Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by QkStephen 

9th January 2015:
This story really was quite lovely. I wasn't sure what to expect at the beginning but the excellence was apparent come the end

 Report Review

Review #2, by ovia 

18th October 2013:
u've got excellent imagination and the story is fantastic ! keep writing more stories

 Report Review

Review #3, by phoebe_s 

28th May 2013:
The best thing about this short story is the characters you choose to be on Hugo's "self awareness" trip. Scorpius and Neville are two characters that I love, but would have never thought of to have a close friendship and relationship with Hugo, especially Scorpius. Scorpius has been constantly written as Rose's boyfriend and such, but I've never read one where it's him and Hugo, with a personal and bonding experience.
I'm so glad you're the one who decided to change that up and write it.
I adore your Hugo. I've often read him as the annoying younger brother of the smart and talented Rose Weasley and as much as I love Rose, it's so nice to find a fic of Hugo... Finding himself of sorts. He's young and innocent and looking to prove himself, and I absolutely love how you've gone about writing his plot.
Your Scorpius, I think, is one of my absolute favorites, and I've read SO MANY of them. Neville was spot on as well.
Everything was superbly written, and you deserve every award you get!
Incredible job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hogwarts27 

7th January 2013:
Hi, well I spent the better part of the afternoon reading this story until I finished it. Let me say again the I'm not a lover of next gen, so it took me while to get used to these characters. On the whole, the story was very well-written, the descriptions vivid, and the characters thoughts and feelings well brought out. The plot was imaginative with a lot of interesting twists and turns that kept me wanting to keep reading to see what would happen next. You also gave the story a very sweet, heartfelt and satisfying ending.

I loved the part where Hugo was made secret-keeper. That scene had just the right magical feel. The acromantula scene also surprised me at first because they were friendly, but that just made me I'm curious to see how the story would evolve from that point on.

I thought your characterization of Neville was pretty good. The only thing that surprised me was that he didn't insist on taking the kids back to the safety of
Hogwarts after the acromantula attack, which is what I would think any school professor would do. But other than that he did what I expected and felt like a competent adult Neville.

I won't comment on your portrayal of Hugo, because I'm not a next gen fan and really dislike the genre. I will say that I didn't start sympathizing with Hugo until his real reasons for wanting the plant were revealed. Up until then I thought his motives were petty and frivolous, and he seemed like just a foolish teenager who was going to get himself and everyone around him into trouble. It wasn't until the story revealed his real reasons and personal feelings that I could empathize with him and actually start hoping for him to succeed.

I did like the scene where Scorpius knew about navigating by the stars. That's the kind of traditional study I think a lot of powerful wizarding families would expect their kids to learn. The HP books always gave me the feeling that there must be some special magic related to astronomy that was never explained. Dumbledore had all those curious silver instruments with whirling planets in his office, he had a watch that had heavenly bodies instead of hands, and the time-turners had stars cut out of them. So apparently the movement of heavenly bodies had some special magical power. I imagine any wizard who aspired to have great magical power would need to learn about it those magical properties.

The only minor drawback I noticed about this story, and this is just my own particular reading preference, is that I found the pace a little slow-moving. There was a lot of delving into the character's thoughts throughout the story, which sometimes got a bit lengthy for my own liking, but that's a point that will vary from reader to reader. Other readers will probably find the pacing just right.

On the whole, I enjoyed this story enough to read it start to finish all in one go. Your writing is lovely, and I enjoyed all the original magical additions of your own that you put into the story. You've built on that world we know from the books, to take your readers to new places of magical interest, and your story plot evolved in unexpected ways that kept us engaged. It's certainly a story you can be proud to have written, and one that readers will be delighted to have read. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by coolsilver 

