Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by spreaddapoo 

8th November 2012:
Haha, this chapter came out wonderfully! No doubt it's as brilliant as the rest (despite your worries over the "transition" nature of this chapter). I can't wait to read about how Scorpius and Rose react upon seeing one another... That should be... explosive...
Psst! Love the quirky "Art Finals" discussions! And the Muggle Music references... and Al in the phonebooth! Ah, screw it - I love everything!

Author's Response: thank you so much! I don't think you want to see Scorpius and Rose's first meeting - might be explosive. don some goggles?

thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by marissa lily potter 

30th July 2012:
So I love how well Lucy fits in the with the whole art school crowd. I think it's perect! She doesn't stick out but is one of them & I think that's what makes the story so believable. It really is. All the characters are relatable and the humour is realistic enough. Heh & Albus and Lucy are quite the master planners ;) I adored this chapter as usual! :)

-Marissa

Author's Response: awww, thank you for saying so! :D I do get a bit worked up about characterisation sometimes so it's lovely to have such positive feedback. thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by HufflepuffAlex157 

11th April 2012:
Bonjour, Bonjour, just thought I'd write a little reply to the reply you wrote for my review for the previous chapter 'Obscurity is Overrated' :) Firstly: yay for nu-folk! And yay for hipsters! Haha :) It's so nice to find someone with similar music tastes (Johnny Flynn, Slow Club etc), particularly someone who likes nu-folk- yep, normally there's me just sat there with my iPod being all hipster and listening to stuff like The Tallest Man on Earth, Laura Marling and Johnny Flynn :3 Georgia Nicholson vocab is marvy! I'd love to use it more, but people would act like I'm a crazy person I think :L and lastly, I seriously love Starving Artists! I re-read it every so often because it's really good, and is a nice change from lots of the other fan-fics around! I've probably said this before in a review, but hey! It's like 2am, and I don't really remember, haha :) I'm going to draw this rather random review to a close, but keep writing, and embrace the nu-folk and hipsters! :D Alexxx :)

Author's Response: aloha, arrividerci, guten tag! w000 nu-folk and hipsters! eee Laura Marling is one of my absolute favourites, Slow Club are a more recent discovery I made through spotify but I love how their voices work together. aww, you should use her marvy vocab more! me and my friends use it all the time, but we basically treated those books as our holy texts in our younger teenage years and we STILL fangirl about dave the laugh to this day. thank you so so much for saying so - I'm really glad you liked it and that you're rereading it, eee! I'm editing it quite heavily now to fix all my spelling mistakes/plot inaccuracies so maybe you'll catch me in the act, haha. anwyay! thank you so much for reviewing ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

23rd December 2011:
I really enjoyed this chapter. It wasn't 'meh' or 'naff.' It was easy breezy. I like easy breezy. Smiles from Scorpius make me smile, planning and scheming puts me in a good mood. It's all good, all good!

Author's Response: Breezy, like a breeze...heh. Thank you so much for another review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by hdawg 

31st October 2011:
JULIA I AM CURRENTLY ANNOYED AT YOU FOR SAYING THAT JANUARY IS, AND I QUOTE, "cold and miserable". HOW COULD YOU? YOU KNOW THAT'S MY BI-BIRT-BIRTHDAY :'(

likewise with Tarquin and Gwendolyn/Raven That means they hung out together at Hogwarts, doesn't it? Which means that they defo tried it on there. AND THEY WILL AGAIN SOON. Haha, "'Casual observational capacity' meaning that they spent a lot of time peering at Scorpius like demented hawks." They are too good, man, too good. And why, my dear, does Scorpius keep his socks in his wardrobe?

OHMYGOD THEY ARE LIKE ONE. LIKE US. 'You've started dressing like Scorp, this is hilarious.' Dude, when are they just gonna get it on?

"when asked what their final piece was, the student in question would reply 'wait and see'." SO TRUE. God, I don't miss art at all APART FROM YOU. And since when was Obscure Henry so...blatant? "As if one cue, Henry turned away...staring murderously in our direction. Dude, staring murderously is Barry's job. GAH.

