Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
65 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dojh167 

16th April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

So I really meant what I said about looking for a shorter chapter to review by you, but my jailbreaking role said otherwise =P

I’m really curious to see where this chapter will fit in with the timeline of the first two chapters. There is no reference to Harry having recently died, so I’m going to assume it is after the second chapter, and that first chapter is set after the rest of the story? The mystery remains.

I was confused for a minute by the name Hermys cause I think Percy’s owl was Hermes, and I almost missed altogether that you sund house elf. It seems odd to me that Harry would own an elf.

omg, Hermione being hungry for toes is adorable.

Hehe I like how confidently Ron said “manipulation” instead of “operation and the familiar smoothness with which Hermione corrected him. I also find it interesting that even though Harry and Hermione grew up muggle, they have developed a mistrust of muggle medicine.

Haha, I love this line: “Arthur’s love of muggle gadgets was matched only by his propensity for accidentally destroying them with magic.” It is so Arthur and so funny!

Okay, a house elf making cute faces at a baby is the cutest thing I’ve read tonight. You win. Can I have a one shot that is just Hermys babysitting?

Huh. I never pictured Kreacher as a family man.

Omg I am a huge Percy fan and divorced moody muggle poetry listening Percy is my new fave. Omg, yes to “Percy’s been working at a midlife crisis since he was what, seventeen?”

Wait, what trial? Did Ginny not die a natural death? At least by this point we get confirmation that this des in fact take place after the second chapter.

“Not only were they expected to do utterly ridiculous things for money, most of their entertainment came from watching other muggles do the same.” Welp, you’ve hit life on the head.

“that one where the nice Italian plumber saves the princess from the gorilla?” You are a delight.

Omg I have so much respect for this little girl whose idea of a good time is playing with a manifestation of her worst fears. Yup, that’s Rose and Scorpius’ kid.

Oh no that’s horrible - is that how Ginny died? What an excellent way to reveal it to the reader though.

This was a good chapter - the dialogue between all of the characters felt very grounded and believable and was fun to read. It did a good job of getting some exposition established without being boring. I’m curious to see where the big conspiracy plot will come into play. You’ve laid some of the groundwork, but we haven’t had the big inciting action yet. You bring Percy up at the end again, which makes it seem like he’s going to be significant. I look forward to reading more about him.

Well done! I may or may not be back - the tides of CtF will tell!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin 

16th April 2017:
Hi, Dan! I'm back for CTF (you can tell I was curious about what was to come... :P)

I loved the first part of the chapter, I enjoyed that it was a bit more light-hearted. Ron and Hermione are always so much fun to see together, I liked how you portrayed their relationship in their later years, it was really endearing. And baby Amelie seems so cute! :)

The bit about genie glass and the new attention of wizardkind for Muggle technology was really interesting, I wonder if it'll have a role in the plot. I love that it helped the Potters and Weasleys' wealth to grow and I loved all the institutions Harry founded, especially the werewolves' one (I have a love for werewolves...)

I also found really funny that Ron followed in Arthur's steps with his craziness for Muggle stuff, that's pretty amusing.

The absence of Ginny is still pretty strong in here, too. It's obvious that her death has affected everyone pretty bad. I'm wondering what's wrong with Percy, but I guess we'll find out later. Also, I'm wondering what happened exactly when Ginny died... was it a Muggle who killed her? Why? What does it have to do with Octavia?

By the way, I also loved the little snippets about Rose and Scorpius and Hugo and Fiona. I read very little next gen, but I think it's fascinating to explore their lives. I'm curious to know more about Rosie and Scorpius' relationship, they are surely an interesting couple. :P

The Boggart scene was really scary. And sad, too. And I'm so curious to learn more, so I might be back again. :)

Goodbye for now,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #3, by dumbledore_wannabe 

30th March 2016:
Thank you for that author's note! It was making me crazy trying to remember where I had read about genie glass... Even though I hate thinking of Ginny being gone, I'm enjoying this story, very different!

Author's Response: Hi!

I always love to give a shout-out to the stories that helped to inspire this one.

Not having Ginny be part of this story was the hardest decision I made. I hope you'll like the place that decision ultimately led to.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jace76 

30th November 2015:
I am loving that you have taken inspiration from two of my favourite stories. It's awesome to see others interpretations of what would happen to the characters latter on.

Author's Response: Hi! They're two of my favorites, as well. I hope you enjoy my ideas for what might have happened next.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lady Asphodel 

11th October 2014:
Another amazingly-written chapter!

Your story-telling is so soft and gentle - yet with a hint of mystique and danger.

I always love trio moments, and actually, it's been quite a while since I've read a trio-based story.

The scene with them was perfect! They're trying to carry on with their lives, though without Ginny, things are difficult.

I love the mild-mannered interaction between Ron and Hermione. I feel nostalgic because reading that.. I imagined Harry, Ron, and Hermione when they'd hang out in the Common Room or so forth. *going through the feels*

I absolutely love Octavia! She's the most awesomest little OC girl (or is she canon?) I ever read about!

I loved how she tried to cheer up Rose and Harry. The thing about innocence - something you can never gain back once lost. *sad face*


I also love the tidbit with Harry and the unicorn. A great insert of brief humor.



Now the whole part with the gunman, Percy, and Ginny. Can't wait to learn of what happened with that.



Chapter 3 - next!





- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So, uh, fair warning. The storytelling won't stay this soft and gentle for much longer. Things are destined to get pretty rough along the way. I hope you don't find it too off-putting.

I am a huge fan of "trio moments", myself. They take me back to reading the books when the trio was young. That got to be a pretty precious thing after writing so much of a grieving, sexagenarian trio. They definitely miss Ginny.

Ron and Hermione get on better now, but from time to time you will still see the flashes of conflict there.

I'm really glad that you like Octavia. She's an integral part of the story and she'll be there until the very end.

I think you need to balance out a "heavy" story with a little humor now and then. It helps to keep the reader from getting bored.

You will find out what happened with Percy and the gunman in the next chapter. I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 

20th September 2014:
Hi Dan!

Here for another chapter. Your chapters are long, but riveting. I'm totally sucked in.

The way you've portrayed Harry's grief and loneliness is so real it's uncanny. My heart breaks as I read each inflection or glance at a photograph. He hasn't completely moved on, but he is still living his life. Even as close as he is to Ron and Hermione, he knows (and they do as well) that they can't replace the loss that Harry has suffered. The love between Harry and Ginny that you've described is so deep. It is exactly how I view it. Great job - breaking my heart!! (haha)

I love this Ron and Hermione. They've settled down a bit and come to appreciate each other's quirks. But I can still believe that they go at it every now and again. It is nice to see them enjoying their new granddaughter. I feel like I'm looking at a family photo album.