17th September 2012:
I loved this.
You have such a talent for writing, and showing us the characters in such a way, that lets the reader into their world, while still retaining their enigmatic qualities. Neville, as the understanding, exasperated, friendly professor that was once where Hugo was, and Scorpius-with the Malfoy name that will follow him all of his life, betwixt and between the two, and Hugo.
I believe this is the first story that I've read that displays Hugo as the believable, unusual, very quirky, young, and searching son of two of the Golden Trio.
Hugo is the outcast we all know, still searching for their place in the world, perhaps under pressure from their families, and others who expect them to be something, even though they have no clue where, how, and what that will be.
You showed us a small part of Hugo's journey to finding his place. Hugo didn't grow up in this story, and he didn't find his perfect niche in the world, but you know what? He was most certainly on the way there. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by hdawg 

15th August 2012:
The epilogue :( the end of a wonderful adventure with the best bromance the HPFF world has ever seen. Gosh I am so sad. I am going to lose my Hugo :(

"Hugo's sense of direction was still so impaired that he could end up in an empty classroom on the fifth floor and think he was showing up for Double Potions." And they trusted this boy to find them this wonderful magical plant? Will they ever learn?!

This boy is all I will ever need to make me feel better: "I am a hound, enjoying the winter sunshine! Hugo thought, bouncing a bit and tripping, falling into the snow. I am a small child on the way to have a birthday party! He got up and ran, arms akimbo, lifting his knees higher so he wouldn't trip again." He very aptly describes himself as a 'small child', and every single thing he does is like a birthday party to him, isn't it? Honestly, I've never met anyone who gets so excited about /life/.

You have broken me, Lily, completely broken me: "I was going after the fruit because it was a myth. It was impossible to find. My parents did lots of impossible things, and they're important people. I thought, maybe, if I could do something impossible, I could prove to myself that I was...important, too."

This boy means more to me in this moment than he has in this entire story (save, perhaps, for when he tried to kill the nymphs after they hurt Scorpius. I don't think my heart can quite live that one down :(): "Hugo, who was now coating himself over in snow and shouted to Neville, when he saw him watching, "I'm a snowman! Don't I look just like a snowman?"

And it's finished :( I am so sorry it has taken me forever to read this, I feel like such an awful friend now. But I have read it and am so happy that I did so :) it is definitely one of the best stories I have read on HPFF, and there is no doubt that you deserved that Dobby.

Once more, I would just like to say that I am so pleased that you decided to write this. You are a truly extraordinary writer, your descriptions are so rich and vivid that I could actually imagine myself with Hugo, Neville and Scorpius in every situation. Every word added a new layer to the picture, and every picture was beautiful.

Please, never stop writing. You have so much talent.

Lots of love, your friend,
Hannah ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by patroni 

16th June 2012:
I really liked this! It was so creative and new and warm. It took a while to get used to because I hadn't read any Hugo-centered fics before, and certainly not one with these three in the lead, but the characters and the dynamic between them really grew on me. I loved all three of them, though it's Hugo's cheeks that I'll be pulling. :)

And his internal thoughts: brilliant! I loved his bit-by-bit calculations of What That Look Means, but his commentaries on Scorpius takes the cake:

'It hadn't occurred to him before that this might be a very horrible place for Scorpius to be again. How brave! What a Gryffindor!'

'Man, he is silent and deadly, Hugo thought, looking at Scorpius from the corner of his eye. I had no idea he was coming and then wham! he was there. And then he was gone. It was like--wow.'


And my favourite (there's nothing like random, poorly-timed, naive, misdirected concerns):

'I wonder if I made Scorpius do an illegal thing.'

Hugo becoming the secret-keeper for the lake is the perfect end to his story. I thought, when they were sitting around in Neville's office discussing whether to open the silver box, that he would say 'Quidditch! Let's play Quidditch!' or something like that, but this was so much better. And my stand-out moment was when you got Scorpius to say the line that gives this story its title. You crafted and timed it so well that when he uttered the words, I got goosebumps.

