9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jess the Enthusiast 

8th May 2012:
Another great chapter! I loved the Greek Mythology reference; Theseus and the Minotaur just so happens to be my favorite Greek myth :)
And I'm already shipping James and Waverly; I hope she was the girl referenced to in the summary.

I have to start getting ready for bed, so I will continue and hopefully finish tomorrow! Great story! 10/10 :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

22nd August 2011:
I am going to join Helena in the ignorance in relation to the references going on around here. I am no intellectual :P Team that with my horrific memory and you have a terribly ignorant reviewer on your hands. I apologise in advance.

This is what all fluff should be. No inexplicably crazy OCs, daft unrealistic plots and humour so poor it's almost invisible. It should be this. Clever and witty and still thought-provoking, even in its simplicity.

Of course, this isn't simple either. It should be - it probably would be, if any "normal" fluff writers got hold of it (God help us) - but there's still this element of mystery to the characters. Cillian acts as a great go-between between the reader and James. Waverly is really intriguing, and her relationship with James gets the cogs going in my brain. I love intrigue and I love not 100% knowing where this is going. The James/Waverly relationship is so...well, I can't figure it out yet. TOO COMPLICATED FOR MY POOR LITTLE BRAIN. First time fluff's ever done that to me, I can tell you now :P

I'm not sure any of this is making sense, you know. Please ignore me! Onwards ♥

Author's Response: Naww, don't apologize! The references are only teeny in relation to the fic, and James tends to explain why he's thinking them. Wikipedia (and I) is always around for clarification purposes :D

But I /wanted/ conventional fluff D: Not those things you mentioned, as fics that have those things to tend to elicit a grumble from me, but, you know, happy things with squee-inducing moments and the like. Smart!fluff was nowhere on my agenda when I started this experiment, and yet here it is, and I'm so flattered that it's got the response that it has.

Ooh, I like that description of Cillian, because it's very true. Besides the fact that he's apparently a total dish, he is the plebe in the face of the construct of James' persona. Waverly and James together don't really have a complicated relationship at this point (at least I don't think so), but what they do have is a palpable connection, that Cillian and you (yay!) can feel.

I would never ignore you! Too many hearts to bestow on you now that I can ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by AlPadfootPotter96 

19th August 2011:
Wow, that certainly was intelligent conversation...
I've never really seen or thought of James portrayed in this way, as an intellectual, but you played it out very nicely here. :)
Great writing!

Author's Response: Heh, I tend to get lost in my banter, especially the intellectual stuff. I hope you liked it anyway ^_^ James' characterization is pretty much the backbone of the fic. I like to think of it as my play off what I've seen done with James in a lot of other fics -- a playboy, an enigma, a mischief-maker -- but I'm glad that you liked it. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemorefic 

11th July 2011:
The touché of it all. Hee.

It's so cute and intellectual and I understand the references and James is such a dumb pondering mind really. He's all philosopher, none of the sensible, I may look like a peeping peeves. Pain is knowledge, James.

Head pats :3

Dithering again. Dithering I shall remain.

Author's Response: Heee touche things. I would put the accent mark in but again, lappy and/or response box does not like atypical symbols or punctuation marks. It becomes gibberish like -7096854er7hw instead and it makes me sad.

Cute and intellectual yaaay, but I am mildly disappointed that you caught the references because you know I like one-upping you at every opportunity. (Thwarted again!). James is actually really dumb, which becomes clear later on. He has no idea how the world works because he makes it a point to know how it works.

Baww, you're making my limbs go all wibbly :) (dithering reminds me of SA reminds me of the word wibbly -- SA reference in a response, beat that.)


 Report Review

Review #5, by HarrietHopkirk 

11th July 2011:
HEY GUBBEH. I'm going to give you some tips because I am the Queen of Fluff so you should bow down to me. I, Hatteh, am going to give you, Gubbeh, Queen of Writing, tips on how to write fluff because I, apparently, am better than you. LOL jk I'm a curly-haired mammal that we like to make fun of.

Cryptic. Hmm...

I LOVE THIS! You use words like 'extrapolate' and it BLOWS MY TINY MIND. I love that Waverly and James are totally flurtin' and I love Cillian and I love your writing.

GAAHH... WHEN ARE YOU COMING HOME? ♥

Author's Response: HATTIE MY LOVE, my queen, please bestow upon me your hard-earned wisdom! I don't know where I've been without being gifted with such a gift. But eee, vocab makes me happy especially when it makes /you/ happy. Obviously you know that I'm home by now, but my heart grew several sizes upon seeing this review while I was away. THANK YOU FOR DIRTYING YOUR PRISTINE NAME BY COMING TO MY MEAGER PAGE. I am unworthy like whoa.

 Report Review

Review #6, by fairytaled 

21st June 2011:
EEP. The cuteness this story radiates makes me feel squishy and happy.

and it's witty and intelligent.

Greek mythology makes me squeal with joy.

and I'm in love with your vocabulary XD It's intelligent fluffy stuff, that doesn't kill brain cells with it's sweetness.

And I'm in love with the naming. Cillian? I absolutely adore this one and now i keep seeing Cillian Murphy pop in my head.

Waverley and the wavelength pun just to add to my overall fan-girling.

