Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverMoonFairy 

6th August 2016:
I've been meaning to mention this for a few chapters, but I keep forgetting. I like how you segment the story, stopping to almost go into Clemence's personal notes on people and things, completely separate from the rest of the story, but still vital information for the reader. It's one of my favorite parts!

I'm beginning to think that Rose, Albus, and Scorpius are plotting to take down Witchy Business. Al, with his fake girlfriend, and Rose and Scorpius with fake rumors about breaking up.

Another wonderful chapter! I'm bouncing with excitement! I did find a few technicals.

The common room couches could put me in a coma when falling asleep is the last thing I want to do.
This sentence sort of reads like it ends with a different sentence.

Helen Nott keeps me up to date with the passwords.
It was Helena a few lines up.

before Yule Ball,
the Yule Ball or Yule Balls

Super excited for this story!
-Liz

Author's Response: Writing etc in this segmented fashion gave me a lot of freedom to try different styles; very, very fun and enlightening!

You've already learned to trust no one! :D That will serve you well.

Thank you again! I'll have to fix these typos up (I didn't even notice the Helena one, because her name is "supposed" to be Helena but I don't use that in the rest of the fic, so moot point).


 Report Review

Review #2, by skeet500 

17th March 2016:
"Mum says you won't ever amount to anything if you don't finish school? Point to Head Auror Harry Potter." I AM SCREECHING

Author's Response: HOW TRUE THOUGH RIGHT? drop out of school, go camping, save the world

 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapoo93 

3rd December 2013:
AH, I could feel the slick in my guts as soon as I heard Fifi LaFolle! Blech, you wrote QGA to absolute perfection! And Apostrophe Hyphen Colon?! Gyah! You're absolutely ingenious!

Before I start sounding like a member of QGA, let me carefully put my head back onto my neck...

You've got me on edge; completely seizing in excitement; The Rose/Scorpius/Dom(?) arc is building on hype... I can't imagine how it's going to turn out; my golly, you've got a world of cutthroats in this story, from Clemence to Dom to even Albus...

Ah! Onto the next chapter!

Much love,
~spreaddapoo!

P.S. I'm in love with Pickett (again!) The swivel chair? Brilliant!

Author's Response: When it comes to cutthroat, Clemence is actually on the lower end of the scale, in comparison to some of the other characters. She doesn't pick fights--more territorial and prideful than anything--but everyone else? Oh boy.

There's a little QGA made of my readers, you're not alone :D You might say that was my plan all along...

♥ swivel chairs/Pickett OTP


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gred 

16th November 2013:
Gosh - I have not had time to R&R (Read and Review) for aggges. Sorry.

First off, I love the newsroom scene. Pickett makes a great baron and pirate. And the swivel chair. Could you make me love him more?

So... Scorpius breaking up with Rose... For Dom? (No! It's because he's gay! Somehow I just don't see him and Albus together... How about Hugo? Oh, no, wait, he and Rose are siblings - that would be awkward. I'll get back to you.)

I have never seen Lily (II) written as a famous person's child before, but it completely makes sense! I love this characterisation, even if it's just mentioned in passing. (And James (II) as well, but he has always seemed a Quidditchy bloke to me anyway.)

Appy seems... interesting. But her club: decidedly creepy. Sorry. I have a feeling we'll be seeing more of them. Like at the end of this chapter - they're scaring me already!

Just give her the shirt, Al! You'll get it back, freshly laundered, by Monday. We promise! (Oh dear... I think your club's indoctrinating me...) Seriously though, shirt and sweat fangirl is hilarious.

Poor Al...

- Lily, debating whether or not she should read (as it is midnight)... (Gred)

Author's Response: Hey again! c:

A pirate baron who's out to /steal/ your heart, hurr hurr hurr. ...sorry. I grew up on swivel chairs! I can't imagine my life without them. They're spinny, of course, but also padded and make a thrilling footstool in times I needed to get something from a tall shelf.

You're doing good on mentioning Scorpius every chapter :D Oh man, Scorpius and Hugo; I've never thought about that ship -- and I think of a lot of ships. Hugo does show up in Al's room a lot, and Al and Scorp are roommates... but no. Hugo's got himself a little lady. They are adorable and it makes people sick.

I think Lily II would totally own her celebrity status. As the youngest and only daughter, she's spoiled like last week's milk, but at the same time, I can see her trying to make something of it. The real ambitious one in her family.