I can totally see the tumultuous relationship between Rose and Scorpius. She always lets her temper get the best of her, but she does love Scorpius in a way that is deeper than most.

Harry and Rose's relationship is exactly how I picture it. She feel less judged by him than her parents. Sometimes I think it is easier to be understanding of your close nieces and nephews than to your own kids. This works out great for Rose and Harry.

Little Octavia seems a tremendously gifted young witch! I'm trying to place her age. If she's missing a tooth, I'm going to guess around five or six? I also figured Rose was close to forty, but I'm not exactly sure. Sorry, but I can't help myself trying to sort out where everyone is on the timeline and all that...

So Percy acting all weird. He must be close to seventy?? His actions are not just out of character, but they are seriously creepy. I feel like there is more to that story.

The boggart. I must say I see a future Gryffindor in the works. Octavia is brave and bold. I found it really weird that they could hear Ginny's scream in the background. It reminded me of how Harry could hear Lily's scream when the Dementors came near him. Only this time both Rose and Harry heard it - and maybe Octavia as well. You've left a little clue that Ginny was possibly killed by a Muggle with a gun. Hmmm... I guess I'm just gonna have to read on!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

I hate to break anyone's heart, but I'm glad that Harry's loss feels real to you. He is still pretty far from moving on, and living life has been a struggle for him. Ron and Hermione do their very best to be there for him, but it's just not the same.

Ron and Hermione still have that stubbornness toward one another that guarantees they will have the occasional blow-out. But they are much older and more mature and, more than anything, they finally appreciate how their fights affect those around them. So they tend to keep it more low key.

I think of Rose as being sort of a linear mix of her parents. She inherited some of their good qualities -- Hermione's quick thinking, Ron's affable sense of humor -- but also some of their worst -- Hermione's tendency to be a know-it-all and Ron's temper. The love she shares with Scorpius is deep and passionate. It has to be, otherwise they'd kill one another. ;)

I'm sure that Harry has always been drawn to Rose because he reminds her of his two best friends in the world. He gets her. In turn, she's drawn to him because she feels like he understands and he's had enough perspective on her parents' personalities that it's easy for him not to judge.

Octavia is a very gifted youngster, but as you'll see, she suffers from many of the difficulties that often plague bright children. She is six years old at the start of this story, so good reasoning!

Percy is right at seventy, and he is experiencing something akin to a mid-life crisis. Since wizards commonly live to be 120 or so, he's only a little past mid-life. There is definitely more to his story.

You know, I could also see Octavia being a Slytherin. Maybe an outside chance of Ravenclaw. The only thing I'm sure of is that she's no Hufflepuff.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by magnolia_magic 

12th June 2014:
Tag!

I've heard so many people rave about this story, and when I saw your name in review tag I had to take the opportunity to come check it out. I am so, so glad that I did! I can definitely see why everyone loves it so much. (Do you ever get tired of hearing stuff like that? Hopefully not :))

Anyway. I'm so impressed (and baffled, really) by the level of detail that you've put into creating this post-war world, and how you've portrayed the Weasley family as it's evolved. Harry as a doting grandfather just warms my heart; I always knew he would be a devoted family man. And Ron and Hermione make me laugh! I love your imagining of the trio as they've gotten older. They are so true to the characters we know from the books, but it's still clear that they've experienced a lot more life.

I think the buildup of mystery is going at a great pace so far, and I can't wait to see what unfolds from here. I'm so glad to finally be on board with this story! I can't believe I'm just now checking it out, honestly. Awesome job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi, there! Very long time, no see.

Ha. I never get tired of hearing stuff like that. It's always good to hear that somebody's reading and enjoying the story.

I started writing this story right after a period where I was reading a lot of post-war fan fiction, so I had a lot of head canon stored up. For better or worse, a lot of it came gushing out in this chapter. I'm really glad you find the characters true to the books. That was more important to me than almost anything else.

I'm pleased as can be that you've decided to give it a try. Look forward to hearing what you think.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by GingeredTea 

21st April 2014:
One moment he's that relaxed eccentric Harry having dinner with his best mates and a cute kid. I thought you'd introduce something dramatic like a fist, but instead you chose to sneak it in and leave me breathless. The fact that a boggart, something Harry has never had great luck with, revealed this truth to us is something of a brilliant writing strategy. Harry not finding anything funny about his wife's death - you portrayed it so well. I just can't say enough good things about how you maneuvered through that scene!

A muggle gun? I'm so very intrigued.

I loved your portrayal of Hermione and Ron (and their...proclivity toward fighting). This Percy thing is interesting.

Harry explaining it to the child was heartbreaking. What's up with Percy? Why does Harry care so much about Percy?

I'm sorry this isn't longer. But I really really want to read the next chapter before I fall asleep. :) Review you again soon!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm glad you liked the boggart. Like you said, I didn't just want to drop that plot point in bluntly because it didn't seem like the kind of thing that anyone would be eager to discuss. The boggart felt like a perfect way to introduce a bit of the circumstances surrounding Ginny's death without having it be some mopey flashback scene.

There are a lot of details regarding Ginny's death that have yet to be revealed, however. Some won't come out until the very end of the story. ;)

I'm pleased as can be that you like Ron and Hermione. Out of all of the canon characters, I found them the hardest to age realistically because Hermione was always mature beyond her years just as Ron tended to be immature for his age.

What's up with Percy? Well... you'll soon see. And you'll see more and more. Percy's troubles are actually very integral to the plot of the story.

Don't sweat the length, I really appreciate the review. This one, as it turns out, is #999 for the story. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by anythingcouldhappen 

23rd February 2014:
Hello! I'm back!

I loved this chapter for getting to see Ron and Hermione. It's really amazing to me sometimes how much I love and know these characters. They're so familiar, and they were just as familiar in this chapter. Another job well done on aging characters! I especially liked the bit about Harry sort of clinging to his glasses instead of getting surgery done. I couldn't imagine Harry without his glasses!

Also, Hermione's glass discovery was a nice addition! I saw in your AN it was inspired by another story, but I think it was a great way to show Hermione's ingenuity and general awesomeness. Oh, and her conversation with Harry before she leaves is soo characteristic of her--I just love how close all three of them still are, after all these years. All the houses and funds and stuff Harry set up are perfect! They made me sad and yet happy that Harry memorialized all those people. The Dobby House.I got tears in my eyes.

