Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
72 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin 

14th April 2017:
Hi, Dan! Here reviewing for CTF!

This was very touching. Poor Harry, how must he miss her... I'd been wondering if he was actually talking to her at first, but then his unilateral conversation, plus the clue of the prologue, made me realize that she had to be dead.

I loved all the details about their granchildren and Harry teaching at Hogwarts and everything else. I love the idea that Neville is Headmaster (and still scared of Snape... that's so endearing!)

Your descriptions were beautiful, too. I loved the atmosphere of the Autumn air and all the details of the estate and the changes over the years. You gave us such beautiful pictures of their family life, you could tell the children of the Potter-Weasley clan grew up in a happy environment.

Harry's grief was written wonderfully, too. I can totally get the guilt and the impotence and the feelings that he just can't keep going without her. It makes me slightly Angri, actually, because he must realize that he can't save everyone, but at the same time I can't blame him *hugs Harry*

I'm curious about what'she's coming next and most importantly how this will tie up with the prologue. I'm very intrigued by all of it. Also, your writing is stunning (if I didn't mention already).

I have to go now, but I might be back.
See you!
With love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 

14th April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

Okay, Iím back and eager to find out just how dead (or not) Harry and Ginny are!
Oh wow, and this opening is not what I expected. Is it a flashback set before they died? Or some iteration of the afterlife?

The opening line reads a bit like an obituary, listing his notable achievements and connections. I think thatís clever.

Haha, the next next generation and people are still naming their kids after Lily. And Arthur! It looks like there will be a ton of new characters and their relationships to keep track of in this story, what with the way those Weasleys multiply.

I like that you let Harry be a teacher. Heís always made more sense to me as a teacher than spending all his years as a ministry worker.

Headmaster Longbottom being fabulous and still being afraid of Snapeís portrait hurts my little heart.

I like the play on words of calling Malfoy a ďdeath-eating gitĒ

Um Harryís doing an awful lot of talking. Whatís up with Ginny?

Haha, with all of the Weasley and Potter kids, of course they can have a whole quidditch tournament just among themselves!

Ooooh I like the idea of Lily working seriously for Weasley Wizarding Wheezes! I donít think thatís an idea Iíve seen before and I quite like it.

Ah, so Harry is talking to Ginnyís tombstone here. I kind of thought he might be. I love the inscription ďFly fast, chaser girl.Ē

This is an interesting chapter. It has kind of the feel of a prologue as it takes its time in giving backstory on various characters, but itís a little funny because the first chapter also felt like a prologue. Since we jumped back in time with this chapter, Iím left wondering when the next chapter will be set. Will it follow up this chapter, or jump forward to after the first when Harry is in Kings Cross.

I am interested to know what happens next, though since the next chapter looks kind of long, for the sake of CtF speediness I might read something else by you next time around.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lady Asphodel 

11th October 2014:
Ah My G. Why??? SO sad!

This chapter has amazing dialogue in here - even though Harry is mostly talking to himself!

Gosh - I could just feel the absence of Ginny - which puts a damper on my shipper heart. *insert image of heart breaking in half*


I didn't notice before... but It's cool that you were in a way summarizing everything that is going on with Harry and everyone without being so obvious about it!

I can see why this story is so recommended and won such recognition!


Off to chapter 2!




- Asphodel

Author's Response: Why. Why, indeed. I've asked myself that an awful lot over the three-ish years since I started writing this story. Having Ginny not be alive was absolutely the hardest decision I made. I can't really explain it all right now without giving away a huge chunk of the plot. All I can say is that there's a good reason and when you're finished I hope you agree that it was worthwhile.

I'm glad that the "back story dump" didn't feel obvious. I tried really hard to put it in context.

That's a very kind thing to say. I hope the story continues to live up to its reputation.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 

14th September 2014:
Hey there!

Back for the first official chapter. You've done it to me this time. Oh dear. I was bracing myself for the entire chapter, trying to tell myself that she wasn't dead, not Ginny. But I couldn't convince myself, not after the prologue and the fact that she wasn't talking back to Harry.

I love how you carried their love through generations. And how he is grieving for her. It shows how strong they were and I completely agree that they were fit for each other and completely, wholly in love for ever and ever. Ginny was Harry's first real family. She made him a father and gave him the one thing he craved for so many years. Losing her pulled a part of that away from him.

His favorite thing to talk about is his family. You can hear the pride and contentment in him when he mentions each one of them.

I love that you've chosen to write this from "Grandpa Harry's" POV. It is really ingenious. I haven't seen it done before, but really makes sense. I can also see Harry as a DADA teacher (making assumptions here, but I'm pretty sure that's what he would chose to teach). It is fitting that after he retires as an Auror, he would find fulfillment in sharing his knowledge with others - especially when they include his own grandkids!

Neville as Headmaster! Awesome! My own headcanon is that Neville would find his confidence after killing Nagini and would be a completely different character than he was in the books. Headmaster headcanon accepted!

Of course Harry blames himself for Ginny's death. It's so Harry. This is a great setup for the rest of the story. I'm curious how she died, why Harry thinks he could've saved her and generally what happened. All I know is that Jeremy Gamp is involved somehow - but I'm kind of glad I don't know more because I want to read and find out on my own.

Very captivating first chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi there. I hope I didn't bum you out too badly. As I've said in a lot of review responses, the decision not to have Ginny be a part of this story was the hardest one I made. It was also one of the most important, however. Harry's guilt and grieving is a central theme of the story, and I hope you like the resolution to it in the end.

"Grandpa Harry" was fun and very rewarding to write. I felt like he deserved all of the happiness and love that came from being part of such a large family. All of these characters deserve that.

So Harry isn't actually a full-time teacher at Hogwarts. More like a guest lecturer. He is still Head Auror at the start of the story and he thinks of the classes he teaches as a sort of recruiting. He also just enjoys it. :)

I don't think I ever say this explicitly, but I imagine Neville succeeding Flitwick as Headmaster, who in turn succeeds McGonagall. By the time he rises to the post of Headmaster, he had taught Herbology for many years and probably served as head of Gryffindor House. Head canon complete!

Jeremy Gamp is involved, although possibly not in exactly the way you think. You're not the only one who can spin a mystery. ;)

I'm really, really excited to see what you think of the rest! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by caapotter 

25th June 2014:
Whyyy? Whyy?? I'm seriouly crying. Ginny. No :(

But great writing :)

Author's Response: Hi there.