Ohohoho, you'll be seeing lots of Appy :'D And nooo, laundering the shirt ruins the purpose! It'll wash his scent off! How will you pretend to hug him to sleep? It's okay; I'm sure the QGA has a handbook on this sort of thing :'D we'll get you indoctrinated yet.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm 

5th September 2013:
Just to let you know, you really werenít slow at responding! I thought when you said that it would take a month or so, but a couple of days is really nothing!

Pickett continued to amuse at the beginning of this chapter. I think itís just due to me forgetting that heís meant to be a Slytherin due to his insane amount of Ravenclaw like traits. I really love how you didnít just stick to the houses stereotypes like that as it was a lot of fun to see it in reverse. Dom is a definite Slytherin though! I like how you make her dislikeable as it makes for a more interesting read even if I do spend half the time mentally yelling at her.

Clemenceís descriptions of all the Potter children really made crack up! Iím dying to meet Lily because I really want to know whether sheís as big headed as Clemenceís description makes her out to be. Albus does intrigue me though. His dislike for the press strangely endeared me even more to him and it fits in even more with the whole dark and brooding mood. I seriously love your characterisation of him, and itís one of the best Iíve come along in a while :D

Apostrophe certainly is something! I honestly didnít know whether you were joking or not when you said that was her name and then when Appy said she preferred her name abbreviated like that it was only then that I realised you were serious! Just reading her in that small scene I think I was worn out by her chattering and energy. I do hope that this ridiculous party is covered because Iím certain that there will be plenty of moments to laugh at throughout it!

Bahaha that scene just made it. ♥ I was getting as anxious as Dom over whether they would break up or not, and I really hope that they do it soon just to stop Domís agitation seeping into me again. Then the ending! I really am beginning to feel sorry for poor old Albus with this stampede of girls following his every step. Then Clemenceís mixed in with them, ahaha sheís turning into a Quirky Girl now!

Another brilliant chapter ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Aah, I'm just used to responding to things within a few days, but when I get such nice, long reviews, I have to hunker down before responding, and it make take up to a week - which is a long time for me xD I was waiting until I posted the new chapter to respond, and then I got right to it!

I think there can be so much variety to houses once sorting focuses on houses being the traits that students value, rather than necessarily embody, and it explains students like Peter, a Gryffindor coward.

Baha, you somehow always pick out the characters that don't actually show up in the fic xD Lily doesn't actually attend Hogwarts (though this isn't mentioned, but it's my headcanon). She's a career woman at 14 and has a private tutor while on the road (on the floo?). As long as she stays out of trouble, the Potters are just happy she's happy pursuing her dreams.

There used to be this entire trend with next gen OC names that started with 'A' so I started thinking up the most inane nouns and out came Apostrophe Hyphen Colon (also known as '-;). She is quirky, stubborn, and violent, all the best traits OCs have to offer, eh? :D you've gotten to the ridiculous party by this time, so you already know what happens~ onward in my responding then!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Misschievous12 

23rd June 2013:
Great job! ^_^ !!!

Author's Response: Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Elfo 

15th September 2012:
I loved the 'stampede' section thingy at the end. Poor Al.
And Clemence's constant 'Russian' slash 'Russia' mentioning.
Loved it!

Author's Response: Bahaha, the Russian stuff's sort of an in-joke. I feel like I know an inordinate amount of Russia after four years of honors English and its depressing literature.

 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherinchica08 

12th September 2012:
Every chapter just keeps getting better and better! I don't mind that this is more of a filler chapter because it was still really funny and that ending with all the girls chasing after Albus was just great to read! I dont think I've said it before, maybe i have, but I really enjoy your characters! They are so funny and witty and I just love them! I've gotta feel bad for the girl who was named Apostrophe Hyphen Colon, but at the same time I have to say that that was realy clever of you because I would have never thought of using that as a name! You've really got a good story here and I look forward to reading more! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I try to make my fillers a bit funnier to make up for it being, well, filler. I figure Apostrophe Hyphen Colon's a rather inconsequential addition to the slew of OCs with parents with bad naming skills 8D I love writing massive casts, and even when I swear someone's just a stock character, they end up fighting for a subplot all the time, even though I don't have time for them. It's chronic.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne 

15th February 2012:
Poor Albus having a fan club, they seem really crazy to me. Shouldn't the teachers do something about it? Haha another brilliant chapter. Love it.

Author's Response: The professors find the students' extracurriculars quite amusing. That, and well, I wouldn't want to be the one to stand in the way of a fangirl mob.