Octavia already seems like a fantastic character! She's young and cute, but also a strong little girl. I'm so curious what Harry meant when he asked if she knew where she was when Ginny died.

That's another thing--this chapter, while filling in some more back story and stuff, raised some more questions for me, which was nice. I love mysteries and stories that keep me curious!

This is just a tiny error I noticed, but something you could fix if you ever happen to be editing this: When you talk about Harry's money, you say "and he give away a great deal of the proceeds". In a chapter with no other noticeable grammar flaws, that just stood out to me.

I look forward to reading the next chapter! Awesome job, yet again!

Sam

Author's Response: Hello, again!

First off, thank you for pointing out that typo. I checked and this chapter hadn't been edited in nearly 2 years! It was sort of nice to go back and change something and see the story jump up to the top of my Manage Stories page.

You'll see a great deal more of Ron and Hermione throughout the story. They are two of my favorite characters, as well, and I hope that I've really done them justice in this story.

I did borrow the idea of using genie glass to shield electronics from magic from a fantastic story called Harry Potter and the Winters After the War. I highly, highly recommend it. I'm sure that Harry, Ron and Hermione stayed very close for the rest of their lives. I will never be convinced otherwise! ;)

I'm really glad that you like Octavia, because she will be around until the very end of the story. Where she was when Ginny died turns out to be very important, as you'll see later on.

Questions, questions, questions. This story never has any shortage of them. Hopefully, I can keep you guessing for a long time.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by blueirony 

18th February 2014:
You had a Mario reference and a Nacy Drew reference. Um. Remind me why it has taken me so long to get around to reading this? People rave about it but if only someone had mentioned the Mario and Nancy Drew references, I would have come running ages ago!

I LOVED how strong their friendship still is, even after all these years. They are just so comfortable. How in the world did you write their relationship so effortlessly? Teach me? Please?

The bits with Amelie and her toes and Octavia with Artemis melted my heart. I'll be the first to admit it. Babies terrify me but babies and kids are adorable. They are just so sweet and I liked their innocence in this.

I think this chapter is leading to where the story is headed. Octavia's fearlessness is nagging at me. Is it a magical thing? Is it there for a reason? And where was she when Ginny died? Who was the man who killed her? Why? And what is the deal with Percy? Is he just having a mid-life crisis like Ron suggested? Or is there something more?

Man. Now I see why everyone is addicted to this story. You really know how to draw people in. And make them want to read the entire thing in one go even though they have work the next day and really should be sleeping. Unfair how addictive this is!

Author's Response: If there's one thing I can do, it's sling the cultural references around. I'm still not quite sure how Mario worked his way into the story, but I like how it turned out.

I don't know if it's anything I can teach. I just try to imagine three old friends being really at ease around one another, to the point where there are no walls and no secrets. At least none that we know of yet...

Babies aren't a frequent occurrence in the story, but you'll see them from time to time. Remember Artemis. You'll definitely see her again.

This chapter starts to unroll certain elements of the plot. I can't give you the answers, but I can tell you that you're asking the right questions.

Addicted? That's quite a compliment. Let's hope that I can keep you coming back. Thanks for the awesome review! See you next time...


 Report Review

Review #11, by Sharvi 

2nd January 2014:
How long are your chapters?? I mean I keep reading and reading expecting it to end, but it doesn't and it makes me so happy! I was thinking about the parallels with Delicate, and I agree it is one of the best stories out there, I for one spent most of middle school and my early high school reading it. Just because of that I might just go back and reread it. But not before I finish reviewing!

Loved reading Ron and Hermione's part. These three are just so classic and I think you really grabbed the essence of their characters. It felt as if something from their years at Hogwarts because their friendship seems to be a constant through everything.

Rose is such a colorful character and I love seeing her with Harry because the contrast between his cool and reserved demeanor to her "volatility" is such fun to read.

Though I have to say my favourite thing about the chapter was Octavia. She seems like a special character and from what I've gathered she is central to what happened with Ginny. Also, what a great way to end the chapter by bringing us back to Percy. I'm thinking that he's a central character too right? (with all that uncharacteristic behavior he has to be)

Gaah, your characters are so full of life I can only hope that if I ever write anything I can portray mine half as well as you do. Does that sentence even make sense? I hope it does! Can't wait to read on =)

Author's Response: Ha! One thing you'll find about this story is that the chapters seem to get longer and longer as you go. There are a few shorter ones scattered throughout, but I'd say the average is somewhere around 7,000 words. I start writing and it always seems like I wind up with more than I expected.

Delicate is an amazing story, and it's the source of nearly all of my Scorpius/Rose head canon. I liked being able to incorporate a few references.

Probably the trickiest thing about this entire story was figuring out how to age the characters realistically while keeping the things that make them who they are. I'm really glad -- kind of relieved, actually -- that you thought it worked. Their friendship is something that I don't ever see changing.

Rose is a lot of fun to write. I love making her snarky and lively and rather insightful. Sort of a mix of her parents' best and worst personality traits.

Octavia definitely became a favorite of mine as I wrote this. She'll be part of the story until the very end, so I'm glad you like her. She is indeed tied in to the mystery of Ginny's death. More on that topic to come...

The best advice I can give is to always give your characters time to think things through on the written page and give them confidants to share their thoughts with. It's the best way I know to develop them.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by randomwriter 

7th November 2013:
Hello Dan :) I hope it's alright if I call you that. I gathered that it is your name from the forums. I'm so sorry it has taking me longer than expected to come back. I've been buried under uni assignments. The next couple of months are going to be very hectic and I might take a while, but I will read this story right up till the very end even if it takes me a while. Of that, I'm sure.

Now, about this chapter... it was incredible. My eyes had misted over by the time I got to the end of it because so made me so SO nostalgic. I really felt like I was reading some thing written by J.K Rowling herself! In spite of that, you've managed to retain some of your own writing style and I personally felt like it was the best of both worlds.

Your characterisation is amazing. I can't fault you anywhere. Harry, Ron and Hermione- PERFECT. I'm in awe of how well you've written them. This is certainly one of the best stories on the archives in terms of the characterisation. I'm certain. I love how they still spend time together in the same way and share the same relationship even in their later years. I also enjoyed how you focused on that in this chapter. It was lovely to read, and it definitely added to my growing nostalgia. At the end of the chapter, I just sat back and stared at the screen for the longest time because I really don't know what to say to you that 55 people haven't already said. At the same time, no matter what I say, I don't think I will ever find the words to tell you how well I think you've written this.

