Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMolly 

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
Perfect Percy isn't so perfect. But then again they all tried. I'm sure Molly had to giggle everytime she thought of her Birthday surprise. Whenever your kids try to something like this it is a very precious memory. Thank you for letting us share this.
FoM

Author's Response: Perfect Percy definitely isn't perfect, and I think that's one of the things I love most about him. ♥ Even though he tried, he was so human -- and he knew when his mistakes got to be too much for him, which is so admirable.

I'm sure Molly always looked back on this and laughed. :) She raised such an interesting bunch! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing for me!


 Report Review

Review #2, by soufflegirl99 

6th November 2012:
This is a fantastic chapter - a completely perspective on Percy - it makes me even like the guy. You turned his willingness to please in to something not annoying, you really revealed a gentler, kinder side of Percy that hasn't been done before. I've already read this all through once, I just couldn't resist a review as I reread it!! I love the way it satisfies the questions, how the clock got there - such an original chapter.
This chapter is immensely sweet, you really empathise with each character really really really brilliantly. They are nicely formed, a perfect treat for any reader to indulge themselves on such a bunch of creative bounty!!! :) It's full of Fred and George humour to relieve some tension form the climax, with the amazing bits of detail - that really makes your writing stands out among the others due to it's extra little bits added in that make it so so so gripping and awesome to read!!!
Just so so so awesome!! :D

Author's Response: I adore Percy, and very much seek to make other people love him as much as I do -- so your good feelings towards him here are very much appreciated! :) Most people tend to view him with a negative light, and yet there are quite a few traits of his that I admire. He might have used them for a slightly selfish and ill-directed purpose, but his goals were high, and that is something I respect.

I love writing about the Weasleys. ♥ And I do miss writing this story collection! Why aren't there more Weasleys, eh? I'm so happy that you reviewed this for me, and am even more flattered to know that you're reading these stories for the second go-round! I can't tell you how much I appreciate that; that seriously means so, so much to me.

Thank you for your review! ♥ I'd love to see you back around before too long, because your opinion's highly valued -- you're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mystique 

22nd September 2012:
Hi,

Sorry for being so late in reviewing your story for the Percy Weasley Challenge, but anyway on to the review. I loved this story, I laughed so much while reading it. I'm going to go have to read all the other parts once I'm done with this review.

You definitly stayed true to Percy making him rather pompous and using his authority as the eldest - it is very true to character and Percy certainly would have behaved that way as a child. And as for Ginny she was so funny with the laundrey and the dirt.

Definitley look forward to reading the other chapters.
Mystique

Author's Response: No worries! Honestly, the fact that you dropped by to review at all really makes me happy -- it's always reassuring to see challenge issuers following through on their promises. :) I'm so glad you liked this chapter, too, and would be thrilled if you got the notion to return!

It's great to hear you think I've kept Percy in character. I loved writing this collection -- I miss it sometimes. It had a sort of carefree quality about it that I miss in writing my more serious stories, like I've been doing of late.

Thank you so much for such a sweet review! :3 It really did make me smile so much to receive it -- I can't tell you what it means to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica 

12th August 2012:
D'AWW. Percy. You know, I really have a bit of a soft spot for him, because his grandiose sense of self-importance makes me laugh. He reminded me very much of a rooster ("strutting about...")!

I love the reference to Mr. Stuffing (and Ron's unceasing fear of spiders), and the fact that Molly's present is the famous Weasley clock. What an adorable way to explain how it came to her!

Your dialogue here was superb. I felt like I could really picture the scene based on what you told me about each of the children's mannerisms, and I liked their interaction. It felt very real, and very Weasley (please do not ask me to try to articulate what that means). I also really loved your comedic timing - Ginny's cheerful attitude was priceless.

Naturally, Molly Weasley doesn't mind if her children aren't perfect. It's one of the things that I love most about her, and you showcased it so well.

♥ Amanda

Author's Response: Yes! I love Percy. ♥ He does have a bit of swagger about him (used here in the non-gangster sense), especially in the first three books, and I wanted to put a bit of that in here. Also, I kind of adore him. :)

Mr. Stuffing returns! He's a common thread throughout all these stories; I didn't plan it that way, but mostly just didn't want to let him go in writing these. Poor bear -- he's really seen it all!