There's so much more to like- Neville and Scorpius' conversations about Hugo (having them say the same things at the same time, in one of the earlier chapters, was a neat way to establish the chemistry), Flitwick's general battiness, the unicorn ruse, the way you've titled the story. My only criticism is your use of 'anyways' because it always makes me shift in my seat a bit. But if you've written a twelve chapter story, and the only thing I've got to say against it is 'drop the s', that's pretty cool, no? :)

Thank you- I had loads of fun!

Author's Response: Ahhh. I always feel this warmth as well coming back to read reviews on this story--it's been /such/ an adventure for me, myself, and I always enjoy hearing what people thought of it. I'm sure there are other fics out in the archives that are like this but it always seems like people are coming across this as their first Hugo-centric fic. I find that interesting and a bit concerning because I've presented a quite...particular vision of him. But anyway--now to your review, which is fantastic and made me laugh several times because you're so good at understanding what I was doing with Hugo's commentary.

I think Scorpius is quite a mystery to Hugo. Here's Scorpius who's single-handedly defended the Malfoy name and restored it some of its good rep, and then, on the complete other hand, maybe even on another body, here's Hugo, who's single-handedly caused every professor to wonder whether or not the brains of Hermione Granger were all just a fantastic dream. With that in mind I had a wonderful time writing from Hugo's P.O.V. where Scorp-o in particular is concerned. You've made me actually want to go back and read my own story because I have realized by reading reviews that these characters really have become their own selves, totally outside of my own understanding or control.

"There's nothing like random, poorly-timed, naive, misdirected concerns." IT MAKES SO MUCH SENSE THAT YOU LIKE THIS FIC, THEN ♥

I won't lie and say that secret-keeper had been a plan all along. It sort of came on me half-way through one of the chapters, because I remember hardly being able to map out what would happen between then and the time I could write the secret-keeper scene. It was really emotional for me as a writer, because it meant that, one, my story was ending, and two, Hugo was finally getting what he wanted most of all, which was recognition as a viable human being with responsibility and /value/. And Scorpius /had/ to be the one to say it! He sort of balances the crazy out, though he is quite mad, in his own ways. I remember getting several reviews on that chapter where readers were telling me they finally /got it./ It was quite rewarding.

It's funny to think about now, because of course it would seem strange for Neville and Scoprius to form this bond--Neville /hated/ Draco, and vice-versa obviously--and then there's the age difference, and THEN, on top of everything, they're bonding over Hugo, /Hugo/ is the thing they have in common. It's crazy! But when I was writing it, it didn't seem that way. Flitwick became batty because I needed a reason for Neville to take matters into his own hands, so to speak, but I liked him that way and after I got some good reviews on him, it stuck. I don't know if you've seen the sequel but you obviously saw the aptly-titled "unicorn ruse," which was a LOT of fun.

I noticed that I was using "anyways" pretty early on, and then of course I've edited this story a couple times, and I don't know if there's a real reason I left it in. Actually, I'd know if there was, so there isn't one. I'm not sure, perhaps if I go through and read/edit this again I'll take it out, if only to make it easier for readers like you to read :) And yes, I think you're being a lot nicer than the story deserves in reality, but that seems to be a general trend with reviews in this story, and I'm not complaining!

Thank YOU so much for your review--it's so perceptive and well-put, I'm glad to have been able to write something that you enjoyed :)

-lily


 Report Review

Review #8, by AC_rules 

10th April 2012:
Okay, so now I'm finished I'm going to leave a nice long proper review because, well, I feel strange leaving short reviews - it's all unnatural and weird and I feel like I'm being a bit lame, so a long review at the end feels like a fair compensation for the lameness of the rest of this.

OKAY SO I LOVED THIS.

I mean, I knew that I'd love this. I've had a lot of people who I think a lot of recommend this story and the first few chapters were really fantastic, and I'm just gutted that there was too much going on in RL for me to have read it all in one go - although I think if I'd done that I probably wouldn't have reviewed every chapter, because really I am rather bad at that sort of thing. I wrote a blog about how there should be more stories about friendships and several people recomended this then, which is completely spot on being the Neville/Scorpius/Hugo dynamic is just so perfect and spot on and lovely that it makes my heart warm. Plus, they do have so much in common and quite the understanding of each other Scorpius and Hugo less of Neville because, well, he is their teacher and despite going off on a little adventure with them he held the boundary their quite well.

