Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina 

26th June 2013:
I think stories about the Weasleys as kids are my favorite, and I really like what you're doing with the characters.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I really loved writing these stories, and I actually enjoy writing about kids in general. This collection and its companion helped me understand how to write baby Harry in the Marauders trilogy I recently finished, so everything is connected. ;) I'd never read many Weasleys-as-kids stories before writing this, and it was a lot of fun to explore!

Thank you for reviewing! ♥ I'm very pleased you're enjoying the story thus far, and I hope you continue to do so.


 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly 

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
Every child has a bit of resentment when a new baby comes home. It's usually the oldest who has the toughest time. When you are the oldest, you are expected to help with the younger ones, and sometimes feel like you are taken for granted. Bill obviously felt that but was too polite to voice his concern. What a guy. I like how you have put Mr Sruffing into each chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: See, I've never had the experience of a new baby coming home, but I know how sibling rivalry is, and it's really not a pleasant thing. And I don't have nearly as many siblings as Bill, so I can only imagine how he must feel most of the time! I'm quite proud of him here, if I can be proud of him at all; I feel like he would have been a really, really good brother after this.

Mr. Stuffing! I confess -- I grew too attached to him in those first two chapters, and as a result he just sort of cropped up everywhere. And he kind of stole the show! I'm glad you enjoyed his reoccurring role! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by academica 

15th July 2012:
AWW. ♥ Bill is sick of being the welcoming wagon, and rightly so, with four brothers already! I love how he tried to show his parents that he was displeased while still feeling astonished that he was considered grown up enough to hold the new baby. (Wonder how he'll deal with a new baby sister?)

His little transformation is adorable, and I like that his displeasure was rooted in the fear of being forgotten. (After all, it's natural to think that your parents kept having boys because the first one they had wasn't satisfactory. Sad, but natural.) The ending to this chapter was so sweet - I love how Mr. Stuffing has become a theme, and how you use him to tie all of the Weasley children together.

A nice break from my usual angst. Lovely job :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Poor Bill -- I do think it would get rather tiring, seeing a little parade of red-haired siblings pass through your house. But then again, I have to be angry at him, because who DOESN'T love Ron? I suppose he doesn't know better, though. I loved the comment you made about a feeling that maybe the first few sons weren't good enough; that's so interesting, and I never thought about it in just those terms before. I love it when reviewers get me thinking!

Mr. Stuffing is a highly integral part to all of these one-shots; you'll see him in every chapter, basically. :D Thanks so much for taking the time to drop by here and leave me a review on this story! It's super appreciated! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by charlottetrips 

22nd April 2012:
How funny, Bill’s already going through a mini-version of teenage angst.

He’d been around the longest, after all – they were used to him by now. - One can’t fight the logic of that!

I think I’m just going to keep repeating myself in my determination to review each one-shot. But IT’S SO FLUFFY! ! ! ! IT’S SO FLUFFY I COULD D D D I I I E E E! ! !

First of all, Bill’s adolescent angst just totally got me, but I could totally see where he was coming from and then when he comes around in the end with just a little of fatherly love and giving Ron his bear (I can see that Mr. Stuffing is becoming quite prominent here) – so so cute.

I also love how you portray Arthur and Molly, their love for their children is evident as well as the clear-eyed view that parents seem to have. I love how they handle them.

Author's Response: Bill is a bit angsty in this -- I suppose I never analyzed it too closely before. :P But the fluff! It does appear! (Hint -- you'll see Mr. Stuffing again. And again. And probably again!)

I love writing Arthur and Molly, because they are /such good parents/. Some of my favorite adults in the canon series, which isn't saying a lot, as quite a few of them are bumbling idiots. I just love getting to 'parent' through them, if I can say so without sounding creepy. And, as such, they ended up popping up quite a bit here, too!

These reviews COMPLETELY made my day -- you cannot imagine what you did for me by leaving them. ♥ Thank you so, so much, and I hope to see you back again soon!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 

12th February 2012:
Aw! This was so adorable!

