Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
73 Reviews Found

Review #1, by victoria_anne 

12th April 2017:
As soon as I read misty whiteness, I just knew we'd be at Kings Cross Station.

This made me laugh more than it probably should have: ďGreat,Ē he mumbled to himself, ďyouíre dead again.Ē Poor little Harry really is beginning to form a habit.

Interesting that he should refer to Voldemort as Tom Riddle. But then, that's what he was calling him when they duelled in the final battle.

Aw, and he's hoping to see Dumbledore. I love that that's one of his first thoughts. Especially when it came before wondering what he had done to get there in the first place, haha! But seriously... what did he do? If it really is the gateway between the living and dead worlds, it's pretty awesome that he's still able to get onto Platform 9 3/4!

Oh, does this mean Ginny is dead too? I'm certainly interested in finding out what happens next! Especially since Harry can't remember the circumstances that brought him there! I don't think I've read your work before (something CtF is bringing to my attention) so that's something I'll have to remedy!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 

12th April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

Wow, I donít get out enough, do I? Doing these review events always gets me finding stories that I feel like I should know about but donít. While this story is a bit old, I feel like I should have been aware of it as a dobby and golden paw winner. Derp derp. Anyway, Iím here now, and hopefully I can read the first couple chapters over the next couple rounds of CtF

It looks really interesting to me that you say in the summary that Harry will lead four generations. So would that mean Arthur/Molly, the trio, the next gen kids, and their kids? Thatís quite an army, whether or not thereís fighting involved!

Your opening is very engaging - it jumps right into something interesting happening, and itís something that neither Harry nor the reader completely understands at first.

I actually caught on before you specified that he was at the Kings Cross Station of the Kings Cross Again chapter in Deathly Hallows. I figured that out between the white missed and the tone of how straightforwardly he accepted the unusual circumstances without panic.

Haha, I love the humor of ďGreat,Ē he mumbled to himself, ďyouíre dead again.Ē Itís very Harry. It almost sounds like he may have ďdiedĒ another time since Deathly Hallows and itís just something he rolls his eyes at by this point. But no, you say that his last time here was in DH.

Oh thatís interesting, that he was on the muggle side of the platform. I wonder if that has special significance. Now that I think of it, Iím not sure it was specified in Kings Cross Again. I suppose both sides would look the same all empty like that, but I imagine since this is a place Harryís mind sentimentally generated, it makes sense that he would want to be on the magical side.

Does Ginny here mean she already died? I imagine Harry was quite death by his death here, if there are two generations beyond him. But I donít imagine Harry will stay dead for this story, which makes me wonder if Ginny is really dead or will be returning with Harry.

This is an intriguing start, and Iím interested to see what happens next!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lady Asphodel 

11th October 2014:
Hi! I've been wanting to read this for such a long time now, hehe. Now that I am, this prologue has really piqued my interest. Heck - when you requested the banner, this story intrigued me.

This chapter here made me immensely sad. I did take notice of Ginny not really being in the picture when I looked at the pairings... *sad face*

Again though, I am still interested to see how this goes... Even if this ends sadly.

In conclusion of this review, I love your style of writing! Very close to Rowlings, yet it's through your voice... your hands - ya know-...

Well... I am off to read Chapter 1!



- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Wow, if you remember back to when I requested this banner, I have to say that your memory is really good. Feels like ages ago.

It made me sad to write this chapter. Large parts of this story left me feeling sad, to be honest. I'll talk a little more about Ginny in my next review response.

I'll say this one thing about the prologue and I don't think it will ruin any surprises: the prologue is the first part of a scene that finishes in chapter 39.

Thank you so much for the compliments! And thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 

14th September 2014:
Hi Dan,

I wasn't kidding - I hit submit for my last review on Detox and then immediately clicked over to this.

This is just an awesome Prologue. The reader knows this. We've been here before, right along with Harry. It is warm and safe and hey, the last time we were here, we got to see Dumbledore, so it can't be all bad, right?

I love that Harry isn't bothered by being dead. He's very much like: been there, done that.

But what is Ginny doing here? I remember you left me some reviews early on that told me how attached you were to Rose Weasley, and I must confess that I feel particularly protective of Ginny. I hope you haven't done anything awful to her, Dan. I love Ginny.