I've said it a lot of times but I don't mind saying it again: the decision I made about Ginny was the hardest decision I made when writing this. I love Harry and Ginny together and I hated doing this to them. I hope you'll understand what I was trying to accomplish.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan 

2nd May 2014:
Review tag swap! :P

That's quite a title for Harry. Imagine if he had to put all of that on a nametag.

Sorry, I should have warned you I'm a really rambly, scatterbrained reviewer. Anyway, I definitely laughed at the fact that Al's daughter is named Lillian, and James's son named Artie. This family is seriously all about recycling names :P

After I had finished giggling about Harry's musing to himself about how ridiculous he looks sitting there and how "the supper club is missing their prominent eccentric", it dawned on me how rambly Harry is in this as well, and Ginny's not responding - and then I just realized Ginny is dead. (So, I guess the part in the prologue wasn't an illusion or anything, she just actually was dead. I assume now that it was after a long period of time has passed.) And it really shows Harry's reminiscing in a different way. I think it's sweet that he takes time to talk to his dead wife and update her on the things that are happening in life, awww. I like the way you wrote Harry as a grandfather, just thinking about all the events and the people in his life. He seems very at peace here.

The way you describe the Potter estate is just lovely! It sounds so peaceful and picturesque with its pond and grassy field. Kind of like an Impressionist painting.

I had been thinking, in the beginning of this chapter after I figured out that Ginny was dead, that she had died of old age or something - after all, Harry is a grandfather by this point. but with the bit about Harry not being able to save her, it seems something more sinister happened, and I'm wondering how long ago she died, and in what way... (I suppose that's what the rest of the story is for.) The part when Harry cries at how he couldn't save Ginny was heartbreaking :(

Well, great chapter once again! I am really eager to see where you go with this.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Ha! I suppose Harry would just have to get that printed on a t-shirt or something. It's a mouthful.

Please don't apologize for your reviewing style! I love hearing everyone's thoughts and reactions. I imagined a lot of family names being passed down among the Weasleys, with the exception of Ron and Hermione's family, of course. The definitely blew up the pattern with Rose and Hugo.

I tried to conceal the truth about Ginny for a while. I don't know whether it was that effective. Maybe I was in denial more than anything. Harry certainly is. Not having her be a part of this story was definitely the hardest decision I had to make. :( He might seem at peace in the beginning, but believe me, he's anything but.

Yeah, I figured that sooner or later Harry would buy a nice place for his family to live. I always imagined him as the sort of father who would want all the things for his children that he didn't have growing up: love, attention, kindness, toys and a huge place to play surrounded by friends and family. Since he had the money to make that happen, why not?

You'll find out pretty soon what happened to Ginny, but some of the particulars won't come out until the very end. Her death is very wrapped up in the core mystery of the story.

I'm glad you're enjoying it. I hope you have a chance to read more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by writeyourheartout 

28th April 2014:
Why hello again, Dan! ^.^ I've come back for more!

So, I have to start by pointing out what is quite possibly an extremely arbitrary detail to be bringing up at all, but whatever, I'm doing it anyway: that opening paragraph cracks me up! Not because it's particularly funny, but because it's just this long list of honorable and/or cherished titles - ranging from Order of Merlin First Class to grandfather - that comes to a close with Harry doing the most normal thing in the world: simply chillin' outside sipping on some water and chatting with his wife! LOL All he ever really wanted was normalcy, and there it is. hahaha Love it.

There is something so endearing about 64 year old, grandfather Harry. The way he talks about his granddaughter, Lillian, getting sorted, and then about their interaction after one of his classes (love that he's teaching, by the way - I assume DADA?) and it makes him all misty eyed... ugh, so sweet. In fact, every time he thinks fondly about any of his children or grandchildren, it just warms my heart! It says to me that life after the war was mostly good to him, which is really what he deserved. After a childhood with the Dursley's, it's just nice to see that he got a true family of his own in the end. :)

And the Neville bit! Ha! I think he'd be a great Headmaster, and it was a really sweet touch to mention how the portraits of all the Headmaster's past seem to approve of him, with the exception of the ever surly Snape, still with the power to frighten Neville, even in pint-sized proportion! hehehe Poor kid can't catch a break from that man, can he? ;)

...So I'm about a quarter of the way through this chapter, and I was just hit with the overwhelming feeling that Ginny might be dead... She hasn't said a word yet and Harry's just rambling on and... I don't know, man, did you kill her off? *reads on* Still hasn't said what's happening outright yet, but the more I read, the more I think that perhaps she's still there and alive, only there's something seriously wrong with her... like Alzheimer's or something akin to what Alice and Frank Longbottom suffered from... Eep! I'm all nervous now! *bites nails* OH GOD HE'S CRYING, IT'S COMING - WHAT IS IT? O_O

No! Dan! She's dead! Ugh, my heart! I don't even like Ginny all that much, but the way you built that up and revealed it was so gut-wrenching! I mean, this right here: "Why her? Why not me? . . . I'm supposed to protect everybody. Why couldn't I save her?" Rip my heart out, why don't you? Really, it's beautifully unfolded and incredibly sad. Harry always did struggle with survivor's guilt, and he's so hard on himself when someone passes and he's unable to stop it. I can't tell if whatever took Ginny's life was something that he actually could have prevented, but I think it's probably just him taking responsibility for something that he would never have been able to control, no matter what he'd done differently. I assume we'll eventually learn what killed her? *pokes for information* :-p

Even after he sobers, the ending is still quite heavy and emotional. This part is particularly poignant: "At the moment, it sat empty with all the children off at school and the adults going about their daily lives. Almost as empty as Harry felt." It must feel impossible at times to be all alone in that big house, and it sounds like he's about at his wits end. I have to hope that he doesn't do anything so foolish as give up on his own life to be with Ginny, because as someone with a relatable experience, I can tell you that that would be really unfair of him to do to his kids and grandchildren and friends - anyone who cares about him, really - because you don't walk on your family like that. It's selfish, and Harry is better than that. At least I certainly hope he is... *glares at Dan* ;) I'm under the impression that he'll soldier on, though, because that intro springs to my mind... I feel like he must have died much more heroically... ah, I don't know! I suppose I'll just have to keep reading to find all of this out, huh? I have no problem doing that. :-p

Anyway, back to some other stuff: I love the way you've worked in details about Harry's family and the life he's grown into during the 20+ years since we last saw him in the epilogue. It's just small little bits and pieces that help us string together the time that's passed without overloading us with information. I think I mentioned this in my last review, but I really dislike it when too much information is doled out all at once, because it just becomes too much to keep track of so immediately. You've spread it out and really only given us the bare minimum to hang onto for now, which is perfect because it's still enough to connect the dots. It makes for a really pleasant read.

