Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hdawg 

15th August 2012:
GONNA GET THE PLANT! WOO! but seriously, I am kind of worried about what's going to happen when they find it. Will Hugo be disappointed/will he go mad with power? I doubt that, but then I'm not so sure about Neville and Scorpius (yet)

"Hugo's nose was pressed against the lake, his arms spread on either side of him, hugging the surface. Scorpius knew he had eyes only for the fruit below them." Pure lies, Scorpius, Hugo only has eyes for me ;) I adore this boy and his hugging ways. I feel like we would get on extremely well.

The way you are able to get across all the characters' points of views is brilliant. You can go from Neville, to Hugo and Scorpius within a couple of paragraphs, and yet it flows so well. This is a truly great skill to have, and one which you use extremely effectively. (there, that's my serious bit done ;))

"Hugo cleared his throat and tugged at his collar." Classic. I like it.

"giving him a small clap clap! across his left cheek. The dangling earring--it looked like a scrap of metal--in Scorpius's ear rocked back and forth as Scorpius slowly looked Hugo in the eye. There was both what looked like resentment and amusement about his features" Kinda reminds me of Ryan Gosling in 'Crazy, Stupid, Love' except for this time, Hugo is actually both crazy and stupid (and my love), whilst Ryan Gosling was pure phwoar-esque material.

"he hadn't prepared his eardrums for the shock. It is okay, little drums of the ear variety, he thought consolingly. You are all right." aw, that is too adorable. Only Hugo would talk to his body parts like they have feelings (although really, doesn't that mean that he's talking to his own nerves and feelings, if he's consoling them for being hurt?)

He's holding it like a long-lost teddy bear! "and Hugo huddled it to his chest proudly, a warm feeling rising between his lungs. He hugged it very tightly", Well, that's the way I feel about my long-lost teddy bears anyway. When I somehow understand how to infiltrate this story, Hugo will cuddle me like this.

"They were possibly the most beautiful creatures Hugo had ever seen./Well, besides his vintage Cleansweep 7 and probably the watercolor painting Rose had made him of the giant squid devouring Slughorn were just as beautiful." Only Hugo could think that Rose's painting of such a morbid topic would be beautiful...I like to think that he has it hanging over his bed at home, and he admires it every night before he falls asleep, singing little lullabies to himself and his army of small, stuffed teddy bears.

"It was the shape of a woman, but obviously not a woman because women were not made of air and leaves." That's what you think, eh Hugo...h3h3h3.

NO. WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO SCORPIUS?! I get why he's happy (because he saved Hugo, right?) but WHY? :'( so sad.

 Report Review

Review #2, by AC_rules 

10th April 2012:
Whatwhatwhatwhatwhatwhatwhatwhatwhatwhatnothat'snotokaypoorScorpiusohthat'snotokayyoucan'tdothatcanyou.

Wait, its a healy plant! Heal him! Heal him!

This chapter was incredible and crazy and I can't write anymore because I need to finish it.

Author's Response: It sounds stupid now that I didn't have them use the plant. There is a certain irony, though, in nearing death; they forget completely about the plant that they have on them! To be honest I didn't think of it at the time but thinking about it now it seems there'd be a lot of complication about how to use it. And I don't even have any idea and the plant is...mine. Ahem.

SO. Glad you're moving on, sorry about the stress :P


 Report Review

Review #3, by FoundriaPenguin 

25th December 2011:
WHAAAT OH MY GOD
SHE STABBED HIM? THAT BLASTED WOOD NYMPH STABBED SCORPIUS?! IS HE DEAD? IF HE'S DEAD...OH MY GOSH x_x

that box thing is really clever! and honestly i don't understand Pythia right now. is she doubtful or not? and why did she plant those doubts in scorpius's mind? whaat.

windmill arms. ♥
and that is all for now.

--jordan

Author's Response: ;(

CENTAURS ARE MYSTERIOUS :D

She wants Scorpius to be sure I think. I don't quite remember if I had a very good idea of /her/ motivations other than, although she loves Hugo, she's willing to save the world and sacrifice him if she must.

WINDMILL ARMS BACK (h)


 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

4th December 2011:
What just happened! I can't even wrap my head around this. You have taken adventure to a whole NEW LEVEL! The ending! REALLY! This is a crap review but my mind has been BLOWN!

Author's Response: hahah i like this review as much as the others :) expresses what you're thinking/feeling just as well!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TenthWeasley 

29th October 2011:
OH MY MERLIN OH MY MERLIN OH MY MERLIN OH MY MERLIN I DID NOT SEE THIS COMING NOT FROM TEN FEET NOR TEN METRES NOR TEN MILES. HOMG DID THAT JUST HAPPEN OR DID I READ IT WRONG. SO. DID. NOT. SEE. THAT. COMING.