Sorry this review is so short - but I'm on to the next chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yay! I've been hoping and hoping that maybe, just maybe, you'd want to check this story out. Even after all I've written on HPFF, it's still my baby, my first love.

I tried to make this prologue be nothing more than a teaser for what's to come. I picked a familiar scene and a familiar set of circumstances, hoping for a reaction very similar to yours. I want the reader to feel like they know the where and the when and have an expectation of what might happen, but they don't know the why.

Being dead is old hat to Harry. Which is somewhat disturbing, if you think about it.

So, what is Ginny doing there? Well, there's a short answer and a long answer. You'll find out the short answer in the next chapter. The long answer won't come for a very long time. I think it's best to leave it at the following: this prologue is the first part of a scene that's completed in chapter 39. By then, you'll know all you need to know.

Gah, so pleased that you're here! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan 

2nd May 2014:
Tag!

Wow, I can't believe it's taken me this long to read some of your writing; I've been meaning to do so for a long time!

From the very first sentence I could tell where Harry was, so impressive job on setting the scene with only one sentence. I like how Harry's not really too bothered about being dead, since he's been here before, and just kind of waits around to see what's happening. I guess he's in no hurry.

Interesting that he can't remember how he died, though. Or perhaps he isn't dead, because I can't imagine you've written a 40 chapter story about someone who's already dead. Maybe he's just standing in King's Cross after some rebellious teenagers have vandalized the clock and stolen its hands, and poured Bolivian Instant Lightness Powder everywhere, which is probably something like Peruvian Darkness Powder, only with an opposite effect.

Or I could just read to find out, because I'm probably wrong. Anyway, this prologue raises SO MANY QUESTIONS and it's basically brilliant. I will definitely be continuing reading this! Great start!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Wow. That's a pretty impressive draw from the first sentence. I'm glad you liked Harry's fatalism about being dead... again. It's a part of his personality that always sticks out in my head when I'm writing.

He can't remember how he died *yet*. The scene you see in the prologue is actually the first part of a scene that plays out in chapter 38. There are good reasons for what's happening here, but I can't tell you any of them without ruining the rest of the story.

If you have a lot of questions then this prologue accomplished its intended purpose. I hope you get a chance to read more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by writeyourheartout 

11th April 2014:
OH MY GOD, WHAT'S HAPPENING?

Ah, wait, hold on - let me backtrack for a second: Hi Dan! Just thought I would stop by and help you on your journey to that elusive 1,000 reviews mark! You're so close, it's crazy! And now that I've begun reading this fic, I can absolutely see why it's racked up such a huge following! I've only just begun and already I'm loving it. So onto the actual review, now, yes? ^.^

Wow, what a prologue! Where do I even begin?

I love the opening, the sort of soft mystery. It's not a panicked onslaught of handfuls of characters mid-attack with a thousand things happening around them and none of which I would understand, but it's a gentler introduction to the world we're about to experience, which makes it just as intriguing, but easier to follow. I much prefer this sort of introduction to the crazed, high-energy ones that throw you into some high-stakes scenario and then cut you off with too many things to wonder about - I tend to feel overwhelmed with the quantity of information I'm meant to contain and usually just forget the scene entirely, but this prologue leaves us with the same sort of mystery, sans the overwhelming case load to try to remember. It's all a balancing act and you've done it fantastically!

""Great," he mumbled to himself, "you're dead again."" - Hahaha! I actually laughed out loud when I came across this line. Too funny, and I love when stories tie back to canon moments in this way; it makes the story in its entirety feel so very authentic and plausible. I also love when stories that are generally darker and more intense fit in these small moments of humor to lighten it up now and again. And this is just the prologue! Ah, I'm very excited to read on. ^.^

"He thought that perhaps he would get to see Professor Dumbledore again and it brought a smile to his face." - Awww, this breaks my heart a little (in a good way, of course ;)).