So basically, after all of that which has now been said, I've drawn but one conclusion: You're a great writer, dude. ^.^ Seriously, this was another excellent chapter, my friend, and I sincerely look forward to reading on!

Tanya ^.^

P.S. Happy 1,000th review, Dan. ;)

Author's Response: Hi, Tanya! Time to catch up on answering reviews and that means responding to this one, probably the most rewarding review I've gotten since the very first one. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

I did want to start this chapter off by showing Harry in a completely relaxed moment of total, mundane, bland, ordinary normalcy. Because I agree with you. That's what he always wanted growing up and he could never really have it.

Believe me, I got *very* endeared to "grandpa Harry" while I was writing this. Again, I just loved that idea of his life ending up happy and normal. Well, as normal as Harry Potter's life was ever going to be, at any rate. Harry is sort of like a guest lecturer at Hogwarts. He teaches a basic defense class for first years and an advanced dueling class for sixth and seventh years. It winds up being a form of recruiting for the Aurors, not that he doesn't enjoy doing it just because.

Neville is a fantastic Headmaster. You'll find out just how good later on...

Your intuition is... well, I'm sad to say that it's accurate. One thing I learned while writing this story is that finishing a long novel involves making a lot of tough choices. The choice to not have Ginny be part of this story -- well, most of it, anyway -- was the hardest choice I made. It was really sad for me, because here Harry is living this relatively charmed life and he loses the one person he most wants to share it all with. You'll find out much more about the circumstances surrounding her untimely death as the story unfolds. There isn't much I could tell you at this point without totally ruining it for you.

I think I've said it in a dozen or more review responses: at the time, this chapter was the most emotional thing I'd ever written. I wasn't at all sure I'd done it justice until I had a few more chapters under my belt and I could go back and reread it. Reading it still makes me sad, even to this day. I guess that suggests I did an OK job with it.

Sometimes when I reread this chapter -- which I don't do often because it's sad -- I feel like maybe I dumped too much back story into it. Other times I don't. Eh, who am I kidding, I'm almost certainly not changing it at this point. I'd have to probably reword the next 4 chapters to get all of the information back in.

What can I say? You made my day, my week, and I think I'll always look back fondly on the month of April 2014. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by GingeredTea 

21st April 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our penciled in review swap. :D

" sat in his comfortable muggle lawn chair, admiring the sunny autumn day. He took a long sip of ice water before he continued to tell his wife about his day." This is a Harry I am going to have to adjust myself too. A relaxed Harry is always hard to wrap my head around, but it is kind of pleasant at the same time, you know? :) I like how you start the story (considering the last chapter is somewhere closer to the end, I assume in terms of timeline), with a Harry that is so different from what we left the series with. It is sort of puzzling but like a gulp of fresh air. The ease with which you jump into all the names and relations and what-not all while maintaining dialogue that sounds real impresses me. I sorta have to introduce my own characters a couple at a time so that I don't confuse them all... O_o

"A 64-year-old man sitting in an old plastic lawn chair under a shade tree, sipping water out of a sport bottle. ďSome muggle supper club is missing its most prominent eccentric,Ē he mused to himself." Sounds about right...that's what I was thinking!

The aspect of Ginny - whoa that was a whole bunch of drama to begin a story with. :( It almost made me cry! I am morbidly interested in how she died and why Harry feels all this guilt (okay, Harry ALWAYS feels guilty, so that's not as critical to my curiosity).

Great story! Great Chapter. I'm off to the next one. If i can finish the review before I conk out, you'll see it soon, if not before bed tomorrow. This chappy was short compared to mine, so I think a 2 for one deal is in order. :)

Author's Response: Hola! I really enjoy your reviews! They always make my day.

I think a lot of readers take a few chapters to mentally calibrate to the Harry presented in this story. He's much older than we normally see him. He has a large family with school-age grandchildren and he's approaching the twilight of his Auror career. In many ways, he's reached a point in his life where he's enjoying the fruits of everything he fought and suffered for as a young man.

You're correct that the prologue occurs near the end and this is really the start of the story. I'm really pleased that Harry's dialog sounded real to you. This chapter was tricky to write because I did want to deliver a certain amount of back story without having it sound stilted.

It's funny, I sort of pulled the term "supper club" off of Google without understanding much of what it actually meant. I guess it worked alright.

Deciding to not have Ginny be a part of this story was the single hardest decision I made. I love Harry and Ginny together and I always felt bad about leaving Harry without her. In the end, I think it worked well, though. I hope I get to see what you think about it.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by anythingcouldhappen 

20th February 2014:
Hello again!

Bet you didn't think I'd be here twice in one night, did you now? Sam strikes again!

But wait, this chapter was heart-breaking. Ginny must have died fairly young if Harry's only 64 and it seems to have been a while since her death. At least enough for the initial sharp grief to fade and the aching loneliness to set in. Poor, poor Harry.

The whole conversation was so sweet but simultaneously really sad. I think what added to that was not making it clear initially whether Ginny was actually there or not. I guessed she wasn't since she wasn't replying--Ginny doesn't strike me as someone who would just sit and listen, even in old age--but the ambiguity that you wrote it with was just perfect. It also made for a superb ending, with the gravestone.

Can I have Harry as a grandpa? He just seems like he's the coolest old man. Ok, that sounded weird, but I really think its true. Like he's sort of sentimental as he's talking to Ginny, but clearly he's still just as sharp as ever.

What's great about this is how much you managed to convey about Harry's life without just sort of listing information. By making it a conversation, you made learning all that about Harry's family so much more interesting.

I have to say, I really admire your ability to age Harry. He's an old man, but still so clearly Harry. Even after just two chapters, Harry feels so right. I think your writing style just really suits his character.

Also, this is such an original idea, having him be 64. I have yet to read another story where Harry is this old and still the main character!