I really love the fact that you decided to do Bill’s chapter on his youngest brother coming home from St. Mungos. It was not a moment I really ever thought much about just because I only have one younger sibling and I was too young to remember her coming home. So I never had the fear of not being loved because of a little sibling. But you really display that fear of not being loved, of being forgotten quite well. I could honestly see this entire scene taking place in my head and it was not difficult at all to feel Bill’s emotions. It was soo realistic and you really did a fantastic job!

I will admit, I was a little concerned when Bill told his mother to ‘take him back.’ I was worried that Bill didn’t want anything to do with his brother anymore, but once it started talking about him digging in his toy box, I knew what was going on. And as soon as Bill returned, I was fighting back tears. It’s just so sweet that he so willingly gave up his bear to his brother. He is such an amazing big brother to Ron. And I especially love the ‘he liked it’ exclamation. It was so fitting. Really great.

One thing I noticed, that could definitely just be me was this sentence:

“Now he’d started, though, he found it hard to stop, words pouring from his mouth before he could think about them properly.” –Maybe having ‘Now he’d started…’ being ‘Now that he’d started…’ just for sentence flow?

But other than that small thing, I really did enjoy this chapter. The Weasley’s are such a fun family to follow. I’m glad you wrote this! It’s amazing! And I’ll be back to read more soon, I’m sure!

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I never really gave that moment a lot of thought, either, until I actually knew I had to sit down and write about Bill sooner or later. :P And then, of course, this idea made it sooner, but yeah. I'd like to think the reaction from at least one of the boys might have been something similar to this.

Bill and Charlie always seemed like such loving big brothers, not snobbish, as big brothers are sometimes seen, and I really love that about them. Makes me wish for a brother of my own!

Thanks so much for the sweet review -- totally made my day! You're awesome! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Riverwind 

9th January 2012:
Wow, I remember when our youngest was born, home birth, the other 4 were in the LR waiting his arrival. We brought him out and gave him to our oldest, she then passed him down, until finally the now next to youngest held his youngest brother.

I have not thought about that in years, thanks for the memory.

River

Author's Response: Oh, that's an awesome memory! Never got anything like that -- my sisters are both my age, so we all sort of held each other, I suppose.

I'm glad this story could recall that, though. That's very cool! Thanks for taking the time to leave yet another review, too, I am really very grateful you did. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by BKL8008 

8th January 2012:
I felt much the same way when my sister arrived. hehe.
"Take him back." I was howling! I thought Bill wanted them to take the baby back to the hospital. Excellent capture of the older sibling. I must have come in post-edit, so it all fits so far.

Author's Response: Again, I haven't really had a lot of personal experience to derive from this, so I'm glad that you seem to be able to relate to it! :)

You did come in post-edit (thank goodness!) and I'm thinking about just taking those bits out of the author's note, just so as to not confuse anybody, but it was a silly little thing that I had to fix. Thank you so much for such a great review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

1st January 2012:
It was nice to see not everyone was happy about the new addition.
It's so cute that Bill was the one who gave Ron 'Mr Stuffing' That must be one old bear.
Another great chapter! I love the idea for this story.

Author's Response: I've said this many times, but I think it's rational, even realistic, that one of the Weasleys would not have been completely happy about having so many siblings, and Bill seems the logical choice. :) And of course Mr. Stuffing had to make another reappearance!

Thank you so much! This story was really a selfish indulgence of wanting to write more and more Weasleys, and not have a million one-shots cluttering my page, but that's how these things go. :P I'm so glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by forsakenphoenix 

23rd December 2011:
Oh, Bill. I think you've examined a wonderfully confusing time for young Bill. I liked that you didn't make him as excited about Ronald coming home as Charlie was - Charlie was too cute! with him squealing about another minute going by - and that he felt that his parents would forget about him. I think it's a very valid concern that many children face when welcoming a new child into the house, especially with Bill and already having four younger brothers as it is.

