Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverMoonFairy 

6th August 2016:
*squees* I love this! There's so much tension! And too much Mature Content leads me to imagining them pushing each other against walls, BUT THAT'S BESIDES THE POINT!

I feel like Pickett is so on top of this Dom/Scorpius thing because he likes her and is jealous and is trying to make Clemence put a stop to it so he can keep his love a secret... OH UNREQUITED JOY!

Love the chess match! And he DOES like the banter! I feel like dancing in giddiness! *dances* I'm sad, though, because the first thread for the club is only for up to chapter 5 and I want to read it all, haha!

One little technical!

last afternoon' duel

And that's all!
-Liz

Author's Response: My friend was reading it and she was like, "there is CONSTANT TENSION." Pickett warns you in advance, too :'D everything is sexual tension if you look hard enough!

My other friend made me a graphic for this story that literally just says "unrequited" so you can guess what that means, hehehe.

You can always take a sneak peek at next week's reading ;) Chapter 6 changed everything for this fic when I wrote it. I didn't plan it and it completely shaped the rest of the story. I saw the book club thread and oh MAN those are some quality questions!! I hope people participate! I'd tell people to, but not sure how many people are Ravenclaws?? If there was an open thread, I'd totally direct people there!


 Report Review

Review #2, by skeet500 

17th March 2016:
Oh Albus Severus, you are making me swoon...is it possible that you take more after your grandfather than your father.hmmm...very interesting...

Author's Response: Ha! I don't think James Potter was quite so devious! Unless you mean Arthur Weasley was an unexpected cad...

 Report Review

Review #3, by randomnickname 

3rd April 2015:
My, my, my! Classy, bity, funny. I do really like where this is getting to.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think I'm catching you as you read this, so I hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #4, by pnix (like fawkes NOT arizona) 

27th December 2014:
great sequel!! only one thing, you may have to change your banner. ellen page loves ladies now. i am wondering when scorpius is going to happen? i saw him in the last cfhapter but he turned out to be can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: This isn't a sequel (unless you mean it's a continuation of Harry Potter?). But thank you all the same! Ellen Page is just a faceclaim; I should hope Ellen Page isn't actually Clemence 8D I waver between faceclaims all the time anyway. I like her because she isn't overly glamorous-looking!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Roisin 

26th June 2014:
I'll give you a mini-campaign info dump, and you can sift out any shiny bits you like:
Campaigns are composed of the candidate, the consultant (if you have a sleazy candidate, the consultant is usually where a huge amount of sleaze comes from), the campaign manager, the deputy campaign manager, the campaign coordinator, the field organizers, interns, and volunteers. There is no such thing as a deputy field organizer--that title is basically "assistant to the regional manager." A way to make annoying interns/volunteers feel special (only sleazy campaigns use such titles).

You absolutely CAN have a club, in the form of campus "young dems"/"young republicans." It's not uncommon for high school students to campaign--usually working as volunteers, interns, or "deputy FOs", as mentioned.

Volunteers are usually responsible for:
Outreach--with the FOs, volunteers and interns phone bank, do door knocking, and try and get up Merchant Signs (for shop windows). Lawn signs DO NOT win elections, and are considered an amateur move.
Data entry--the most mind-numbing and menial job is scanning voter data (with a bar code scanner) and inputting the data into VAN (the "voter activation network"--used by all campaigns). This process involves a lot of repetitive beeping.
Lit-dropping--leaving lit on doorsteps, hanging it on doorknobs, and hand-sticking thousands of stickers explaining a person's polling place to thousands of pieces of lit. It's illegal to drop lit directly into someones letterbox.

Interns can have more specific jobs, like "data intern" (they "cut turf"--the area where volunteers door-knock--and generate call/walk lists). Social Media intern is what it sounds, trying to think of fun ways to have a social media presence (usually to a very lame effect, like parents Facebook); they also may have access to the candidate's social media pages and update the content. Policy interns draft statements about where a candidate stands on issues, and do lots of research (they may be involved on debate prep).

Some people work professionally on campaigns, and they travel the country doing election after election. For these people, it's ok to say "the candidate" or "my candidate." For interns/volunteers, it's kinda self-aggrandizing to say that.

Polling data is gathered by professional pollsters, and governs much of campaign decisions.

As of this year, California has an open primary system. All the candidates face off, and there is a primary in June. Then, the top two candidates go to the general election in November. This means you can end up with two dems, two republicans, two greens, what have you. Not necessarily a republican vs. a democrat. In some areas, this means that general elections are ostensibly splitting hairs between two nearly identical candidates.

