Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Purgatory , Chapter 1: Cursed
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by zealousVisionary 

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

When I heard about this fic and read the description, I knew it would be something I would enjoy, and this first chapter certainly did not disappoint. I'm a sucker for stories that incorporate fairy tales into their plot, and even in just the first chapter, you did so beautifully.

From the first sentence, you really pulled me in and kept my atention the entire time. The writing is spectacular. From the rich, descriptive language used to the nice, flowing dialogue, everything about it was simply incredible- even better than some published works.

I also think the Lucius/Narcissa pairing is a great one- I wish people wrote about it more often. This story is a unique one already, and I can't wait to continue reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rainpixie 

31st May 2013:
Hello again! I have stumbled onto another one of your stories! Beauty and the beast is my favorite fairy tale so needless to say I am very excited to continue reading!

 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne 

5th March 2013:
Oh wow, that is an amazing first chapter!
The way that you described everything just brought the whole scene to life in my mind and I could imagine everything that you wrote as though it were playing out in front of me.
I am very intrigued by how you're going to use different fairy tales, it seems like such a good idea to have Lucius and Narcissa as the two characters of this amazingly sounding story.
The way that you wrote this kept me very interested and I really can't wait to read more especially with them all as different fairytale characters :D
A very good first chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Welcome to Purgatory. :)

I adore the Lucius/Narcissa pairing. I think they're the only favorite pairing of mine that weren't prominent members of the Order/DA. The idea of casting both of them as multiple fairy tale incarnations was really fun for me; throughout the story Narcissa changes to reflect several fairy tales. Some are very subtle and some quite obvious.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked the first chapter.


 Report Review

Review #4, by HPG 

1st November 2012:
Very descriptive language. Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you liked it. :) Hope to see you again!

 Report Review

Review #5, by PhoenixSparks28170 

5th August 2012:
I can already see it's going to be a good, fairytale story from the first few paragraphs. This is the first time I read this story, and I already feel enchanted to continue reading from the beginning. But one thing I want to know: Is there a sequel? Or have you uploaded any other stories? I would just love to read any of your stories.

-Michelle

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you like it so far. No, there is no sequel - and I'm not quite finished with this story just yet. I've still got a few chapters left to write, but you're only on chapter one so you have a while before you get there, anyway. :) As for my other stories, yes, I have lots! Just click on my name at the top of the story where it says 'Toujours Padfoot' - that's my author page, where you can find my other stories.

Thanks for reading!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ScorpiusRose17 

29th May 2012:
Hi there!

I really like the way that you started your story. I thought that this chapter was amazing. You did a great job holding my attention from start to finish.

I really enjoyed your descriptions and the way that you provide this wonderful picture with them as I read through it. You really have a way with words and a way to draw in your readers with the first chapters.

I like how you are trying out something different with this story. I will be highly interested in what happens next!

Keep up the awesome writing! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, SR17! Such kind words. :) One of my favorite things to write is description and imagery, and using them for world-building. So I'm pleased that you found it to your liking.

I hope you continue to enjoy Purgatory!

:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 

20th May 2012:
Oh who doesn't love a good fairytale and your story looks like it will be absolutely wonderful! I really like the idea behind this story, to incorporate many different fairytales into the harry potter world and to do it in such a wonderful way is just amazing! I like the characters that you have chosen for this story as well and I'm really interested to see how Narcissa comes into play and falls in love with Lucius.

From the very beginning your description was just beautiful! You really painted the picture of what the old lady looked like and how she struggled to get to Malfoy Manor. I felt bad for her in that she never thought that she would be turned away by the home owner but was still able to seek a small amount of the heat she needed in order to leave the horrid weather! We didn't really see too much of Lucius in this chapter so I can't state how well he is characterized but from what I have seen, I think you're doing a great job with all your characterizations! I shall be reading on! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~
Recensio 2012

Author's Response: Your reviews have made me miss writing this story. Lucius and Narcissa are one of my OTP's (the other being Romione), and I've always loved fairy tales so much that to mix the two was a really fun challenge for me. And I'm glad you're liking the bit of characterizations shown so far! Thank you for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by CloakAuror9 

19th May 2012:
I think I'll need surgery to get my jaw back up. This is jaw-dropping! I am in utter shock! How can one person have so much talent...

I love your story! Its so perfect. The amount details in it is just so overwhelming...wow. You are so good at writing! I really like how you made the chapter a fairytale-ish one. Really clever! :D

Anyway, you are officially awesome and amazing. :D

Ta,
CloakAuror9 xx
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: :O You are so kind! Thank you. :)

I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. Writing is the only thing I've ever really felt like I was halfway decent at, so you have no idea how encouraging it is to hear this sort of feedback. Thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #9, by lizmusic45 

16th February 2012:
OH MY GOD. I knew I should have read this earlier, why was I so stupid to go and say nah, I'll read it later. Oh this story is so getting added to my favorites! I can't believe I didn't stop to read this story...I can be so weird sometimes.

BRILLIANT. Hi, well I love this story, and I'm only on the first chapter, which is brilliant, and I love the banner, Liz is just amazing isn't she (not me the maker of you're banner). I don't even know what to say!

I'm a total loss for words. I can't find the words to say how much I love this story.