 Report Review

Review #10, by shadowcat2 

13th February 2012:
Apostrophe Hyphen Colon!! LOL.
Poor Albus. xD
thank you for another lovely chapter

Author's Response: ALWAYS LOOK OUT FOR THE GIRLS WITH THE UNFORTUNATE NAME. /ALWAYS./

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dee 

2nd January 2012:
Awww poor Albus!! Hilarious though!! Apostrophe makes me think thats shes the daughter of Luna or something!! Wacky, dont know how she ended up in Slytherin!!

I love Clemence's dry/sarcastic sense of humour too!

Author's Response: Oh no, Luna was never /insane/. Apostrophe, I assure you, is insane. ;D And she actually gets to be quite the Slytherin soon heheh.

 Report Review

Review #12, by WhatAboutRegulus 

13th November 2011:
Filler or not it was a brilliant chapter. Hahahha, I like Dom a lot haha she's funny. Her and Pickett! Hahahaha Nice chapter!!

WhatAboutRegulus

Author's Response: I love Dom and Pickett 8D Clemence really couldn't have chosen more wonderfully dysfunctional friends.

 Report Review

Review #13, by honoraryweasley 

30th September 2011:
I laughed at 'certifiably quirky'.
What am I saying, laughed. I snorted and fell off my chair.

And also at the Russia comment. Oh, Sarah Palin, your comedic value is neverending ♥

Author's Response: I am laughing at the image of you falling off your chair~

 Report Review

Review #14, by Blue Biro 

22nd September 2011:
Jeez, i could sit here for hours rambling on about how FANTASTIC this chapter was (and it was) but you've just given me the most mind-mushing snipets of next chapter and i HAVE to read it!
So, im sorry, but your work is too good for me to sit and talk about. And that is a very high compliment, i think :)
Amazing, as per usual!
becky
Oh, and 1 billion/10 :D

Author's Response: Bahaha, thanks :D And that is a very sneaky snippet isn't it? ;)

 Report Review

Review #15, by SunSation Gal 07 

17th September 2011:
okay, the conversation with Pickett at the beginning was priceless. shoot, this entire chapter had me cracking up! Colan! good lord I feel sorry for anyone with a name like that. at least, I felt that way until she talked and good lord. and quackers! that line had me dying of laughter! and now they are chasing him! HAHAHA!

Author's Response: There is no need to feel sorry for dear Appy. Not with what I have in store for her 8D

FANGIRL MOBBB~ The Potters know them well.


 Report Review

Review #16, by sarah 

16th September 2011:
yeeesss!.I'm sorry but I have comment, even though I haven't finished the chapter. I got to the part about seeing Russia from Alaska and I died. That comment just skyrocketed you to one of my all-time favorites.

Author's Response: Glad you like 8D This chapter has a lot of quotables I love!

 Report Review

Review #17, by SnitchSnatcher 

8th September 2011:
Between the amazing opening, Pickett's theorizing, the ridiculousness that is Apostrophe Hypen Colon, the Sarah Palin reference, and the Fifi LaFoulle nonsense, I could not stop laughing. It took me a good half hour to get through this chapter because I had to stop to laugh and then I'd go back and read it again.

Ugh, it's so perfect. HOW DO YOU DO IT? Tell me your secrets, Gina. Please, TELL ME! I beg you!

P.S. CAN I HAVE PICKETT? CAN I? PLEASE? Henry is perfect. And if I can't have him, can Dom? They'd be cute.

Author's Response: DID I CRAM ALL THAT IN THERE? Now I remember why I split this chapter and the next one.

I TAKE ONE CUP OF BACON AND THREE SLICES OF CAPSLOCK A DAY.

ERRBODY WANTS A PIECE OF HENRY PICKETT, TRUEFAX. I don't know why, but the supporting male always becomes the most wanted guy amongst readers. I have a habit of writing hotter-than-the-lead supporting males :P


 Report Review

Review #18, by Mischief_managed18 

5th September 2011:
Bum Bum BUM. haha I love it. Of course they would chase him after hearing that he doesn't have a confirmed girlfriend. Gah. I still love him. Yup. Keep it up, I'm loving it so far!! You're quite talented m'dear.
~Mischief_Managed18

Author's Response: Bum bum bum I LOVE IT bahaha.
Oh Albus, it's always the ones who dislike popularity who are the most popular ;D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lumos_Nox 

23rd August 2011:
I bet Appy is a fun charry to write for. Annoying as hell, yes, but fun to write nonetheless. :) We all know girls like that...*shudder*
Anyways, this is just as brilliant as the chapters before it, and it's so amazing how you manage to keep the story interesting five chapters into it. 10/10

Author's Response: She is -- quite guiltily really ;D It's kind of odd how exaggerated she is, but she still manages to remind me of people in real life.

