Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 

20th September 2014:
Hey there!

I had a little time this weekend and spent the day reading/reviewing all my must-reads.

I really don't know if I can take another emotionally draining chapter. This one had me tearing up (if I'm being honest, it was more than just tearing up) - and that's something I don't normally do for fanfiction, so I guess you can take that as a compliment - haha!

I know I've said this before and I don't want to sound redundant, but your writing is brilliant. The way you handled the trial scene was perfect. It was captivating yet flowed beautifully. But the scene that followed just tore me up. I felt their emptiness and pain. I already told you I was upset about Ginny, Dan - and now this chapter. Ugh! (I know you're smiling because you like the fact that you've made me feel something - and I can't blame you - you did a great job!)

Geez, Percy. I did not see that coming. Oh man. So that explains why Harry is concerned about Percy's actions in the last chapter. I'm concerned too. Percy going off the deep end could be very bad for him.

My first instinct was that Molly was the killer. She's killed for Ginny before. Although, I must admit that I think the Minister of Magic exercised a serious lack of judgement in sending Ginny's brother - no matter how much he'd proved himself as a Ministry Man through and through. All the same, Percy is Ginny's brother and I guess the Minister thought he had no other options of who to send. He also probably reasoned that Percy would be able to talk whomever showed up out of murdering the Muggle and it would've been swept under the carpet.

I love the portraits. Of course Harry would surround himself with the people most important to him. I'm wondering if there is a reason that he hasn't had one commissioned of Ginny. Maybe he can't bear to interact with her that way.

Sirius is harboring a serious (see what I did there?) grudge against Dumbledore. I'm gonna guess it is because of what Dumbledore put Harry through in DH - and maybe a little has to do with Sirius being holed up in Grimmauld Place during OOTP. Either way, I liked his snarky attitude.

Wow. Harry is that depressed, huh? I thought you characterized Dumbledore perfectly - all knowing and giving out advice in a way that makes you think it was your own idea.

This was another fabulous chapter!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

OK, so after this one, I promise there are no emotionally draining chapters for a little while. Things get a good deal more action-packed before the emotional drain returns. And I do take it as a compliment, even though I feel badly about making anyone, erm, tear up. ;)

The trial scene was one of the first things I wrote for this story, even before the prologue, I think. Usually, things I wrote that long ago make me cringe when I reread them, but that scene has held up pretty well for me. The scene that followed was a tough one.

Not many reviewers have seen Percy's revelation coming. He's not the one you think of in that context. Which is obviously one of the things I liked most about having him be the one who did it. The Minister's judgment was horrible, but you're right, his options were limited.

I loved the idea of the portraits so much and I never felt like JKR made enough use of them in the books. It's like being able to interact with the past, in a way. You're right, Harry wouldn't be able to stand seeing Ginny as a portrait. That would have been torture on par with using the Resurrection Stone to bring her back. It never would have been the same.

Sirius seems Dumbledore in a very different light from his peers. Very similar to a lot of fan fic authors, however. ;) He suffered a great deal from Dumbledore's errors and machinations.

Harry is in a very bad place at this point in the story. And because he's older and widowed and lives alone, not many people realize just how bad off he is. Sadly, the portraits probably have a better idea of his mental state than his own children.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by GingeredTea 

20th May 2014:
I read this chapter a while ago - probably between essays - but it is just wonderful how it all stayed with me. I just had to read the first line or two, and I knew exactly where I was.

The way you entered into the chapter was wonderful - showing us a Harry we more easily recognize. Diligent, emotional but strong. I could sense him looking around the court room and knew exactly where his eyes were landing based on your descriptions. It flowed as if it were a movie in my head.

The way you broke from the courtroom and the family reunion to the scene between Percy and Harry was brilliantly orchestrated. Harry asking Hermione and Ron if they knew how much they meant to him, and Ron's sincere but casual (which is what Ron has always seemed to me when he isn't being hot-headed) response was about as perfectly Ron as I have encountered!

The scene itself with Percy was...perfect. I'm not sure how else to say it.

"“You know what we’re here to discuss,” replied Harry, regarding his brother-in-law levelly."

I could see Harry doing that, see his expression.

And then when Percy described the killing curse and Harry doubted - as Harry always does - the evilness of Tom, that was also so...Harry.

To end it with a discussion between those we lost - Lily, James, Sirius, Dumbledore - it left me wiping at my eyes as I scrambled to read on.

Thank you for such a brilliant read. As always, this was a beautifully written chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hi, there! Sorry for the embarrassingly long delay in responding.

I'm glad the courtroom scene was easy to visualize and it was easy to imagine Harry sitting there. Several of the small details in this scene turn out to be rather important later, so I hope they stick with the reader.

Ron is pretty tricky to write, so it's gratifying to hear that he sounded right. You can't make him too soppy or it just doesn't work in my experience.

Keep Harry's discussion with Percy in the back of your mind as the story moves forward. I don't want to give away too much, but there's a lot more going on with Percy than meets the eye.

The conversation between the portraits wasn't in my original draft. The idea hit me while I was editing the chapter. I have to say, I'm rather pleased with how it turned out.

I'm happy that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by blueirony 

19th February 2014:
I've finally managed to get onto the Internet for an extended period of time without it crashing on me. It's like the world doesn't want me to continue to read this. Pfft. As if I answer to the world.

You're really good at lawyer-speak, you know that? Don't know how you did it. Maybe it comes with writing experience. But it almost feels like you know how lawyers speak. Or you're just really good at writing. Or both.

It's interesting how you used the jail time as a way to not deal with grief. It's funny how that happens in real life. I have seen things like that happen to friends. They mute their grief because there is just so much to do and then it finally hits them and it's like canon exploding. So true of the human condition!

I can't BELIEVE it was Percy! But, you know what? At the same time, it fits. I feel like Percy is the perfect person to do something like that. All of his grief and anger just consumed him and he let it out in one horrible moment. Interesting that you chose Percy of all people, though.

I actually had to re-read part of this. At first, I thought that Harry knew what Percy had done and that is why he pulled him aside. But then Percy surprised Harry with his confession. That's when I had to go back and re-read it. Harry and Percy are talking about something that happened in the jail. So I think that something happened in the jail. But we don't know what. Yet.