I'm so glad you like the dialogue here, too. :) Sometimes it was a challenge writing little kids, since I don't spend a lot of time around them, so your saying they felt "Weasley" made me smile. ♥ Thank you!!

Your reviews always, always make my day. And you left me SIX of them yesterday -- that's just amazing! I need to take a leaf or two out of your reviewing book. ;) Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your opinion on all my stories!


 Report Review

Review #5, by FreezingPenguins 

13th May 2012:
I love Percy :D And I can just see this happening :)

Author's Response: I love Percy, too -- he's a very underappreciated character in fan fiction! :) Although it is, I think, getting better. There are quite a few good Percy-featured stories out there.

But anyway. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave me a review on this story! It is very much appreciated, and I'm so glad you're enjoying it, too. Hope to see your name again soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by charlottetrips 

25th April 2012:
:) This: He was their older brother, and thereby perpetually in charge. - While we elder siblings love to believe that this is true, rarely do the younger siblings actually acknowledge that!

Oh poor Mr. Stuffing. So loved and then abhorred. ;_;

Again my love to Molly for having a sense of humor about her kids. Of course, she’d have to to actually survive all her children. Plus her kids grew up pretty alright and so there’s definite evidence of love shining through for all of them.

Percy is so Percy here. Percy’s attempt to be controlling and organized does seem like the Percy we came to know in the books but with a bit of little boy thrown in. I mean, using a used cereal bowl to make cake batter? That had me laughing. I hope Molly didn’t end up using his batter!

Author's Response: Percy! ♥ I think out of all the Weasleys-as-children, he might be the one I identify with best. I had a bossy streak a mile wide and deeper still when I was little, and quite honestly, it's only abated slightly. :P I totally understand where he's coming from!

This was perhaps the trickiest story to fit into the collection timeline, because I knew Mr. Stuffing had to be included somewhere -- but Ron wouldn't have allowed him to be toted about anymore. Creative juices kicked in!

Also -- right? Cornflake cake, no thank you. That part grosses me out slightly. :P Once again, I've really got to thank you for dropping by and leaving me a review on each of these chapters. I had many jaw-drop moments. :3 I really appreciate this more than I can tell you! You're awesome! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Tonks1247 

10th March 2012:
“Is the part that gets exciting coming up next?” asked George innocently.”

Ahahaha, oh poor Percy. The only ones he has to recruit help from are his younger brothers and sister….and we all know how well that works. As if it wasn’t obvious when he was handing out assignment to them all, which was hilarious. I mean, Ginny was the most excited and then the most disappointed about the job she got; Fred and George were just….they were Fred and George; Ron was the eager little boy looking to please; And Percy being the proud and oh-so-responsible older brother. It just spells disaster.

And, adding in right here, as I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, you really have the characterization of these characters spot on. You seem to have this innate understanding of each of the characters and are able to age them backwards from how they act in the books. If that even makes sense…If not, I’m just trying to say that the way you write these characters matches perfectly with what they grow up to be. If that even made sense…

Moving on. My two favorite parts of this chapter include Percy making his cake and when Ginny came in with the sheet.

Percy making the cake was hilarious. He goes off thinking, ‘how hard can this be?’ Haha, oh how very innocent and naďve he is. Baking anything is not as easy as it looks. Very easy to mess up, which I’ve managed numerous times…But I did like how he used a bowl from breakfast and just sort of threw things together in it. It really would have been interesting to see what else he would have done with his cake dough. Though it partially terrifies me as to what it would come out as…not exactly edible, of course, but still would have been entertaining ;)

My other favorite part was with Ginny coming inside with the sheet. She keeps trying to say something and Percy cuts her off and doesn’t want to listen to her. Such a typical thing, the older kids not listening to the youngest. What do they know? xD Haha! But Ginny’s line of “Mum’s coming” said in that cheerful tone really made me laugh. I have had so many moments similar to that, and it just…it was adorable and just…it was great!

And overall, the entire chapter was great. Molly coming in and just laughing at the end was fantastic. Very expected, but it was still fantastic! Just like this chapter, which really was great! Can’t wait to read more!

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I love Percy. ♥ Even when he's completely messing something up, he's always got that air of doing everything perfectly! So pompous and still so lovable. (You'll have to excuse this response, I'm dead tired!)

