intense! The dueling scene was absolutely enthralling, I can totally imagine a fully trained, experienced veteran Harry taking on Hogwarts kids and blowin their minds the way this chapter blew mine.

Dennis! What the hell?! How dare he! Good on Harry for showing him how it's done, much better than good old "Moody's" bouncing ferret act eh? But wow, the ministry and te hospital and frank and Alice ND THE DEMENTORS! I thought Harry was going to die like what even, I was actually so scared :|

This story is so damn good. Honestly. Why haven't I seen this before?! Definitely not nearly as loved as it should be! Actually I saw this story on a Hpff forums recommendation so you should thank the person that wrote it for their extremely in-depth, heartfelt recommendation :D

11/10

Author's Response: Hi, there.

This chapter was a lot of fun to write, so I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Personally, I love the idea of Harry as this very respected, older member of wizarding society who tries to teach some of what he's learned to a younger generation.

Dennis is an interesting character, but he's also a archetype of sorts. He represents a wizarding world that's become very naive and complacent after so many decades of peace and prosperity. Keep an eye on him as the story progresses. As Dennis goes, so goes the wizarding world.

I'm very happy that you're enjoying the story. Hope to hear from you again! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by StormThief17 

29th July 2012:
I'm back!! What a great chapter.

The dueling lesson was great--I really liked how you incorporated old canon spells like expelliarmus and protego but also put a few of your own in there like the double that Veratrice was confused by. Its very fun to see such an in depth look at the DADA lessons. The precise techniques of duelling were never really covered in the books so its very cool to see what you did with it.

The scene with the Longbottoms nearly had me tearing up honestly. Their story is one of the most heartbreaking ones in Harry Potter and I don't think it will ever lose its sting. You wrote it very well :)

What I really love most is the complexity of this story. Already you've set up so many plot lines, but they don't feel overwhelming. I can't wait to see how everything ties together!

I feel like I'm not offering you anything you haven't already seen in previous reviews, but you should know you have a truly excellent story here.

Chapter 6, coming soon!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Even with 39 chapters posted, this one is still one of my favorites. It sets the scene for the story in a lot of ways, and introduces two original characters who will be around almost until the end.

The dueling lessons were huge fun to write. It was the first time in the story that I got a chance to write action and I really developed a taste for it.

The scene with Neville's parents was really sad to write. I'm glad you thought it came out well. I would have felt bad if I didn't do them justice.

Complexity is always a tricky thing to manage, so I hope you continue to like it as you move forward. There are a lot of things going on in CoB.

Don't worry about what others have said in their reviews. I just like finding out how each reader reacts to the story and what sort of things stand out for them. It's a little different for everybody, I think.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Owlpost68 

19th July 2012:
I thought this was a very interesting chapter. I wouldn't have thought that there were things that wouldn't have changed that the students of the future need to know. I guess it might not have occurred to them until now though, they were too focused on getting the dark wizards that are still out there.
There were a couple of things that seemed a little awkward.
From the last chapter of him being at home, to being right at Hogwarts seemed a little jarring. We didn't know this was something he did, even just a little introduction to the idea like, he was getting ready to go at home and apparate there. It would also give a sense of familiarity and routine, like oh, of course he was going, and oh, that's a really good idea. My first reaction was, what is he doing there?? and then realized it later. Just something to think about :)
Then, the dialogue of the students didn't seem too natural. Some of the key to dialog is using words that we use every day. Even just the last bit with Dennis, "I never would have learned any of this from Professor Binns." using wouldn't, and maybe just saying 'I wouldn't learn this from Professor Binns.' Just make things a little shorter, and go back and think, would I have really said this that way?
Also, this sentence just repeated 'disturbed' one too many times.
ďSome of the patients here are very disturbed and you may find some of them very disturbing."

Like I said though, I love all the new information, and I love that it seems we're getting reintroduced to Harry, it's a long period of time since his school days, so he's changed, and matured. I can't wait to see how you've written the other characters as they've gotten older too :)
good job!

Author's Response: Hi, there! Nice to see you back!

So I'll say right off the bat that the dialog in these early chapters definitely isn't as polished as in the later ones. Someday, when my beta reader and I both have a lot of free time (i.e. - half past never), I really need to go back through it all.

You're the first reviewer to point out that there really is no introduction to the concept of Harry teaching at Hogwarts until he just shows up there at the start of chapter 4. It's an interesting point, since the idea would be really easy to incorporate into the conversation between Harry, Ron and Hermione in the previous chapter. (note to self...)

I also absolutely agree that the students should speak to each other a bit less formally. (another note to self...) The disturbed / disturbing line was done that way on purpose, although I don't do that very often so it might look out of place.