Why do you enjoy toying with you readers so much? I have all these unanswered questions!

That last bit was really sweet. I like that Harry was able to find peace with his family and especially Sirius. And again, you didn't delve too much into it. You just said that the portraits were there and that was that. That's what writing should be. I've said it before but I really believe in it. To use a very cliche phrase, you "show" and don't "tell". You just write your world how it is and we as readers accept it. That's what writing should be.

Still hooked and I'm still going to review the living daylights out of this story! I still don't get why it's taken me so long to get around to reading this.

Author's Response: Hi, Joop!

I used to deal with a lot of attorneys in my past career life, so I got something of a handle on how they talk in a professional capacity. From there, I just layered on a bit of that "kangaroo court" feel that Harry's Wizengamot trial had in OotP. Wizards may be brilliant and magical and all that, but I find that their idea of an orderly course of events is quite a bit different from us poor muggle folk.

The more I thought about the time Harry and Ron spent in jail, the more sense it made that they would have used the trial and the investigation as a way around having to confront their grief and loss. Neither one of them is especially good at dealing with their feelings. It would have been easy enough for the two of them to drag Hermione along for the ride.

I like to think of Percy as a much more complicated character than the pompous nerd that most authors make him out to be. There are some very deep emotions that run through the guy, and in this case somebody took a member of his family away from him. I think that probably reawakened some of the old pain and grief of losing Fred. I didn't find it hard to believe that Percy could find the self-righteous anger to kill the man who murdered his sister.

You were actually right the first time. It isn't explicitly stated, but during the course of preparing the Trio's defense, Percy confessed to the three of them. Harry knows Percy well enough and has enough experience in law enforcement that he's very concerned about his brother-in-law. Percy is not, by nature, a liar. Keeping the secret isn't going to come easy to him, especially since defending the Trio from murder charges has gained him a certain level of notoriety. An interesting note on this point: not a single reviewer out of 50 has commented on the fact that the Head Auror is helping a murderer to remain free.

I adore toying with readers. It's how I keep you all entertained!

I always loved the idea of magical portraits in the books and I wished that JKR had made more out of it. It's an incredible link to the past that only JKR's witches and wizards will ever be able to experience. So I've tried to use them in a way that isn't too overbearing. I'm glad you feel like I'm showing the reader things as opposed to telling them. To me, that always makes a story much more enjoyable.

I'm really, really glad you like it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sharvi 

2nd January 2014:
I will never fail to be amazed at how good of a writer you are. Why didn't I ever tell you this before? Because I'm a fool that's why. But I am now, and really how do you do it?

Loved the Wizengamot scene, the entire procedure played out like a scene out of a serious law and crime drama. Very intense. And after that, when Harry stops Ron and Hermione? All the feels it gave me! I love these three so much (and yes, I will write that every chapter)

Harry is such a great character and I haven't read a story from his POV in like forever. I'm not even sure I've ever read anything more than a one-shot from his POV! What sort of a fan am I? But it's never too late to start right?

Percy killed him? Plot twist in the fourth chapter? Wow, you're on a roll! But what I'm thinking is how many people know that Percy killed that man. Ron and Hermione seem to know... I guess I'll find out soon enough. The description of the actually performing the Killing Curse was pretty interesting, it made me wonder how many people actually feel like that in real life.

In all honesty I felt like slapping Dumbledore in that last scene. But then I was elated because it's like the beginning of a new adventure (and I anticipate this story becoming my canon) Loved the last line nonetheless. Gave me chills and everything.

Until next time =)

Author's Response: Hello, again! Thanks so much for all of the compliments! They really put a big smile on my face.

The courtroom scene was actually one of the very first things I wrote for this story, even before chapter 3. I enjoyed the dynamic of it, the undercurrents running beneath the air of faux formality.

A lot of CoB is told from Harry's PoV, but I try to mix it up as much as I can. I read once that it's always best to narrate a story from the PoV of the character who either knows the least or has the most to lose. I try to stick with that wisdom whenever possible.

Plot twists abound in this story. You should always be careful with what you think you know for certain. Things have a way of changing... I didn't start out looking to develop theories of what it feels like to cast the killing curse, but I was pretty happy with how that turned out. It fits with the way I think of Voldemort and others like him.

You and Sirius both wanted to slap him. I think a part of Dumbledore that should never be ignored is that wise as he is, he's not all-knowing. He's made mistakes in the past and there's no reason to assume his portrait wouldn't have some questionable ideas in the afterlife.

I look forward to the next time! Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lauren 

19th November 2013:
Wow, I am really liking this! I like the mystery aspects and I think you portrayed all of the characters true to their canon selves. I enjoyed the twist with Percy the attorney being the murderer--that sounds like it would make an amazing episode of Law and Order or CSI...

And I loved what you wrote for Dumbledore. I thought the speech pattern/word choice/level of message delivered was spot on: “But the secret of Harry’s greatness lies in the fact that he never sought it. Destiny calls upon him and he merely answers. And destiny, I believe, has further plans for Harry Potter.”

Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

This was one of my favorite chapters to write because of the Wizengamot drama. I'm really pleased that you liked the scene. Poor Percy has a lot of things going on in this story, but also a lot of shining moments. I loved the idea of him being so loyal to his family.

Ah, Dumbledore. To me, he's the second-most-difficult character in the fandom to write -- Luna being the first. You can't really describe in words what it means for something to sound like Dumbledore. It either does or it doesn't. So I'm really glad that he sounded correct to you.

Thanks so much for reading and especially reviewing! I love the feedback.


 Report Review

Review #6, by APerkins 

20th October 2013:
Hey I love it! Really well done. Writing style is enviable - really great.
I was actually a little disappointed you revealed Percy in this chapter. You had already revealed enough that I could guess (and Percy's flippancy with regards to the trial seemed so significant. If the trial was a waste of time, why include it in the writing - unless to implicate someone)
But then you solved the mystery almost immediately! Which was kinda cool in a way too so I am not really complaining!
Im still trying to get my head around a portrait knowing what it's human form felt like as it died, even if they do develop into their personalities. Even so,I think that is a great plot device to have the old favourites coming back into the story and I loved the sirius vs B-bore interacton Yay!