Lastly, thank you for not making Harry bald. I don't think the world wants, needs, or could handle a bald Harry.

I certainly couldn't.

Sam

Author's Response: You're right, I did not think you'd strike twice in a night. Mostly because my chapters tend to be very long and it takes stamina to get through one, let alone two. Clearly, your reading and reviewing is in good shape. :)

Ginny was 59 when she died, not at all old for a witch. Harry's initial grief has passed, but as you can see he has a lot of lingering issues that he hasn't dealt with at all.

I decided to conceal the true nature of Harry's conversation for a while, and I'm glad that it made the effect stronger for you. For me, the imagine of poor Harry having a conversation with Ginny was not only sad, but it reinforced the idea that he's living in a state of denial in many ways. He never properly accepted her death, and every time he tries it nearly breaks him.

I think we would all love to have Harry as a grandparent, because he'd be an awesome one.

I'm really not a fan of stories that just dump information on the reader, so I'm glad you thought the delivery felt natural. As far as aging him, that was definitely the trickiest thing about this story. I had to try to keep these characters recognizable while also making them seem like realistic sixty-somethings.

I also haven't ever read another story where Harry's in this age range, which was a big part of why I decided to write it. It's an era of Harry's life where we get to see four generations of his family -- from Molly and Arthur right down to his grandchildren -- taking part in the story. Much more on this to come...

I never, ever thought of Harry as bald. The one time Aunt Petunia tried to cut his hair short, look at what happened!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by blueirony 

18th February 2014:
Before I even begin reading this, the neurotic part of me has to point out there is an extra space in the "I'm" in your disclaimer at the start of this (yes, people do read those things). Exhale. Okay. That's done. Now. Onwards and... Upwards? Is that a phrase?

Okay.

Um.

No. What? But. And. He. And. The. But.

No what but and he and the but WHAT NO.

Oh, Good GOD, that was beautiful. I mean, let's be honest. I made a small choked sound when I realised what was happening but it was still stunning.

I like to think that Harry found peace in his older years. The Harry you have here is the one in my head. My Harry is wearing knee high socks with sandals but that's just a technicality (all old people have an obligation to dress like that, in my opinion). But he is happy. He is surrounded by family. He loves what he does. And he has found a beautiful place somewhere in the countryside to call home. A place full of space and love. The picture I have of Harry in my head while reading this is so vivid - knee high socks and all!

I also loved the little details of the family. How Rose and Scorpius married. How Albus was in Slytherin. You don't come out and say it explicitly. But they are implied. And I like that kind of writing. I like figuring things out myself and it makes me feel like I am more part of the story, rather than having everything spoonfed to me.

But that end part. It's so heart-breaking that he was speaking to Ginny's grave. So sad!

Author's Response: Hi, Joop! Before I respond, I'll let you in on a secret. One that I don't think I've mentioned in any review responses before. Even I get a little misty when I reread this chapter. It was probably the single most emotional thing I'd ever written at the time. Even though I knew what I wanted to get out of it, I honestly wasn't prepared for how it ended up.

Thank you so much for the kind words. Except for a few at the end, I think this is the most important chapter in the whole story. If I don't capture the reader's attention here, they're probably lost for good.

You and I agree completely on how Harry's life should have turned out, I think. The guy went through so many terrible things before he was even 18 years old. He deserved a good life. And in my mind, he and Ginny had a very good life, until... Yeah, until.

I obviously borrowed a lot of those details from stories like Delicate. I hope I was able to properly attribute them all. I try to do everything I can by implication rather than outright stating it. It involves the reader more in the learning process that way.

I've said in a bunch of review responses that the choice not to have Ginny be part of this story was the hardest one I made, and I stick by that. There were some other tough choices along the way, but this one was the most gut-wrenching. I hope in the end you'll think it was all worth it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Unwritten Curse 

15th February 2014:
Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. He was talking to Ginny's grave the whole time. I can't tell you how much this broke my heart. You have talent at giving really heavy scenes a sense of lightness that actually adds to the emotion. The fact that Harry is so calmly--almost humorously--sitting in a plastic arm chair sipping from a water bottle, yet we discover he's sitting beside a grave. Yes. It's real and honest and not overdone.

You also have a great talent for setting the scene. SO MUCH is revealed in this chapter, but you brush over it so quickly that it's not overwhelming. You mention "Rose and Scorpius's children" so we know they were married. You mention "Headmaster Longbottom" so we know he's been promoted. These details are thrown in so flawlessly and now I feel attached to Harry and this world you've created for him.

I can already see why this won a Dobby. I'm adding it to my Reading List and I sincerely hope I find the time to come back soon!

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hi!

First off, thank you so much for reviewing two chapters.

I kind of hate hiding the true nature of Harry's conversation from the reader, because I know it takes some people as an unpleasant surprise. But this seemed like the best way to maximize the emotional connection.

I'm glad that the back story included in this doesn't seem overwhelming. That's always been a concern of mine. I'm not a fan of stories that dump too much information on the reader in the first couple of chapters.

I hope you find a good opportunity to get back to it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Sharvi 

2nd January 2014:
Ginny is dead? Ok, I'm still trying to wrap my head around this. This really was the perfect introduction to where everyone is in their lives though. How the Trio have become grandparents, how they've moved on. Harry from the Boy who Lived to Auror to Hogwart's professor.

Also, Harry's Hero Complex? I'm glad you included that, it is such an integral part of who he is. But I can't imagine how hurt he would be. Ginny was afterall the one person who he could start a new life with after Voldemort and his life with the Dursley's.

Can't wait to read ahead =)

Author's Response: Sadly yes. Ginny died approximately 4 years before the start of the story. You'll find out more about her death in the next chapter. It was definitely the hardest decision I made when I was working out the particulars of this story. I love Ginny and Harry together and it was very sad for me.

Harry's Hero Complex is alive and well! He blames himself for Ginny's death and he's still a mess on the inside. This will be a central theme of the story.

I can't wait to find out what you think of future chapters! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lauren 

19th November 2013:
Oh my gosh! I don't have an account so I don't even know if I can review on this site yet. But I almost just cried at that epitaph.

Fly fast, chaser girl.

So far I'm very intrigued by your story. I like the way you described everything that's happened in the past four decades for the Potter-Weasley Clan.

But oh my gosh, that epitaph.