Ha, to anyone who hasn't read the beginning of the fic and found this line randomly floating around on the Internet (I don't know how, but it might), they would be awfully confused: "Everyone grimaced; I got the feeling we were all sharing a Lettuce flashback." However, me being smart and all, I understand completely :D

HA, LOL: "the worn cushions letting out a rather ungainly noise that can only be described as akin to the passing of wind. Julia, I don't like to know what you do in your spare time to come up with this...simile? Woah, 'They had that song. It was our song,' PLEASE TELL ME IT WAS SOMETHING LIKE, BUT NOT NECESSARILY, "BIGMOUTH STRIKES AGAIN" OR "HEAVEN KNOWS I'M MISERABLE NOW". THE LATTER FULLY SUITS SCORP.

"Oh!' he sat up fully, a small, curious smile replacing the deep blush. 'That'd be lovely.'" Why must you plot against him when he's so darn cute? Oh I love him. But Tarquin more...yeah. I'd like to see him on the beach in oversized sunglasses and surfing shorts. God, I'm such a cr33p.

JULIA, I LOVE THIS "TRANSITION-Y" CHAPTER. It makes me want to read on but I don't have time tonight. I do, however, have a double free tomorrow...PLAN MADE.

Author's Response: welp I'm sorry but it's true, January is all cold and shivery BUT JULY IS BAD TOO. July was the only month that there /wasn't/ a photo of the doctor on my doctor who calendar and i was like, well, it's my birthday and all I get is a bunch of silurians? Bummer.

oh Hannah. Do not speculate on their backstory. It will only make you weep.

What're you on about? I keep my socks in my wardrobe. No, really. Not all of us can afford a sock drawer y'know.

I MISS YOU IN ART. Although I've started getting a lot more work done ever since you dropped it. Actually have.

You know me, I'm the queen of spare time. I just sit there thinking of metaphors and then vom them up onto paper.

Hannah, god, no, their song is blates 'some girls are bigger than others'.

DOUBLE FREES ARE ALWAYS AN APPROPRIATE OPPORTUNITY TO SMASH YOUR WAY THROUGH FIC. With the inconspicuous brown envelope, of course.

LUV U ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

29th October 2011:
Operation Hippogriff is going quite well! I lurv it! :D Anyways I don't think I say it enough but I love Lucy's sass and sarcasm and generally hilarity in narrating this story. It's rather brilliant. Ace job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Haha, not for long! Thank you, glad you enjoyed it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by erised19 

6th October 2011:
you're such an amazing writer; i laughed aloud numerous times whilst reading this chapter, earning myself a few odd looks from people around me, but it was totally worth it. :)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! It's my mission to get as many people looked at in a funny way as possible, blatantly. Thanks for the review & glad you enjoyed it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by changingfaces 

20th August 2011:
Bwark. This story has brought me imense joy. I swear, you come up with the most hilarious scenes I've ever seen. It make me feel a lot less woe-is-me (as Scorpious is) and much more... Er, Lucy. I do, however, think you should defenitely have more Gwendoylen/Raven in the chapters, because I slightly miss her insanity.

9/10.

Author's Response: Bwark to you too! Fortunately (and also unfortunately), most of these scene are inspired by real life. No, really. I've had awkward dark room moments and strange conversations about existentialism and ducks. I'm very glad you enjoyed it, and while I can't promise you much more Gwendbird in this story, she definitely has a part to play in the sequel :)
thank you for reviewing! &hearts


 Report Review

Review #9, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

6th August 2011:
I know I've said this before but it amazes me that you keep this 15+. I don't know how anyone can do it. Huge amount of brownie points adding to this story of complete awesomeness.

And by calling it complete awesomeness, I mean it is not in the slightest bit naff or meh or any other such expression of mediocrity. Filler perhaps it was, but I love filler just as much as action. Especially when there are Obscure Henrys flapping and hopping, talk of wheely bins, holiday chit-chat, Ravens and bats and Beatles and all sorts of other weird and downright truly wonderful things in this chapter.

Fave lines:
- Obscure Henry actually accidentally headbutted me - I love this. He reminds me of Fab. If I've not told you of Fab, you're in for a treat when Skypeland decides to behave itself :P
- 'Casual observational capacity' meaning that they spent a lot of time peering at Scorpius like demented hawks. - How do you come up with these similes? It's MIND-BOGGLING.
- could you imagine how awkward that would be in the vestibule? - Vestibule. I like that word. Vestibuleee.

Okay, these reviews are getting progressively worse. It's really hard to review a long story all at once :P I promise they'll be better once I've caught up and get to review a chapter at a time.


xx

Author's Response: I'm slightly amazed that I can too. Sometimes I just want to be like 'type ALL the mature words!' but, then, I think I've come so far...

Filler is...fillerlicious. It's just an excuse for me to ladle injokes everywhere, heehee.

