Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lolnaina 

28th May 2014:
i love this chapter! you have written really well and just...wow! but what you should is be more descriptive. not just about the characters but also about the scene so that the reader can imagine the scene in their head

 Report Review

Review #2, by A 

2nd January 2013:
My jaw hit the floor as I began reading this. You truely have an incredible gift for writing! I'm hoping this will evolve into a more stimulating plot line because in present tense but otherwise no complaints just beautiful writing truely

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you find the plot stimulating as it goes - I don't think I gave very many hints about what it really was about. All the same, I do hope you enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Giola 

15th November 2011:
Hey Celestie, it's Giola here with your requested review (so sorry it's taken me WAY longer than I intended).

I loved this. You have a beautiful way of writing, the words flow very easily. You intersperse dialogue and prose perfectly, and there wasn't a boring moment. There isn't a lot of plot, but you do do a good job of showing the central characters, and the beginning scene has me intrigued, as does Dom's illness. I expect things move faster in later parts :)

You do a marvelous job of characterising Rose. She seems to be quite a spiteful little girl, but you never say that outright. She seems to be very selfish, but she doesn't realize it. You did a good job at writing her, since you can't outright say what her personality type is, but only show it.

I can already tell from just reading this that you're well beyond the average standard of writers we see here, and it's a welcome change :) You write beautifully, and this was a pleasure to read. You create unique characters and portray them all so well, and they're all realistic. Nothing is overdone, and I have no real critique for you.

I also love how you show the developments of the characters, even just within this chapter. You see Rose as a mature adult, and then you see her as an immature young girl, and it's fascinating. You clearly have the characters well thought out.

Wonderful job, I'll definitely be reading on when I get the chance.

-Giola

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rose_Malfoy 

6th November 2011:
This is astounding writing; it reads like poetry. I happen to have an unfortunate habit of finding grammatical and spelling errors in everything but I didn't find a single one in this. Thank you for gracing this site with your wonderful ability.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have that unfortunate habit too, so I think it's what helped me edit this story! And thank you for reading and giving me a reason to keep writing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Aiedail 

1st September 2011:
Celeste-
I have been hearing absolute praise of this story and I shoved it to the front of my to-do list tonight because I finally had time to sit down and read it through, as I know was your intent for us to do.
There seems to be little need for me to say that your writing is so--comfortable. It feels very easy to read, and I don't mean that as a slight of any kind. It's like you can fall into it and it's soft like pillows. Or those big foam blocks they have in diving pits at the gymnasium. Yeah.

I can't be too coherent right now because I'm still kind of in awe of your story-telling skills. You've created this family dynamic that's completely realistic--you're written a mean narrator who isn't scheming about it, which is one of my pet peeves actually--it all feels natural. You feel the pull towards Dom. You keep waiting for Molly and Lucy to prove themselves. I for one really am looking forward to seeing how Roxanne and Rose are alike besides the obvious stoniness.

This is beautiful. I'm so glad I've waited to read it all, because I don't know how well I could stand waiting for updates. ❤

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lumos_Nox 

27th August 2011:
"And for what it was worth, there was me."
This entire thing...just, wow. I don't know how else to discribe it but...just, wow. Wow.
One of the best things I have ever had the pleasure of reading.
It left me breathless.
10/10, only because the rating doesn't go up any higher.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! Really, your review left me breathless as well. I'm thrilled that you liked it enough to review in the first place. It's reviews like this that keep me going when writing is hard.

 Report Review

Review #7, by justonemorefic 

18th August 2011:
CELESTE I AM GOING TO LOVE THIS. Dear god, only you can write 23k "oneshots"

I love your Rose. Absolutely adore her. There's an ease to hurting family when you're young and you don't understand, and I think you captured that perfectly. Even though time moved fast, I never minded and you track her growing up at all the right moments. And the family dynamics too of course. I don't think I've read any quite as perfectly characterized at this. Every bump feels like something I've seen or can relate to.



Author's Response: THANK YOU. Haha, and I guess so? I'm waiting for one of the Skypelanders to try it as well!

Gina, I love you so~ I could write a poem to say how much I love this review, except that would be a bit strange.

I'm so happy you find this realistic! That was the tough part - keeping it real and coherent through the time skips.

Thank you for this review! :D You have no idea how happy it made me!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Uganda_my_name 

15th August 2011:
Beautiful. What's wrong with Dominique?

Author's Response: Thank you! And she has an illness; it's elaborated upon later.

 Report Review

Review #9, by GubraithianFire 

10th August 2011:
I really don't have that much to say, you know, because there are some fics where it really takes a long time to gather your thoughts enough to review. And I didn't want to leave a really unintelligible review, which might have happened if I reviewed the second I finished this first part, so I've waited and here we go~

Actually, in the end, it all boils down to this: any expectations I might have had have already been blown out of the water. What are expectations when there is something like this? Any worries you had, or still have, knowing you, are immaterial. In the end, you put your work out there for yourself, and the feedback (which you deserve) or the acclaim (which you without a doubt deserve) are but secondary. That said, you should stop worrying so much. This was going to impress me, and any sane reader, no matter what you did with it. But since you did what you did, it's kind of awe-and-jealousy-inspiring, and I'm beyond happy that this is up at last.