Arthur was very sweet to him, though, and I loved that he was the one to prove to Bill that they could never stop loving him. AND THEN BILL GAVE RON MR STUFFING! That was the cutest thing EVER and it's nice to see where Mr Stuffing came from. I'm sure it holds a lot of sentimental value to Bill and to give it to his youngest brother as a sign of acceptance...gahh, so stinkin' precious!

I LOVE baby Weasleys and you do such a fantastic job with them. I love all these little snapshots you're writing. It makes me very happy to read these. :)

Author's Response: I've never had to deal with that sort of sibling rivalry, watching Mum and Dad bring home a new baby, but I can imagine how it would feel -- and it's not a pleasant feeling. I think it's plausible that at least one of the brothers would feel this way, and I'm glad you agree!

ARTHUR SAVES THE DAYYY. I had to include Mr. Stuffing somehow, obviously, and I think it's not a far stretch in saying he once belonged to a brother of Ron's -- as all his other possessions did, of course! :P Thank you so much for such a sweet review, Missy! It really means so much to me. ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by lizmusic45 

17th December 2011:
Oh, that's just so cute! I loved this chapter, I was wondering when you we're going to do something on Bill, still I think Ron and Percy are just great...Haven't got much of Ginny, you know my undying love for her :) Hope to see her :)

This chapter though was great, and the relationship between Charlie/Bill is like the one I have with my big sister, I'm Charlie and I drive her nuts :)

Love this chapter, off to read the next :)

Lizzie

Author's Response: I did a one-shot on each of the Weasley children, following it up with an epilogue (which, of course, you now know). So yes, Bill definitely got his fifteen minutes of fame, as it were!

I can't really relate to Bill and Charlie's relationship, or really any of these sibling relationships -- both of my sisters are my age, so they're not technically younger or older except in minutes. So I'm glad it came off well! Thank you so much for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

1st December 2011:
I believe JKR and most fanfic always paint Bill as the stoic, strong, responsible older brother. It was refreshing and highly believable that he'd have a reaction such as this to having ANOTHER brother coming home from St. Mungo's. Very well done.

And, nice canon addition with Mr. Stuffing's gifting - and under these circumstances. Superb!

Eldy

Author's Response: Again, I can't really put myself into Bill's shoes, never having had to before, but I think it's highly probable that he might be put out at having so many siblings come after him. Glad to see you agree. ;)

Mr. Stuffing gets woven hereabouts in every one of these stories -- he's become my favorite part in writing them! He is very much Ron's bear, no matter who has him before or after.


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotter 

28th November 2011:
Another wonderful, magical, heart-warming chapter! I love how you do such an incredible job of making us really understand the character's emotions. Bill's frustration is so clear, and you want to help him, but you know that he wouldn't listen, no matter how hard you tried. Then he meets Ron and talks to his father, only to learn that hearts don't replace one person for another, they grow to fit them both.
10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Your reviews never fail to make me smile, and I thank you for them. :3 I try and put a lot of emotions and imagery into chapters -- either consciously or subconsciously, I'm not too sure -- and when it's commented on I always feel it was worth the while. So thank you!

Bill just needs a hug and some lovin', doesn't he? Poor guy. ♥ Thank you so much for returning; I hope to see you back before too long!


 Report Review

Review #13, by classicblack 

4th November 2011:
At last, the backstory of Mr. Stuffing, the least recognized Weasley! ;) Anyway, I thought this was so cute; a classic older sibling resenting a younger one story. I think you're right too; at least one of the Weasley children definitely would have been a bit resentful to all the new kids coming in. I wonder how they all felt when Ginny was born... Wonderful job, as always.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: :D Mr. Stuffing is totally canon. I refuse to believe anything else after writing these stories. -state of denial-

I've sort of got the Ginny aspect coming up in chapter 7, because she /is/ the only girl. But you'll have to wait and see that! Thank you so much for all your lovely reviews. :3


 Report Review

Review #14, by TeddyFreakinLupin 

24th October 2011:
Aw!
Loving little Bill.