"He noticed a clock on the wall that unfortunately seemed to be missing its hands." - Is this meant to sound creepy? Cause it's giving me the creeps... haha A handless clock - a clock without a time... HE'S DEAD, ISN'T HE? CAUSE NO ONE TELLS TIME IN THE AFTERLIFE, RIGHT? *shakes fist*

Oh man, Dan! Is this really death?? Harry's no help at all - he can't even remember how he ended up here! I'm trying to consider a scenario in which he ended up at an empty and silent King's Cross Station, surrounded by nothing but eery white mist and a clock without a time, and I just have no clue how he could be alive under these circumstances! But then part of me is all like, 'Well, Dan probably wants us to think Harry's dead, which means he can't be! It's just meant to seem that way, right?' Ugh. I don't know, my head's spinning.

And then Ginny shows up! Of course, this too is no help at all, thank you very much! Is she dead, too, then? HOW DID THEY GET HERE, DAN!

In case you can't tell, this short, sweet, and precise little intro has stirred up just a whole plethora of questions and intrigue in me, which is really just phenomenal. Nothing better than beginning a new story and feeling immediately pulled into it! It takes a lot of talent to pull that off, too, so kudos to you! Again, it's right back to your ability to balance. I've always believed that the mystery genre must be the most difficult to write because you have to give us enough to keep us interested, but not so much that you give yourself away. I can already tell the rest of this story is going to be just an adventure of epic proportions, and I really can't wait to dig in deeper! I've so many questions already that make me want to just shake you and yell, 'TELL ME NOW', but I suppose the better option would simply be to continue reading... And so I shall. :-D

It's a great start, Dan; it really is. I'll try to be back soon with another review! Only four left, now! Woot!

Tanya

Author's Response: Tanya! This is far and away the longest review I've ever received for a 500 word prologue. I love it!

I'm with you, I really don't like opening chapters that throw too much information at the reader. I'd much rather ease into the story and set the mood. In the case of this story, the whole thing is a mystery, so I thought a mysterious tone was the way to go.

That line is definitely one that I'm proud of. It just sounds like something Harry would say. He's so fatalistic.

Is he going to see Dumbledore again? Is he dead? Is Ginny? Well, all I can tell you without ruining the surprise is that the prologue is actually the first part of a scene that takes place in chapter 38. All of your questions and more are answered there, I promise. And I agree, the hand-less clock is creepy. ;)

If you have a lot of questions and intrigue, then the prologue has done its job. I didn't want to hit the reader with too much, just to pull them into the story by dangling a mystery or three in front of their eyes. I hope I've done the mystery genre justice with the story. Lots of people have tried to shake the truth out of me along the way and I haven't broken yet. Well, not completely. I confess to slipping Jami some hints from time to time, but she's threatening and scary. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by GingeredTea 

21st February 2014:
Well, this certainly has me interested!

Is Ginny dead as well - Harry almost acted as if he wasn't surprised to see her there although clearly he knew he was dead and that meant she was too...

Off to read more! I've been meaning to read this for ages!

Author's Response: Hi, there! Very nice of you to stop by!

I can't actually tell you much about why Ginny's there without ruining any number of surprises. I think the best thing is just to tell you that this prologue is the first part of a scene that's completed in chapter 38.

I am giddy! You're such a brilliant author in your own right, I'm very excited to see what you think! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by anythingcouldhappen 

19th February 2014:
Hello!

"Great, you're dead again."

Classic Harry.

I was already intending to read this because its one I've heard a lot about and I loved the other story I've read of yours, but that line just cemented my need to do it.

Harry would never be scared or angry at being dead or anything. Because Harry, at heart, is beautifully sarcastic. I mean I can just see him (but not Daniel Radcliffe because he is definitely not Harry in my head) rolling his eyes and thinking what a bore it is to be dead. AGAIN.

I almost never read stories with Harry as a main character, because I feel like no one is going to be able to capture him quite like JK Rowling did, and I sort of don't want that Harry messed around with. But I think that line proved that even though you aren't JKR (I think.) you have a very good grasp on Harry as a character and aren't going to turn him into anything abominable.

Also, this start in general is just awesome. I mean Harry's dead? What? Immediately that sets my mind spinning and wondering how on earth he's dead again, and will he come back just like last time? After all, the reason that Harry saw King's Cross was because he was at a sort of a mid point between death and life. And will he choose to go on this time? So many questions...and that's the best beginning to a story, in my opinion. Keeps me coming back for more!