Hugo is one of the most lovely characters I've read about - the sort of /differentness/ that he has, because some people are like that. I know a few people who just seemed to be on a completely different wavelength, and, well, he was just so well done and lovely and believable and I just loved him to bits.

Plus, I think you really captured the whole air of adventure that Harry Potter had in the first place. I miss that in fanfiction, the excitement and the magic... and you really brought that back and I loved it.

And I think it's well and truly proved that Herbology is not boring.

So, I loved this to pieces basically and I'm sure one day I'll be heading towards the sequel when I have time again. But, honestly, this was wonderful :)

AC

Author's Response: I'm the same way! I leave these huge monsters that people can't even answer because it's like the whole length of their one-shot lol.

I say this ALL THE TIME but I really am just so surprised but so pleased that people actually enjoy my writing. Mostly, with this piece, it really gained a life and voice and momentum of its own, though. I'm bad at remembering that I write in part because writing itself suggests an audience. The quieter part of me wants this audience. The part I most often hear is write to heal yourself. Write to enjoy yourself. Write to not blow up from the force of all the stories inside of you. But really, it's people like you who take time out of their busy lives and schedules and come to really invest in a work of literature that give that quiet part of me a voice at all.

When I set out to write what people have lovingly dubbed the "bromance," it was because I saw this story play out before me like a movie. I saw Scorpius ruffle Hugo's hair, I saw them wrestle in the snow, I saw them exchange sly grins when Neville exploded the canvas tent on accident and they almost died from the skewers shooting through their brains. I saw Neville being reserved but still full of sympathy for Hugo's struggles, I saw the side of his face lit up by the fire in the cerulean mornings in the semi-tropical forest, his brooding forehead and troubled eyes as he wondered why he was allowing this to happen at all, what it was in him that needed Hugo and Scorpius, too, needed the resistance of the vitality characteristic of their youth to help him revisit his own, reassure himself it had happened the right way. That he knew who he was and knew these kids could become something. There was an overwhelming pressure on him as the responsible adult. He was broody, he smiled widely when he did. I felt I /had/ to write this down. The story compelled me.

Hugo, well, he's dear to me. I tend to sort of be anti-social and I write Hugo with admiration of his willingness to march to his own beat, if you will. His flaws--of being totally oblivious--stem from this absolute truth to himself, which turns both harmful and helpful. Many of the struggles of my own youth are coming to terms with my being different, largely unknown, unpopular, nerdy, passionate, different. It sounds stupid, but I look very physically--er--remarkable for the place I live. Where everyone was tan and blond, because it was a beach town, I was incredibly white. Like white linen white. And it's dumb but I have always felt is is a physical marker of my being different than the people around me. I'm not interested in the things they are, I don't like to do what they do, I don't care about having a lot of friends, I wouldn't go to dances. Anyway. Hugo is also me coming to terms with myself. There's this whole other layer of that in this story which is unique to it from my other writing. Perhaps why, bizarrely, and against everything that I know, this story has stood out, in a way.

I'm so, so grateful for your reviews! In a way it makes me feel like it was all worth it, you know? Not only for me, but in a bigger sense. SO thank you, so much, for your time!

-lily


 Report Review

Review #9, by luna_lovely 

20th January 2012:
this story was so heart warming, i really enjoyed it, i will definitely be checking out some of your other fics!

Author's Response: aw thank you! i worked hard on this epilogue--a couple people who i had read it before this edited version went up can tell you i had some problems, too :P but i'm glad that it ended in a satisfying way to you, because that was an important factor i took into consideration when attempting to wrap major points up in this chapter.

thanks for reading, and letting me know what you think! your interest in my other fics is also something i appreciate :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by FoundriaPenguin 

25th December 2011:
ajsafjkds;jz BROMANCE.
everything is the same, yet everything is different. Hugo has figured out who he is. They're all having tea together. It's absolutely lovely.