Author's Response: I don't think a lot of people give him much thought past being Dominique and Victoire and Louis's dad. It's fun writing him. :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #15, by deathlyhallowsmaster24 

18th October 2011:
AW! I

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AC_rules 

5th October 2011:
Okay, this one was the cutest one yet I think.

Little Bill! Oh, he's just adorable in every way with his 'mum and dad won't love me anymore' and the way he gave up his bear! N'awhh!

We haven't seen much of Ginny yet but I'm loving all these beautiful little moments of their life. It could almost be real.

Loving it :D

-AC

Author's Response: Poor Bill -- he is in serious need of a hug here. :D In the beginning, at least.

The thing that's hard about Ginny is including her in the stories while her brothers are little, since she's the youngest. Bill was already preparing to head off to Hogwarts when she was born, so Ginny's been hard to include. But never fear -- chapter 7 is solely hers. :3

So glad you're enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Mihali1432 

29th September 2011:
I can't remember what it was like for me to get my new brother... I was quite young. Still great!

Author's Response: I've never had that experience of getting a new sibling, and so was sort of writing from imagination here. :D I'd imagine at least one of them might be a bit bitter, though, especially since there were EIGHT Weasley children. That's quite a lot to be getting on with!

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lady Mouldywart 

27th August 2011:
I love baby Weasleys *squeal* I think I might go mad from the cuteness overload :P

Author's Response: Maybe I've gone crazy from cuteness overload, as well -- I could use that as my excuse, at any rate. :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave reviews, I appreciate it very much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by MadamePuddifoot 

21st August 2011:
I really enjoyed this! Really good insight into Bill's mind. You're right...at least one of them would have to have resented the large amounts of brothers! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Having no brothers of my own, and not remembering when my sisters were born (we're all the same age), I'm sort of writing from thin air so your compliments are encouraging!

Glad to hear you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Roots in Water 

17th August 2011:
Another great chapter! I felt that Bill's reaction was very appropriate; after all, with 4 younger brothers one might feel overwhelmed with siblings. "They were used to him now"- such a lovely, appropriately childish line about how he was feeling.

Arthur, and Molly, are of course understanding and react how a parent should react in these sorts of situations. Kind, sympathetic and understanding.

Finally, the transfer of the bear from oldest to youngest was nicely done as well. I like the continuity you're giving this collection by bringing previous elements back into the mix.

Author's Response: Your reviews never fail to make me smile, thank you so much! :3 Mr. Stuffing makes another reappearance!

 Report Review

Review #21, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

16th August 2011:
THE ORIGINS OF MR STUFFING ♥ Bill's so sweet. I can definitely imagine one of them being quite jealous about having a new sibling at some point and Bill makes a lot of sense.

I really like how you portrayed everyone here respective to their ages: how Bill's getting that pre-teen attitude to him, Charlie finding himself hilarious (spending a lot of time with kids that age recently has made me see exactly how true that is), Percy's bossiness, Fred and George's 3-year-old mania and tiny, baby Ron. It's quite hard to imagine him so small, actually. Without a voice. We hear so much of baby Harry but baby Ron, baby Hermione, so rarely.

Have to point this line out: They'd named him Ronald Bilius, apparently, and even though Bill was resentful, he had to feel a bit sorry for his brother with a name like that. - It's funny how people pick up on Albus Severus and Scorpius Hyperion but never comment on poor Ron's name. It's not the greatest, is it? :P

I think this is brilliant and original and it's tactfully and perfectly written. I've loved reading what's been posted so far and I can't wait for more :D


xx

Author's Response: Baby Ron is (for me) the weirdest part of this, because JKR gave him such a huge personality... and I didn't get to use any of it! :3 I've always thought Ronald Bilius was a sort of awful name, and to someone with a normal name like William Arthur, it would seem so, I'd imagine.