See, you're only a quarter of the way through and already I am seething at you in awe/jealousy♥

Author's Response: So you kinda know that I love you, right?

I mean, if it wasn't for the shameless ranting, the shameless angsting, the shameless I'M-ALMOST-THEREing, then this shameless story wouldn't have gotten off the ground.

EEEK is all I can think every time you give me feedback because you're kind of legendary and you don't need me telling you that, of all people. :P

So, the point of this review is ILY and thank you for the support and encouragement! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by faerieall 

10th August 2011:
GUH. CELESTE. I LOVE THIS. It is so well executed. I love that you really delve into the dynamics of the Weasley girls, even from childhood, and their sisterhood. You see lots of fics about brotherhood, mostly because in the books we generally only see brotherhood since they're from Harry's POV. I suppose the theme itself is something I really enjoy. In terms of pure writing, I love it. Everything is so evocative and beautiful. I particularly liked this.

The other five defined to me what it meant to be sisters, growing alongside each other in an isolated cosmos, drifting through the blackness of space. In my seat near the window, I could see the outside sky and to me, the six of us were planets and swirling stars in our own right, though I did not know which correlated to us.

Stunning, really. There's a lot more fantastic writing in here, especially your character descriptions. I love Dom. I'm so intrigued by her character and really eager to know the entire story. I liked your descriptions of her through rose, like how she could talk to everyone and how she almost seemed effortless to Rose. And beyond that, I love Lucy because in her I see how I was at that age and how I turned into who I am. Another line I loved:

That was the perpetual truth about our family: that everyone was looking at someone else. That Victoire looked at her mother, that Dominique looked at Victoire, that I looked at Dominique, and we rotated that way - carelessly, feebly, like lightless stars lost in a great expanse.

Everyone feel that way about someone. It's probably among the most universal feelings on the planet and you captured it with a deft understanding. I know this is a ScoRose, so I'm waiting patiently for Scorpius to make an appearance and for the other 15,000 thousand words or so. I really enjoyed this, though! So lovely ♥

Nisha/faerieall (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: GUH, NISHA. I LOVE THIS REVIEW.

Thank you, thank you for all the lovely feedback! I really don't know what to say (other than 'sisterhood' is a lovely word to describe them with) and that I don't really deserve the wonderful praise you've given me.

It's a ScoRose...in a sense of the word. But I wouldn't count too much on the ScoRose if I were you. I just described it that way because I didn't know how else to without spoiling the story. :)

Thank you so much for the support!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HarrietHopkirk 

10th August 2011:
Couldn't help but sing 'Jolene, Jolene, Jolene Joleee-eeene, please don't take him just because you can' for a little while before being astounded by the beauty of your words. Really, Celeste, well done. The imagery of the flowers at the beginning was really beautiful - I love whole 'fresh' feeling that the section has and it sort of compliments the sadness in a way. But meh, I'm mumbling and trying to analyse stuff, so I'll move on...

I love the flashback, the references to the Weasley summers and the 'six Weasley girls'. I really adore the whole space image, with the planets and the stars and the correlations. You do have a fabulous way with words. Hnggg hnggg hnggg. Really pretteh - it really matches the ending, with Astronomy being Rose's favourite class and all. I love how they each have their own character (or even lack of them, regarding Lucy), rather than them all being pushed into the never-ending character expanse of 'sassy and bold and confident because they're Weasley girls'.

I love (again with the love, but it's pretty much the only word I can think of right now) this: 'It was different from Dominique's family, where Uncle Bill and Aunt Fleur were really just the same side of one coin and Victoire was a distant, perfect falling star and Dominique was her sky.' I don't what it is about the setting of Shell Cottage and the sea and the sand and the beach, but it just suits the Delacour-Weasley - I just have a vision of Victoire and Dominique with long blonde hair blowing in the wind and looking all soulful and angsteh. Your scene is impeccable - and the ending beautifully sad. Your dialogue is so realistic and believable and it fits with the mood and the characters (I find it so hard to make young characters speak their age - they are either far too young and stick their thumb in their mouth or far too mature). Well done.

The characters develop really well in all the little sections, and the passage of time is really carefully controlled. They all blossom - I like how Lucy becomes more talkative and swear a lot - and it's all very realistic. Well done, again.

Can't wait for an update. ♥

Author's Response: Hattie, thank you so much!

Er, I get really awkward when I have to respond to such a praising, lovely review. I really don't know what I should say other than that you really flattered me when I don't deserve it and I am grateful and happy that you liked it so much!

Oh, angsteh and long blonde hair. I was going for that! Glad to see it came across!

Thanks so much, Hattie! I'll be updating soon so I can get this story all done. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review