Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

6th February 2013:
I'm just going to sound like a broken record and mirror my previous feelings: I love this story! See, now tell me honestly, how original was that? :))

This chapter we didn't see much of Moody, but the little we did see was enough to send my stomach in a fluttering uproar. I've always found it amazing how well written characters can make you experience the same feelings you'd have for real, flesh and bones people. The conscious and unconscious mind makes no difference in terms of who's real and who isn't, it just sends the same pleasurable impulse.

Now I'm really curious to see what will happen next. Until now Lily has always landed in the worst possible times and this was the first chapter when she is in the right time and space dimension. I can't wait to see how their bond forms, how he ends up falling so deeply in love with her and one of my biggest curiosities, WHO is that woman in the portrait???

I think the saddest and bitterest line is definitely "It would not last - how could it? - but for this time, however short, I would be that one thing he could never forget". How heartbreaking must it be to be forced to live in a reality that is not yours, that you know you don't belong to and be in the presence of the man that has made you more alive than anything ever did, knowing that at some point you will have to leave? To abandon him to his mortifying thoughts and flaring feelings. She is more a Potter and Weasley for doing this than she could possibly imagine. I would have broken by now :(

Author's Response: Thank you! I love that you love this story! It means so much to hear it. ^_^

I don't know what to say about this review! It makes me glad that I had Moody take a short break from the story because it makes his reappearance more meaningful. Wow, it's incredible that you like this characterization of Moody as much as you do. It makes me very happy to read your response to this story.

What you've mentioned in the final paragraph is the tragedy at the core of this story, and of course the story behind the title. Even when she finds the "right" time, she recognizes that she won't have enough time there. She's constantly out of time, in both meanings of the phrase. By this point in the story, she's already traumatized by what she's experienced, and it's only going to get more difficult as she continues.

I'll leave it there for now because otherwise I might say too much. ;) Thank you again for reading and reviewing this story!


 Report Review

Review #2, by BellaCamille 

13th August 2012:
I'm so loving your characterization of Moody as the story progresses. It's all very believable, none of it feels fake or forced.

Author's Response: Really? That's fantastic! He's a strange character to write, especially because there's a lot of speculation required - making him younger, for one, then also less mad (not to mention with fewer physical injuries).

Thank you again! It means a lot to hear that you like how this story and its characters are turning out. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

12th May 2012:
This story is much sadder than i first thought. You write so well. Its amazing 10/10 : )

Author's Response: Oh believe me, it will get sadder. ;) Another of my goals for this story was to write the most romantic tear-jerker I could - I don't know why I wanted to do both things at once, but it certainly plays with readers' emotions.

Thank you very much for all your reviews! I'm glad to hear that you've been enjoying the story! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemorefic 

13th January 2012:
Ah, Lily at last thinks about her present self. I do wonder as well D: And WHO has been leaving those notes? Gaah, so many things I need answered!

I love, how even in this short period of time and setting (we haven't ever seen outside of the house!), that I can see how affected Lily is already by her experience. Not quite love, but separation for Moody, but terribly aching just the same.

Ohhh, I think your final lines summarized how I felt so well. It does feel like a right time, right at the middle of it all. He's come to expect her and she's come to expect him. Remembering how listless Lily was at the beginning, she's already changed quite a bit since then. I can't wait to see what this era has in store for her.

Author's Response: This story is crazy because most of it takes place within 24 hours and while it goes across time, this is the first point when Lily is away from that cottage - alone in a strange London, she feels like she's in a strange dream world rather than a real place. It's a fascinating kind of story to write, and maybe that's why I'm so addicted to it. It's so limited, and could possibly all be taking place in Lily's mid! We may not be leaving her own time at all. :P

The two of them are on a more equal level here, not really because they're about the same age now, but more because they both expect one another and know what to expect from each other - there's less of a mystery, though like you said, Lily still doesn't know how or why she's being sent through time.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! It's fun to see your reactions to each chapter. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by shadowcat2 

6th November 2011:
wow wow wow. The right time thing still doesn't make sense to me. This is the best story about Moody that I have ever read. It's amazing and crazy. I get lost half the time. But I can't stop reading it.

