Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

25th May 2012:
Awful. I don't understand why Gaspard, that horrid man, hates Narcissa so much. Why doesn't he want the spell to be broken? I can understand Mrs. Macnair. I'm angry and I figured she had something to do with it but I'm not too angry where I can't pity her. It must be hard for her to have to take care of Lucius and live in the manor and watch the ghost of Charlie because he couldn't get any help because of Lucius and his selfish ways all those years ago.

It's really unsettling and I still can't figure out what's going to happen next! Urgh!

Author's Response: Gaspard is a few chicken nuggets short of a Happy Meal. He is not all there in the head, I must say.

I have conflicted feelings about Mrs. Macnair. She's got a lot of suppressed anger and she's misdirecting it. And while she loves Charlie, there's nothing admirable about someone who forces someone else to live a life of delusion just to make herself feel better. Mrs. Macnair's got a few screws loose, like Gaspard.

Plot twists ahoy! lol, just go with it, Deeds. One thing we know about fairy tales: the princess always gets the prince in the end.

:)


 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

1st January 2012:
Another wonderful chapter!

I've come to the decision that Gaspard is quite like Gaston from Beauty and the Beast - just more evil...if that's the correct word. It seems as if he has a soft spot for Narcissa, as Gaston did. But then again, I could be wrong, and the pearl he gave Narcissa could be used for something completely different, other than a present. So many different things that could be done.

And Mrs. Macnair. I really don't know how I feel about her. I suppose I'm in a rather hate/love situation with her. Although I think love is too strong of a word. I guess if anything, it'd be sympathetic. Sigh.

Well, onto the next chapter! Thank you for making my mind keep guessing by the way! :D

Author's Response: Gaspard is a bit of a psycho. I think that part of him is smitten with Narcissa and the other part feels revulsion toward her, so it's an internal battle and he tries to resolve it by being overly aggressive toward her. That and, as I said before, he's pretty much nuts. As for Mrs. Macnair, well, she's a bit of a split personality. She's vengeful and she's got a lot to lose, so there's a lot of possibility for destruction where she's concerned.

 Report Review

Review #3, by halfbreed 

10th September 2011:
Alright, I'm officially confused. But the thing is, I don't know if I'm supposed to be confused or if I just misinterpreted who Wilda was supposed to be. Probably the latter.

I have to say, I'm a lot more interested in the manor now than I am with Narcissa at all. It feels like a completely different story now, and one that I don't like quite as much. Is it weird that the manor is my favorite character? I don't know, I just find it more interesting than Narcissa right now, because it seems like she's slightly disconnected. Like I'm reading about what she's doing, but it's really not hitting me like it did while she was in the manor. Maybe it's because I'm reading too fast cause I'm so anxious for her to get back to the manor.

I just... love the manor... :P

There are definitely interesting plot developments here, and I like that we're learning more about meanie what's-his-face whose name I don't remember except that it's really weird. But for me, the manor just kind of IS the story. And without it... well, it's still a fantastic story; it just doesn't feel like it's pulling me in as much. But I guess that's my problem; I should probably slow down and actually read everything carefully.

Mrs. Macnair is so... well, I want to say awesome because I love where you've taken her, but at the same time she is very not awesome. Burning stacks and stacks of music and sending the most interesting character into an eternal sleep just to save ghost-Charlie? Come on, old hag, get a grip. But I still have to sympathize with her--you've made sure of that! Her sense of reality is quite warped, though, isn't it?

Author's Response: I'll just go ahead and say, for clarity, that Wilda and Mrs. Macnair are indeed the same person. If you ever go back and skim through the other chapters, you will find that "Wilda" and "Mrs. Macnair" are never in the same room with Narcissa, and the person Narcissa believes is Wilda never shows her face. Mrs. Macnair figured it out that Narcissa thought she was two different people, and is using it to her advantage. The woman's got several screws loose. :) And yeah, her priorities with saving a ghost adds to the imbalance of her mind. She ain't all there. At all.

I do understand what you mean about a disconnect with Narcissa. Right now she is going through the motions, being pulled along and doing things she doesn't quite understand. She's starting to figure out what she wants and where she wants to go. Sometimes you have to leave home to realize how much you miss it, and that's the case here. Narcissa had to leave the manor in order to realize...well...I won't give spoilers. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by TenthWeasley 

4th August 2011:
OKAY. You have just succeeded, as you have been doing for the past twelve chapters, every expectation I have ever placed on this story. Ever. Just when I think I've mastered where I think the plot is going in my head, you've got to come in and turn it completely on its head, throwing me for loop after loop. You'd think I'd expect it by now, but I never do.