Author's Response: Again, you're far too kind!

There's actually a reason that Percy had to be outed so early in the story. A few reasons, actually. Don't worry, there are plenty of other twists yet to come. The reason that the trial gets nearly an entire chapter dedicated to it has less to do with the fact that Percy is guilty than it does with the reason why Harry, Ron and Hermione were being prosecuted so aggressively. That's all I should probably say at this point.

Magical portraits are funny things. Dumbledore's portrait seemed to be aware of a lot of things that happened just before and immediately after his death. Perhaps I took a bit of liberty, but I really enjoy the idea of magical portraits. I really wish that JKR had made more of them in the books.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by 1917farmgirl 

9th September 2013:
PERCY!

It was PERCY!

Wow, I so did not see that coming! This whole chapter was full of so many things I was going to comment on, and then they all flew out of my brain when that shocker was dropped!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not belittling Percy's love for his family, or courage, or guts, or whatever. I just...wow. Never, ever thought that was a line he could cross, even for Ginny.

And then there's Harry. Such conflicted feelings right now. Because.well.it's Percy, so I don't want him to get in trouble, so I want Harry to do what he's doing and letting it get covered up. BUT, that means there's a line Harry's crossing as well...which is a pretty BIG line, for an officer of the law, magical or muggle.

See what you do? You write these stories that have so many layers and such depth, you make me actually have to think. None of this mindless entertainment - no, you have to go and make me examine morals and wrong and right and boundaries...

I think my head hurts.

Moral crisis aside, this chapter was such a doosie anyway. We find out what happened to Ginny, or at least the bare bones - still wondering the details, and how Rose and Octavia fit into it.

AND THE WIZARDING WORLD ACTUALLY PUT THE TRIO ON TRIAL??? Seriously, that's cold.

The emotions at the end of the trial, when the family was there - so overwhelming.

I have a feeling this story is going to put me through the wringer. When I'm done, I might need counseling. Well, more than I already do.

Superb writing, as always, and I can't wait to read more. Well, actually, I'm kind of dreading reading more because of what I might find out, or you might do to my characters, but I still HAVE to know. Believe me, that's a compliment. I felt the same way with Deathly Hallows...

Author's Response: Percy, it seems, has a deep, dark secret. It explains Percy's odd behavior, which was one of the big points of this chapter. I tend to imagine that Percy became fiercely rededicated to his family after the war. He was right there when Fred was killed, and I doubt he easily forgave himself for turning his back on them for so long.

Lots of lines get crossed in this chapter. Harry, Ron and Hermione played along with the bogus prosecution -- not that they had a lot of choice in the matter, mind you -- which in turn helped to keep suspicion away from Percy. As to just how far across the line Harry stepped... well, you'll find out as the story moves along.

Ha! You're seriously making me blush over here. I really appreciate all of the compliments and I'm glad that nothing about this story comes off as mindless. There are plenty of fan fiction stories that are written purely for "mindless" entertainment. This is not one of them.

You think you need counseling after the trial? Try writing it! That was tough. Not as tough as chapter 2, but still tough. I think imagining Arthur was what hit me the hardest. The poor man just doesn't deserve this. :(

I hope you're not dreading the rest **too** much. I promise there will be some cheer-worthy moments to go along with the bad stuff. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
This chapter made me want to cry, there's a high chance that I'm going to actually be bawling at some point isn't there?

Poor Harry, Ron and Hermione having to go through that trial, although I'm so glad that Percy is being their lawyer. I'm so happy that he managed to get them off of the charges!

I must admit I did cry at the fact that he had a portrait of his mother and he talks to it. Why did you make me cry? :( It's not until moments like this when you realise just how terrible Harry's life has really been. He's lost so much and still has the strength to carry on with his life.

Brilliant chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi!

You are absolutely making my day, you know that? Ear-to-ear smile on my face!

This is a pretty sad chapter, although it's very significant plot-wise. Life was pretty awful to the Trio immediately following Ginny's death. Percy came through for them in a big way.

I always thought that the magical portraits were so underutilized in the books. They provide such an awesome connection with the past. I resolved to try to use them more in this story.

Thanks, thanks, THANKS!
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #9, by Debra20 

22nd April 2013:
A great chapter, as expected. You warned me that this will be the beginning of the real story, that this chapter marks the start of their journey and I could definitely feel it. That feeling that something is amiss and not quite right.

I have to ask this because I'm still in awe at how successfully you managed to depict the trial scene: do you work in the law department or something connected with law enforcement? Because the trial scene was AMAZINGLY done. I couldn't shake off the feeling that I was sitting in an actual real life court room and was witnessing a trial unfold. It gave me chills.

I certainly didn't expect Percy to have been the one to kill the Muggle. I mean, it does seem a more logical explanation that any of the others could have done it but not him. Not that he couldn't do it because he lacked the knowledge, but he couldn't do it because he never gave the impression that he was a killer. This brings Percy to a whole different level to me. You've given him so much growth with this little scene, it's incredible.

You know, death and the feeling of losing someone is such a strange thing. You can empathize with people who suffered losses in their life but it's never the same as when you live it. Having lost someone dear to me a few days ago, gives a whole different perspective on what everyone is living with Ginny's death. It's like I'm reading a completely different story. I think the feeling of loss is like the feeling of being a parent: you can try and feel it as others do but when you yourself feel it, it's like nothing you've ever felt in those moments of empathy. My own mourning changed this story in so many ways for me. I see Harry in a new light.

I do enjoy the ominous feeling you've left clinging at the end of the chapter. The portrait's conversation opens up this new adventure for Harry that we've been hinted at since the first chapter. Can't wait!

Author's Response: Hi, there! What a nice surprise!

I think out of all the chapters in CoB, this is still one of the ones I'm most proud of. I actually don't have any legal background at all, aside from testifying in a couple of administrative hearings as an expert witness early in my career. I tried to capture some of the formality I've seen in courtroom scenes in books and movies and still keep a little of that "kangaroo court" feel that I remember from Harry's "trial" before the Wizengamot in OotP.