I'm so glad you find the characterization accurate, too! I love the Weasleys -- arguably some of my favorite characters in fiction -- and I try very hard to portray them accurately. :D

Thank you so much for leaving all of these wonderful reviews! It really is such a boost, and it means a lot to me that you do. :3 I'm so excited you were willing to do this for me!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Riverwind 

10th January 2012:
Most of the chapters you can see where its going but this one had neon lights, arrows pointing and all.

Very funny, I truly enjoyed it.

River

Author's Response: I definitely had a goal in mind from the onset, but then again, no birthday party planned by a child's really going to go well -- especially when Fred and George are the oldest helpers you have to pick from!

I'm happy to make you laugh, as these stories are definitely lighthearted enough to have that intention! Thanks for the review, and for all the others, as well. :3


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 

8th January 2012:
Only the Weasley children could pull off a birthday surprise like this. It's just so natural of them to come up with this, just as you've written it. Yes, it's the perfect Percy capture!

Author's Response: The Weasley children are rather unique, but if my future kids are anything like them, I'll be a very happy and proud mother. :D (Not that I'm expecting to have kids anytime soon, of course.)

Wow, thanks so much for that last line, too! I love Percy very much, and that really does mean a lot to me. :) I'm so pleased you've enjoyed the stories so far!


 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne 

1st January 2012:
Percy was spot on in my opinion, well everyone of your characters are :-D
He's such a little cutie wanting to make his mums day perfect, and making her a cake. He's so sweet! :-D And Ron falling withthe clock and Fred and George decorating with stamps and spiders hehe, it sounds like such chaos I would have been shocked to find them.
Wonderful chapter

Author's Response: I love Percy, he';s such a doll. And then sometimes, not so much. :) I feel like him sometimes, as embarrassing as that is to admit -- a take-charge, bossy sort of person. So it's pretty easy to write him!

Thank you so much for all your reviews, seriously. I cannot tell you what it means to have them. ♥ It completely made my day to wake up to them, too!


 Report Review

Review #11, by forsakenphoenix 

23rd December 2011:
Percy trying to bake a cake! That was so cute (okay, I'm seriously getting tired of writing cute but I know of no other word to describe your story! It's cute and fluffy like...little marshmallow people). I love your descriptions of picking cornflakes out of the bowl, scooping out the flour and sugar, and his mishap with cracking the egg. It's adorable how hard he's trying to bake this cake for Molly and he thinks it's easy from what he's seen, but you know, minor detail of his mum having a wand and all.

I love Ginny's inclusion in this chapter and how outraged she is to not be involved in anything related to the preparations. It's amusing how she keeps trying to tell them Molly is back but being the youngest, and the only girl, I imagine it's rather difficult to get your older brothers to listen to you.

The idea of the clock having a broken piece on it because Ron broke it off is nice, and the fact that Mrs Weasley didn't fix it. It makes it perfectly imperfect for the Weasley family and it's a clever way to incorporate an object that we know is canon and explain how it came to be. :)

As usual, your writing is flawless and your characterizations of the Weasleys is enviable. Love it!

Author's Response: Little marshmallow people -- that made me giggle so much. :D Now I'm imagining little Weasleys running around all looking like the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man from 'Ghostbusters', and let me tell you, at midnight that is a humorous thing indeed. :3

Ginny, as you know, is not one of my favorite characters ever, but for some reason she's not too bad if you're writing her as a little girl. :P She gets to be all feisty without all those obnoxious teenage problems! I love that clock, too; if I could get a replica, I so would!

Aaagh, thank you SO much. Seriously, I am just... I am blown away. ♥ I cannot express my appreciation for all these reviews!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by lizmusic45 

17th December 2011:
Percy, god I have so much love for him. Since you love him you should read my sisters stories, Ariellem, she adores Percy! Anyway this was great, I love your style and I hope you write more Wesley stories, because your writing...Oh my god, your writing is just amazing.

Love, love, love, love it!

Lizzie

Author's Response: Your sister is Ariellem? But I've read her stories before! I even beta-read part of a story for her, too, before I got too busy. :( It was one of her Pen/Oliver ones, and I really liked it!