All in all, I am very excited to read the rest of this. The best part is knowing this was just the prologue and that all the chapters are bound to be longer (at least I hope). My joy will, in all probability, increase exponentially with the word count. I'll try to keep my reviews from doing the same.

Then again, I've only read, what, 700 words? So who knows maybe I'll look back on this review and groan and shake my fist at all my gushing.

But I doubt it.

Sam

Author's Response: Hi, there! I'm really pleased that you decided to read the story and even better to review it. I love getting the feedback, even now.

I think of Harry as being very fatalistic where his own well-being is concerned, something that probably grew more pronounced as he got older. That line is one that I think -- hope -- makes a lot of readers want to read more.

I am not JKR because I'm not writing this from the sandy beach of my own Caribbean island, but I am really flattered that you would say that about my Harry. I try as hard as I can to keep him and the other canon characters true to the way I remember them from the books.

I don't want to ruin anything about the story for you, so I can't really comment on the particulars of Harry's situation. All I'll say is that the prologue is the first part of a scene that continues in chapter 38. So you'll find out... eventually. ;)

I'm very excited to see your reactions to the rest of it. Even a year and a half after marking it complete, this story is still my baby and my first love. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by blueirony 

18th February 2014:
Okay. So I'm pretty sure that during the time between my last review and this one, man had its first flight in an aeroplane, we got people on the moon and colour TV first came to our screens. So bear with me if I'm not very good at reviewing.

What I liked most about this prologue is that it was exactly that, a prologue. You just dove straight into the story and simply told the reader what was happening. I like that kind of writing. Sometimes getting too much backstory or introductory paragraphs have me remembering that I am reading. And I don't want to remember that. I just want to be immersed in the story. And that's what I was in this.

I like how you took us back to King's Cross. It was something familiar. And I really hope that I might finally understand just what happens in this psuedo limbo place that is King's Cross. I'll just have to read on and see!

And THEN you brought in Ginny. No! No, no, NO. When I set out to read this, I didn't anticipate having to deal with a dead(?) Ginny! You can't DO that! You have to give us some warning. Ginny is NOT supposed to be dead! Because that means that Harry is in mourning and we lost her and she is amazing and oh my god why would you do this to us no no no no NO.

Argh. Well. Now you have me hooked. I hope you're happy with yourself.

Author's Response: I am so pleased with myself that I'm **giddy**! Giddy, you hear me?

It seems as though reviewing is like riding a bike. You definitely haven't lost your touch. To wit, I'm smiling from ear to ear. :)

I wanted to keep the prologue very short, very simple and very mysterious. Just enough to whet the appetite and not a bit more. There's plenty of time for back story and such later on.

King's Cross is where things always begin and end, isn't it? I love every metaphorical angle of the place.

I don't want to spoil anything for you so early in the story. All I'll tell you is that this prologue is the first part of a scene that's completed in chapter 38, just before the end.

Like I said, I'm quite happy with myself. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unwritten Curse 

15th February 2014:
Hiya! Here for the Review Tag. I noticed that you had written a Dobby winner and had to come check it out (I plan to leave you two reviews since this chapter was short).

First, I have to tell you that I laughed aloud at the "great, I'm dead again" bit. Oh, Harry. I could almost hear him saying that, so great job with characterization and with making a could-be-overly-dramatic scene into a humorous one. I appreciated that.

I'm intrigued that Ginny is here! I'm sensing that they haven't seen each other in a while from the way he ran to embrace her. I may be way off here. But something interesting is happening and I'm looking forward to discovering what.

Way to hook me from the very start! I look forward to the second chapter.

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hi, there!

That line was quintessentially Harry to me. He's so fatalistic about things.

I can't really tell you why Ginny is there without spoiling a lot of things. This prologue is actually the first part of a scene that takes place in chapter 38. I hope you get to read it at some point.