You have told me of Fab. I love Fab. Fab is obviously a subconscious inspiration for this story.

Heh. Vestibule.

Thank you for reviewing! So good to hear from you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by gingersnape 

3rd July 2011:
Hehe, now I want to know what song was their song... and then beat all like 97 (that's another lie. I only have 93) of my Beatles songs into Scorpius' head! And I am now typing with a bandaid one one of my fingers, so my typing is awful! *hides* Right, review on the chapter! It was awesome as always and I can't wait to see what this is coming from all this setting up for the plot! :)
Annie

Author's Response: The song that was their song shall be revealed presently...chapter nineteen or twenty (somewhere around there) I should think! If anyone's reading this and thinking, 'ha, I know the smiths and I know Scorpius - it's got to be There is a Light That Never Goes Out' - it's not. If that's any sort of hint. Beatles songs? ♥ I might have to pick one of them too. Bear with me while I shift over to my cd collection. Glad you enjoyed it (and glad that you're a Beatles fan too, obviously) & thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by PetrificusTotalus 

19th June 2011:
oh hay ;) YOU UPDATED!! YAY! *flails*
Even if you didn't like this chapter, I did! You must have an excellent talent of making transition chapters awesome too :) I loved the bit about their final pieces, gotta love artists and their depth!
I can't wait for the next chapter, the holiday should be interesting. And congrats on getting featured story at TGS, you definitely deserve it!!
love as always :)

Author's Response: ahha, hi again! Oh, final pieces...bane of my life. Pretentious bane of my life, actually. I just finished mine, and apparently my whole art coursework exhibition in general is so bleak it's making all the other students feel depressed.
Thank you very much! Glad to hear you're enjoying it. Chapter 15 just hit the queue, so it should be up fairly soon. Thanks for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Insert_witty_comment_here 

19th June 2011:
Absolutely ADORED the whole bit about final pieces, I'm actually just doing my final piece for photgraphy, so I could definitely relate to all the 'Wait and see' stuff, and people tryign to be way deeper than they are! Had me in hysterics. You are a true genius. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: ahha, I just did my own final piece for my art as level! mine was fully the bleakest thing ever. I didn't use a dab of colour. Just a giant, a1 black and white painting of a building. My coursework this year has been so bleak that i've started to make my art class depressed. I'm a regular scorp with my moping y'know. hopefully the new chapter should be up within the week (I'm on a roll or something). thanks or the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Snapdragons 

18th June 2011:
Wow, I just made a really attractive mix of a giggle and a snort. Oops. My family already thinks I'm bonkers. D:

But there was such a lovely mix of pretentiousness (is that a word?) and insanity and artsiness (again, probably not a word) and craziness that I couldn't help myself. Al and Lucy are priceless together and totally remind myself of my cousins and I. Except older.

Scorpius was, as always, lovably pathetic. I'm looking forward to their holiday with copious amounts of glee. It's almost alarming.

"'And here's me just hanging pictures on a wall,' I said. 'Maybe I should hang them on the outside wall instead, just to get that extra dash of deepness-' I broke off when I realised that the other three were nodding in approval. 'That's a really good idea!' Scorpius said." Bahaha. I snickered over this one way too much.

Also, Scorpius and his *cough* knowledge about bands was hilarious. This chapter has, once again, succeeded in making me laugh out loud in a very unladylike fashion. This story never fails to brighten my day between all the ridiculous things that happen. Great job! :)

Author's Response: haha! it's always been my aim with this story to turn my readers absolutely nuts through a mix of slapstick, plot twists and random scenes of no relevance involving glittery menfolk.

alarming amounts of copious glee are never a bad thing ;D

ooh, yes, the art world is very pretentious. I couldn't resist shoehorning in a degree show - I've been to a few, and some of the pieces I've seen are so ridiculous I can't quite believe that I've chosen art as my career path. One day, I'll have my own mega pretentious piece in a mega pretentious degree show, and then I can parody it in fic. RL is such rich inspiration sometimes.

Thanks very much! Glad you're enjoying it (:


 Report Review

Review #14, by TallestTower 

18th June 2011:
JULIA. SA BRINGS ME SO MUCH JOY. I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU CALLED THIS CHAPTER MEH. I'VE BEEN FLEEING (SQUEE-FLAILING) ROUND SKYPELAND READING IT.