But wow, thanks so much, Lizzie -- seriously. :) I'm not planning on writing any more of these little Weasley stories at the moment, but little kids in general? Oh, yes.

You're awesome, Lizzie -- thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter 

8th December 2011:
Poor Percy! He never really stood out to me in the HP series, I guess because he's older than Ron, Harry, and Hermione, and is described as being a pain. This shows him in a different light. I love how he plans a party for his Mrs. Weasly. It's so adorable! I remember doing that as a kid. You try so hard to make everything perfect. I love the ending especially! It's so precious!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I, for some odd reason, really love Percy -- he's always been one of my favorite Weasleys, the other two being Charlie and Ron. I feel he is very underloved in fan fiction. :)

I think he genuinely just wanted to be the very best he could be -- here and in the books -- and just didn't know how. I relate a lot to him, I think, in the fact that my strict adherence to rules and authority figures and bossiness drives some people up the wall. Ah, well!

Thanks so much for the review, Cassie! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by classicblack 

5th November 2011:
The fact that these chapters aren't in chronological order is a bit confusing. I mean, in the last one Ron loved Mr. Stuffing but now he hates him despite the fact that the spider incident happened in chapter one. And you mentioned the Weasley clock last chapter but it only was given in this one. I still love the story, but I think it'd be better in chronological order.
Anyway, I love that you made Percy nice and thoughtful instead of a pompous git from day one. You show that there's a part of him that's just trying to do the right thing. Brilliant job! This was just so cute- planning a birthday party for Mrs. Weasley and the backstory of the Weasley clock :)
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: I don't write them chronological order because really, the ideas for the bits sort of come at random - none of this was planned out initially, and indeed, I never planned to go on after writing the Ron story for my sister. I just wanted so much to write about more little Weasleys that I turned it into a collection! :D That being said, I make sure to put as many relative ages into the story as I can, so it's not too muddling. Apologies for the confusion!

Oh, I love Percy, very much. :) And that Weasley clock, it's like a character all its own! Thanks so much for taking the time to review, and I'm glad you're enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TeddyFreakinLupin 

24th October 2011:
This gave me a perfect mental image of Bill lining up his siblings by age, (He'd be about 14) then telling them to go do something. Percy would be his co-captain. Charlie would get the biggest job. You get the picture...
Love this Chapter.

Author's Response: Have to say real quick, I love your archive name. :D Percy's chapter was difficult to write -- it definitely took me the longest, about four months -- but it's one of my favorites. Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by deathlyhallowsmaster24 

22nd October 2011:
So sorry for not being able to read this too soon! :( my chem class is going overload!
Anyways, I thought this chapter was so cute! Percy - though I don't like him much - seems to be such an eager child!
10/10 for cutness, and to the next chapter I go!

Author's Response: No, not at all! I'm glad you came by at any rate. :3 Percy is one of my favorite Weasleys (I think he and Charlie are tied), and I loved writing him a bit exaggeratedly. What a little pompous know-it-all. :D ♥

Thank you so much for leaving me all these lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #17, by AC_rules 

5th October 2011:
This was every bit as lovely as all the chapters before it and I think your Percy is my favourite. Given in this chapter he wasn't too busy reading to shine a little, I really got to see how wonderfully well done he was.

I loved how he liked to take charge, decided that he could bake a cake (oh, how wrong he was) and was all proud of himself when he used big words. Ginny and George being all chummy was wonderful. His logic was undisputable and... oh, the clock. Beautiful and lovely and I loved it.

Write more soon so I can read some more :D

-AC

Author's Response: Percy's your favorite? YAY! I'm having a bit of a moment -- I always feel Percy is so underappreciated. :3 I do make him read a lot... But in my head, if he's not the center of attention, that's what he's always doing. :D Poor bloke.