Another thing I that really made me happy was the inclusion of Hermys, who seems like a really lovable house-elf! I could imagine Hermione's discomfort, but I know that Harry would treat him well anyway. I love that you mentioned Kreacher too. Can't say I've ever read a story that's paid even the slightest attention to his existence. It made me smile.

Rose and Scorpius sound lovely! they're one of my favourite pairings and I always enjoy reading about them. As most of my head-canon IS Delicate and Still Delicate, this fit in so perfectly. I really smiled the Heathrow evacuation bit because I particularly enjoyed that scene in Delicate and always laugh at it, no matter how many times I read it. Also the bit about Rose being so close to Teddy also felt like a touch of familiarity as it fits with my head-canon. I know it's a very subjective thing, this whole talk about head-canons, but for ME, it was just perfect. I love how you've shown Rose and Harry. They share a father-daughter bond and are extremely close for sure, which warmed my heart, really.

I know that you are yet to introduce Ginny, but I've already begun to feel upset at the thought of her demise. The boggart bit made me so curious. I simply can't wait to find out what happens next and what the Conspiracy of Blood actually is. I NEED to know. There are so many questions burning through my mind right now.

I'm so jealous of your abilities! :P There are many many more things that ran through my mind as I read the story, but as of now, I can't remember anything else because I'm so consumed by emotion.

I LOVE THIS. Thank you for writing it. It's like I'm reading a new Harry Potter book again! Yay!

Amazing. That's all I can say!

Love
Adi :)

P.S- This is so freaking brilliant, and it's only chapter 3! :P

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry it's taken me days to respond to this...

This was my chapter where I tried to catch everyone up on what has been happening in the wizarding world in the quarter-century or so since the epilogue of Deathly Hallows, at least in my version of it, anyway. For twenty out of those twenty-five years, things were pretty awesome. I'm glad it all felt nostalgic to you because I remember feeling the same way while I was writing it.

I am incredibly pleased that the Trio all sounded authentic to you. That, more than anything, was what I was going for with this story. I want readers to feel that continuity with the characters they remember from the books. I hope it keeps working for you.

I really, really came to love Hermys as I wrote this. He's cut somewhat out of the mold of Dobby, except he doesn't have any desire to be a free elf. He's very traditional and fiercely devoted to Harry and his family. You'll see a lot of him in the story.

The whole Rose-Scorpius relationship is very much a product of the head canon I took away from reading Delicate. I've changed some of the details to fit my own imaginings -- they get pregnant after leaving school for instance -- but the dynamic between the two of them is definitely the same. I do love the two of them together, not least because of the mental trauma it was sure to have inflicted on Ron and Draco.

You'll find out more about what happened to Ginny in the next chapter, although the complete story isn't revealed until the very end. Her death and the conspiracy are closely related. All will be revealed in time...

Thank you for all of the kind words. They really mean a great deal. Again, sorry for being so slow to respond. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by APerkins 

20th October 2013:
Lol I am so relieved you noted the source of the Heathrow evacuation! It was a moment of "I've read that somewhere. .." Thankyou!

Oh and I think mystery is so hard to write. That balancing act of giving us enough info to stay interested but holding enough back so that the suspense keeps us hanging. Finding out what happened to ginny will keep me happy.
The idea of percy in a mix life crisis? Love it, and again, I think that little bit of mystery as to why is excellent.

Genie glass? What an imaginative idea! And then all the Trust funds... Particularly the fulfilment of hermiones vision for elves... is such a pleasure to have such delightful surprises in the story.
As always loved it :)

I'm

Author's Response: Hi!

I tried very hard to note the sources on all the little bits of head canon that found their way into CoB. I'm sure I've missed a few along the way, which is bad of me. In general, if it sounds familiar, you probably read it in either 'Delicate' or 'Harry Potter and the Winters After the War'.

It is really hard to balance that in a mystery. In this chapter, I was pretty much just muddling my way through. Once you get to chapter 6 or so, lots of credit goes to my beta reader, who was constantly reminding me to slow down and save some surprises for later. You'll find out about Ginny and Percy in the next chapter.

Genie glass was borrowed from 'Winters After the War', along with the name of Harry's elf. I cannot recommend that story enough, actually. It's a sequel to 'Harry Potter and the Summer After the War', which is one of the best post-war novels I've ever read.

Whee! What a fun day! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirl 

26th August 2013:
All right. I protest! How the heck can you cram all that amazingly good stuff into one chapter, and then expect me to be able to review it without having to resort to writing a Thesis? I wrote my thesis - I don't wanna do it again, but there's no way I can do this chapter justice otherwise!

I don't want to start this review, because I know I'm gonna miss something I wanted to say, and I won't be able to come back later and put it in.

HOLY FREAKING HANNAH! Where the heck did you learn to write? This was amazing! Your characters are so real, I felt like somehow you had spent the last 40 years as a fly on the wall at Harry's house, watching their lives unfold. I don't really do next-gen stuff, because most of the time it all seems so fake. So I was really leery of 3rd gen - but rest assured, my worries have been put away entirely. THIS is perfect.

I love your Rose and Octavia! They were so very real, and I can feel the love that Harry feels for them through this story as well. It was so nice to read about characters from the future generations who are really PEOPLE, not cardboard-cut-outs!

I am also beginning to suspect that you actually are a wizard. The ease with which you write about this world, invent things that seem like they should have been there from the first - it's making me mighty suspicious. And more than a tad bit jealous. I'm half tempted to stop reading this story, because some of the stuff you come up with is scary close to things I toyed with, and I'm afraid that by the time I get to the end, there won't be a single thing left for me to invent! It's like you have a private deal with the wizarding world that you get to bring out their secrets one by one.

I really want to know what happened to Ginny! You've dropped so many hints, showed the grief it left behind through so many different lenses... Now I need to know what happened? Who is this Muggle? How were Rose and Octavia involved? And Percy? What the heck is up with him? (Though your line about him heading toward a mid-life crisis since he was 17 had me rolling on the floor.)

Oh, and I have to applaud you for mentioning George. The Weasley Twin Fangirl in me was very grateful for that. And leave it to George to take something others thought was rubbish and turn it into a fortune. Very nice.

Okay, so this review probably makes no sense. And I'm sure I didn't mention half of what I wanted to say, but just know I love this story. I'm totally caught up in the world you've established in this time-frame. I'm emotionally invested in these characters. And I need to know more!