I'm glad that Percy didn't immediately come to your mind. I think it says a lot that the Ministry never suspected him, even though he was sent to the jail to watch over Stoops. If you're enjoying where his character is going so far, I think you're really going to like what happens with him later in the story. ;)

I'm really sorry to hear about your loss. I agree, it is very different when you're experiencing it firsthand. No matter what Harry does throughout this story -- and you'll see him wander pretty close to the edge at times -- I tried to keep in mind just how much he's still hurting. He never properly came to terms with Ginny's death, and it still eats at him day and night. But that does change somewhat by the end.

I always loved the idea of portraits being able to talk and share some of the personality of their subjects. I felt like they were under-used in the books. So I did my best to work them into this story on occasion.

I'm so pleased that you're enjoying this! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and reactions.


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotter 

17th March 2013:
This was a really packed, really wonderful chapter. I loved getting to see the trial after Ginny's death, and learning what really happened to both Ginny and her killer. I really wouldn't suspect Percy, though! That was a really shocking moment, but also really tough, because you want to sympathize with hi, but at the same time he did kill someone. But I agree with Harry that he's not a killer. And the end of this chapter was definitely my favorite part! I loved the talking portraits, and how they had a conversation at the end after Harry left the room. Their characters are perfect! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Nobody suspected Percy, and I'm actually not sure whether that made it easier or harder for him to accept what he'd done. He is not, by his nature, a killer. Harry more or less hit the nail on the head with his alternative explanation.

I loved the idea of the talking portraits in the books, and I always felt like they could have been used a lot more. So I made a point of including them in this story. I'm really glad the characters sounded right to you.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark 

23rd February 2013:
Another incredible chapter, of course-I'm kind of still getting my head around it!

When I first started reading the trial, I was initially under the impression that Harry, Hermione and Ron were part of the Wizengamot...when I learned that they were the accused, my mind started whirring. It definitely makes sense that they would be accused of killing the man that murdered Ginny, but that doesn't make it any less horrible! This chapter also raised a lot more questions-I am now wondering which direction this story is going to take...and if Ginny's death is part of something much bigger? Hmm..I guess I'll have to wait and see!

The scene after the trial was so emotional and heartbreaking, I honestly don't know how you do it! It was so nice seeing the whole family together, and so fitting. I am looking forward to seeing more of Harry's relationship with his kids.

I love the idea of the portraits! And Harry's conversation with his mother was absolutely perfect-and all the others; Dumbledore, Sirius and James were so perfectly in character that it made me smile and look like a dork. I also liked the touch of humour that Sirius brought to the chapter-I'm looking forward to learning more.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I never thought of any of the trio as being the sort who would wind up on the Wizengamot. Hermione probably couldn't stand all the pretense and hypocrisy, Harry wouldn't want the attention and Ron just doesn't have the patience. So yes, they were all accused of possibly being the one who killed the man who murdered Ginny. Even though I think the standard to convict a person of a crime is roughly the same in the magical world as in the muggle world, I think the standard to accuse somebody of something and put on a big, showy trial is much lower. Especially where the use of Unforgivable Curses is concerned.

The scene outside the courtroom, after the trial, was definitely tough to write. Very sad and intense.

As soon as they surfaced in the books, I loved the idea of magical portraits and the possibilities they held. Like a lot of things, there just weren't enough pages for JKR to give them the attention I thought they deserved. So I've tried to build on the concept in this story. And I did enjoy giving Sirius that snappy one-liner. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and leaving such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

13th February 2013:
Hello!

Gosh - what an amazing chapter. There's so much happened I can barely get my head around it...

So, the trial. I was quite surprised at first to see the trio being put on trial, I was surprised they were even suspected to be honest. But, the more I read it the more it made sense. the man who murdered Ginny - of course Harry would be suspected. The strength of the curse of course didn't go well in his favour. You wrote the scene very well too, it had a very formal feel to it which is obviously what it needed and the language was perfect for the court room.

I was cheering Percy on when he delivered his closing speech! I love what you've done with his character and how you've developed him since the war. I really enjoying reading stories where he is now a part of the Weasleys again and does something with his life.

The scene with the Weasleys after they were charged not guilty was absolutely heart breaking. Reading that they'd put the grief on hold and stayed together as a family unit then reading them all break down once again, gosh - it just made me fill up. It's a beautiful piece of writing and you captured the very heart of the family here.

Ooh, you dropped a bombshell with the whole Percy is the killer there didn't you? When Harry took him to the Forest of Dean and started talking I did kind of see where it was going but even still, I was shocked when I read my thoughts were correct. I absolutely loved the twist here but the actual turn of events was particularly well thought out on your part. The minister expecting this to happen and getting in touch with the only member of the family he felt he could trust who turned out to do exactly what he feared. Just wow. Percy's description was particularly excellent to read. You really got across his struggle between regret and feeling good about what he did.

We then move on to the final scene where can I just say I was astounded once again by your genius. The portraits are absolutely fantastic! I can't believe Harry gets to talk to his mum & dad, Sirius, Remus and Dumbledore once again. I actually can't believe I've never read another story with this idea in - it's great. Lily and Harry talking were lovely. It's not quite the same of course but it's like he's getting a bit of his mum back and I loved it. Cue then the hilarious end to the chapter with Sirius 'He doesn't need Father Christmas over there gifting him any more Herculean tasks' I giggled out loud to that and got some strange looks... whoops. Good old Sirius though, says it as it is. You write Dumbledore's lines particularly well too - I know he can be a hard man to write!

The only other thing I have to comment on is Octavia. Is there something special about her? I'm guessing you won't answer again but it's kind of bugging me. The comment about her being able to do the ridikulus charm and the fact she was with Ginny when she died. I get the feeling there is more to this than meets the eye although I may be way way off. You did say she had a lot of her grandma in her I suppose.

Excellent chapter again. You have such a talent at making me want to laugh and cry in such a short space of time. The flow and pace of the story is spot on and leaves me with the same sense of satisfaction as I got when reading Harry orginally. I'm honestly hooked on this story - it's a fantastic read.

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Woo-hoo! Finally caught up on responding to reviews. I've been behind for 2 weeks. It feels icky.