Over the course of a campaign, the candidate will try to gain endorsements (nurses, firefighters, religious leaders, business interests, and newspapers/magazines), speak publicly at events, attend fundraisers, and have debates against the other candidate.

In California, a lot of the sleazy big-money lobbying interests come from real estate development (so they can expedite permits, etc) and big business corporations (who hope the elected official will eliminate their payroll tax or whatever). These interests often create slush funds designed to dispense negative lit about their opponent, or they donate to PACs.

I haven't seen House of Cards so I can't vouch for it, but West Wing is crazy accurate (the last season is most relevant). And there's a tumblr, campaignsick, that hit the nail on the head--it's more about progressive campaigns, but since all camps use the same language and set-up, it's transferrable enough.

So that's probably way more than enough info for you! Don't be shy if you have any fact-check style questions--anything to make the OF a reality!

Author's Response: Welp, just learned a bunch of new things about the upcoming elections. Definitely keeping a tab on this review :) If you have anything to add or amend in the future, you can PM me on the forums, same username (best not to clutter reviews with a back and forth), but you've already given me a great foundation for any research I might need to do, like crazy amazing! Thank you so much for this!

 Report Review

Review #6, by sharkbait 

16th April 2014:
i cannot tell you how much I love Clemence and the little rivalry between her and Al. She's so deliciously calculating and cold - and you aren't throwing the both of them at my faces to ship, but the lingering tension is there. will it be sexual? will it not? i do not know that but I sure want to find out.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love the relative freedom I have with this fic--I'm aware of its status as a romance but I don't write it like how I'd usually write a romance, and I like that it gives off that not-shippy feel. And I think readers soon figure out that I give no guarantees about any couples ;)

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #7, by spreaddapoo93 

3rd December 2013:
AH! GINA~!
*Bash head frantically against imaginary chess-board* Grrrfw, your tense, action sequences (albeit a chess game) are so thrilling; full of threat and banter! I feel like I'm watching a bullfight (TOREADOR! TOREADOR! -- although it's becoming more and more confusing who the bull and toreador are...? WHO WILL WIN?!)

GYAH! I'm loving the character developments on Pickett and Dom, and of course the ever elusive Albus... What is his intention?! SPEAK TO ME, ALBUS?! *Accidentally shakes character up and down by the collar*... Ahem... Sorry about that (solemn promises not to abuse your characters ever again).

But in all seriousness, wow, you've got a mighty pumping story going on here, I'm absolutely thrilled!

Much love!
~spreaddapoo

Author's Response: Ach nooo, banging heads is never good for anyone, especially the owner of said head. If you must, take this pillow instead and bang against that. And definitely do not hit your head against any bulls.

But I'm glad the excitement is brimming! This is only just the beginning for much much more :D As you know from my fics, it only ever gets crazier.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gred 

10th November 2013:
So we hear more about Dom... It's really hard to believe how all your characters are so brilliant, complicated and unique. I love all of them, seriously. And more newsroom antics - I love those scenes! (Pickett, Pickett, Pickett, I love you. So many quotable lines.) I had to look up Sam Claflin, having never seen the Hunger Games, and that has definitely not influenced my judgment on Pickett AT ALL.

Yes, your comic relief is genius. Say no more. (My favourite parts.)

Rose and Dom's feud... I have a feeling this is going to involve Scorpius, and I'm not happy. You gave me hope (Gay Scorpius) in the first chapter, and now there's nothing! (I'm going to keep mentioning this in every review.) Oh, and he could definitely be both sassy and pathetic - it's the best combination.

And what's going on with the Girlfriend? Are you telling me the main storyline is nothing? Hmm... and if this is an Albus/OC, who will be the OC? I can only think of one person... (save Janey, or this Caroline Escot.)

I'm liking Albus taking risks and wanting thrills; it makes the banter between him and Clemence so much more fun! I think Clemence winning the chess match makes up for the duel. She didn't use dirty tactics. Well done Clemence. The Speakeasy is the most awesome thing I have ever heard of. I want one in my school! And my house. (We're doing that era of America in History at the moment, which is a coincidence. Can't stop thinking Bugsey Malone...)

Ah well... You'll have to give me back that Sherlock Holmes hat and the magnifying glass, Hugo. I guess you don't get a fic of your own... (I'm completely joking. Don't feel bad.) I understand; I have a pile of ideas that I haven't even finished a chapter of, and I really hope writing on here will improve my original writing. (When I get around to it.)