It kills me! I don't even know why, it's just so sad!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Your review came through perfectly. You're always free to sign up for an account if you like, but I enjoy reading what you think either way.

I thought that epitaph was really fitting and really sweet in a sad way.

The family has come a long way in 40 years since the epilogue of DH, but I've tried really hard to keep the important things the same.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by randomwriter 

1st November 2013:
Hi again! Told you I'd be back!

OH MY GOSH. You're going to make me cry with this one. I'm certain. This chapter was so heart-breaking-ly beautiful. Initially, I thought he was having an actual conversation with Ginny. But when she didn't reply at all, I began thinking that something terrible must have happened. At first, I thought she might be dead, but I was hoping against hope that she wasn't. Then, towards the middle, I thought that she'd been through a terrible accident and could not talk or move or something like that. Perhaps she'd been tortured? But then THAT happened. The Ending. And gosh, it was so beautiful and sad. I can't even put my feelings into words. Gah. I felt so broken when I read it.

It was perfect. Absolutely perfect. Your writing style is so amazing. I can't imagine any better way of writing this. The kind of feelings it made me feel...Just... WOW. I have no words. Really.

I love how you're telling this. I'm guessing that the prologue was about what happens later, because Harry is SO alive in this. THIS seems like JKR's Harry himself. Anyway, this is the actual beginning of the story, right?. It's so clever of you! And I'm sitting back in my chair, thinking, "Hmm... When's the last time I felt this way after reading just two chapters of a story?" I feel so attached to this already. You're such a great writer and I'm kicking myself for not reading your work earlier.

I really like the fact that you seemed to have used all the nextgen characters in the story, and then some more. I like it when writers do that.

Many post-Hogwarts/nextgen stories portray post-Voldemort Harry's life as something straight out of a fairy tale. He has everything, gets everything he wants, not a care in the world. I'd be guilty of that too, i guess. But I like how you've decided to show a side of him that's broken; that has lost everything; that actually feels empty. I feel so So sorry for him, but I love reading this.

Can't wait for more! :) trust me, I'll be back. Your story is worth it.

Adi :)

Author's Response: Hi, there! I can't tell you how happy I am to see you back. :)

Aww, I hate to make anybody cry, but I'm incredibly pleased that you felt the emotions in this chapter. Believe me when I say that it wasn't fun to write. At the time, this was the most emotional thing I'd ever written. I tried to conceal the truth about Ginny for as long as possible, mostly just to build things up and hopefully to let the reader absorb what Harry was talking about without that horrible emotional context. I love the fact that Harry seemed genuine to you. That's probably the most important thing I was shooting for in the entire story.

The scene that begins in the prologue is actually from the end of the story, in chapter 38. So this is the actual beginning. It sets the tone for a lot of what Harry will be dealing with in the story. I really appreciate all of the compliments. :)

A major part of the plot of the story is Harry struggling -- and mostly failing -- to deal with the huge void left behind by Ginny's death. As the story goes on, you'll find out more about the circumstances of her death and Harry's borderline obsession with it. Stories where characters don't have a care in the world can be fun to read, but they're not very realistic unfortunately.

Wow. I'm really enjoying your thoughts and feedback. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #15, by APerkins 

20th October 2013:
awww.. this is beautiful.
I have to admit, I almost choked when I read your first line, because it is the opening line to a paragraph in one of my stories - or at least it is very similar. Harry is not a former quidditch player/grandfather/etc in anything I've written! At which point I breathed out and felt hopeful that maybe I would be able to write this well one day too!

As I read the chapter, your dialogue was irking me. I kept wondering why you had such big chunks of monologue, without breaking it up more.
Then I got to the bit where he looks into the sun/Ginny, and it was this awful revelation, where I finally realised that's was why. And I felt stupid, because I had just assumed Ginny had grown into a very patient listener, and hadn't picked up that you hadn't described her reactions at all. I should have!

I really think you have an amazing gift with your writing. You drew me into the story, and it is just such a believable thing an old man would do.

I would question the use of the word continue in the opening paragraph. You can use it, but from the readers perspective, it leaves us out a little bit. From where we are sitting he is not continuing to tell Ginny about his day, he is beginning. If your intent was to imply a prior piece of conversation of course, that's different, but the scene you have set is one of being newly arrived home.

When it comes down to it though, when I read your work I just enjoy it. It is so well written it just flows beautifully and takes me away! Congratulations!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I really, really enjoyed writing the canon characters in this much later phase of their lives. For one thing, it gave me the chance to put them in a world where things turned out the way I always felt they should have... mostly, anyway. It allowed me to incorporate lots of little bits of head canon that I've picked up along the way. And it gave me the freedom to really work with a third and a fourth generation of the Potter/Weasley clan. All fun things.

I'm always intrigued as to when it dawns on readers that Ginny isn't really part of the conversation. Obviously I'm trying to conceal it for a while to enhance the reaction to what happens next. It's a bit mean of me, I guess, but as an author you always want to maximize that emotional connection.

Thank you so much for saying that. There's no stronger compliment, to me anyway, than for a reader to say, "I didn't want to stop reading."

I believe that in my mind, I had it that the reader is sort of dropped into the middle of Harry's "conversation" with Ginny. He was talking for a little while before about similarly everyday things.

Aww, you're so very kind! I really appreciate all the compliments. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirl 

21st August 2013:
Wow. What a chapter!

This is so unique. I have never read a story that put the Trio as grandparents. Never been a big next-gen fan, but that's usually because they are written from the POV of the kids. This I like - because it's Harry.

Loved the idea of Harry teaching at school, and the grandkids showing their love for him. And love Headmaster Neville who is still nervous around Snape's portrait. That is a great detail.

I think about halfway through this chapter I started to see where it was going. It was the lack of response from Ginny that clued me in. But oh, it was still heartbreaking to read that name on the stone. 60 is WAY too young, especially for a witch. What happened? Why did you leave Harry alone? *sniffs*

Like the description of the house Harry and Ginny created for their children, and the glimpse you gave me of what those children had done with their lives. And it is refreshing to see the GRANDCHILDREN! Characters you have free-reign with. I'm not entirely sure how next-gen characters were ever able to become cliche since they only exist for 2 pages in the books, but it seems like that's all anyone ever can focus on anymore. So very excited to see a story from Harry's POV again (the reason I read Harry Potter to begin with) that looks beyond the expected.