RACHEL YOU SO AWESOME. ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by magicmuggle01 

3rd August 2011:
So thats how Ron got his teddy bear. Some children from a large family can feel a bit left out in the order of things, especially if your the eldest and expected to set an example. I loved reading this chapter, and I loved the way that you portrayed how sensitively Bills mum and Dad dealt with the problem. 10/10 and awaiting your next story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for coming by to review this! I am glad you keep coming back, it makes me smile. :3 Awesome to hear you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by ginnypottergal 

23rd July 2011:
aw!!!
that was so cute!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Toujours Padfoot 

12th July 2011:
AND MR. STUFFING MAKES ANOTHER ENTRANCE

-he is a star-

This was, of course, adorable, even though I've read scraps of it ages ago. It still retained the power of almighty adorbs-ness. Molly and Arthur were ultra-tactful and wise, and Ron was tiny and pink and thinking very not-tactful-at-all thoughts already, I can just tell. And Bill as you painted him (honestly, Bill never gets any airtime in fanfic, it's like he doesn't exist except to create Victoire and occasionally Dominique) is very realistic. At ten years old, it's perfectly reasonable that he would be wanting to kick things, grunting bitterly and moping and just being very sour in general because of a new baby - ESPECIALLY in a family with so many kids already. And the fact that Ron had BILL'S yellow blanket - gasp! I would've taken it from him, like wham-boom, that's mine, kid. Go eat your cheerios.

It was so cute, such a perfect touch that he gave baby Ron Mr. Stuffing. It's very Bill, as I feel that he was always a tad more serious, a tad more mature, a tad more solitary. Just kind of go-with-the-flow-ish, but knows where he stands. Except when he's melting under Mr. Weasley's inspective gaze. And the red squiggly line is informing me that inspective is not a word, but YOU CAN'T TELL ME WHAT TO DO, SQUIGGLY LINE.

Lovely, as usual. I would expect no less. :)


Author's Response: I have tried so hard to write you a decent response, or even a half-decent response, but absolutely no words are coming to my brain. So, here comes the prose:

Daisies are yellow
Stinkbugs are green
I put a cat
In the washing machine

LOVE YOU. Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by thehyacinthgirl 

12th July 2011:
Aw, this is really adorable!

I really like the idea of a jealous brother because it's quite understandable given his age (I think it's actually rather plausible for anyone of any age to be jealous/annoyed at the prospect of another sibling), and you certainly can't blame him. He does come from a big family, and I could see why Bill would be upset.

When I was twelve and my little sister was coming I was excited about it until one of my friends blurted out that my parents would just forget about me. I was worried that it would happen at twelve, so I don't think it's too implausible that Bill would feel the same way.

I really like your characterizations of the Weasley's. They all seem to be quite canon in nature and that, of course, is always appreciated. I also love the evolving emotions and personalities of the children.

They are all different and distinct yet they are the Weasley's we've grown to know and love.

I didn't find any mistakes with grammar, flow, pacing, syntax, or spelling in this story. As I've said so many times before I just really appreciate that when reading a piece. So kudos there!

I think my favorite part of this was the fact that Bill gave Ron his teddy bear. It was just so adorable and such a Bill thing to do.

I can imagine that he is a sweetheart underneath all the machismo he possesses as an adult.

I think this may be one of my favorites yet because Bill and Charlie are my favorite Weasley's. Bill especially.

I really think that this was well done and realistic because while many of the children may have been excited, it makes sense that there would be one that wasn't impressed with the coming of their new sibling.

So plot, characterization, and all that lovely stuff seemed spot on.

Great work!


Linders

Author's Response: I cannot even formulate a coherent response to this review. :) You have said so many wonderful things, how can I address them all?!

Please know that your review really brightened my day, and I am so, so grateful for it.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>