Oh, and btw, your Harry rocks. :D

Author's Response: Hello, there! I'm really glad that my Harry rocks. :) Sometimes he feels like kind of an old fogey to me. As far as a thesis goes, that's for you to decide. I've never been able to make reviews short. I always feel like there's something else I should have said.

Now, on to the matter at hand. I've always enjoyed writing, but I can't say I've had much formal education. Not past 12th grade, anyway. I read things that I like and I think I pick up bits and pieces of style and technique here and there. I'm like you in that Next Gen is not my favorite era to read, mostly because the canon characters usually get such a cursory treatment. So one of my major objectives in this story was to try to let characters from four distinct generations -- Original Order, Canon, Next Gen and the children of Next Gen -- all get a little time in the spotlight. To put it another way, I like biting off way more than I can chew. :-/

I really came to enjoy writing Rose and Octavia both in this story. Obviously I borrowed a big chunk of Rose's back story from Delicate, but Octavia is completely from scratch. I'm glad that you like them because they will both feature prominently into the story until the end.

You are the second reviewer to accuse me of being a wizard! Along with a couple who also accused me of being JKR's secret identity. And I'll ask you the same question: if I had magical powers or mountains of cash, would I really be doing this? Of course not. I'd be sitting on a nice Caribbean island, saving up all of my writing to release new books. And there's actually nothing easy about writing this. I went through a whole lot of struggles to get it to turn out well. Still, I'm really glad that it seems easy. Swim like a duck...

You'll find out very soon what happened to Ginny, at least the basic facts. Some of the details actually don't come out until much later in the story, since they're connected to the central plot. Octavia and Percy are both involved, as you'll soon see.

Ah, Georgie! You'll see more of him as the story moves along, but not as much as I wish I could have worked in. Unless this story was going to be half a million words, some sacrifices had to be made. Suffice it to say that he's happy and successful and has mostly made his peace with losing Fred by this point in his life.

Your review made plenty of sense, and I enjoyed every word of it! Please don't hesitate to stop by any time you like! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
I am loving all of the inventions in this chapter, the magical glass being able to shield muggle technology is genius!
I was almost in tears at the fact that Harry set up the Remus Lupin centre at St Mungos as well as the Nymphadora Tonks fellowship, the Fred WEasley memorial and the Dobby house. Those were brilliant things to include and it's making me love this story so much more. It's so clear just how much they were cared about and how much that they're missed.

Am I going to be crying throughout this whole story? Not that I mind in the slightest! :P

I must also say that I am loving how close Ron, Hermione and Harry still are. It's great to see that after everything it's still the Golden Trio. Although something that massive happening to them would have cemented that friendship.

Harry's fear is intriguing as well, poor Harry. Can I hug him? *hugs Harry* I wonder who that man was and why he killed Ginny? Does Harry ever get a break from all of the heartbreak in his life?

Another wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Wow, you're tough to keep up with, you know that?

I confess that I borrowed the idea of genie glass from a post-war fic that I love, but I wasn't sure I could cite it because it's non-HPFF. It doesn't factor prominently into the story, except to the extent that it lets the wizarding world move a little more into the present day. I've never been a big fan of stories where all witches and wizards are still living like it's the 1800's when it's supposed to be the 21st century.

You won't be crying throughout the entire story, I promise. At times you'll be angry. Frustrated. Hopefully laughing at least once or twice. But I also can't promise that the tears are over. :(

Feel free to hug Harry all you want. He's going to need it at certain points.

So glad you're enjoying it!

Gracias,
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #16, by Debra20 

31st March 2013:
I'm back! It seems I can't stay away too long from this story already, and it's been only one day. I am totally blaming it for getting me this hooked! :P

I think this is the first time in the history of my novel reading on the Archives that I've read a chapter this long! My attention span is not very long usually, especially when I read from my computer so I get distracted easily. What surprised me is that even if I didn't stay fully engaged with the chapter throughout my read, I was so curious to see what happens next that I came back to it pretty quick. And this doesn't happen...ever. When I start procrastinating, I find all kinds of other activities to distract me from what I'm supposed to be doing :P So far, this is a great sign for me. A sign that I'll be enjoying this story a lot, despite not being used to chapters being so long.

What I enjoyed best about this chapter is the feeling of "calm before the storm". Seeing as it's a story under the Action/Adventure genre and judging by the summary, there will be plenty of roller coaster situations for the characters to deal with. Knowing this, makes these quiet, family chapters a lot more valuable and precious.

I love the feel of the characters. I think you've done a brilliant job of keeping the canon characters IC, while also making them mature enough. Their emotions are very real and expressed in a way that makes the readers feel for them. Especially Harry. I've become wary of reading angsty stories because there are a lot of authors out there who don't portray the anguish that is losing someone you love very believable. Your portrayal of hurting Harry makes me want to reach out and pat him on the back and give him a hug. It's so palpable and yet not over the top! Excellent!

What I'm eager is to find out more about the Next Gen characters. I am terribly curious how you portrayed the ones that will be involved in the story and how they evolve!

Author's Response: Gulp... So, you say you don't normally read long chapters...

Well, I guess I'll have to hope that I can keep you interested, because with few exceptions, they mostly get longer from here. I can't help it, I get in a zone with these characters and the next thing I know, 5,000 words have gone by.

You're correct that things move a lot faster after this chapter. In this one, I wanted to give you a look at how life had turned out for the Potter/Weasley clan. Turns out, things went pretty well. But the heart of the plot takes off in the next chapter.

I'm really glad you feel that way about the canon characters. Keeping them true to the way I remembered them from the books was important to me. Poor Harry will be dealing with a great deal of anguish over the course of this story. I felt badly at times, considering everything I put him through. I wanted to give him a hug for the majority of the story.

The Next Gen characters form a sizable part of the supporting cast of the story, along with a few of their children. Stay tuned for their first appearance...

I'm really enjoying finding out how the story is going through your eyes. That never gets old for me. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Courtney Dark 

23rd February 2013:
Well, will you look at that? I'm back! Currently I should be writing/sleeping or doing work but I just couldn't get this fantabulous story out of my head so here I am!

This was yet another awesome chapter. I love your characterizations of every single character and how they react with each other. Ron was especially perfect. I loved the fact that he was still uncomfortable with Rose and Scorpius and the line: “Every time I try to talk to Mum and Dad about the rows that Scorp and I get into, she tries to psychoanalyze our whole relationship and dad just starts drinking” was great.