I know I say this about every subsequent chapter -- but by /far/ this was the best. I mean, they actually found the Quidropropot, for one thing, and that's only the basis of the entire story. You described it perfectly, exactly as I'd been seeing it in my head all along... That is just tremendous.

AND HUGO. ♥ He outdid himself in this chapter; I was laughing so hard the entire way through (EXCEPT THE END BECAUSE WHAT THE HECK), because this was genuinely /funny/. Oh, I thought he was funny before, but nothing compared to this. I shall now present to you some of my favorite lines, and I don't care that you know them since you wrote them. I will show you anyway --

He also didnít know why it appeared to him to have the appearance of briny. And he also was not sure what the word briny meant.

It is okay, little drums of the ear variety, he thought consolingly. You are all right.

It almost looked like a tiny globe, but with orange water, pink continents--and far too many of them, of course. Hugo knew that there were only one hundred of them.

It had been standing like a giant lolly pop on the tree, only with a very short and summarily ineffectual stick of a stem. No one would like a patchily-fuzzy lolly anyways.

That second one, especially -- I was /dying/. And my mom asked me what I was doing and I tried to explain it to her and she didn't get it. I LOVE THIS STORY SO MUCH. ♥

Does Hugo perhaps think that Walt Whitman is similar to the Wimbourne Wasps because they have the same alliterative quality? -no idea-

Lilylilylilylilylily. I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL CHAPTER 10. I SERIOUSLY, SERIOUSLY CANNOT. This story deserves every read, every review, every favourite, and then multiplied by at least ten. /That/ is how highly I think of it, and your writing in general, and you.

Author's Response: JANEJANEJANEJANE okay i'm sorry for any emotional damage this chapter has caused you BUT at the same time...greedily accepting it as a sign of MY AMAZINGNESS--I mean, ahem, the story's efficaciousness.

Herm well my own brand of humor is sort of inherited from someone whose brain i am not entirely able to account for. by some twist of fate you've ended up with likewise ticklish brainwaves. I wouldn't blame your mother for not laughing at the inaneness that is my story :P

YES THEY BOTH ALLITERATE WITH THE SAME CONSONANT ETERNAL LOVE FOR YOU NOW~~~

EEE i'm excited for you to read chapter 10 as well! at this point they're all a bit of a blur but I think I remember what's coming. GOOD TIMES AHEAD.

(h) (h) thank you so much for your reviews, they mean a lot to me!!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Toujours Padfoot 

18th October 2011:
Neville stood a small distance away, watching as the Acromantula's venom worked its way down into the ice and carved a small tunnel around the Quidropopot.

- I love that imagery. A tunnel in the ice. GIVE ME YOUR SKILLZ, I WANT THEM NAO.

The description of the wood nymphs and the Quidropopot itself was brilliant! The nymphs were scary/beautiful and I was like :O And the protective fuzzy casing on the Quidropopot reminded me of the vernix on newborn babies, that protects them while they were submerged in amniotic fluid. So when I was reading about Hugo pulling it out of the lake, that's what I kept thinking of.

ALSO, I WOULD JUST LIKE TO SAY THAT WALT WHITMAN SOUNDS LIKE WINBOURNE WASPS ONLY SORT OF BACKWARDS AND DYSLEXIC-LIKE AND THAT'S WHAT CROSSED MY MIND WHEN HE SAID IT.

-victory-

And if I'm wrong and you were referring to some other similarity, then booo.

ALSO WOT WOT, SCORPIUS GOT STABBED. OH NOES. MUST READ ON.



Author's Response: Realistically I agonized over the word "tunnel" for almost twenty minutes. I'm not exaggerating this time, believe it or not. I tried word after word--YOU DON'T WANT THIS KIND OF SKILL, IT'S TOO SLOW.

I don't know if you've seen the Chronicles of Narnia movie(s) that include tree spirits or whatever they are but that's basically what fueled my descriptive understanding of the nymphs in their organic form. The Quidropopot wavered in my vision--sometimes it was smaller than I had actually described it, being like an orange tomato, sometimes it was like a smallish pumpkin--but I realized that I wanted it to be kind of like...THAT MUST BE A REAL PLANT IT IS SO BELIEVABLE OMG I CAN SEE IT SO WELL! that I thought describing, in detail, a pumpkin wasn't going to be that interesting. So I just kind of went about it, and the fuzz/globe/all that happened as I wrote this chapter :) I hadn't ever made the connection to vernix (WHICH SORT OF SCARES ME SORRY I'M NOT A LOVING MOTHER LIKE YOU), but that adds a richness to the accidental correlation that I am thoroughly enjoying (sans the small eww factor).

