Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PaulaTheProkaryote 

4th April 2017:
Hey there! Iím here to make sure Ravenclaw wins the CTF at HPFT/read your lovely stories.

Okay let's just address that I'm getting a strictly non-Gryffindor vibe from the Magical Law Enforcement Department. I mean just because the Minister was murdered doesn't mean it's fine to let anarchy break out! Or worse, cause the anarchy by setting the papers alight.

I love it. Just stunning everyone that couldn't handle themselves. Smart thinking. I hope the Aurors are all much more mature/sensible than general law enforcement.

It's true that his specific skill set would be fabulous for undercover shady government work BUT honestly it would have been great for undercover journalism too. Although undercover comedy writing probably not so much. Maybe for like a buzzfeed style section.

I feel like this kind of work day is what would lead up to Ron retiring to work at the joke shop. Iím getting a strong ďi cant evenĒ vibe from him.

Do they have a vice minister or interim minister? I don't know about that kind of politics.

THEY WERE FRAMED MY INNOCENT BABIES WOULD NEVER ASSASSINATE THE MINISTER. At least not without good cause.

I feel like Teddy-comedian extraordinaire-might not be the best interrogator. I can't wait for it.

Well okay but if she's already friends with malfoy or accomplices or even just generally knows him how is he going to make his behavior foolproof enough that she wouldn't notice! I love it. I'm excited to see what happens.
-paula

 Report Review

Review #2, by DragonPoxPixie 

4th January 2016:
I am aware that it has been a while since you have written and posted this story, but I hope you will enjoy another review nontheless!

I have only read the first chapter, so I cannot say much about the plot except for the fact that a) OMG this is unlike anything I've seen before and b) this genre and combination of characters sounds so promising!

But why I really wanted to leave a review is this; I absolutely ADORE you're writing-style. It compliments the main character so well and as I reader I immidiatly get such a good sense on how his personality is. Also, it appears to fit his function amazingly well!

I am very eager to read more so for now I'll stick to just saying to please keep on writing, wether it is Harry Potter fanfiction or anything else. I'll be sure to leave a more complete review once I have finished reading your story.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. It's so kind of you to leave a review despite my long hiatus. I do still check in often, but alas, my muse for writing continues to fail me. Here's to hoping it comes back!

I do hope you enjoy the story, and I hope to hear from you again! Thank you so much!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by woody12 

13th February 2014:
This is such a cool and creative idea! I love it!! I love Teddy Lupin! He's my favorite from the New Generation!! I'm really excited to keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #4, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

30th January 2013:
I'm really intrigued on where this story is going to go... Guess I better read on to find out! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad this story caught your interest, and I hope you stay with it! Hope to hear again from you soon! Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LyrisLovegood 

17th July 2012:
Hey I'm finally here with our review swap and I am so sorry for the wait!

First off, I've been meaning to read this story for a while and I'm glad I finally took the first step and read the first chapter. I mean who doesn't love a good mystery??

I'm so intrigued as to what will be reveal and who committed the crime. I especially love that Teddy is the narrator :) I love a good Teddy story and it's nice to see it not being revolved around Victoire.

Anyway great chapter.

Keep up the good work :D

Author's Response: That's okay! I understand things get in the way! So no worries there!

I'm just glad that you enjoyed this chapter! Thanks so much! Your input means a lot to me, and I'm glad you're liking Teddy as the narrator! Thanks so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Renfair 

17th April 2012:
Hey! It's Renny from TGS here for your reviews :D

Well, right off the bat let me say you had me laughing a couple times right in the first few paragraphs, so that's a good sign since the genre is primarily humor ;) It might take me a chapter or two to get into the time period, since I'm really not very familiar with Next-Gen stuff. So far I'm constantly going, "Oh yeah!" with details like Teddy being a metamorphmagus. It's been a while since I've read the DH epilogue, I guess.

BUT, the story! I'm loving Teddy's first person narration so far. His insert-random-observations-here thought process is pretty darn amusing. I think I might read him with an Eddie Izzard voice in my head.

"...so John Ruckman will be taking Rose to a secluded cottage in God-Knows-Where." --Um...that sounds really scary. Like Gitmo scary O_O.

"I'd done it all for my job. I'd worn the heels, and god-forbid, I'd worn the dress." --Yup, he's DEFINITELY getting the Eddie Izzard voice in my head now! (and just to point out you might want to capitalized the God. I'm not religious, so it doesn't matter to me if you do or not, but I'm just going off the fact that you already did capitalize it above, so maybe you just had a typo here :D)

"Merlin, wasn't there some sort of law against this?" --You would think so, wouldn't you? I would imagine that the use of Polyjuice Potion or other things that fully change your appearance should be *strictly* regulated, but I don't think there was ever a mention in the books of it being so. One of the many terrifying implications of the wizarding world.