Rose's relationship with Harry is so sweet! She seems like a really awesome character, and I thought it was funny how she referred to Hugo and Fiona as the Perfects-there were actually quite a few moments throughout this chapter which brought a smile to my face, which I love.

Anyway, I'm probably waffling on and making no sense as usual, so I'll just say one more thing. I love the mystery that surrounds this story. I'm looking forward to finding out more about what happened to Ginny and also learn more about Octavia too-who is an absolutely gorgeous character by the way, but I could say that about all your characters.

Okay. That was more than one more thing. Onto the next chapter, methinks!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Yay! Look who it is! Sleeping and doing work can be overrated, although I would feel badly if I kept you away from your writing. ;)

I spent a lot of time throughout the story on trying to keep the canon characters' voices true to the way I remembered them from the books. I'm glad that part worked well for you. Poor Ron is such a creature of habit. Old grudges die hard.

I imagine Rose as being sort of an average of her parents, personality-wise, so I think it makes sense that she and Harry would get along really well. Plus, being wealthy and a little child-like in his own way, I think Harry would be one of the world's most awesome uncles.

There are an awful lot of revelations yet to come about the circumstances surrounding Ginny's death. And a lot of those have their own mysteries tied to them. I apologize in advance for that. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotter 

18th February 2013:
Hello! I'm back to leave you another review!
I really loved this chapter. I think you write all your characters so well, and I love the feeling that we get from reading Harry's relationships with Ron, Hermione, Rose, and Octavia. The part with the boggart was really intriguing, and I can't wait to find out more about who that man was, and how Octavia fits into everything! The end of the chapter was so sweet, and I loved the toy unicorn :) I'm excited to read more! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm really glad you like the way I write them. I tried really hard to stick close to the way that I remember them all from the book.

You'll find out very soon about the man that the boggart was imitating. For the true extent of Octavia's role in all this, you'll have to wait a bit longer, though. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

12th February 2013:
Hello again,

So it turns out I can't keep away from this! Not that I mind, I'm just neglecting RL a bit.

I really enjoyed this chapter, althought it made me want to both laugh and cry. What I really want to know though is what Arthur did to get Hearthrow evacuated?

I really enjoy reading the way you've progressed the wizarding world in this. The idea of the genie class is great and who better than George to see it's true potential and make millions? Of course this meant you got the line in about Mario Bros later on which I really did laugh at, 'How about that one where the nice Italian plumber saves the princess from the gorilla'. I'm glad to see Mario is still popular in the 2040's.

I found the section where it shows all the things Harry has done with his fortune so touching, putting his money to good use. I think all the people he did the things in the name of would be proud and it would definitely be something Harry would do. I did fill up a bit.

Another section that made me laugh was the bit about Ron and Scorpius: 'It had been forty-five years since they finished school and over fifteen since Scorpius married Rose and Ron still struggled with the concept of a Malfoy infiltrating his family.'. This is such a Ron reaction and made me laugh so much.

Harry is so sweet with Rose. This is the first story I've read where I've seen such a close connection between the two of them. Maybe it's because you've wrote her as much older, I'm not sure, but I really enjoyed reading it. You've also given lots of hints about the circumstances surrounding Ginny's death. So it seems she was killed by a Muggle man with a gun and Octavia was with her?

I absoutely can't wait to read more! Your writing has such a lovely flow about it that I just loose myself completely in the story.

The only one tiny tiny bit of CC I would have is actually a Briticism - you use mom instead of mum. Obviously not really an issue or anything, it's just because I'm from England and mom sounds so weird to me!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hi! I find myself neglecting real life in favor of HPFF quite a bit, too. Real life can be so stressful. Not like reading. ;)

So the bit about Arthur causing Heathrow to be evacuated is a small tip of the hat to Delicate, which is the source of nearly all of my Scorpius/Rose inspiration for this story. Genie glass is a tip to another favorite story of mine, Harry Potter and the Winters After the War. As far a Mario goes, it seems that the wizarding world is always about 30 years behind the times when it comes to adopting muggle customs, so console video games were probably *huge* in the wizarding 2010's.

In my own mind, Harry was always very uncomfortable with his considerable wealth. He came from such meager beginnings and his adopted family struggled to survive on Arthur's Ministry salary. So I feel like he's always be the first to jump in and donate when he saw a worthy cause.

I've always been very taken with the idea that Harry would have been very close to both his godson and his goddaughter. (I *think* it's canon that Harry is Rose's godfather. If not, well, he is now. ;) Rose is such a great mix of her mother and her father that I think Harry would have been drawn to her. You've got the circumstances of Ginny's death correct. Much more about this to come...

Thanks for pointing out all the "moms". I went in and patched those up this morning.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Arithmancy_Wiz 

27th December 2012:
Hello again, Camb. I'm back with another review for the Holiday Review Swap.

This was another really solid chapter. It's fun to read a story that explores Harry and the gang at this age. Stories of this "era" usually focus exclusively on the next-gen characters, so this makes for a refreshing change. It's lovely to see stories where the main characters are over the age of 25.

I really enjoyed all the little touches you added throughout the chapter, to round out the wizarding world and the people who live in it. The bit about the genie glass was so creative. And all the tidbits about Hermys being Kreacher's child, the Remus Lupin Center, etc., it really adds to the richness of the world.

A lot of characters passed in and out of this chapter. It was a bit overwhelming, but I thought you did a great job in giving them all distinct voices, and this was a good point in the story to start handling all the introductions. I think my favorite references were actually for characters who didn't physically appear in the chapter. I loved the reference to Percy skirt-chasing muggles half his age. It's so unexpected, and yet it works. It's not a nice thing really, or very refined, which makes it all the more realistic. All the characters can't be perfect and sometimes the "good guys" do things that are a bit distasteful. It helps keep things grounded. I also loved the line: "Arthur's love of muggle gadgets was matched only by his propensity for accidentally destroying them with magic." It was really just an aside but it was so perfectly Arthur.

The ending was also very intriguing. Using the boggart was a clever way of giving the audience more information about what happened to Ginny without playing all your cards or forcing two characters to discuss it in a barrage of back story dialogue. It was a great way of pushing the story along in a chapter that was otherwise more focused on introducing and developing the characters.