Just so you know, I'm already pairing off all of your characters in my head, and I'm going to see if I'm right when I read on. I'm assuming Albus/Clemence is a given now, and I think Dom/Pickett would be sweet. "he cares a lot more about Dom than she realizes." Huh.

- Lily, writer of far too long reviews (with too many brackets). (Gred)

Author's Response: I'M DRAGGING EVERYONE INTO MY SAM CLAFLIN SPIRAL C: I am spiralling like the top from Inception for that puppy face. Really hot puppy face, welp.

Rose and Dom's feud might just be the most unsubtle interpretation of a shipping war ever, if that's any clue. I love your eternal torch for Gay!Scorpius, teehee. I've never had a reader who wanted that from the beginning (as he's usually shipped with Albus and this is an Al/OC fic); it'll be interesting to see what you think of poor Scorpius caught in the feud.

I haven't had to play this guessing game in a long time :'D I can say that you won't be in the dark about the girlfriend for too long.

The Speakeasy was the most random thing I inserted into the story xD I just thought 'let's put a super-classy noir bar into Hogwarts.' So I did.

Hehe, sometimes you just have to make yourself write. I hope you find an idea you like enough to write until completion. It's hard, but so so worth it!

I like to think that you can ship almost anyone in this fic with anyone. I've crackshipped a lot of pairings in my head!

♥ thanks again, Lily! c:


 Report Review

Review #9, by Enlightened Piglet 

2nd November 2013:
Easily one of the best fics I've read. Ever. Will continue reading, can't wait for the update!

Author's Response: Thank you! ^__^ I'm not sure if you're caught up by now, but I hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #10, by patronus_charm 

2nd September 2013:
Hello again!

Hmm, so the Albus mystery thickens then. Iím really intrigued as to whether he does have a girlfriend or not. Iím not yet shipping him and Clemence though it would be interesting to see such stubborn and fiery characters. I really liked learning more about Dom too, and I really loved how you built up a ton of layers around her making her more complex than I usually see. Itís really strange to see her so vicious and I dread to think what this final standoff between her and Rose will be like.

I havenít mentioned it before so Iíll say it here. You have a really different way of structuring your chapters compared to other writerís, but I really like it. We get a really good insight into Clemenceís mind and I feel as if I know her really well despite it only being four chapters in. The newsroom scene was really great, and I have to agree with Pickett Ė it was funny. It does make me wonder whether Dom and Pickett are simply friends due to Clemence or whether they like one another with this constant arguing.

The Speak Easy part was really interesting! I like the sophisticated vibe about it, and I hope we get to see more in the future. I felt a little bad for Valencia as she did seem a little out of it, but the chess scene with Albus more than made up for it! The way Clemence hounds him for information really reminds me of Skeeter, and Iím still in love with the fact that you made them related to one another!

Another amazing chapter! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Dom is probably the most controversial character in the whole fic, and every time I write her, I go back to this chapter's section on her. She is so many things. Great, admirable, scary, vicious things. And I think it'll depend from person to person whether that's someone they'd like. I could always personally relate to her as someone who, at times, speaks louder than is wise and rouses trouble when bored.

etc is structured very differently from anything else I write! I love it. I love the kind of experimentation that I allow myself to write. I vowed in the beginning that this would be my 'fun fic' and I don't want to stifle any crazy ideas I have (boy does it get crazy), and it's often here where a lot of graveyarded ideas rise again. It can get messy at times, but it's given rise to some of my favorite writing.

The Speakeasy is a bit of an elitism in-joke, for all the pseudo-intellectuals out there :D Coffee and atmosphere and chess--and don't forget the perpetual smoke!

Thank you for all the reviews Kiana! ^__^ It's been so long since I've followed someone's journey through this fic, and yours have relit loads of inspiration.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Majik 

22nd July 2013:
Oh my gosh, that was a such an epic ending for this chapter!!

I just started reading this and I wasn't going to review until I reached the end, but I couldn't help it. This chapter was awesome. My favorite so far! I can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you, I hope you enjoy the rest! c: Every review is muchly appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Misschievous12 

23rd June 2013:
Cute chapter! Creative idea with the room of requirement

Author's Response: Ooh yes that room needs to make a comeback soon~ I love the noir.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Derek 

27th March 2013:
so far like this story. So her and Albus are dating and keeping it from the school thats my take so far. Maybe I am wrong. We will see.