The trio mesh so well together, absolutely lovely characterisation.

Update as soon as you can! :)

Author's Response: Eep, this review made me really happy and squishy. It's formatted endearingly and it hits all the points I hoped to -- some sort of wit (I'm always nervous that my version of wit is too obscure for people who aren't me to follow), references (again, nervous that some don't stick, and it won't get any less obscure, heh), style (it was hard to strike a balance between possibly-endearing and definitely-pretentious, but I hope I did, and it was enjoyable), names (Cillian is practically my naming piece-de-resistance, although I'm still fond of Waverly), puns (see: wit), and the triumvirate's fragile friendship (they're all so sweet together it makes me happy). Thanks so much for such a lovely review, and I'll try to update asap ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor 

20th June 2011:
This was another fantastic chapter, Gubby! The witty dialogue and hilarious lines continue to charm, to the point that I think I love your James. He's just so cute and funny, which reminds me of the way people used to write the elder James Potter, so it's perfect to see the younger James being written in a similar manner. I also love how natural the three characters are together. I'm totally with Cillian that there's something fascinatingly different about the way that James interacts with Waverly - they are literally on the same wavelength, almost able to finish each others' sentences or ideas. I was mesmerized by their banter.

The references were fantastic, and I laughed out loud at the "Mistah Potter" one. The thought of making the girls' dormitory into the heart of darkness is just hilarious, though it raises a lot of the same issues of colonization and gender norms (just like they were discussing how girls can enter the boys' dorms). Your fluff has depth to it! I find that exciting. :P

Take your time writing, though, because it means that every little bit we get from you is even more of a treat (and I can keep up with reviewing *hides*). Wonderful stuff, Gubby, as always. ^_^

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much, Susan! James is certainly meant to be charming, but it's a clinical, generic charming that manages to work nonetheless. Now that I look at him, I do see a bit of a back-in-the-day James I in this James, which is a gratifying observation for me, but it's... different. At least I think/hope it is, because James' persona here is so carefully constructed that he is not nearly as adorable/perfect as the James from back in the day. But of course, there's definitely something about James and Waverly's interaction that is "fascinatingly different" -- as we know, the construction of James' persona means that he isn't spontaneous at all. And yet with Waverly... well, you see what happens, and I promise you, it doesn't let up.

I was really pleased with the reference-placements in this chapter! Because I didn't realize that it would become a running gag for James to refer to her or compare Waverly to some other character (it does), so these were way more organic. Mistah Potter made me giggle, too (wasn't sure whether to say Mistah Potter or Mistah Kurtz, actually). I don't actually remember right now where the Heart of Darkness stuff bega -- oh yes, I do remember. I was reading a fluffy one-shot to remind myself what fluff is, and someone exclaimed "The horror!" and I thought 1. What a cute thing to name a fluff story and 2. Heart of Darkness. Anyway -- yes, I am still chuffed by the concept of it all. The issues of gender norms and morality and all that do not go away, I can assure you. Nor does the depth! Fluffy depth! Deep fluff! It's a miracle!

Actually the problem isn't the writing, as I've prewritten everything and it's all lovely and done and sitting in Word, but it's the updating that is. Hopefully the wait won't be agonizing :P But thank you so much, these reviews really made my day. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by TallestTower 

20th June 2011:
Hello lovely!

Do you think I can get away with reading and enjoying this entire fic whilst not picking up on references and having to google things and tanning shamefully in the glow of your elitism? Maybe you can educate me one day.

Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter :D Your characterizations are always so beautiful. You have a way of describing characters and making them seem all beautiful and complex and real but in a simple kind of way. You describe characters how other characters see them, and you (okay, I) find it makes this lovely sense of vagueness and particularly in this chapter about getting to know someone and all that guessing. And I loved the way you described the fragility of this little alliance ahah.

Now, I'm probably talking foolish nonsense but you have a liscence to make fun of me :D

Brilliant Gubby. ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Hi! :D

I think you can do that! James makes an effort to vaguely contextualize everything, and if he doesn't, I will in notes at the end. But the references most certainly don't let up -- healthy doses of Grimm's tales, Russian lit, Regency lit... lots of fun, as you can tell. For me, at least. If you ever have questions, you know where to find me!

But eee for thorough enjoyment! That's all I ask, really. Also relief for /real/ characters, because that's something really difficult to establish, especially in fluff and so quickly, too. Character development really becomes my plot in this story. I think the way I describe characters depends entirely on James, as he is the main character and all. He's got a very interesting take on the world, in that he knows and everyone else knows what it is, so whatever description filtered through him is what he knows, but not necessarily what he believes. I think. Ahem. But yes, the alliance is fragile, because they can't possibly be BFFs already. Sadface.

Now I'm /definitely/ talking foolish nonsense so we could be even. Except I don't think the review was nonsense or foolish, so I'm... worse off? Eek.

THANK YOU, LOVE.


 Report Review

Review #9, by LSU4evr 

20th June 2011:
loving all the references. it makes the english/ history nerd in me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :P looking forward to more! i'm interested in the way james is developing as a character...

Author's Response: Yay, someone who gets the references :D The English/history nerd in me also got excited writing them, and there are plenty more references to come! James' character development is pretty much the overarching character... arc... of the story, so never fear, much is to come of him. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review