 Report Review

Review #20, by TweetyByrd 

20th August 2011:
Oh dear... Death by Quirkers (stampeding over your poor body).

Author's Response: I've also read it as death by Quakers, which would be rather unfortunate as they're pacifists.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Priori Incantatum 

19th August 2011:
Next Chapter! Next Chapter! Next Chapter please please please! it's the 19th! puhleeeaaassse!

Author's Response: Heh, I know, but unfortunately submissions are closed at the moment!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ohalicey 

15th August 2011:
This story is just so damn INTERESTING! I have genuinely no idea how anything Al-related will work out! I really like your writing through Clemence's eyes, as well- she's hilarious! I think it might be the Slytherin element :) Also, your minor characters are awesome (Apostrophe, anyone? And Lis by Lily made me laugh)! Great stuff, great story, I can't wait to read more!! ...Apologies for the poor use if commas in that sentence. I'm tired. Aanyways, please try and update when you can!!

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I really wanted to try to make someone who was genuinely blunt, sarcastic, and apathetic. And I adore writing large casts and minor characters ^__^ My fav thing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by coolgf 

8th August 2011:
I liked this chapter alot. very funny. the quirky girls are really great.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ellerina 

7th August 2011:
CHINO (yeah, I know. Doesn't really sound like Gina, but I ran out of ideas. Deal with it.)

I want a Pickett of my own, I really do. Annie Pickett. It has a lovely ring to it. And so would our marriage. Have a lovely ring, I mean.

As for Dom. Something tells me she may be being two-timed (at first I typed double-teamed, but that looked wrong) and while I would love to ship her with Pickett instead, he is mine and so, she will have to go off and have a deep and torrid affair with... um... Oliver Wood's son. And Rose will eventually dump Scorpius for being such a prat and um... become a lesbian. Or something.

I think I'm getting off track here.

Anywho, Albus would have all the crazy fangirls. Mystery attracts them like moths to a pretty lightbulb, and you know what happens to the moths? THEY GET BURNED.

Ok seriously, this is the worst review ever. I'm just babbling here. I could talk for a long time about how I think that having a name like Apostrophe has really damaged that girl's psyche and that no one should blame her for being a moron. But well. Yeah.

I hope the next chapter involves broom closets.

Annie

Author's Response: DEALING WITH IT LIKE GLASSES!SHO

ANNIE PICKETT FENCE.

Okay enough shouting random things. I've said much about the issue on Rose/Scor/Dom and I -still- am not entirely sure how I want to deal with it. I've got a couple options. They're all batshank crazy.

You're getting off track? Look at me.

OOH, BURN.

Better than broom closets, baby.


 Report Review

Review #25, by XxLovely Little LiarxX 

7th August 2011:
I absolutley adore this story. It's hard to find good Albus/Oc fics, so props to you! :)
I love Clemence's character and how well you took on the Slytherin persona; you can definitely see why she was placed in that house. At the same time, she's an enjoyable character to read about and seems very realistic. Gotta love all the witty comments, as well. ;)
I also liked how you described the Potter children. I thought your way of explaining their different ways of dealing with the media was masterful. And the whole Lis by Lily thing had me laughing.
Pickett and Dom are also wonderful supporting characters. Pickett is undeniably funny while Dom comes across as a bit of an insensitive manipulator who would do anything to one-up her cousin but at the same time is sassy and likable. You have most definitely created realistic characters who are not in any way two-dimensional. I find the banter between the two cute as well. :)
On Albus, there isn't much to know at the time except he doesn't enjoy the lime light and tries to keep his personal buisness to himself. I think you've set his character up well and I am looking forward to seeing how you'll make him out to be later on.
As for Apostrophe Hyphen Colon, well she's...different. I would be very afraid if she became a political figure, too. And her name! It definitely speaks volumes on it's own, doesn't it? Her club also seems to be a bit crazy, but then again when it comes to fangirls anything is possible.
Overall, I love your story and the themes and questions it covers: when are you overstepping the boundaries of reporting and it becomes intrusion on someone's personal life as opposed to just getting the next big scoop? I really enjoyed reading this and can't wait for the next chapter!
~ L.L.L

Author's Response: Thanks! The way I wrote this made it really fun to describe everyone through Clemence's eyes :D she's got a lot to say about everyone.

I really love Dom and Pickett; they've got my fav brand of love/hate really. I looove writing them. Clemence is all business in the newsroom, so it's up to them to liven it up.

Albus~ the mystery continues ;D

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you like it, and it's great you can see a lot of the non-romance themes as well!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>