Harry, Ron and Hermione were suspected for many reasons, most of which the prosecution attempts to use as "evidence". The substance of the trial was obviously quite thin. In my mind, I was picturing the whole situation as being the sort of political theater that Fudge attempted to use to discredit Harry and Dumbledore in Order of the Phoenix.

Percy definitely saves the day. I hope you'll continue to like Percy throughout. At times, he's going to behave in such a way that you'll question his sanity. Just stick with him, alright? ;)

The Weasleys are an incredibly strong family. They've been though so much, and they always pull together when it matters most. Without them, I don't think there's any way that Harry ever manages to survive the books and defeat Voldemort. I really couldn't imagine them reacting any other way.

Quite a surprise on Percy's part, huh? I've always thought that he was an underutilized character, and I was determined to do something interesting with him. I thought a lot about what it might feel like to cast the Killing Curse. It's sort of the ultimate act of evil, but in a way I thought it also might be addictive. Wizards who use it seem to fall into a pattern of that behavior.

I loved the idea of the magical portraits in the books and I felt like JKR could have made so much more out of it. Given the opportunity, and he certainly has the money, I felt pretty sure that Harry would have wanted a way to regain some small part of his relationship with his parents, Sirius, Remus and Dumbledore. Ginny, on the other hand, I think it would have hurt too much. And I loved that little dig that Sirius takes at Dumbledore. I don't think the two of them ever really got along. Sirius must have disapproved very strongly of sending Harry back to the Dursleys each summer, even if he understood why it was necessary.

There's something very special about Octavia. I can't tell you what it is yet, but suffice it to say that she's very pivotal to the story and she'll be part of it until the very end. And she has a lot of both grandmothers in her. When you get to know Astoria, I hope you'll think that's a good thing.

Aww, I never start off with the intention of making anyone cry, but it seems to happen sometimes. I'm glad that you find the story so emotional. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Arithmancy_Wiz 

8th January 2013:
So I've been meaning to pop over here again ever since the Review Swap. I'm sorry I'm too late to help you hit 800, but actually, I kind of like being the first to launch you toward 900... assuming no one beats me to it while I'm writing this (Oh, the pains of being a long-winded reviewer!).

The opening to this chapter was absolutely phenomenal. You set the scene and the mood without benefit of any real physical description. That takes real skill; I mean it. A lot of authors fall into the trap of describing everything but saying nothing. Not here. This was brilliantly done.

I know I mentioned this in another review but I think you've nailed an important part of Harry's character that often gets overlooked: his dry wit. Without it, it's just not the Harry from the books, even if he's supposed to be many, many decades past adolescence here. My favorite Harry line:

-- He was the perfect tool for whoever had orchestrated it all, Harry reasoned. Young, ambitious and stupid.

I also really liked the part where you mentioned the family putting their grieving on hold to present a united front. I thought it really captured both what kind of family they are and what a family in this situation must be going through. It was poignant and incredibly true to life.

I did notice one small thing in the trial scene:

-- He had practiced for two days to deliver his closing argument, and he took a second to quickly go over the points in his mind.

You moved into Percy's POV here. Since you didn't have any other POV changes, I thought this might have been an unintentional slip...?

I had a suspicion it was Percy who killed Stoops, but only because of your review reply when I commented on Percy's skirt chasing. But it was still a shocking revelation and very well executed. I thought Percy's dialogue in the forest scene was fantastic. My favorite line was: The man who killed Fred turned his back on me and all I could think to do was stun him. Wow, what a visual, in both an emotional and literal sense. A perfect detail to both bring that night into sharp relief and compare it to how far he was come since.

Of course, the best line of the whole chapter for me came at the end: He doesn’t need Father Christmas over there gifting him any more Herculean tasks. Dumbledore is the worst sort of Santa, isn't he? He gives you missions and memories and riddles and horcruxes when all you really want is a Weasley sweater for Christmas.

So, great introduction of the back story. Solid writing. Nice plot advancement. All in all, I'd say this was a keeper. I'll try and pop back for another review soon...assuming you don't mind, that is ;)

Author's Response: Hi, there! I'm so pleased to see you back again!

At the start of the chapter, I tried to focus on the things that I thought were most important to defining the mood and the gravity of the situation the trio was facing. I'm glad that worked well for you.

At this particular moment in his life, I tend to think that jaded, cynical, dry wit is the only kind that Harry has left. His wife has been murdered and he's been falsely accused, along with his two best friends, of murdering her killer. He's in a pretty dark, awful place. Which is sort of old hat for him, since he spent most of the first 18 years of his life in dark, awful places. So I guess it fits well.

The Weasleys are probably the ultimate "circle the wagons" family when it comes to dealing with hardship and tragedy. Goodness knows they've had enough practice. :(

Eh, I see what you're saying about slipping into Percy's PoV. I could definitely tweak that a bit to make it obvious that it's Harry's perception of what Percy's doing.

Wow. I think you're the first reviewer who figured that out before Percy drops the bomb. Props to you! Percy is very distraught about what he's done, so I'm glad that his emotional state came through clearly.

I really, really loved the idea of magical portraits from the books, so I've tried to make good use of them in CoB. And Dumbledore is a horrible Santa. This probably isn't a good spot to completely run through my personal rant on what a lousy mentor he really was to Harry. Suffice it to say that by the end of Deathly Hallows, I felt very ambiguous about him.

I'm so pleased that you liked the chapter and thank you for all of the kind words. I look forward to hearing from you again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by LovlyRita 

14th December 2012:
Hello hello hello! Well, I've just finished this chapter and I have only this to say:

wha.a.a.a.a.a.a.a.a.t?!?!?!

Ok, that's all I got, I hope this review was informative! (ok, I lie)

Alright, let's start at the beginning. First of all, I like the wizengamot that you have created. It's very lifelike and demonstrates the clipped coldness of a courtroom. I like that the prosecution was basically out for themselves, especially enjoyed the comment about the book deal. Isn't that always the way, these cheeky lawyers! I also really enjoyed the closing arguments, the accusatory over self confident prosecution vs the defense, who clearly knew he had it in the bag.