Gonna have to stop for the night, but I'm here now and I'm working my way through this brilliant tale.

Author's Response: Hi!

This chapter is always hard for me to go back and read. I made the decision to not have Ginny be part of CoB when I was still at the planning stage, but once I wrote this chapter, it became real. She was dead, Harry was a grieving widower and everything was set in motion. It was a really emotional thing to write. You'll find out over the next two chapters what happened, although the exact details don't come out until very near the end.

I really enjoyed the freedom of writing the fourth generation (Molly and Arthur being the first). I was able to pick and choose a few personality traits to pass along, but overall it was a blank slate. Plus, writing these grief-stricken sexagenarians gets a bit tiresome after a while. The kids were a welcome relief!

You'll see a lot of different points of view in CoB. One of the things I enjoyed most was getting inside a lot of different characters' heads and seeing how the world looked through their eyes. I hope it doesn't end up being too jarring. Harry's PoV will always factor prominently into things.

So glad you're enjoying it so far! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
Wow I was nearly in tears during this chapter, it's so sad that Ginny is gone. The way that you wrote Harry it's clear to see just how destroyed he is by it all. Such beautiful and fantastic writing! The way that you got across Harry's heartbreak and pain was brilliant, and it felt like I was the one who was heartbroken.

I also loved how you included the pieces of information about the other members of the family.

I can't wait to read more. I can't believe I didn't start reading this before, it's amazing.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I do hate to make anybody cry, but I'm very glad that you felt for Harry. This chapter was probably the most emotional thing I'd ever written at the time.

Having Ginny not be part of this story was definitely the most difficult decision I made. I love Ginny and Harry together, and it was really hard to do this to them. But it was necessary, I think, for the story to end up where I wanted it to be. Hopefully you'll agree that it was worthwhile.

Thanks!
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #18, by Debra20 

31st March 2013:
Oh wow...I seriously didn't expect this. At least not in the beginning, not when I read the summary of the chapter. I thought I was going to see a beautiful, lovely scene between the two of them, but I started something was amiss when Harry kept talking but didn't get any reply from Ginny. I feared this might have happened and it was the case :( It really hurt imagining that Ginny died, leaving so much behind. I mean, of course wizards die too but it's one thing knowing and another completely different when it happens.

Your style resembles JK's style SO SO much. You use many adjectives and adverbs and through this you create the perfect visual image of each scene. I really strive to write like this as well because this style is one of the aspects that captured me when I was reading HP. I am a visual type of person (I remember faces of people I've seen very easily) so I feel naturally attracted to everything that's visual. It's a very vivid way to write and I love it to bits.

I also noticed you are very good at transmitting the emotions of the characters through your words, which is a BIG thing. Especially sadness. I found that both with actors and book characters, if the actor (or writer) manages to convey a believable state of sadness, that makes the viewer )reader) REALLY feel for the character, they have the part in their bag. Sadness I find is one of the most difficult emotions to portray. So kudos to you :D

I am really looking forward to see how this develops!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

This chapter is one of the most emotional things I've ever written, so I'm glad that came across when you were reading it. The decision to not have Ginny be a part of this story was the most difficult one that I made while writing it. I absolutely adore Harry and Ginny together, but I felt like Harry's story was a lot less compelling without this. I hope you'll see what I mean by the time it's over.

I can't think of a higher compliment than a reader saying that my writing style reminds them of hers. I don't know what else to say about that. Thank you!

Emotions are a very important part of this or any other story, so I really tried to make sure that the characters' emotional states are clear and detailed. It bums me out when I see a story with a really good plot concept and the characters come off flat because the author doesn't spend enough time acquainting the reader with their thoughts and feelings. Ditto for the sensory details. To me, it's really important to try as much as possible to immerse the reader in the scene they're reading.

I hope that the story continues to hold your interest as you move into the real crux of the plot over the next few chapters. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Courtney Dark 

21st February 2013:
This chapter was so heart wrenching! And you wrote it absolutely perfectly.

At first I didn't realize Ginny was dead, so there seemed nothing off with Harry talking about his children and grandchildren-you do an excellent job of characterizing him, by the way. I would never be brave enough to attempt it! But about half way through I started getting suspicious and then everything Harry said seemed that much sadder and that much more important. I particularly liked the bit about Cissy Malfoy passing-how Harry said she was only eighty nine years old-this line seems so much more powerful when you realize Ginny is dead.

I admit my eyes started to get a tad (okay, maybe a lot) watery when the lines italics began. Harry's thoughts were so perfectly sad and so in character...and I am left with still more questions! This chapter takes place before the first, right? So now that I know Ginny is dead...does Harry die too?

Great chapter, once again.
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello, again.

This chapter was one of the most emotional things I've ever written. I'm really glad that seems to come through to the reader. Harry's situation and the emotions that it evokes became very real for me. Throughout the story, I kept coming back to his grief whenever I felt tempted -- as I often did -- to stray from the plot and just let the guy be happy for a while. All I can tell you at this point is that things end better for him than you might expect.

Sorry, I can't really reveal what happens with Harry yet. It would ruin the story for you.

Thanks so much for two awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotter 

16th February 2013:
Oh my gosh. This chapter was wonderful, but so sad! I think you portrayed Harry's love for Ginny so well, especially because he continues to visit her grave even though it hurts him, and it's so hard for him to do so. I loved the way you talked about the house and the many generations of Potters and Weasleys, and can't wait to find out more about them! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: This chapter is definitely one of the saddest, most emotional things I've ever written. I'm really pleased that it all works well for you. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

12th February 2013:
Hello again!

Okay - I just need a minute to get over the shock of what I've just read. So I'm guessing this is happening before the prologue, but Ginny's still dead? So Harry was going back to meet her in the prologue? Well you certainly know how to catch a readers interest don't you!

I love how this is set much later on in Harry's life - the fact he is a grandad is really great. I'm up to date with all the characters so far but with the number of Weasleys to write this must have been so confusing for you! I find just the next gen hard to keep up with.

I know I said in the last review but you really write Harry well. I usually avoid Harry fics as he's never quite right but I feel really comfortable reading your Harry. The opening line is great, starting with his list of achievements so to speak immediately gets you pretty much up to date with where he is in life. The way he speaks of his family is really sweet to read too, even though he doesn't actually say it, you can see clearly how much he loves his children and how proud he is of them.