I'm glad that you feel hooked! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Sharvi 

2nd January 2014:
I started reading it!! So excited because I'm actually looking forward to story about the Trio =)

Author's Response: Yay! I'm very excited, as well. I always love getting new perspectives on this story. It's still my proudest contribution to the HPFF archives.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by randomwriter 

1st November 2013:
Hello CambAngst :)

When I saw you on Review Tag, I immediately posted below you because I've been wanting to read your work and it's a shame that I haven't gotten around to it earlier! A lot of people have been telling me to read Detox, actually, so I almost did, but then I looked around your page and found this. The summary, the banner and the fact that you've won a Dobby for this drew me in, to be honest. You might not notice this review, but after reading this chapter, I can tell you that I will certainly leave you 41 reviews. Which means that when I'm done, this'll be on 999 (if I've done my math right, which is often not the case! :P). That is, if nobody else sneaks in a review and I highly doubt that.

Okay, I'm supposed to be leaving a review, not getting all rambly and doing math. I'm sorry! I'll get on with it.

I love how you've set this up and I can tell, straight away, that I haven't read anything like this. I'm curious to see where this goes, and I'm wondering if your story takes off with him already being dead, or will we see some of him alive as well... Guess I'll find out as I read this. (I'm kinda stating the obvious, right? :P)

I really really like how you've written Harry. I think it's really hard because the entire series is based around him and there's so much that's already been said (and written). Slipping into JKR's shoes is certainly no easy task, but I think you handled it extremely well!

This chapter has given life to many questions in my mind. I'm wondering if Harry is actually dead. I was also wondering when exactly this happened and why he hadn't brought up any of the Weasleys and all that, and then you introduced Ginny, which made me think that she too is dead, which could imply that this takes place much later than I initially imagined. Oh, to say I'm very VERY intrigued, would be putting it all too mildly!

Excellent start. Very original. Very interesting!

You had me hooked from the start and I know I'm going to love this story. Great work! I thoroughly enjoyed it :)

Adi :)

Author's Response: Hi, Adi! I've seen you around the forums quite a bit, so it's nice to make your acquaintance.

I always love finding a new reader for CoB. It was my first work published on the archives and I'm still quite attached to it even though it's been a little over a year since I marked it Complete. I really do hope I'm able to get to 1,000 reviews, but if I was on 999, I could probably handle that as well. ;)

Part of the reason I wrote this story was because I hadn't seen one like it. The time period that it's set in and the way that characters (canon and original) from four generations of the Weasley/Potter family play a role in the story is -- I hope -- kind of original. At any rate, it was a lot of fun to write... most of the time.

I really don't want to give away too much at this stage of the game, so I'll just tell you the following two things: First, there is a reason why both Harry and Ginny are at King's Cross. Second, the prologue is the first part of a much longer scene. The rest of the scene is in chapter 38.

I'm glad you find it intriguing and I really hope I'll be able to keep your attention. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by APerkins 

20th October 2013:
Ooh, I love this start. I'm hooked. Now will just have to keep going, such a shame, really!
I dont know what I could possibly say that the 63 others haven't, but it is messing with my head cannon Harry to have Harry saying "great, you're dead again" instead of "great, I am dead again" because I've never thought of Harry as one of "those people" - you know, who refer to themselves in the 2nd (or 3rd!) person.

Also, I review tagged you with this, but this is NOT a review worth a tag, and I want to read some of your stuff anyway, so Ill just keep reading and reviewing (this time something active!)

Author's Response: Hello, there! You know, when you play review tag, it's a little like rolling dice. You never know quite what you're going to get in return. Sometimes you crap out and sometimes you go on a big winning streak. I am oh, so pleased to say that this time was a huge winning streak!

You know, I don't really think it matters whether a reviewer comes up with anything new or different to say from the ones that reviewed before. I just like knowing what each reader thinks, and what things they react strongly to. It's always interesting to get an idea of how a chapter plays out in another person's mind.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it enough to want to see more! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirl 

21st August 2013:
910 reviews! HOLY HANNAH! That, my friend, is a whole heck of a lot of reviews. You probably won't even notice these ones sneaking in... And looking at the number of chapters on this story, this might take me a while. hehehehe

Now, on to your story.

Harry has developed quite the blase attitude toward dying, hasn't he. Sounds like he could take a shot at a position on certain sci-fi shows where death is really just kind of an inconvenience. Really loved his attitude though. And his decision to just wait and see what happened.