"Tarquin’s motherly gaze." Motherly JGL. :D

How brilliant are your phrases in this chapter:
"On the cusp. I think it’s fab."
"Chirpy"
"Snowball in hell's chance"
"mardy"

‘Are you not entranced by the mysterious élan of Barry?’
I AM! OOH OOH I AM! PICK ME!
The Barry in question looked up from his tormented brooding at the rug, looking moody and confused. Tarquin threw him a lively wave.
OH TARKERS.

‘Henry’s making a sculpture out of air,’ Scorpius whined

"I spent an uncomfortable afternoon in Scorpius’ wardrobe until he wandered in, decided he wanted to change his socks, and I went tumbling onto the carpet"

WAS HE GOING FOR A NEW SHADE OF ARGYLE PATTERN?

‘I’ve never seen you in a checked shirt before,’ he grimaced.
Lucy needs to stop hanging around with obscure Henry.

VESTIBULE. PARLOUR. MORNING ROOM. ALBUS.

I actually felt all happy with Al and Lucy as they jumped about on the phone hahah.

YOU GOT A SMITHS REFERENCE IN THERE AND USED THE WORD PHILISTINE. YOUR MY HERO. Of course scorpius likes the smiths. and he has a 'song'. awkward...

INVITED-PLACES-SCORPIUS IS CUTE AS.

I'm rather excited for the next chapter. Hoping Scorp has argyle swimming trunks.

xxx

Author's Response: SQUEE-FLAILING? SQUAILING?

any sort of jgl is a good jgl ;D

TARKERS IS THE BEST NICKNAME EVER OMG

yeah, scorpius felt that his orange and blue argyle patterned socks were getting a bit too mainstream, so he had to swap the colour scheme quick before his followers on tumblr noticed.

LUCY'S BEING HIPSTERFICATED. call in the ghostbusters!

ALBUS BLATES GREW UP IN A GIANT COUNTRY HOME WITH LIKE FIVE MILLION SERVANTS (not house elves, I'd like to say they're not indie enough, but it's more like legislation forbids, mehmehmeh)

you felt happy when they were on the phone too? oh, helz...WANNACOMEHOLIDAY?

awkward turtle. you'll find out the song soon. clue: it's surprisingly not there is a light that never goes out, because that used to be indie and now it's mainstream, and, well, we couldn't have that. awkwaaard.

IF YE ASK, YE SHALL RECEIVE. scorp in argyle swimming trunks is coming your way. possibly. well, scorp being a pinball wizard anyway, i can promise that.



 Report Review

Review #15, by justonemorefic 

18th June 2011:
"that they spent a lot of time peering at Scorpius like demented hawks" I can see them at the top of a building, perched like gargoyles, staring, waiting. OOH HAWKS/RAVEN I see what you did there too.

AHAHAH LUCY IS BEING HIPSTER'D

ANNIVERSARY ON MY BIRTHDAY? :O Now I can add that to the list of things that happen on June 15. Like Neil Patrick Harris' birthday.

‘And they will share a lingering glance-’
‘Or Rose will blow the house up.’

Teen romance. So tenuous, so fragile, so fickle.

OH ART. HOW DEEP AND MEANINGFUL YOU ARE. ME MY SOULLL, IT ACHES~

Omg omg omg omg CAN WE HAVE MORE OF ALBUS AND LUCY USING PHONES. AHAHAHA.

omg THEIR MUSIC TASTES. AHAHA ROSE I DID NOT KNOW YOU HAD THIS IN YOU.

I am right by Tarquin and Lucy, pfffting with them.

AW ♥ I'LL BE PRETENTIOUS FOR YOU ALWAYS~

Until next time!

Author's Response: SO MANY BIRD REFERENCES. TARQUIN IS A PIGEON ANIMAGUS. THERE. ANOTHER ONE.

the hipsterfication has begun *adjusts enormous morrissey spectacles*

ANNIVERSARY ON YOUR BIRTHDAY! also Ice Cube's birthday. Dawg.

so superficial, so existentialist, so nihilistic, so extraneous...and here's where my vocabulary runs out.

ART. ART. WHAT IS ART. WHAT. WHY. ART. HOW.
i just wrote a poem~

now in the works: spin-off one shot entitled 'ablus and lucy using phones' JUST FOR YOU. ONLY FOR YOU.

rose is an enigma wrapped in a mystery wrapped in a riddle wrapped in a facade wrapped in tinfoil.

pfft away.

YOUR REVIEWS ♥
always first. always first over the line. you need a medal. a big, shiny, existentialist medal.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review