Author's Response: Thanks! There's lots of twists and turns; don't get lost!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hedwig_Pie 

26th November 2012:
I LOVE THE SEXUAL TENSION. its so well scripted and interesting to read, i'm actually falling in love with this conniving Slytherin and it's only been 4 chapters. great story !

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Hope you enjoy the rest! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #15, by Elfo 

15th September 2012:
Another great chapter! Loved it, as usual. I'm definitely adding to my favorites!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it ^__^

 Report Review

Review #16, by slytherinchica08 

12th September 2012:
Oh how i love seeing these two together! They just make the story pop and come alive for me! I think that both Al and Dom are up to something.. I'm not really sure if Dom is indeed interested in Scorpius but I think that it adds another layer to the story which makes it that much more wonderful. Then there is Al and I really feel that he is making this girlfriend up.. possibly to bait Clemence and then get her.. but i'm not really sure. It was another wonderful chapter and I liked how you broke things up into different times. such as just after class, later while working on the newspaper, and then even later after that. I'm really loving all the banter between Clemence and Albus, it just adds so much and makes me smile when i read it! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Bahaha, already stirred up suspicions so early? xD Trusting no one -- which is actually probably a pretty good idea with this fic :P I'm trying to keep the shorts scenes fairly consistent throughout etc; there's lots of flitting from newsroom to class to their dorm, but they don't actually go to too many different kinds of places; just those. I was a bit indecisive early on about what I wanted to do with the fic, so I kind of went everywhere xD

Thanks for another review! :3


 Report Review

Review #17, by The Empty Frame 

21st March 2012:
I like this looking-for-trouble Albus much more than leave-me-alone-I-just-want-a-quiet-life Albus! Really brilliant chapter :)

Green with Envy 2012!

Author's Response: Hehehe, curiosity and mystery will get the best of all of us ;D thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by PolyJuice_ 

9th March 2012:
Gosh..you're a bloody amazing writer. :') I found this story via HPFF forums; someone said it was really good. It's the first Next-Gen I've read, and liked. I went off them after reading a few horrible ones. Once again, good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ^__^ Next gen can be a scary era, 'cause there's so much variety. I write a few, and there's a lot in my favorites. Hope you'll like the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Sarahthebookworm 

6th March 2012:
I just love this story! I recently discovered you and so far I love the stories you write and your sense of humor. The banter Clemence and Albus share is hilarious. I also love your version of Albus; he's the best I've seen so far.

Anyway, this was just to show my appreciation of your amazing story I love it, and please continue updating!

Author's Response: Thanks! I've always been quite fascinated at the 'whole HP family's next gen growing up spoiled because of the celeb status' and how the kids would be like. I always imagined Albus to be the private one.

Hope you enjoy the rest!


 Report Review

Review #20, by alicia and anne 

15th February 2012:
Albus plays a lot of chess, I hope he learnt from Ron and not Harry.
I'm really liking the two together and I think Clemence and Albus are made for each other.

Author's Response: Bahaha, Hugo had that advantage. But I think Albus has learned enough on his own.

Glad to know you're enjoying it! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #21, by shadowcat2 

13th February 2012:
OMG. This is getting better and better. :D

Author's Response: Glad to hear! 8D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dee 

2nd January 2012:
Omgaaawd, Albus is a serious cutie!!! Hellz yeah, I'd go for him! >.< Lovin' it!!!

Author's Response: Bahaha, I haven't heard him described like that before xD But I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by WhatAboutRegulus 

13th November 2011:
I love this story! hahaha, the banter just makes me laugh and giggle. My parents are curious to know what I'm looking at on here 8D... Awesome chapter!!

WhatAboutRegulus

Author's Response: Hee, thanks! I think I still need to edit this chapter -- or most chapters really -- but glad you're enjoying! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #24, by ProdigAlbus 

10th November 2011:
It is Fitzgerald, isn't it. Albus doesn't have a real girlfriend, he likes Fitzgerald so he got her to pay attention by planting a false story.

Author's Response: Perhaps, and in fact, it may seem that way, but you can't trust anything from him ;)

 Report Review

Review #25, by honoraryweasley 

30th September 2011:
CHECKMATE.

Oh, Clemmy, you badass you.

I do adore Clemence. She's more realistic than anyone I know. And I've always wondered what makes Hogwarts people exempt from things like school newspapers. And folk concerts in the school cafeteria. :/

Author's Response: FOLK CONCERTS IN THE SCHOOL CAFETERIA. In my other wip, they have flash mobs. If they can have hippogriffs, /they can have flash mobs/.

Harry was too busy saving the world to pay attention to school newspapers pshhh.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>