Now I'm really curious, though. Why is he dead? Why is Ginny there? Is she dead, too? Or are they not-really-dead or just mostly-dead? And when is this happening? How much time has passed since the books?

Guess that's the purpose of a prologue. To suck you in with unanswered questions and make you want to know more.

Loved the description in here. You have a great talent for spinning words in a way to draw your readers into the story.

Be back soon for more! Great stuff, as always!

(P.S. Love the way you write Harry.)

Author's Response: Hi, there! I don't typically respond to reviews out of order, but I wanted to answer the subset of your questions that I'm able to without giving away the store. ;)

The prologue of CoB is the first part of a scene that occurs very near the end of the story, in chapter 38, if memory serves me correctly. As to why Harry and Ginny meet in King's Cross... well, you'll have to wait to find that out.

I'm really glad that the prologue makes you want to read more. That is, as you say, the purpose. Thank you for the kind words!

To complete my "responding in reverse order" response, I have been humbled beyond words by the reception that CoB has received. I never expected that so many people would find the story interesting enough to bother reading, let alone leave a review.

Thanks so much for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne 

2nd July 2013:
I really like this opening already, that was a good idea to have him already dead.

I loved the descriptions in this and I was just drawn into the story straight away. I know that I'm going to really enjoy reading this story.

I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really glad you enjoyed it. As far as who is dead and who isn't... well, you'll find out soon. ;) I'll only say that the Prologue is the first part of a scene that occurs near the end of the story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshp 

26th June 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag.

The title and summary of this story quite intrigued me and so I had to come check this out. This prologue was definitely very intriguing. I liked your descriptions of the surroundings, it somewhat matched JKR's style which is great. I also enjoyed how Harry seemed so mature and calm, you wrote him well. I was very much intrigued by the ending that Ginny is also there in "King's Cross". This prologue certainly is very mysterious and I loved it. Great job! I hope to come back soon for the next chapter.

Cheers
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi. Glad you liked the prologue. I hope you get a chance to read more.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Debra20 

31st March 2013:
Hey there Dan (I hope it's okai if I call you that)! I've heard SO much about this story that I decided to come and check it out. It's been warmly recommended to me many more times than I can remember, so now with some free time on my hands, I thought it would be the moment to start it. It's a very daunting story (I am still amazed you wrote like 200k words for this! That's crazy!), but I am determined to finish it, no matter how much time it takes me :)

Short but very eloquent start I must say. I was very surprised by the ending with the scene between Harry and Ginny. I think I gasped when I read it because the first feeling I had was that this was somehow taking place in the future of the story, where Harry and Ginny die, and the real story starts the next chapter with them back in time, remembering what happened...if that makes any sense. Let me just say this: I don't want Harry to die! I am surely going to cry if that does happen :(

I'm very intrigued by this project because it mixes a lot of themes I love about the books: that feeling of impending danger the war brings, love that helps you go through the fear, mistrust that war ensues and family. And this is only judging by your summary, because I'm sure I'm going to discover much more as the story unfolds. I know how much you love canon, so this story can't possibly go wrong! It received too many praises from a lot of authors that I respect to not be awesome, so yeah...I'm pretty sure I'm going to enjoy it as well :D

Can't wait!

Author's Response: Hi, Debra! If you're going to read and review, call me whatever you like! ;)

I'm really happy that you've heard good things. I spent around a year writing Conspiracy of Blood, and it's definitely something I'm very proud of.

The main purpose of a prologue is to draw the reader in, so I'm glad it worked for you. Just to give you a small glimpse of what lies ahead, the prologue is actually the beginning of a scene that takes place in chapter 38.

I'm so pleased that you've decided to take up reading my story. I'm really excited to see what you think. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Courtney Dark 

21st February 2013:
Tag!

Oooh, how intriguing! I am already captivated by this story, and I think I might just have to go on and read the next chapter! This was everything a prologue should be and more-it is clear that you have a great writing style that is hooking and captivating.

I already have so many questions, especially for a chapter that has so little words. The main one is: what is Harry doing at Kings Cross? Is he dead? Sort of dead? Something else all together? And what about Ginny?

Well, I'm not going to spend too much time waffling on-off to the next chapter it is!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Thank you for all of the kind words. I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and that you found the writing style appealing.