The only CC I'd offer is to be on the lookout in terms of your dialogue tags. This is more a personal preference than a right vs. wrong grammatical issue, but I find using too many variations of said to be distracting, especially when paired with adverbs. I know some authors like to use variations to keep from being repetitive, but readers are generally trained to overlook the word said. Other versions of the word don't "disappear" in the same way, which can serve to pull the reader out of the scene. As a rule, I try and avoid adverbs in dialogue tags whenever possible, mostly because 90% of them are unnecessary. "Well, they are either madly in love or they're about to kill each other. Is it an odd or an even-numbered day?" replied Hermione, sardonically. In this line, we know Hermione isn't serious. They don't actually kill each other on odd-numbered days. The jest or mocking tone in her voice is clearly implied by her words.

Overall, another great chapter. Thanks for tagging me again in the review swap. Sorry it took me so long to tag you back.

Author's Response: Hi, there! Likewise, I'm sorry it took me a long time to respond.

Seeing as how I'm, erm, sort of middle-aged myself, I enjoy reading and writing characters who are past their angsty, love-struck teenage years. One of the biggest challenges of writing this was to age the canon characters realistically, so it seemed important to give them fairly detailed back stories and explain what's been happening for the past 30 years or so.

There are quite a lot of names mentioned in this chapter. It's somewhat unavoidable as I try to set up all of the things that are coming. Arthur is a character I've always adored and I was in love with the idea of him being able to enjoy retirement as a doting grandfather and great-grandfather who continues to indulge his fascination with the muggles and their trappings in his spare time. Percy... well, let's just say that Percy's odd behavior has a lot more significance...

I'm glad you like the boggart as a means of plot delivery. It's one of my favorite ideas I had during the early part of the story. And you will definitely see it again.

Hmmnn... I do try to mix up my tag verbs and phrases so that things don't sound too repetitive. I guess that could sound a bit gratuitous after a while. I'll give it another read. And I had a bad problem with using too many adverbs when I first started writing this. Point taken.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by LovlyRita 

12th December 2012:
Ok, officially hooked. 100%, without a doubt, hopelessly, magnificently hooked.

You know, and when I say this I am being completely honest. It has been a very very long time since I have read fan fiction. And part of you might be saying right now, hey, don't you validate? Yes, yes I do. But I don't READ. It has been well over a year since I was enamored with a story...a year and a half most likely. And since this review swap, I've found so many great stories that I've heard about for ages but never gave thought to. This is one of them. And I'm so happy that I have journeyed down this road!

Ok, let's start at the beginning. I'm loving the conversation between Harry, Hermione, and Ron. It's great to see that after all these years, they are still inherently the exact same people they were at the end of the seventh book, they all have the same characteristics and the same petty arguments. I like the house elf too (is it pronounced Hermes? That's what I was saying in my head). I think that is one of the strongest points of this chapter so far.

And that brings me to the next point. Glasses. Why do wizards need glasses? Why isn't there a healing spell for eyes? If muggles can do surgery (like my husband had, which is totally unfair) and have their eyes corrected, why can't a spell just fix that. As I have my own personal canon for several physical afflictions I assume there is some good, logical reasoning for it, but it was just a wonderment that came to my mind whilst I was reading your story. It's the little things that always make you go hmm.

Speaking of which, I love all the little charities and organizations that you mentioned along the way. My favorite was Dobby's house. How sweet was that. ♥

The next thing I liked about this, is how gradually you have managed to bring up questions and and mysteries in this chapter. There wasn't a glaring like OMG cliffhanger type situation, but at the same time you managed to create little bitty cliff hangers throughout it. What is the deal with Rose and Scorpius? What the heck was going on with Octavia during Ginny's ordeal, and just what in the sam hell happened to Ginny?! That was one of my favorite parts, the way you subtly brought things up.

And little Octavia, I loved her! What a fearless little girl, that wants to play with a boggart! And her mother and Harry let her! I feel like I'm the disapproving one, sitting here going I don't think that's a good idea! But then, what do I know, really?

I really enjoyed the pacing and the attention to detail of this chapter. Really really nicely done :)

Author's Response: Hello, again!

So I have an enormous grin plastered across my face right now. Huge. Ear to ear. I only got into fan fiction about 2 years ago, so I haven't reached that point yet where my interest starts to wane. I'm sure I'll get there at some point. It's nice to see that it's possible to find your way back.

The hardest thing about writing this chapter, bar none, was trying to age the three of them realistically and still have them sound like themselves. I'm incredibly glad that it worked for you. It got easier as the story wore on and I really started to think of the three of them as sexagenarians, but in the beginning it was painful. Hermys is pronounced like the Greek god, so you have it right. I borrowed that name from another fic on the archives that I adore.

I have no idea why wizards need glasses, but there seem to be an awful lot who do. Every year, I think about maybe having my own eyes fixed and every year I decide against it for whatever reason (time, money, inconvenience). But you're right, some things don't make much sense.

I'm glad you like cliff hangers. You'll probably come across one or two more of those. ;)

Octavia is one of my absolute favorite characters in the entire story. She will be part of it until the very end.

So glad you're enjoying the story! Like I said, gigantic grin on my face! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherinchica08 

28th November 2012:
Oh how horrible I feel for Harry in this chapter! I think you did a wonderful job describing what the boggart turned into each time, especially with the guy who killed Ginny. You really have a good grip on your description! I loved seeing the different relationships in Harry's life in this chapter. Its nice to see how Harry, Ron, and Hermione's relationship really hasn't changed over the years and Harry's relationship with Rose. I think that this is a pretty good set up into the more action packed part of your story as it really brings up a lot of questions and makes the reader wonder what is going to happen in the next chapter! In particular, I'm wondering what Percy's part is going to be in all of this with him going a bit crazy. All in all, I think this was a great chapter, does a great job really setting up the story, has great description, and just does a wonderful job keeping me interested in finding out what will happen next. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So this chapter was all about setting up some of the important relationships between the characters that will persist throughout the rest of the story. The trio is pretty obvious, but I also wanted to show that Harry and Rose are confidants of a sort.

I'm going to read between the lines of your review just a bit and assume that you've read some future chapters, too. You're very sneaky, you Slytherin chica, you!

I'm really glad that you liked the chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by shadowycorner 

15th November 2012:
Wow. Just wow and a few more. This was like reading the books again, only the kids were adults, and you've done them such justice. Your flow here is amazing. For a 4K chapter, you managed to write so much in here, but it didn't seem long at all. I read it without pausing, because it flowed so easily for me. The reading is way too enjoyable for me to even comment on. I'll just keep on gushing and flipping over, but hopefully you're already used to my hardly coherent crazy reviews. I just really like to lose myself in someone's writing, and you mister are really doing a good job of it!