Moving on from that, I can't believe the trio was on trial for Ginny's murder! How awful that must have been for them, especially Harry, to be whisked away from home and the people they loved immediately after it had happened, and then locked away without being able to say a proper goodbye, without being able to mourn! Terrible for them. I did like Harry's running thoughts during the whole ordeal, it was a nice insightful thing, because I'm sitting here like...they could have easily killed this guy, all the points that were brought up make sense except there's no evidence! Ah you're throwing me through the emotional ringer here!

And then they were grudgingly acquitted which was great but just heart breaking to see their family come over and the tears flowing because now they can stop ignoring Ginny's death and just freely mourn it, which was sad.

Ok, so the whole scene in the woods was done so well. I really loved this, as Harry listened to it unfold and as Percy just kept talking and told all. Shocker of the year! But when he told it, it made sense, you know? This man who had been estranged from his family, and then welcomed back in to become closer than ever with them...and then the man who killed his sister is mocking him and clearly doesn't care what he's done. It could make anyone snap, really. But the way that Percy described the killing curse is just so chilling, the way it made him feel. I thought that was really well done because you know, here's a guy who has always blindly followed the rules, who, like he said above, stunned Rookwood when he could have ended him, who has always upheld the laws as a high ranking ministry official...and suddenly he has the power of death in his hands, and he likes the way it feels. It's just very chilling, and Harry even recognizes this fact too because he wonders about Tom Riddle and such but..I don't know I could totally see your Percy easily like...turning psychopath a la the show Dexter or something, and just killing all the bad people in the world to save other good people, a vigilante of sorts. And really I think that's just a testament to how well you wrote it :)

And finally at the end here we have the portraits which of course gave me the warm fuzzies. I'm like, why didn't Harry just commission a painting of them when he was in his first year at Hogwarts and carry it around with him? His dad could have snuck him answers during tests :P No, but I love that there are portraits of his family and of Dumbledore (LOVED the father christmas line, ahahaha) and it must help keep Harry sane, that he has these people to talk to. Though, really, what's sane about talking to a portrait?

It also makes me wonder like...he could get a portrait of Ginny too, right? And then he'd have her. But then I was all like, what do people do when their signficant others die, and then they get a portrait, is it like they are married to a portrait? Especially if the portrait has the same feelings and thoughts as the real person, and seemingly the memories too, but they aren't technically real? This has been Ashley's Wizarding World Wonderments for the day :)

Overall I really enjoyed this chapter, the flow of it was great and the way you revealed things. Personally I was relieved that you revealed Percy's secret in this chapter rather than holding onto it for a while because I might have gone crazy waiting! So if that's not the major theme of the story then...what the heck is? I can't wait until all of this unfolds because I can tell that it is going to be a fabulous, suspenseful ride :)

Author's Response: Well, I *have* actually gotten stranger reviews than that for this chapter. ;)

I still think of the Wizengamot as somewhere between a kangaroo court and a drumhead, even with all the reforms that Kingsley Shacklebolt surely implemented during his tenure. There's a great deal of pomp and circumstance attached to the proceedings and a huge amount of political theater plays out there. The trial of the trio was exactly that: political theater designed to distract an outraged populace from the Ministry's inability to secure Ginny's murderer for long enough to properly investigate what happened. As you can see, it was reasonably effective. Even though there was no evidence, the trial deflected attention for just long enough.

I remember spending a lot of time thinking about the killing curse and what affect it might have one someone who uses it. It's definitely a curse that's usually cast out of anger or fear. The idea that it would simply leave the person who casts it emotionally empty, draining away all of their feelings, fit nicely somehow.

Keep a close eye on Percy. He was present at what turns out to be a very pivotal moment. There is much of his story left to be told. Definitely don't assume too much. ;)

I always felt like magical portraits were a very under-utilized idea in the books. They provide this amazing continuity between past and present. As far as Harry commissioning a portrait of Ginny, I think that would be more of a torment to him than a comfort, particularly in his present mental state where he still grieves for her. Just like the Resurrection Stone drove people mad by giving them only a pale shadow of their lost loved ones, living with Ginny in portrait form -- unable to touch her or smell her hair -- would probably have destroyed Harry. Just my thoughts on the matter.

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. This is the last one that's mostly dedicated to setting the stage. The plot really begins to move in the next one. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by slytherinchica08 

30th November 2012:
Oh how the plot thickens! First I want to say that no I have not read any father chapters than what I leave you reviews on so i have no idea whats going to happen in the next chapter, I can only tell you what I hope will happen or hope to see!

As for the chapter, it was great! I loved seeing what really happened for the three after Ginny died. I honestly thought that the trial was for Ginny's murderer and not for them, but it was very interesting. I'm so glad that they weren't able to convict them, it would have been so wrong if they had considering their was no actual evidence to convict them. And oh my gosh! Percy was the actual killer?! No wonder why he is going a bit crazy! Something like that to keep bottled up would have to much such a good person go insane!

I think that this chapter is just amazing! It's really picking up speed and just making me want to continue reading more! I wanna know more, find out whats going to happen next, where exactly the story is going to take us! Your writing in this is absolutely wonderful and I can see how it is so popular and I'm sitting here wondering why I haven't started it sooner! Such a wonderful chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi, there!

OK, that's good to know. You seemed like you had figured a thing or two out in your last review. I guess you're just super-perceptive!

I thought the trial was a good way to show what happened without just saying, this is what happened. I'm glad the scene written out of time didn't bother you. As Harry correctly surmises, there was no way they could have been convicted. The trial was nothing but political theater, with an ulterior motive.

I'm glad you found Percy's role surprising. He might continue to surprise you. ;)

I'm really glad you liked the chapter. The story does pick up speed from here. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by shadowycorner 

15th November 2012:
Harry could see Ron's shoulders shudder as he joined her in sobs of relief and mourning. Arthur was clutching Molly and George, doing his best to maintain a stoic demeanor, but Harry could see the tears welling in his eyes. Harry hadn't seen Arthur cry since the family had laid Fred to rest after the battle at Hogwarts. Now he would have to bury another child, his little girl. Harry felt his heart tear again as he watched the man he'd loved like a father break down before his eyes. Just shattered my heart all of it, and then somehow mended it back. The strength of this family completes me in a way. It's simply magical, more than the world they live in.