All of your questions are answered in due course, but I'll give you the following bit of information: the prologue is the beginning of a chapter that takes place near the very end of the story.

I'm just tickled that you found the story worth continuing! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotter 

15th February 2013:
Hello!
That was a really intriguing start to this story! I'm curious to see what's going on with Harry and if he's really dead again. That line was wonderful, by the way. I could definitely picture it being something Harry would say! And the end was really sweet, too. Maybe Ginny can tell Harry where he is? 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm really glad that you liked the prologue. It's short, but it is actually the beginning of a chapter that comes near the end of the story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

11th February 2013:
Hello!

I've been meaning to come and check out this story for a while and I've finally got around to it! Wow, just the prologue and you immediately have me hooked. I have so many unanswered questions already.

You write Harry very well in this. I love his reaction 'Oh I'm dead again' when he realises he's in Kings Cross. No panic, no stress just 'Oh okay.'

I was slightly worried though... he seemed to have no concerns for his family which I would hope he has left behind (I know that sounds bad but I just mean I hope all his family including all the Weasleys + Teddy etc etc are all okay!). He doesn't though, he just wonders around the empty station.

Then Ginny is there! Is she dead too? I'm guessing you won't answer that or will tell me to read on (which I most certainly will be doing) but I'm really worried about how this is starting - too many characters appear to be dead.

This was a really well written prologue though. The descriptions are fantastic, I can see clearly everything you write about. As I said, you had me instantly hooked and I was gutted the chapter ended there. Looking forward to reading more!

Lauren :)
P.S This is my 100th review :D

Author's Response: Ooh! So excited to see you here! I've been hoping that you might decide to check this story out.

The story is obviously very Harry-centric, although I tried to explore a lot of different characters at various points throughout the story.

I... um, don't want to say too much at this point about who's dead and who isn't. It would ruin the surprise. All I'll say is this: the prologue is the beginning of a chapter that takes place near the very end of the story. You'll recognize it when you see it.

I'm really glad that the prologue seemed inviting to you. And I'm honored to be the recipient of your 100th review! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Cirque Du Freak 

13th December 2012:
Hullo!

First of all, I need to say that I fan girl-ed so hard when I saw the review from you, because you're CambAngst and you wrote this big beautiful thing that, although I haven't reviewed at all (bit rubbish of me really), I've read like twice already and third time is lucky, because I'm reviewing it all now even I get killed in the process of doing so. And now to the actual review and proper relevance to the chapter!

The main reason why I love this chapter so much? Your Harry is basically perfect - just amazingly so, because, really, only Harry would say, "Great, you're dead again." and continue to roam around the vast expanse of white space everywhere.

And then to tip it all into your favour so that I click the two arrows for the next chapter? Ginny's there, of course. And whilst this is extremely cute and you feel all fluffy inside you almost make us forget to ask the question - hold on a minute, why are they both dead?

This is extremely light-hearted, but also kind of dark and sad because you have all the balls in your court and you can do with them what you will and that's terrifying! Who knows' what kind of afflictions you've stabbed all the canons with? We could be entering a story of bloodbath here where our beloved characters either just won't die and keep suffering agonisingly or else they're already dead and you describe it all in the most heart-wrenching way ever.

So basically we're at your mercy whether we like it or not and that is the kind of story I like to get into! You can count on me reviewing - your review was a great surprise and nudged me into doing the same! Even if it takes a while, you won't be disappointed! ♥

Author's Response: Hi, there! So first off, apologies for taking so long to respond. I feel badly about it, but at the same time it's been so awesome to see this hanging out on my unanswered reviews page. Parting is such sweet sorrow! ;)

I don't know quite how to respond to your opening statement. The first time I read it, I think I just sat there with my mouth open for a little while. Really? You think it's **that good**??? I have to say that I had a goofy little smile on my face for the rest of the day. It wouldn't quite go away, no matter what. Thank you so much for that. As an author, there's really nothing that means more than knowing that something you wrote really connected with a reader and they liked it.

I tried really hard throughout the story to keep all of the canon characters true to their original characterizations. And Harry was obviously the most important one of all. So I'm extremely glad you liked him.