First off, Hermys is Kreacher's offspring, oh how adorable! :D I chuckled like an idiot, also when I imagined Kreacher taking care of little kids. That must've been a sight to behold. Also, I noticed some Delicate references. They made me smile. That story is so epic and popular, I guess it became sort of canon here at hpff. The memory of Arthur evacuating Heathrow made me crack up all over again. One thing Delicate didn't have, though, was the amazing relationship Rose has with Harry. I could totally feel how they care for each other, godparent and his godchild, uncle and niece. It was sweet and a perfect way to bring these characters together. I wonder what's up with Percy. I guess something's up since it was mentioned even in the summary and so much throughout the chapter. I'm so intrigued. I'm a little worried that this story's already over, because now I'll have to be extra careful not to run into a spoiler of sorts. I'm kind of beginning to feel hooked to this.

You have no idea how much I loved the scene with the Trio. Them, having lunch and talking about random issues and things, and their personalities just radiated off of the page. Seriously, I'll repeat myself, but what the hell, it's like reading the books again. This was Harry, and it was Ron and Hermione. (By the way, I was totally doing some weird squeeing thing here when they appeared, me being such a shipper still).

You always add these little details that make the story so much more interesting in the little places, like Hermys, and Octavia, and her magical toy (oh my, that's so Narcissa to give her such a toy with obsidians for hooves, lol!). It really feels like the magical world, and what's cool is that you also incorporated the modern age aspect into it. There were just so many great things about this, and it's only the beginning!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

This is my "setting the stage" chapter, so I'm really glad that it didn't bore you. It's heavy on back story and a bit light on plot, but that picks up soon. I'm really glad that it flowed well for you. I'm always worried that the chapters that are light on action tend to drag.

Yes, Hermys is Kreacher's son. You know, and maybe this is just head canon that I've picked up along the way, but I always imagined that Kreacher spent a lot of time taking care of Regulus and Sirius when they were young. That's why Kreacher was so attached to Regulus and why it hurt him so much when Sirius turned his back on the family. Once he passed into Harry's service and Harry actually started being nice to him, I imagine he was far less disagreeable.

I did "borrow" the idea of Arthur forcing the evacuation of Heathrow from Delicate. I really need to go back and attribute some of this stuff. I really didn't know what I was doing when I first started out.

Harry and Rose have a very strong bond. You'll see it pop up again and again in this story. And it turns out to be fairly important for both of them at various points.

Percy's troubles are very relevant to the plot of the story and they will be until the very end. That's all I'm going to say about that. ;)

I love Ron and Hermione together. It's a big part of why I like Memory Dust so much.

Small details really help me to connect to a story and get a good picture in my head, so I try hard to focus on them.

You have no idea how pleased I am that you're enjoying the story **and** you're letting me know all about it. I don't think there are very many spoilers hiding out there on the forums or elsewhere, but I haven't really looked, either. I guess just be cautious. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Illuminate 

2nd November 2012:
Hi! Thought I would return some of the reviews you've given me! And I have wanted to continue this, so here I go!

First of all, I really like how you set the character dynamics right at the beginning. Ron's got baby stuff and shopping, and his wife, and Harry's voice just echoes through the house. It really shows how alone he is. That is, of course, if this is after Ginny's death.

Aw, nice canon insertion fitting into there! Harry's house elf is Kreacher's son, how lovely, and just like Harry. And a really clever but completely believably magical invention, the magical glass. I've seen stories where telephones and TV's have just been accepted out of nowhere by magical families. I'm glad you've given a good reason for it.

I love the introduction of Rosie and Octavia. She seems like such a lovely little girl, and Rose is very deeply characterised already. As soon as she mentioned the boggart I knew everything was gonna go wrong xD The mystery is kicking into gear, especially with the mysterious man and whatever Percy's getting up to.

The one thing I'll say is that a couple of times I noticed you missed out a question mark, but other than that I don't think there's anything wrong with it :D Great job!

Author's Response: Awww, thanks! I appreciate it!

You know, I'd never really thought of it that way, but now that you mention it, it does make Harry seem rather solitary, doesn't it? A lot of things about Harry's life actually lend themselves to this. James and Lily both have demanding jobs and they travel a lot. All of his grandchildren are school-aged, save Lily's youngest, who's 10. In some ways, he's grown closer to Rose than to his own children.

I borrowed the inspiration for the magical glass from the first fic on HPFF that I ever fell in love with: Winters After the War. But it really does allow the wizarding world to move past the way that it's sort of frozen in time in the books.

Rose and Octavia are two of my absolute favorite characters in the entire story. You'll see them again and again, so I'm glad you like them.

I'll go back and look for those missing question marks. Honestly, I get a kick out of updating this story because it makes the read counter catch up to the total of the chapter reads. It's the little thing. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

24th October 2012:
So, I read this chapter last night and then was distracted by late dinner, sleep and sadness (my iPod chose this chapter to play When Ginny Kissed Harry...).

Ooh, the more I read, the more I'm pulled in and the more I want to read. The boggart in the form of a mystery man with the gun, who killer Ginny... Well, I don't like him. But he interests me. I was shocked that Ginny was killed with a gun.

It's sad to see Harry still trying to cope with Ginny's death, understandable, but we see him as so strong in the books. I like that you write him this way, though. Harry is only human, after all, and he loved Ginny.

Octavia was just adorable. I love bravery, with the boggart, and that she gave Harry her unicorn to sleep with. That was an aww moment. :)

I'm really enjoying reading this. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Wow. That's a tough song to listen to while reading this. My hat's off to you for being able to get through it.

Ginny was indeed killed by a muggle man with a gun. A lot of the details are revealed in the next chapter, but some mysteries will remain. The killer's story is tightly intertwined with the central conflict of the story.

Personally, I always thought of Harry's strength as being rather fragile, if that makes any sense. At times he's capable of super-human feats of courage, but small things send him into an emotional tailspin. In my mind, Ginny was the foundation of his life after the war. She helped him put himself back together and recover from all the trauma and suffering and death. If I had one criticism about the way the end of the war was written in Deathly Hallows, it was the fact that it seemed too easy. Like Voldemort's body hit the floor and suddenly a giant party broke out and everyone forgot about all the people who had been injured and killed. I never thought it could be that easy, especially for someone like Harry who tends to blame himself for everything.

I love Octavia. She is one of my favorite characters in the entire story. And she'll be there at the very end. Enough said...

I'm so glad you're enjoying it! Thanks so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>