Do not EVER stop doing it.

And you've just revealed to me something so shocking I may never recover. THEY'RE THE SAME PERSON. I cannot even recover from my shock right now. Nothing in my life will ever be the same. Ever. Your brilliance literally knows no bounds. The fact that you could conceal something like that from your readers for so long? Admirable in the extreme. Like, seriously. I am so jealous it's not even funny.

I cannot even comprehend the planning and writing and thinking that must have gone into that plot turn. Literally the best I've seen here, or in any fan fiction. And I can't think of any original fiction that does better, either. That's a Rowling-worthy plot twist, there are no doubts.

I also LOVE all the fairy tales you're incorporating, even if it takes me a bit to understand them. :) They just make the story so much more refreshing and not like anything else I've ever read, and that more than anything is what keeps me coming back. I know that when I return to this story, I will be reading something genuinely new. This fic is truly the first breath of completely fresh air I've yet read here.

Can I please just take a moment and absorb your all-consuming genius? I am so jealous of you, and this fic, and you some more. Because you are truly one of the most fantastic writers (of ANYTHING) I have ever read. You write everything just so... well. There is no other word to describe it, because that just sums it up. You are a GOOD writer, a GREAT writer, and never sell yourself short of that intense awesome.

Gosh, I love this story. Have I mentioned that? Okay. I'm going now. Promise.

:)

LOVE. -heart emoticon-

Author's Response: My brain is all fuzzy and I don't think I'll be able to come up with any kind of response that will do justice to that fabulous review. It will be a miracle if I manage to get chapter 16 finished today - or even started - what with how slowly my brain is moving. So, being the pathetic and useless person that I am, I shall present you with a poem:

Cow says baaa!
Sheep says mooo!
Magician says ta-dah!
Ghost says booo!



^

& hearts ; (without spaces)


 Report Review

Review #5, by EvenstarMUA 

30th July 2011:
I'm glad you aren't giving up. I am sure there are a lot more people reading it than are leaving reviews maybe?
I check back everyday... It's not this often that I get really into a fanfiction :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I am actually writing the next chapter right now! It will most likely be finished and posted some time today.

Thank you so much for reading this story. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by EvenstarMUA 

26th July 2011:
When can we expect the next chapter!? Loving this story

Author's Response: Thank you. :) I actually haven't been writing it lately because it felt like only 3-4 people were reading it, and that was kind of disheartening. But I'm over that, and I plan to write the next chapter probably within the next week!

Thank you for reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by BROKENwords453 

20th July 2011:
I love the way you managed to combine all the different fairytales without actually copying them. The manner in which you altered and mixed them, surprisingly enough, flows rather well. What is probably most amazing though is that I actually like Lucius Malfoy, at least in this story. Normally I'm a Lucius hater but the way you potrayed him he is not so bad. Granted he's the "prince" in this fairytale and the Death Eaters are not mentioned but still.

Please keep updating, can't wait to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really enjoy thinking of ways to borrow from fairytales and include their familiar elements, but still add bits from Rowling's world as well as my own imagination. I'm glad you like how I've altered the fairytales so far!

Lucius is a character I usually cannot stand. I began to wonder to myself about how he and Narcissa came to be Death Eaters, and ended up so pretentious and snide. Basically, Purgatory is a different way of telling that backstory, which will eventually lead up to the darker bits and WHY they joined the Dark Lord and became those unlikable characters. So if you are paying attention, you might notice mentions of Death Eaters in future chapters. ;)

Thank you for reading and for the review! I enjoyed hearing from you and I hope you continue to like Purgatory.


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica 

18th July 2011:
Hello again! You seem to have made the transition between fairy tales quite smoothly. Narcissa's interaction with the elves is quite entertaining and humorous, though her encounter with Gaspard was downright creepy. Poor thing. You painted a sad and beautiful portrait of the gloomy state in Malfoy Manor, particularly the poignant predicament of Mrs. Macnair and Charlie. Hopefully Narcissa can liberate poor Lucius and the others soon. Great work! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review. :) Yes, Gaspard has a few screws loose - I would imagine that Narcissa is not the first person he has ever manipulated into working for him. You'll learn more about Gaspard in the next chapter.

As for Mrs. Macnair, I do feel a bit sorry for her. I can see what motivated her to do what she did, but the dead should be allowed to continue on into the afterlife if given the chance. It's kind of selfish to want his ghost to be trapped to the castle. Besides, can you imagine spending an eternity with the same group of people, shut up in a house together?

As for Narcissa liberating Lucius - she's working on it! She's forming some plans in her head. :)

Thank you for reading and reviewing.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review