Now I just want to say, really now that we've come to the end, how great of a story this is...there are so many plot twists and intricacies and little complexies...i could never DREAM of thinking up something so genius as this. I couldn't think of a story on the site more deserving of the Dobby for Best Novel. the fact that you did this and created such a wonderful story like this is so incredibly commendable. and if you could make a fanfic as awesome as this, i'm tingling with anticipation at the thought of you writing genius ORIGINAL fic. yeesh, loly. ♥ ♥

and i apologize in the most heartfelt way for not really supporting this story while it was in progress; i was too occupied with other things, evidently, but your novel deserves all the fangirling i can give. eek. ♥

so in short...
i love this.
and i love you!!! ♥

--jordan
(your TGS secret santa ;])

p.s. now i have to go check out the sequel ^_^

Author's Response: TEA. TEA IS THE BE ALL AND END ALL OF BROMACE OFC.

I can only accept your praise with humility. I can't honestly say it didn't all come out of a dream state. BUT YOU'RE TOO MUCH (h)

The originality--I don't want to come off very hipster or whatever since you know what a nerd I am and all but I just tend to be different than a lot of people; in that I never have wanted to write a romance novel, etc, I am weird and have strange interests. To me this was also about living vicariously through HUgo. You could say I separated myself into three parts and wrote this story as a way of finding out about myself, too. It wouldn't be amiss.

OMG WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT YOU HAVE BEEN SO SUPPORTIVE. Leaving reviews is not the only way of giving support to a writer; you dealt with my craziness, were friendly and puffin-y, and all manner of other awesomeness. I appreciate your fangirling SUPERLY.

In short: I LOVE YOUUU (h)

the sequel is waiting for you whenever you wish to visit more crack!non-crack :P


 Report Review

Review #11, by TenthWeasley 

25th November 2011:
I cannot even believe it. /The end/. Tell me when again that happened? I seemed to have missed it somewhere along the way. It's like, okay, she said the end, but let's just... continue on here. Chapter 13, here we -- oh, no, wait, there is no chapter 13. WHY IS THERE NO CHAPTER 13.

I guess now I get to go read the seeequelll. ♥

Favorite Hugo bits of this chapter (and you knew there would be some!) --

Hugo said, doing a little leap in the air

I am a hound, enjoying the winter sunshine! Hugo thought, bouncing a bit and tripping, falling into the snow. I am a small child on the way to have a birthday party! He got up and ran, arms akimbo, lifting his knees higher so he wouldn’t trip again.

Hugo, who was now coating himself over in snow and shouted to Neville, when he saw him watching, “I’m a snowman! Don’t I look just like a snowman?”

I know I've said it before, but I have no qualms about saying it again -- you have written, absolutely and unequivocally and without a doubt in my mind, the best Hugo Weasley on this site. He is the perfect mix of endearing and adorable and ponderous and sometimes exasperating, and you should be so, so proud of the boy you've crafted. I really think that JKR would be tickled pink to see what you've done with a boy who really only gets mentioned in passing in canon. He is just so AMAZINGLY characterized, and I do mean that. :3

All your characters -- Neville, Scorpius, the centaurs, the acromantulas, Flitwick, Rose, Marjie -- they're all elements to this story, and they help it build and form. You have a gift for characters and PLOT. My goodness, plot. I will say no more; there aren't words, you see. ♥

Oh my gosh, I sort of don't want this to be over. :( I'm having a bit of a panicky moment here. And I know that fairly soon, even with the sequel (WHICH I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT, YOU HAVE NO CLUE), I'll be returning back here time and again to re-read my favorite bits, because that is what this story calls for. And that is essentially what makes this story stand out from the thousands and thousands of others, what kept me coming back and what won you those awards -- its pure readability and re-readability. It's hard to obtain that; you have to have a natural sort of talent for it.