Author's Response: I'm actually not sure what I mean by it yet either - part of it has to do with the fact that they're finally the same age, which I guess makes Lily begin to think that she may belong in this time, with him, rather than her own time. A dangerous thought, to be sure.

Again, I'm sorry the plot is confusing. I had to write out the timeline before I could really make sense of it myself - she's going back in his time, but forward in her time, and that's where the confusion lies.

But still, it's a fabulous compliment that you still push on with the story, and that you see it as the best Moody story makes it that much better. ^_^ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MajiKat 

10th September 2011:
I am determined to catch up on this tonight - i have finished all my marking (well all that needed doing immediately) so I am allowing myself some reading time.

first, filler chapter or not this was still beautiful. i absolutely loved the part where she wonders if he will know her in this time. however she feels about him at this stage and however she feels about them, she needs him during this strange journey of hers and for me, this seemed like the first time she realises it. what does she call him? oh yes, her anchor. i like that, even if lily does say it in passing.

i love moody in this - i love the way the years are peeling back on him, how lily is travelling backwards in time at this point and we are seeing him in reverse - well, we are getting to know him in reverse, much like i imagine it would be for lily.

well, this was filled with all the usual wonderful things that i can expect from you. i will head off to read the next chapter and squee over that!

Kate xx

Author's Response: Kate! Thank you so much for coming back to read and review this story - it always means a lot to hear from you, and I really appreciate that you were able to find the time to look this over. ^_^

Beautiful filler - kind of like some custard or whipping cream in a cake? :P It helps to imagine things as deserts for some reason... Anyway, I'm glad that you liked how this chapter took time to explore Lily's state of mind, how she tries to work through not only what's going on, but also her feelings (for him). She's got to eventually come to the point when he no longer knows who she is, the mirror-image of the first time she met him. And the way that he is the centre of this journey does make him an anchor for her - there's something connecting the two of them, but what? It's something she still has to figure out.

It's actually really interesting to peel him apart like an onion (or present, that simile smells better). Each time she meets him, she learns quite a bit about him and is able to put the various pieces together to create the full(er) image - and as he gets younger, he seems to reveal more and more due to his immaturity (especially in these two chapters).

I'm rambling. Sorry. *hides* Thank you again for these wonderful reviews! I'm really glad that you're enjoying this story as much as you are. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by Phoenix_Flames 

1st September 2011:
SUSAN! What a brilliant chapter this was. Yes, it was mostly filler like you said, but useful and wonderful all the same.

This chapter was brilliant. I just love the basic story you have set up here. It fascinates me, and I absolutely love it. I've come to realize - and whether this is intentional or not I have no idea - is that Moody was never really that grouchy before Lily came into the view in Moody's side of time. Before we met him at all, he really wasn't. Then he met Lily and they will/have had clearly that time full of love and serenity. Then whatever ending there will be to it - which to the story line hasn't occurred yet, but obviously older Moody knows - he became the grouch that we know. He is so moved by his love for Lily. You've made his love for her be his ultimate downfall in the end, and it's absolutely brilliant. Or that's just one of the takes of his emotions that I have. :P

This is absolutely wonderful. He is a great character.

I don't have much else to say because it was mostly filler, and like always, I never have really anything to do with grammar and what not. It's always dead on. Your grammar, your sentence structure, your flow of it all. You make it all seem so whimsical.