I did notice a couple canon-capitalization things you could change if you wanted to be super nit-picky OCD about things. "Muggles" and "Beater" stood out (haha, or else it might look like Peakes was involved in some sort of enforcement for the mob while at school?! Eek!) Also, would "dudes" be a bit too American? Would "blokes" be better? I have no idea. Maybe the British do say dudes. Just a thought.

I'm really glad to see that you don't have Scorpius being a little Mini-Me-Draco. I get the feeling from looking at various Next-Gen banners on the site that that tends to be the general assumption about his appearance. It's nice to read him being set him apart from his father (especially if you are making him innocent and a decent person. I'll have to read more to find out, obviously).

Over all, a very fun and humorous start to your story! I'm kind of glad this is intended to be humorous because I don't know how I'd feel about having to read a serious Scorpius/Rose story. I will, of course, read anything and find the good points, but I get a little sick of the Dramione obsession in fandom, and Scorose is kind of Dramione 2.0 :) Right now the only time I can read is when my kiddo is napping or in bed, but looking forward to reading more at the first available opportunity! I'm going to shoot for a chapter a day. Hope you like my fic ok!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Elenia 

7th April 2012:
(Swap!)

Heey! So, I've been meaning to check this story of yours for a long time already, just never had the time. But this swap gave me the perfect opportunity, so I was really happy to see you 'volunteer' d:

And wow, I really liked this. Such an interesting start and a very good first chapter. There was so much action in it and so many things happened. They all made it really interesting and made me want to read more, so really good job on that!

I really liked Teddy's character! He's a lot different from the other stories I've read about him so that's a nice change. Also liked the fact that he's not automatically paired with Victoire but that they had a go and it didn't work out. That's how it goes sometimes (:

I also thought it was interesting to read this since I've read few chapters of your 'And Love Prevails' and this was very different from that. Nice to see you can be so versatile with your writing, that's a real talent.

Great work! Can't wait to read more (:

~Elenia

 Report Review

Review #8, by lizmusic45 

6th April 2012:
I should really punch myself in the nose for not reading this before hand. I really should, because I know your writing is well to say fabulous is a understatement, but I brilliant and wonderful don't seem good enough, so where putting all together to say you truly are the best writer the world has yet to see.

Now, as I was saying I'm really an idiot for not reading this before. I love all the Harry/Ginny stuff you wrote, I mean the best of me was just, just out of this world. I guess I should have figured one good story then all are sure to be great, but with a mixture of my life, and lack of time, it never happened.

I still need to punch myself because Drue, I know your brilliant and amazing and your writing talent is out of this world, but you never fail to amaze me...How?

I guess I need to one day sit down, and just read everything you've written.

You are great, never stop being great, and it makes me happy every day, just because I have the pleasure of knowing you :)

Lizzie

 Report Review

Review #9, by LunarLuna 

29th March 2012:
Oh my god! This is awesome!! :D Definately coming back to read the rest once I have time! I love the plot, it's super original: I know for sure I wouldn't've thought about it! And I'm curious about who actually killed the minister! I love Teddy already and I think you portrayed Ron and Harry really well. Loved the ending btw! ;)

I thought at one point in the chapter it was sort of getting long, but that impression quickly vanished. Just one question: How is Teddy going to act like him when he doesn't know how he is? Shouldn't he have let Scorpius talk and try and get the maximum information on his personality?

But I'm guessing that'll come up in the latter chapters so... good job!! :D

-June

 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotter 

11th March 2012:
That was an awesome first chapter! I loved the whole idea of an unsolved murder, and you've set up the story really well. It's also really cool that it's in Teddy's POV. I've never read that before! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddylover 

4th March 2012:
This is a great story. I'm confused if it will be a Rose/Scorpius but I guess that is part if the mystery! That makes it exciting. I'm looking forward to this story. I think it will be great. This is original. I'm surprised no one has ever done something like this with Teddy. I love him already

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lillylover22 

17th January 2012:
I love teddy. This story seems interesting. 9/10 : )

 Report Review

Review #13, by Houlestar 

6th January 2012:
Teddy's got attitude! I like it. I haven't read many next-gen fics, but none of them that I've seen have portrayed Teddy like this, and I really like this Teddy a lot. I've never before thought about the pressure that would be placed on him, but now that you bring it up, I think Teddy would probably be pressured into being an auror regardless of his own wishes. He's got a lot of big shoes to fill.