Which, of course, you totes do.

And so here I take my leave, on this last review of the last chapter of your first novel. :3 It was brilliant, Lily. You should be so proud, because I am so proud of YOU. ♥ Calling dibs right now on an autographed copy of your first novel.

Author's Response: I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT YOU REACHED THE END EITHER *LE GASP* MOSTLY BECAUSE THAT MEANS I ACTUALLY WROTE AN END.

I just love the image of Hugo running around, arms akimbo. Every comical character should have to do this at one point or another.

Your compliments are as always not things that I can accept without letting you know that they are just too much! But thank you all the same, it is so nice to know that a little bit of what I thought could be possible has become a reality and perhaps maybe more than I realize.

Plot is something that I'm not convinced I ever really had a good handle on. There is a magic to stories in that I feel like a lot of the important bits sort of write themselves and for me, although I knew where it was **generally** (waving arms around towards some distant, far-off place) that things were supposed to end up most of it happened when I actually plunked down and wailed a bit on the keyboard. So again, I thank you but hesitate to bask too much in the glow of your words :)

Of course I will give you a copy! I should probably just fly out there and hand it to you myself and live in a corner of your basement or something while I write it for support, because even though you can explain very concisely what it is you love about this the overall, overarching tone of encouragement throughout these reviews is really what feeds me when I feel like writing is one of the last things I want to do--which, for me, who identifies /as/ a writer, is surprisingly often. So thank /you/! I can't actually thank you enough.

(h) (h)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Toujours Padfoot 

18th October 2011:
♥ LILY ♥

I am SO glad I read this story. Definitely one of my all-time favorite fanfics, not just because of the amazing plot that whisked me off on an impossible adventure, but because of the rich characters you created. Neville was canon but so much more, and Scorpius and Hugo you built from the ground up. They feel like they could be living and breathing, and I know them so well. This will always be my canon Hugo. He's such a special character - there is definitely something about him.

This whole story was just so lovely. Once again, you should be SO proud of It's Called Adventure. I FEEL SO EMOTIONAL IN THIS MOMENT. You truly deserved that Dobby.

Thank you for writing this and sharing it with the world.



Author's Response: FIRST OF ALL CAN I JUST SAY THAT YOU ARE A WONDERFUL HUMAN BEING AND I CAN'T EVEN BELIEVE THAT YOU COULD PUT SO MUCH ENERGY INTO THIS STORY IN CONSECUTIVE CHUNKS LIKE YOU DID AND I CAN'T EVEN BEGIN TO THANK YOU ENOUGH!!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!! !!!

The things you say are things that I could not have ever dreamed of hearing when I began this--not even when I ended it. It is unusual for me as someone who keeps largely to herself to find someone willing to receive what I do manage to give so warmly and encouragingly and everything else that you have been. I appreciate it immensely, and your feedback means so much to me. I think you can understand this :)

So thank /you,/ toujourstroll, for all of your reviews. They are extraordinary and amazing and have made every ounce of energy that I put into this piece that I didn't think I had to give worth the toll it took in the immediate. You've helped me to feel like I have helped birth into existence something that has relevance that transcends our trifling differences--every aspiring writer's dream.

MUCHO LOVE PARA SIEMPRE


 Report Review

Review #13, by tydemans 

1st October 2011:
I'm quite sure the popularity of your story is why there's a Bromance Snitch and that, in itself, is fantastic. Friendship stories can get lost in the sea of romances. It's excellent to see them get some love.

Congratulations for that and multiple nominations!

Sorry so short, I'm making my way through necessary nomination reading :0 I'm woefully behind so it's a long list for me.

Take care!
~Ty

Author's Response: Hey, thanks so much for leaving me a review! I'm absolutely thrilled at how much unexpected traffic my story is getting--I can't understand where it's all coming from except for that I have a few really dedicated fangirls who happen to have seats in high places :P But thanks so much, I appreciate it :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by DetectiveMenace 

30th September 2011:
AWH NEVILLE! AW HUGO! AW SCORPIUS! Ahem, sorry about the caps overload there, but in all fairness, this story was a cute overload!