I love it, Susan! Off to the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Haha, good filler, then! Nothing wrong with a good bit of filler, as long as it's somehow useful. I hate including those kind of chapters, but they do crop up every so often, mostly as a transition between two scenes or as a way of developing a certain aspect of the plot or character, and I worry that it'll make people bored. To hear otherwise is a great relief. ^_^

What you've said about Moody is definitely true - it was something I had in the back of my mind, but until I read your review, I hadn't really thought about it. Canon Moody is curmudgeonly, and I originally thought it was because of how the Ministry had treated him, but once I started writing this story, the whole romance aspect provides an explanation for even the Ministry's treatment of his madness. It fits the Victorian-esque themes I've been injecting into the plot, as well, which is a bonus. After losing Lily, he loses faith in the world, loses trust in others (even more than before), and... well, I can't go any further without revealing the plot, and I won't do that. ;)

I never thought that writing Moody would turn out so well! Your compliments mean so much, Drue - I'm still stunned by peoples' positive reactions to his characterization and to this story in general. I can't thank you enough. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by SunSation Gal 07 

12th July 2011:
useful? it was just as enjoyable a read as the pervious chapters! and now they are around the same age. yay! but it was an lovely chapter Susan (and I wanted to smack that Gertie woman) and I eagerly await the next one to see what you have planned next. ;)

Author's Response: Oh thank you, Lee! I was really worried about this one, as it throws off my original plan even further than the previous chapter (which was also due to splitting a scene in half), and now this story will be longer than I'd intended, though it shouldn't mean it'll take longer to finish, I hope.

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed this chapter and that it was useful to the plot and characterizations. :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Weasleynumber8 

10th July 2011:
Ughhh, I just love this story so much. The concept is so beyond awesome and unique. I love the whole idea that Moody helped Harry because he knew that he would one day father the love of his life... It sounds creepy when I write it down, but you know what I mean ;) Pleaaase update soon!

Author's Response: Wow, this is astounding praise, thank you very much! It's fantastic that you love the story - it really means a lot, since it's one that I especially love to write. ^_^

I know what you mean about Moody and Harry - I've been trying to think of canon instances that I could work into this story, and the one that comes to mind is from OotP when Moody - as himself, not Barty Crouch - sees Harry for the first time. He has to clean his magical eye in a glass of water, saying that it's because Crouch had dirtied it, but I want to think that he sees the family resemblance. :P I just noticed now that Lily's own first meeting with Moody is very similar, right down to him ordering her down the staircase, just like he had to with Harry. I haven't looked at OotP in a while. Creepy stuff.

Anyway, thank you for reading, enjoying, and reviewing this story! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #10, by Snapdragons 

5th July 2011:
Another lovely chapter. I know I keep mentioning this - but I really, really love the style of your writing. It's distinct, and absolutely beautiful. :)

It's an intriguing story, and I love the mysteries that come up. For instance - really curious about the little pieces of paper. "Time will always be your enemy." I really like that quote, though it's a bit ominous. :P

Trying to imagine a young Moody is quite hard for me. Still, I can see him being gentlemanly towards Lily and I feel as though that fits in with his character very well.

I loved the idea of how this was the "right time", so to speak, when both were prepared enough. The middle, I'm thinking? The non-traditional timeline is really interesting to think about and it makes it a pleasure to read.

A wonderful job, as usual, and this story's been incredible so far! :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I've used a very Victorian style of writing in this story - maybe a little Woolf-esque, too in the flow of the words, trying to work in a sort of musical rhythm. I'm really glad that you like the style, whatever kind of style that it is, because it's one I enjoy writing with - it comes out easily. :)

Tell me about it! I'm still struggling with how to start writing a young Moody - a child Moody, yes, but a twenty-year-old one? It'd be better to come up with an OC instead. I'm not sure how he would sound, so if there are inconsistencies in the next chapter, blame my uncertainty of characterization. ;)

That bit about the right time was very much last minute, so I'm glad to hear that it suited the story - I had hoped to finish the chapter differently, but it was 4000 words with the ending I wanted, so I had to chop and split things apart. *hides*

It's fantastic that you like the way the timeline's playing out. It's odd to write, but I like the complexities of it - it's forced me to carefully plan out every aspect of the story from start to finish, without leaving the gaps I usually do. In this case, I have to know the ending first, and then go backwards from there. I'm just pleased to hear that it's working out, and that you're enjoying the story so much. Thank you! It really means a lot. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review