I'm finishing up chapter 6 right now! Hopefully I'll get it into the queue soon, so you can read it. :P Thank you very much for all your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Mihali1432 

1st October 2011:
Percy, even as a child he acted in charge. I can imagine him trying to bake a cake and the egg getting all over him, his face when he said happy birthday and the twins decorating the room. XD

Author's Response: Percy was such a little prat sometimes. ♥ He changed at the end of book seven, and I love him so dearly for it, but in the first few books I think it's no stretch to say he was a git. :D

Thank you so much for all these reviews, Mike, they mean a lot to me!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Mutchiie 

9th September 2011:
This is so imaginative :) I love it ! xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! These stories are a lot of fun to write, and it's nice to get away from more serious material, if only for a little bit. :3 I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Toujours Padfoot 

8th September 2011:
"That's not fair!" cried Ginny in a slightly squeaky voice, a shadow crossing over her violently freckled face. - YES. YES, YES. THANK YOU. Despite the fact that we know all of the Weasley children to be heavily freckled, Ginny is never featured as such in fan fiction. It's nice to see that she can get freckles every now and then, just like any other ginger who spends time in the sun. She sounds so adorable when she's all small. Aww.

Authority!Percy makes an entrance. I truly, truly enjoyed Percy's performance in this chapter. And it was very much a performance to me - rubbing his temples like a forty-year old with financial issues cracked me up so much. I love that he was just delegating all of these jobs to his siblings, loving being in charge, and he couldn't even figure out cake batter. It was so adorable, and /so/ Percy; and as pretentious as he can be even at this young age, he is simultaneously adorable and I wanted to give him a hug. I loved loved loved this sentence: Percy smiled smugly, as he had been half-hoping that someone would ask that question. Absolutely perfect. The way you worded it made it all the more believable - like saying that he was 'head of the operation'. So organized, so military-like, so puffed up like a rooster when he's introducing himself to a round of chickens. You wrote Percy so well. ♥

Mr. Stuffing cameo! I caught it! I enjoy looking for him. The bits with Fred and George were also hilarious - judging Ron's mishap with the clock with marks? Brilliant. If I ever have a family as big and crazy as the Weasleys', I will be one happy woman. These Weasley stories are so overwhelmingly heart-warming and fuzzies-inducing that I don't even know what to do myself. So much cuteness. IT'S SO FLUFFY I'M GONNA DIE.

Lovely work. I would expect nothing less.



Author's Response: I imagine all the Weasleys to be nearly brown with freckles (Charlie most of all), and I am glad you do too! Those gingers. Always getting spotty in the sun.

LITTLE PERCY. ♥ So pompous and arrogant, I couldn't help myself. His strutting about just built and built and I couldn't stop it by the end. :D That boy's got a head the size of Mars, but for some reason I love him to bits all the same.

I KNEW you would see Mr. Stuffing! True story -- I forgot him in the first draft and had to rush back and include him before it got validated. :( The time frame of this chapter didn't suit him at all and I missed writing about him. George and Ginny's chapters will have more about him. Poor guy, stuffed into a wardrobe.

FLUFFEH. I will greatly miss writing these stories once the collection's finished. BOOO. Let's not think of that.

SO MUCH LOVE FOR YOU. A MILLION TIMES.



 Report Review

Review #21, by TheSilverKey 

6th September 2011:
This story is so perfectly fitting of the Weasley family.
Percy is perfectly characterised and his actions are so believable. I can really see him as being the one to go to such an effort for his Mum. I also love that this story brings in how the clock became a fixture of the Weasley household.

My only question is how this fits in with the timeline of your other stories/chapters seeing as I think you mention the clock in the Yellow Blanket when Ron is brought home from the hospital as a baby.

Your writing is such a delight to read, please continue with the updates they truly bring a smile to my face and much laughter.

Author's Response: I KNEW I'D INCLUDED IT SOMEWHERE. Oh my gosh, thank you, thank you, thank youuu. I had someone help me search for it, and somehow (and I have no idea how), we both missed that. i had a feeling I'd mentioned it, but I didn't check carefully enough. THANK YOU. I've made edits to that chapter to make it flow with this one, as that required, I'd think, less edits. :3

Thanks so much for leaving such a positive review, though!


 Report Review

Review #22, by magicmuggle01 

6th September 2011:
Have you ever thought of a career in comedy script writing? Your brilliant. I could just picture the total chaos that was going on. I had to feel sorry for poor old Percy, you've got to admit he tries. 10/10 and I await the next instalment with much eagerness you wonderful person you.

Author's Response: This is one of the absolute best reviews I've ever gotten -- I cannot get over how incredibly happy it made me feel. I've read it over about ten times with varying measures of disbelief.

Thanks so, so much, much more than I can just sit here and type out. Your reviews truly do mean the world to me!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review