The premise of this story was so unique, I couldn't NOT read it! And now I'm so glad I did, because it's so stinkin' awesome! The characters, they were all so wonderful and kooky! The action was soo...action-y? It was amazing, is what I mean. And the plot was PHSOOW (that's good, by the way)!

Alright, I'm going to try to form coherent words and sentences here. TRY being the key word, there.

The Quidropopot (Merlin, I hope I spelled that right!) was such an interesting plant - the skin cures exotic diseases, the fruit contains a magical ruby that is capable of turning humans into gods, it's fuzzy...And the quest! So epic! Hugo, Scorpius and Neville have become my second-favorite adventuring trio (Harry, Ron and Hermione being my first)!

Hugo's personality was so odd; I love how he's awkward, but not in the 'misunderstood, angsty teenager' way. The drooling, the winking, dancing with gypsies in the Forbidden Forest, making hinky-punk lantern balloons, leaping out of the portrait hole - all of it, I loved. And his crush on Marjie! So cute, the seventh-year super-smarty-pants and the dysfunctional, drooling fifth-year. True love in its finest form!

Scorpius, too, was a great character. Going against his parents' expectations, putting good in the world, all that fun stuff! :D He and Hugo have the sweetest bromance since Frodo and Sam, or Harry and Ron. Or both.

And Neville, good ol' Neville! I've always loved his character and the way he noticeably grows in Rowling's books. Not much more to add to that, actually...Still love Neville, though!

The different places within the Forbidden Forest were so jaw-dropping! The sandy, tropical paradise in the middle of winter, the trees growing underneath a frozen lake, they were all so creative!

I swear, when the Acromantulas lied to Hugo, Scorpius and Neville, I actually felt betrayed myself! Oh well, that's what I get for listening to monstrous, man-eating spiders...Oh! And the wood nymphs IN LEAGUE with the spiders?! At first, I said "WHAT?! HOW CRAZY CAN THIS GET?!" But then, I thought about how all the forest creatures, more or less, worked together to keep the fruits safe.

And the ending! They really did come full circle, and I love it! *wipes tear* So beautiful, and it really seemed to wrap everything up! While at times, I got confused with the big paragraphs in between lines of dialogue, I still loved every word of this story to bits! Wonderful job!

P.S - sorry for going a bit mental in this review...:/

Author's Response: Bawww I abuse caps too sometimes! And no, don't apologize, this was a lovely review and it made my day :)

I'm glad you read it, too! Not entirely sure how the story came to me--but I know I knew once I had my idea I really wanted to read this story. So I was very motivated to write it.

Heee I'm so glad to hear all your exclamations...sometimes they're the best, though. Sometimes words just don't cut it :P

And I'm so floored to hear that--the second-favorite trio after HHR! That's a pretty good ranking! Scorp, Hugo, and Neville tell me they're so honored :D

Hugo was someone I wanted to be a bit of an exaggeration, but the exaggeration of someone I could imagine to be a fifteen-year-old boy. Often in stories by fifth-year boys seem more like men--they're Romeo's, conquering women, etc etc--but I wanted a real fifteen-year-old with real problems. I think I like the Hugo I ended up with, and I'm so glad you did, too!

Yes, Marjie and Hugo are quite the pair, aren't they?

I think Scorpius is someone who, going in again, I would have had a clearer vision for writing--I don't know if you noticed but he changed in terms of personality throughout this novel more than either of the other two main characters. I would write him more moody like he is in the middle chapters--a little more spacey like he is, there, too--than a hero of his time thing, etc, but everyone has these things in her writing that's all right even if she'd change it.

Neville--well, I tried to keep him as true to who I thought he'd become given what we know about him in the books. He's one of my favorite characters, actually, and always has been.