Can I just say, their estate sounds amazing!

When he told Ginny how beautiful she was, it was so lovely. After reading the prologue though and thinking it strange that he seemed to be having a very one-sided conversation I was getting worried about where you were going to take this. Then he looked to her grave and I pretty much choked up with him. The pain you got across, while still putting in Harry's need to blame himself for everything was beautifully written.

The only thing I can say on a happier note is that at least Ginny had a good few years with Harry. The message on the gravestone was just perfect for her.

I can't wait to come back and read some more soon!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm sorry to confirm that Ginny is indeed dead in this story. It was the single, hardest decision I had to make at any point, but it was very important to put Harry in the mental state I wanted him to be in for this.

The entire story is set around fifty years after the end of the war. Harry, Ron, Hermione and the other canon characters are all parents and in most cases grandparents by this point. It was really, really difficult to keep up with all of Molly and Arthur's children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. In the end, I cribbed together a family tree I could refer to.

I spent an awful lot of time agonizing over Harry's voice as I wrote this story. I wanted him to be perfect. Well, I wanted *everyone* to be perfect, but he was at the top of the list. Selling him was the key to everything, I thought. If Harry didn't sound right, nothing else was going to be believable.

I'm glad you like the end, where Harry was agonizing over her death. It wasn't much fun to write, very emotional. But it seems to connect really well, so that makes it worth it. Mostly, anyway. ;)

Ginny and Harry had many good years together. Assuming that they got married around age 20, they were married for 40 years before Ginny's untimely death. Long enough to raise children and see all of their grandchildren born, as long as James, Al and Lily don't have any more kids after this story ends.

I'm so glad you like the story. Looking forward to seeing more of your thoughts and reactions!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Cirque Du Freak 

16th December 2012:
This chapter makes me cry without fail. Every. Single. Time.

It's around the time when Harry mentions Narcissa that I come to the conclusion of the horrible truth - suspecting it to be right, but hoping to be wrong. And then you go off to make Harry turn to look and its almost in unison that the breakdown begins and then you can't ever go back. Ugh. Why.

This review isn't going to be nearly as coherent as the last one, so I apologise for that. Even though there's just so much to say - there are no words to properly convey what I want to say.

Starting from the beginning, I really love how you name every single thing that Harry's been called throughout the entirety of his life so far. From start to finish almost its what sums him up as a character and as a person in as much as titles could sum up anything. I love the grandeur of the first sentence for it to only end in something so common and so normal - something that still evades everyone, because Harry's still a person no matter the way you look at it even though its hard to believe. It was an impressive amount of imagery and thought-provoking for a first sentence.

I like the way we're learning from Harry's life by what he's telling us and not what you, as the author, would include in monologue or even between a conversation between two characters. The way Ginny doesn't answer and it becoming a pattern, its almost as if he's talking directly to us. We want to break into his world and sit and listen to small stories about what his life's been so far and then further down nudge Ginny to speak up too so we can hear her voice.

I think, maybe, that's what made it so heartbreaking. You surpassed boundaries by making Harry talk to the audience, greet them like old friends who've been along for the ride for just as long as any other character has.

And its not even like we know anything of the history between Harry and Ginny in all these years, but its comfort and assurance to know that they're there and you allow the audience to imagine exactly what they must have gone through to get to the point they were at when Ginny had died. All the years of hardship and love mixing together until one day there's just hardship left over and you cannot possibly imagine the amount of hurt and emptiness someone feels when the person who's closer to you than the clothes on your back isn't there anymore.

If I didn't make this clear in all my rambling, I really loved this chapter just as much as the last. The built up to everything is agonizing, but its at a decent place - there's a lot of reassurance that everything's going to come together. What a powerful way you have with words.

And now I'm off to cry about how much I love this. Some more crying, that is, you can't ever cry too much about how great something like this is.

Author's Response: Honestly, if I read this chapter in the wrong mood, it chokes me up a bit, too. It's horribly sad and it sets a tone that persists, to some degree, throughout the story.

I think you picked up on the truth earlier than most folks. As far as why... well, it's a war story. And people die in a war. And I couldn't stand the notion of leaving the Potters and Weasleys untouched. It just wouldn't have been realistic. I love Ginny and Harry together, and it was a big sacrifice for me to make the story be this way. I like to think it made it all turn out better.

One thing I had to do early on in this chapter was ground Harry in time, because the prologue leaves it deliberately ambiguous. So this chapter unfortunately turns into Ye Olde Back Story Dump in places. I am glad you like the contrast between the simplicity of Harry's current life and the sum total of his achievements. That wasn't by accident.

I'd never really thought of it as Harry talking to the readers, but I guess in a way that's how it comes off. It certainly wasn't by design. Sometimes it's better to be lucky than good. ;)

Harry is still struggling badly with the grief and loss he's felt since Ginny's death. He's trying very hard, but in his solitary moments he still loses control. You'll see a lot more of his thoughts play out before the story is over. Suffice it to say that he's very broken at this point.

I enjoyed your rambling immensely, if you want to call it that. I find it really helpful to know what things resonate with a reader, what things make an impact. That way, I can do more of that in the future and less of the other stuff.

Aww... I hate making people cry, but I'm really glad you like it so much. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by LovlyRita 

10th December 2012:
Hi there!

Ugh, being in a sad and emotional mood as I am, this was just NOT the chapter for me to read :( Epic sad face.

At the beginning of the chapter I was kind of like...why is he referring to his grandkids like that when he's talking to Ginny? Shouldn't she KNOW whose kids belong to who? And then as I kept reading it all made sense. So with that being said, I really liked the way you introduced the characters and introduced us to the family. It was a creative way to do it, albeit a very sad way.

I also kind of like how you didn't have any of Harry's children become Aurors. I feel like that's such a cliche thing to do, and definitely something that I am guilty of.

Your description in here is perfect too, I love how he is just nonchalantly sipping ice water throughout the scene, having a conversation to his wife and yet to himself.

Though I will say I've finished the prologue and first chapter of your story and I still have no clue what it's about :P I look forward to finding out more, because I must say there are 2 things that really attract me to this story.

1) It's written by a guy, which to me is awesome. There are so many squishy romances out there, so many female writers that I love to see the characters from a male perspective. So that's got me really excited to read this.