The plot is getting so interesting. The court scene was full of suspense and I read every single word of it, and then Percy's revelation. That totally shocked me. I have to admit I thought it was Harry, but it didn't feel right, and then it all made sense and fell into place. I can't imagine Harry casting the killing curse, ever. It took his parents from him, so I guess he'd rather die than ever use it. A great weight had been lifted off my chest when I read he didn't do it. I'm starting to think Ginny's murder is part of a bigger picture, and I really want to find out!

The scene with the portraits, oh my...you're killing me all over again. I was just letting out weird sounds because I felt like crying again, and then Sirius opened his mouth and I totally cracked up. Everything he said is so Sirius, his raw opinionated nature just burst from that portrait. And of course Albus and his talks of fate etc. etc. But most of all I was touched by Lily talking to Harry. I can't even say whether it hurt or made me feel warm inside, I think it was both.

I'm so blown away by this story so far. After reading your work and hearing all the praise for it, I knew it'd be fantastic, but it's exceeding even the insanely high expectations I already had. I'm so psyched to be reading this. Too bad I really need to sleep, but I'll definitely be back to see what further plans destiny has for Harry Potter.

Liz

Author's Response: Hi, there!

One of the strongest themes throughout all seven books was the strength of the Weasley family in the face of adversity. It's one of the things I've tried to stay very true to throughout this story. They are my absolute favorite part of the HP universe.

I'm glad that Percy's revelation came as a surprise. It's meant to be that way and it's quite far out of character for him, which is part of why I like it. Ginny's murder is absolutely part of a larger picture, the details of which will continue to emerge as the story moves along.

I always loved the idea of magical portraits in the books and I felt like so much more could have been done with them, so I've tried to make use of them in CoB. The idea and the connection to the past that they provide really sparks my imagination. I think that being able to talk to his mother, even in a diminished form, made a huge difference in Harry's life. It was probably one of the things that kept him from breaking completely after Ginny died.

I'm really glad that the story is holding your interest, and I have to repay your compliments in kind. I love Memory Dust immensely. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Illuminate 

4th November 2012:
Hi!

Love the plot twist in there, I really do. You wouldn't really expect Percy to do such a thing, but then again it is perfectly within his abilities, if you think about it. I remember how filled with rage he was at the Battle of Hogwarts after Fred died. I was certain it had been Ron (the other two I think would have had more restraint) but I love that you had Percy do it. I wonder how that's working out for him now, and how he feels about it.

Oh boy, and I love the portaits idea. It seems just like Harry to have portraits of his parents and Sirius, Lupin and Dumbledore. I wonder if he will get one for Ginny, though I think that might be too painful for him and his children. I do have a funny image of Sirius and Dumbledore bickering all day long. I think you got all their characters right, from Lily's intelligence, Dumbledore's wise words and James' humour.

I really can't wait to see what happens next- and there was nothing technically wrong with it either, all really lovely :) Great job!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Percy plays a fairly central role in the story and now you're starting to get an idea of why. He certainly has a temper. Keep an eye on him. More interesting things to come...

I always felt like magical portraits were a brilliant but underused idea in the books. I wanted to incorporate them in a believable way, because I feel like they really add to the story. And you're right, it would be much too painful for Harry to have a portrait of Ginny. He lost so much when she died; no portrait could ever replace her.

In the next chapter, the plot really gets moving. Hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

24th October 2012:
OH! I was going to wonder, in the last review, what was wrong with Percy. Then I read this, and I think I have just a little bit of understanding. So far, my theory is that what he did is getting to him? How much, I don't know. Will he tell? :O

Harry is needed to solve this mystery and be there for his family, he's not allowed to think those thoughts. Purely for what I just said, not because I'd cry because he's one of my favorite characters. Well, maybe that, too.

So, what I'm trying to say is, Dumbledore is wise and he should be listened to. Speaking of Dumbledore's words, I loved how you ended it. It felt very foreshadow-y, there is another destiny for him.

His chapter was both sad and sweet. I loved it.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

The guilt Percy feels about what he's done is having an impact, but it's not the whole story. Watch Percy carefully. The troubles he's having are actually very central to the story.

Harry goes thought a lot in this story. There's a part of me -- the part that forgets that these are fictional characters because I tend to identify with them so strongly -- that feels badly about the things that I put him through. Granted, I can't hold a candle to JKR when it comes to placing Harry in awful situations, but I still feel bad.

Dumbledore is indeed wise. And this isn't the last time that you'll be hearing from him.

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by StormThief17 

19th July 2012:
Wow...I did not suspect Percy! That was certainly a shock. You did a brilliant job in explaining his thinking though. I think thats exactly how dear old Percy would think.

Ginny's death is just getting sadder and sadder. I am still very curious about exactly what happened! Poor Harry.

I really liked the scene with the portraits. I always wondered exactly how the whole dead people-portrait thing worked, and your idea is very plausible!

Dumbledore's end quote was so Dumbledore-ish! I loved it!

Chapter 5? Why yes, that's exactly where I'm going!

Author's Response: When I was thinking through the story a long time ago, I really liked the idea of a very unlikely avenger of Ginny's murder, like Percy. Aside from being a wicked twist, it makes it very plausible as to why Harry, Ron and Hermione would have been the prime suspects, which turns out to be very important later on.

Harry suffers a lot throughout the story because of Ginny's death. It's really one of the central plot themes.

I always loved the idea of magical portraits in the books. I wanted to make more of them in CoB because they represent such an interesting connection between past and present.

Whew! Dumbledore is so hard to write well. Nothing ever sounds quite right. I'm glad you thought it sounded like him.

I'll see you in Chapter 5! ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Owlpost68 

15th July 2012:
You wrote Dumbledore beautifully there, really seemed a lot like him!
I know Harry wouldn't take his own life, his family, and his kids need him. They've already lost a mother, they don't need to lose their father too. Sirius was silly though, calling Dumbledore Father Christmas :P

Wow, it was strange when you revealed that Percy killed Ginny's killer, since you had mentioned he was going a bit crazy in the previous chapter, I wasn't completely shocked that he had done it, but it was when he described doing it.
I have an idea of including muggles with wizards in a similar way, I'm interested to see who was really behind Ginny's death since it was hinted that it was something bigger.

there was one typo I found: "He quietly made his was through the house--" prolly should be, made his way

otherwise, great chapter! very intriguing :)

Author's Response: Whew! I'm glad you liked Dumbledore. I find him *so* hard to write. Nothing ever sounds just right with him, and he has such a talent for turning a phrase in the books. He *needs* to sound just right, otherwise he winds up sounding corny. I don't think Sirius was trying to be silly. He was sincerely very upset about anyone trying to ask anything more of Harry in this lifetime.