The Forbidden Forest has always seemed to me like a very emphasized mystery--and you wouldn't take such care to hide something no one would want to go visit, right? Still, it wasn't as much reasoning as weird little pictures in my head of what the forest would look like. I saw the river, tropical and all--I had such a defined view of the bridge of trees--and the lake where the Quidropopots are, I still see it, clear as day, when I think on it. Brighter-than-life colors, mountains in the background, all of it. And the Acromantulas--I'll confess that that scene more than others sort of unfolded as I was writing it. I knew that, in general, things were going to go bad--but that happened and surprised me a little, too :) It seems to me that sentient creatures would share an appreciation for the world and have a lack of greed; something humans aren't capable of. So they'd all work together to keep humans from messing up more than they already have, basically :P

I'm so glad you enjoyed the ending! I LOVED writing chapter 11; LOVE LOVE LOVE, mostly because I could finally see the end while I was there and also because I have always wanted to write the Fidelius Charm :3

As for the paragraph thing, I get confused when I read it, too, haha. I'm not sure there's a lot I can do about that because so much of this journey is also internal--but I have been going through and trying to break up larger paragraphs, although that doesn't help the space between dialogue very much :( All I can say is that it was my first big endeavor, full of flaws, and thank you so, so much for reading it and leaving me this review! I really appreciate it :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by padfoot88 

1st September 2011:
Loved the ending, it really was so fitting and i love that even though Hugo is still Hugo-like, you can still see those small changes in him, and even in Scorpius too! :) You have such a great writing style, and if you write anything else, you can count on having one devoted reader already :)

Author's Response: thanks so much!! i'm so glad it ended well for you; i wanted hugo to remain his goober-self because, honestly, he's a fifteen-year-old boy, the experience he went through isn't going to change him completely! it did, i think, help him grow up just a little bit, though :)

thanks so much for reviewing, and i'm very glad you enjoyed this story.


 Report Review

Review #16, by hpgrl 

22nd August 2011:
Great epilogue! its fitting to show that, underneath all the accomplishments and character development- Hugo is still distinctly...Hugo :)

I can't believe you finished it so fast! that's so awesome! I'm in total awe and I'm hoping to have the inspiration to one day finish a WIP as well. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Heee yes, Hugo's a teenager...so basically, it means he's still going to act like one :D

And thanks so much for all your reviews, they really helped me! And I'm kinda amazed at myself to be honest. Seeing as how most of my WIPs appear dead at the moment...but I know you can do it, because if I can...anyone can :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by MullenShetland 

21st August 2011:
This story has been such a refreshing breather from what I normally read and I'm not sad that it's over. I am completely satisfied with how this story went. From drooling Weasley to gullible baby unicorns, this has been a great read.

Author's Response: Aw I'm so glad to hear this! This story has been a huge part of my life for the past...what, eight months? I'm so glad that the ending seems to have worked for you and that you enjoyed it throughout! Thanks for reading and leaving a review :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemorefic 

19th August 2011:
AND IT ENDS WITH BROMANCE AND I AM SO HAPPY BECAUSE OF THAT AND FOR YOU LILY :3

THE TIE. THE TRIPPING. THE HUGONESS

A MILLION ♥ FOR YOUUU AND FINISHING YOUR FIRST, EXCESSIVELY-LONG-CHAPTERED FIC :D THE FIC THAT BROUGHT ME TO STALK YOU ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: GOTTA COME BACK TO THE BROMANCE, BABY. It's the story's strongest foundation, besides the characters' amazing propensity for almost dying.

I'll venture to say you know a little thing or two about characterizing, so obvs you understand the Hugoness's necessity :P

THANK YOU SO MUCH. THANK YOU. -creys- But fo realsies it's the best feeling. I'm also really sad and as soon as I finish my 1098574365 other WIPs I don't know if I'll be able to resist the urge for an accompanyment series of short stories of Hugo's younger years.

I LOVE STALKERS!!! I CAN NEVER THANK THE BROMANCE ENOUGH FOR ALL MAH FAMEEE~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review