Aging the canon characters into their sixties and seventies was certainly one of the biggest challenges of telling this story, so I'm glad it's working for you so far. I had to guess a bit about how "wizard sixties" compares to "muggle sixties", and try to account somehow for the fact that they're in the 2040's when muggles and wizards alike are likely to be living longer and staying more active into their later years.

Thanks for some very interesting observations and ideas. It seems like my work is never quite done! And thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by WitnesstoitAll 

5th July 2012:
And back for chapter five!!

HOGWARTS! It was so nice to see the old castle as a setting for this chapter. I loved seeing Harry in the role of guest-lecturer and loved seeing the same old magical dynamic within the school. :) Neville as Headmaster, I know you've already said this in the first chapter, but seeing him the role was such a treat!! Love him.

Harry's lesson with his NEWT students was so, so well written. Harry always has been a natural teacher (going back to his DA days), and even now, he's still a reluctant one. Deuling is such a hard thing to write (action scenes in general, really) -- there just aren't enough verbs sometimes -- but you did so, so well with it. I was genuinely excited when Harry was deulling the six students. I am intrigued by this Beatice character though. I'm not sure if you continually highlighted her b/c she'll be important to the story or not, but I'm keeping my eye out for her.

Same with Dennis. I mean, I know people often take history for granted -- else we'd learn from our mistakes, but I can't imagine how shocking it would be for Harry, who gave up so much for the world in his defeat of voldemort, to hear that student's regard it all as fable. The little adventure they took was very humbling, I'm sure. The plaque of aurors in particular was moving to read about -- I still hold grudges about the peole JKR killed off :P

I'm very intrigued about this history of magic plot/subplot that you now have brewing. I hope for the sake of Hogwarts that they can reform their cirriculum -- it's so sad to see such a great institution slipping in quality. Also for the sake of wizarding kind.

Ah. Such a good chapter! I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

It feels good to return to someplace familiar, right?

I'm glad you enjoyed the dueling scene. Action scenes have been my favorite parts of the story to write. There are many more to come! And yes, I find myself scrambling for a thesaurus quite frequently. English feels like such a big language until you actually start trying to thing of a word you need...

So far, I haven't been able to incorporate Beatrice in the later chapters. I feel a bit bad about it, but the opportunity just hasn't presented itself.

Dennis, on the other hand, will be seen again. He is sort of a symbol in the story. He represents a wizarding world that has become naive and complacent due to too many years of peace and prosperity. As his eyes open, it is meant to symbolize a world waking up to a different, less safe reality.

The teaching of Magical History at Hogwarts will surface again, but very late in the story. In fact, I'm writing it now...

Thanks so much for your kind words! I really appreciate all of your thoughts and insights.


 Report Review

Review #21, by academica 

12th June 2012:
Hello! I'm here with another requested review :)

Overall, I liked this chapter. It was nice to return to the familiarity of Hogwarts and to see some other characters besides the Potter and Weasley families. I really liked your imagery, and I loved how you brought the theme of Voldemort and the Second War into things without making it the main focus of the whole story (at least it seems that way so far).

I do have a few more critiques this time around, mostly because I didn't feel like this chapter flowed as smoothly for me as some of the previous ones. I think it was mostly the dueling scene that threw me off. At the beginning of the chapter, you commented that Harry didn't want to take the teaching job even though it would be easier on his joints and muscles, but then he seemed to perform pretty effortlessly when interacting with the students, although I noticed that he did admit feeling tired at the end. I would have just preferred to see him being a little less perfect, because right now, he reminds me a little of a character in a kung-fu movie, if that makes sense :) I also didn't love the use of his first name - I can totally get why he might not want to be called "Mr. Potter" or "Sir" (after all his run-ins with Snape and other professors as a boy), and I know "Professor" isn't really appropriate, but "Harry" still seems a little too casual for me, because of his teacher role and his age. (Sorry I can't offer more ideas on how you could change it!)

As for Harry's little field trips, I liked the ones where he went to the hospital and the Ministry, because I thought they made sense for students. As for the secret cave where all the Dementors live post-war, I have to admit, I did feel like that one was a little over-the-top. Dementors can be dangerous, as Harry knows, and since they were once used to torture prisoners, I don't know if I like him taking students there to see them. I personally would have preferred that he take them to Azkaban or to the Ministry's records room where the Death Eaters' criminal records are held if he wanted to show them the "other side" of both of the wars.

I know this one is a bit more critique-heavy, but I did really like it. I'm certainly very curious as to why the details of the Second War aren't being taught to students in Hogwarts, since the war changed wizarding history and the students will need to know the facts about what happened if they want to be able to avoid being tempted by any similar Death Eater-esque uprisings in the future. Looking forward to seeing what is to come!