YOU ARE SO RIGHTTT though for the WW thing! Walt and Wasps sound the same--WINbourine and WHITman have a rhymingish sound in there--also there's the alliteration in their names. YOU ARE CORRECT, MA'AM, here's your prize of eternal love (h) (h) (h) (h) (h)

MUHAHAH WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO THE MALFOY?

thanks as always, O LOVO YOO


 Report Review

Review #7, by another fangirl <3 

26th July 2011:
OH MY GOD YOU CAN'T STOP NOW! I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS WITH SCORPIUS, COME ON! :O PLEASE HURRY UP WITH THE NEXT CHAPTER? :o
I love this story, absolutely love it! I love how you've made an adventure-story in the next gen without it being a story about a new war or something cliche like that. And I also love how the most of the story isn't in the "main charcters" point-of-view, but instead in those around him. Or well, that's how I've seen it xD

Author's Response: AHHH I WILL POST THE NEXT CHAPTER SO SOON! it's already written, in truth, i just wanted to get another chapter for Gryffindor tower up in the mean time.

I'm so glad you're enjoying it! I honestly never even had another plot like second war cross my mind--in my head Hugo is really strangely special and so his quest needed to be like that, too :) I think it is mostly Scorpie and Neville, yes, but I have been trying to give Hugo a good share of the narration--he's so fun to write :)
Thanks for reading and reviewing, and I'll post the next chapter as soon as I can~


 Report Review

Review #8, by hpgrl 

24th July 2011:
Hey lily!
Great chapter, HUGO IS FULL OF WIN- but you already knew that. I love the assortment of magical creatures that are thrown into this story. For some reason, I was getting a Lord of the Rings vibe from the wood nymphs.

OH NO SCORPY!!! DONT DIE!!!

I was sensing some bad motives out of scorpius as he helps Hugo get the Quidropopot. I didn't completely get what Neville's plan was, did he put it into action yet?

And I wish I had enough knowledge of poetry to figure out the wimbourine wasps thing.

Just a mistake I picked up on,
"Take this," she whispered with an agency (urgency)

Great job! Looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi Jade! I'm so pleased that you like this chapter--I rewrote it like five times so I had hoped it'd done its work, and it seems it has :) I love Hugo ! And I can see that--the Nymphs were sort of actually inspired by the ones from Chronicles of Narnia, and not on purpose, it was just in my brain ! Someone else actually pointed that out to me, but I can see too how you'd get that LoTRish vibe.

I feel like Scorpius is just very moody out in the cold without a way to shave his face, haha, he's not evil in my books. He is, however, practical, and would see that that fruit has some uses they could gain by and wouldn't be afraid to, I dunno, mention these out loud. Neville got interrupted in the middle of his plan, actually, and it'll be admittedly a couple chapters before he's able to complete it. But try to keep it in mind! :)

The Wimbourine Wasps--it has to do with the sounds rather than actual substance to the words :)

I actually did mean to use 'agency,' although the way I used it is really normally reserved for literature analysis...like, her agency in this sense is that ir forces Hugo to take the box straight away. I can't explain it exactly right but urgency I guess could be a suitable replacement :)

Thanks so much for the review, I appreciate it! I'm doing almost a complete makeover of Study In S. right now, I'll have to run the chappies by you when I'm done! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by justonemorefic 

23rd July 2011:
Okay, I already squeed but I shall re-squee.

Obviously Lily, you just can't keep your wordcount down, eh? No one is surprised. BUT THEN WE GET EXTENDED AWESOMENESS that I got previews to hehehe.

Of course Hugo would smack himself face first into a legendary fruit. It's the graceful way of doing things.

Convenient box of convenience; I'LL TAKE IT. I mean, the kid just wants a Quaffle. GIVE HIM THE QUAFFLE~

I should put in a proper NOOO SCORPIUS~ just because. Ahem. NOOO SCORPIUS~ YOU'RE TOO PRETTY TO DIEEE.

♥ your crazy fangirl

Author's Response: baww gina you are so ninja-like with your reviewing skills--it's been up for less than an hour and you're like BOOM NEW REVIEW

nooo sorry, I just really like words, okay? but um yeah it's just you get yourself into the detail stuff and then you can't get back out. There is no escape...

NO SCORP!

will post 10 as soon as the major edits are done. I did think I was done with them but read it again, forced others to give me feedback, and have been like LOL JUST KIDDING REWRITING HEEE

(h)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review