The prologue is actually the first part of a scene that is completed near the end of the story. It seemed like a good introduction to what's coming.

Wow. It's been days and I'm still a little overwhelmed by this review. Especially coming from somebody whose writing I thought was really, really good. Thanks so much and I look forward to seeing what else you have to say!


 Report Review

Review #22, by LovlyRita 

8th December 2012:
Hello there!

Well I have heard so very much about this story, and it's decorated from the Dobby awards, so I figured i'd waltz on over here and give it a go.

Good introduction to the story, I'm not sure that I, as the 55th review, am going to say anything to you that you haven't already heard before :)

I felt that it was a very mysterious beginning, setting up well for the next chapter. I can imagine it was probably difficult for Harry to be placed in this situation again, an empty Kings Cross station and an empty platform. The addition of Ginny is very interesting as well.

I look forward to see where you take this, I usually leave relatively detailed reviews but the simple, mysterious nature of this opening prologue has left me more perplexed and looking forward to reading on than anything else :)

Author's Response: Hi!

I appreciate your thoughts and reactions, no matter how many times I might have heard something similar. My favorite thing about reviews -- aside from squashing the occasional typo -- is finding out which parts of a chapter readers react to and what they make of things.

I hope you get a chance to read more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyFire 

5th December 2012:
Wait just a minute. They start out dead? I mean...but...and why both of them? Why aren't they worried about their children? Or everyone else? I mean...they start out dead? And shouldn't Harry be upset that Ginny is dead? I just...I guess I should read the next chapter and find out, huh?

"Great," he mumbled to himself, "you're dead again."-- made me think of Rory from Doctor Who. I don't know if you like that or not, but it did, and I love Rory so that's a good thing. :)

This has certainly sparked my interest though, so I'll probably be back!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

They start out... somewhere. A meeting in between, if you will. King's Cross is a place of transitions.

The prologue is actually the beginning of a chapter that gets completely much, much later in the story, near the end. You're definitely asking the right questions. But the answers will have to wait.

I haven't ever watched Dr. Who, the old one or the new one. Being American, it just wasn't that big of a thing when I was growing up.

I'd love to see you back again. I promise it won't take more than 4 or 5 chapters to get most of the answers, although you will find a bunch more questions. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Phoenix_feather123 

2nd December 2012:
Hi! It is Phoenix here from the Gryffindor review tread. I know you said not to tag you, but this doesn't really count as tagging, does it? :)

I thought this was really mysterious, and when you said kings cross, I immediately thought 'he is dead again?'

Though this was really short and a bit rushed, I thought this was really good and interesting, and I might come back and read the next chapter

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #25, by shadowycorner 

15th November 2012:
Is Ginny dead? But...but. -weeps silently-

I admit I wanted to check this out earlier, back in summer when I started reading Marked, but I kept putting it off because it was so long, wow, but I just had to come because Jami won't stop talking about how amazing this story is and you're an amazing writer and a dream reviewer and I miss the real mystery/adventure Harry Potter stories so much, so yeah, I'm here.

Now let me crawl somewhere and die because of that run-on up there.

Choosing King's Cross for the beginning was a great choice. The essence of this setting is so powerful, after all. I felt myself overwhelmed by many emotions all over again. I remember I was drowning in tears by this point when I read this for the first time. And I was also glad to see Dumbledore, even though his entire 'plan' basically made me very, very angry towards the end.

"Great," he mumbled to himself, "you're dead again." This is so great. I burst out laughing without realizing it. Poor Harry.

And now let me do a little scream, because why is Ginny there?? I was so shocked and just...well, I guess this simply means I have to read on!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I won't comment just yet on Ginny. You'll know soon enough.

Isn't Jami awesome? She's led me to several great stories so far. The reviewing thread helps, but I think she just has a nose for them, actually.

Run-on sentences are fine in reviews. I'm guilty of that myself on more than one occasion. ;)

I thought King's Cross was a good setting for this because it's a place of choices and transitions. And Harry is about to be confronted with a major choice. The truth about the prologue is that it's the beginning of a scene that plays out in Chapter 39. But that's a long way away...

I liked that line, myself. It popped into my head and I fell in love with it.

Well, if you're going to read on, you'll know very soon why Ginny is there. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>