Teddy's description of his relationship with Rose was lovely. It feels very natural (It corresponds to how I feel about my much younger cousins) so it really struck a chord with me, and I have to say bravo.

This story seems very interesting. I've always been a fan of detective/murder-mystery/crime/csi tv shows, so I like the magical twist this story has on a genre I know fairly well. There's definitely a lot of potential here for a very interesting story and I can't wait to see where it goes from here.

While I understand why you've done a lot of summarizing, (wanting to get the story going) I really don't like it much. I've always been a fan of show-don't-tell when it comes to writing. I think that the story would feel a lot smoother and more complete if you fleshed out the beginning and maybe didn't rush through it.

I've got one plot-pick. DNA. Wizards have never struck me as being very scientific (more medieval), so I find it really odd that DNA was being used in the wizarding world. it just doesn't go with the setting.

Overall this is a very interesting beginning and I am excited to continue reading it. (Sorry it took me so long to get to it with the Review exchange.)
-Houlestar

 Report Review

Review #14, by HoneyDukesKid 

29th December 2011:
Great first chapter! I love Teddy's dry humor. What I also love is that, despite his ramblings, he still sounds like a dude; but you kept his voice constant throughout the whole thing. Kudos! I have a vague idea of where this is going (no, I haven't read the other chapter summaries, I don't cheat), but there are a lot of different ways to go and I'm pretty excited to see where you take this.

Again, great job.

 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyFire 

9th December 2011:
This is good! I love Ted already. And the plot already seems amazing! It's a really original plot to say the least. It's brilliant! I also love how you've done it in first person. I think it was the perfect choice for this story. And I just have to say, I love it! You've done wonderufully! and I'm sooo sorry I'm so late with this!
~Lily

 Report Review

Review #16, by angie123 

15th November 2011:
Hahaha, that last line. XD

So here's the dealio: Your plot is really amazing. It' the first chapter so I'll let you off easy for not explaining what's going on. I love the first person view and I'm starting to hate Scorpious already. But then again, it's the first chapter, sorry. It is NOT cliche at all. I have read a story where a minister or someone is murdered and there is a family member of the weasley, malfoy or potter clan involved. But this one gives off a diferent vibe.
I give this a 10/10. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by littlemisssnape 

3rd November 2011:
it's a very nice start. i'm continuing now.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Cassius Alcinder 

26th October 2011:
Cassius Alcinder here with your review!

The first thing I have to say is that this is definitely one of the more original plots I've seen, and you do a really good job of hooking the reader in right away and making us wonder what really happened.

I really like how you've portrayed Teddy so far. I think animophoguses and how they use their skills to their advantage is an underutilized area and I like the way you explored it. I also enjoyed Teddy's overall attitude and how that came across.

I also like your introductions of Rose and Scorpious into the story, its a daring new angle on them that's very nice to see.

This is a great start, and I'm very intrigued to see where the story goes from here.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Elysa Strink 

23rd October 2011:
The voice in this story is amazing! Love love love it! Funny, fascinating, and the promise of romance... what more could someone ask for in a fan fiction?

I'm so excited to read the rest, great job!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Cleopatraa 

22nd October 2011:
Not sure if you saw my blog yet but you won my hooked sentence challenge and as reward Iím going to review five times. Congratulations by the way!

Review 1

I loved Teddyís humor through out the first chapter. Even though there were very serious things going on I couldnít help to chuckle and the last line made me laugh even out loud. I really thought he was very witty and very funny. Also his nonchalant manner toward the whole thing really brilliant seeing itís the first time Iíve seen a fanfiction author do this, in which should be a serious fanfic. Heís a very likeable character.

Iím very curious about how Rose and Scorpiusís dna ended there and I do hope they didnít ended up killing him but in a way it would be kinda awesome as most people wouldnít expect it. The plot seems to be very interesting to me and I thought this was truly a fantastic first chapter.

 Report Review

Review #21, by AC_rules 

21st October 2011:
Okay - fan girl moment - this was so wonderful! Why haven't I read it before? I have no idea!

I love Teddy in this. I think his characterisation is perfect - the way he never really wanted to be an auror and the way you've made a point of using his metamorphmagus abilites (so clever, why doesn't everyone do that?) and his voice is just perfect. I loved the way he was complaining about no one doing their jobs, but he was just standing there.

The whole idea of this is just fabulous. I loved the humour - definately laughed out loud a few times. Especially about the catastrophe department and Teddy considering Rosie become a murderer (is she a murderer?)