Great job! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi, there!

First of all, please don't ever feel badly about offering constructive criticism. I want as much of it as I can get. As I'm sure you know from your own writing, the large majority of reviews for any story are just praise and "please update soon!" So it's really good to find out what people think would improve the story.

You know, I did struggle a bit with how the students should address Harry. I knew that "sir" and "Mr. Potter" were just out of the question, and he isn't actually a teacher. In the end, I just couldn't come up with anything better. As far as the duel, one thing to keep in mind is that he's dueling six students who haven't had the benefit of a good DADA teacher. That's part of why he's there in the first place. Also, he's the Head Auror, with over 40 years of experience. He really *should* be the best.

Taking them to the dementor cave was basically a dose of "scared straight." Dementors are certainly dangerous, which is why he makes it clear that they are to flee if anything happens to him. I'm not sure about Azkaban, because I really can't imagine any of the adult Death Eaters who were captured after the war still being alive. They would all be in their 80's or 90's at this point, and Azkaban is not a nice place to live. I have to imagine that any Death Eaters who survived the battle are long-since deceased. That's my thought, anyway.

The reason that the Second War isn't being taught as it should be is part and parcel to the "problem" in the wizarding world. They've enjoyed peace for too long. Everyone is soft and complacent. But all that is about to change.

Thank you so much for a genuinely thought-provoking review. To me, it's important to challenge my own ideas so I don't wind up just drinking my own kool-aid.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Sansarya 

7th June 2012:
Continuing in intriguing directions. Very much enjoying your story.

Author's Response: You are a reading machine! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying it. Thanks so much for the compliments.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jchrissy 

29th May 2012:
I'm at work right now and have at least 3 large tasks to complete before I leave for the evening, but instead I'm glued to your story... Thanks for that ;)

Author's Response: I, um, OK I'm really not sure whether to say, "you're welcome" or "I'm sorry about that." Either way, I'm really pleased that you're enjoying the story. Please don't get yourself fired over this, though. I would feel genuinely bad about that.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hogwarts27 

5th April 2012:
Hi, I started reading this story on and off a couple of weeks ago. I rarely find a long fan-fiction story that's well-written enough to appeal to me and hold my interest, but this is one of them. I especially like Trio-centered new adventures that keep fairly close agreement with canon. It was when I got to this chapter and parts of the last chapter that I really got hooked to keep reading as the plot started to develop. I've read the first eight chapters now, and I'm really enjoying the story, with this chapter being my favorite so far. The writing quality is outstanding and on par with what I would expect from a professional writer, and I commend you for the painstaking care you've taken to craft even the fine details. You have a natural talent for writing and the rave reviews you're getting are truly well-deserved.

For as far as I've read, the plot is realistic, logical, and believable, and the characterization pretty good for older, more mature characters. In this chapter, I found the idea of Harry dueling 6 students at once without ever getting hit a bit of a stretch, but it didn't spoil my enjoyment of the scene.

So fabulous work! I look forward to continuing the story, and hope you decide to keep writing long into the future.

Author's Response: Hi, there.

Thanks so much for taking some time to review. I really appreciate it.

Writing the characters close to their canon characterization is really important to me. It's what I've striven for all throughout the story, so I'm glad to see that they seem "right" to you.

As far as Harry being able to duel 6 students at once, I have two thoughts on that. First, he's the Head Auror. He should be the best of the best. Second, the students of this era are not the type of tough, battle-hardened kids who fought in the Battle of Hogwarts. The wizarding world has had almost fifty years of peace and prosperity since Voldemort died. People have become a little soft.

Thanks so much for all of your kind words and thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Elenia 

26th March 2012:
(Tag!)

How do you do it? With every single chapter you get me hooked into your story even more than I was before! And I'm only at chapter five?! How am I going to make it through rest of the story? (x

I can't even express how much I adore your Harry. All his thoughts and feelings come across so strong, they just feel so real and believable. You make him feel so alive. It's just wow. Your Harry is the best and closest to canon I've ever read before.

Your writing is just so brilliant and even though the chapters are long, I barely notice it. I find myself thinking 'Oh no, it's over already? I need to read more!'

Thank you, thank you so much for writing this story!

Until next time (:

~E

Author's Response: I'm not really sure how I do it, or what it is, really. I just try to imagine the characters talking in my head and type as fast as I can to capture it before I lose it.

I'm so very glad that you like Harry's character. That's really the most important thing in this story, so I spend an inordinate amount of time focusing on him.

The chapters continue to get longer from here, although the last couple have been a bit shorter. And you can always keep reading if you like. ;)

Thank *you* so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>