2) One of my very very favorite things to read is the main characters in advanced age. Or at least some snippet of them as adults. That's probably because I am an adult so I relate to it more, but I just like to see where authors take it, so that has got me really excited to read on :)

Over all I really like it, brilliant job!

Author's Response: Hi, there! I'm trying so hard not to be terrible with responding to my reviews, but I so love the sight of them on my unanswered reviews page! Parting is such sweet sorrow.

Yeah, this probably isn't the best chapter to read when you're already sad. :( It's honestly one of the most emotional things I've ever written. When I was writing this, I knew that I had to make some hard decisions if it was actually going to be interesting enough to read. I love Ginny and Harry together, so it was a really hard decision to make, but I think it worked out in the end. Still, it leads to a lot of sad moments.

I completely agree. Stories where half of the Potter/Weasley family become Aurors are painfully cliche. I tend to imagine that after growing up and seeing the sacrifices that their father makes to keep the wizarding world safe, none of his children were likely inclined to follow his career path.

You'll figure out relatively soon what the story is about, but the complete picture isn't revealed until the very end. Many things are not what they seem. As far as your two points of attraction, 1) Yep, you caught me. I'm not exactly sure what constitutes the difference between male and female perspective, but I'll take your word for it. 2) My main attraction to writing a story in this time period is the fact that I've rarely seen it done. Also, it allowed me to expend the playing field to include a whole new generation of the Potter/Weasley family beyond the Next Gen characters.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Looking forward to seeing what you think when the plot really starts to take off. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ChaosWednesday 

7th December 2012:
Hey there, it's Whsikey from Holiday Review Swap!

This is a very promising start to an intense and mysterious story! I liked the fog in prolog, and the reference to Harry's earlier life that it presented. Him finding Ginny there was also a wonderful way to intriduce the second chapter.

I liked how you didn't try to hide the fact that something was amis about Harry's scene in the lawn chair. The sense of foreboding built up in the prolog was complemented by the fact that Harry was the only one talking, making it clear that the happiness described was a lie, but we, the reader, were just as willing to enjoy the illusion as Harry was. Basically, I found that these were some great structural decisions.

If I would offer any advice for improvement, it would be in the descriptions. Although you do successfully manage to create an image in the reader's head, it could be done stronger with the presence of more tiny details. For example,the lawn chair was a strong imaginational building stone, the lake, on the other hand, was more factual and was difficult to picture. Sometimes your sentences are structured in a very cold, rythm-less sort of way (most notably in the prolog), which breaks up the flow the narrative slightly. But only slightly. As I said, this so far is quite a nice bit of work and my suggestions would only make it go from good to great :)

Hope this helped a bit!
Cheers!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm glad you liked the way I set the scene for Harry. I didn't want to just come right out and start dumping back story on the reader. I really don't like fics that do that. So I tried as best I could to work it into a seamless albeit one-sided conversation between Harry and Ginny.

Descriptions weren't really my strongest area early in the story. Someday I'll come back and do a big edit on these early chapters. You know, when the new herds of plot bunnies decide to leave me alone. ;) I definitely appreciate your point, though. Reading other fics with intense, detailed descriptions really helped me learn how to add that to my own writing.

Thanks, definitely helpful!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Arithmancy_Wiz 

7th December 2012:
Hi, Camb. I'm here returning the favor for the Holiday Review Swap. I'm breaking my own event rules by reading and reviewing two chapters since the first chapter was so short. I didn't want you to feel cheated with a short review after you left me such a nice one yesterday.

I read bits and pieces of this story while doing the story checks for the Dobbys, but this is the first time I've actually sat down to read it just for fun. I have to say, so far I'm really enjoying it. I love the mystery you've introduced right from the very start. And even though we just get a small taste of him in the Prologue, I think you've captured Harry's voice really well. His somewhat flippant attitude about thinking he's dead again is so spot on with that dry, sarcastic humor Harry possesses in the books...along with his acceptance of his own demise. It's almost like it's a bit been-there-done-that for him. And the fact that he might see Dumbledore again making him smile...very touching. And in light of the next chapter, we can understand even more why Harry may be more welcoming of death than most.

Speaking of chapter two...another touching chapter. I started to suspect about halfway through that Ginny was dead at this point in the story, based on the one-sidedness of the conversation. Still, that didn't diminish the impact of the ending when it's confirmed. The carving on the monument, Fly fast, chaser girl, was beautiful and a perfect, simple testament to Ginny's character. And the idea of Harry spending his life up to that point surrounded by his family seems so fitting for a boy who had so little family of his own. Harry blaming himself for her dying is also so in character. Even though you haven't told us at this point what happened to her, it doesn't matter. Harry's the kind of person who would blame himself no matter the circumstances.

I can only think of one (very) small critique. There is a point in chapter two where the formatting of the dialogue seems just the tiniest bit off:

"Some muggle supper club is missing its most prominent eccentric," he mused to himself.

"I saw James's boy Artie on my way to the main entrance..."

I had to take one super quick second glance to confirm is was still Harry who was talking in the second paragraph. Maybe if the "Some muggle..." part had been italicized as if part of Harry's internal monologue, or you had something like "...to the main entrance," Harry continued... it would have been a bit clearer. Again, this is just a super small nitpick. It only stood out to me because the rest of the chapter was such a smooth read.

Thanks for "tagging" me for the review swap. I already thanked Jami for recommending my story to you. I'm so glad I had this excuse to read a few chapters of yours. Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hi!

First off, thanks so much for going the distance into the first chapter! I really appreciate it. I'm happy with the prologue, but reviews of just that chapter don't really tell me a whole lot. ;)

Conspiracy of Blood is, at its heart, a mystery. I'm really glad you cound that air about it. I spent a lot of time trying to make sure that all of the canon characters sound authentic for their age, which is obviously a bit tricky. Dying has sort of become old hat for Harry, so in my mind he would accept it with a degree of equanimity and some curiosity as to **what happened this time?**

Chapter 2 is definitely one of the most emotional things I've ever written. I am personally a huge Ginny/Harry fan, so doing this to them is something that I've honestly felt a lot of guilt about. So I try really hard to channel those feelings into making the story as good as it can be.

I think you're right. That quote would probably go better in italics. Thanks for pointing it out.

Jami is a big fan of your story and I always find that she has excellent taste. I'll definitely be back to read more!

Thanks for reading and reviewing and Happy Holidays!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>