Him having to become Scorpius is wonderful and oh I can't think of anything to fault. Having read some of your other stories, I have to say this is possibly my favourite actually (which is fairly impressive) and I don't think you have anything to worry about as far as 1st person is concerned - its beautifully well done and all together fabulous. I loved it.

Cliche? I don't think I could find one in this story if I tried.

Jimmy Peakes as an auror is wonderful, by the way.

Now I was looking really hard as I wanted to leave a nice constructive review... so I managed to find one single sentence which I thought was maybe slightly awkward.

Granted, it was the Minister who died this morning due to murder, but still.

^ I just thought that line could have been worded a little better, but that's pretty much the only thing I could pick out at all. Yup, you've officially blown my mind :D

-AC

 Report Review

Review #22, by Raine 

14th October 2011:
Oh this is awesome. I've never seen anything like it. Teddy is hilarious! I love his humor! He's so funny. I wan to see what Rose is like. Hopefully she doesn't just start making out with him! Haha that would be funny. 100/100

 Report Review

Review #23, by Raequinn101 

6th October 2011:
It is a very good start, you provided very good background detail on it, but not so much that we were overwhelmed and wondering where the story was. It was very balanced.

I think that it is very original, and that you make it so by putting in little character aspects of Teddy, like his ending comment.

First person can be both very hard and very easy. I thought that you did a good job, the important thing to remember is that in first person we see/taste/think whatever the character is. So if you think to yourself "oh, Teddy is upset by this," then make sure that he marks that in his thoughts/feelings. If you feel something in your daily life, then Teddy will feel those types of things during his life. So pay attention. If you notice something and have a mental reaction, then maybe mirror that in this story whenever he has something to react to.

very good start, though!

 Report Review

Review #24, by apocalypse 

4th October 2011:
Hey, this is apocalypse from the forums.

Your story definitely is original and Ted's character is amazing. He really is original, different from all the Harry Potter characters. I had imagined him to be serious and moody but your characterization has really put it all in new perspective =) The only other introduction here was Ron. Ted was definitely believable but I had a slight problem with Ron's character. I mean, we all knew him to be careless and shamelessly irresponsible a lot of times. Your characterization of him being in charge and issuing orders just didn't fit. It would have been better if he had appeared confused and baffled yet Auror like at the same time. I hope you know what I mean =)

I really liked the fact that Metamorphmagi were taken advantage of in the Ministry. It had a sort of real sound to it. Er, I don't think that made much sense =P. Anyway, I really liked the plot. It progressed nicely and loved that the fact that it was in first person. It's usually not easy to pull off first person but I have to say that you made it seem effortless =D

I also loved the part when he was trying to observe Scorpius. Scorpius sounded exactly like his father but without the sneer in his voice and it was nice to see the contrast and not an exact imitation =) Ted was horrified when he learnt that he would have to impersonate Malfoy. Hehe, this shows that he was indeed brought up by Harry and the Weasleys. =P

One part, that I did not get the point of. Why are wizards testing for DNA? Isn't supposed to be Muggle way of investigation? I mean, they're magical people after all; they should have an easier and far better way to investigate a crime involving magic..

Nice story and good start =) I don't think it's a cliche but I can't say much about that yet. Will comment on that as the story progresses =)

Author's Response: AH, thank you! I think you're right about Ron's character. I should have been more careful about that.

But with your comment about the metamorphmagi, thank you so much! That was really helpful and I'm glad you liked that point in there.

I'm glad Scorpius sounds like his father to you. I really was trying to make him that way. I dislike it when he just seems to go completely against the Malfoy ways. Sure, he's better, but he's still a Malfoy. So he still had to have some Malfoy traits even though I'm trying to characterize him as a better guy.

Ah, and thank you. Well, I figured there is still some sort of DNA testings to find out who did crimes, you know? Otherwise how would they know? It doesn't have to be muggle testing ways of DNA. I see the wizarding law enforcement department having their own ways of testing DNA to find out who did it. They have to find out who the suspects are, and DNA is the key that pinpoints a certain person. And another thing is that the Minister wasn't murdered by magic. It was a more graphic murder. This isn't explained in detail because it is from Ted's POV and he lacks knowledge in that department, but I did mention that it was a bloody scene. I hope what I wrote still makes some sense, but oh my gosh, thank you for this insight! It helps me to go back and clarify some things.

Thank you so much for all your help and the time you put into this! Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #25, by BellatrixLivesOn 

27th September 2011:
This is really good. I love Teddy. He is funny and really cute. Your chapter image is gorgeous. I can't wait to see how this goes.
I bet Scorpius did it. There's no way Rose did. This was so good. And really funny.
I laughed out loud when Teddy said he had become a woman before for his job. Hilao! Keep it up!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>