Percy is a fairly pivotal character in this story. He was present at one of its defining moments, and he'll be there at the end. I thought a lot about what casting the killing curse would feel like, and I think what I came up with could explain some things.

Thanks for spotting that typo. I'll get that patched up after my next chapter validates!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by WitnesstoitAll 

4th July 2012:
ASDFGHJKL;

That, is a homerow keyboard smash just for you. Holy, wow. This chapter was intense. Everything about the courtroom scene was so driving and real. I was legitimately nervous (even though I knew they couldn't have been convicted since, er, you know, flashback) that I speed read it all. I thought your use of Percy as their defendent was a fabulous choice. He felt very natural in the role.

It was very interesting to see the backstory play out here, and as soon as Harry apparated to The Forest of Dean with Percy, I knew it... but it didn't stop me from nearly choking on my coffee when the words were finally said. Wowzers. I do think that it was a good choice, of the lot, who'd chose him if they were looking to point fingers? I think you painted a fabulous picture of that night and Percy's emotional state. gahhh. You are a very talented writer!

The closing scene was very intriguing and perfectly capped off the first two. I love the idea of Harry having his loved ones on his wall to consult with. The little play between James and Sirius was golden -- and this line, "“A bit casual about my son’s death, aren’t you, Padfoot?”" made me laugh out loud. And wise old dumbleodre... if I were harry, I'd probably be packing my bag. If Dumbledore says destiny is calling, it most likely is. :P

Another fabulous chapter.
Melissa

Author's Response: Hello, again!

If this chapter seemed intense to you... Hmmnn. I'd like to be nonchalant and say, "just wait until you see what's coming," but it's been so long since I was in the mindset where this chapter was new. Maybe I peaked on chapter 4 and I just don't realize it. I hope not. ;)

I really enjoyed writing the courtroom scene, and this chapter was before I started working with a beta, so it's quite miraculous that it turned out so well. Making the trial a flashback obvious steals some of the mystery, but this was all important back story that needed to be told.

Percy is certainly the one who would never have been suspected, which is sort of the best and worst thing from his point of view. He still carries a lot of baggage from that night, as is evident in his confessions to Harry.

I always loved the idea of magical portraits from the books and I really wanted to try to do something fun and useful with them in CoB. Dumbledore, in particular, will make a lot of appearances. The dialog between James, Sirius and Dumbledore just sort of came to me as I was writing this, and I felt really pleased with how it ended up.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by academica 

8th June 2012:
Hello! I'm back with another requested review :)

I really liked this chapter a lot. For me, the most powerful moment was when Percy described casting the Killing Curse. I was fully expecting him to say it was draining or horrifying, but to hear him describe it with such wonder really shocked me. I liked how you tied that to Voldemort and the mystery of how he and his followers became so evil. I also really liked the beginning, the way Harry described the courtroom and how he was walking into it in a new way after having gone inside so many times before. It was neat how you dropped me right into the trial. When I opened this chapter, I was expecting to read about the trial of Ginny's murderer, but you put a wonderful twist on it.

I thought the court proceedings seemed very accurate, and I liked the speeches given and the way everyone behaved. I think Percy was characterized wonderfully - if any of the Weasleys were to finally break down, I think it would be him. I loved how he went from being so tough in the courtroom to nearly losing it there in the forest.

That said, I think the portraits were a great way to conclude this chapter on a slightly less somber note. Things definitely remain serious for Harry and his family, but it was nice to bring in the familiar faces of Harry's parents, their friends, and Dumbledore. I can imagine that these figures will continue to help Harry even in their portrait forms.

All in all, I was really impressed by this chapter, and I still continue to feel hooked on this story. I didn't notice any major technical errors, and I thought the plot flowed wonderfully. Sometimes when I'm reading, I look up and I'm surprised to find myself near the end because I've been so in tune with the plot. That can be hard to do, especially with such long chapters. Still, I always feel like you pack in just enough action to keep things exciting without pushing too much on readers.

Nice work! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I re-wrote the section where Percy describes the Killing Curse between my first draft and the version you see here and I'm much happier with how it turned out. The initial draft was about feelings of vengeance, but I think the emptiness is actually more realistic and ties into Voldemort's story better.

I'm really glad you liked the courtroom scene. I was worried that maybe it was too dry.

I always thought that JKR could have made more use of magical portraits in the books. They offer this amazing link to the past that was really undervalued to me. The portraits will make additional appearances before the story ends.

Thanks for all of your kind words and thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Sansarya 

7th June 2012:
Gut wrenching. Thank you for this story.

Author's Response: You're very welcome. The whole plot line of Ginny being dead hasn't been much fun to write, but it made for a compelling story, I thought.

Thank you for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jchrissy 

29th May 2012:
You have such an amazing plot going! I love the way you ended this chapter, i was literally laughing out loud at the portraits!

Author's Response: I loved the idea of magical portraits and I thought that they could have been used so much more in the books. So I wanted to find ways to feature them in my story. I'm glad you enjoyed them.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Janner 

26th May 2012:
Dumbledore's last sentence has me hooked for the rest of the story.

As usual the reading is not difficult because it's so well written. I feel like I'm missing Ginny too.

I don't want to sound triumphant but I found the rarest of things... a typo! 'Percy joined them as they waitied'. It's because they are so rare in your writing that it leapt out at me.

This has the potential to become a classic.

May your muse stay with you!

Author's Response: Dumbledore has a way of drawing you in like that, doesn't he? It amazes me just how much his presence adds to the story, even though he's been dead for nearly 50 years.

I have to congratulate you. The typo you caught has been missed by however many people account for close to 1,000 chapter-reads so far. I will get that cleaned up soon.

I try to keep my muse close at hand, but she is slippery at times. Thanks for the encouragement!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>