Speachless.

Still speachless.

Can't find any words.

Looking, looking.

Loved this? Already used it, Brilliant? said it twice. Lovely? That's ok, could be better.

And here I thought I was a writer.

Really and truly, I loved this, and I'm sorry for the sucky review.

Lizzie

Author's Response: Oh goodness, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Yes I quite agree, the banner is beautiful. :) Thank you for reading. ^ ^

 Report Review

Review #10, by ariellem 

14th February 2012:
Hello!

I saw this story on the archives once and I made a mental note to read to sometime, how lucky it is for me that I got you in the review tag.

First off your detail is brilliant, I know that the story is based on fairy tales but you write it, well basically, like a fairytale. I am going to read the next chapter right now! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you for the lovely review. I'm quite glad you think it reads like a fairy tale, as that was what I intended. Thank you for reading, and if you choose to continue on I hope you like it. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by WeasleyGirl03 

30th November 2011:
I like the sound of this story already!!

Author's Response: Awesome! Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

21st November 2011:
You have no idea how excited I am about this story of yours! I'm pretty sure I'll love it as I have all your others! :)

*LOL glad you didn't mind the little bombardment of reviews! I just couldn't help myself and tell you how brilliant you and your writing skills are! :D :D If you ever write a published book, please let know! I will definitely run to the store, find it, and read it!

Author's Response: You are probably one of the most awesome people in existence. I certainly hope you like this story - now I'm a bit nervous to see what you think, since you liked so much of what you've read on my author's page. Eee! Those reviews you left me are just gahh, I still can't believe it. I promise I will finish answering them soon! And if I ever publish a book, which is not likely to happen soon but I am determined it will happen at least once in my lifetime, I will let you know pronto! ^ ^ lol

Thank you so much for reading!!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Mrs Sirius Black 

20th November 2011:
An interesting beginning.. looking forward to reading the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you like it. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

17th November 2011:
One word: beautiful.
Another word: amazing

I could keep going but I think you get what I'm trying to say. I had worked on my own fairytale story during the Maraduar era but I never posted it and I only wrote the first chapter because in my mind it was too much of a task, I wasn't sure I would be able to do it.

I am jealous of your writing skill. I am amazed at your descriptions. I can't believe I have passed this story up for so long! I just kept scrolling past it on the archives and today I finally decided I should give it a go and I'm glad I did. I love that it's so familiar and yet it's not at the same time, does that make sense?

I hope so.

Author's Response: Hello there! Thank you SO much! What a lovely thing to say. :) Ooo a Marauder-era fairytale? That sounds very interesting. Sounds like something I'd like to read. ^ ^

I'm pleased that you like my descriptions. And I'm very glad that you decided to click on my story. Sometimes I will scroll past a story for months and when I finally do click on it, I'm very pleasantly surprised.

I hope you continue to like it! Thank you for reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by foreverfleur 

24th September 2011:
This story came very highly recommended from the forums and I have to say it does NOT disappoint. First off, I'd like to say that this is such an intriguing concept, mixing fairy tales with HP. Second, that you chose the Blacks/Malfoys POV, makes it all the more exciting.

I was looking for something more on the unusual side to fill my need for a new story to read and I'm so glad I decided to check this one out!

I am extremely excited to see how this plays out!

Congrats on the Dobby nom as well! So far, from what I can tell--its certainly well deserved!

-ffleur

Author's Response: I am now very curious about where this was recommended, and how you found it.

Thank you for reading! I wanted to write a Lucius/Narcissa story and I wanted to write about fairy tales, and the idea of mixing the two was irresistible. So this is a dark fairy tale, but I cannot imagine writing from the point of view of anyone but Narcissa with this particular story.

:)


 Report Review

Review #16, by halfbreed 

9th September 2011:
OH MY WQERHIUNFCSKF.

This is so beautiful. Your imagery is beyond fabulous, an essential element of fairy tales, but you take that to a new level entirely. How you manage to fit practically every literary device in the world into one chapter, and do it as well as you do, I'll never know.

I am so reviewing every single one of these chapters and reading this entire beautiful thing because you absolutely deserve everything I could give to you to express how warm and excited and enchanted this very first chapter has made me.

Author's Response: OH MY GOD, YOU SERIOUSLY REVIEWED EVERY SINGLE CHAPTER. I can't even. Wow. My year has just been made. THANK YOU. I shall try to do these fabulous reviews justice. Somehow.

Imagery is what I always remember from fairy tales - it's what sets them apart as fairy tales, in a way. When writing this, I tend to focus mostly on that. As the story progresses and Narcissa and Lucius spend more time together (spoilers ftw), there will be more dialogue. And the story will take an even darker turn - but fairy tales will always be the omnipresent theme.

I hope you continue to read and enjoy.

:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Lumos_Nox 

31st July 2011:
Wow. I am awed. I usually don't read fanfiction, and when I do, I don't enjoy it, but this...this is good enough to be published! Seriously, 11/10!

Author's Response: Fan fiction is something that can go very wrong if the author botches it up. But sometimes you can be pleasantly surprised. :) I'm glad you liked the first chapter of Purgatory - I hope you continue to read.

Thank you for reading and reviewing.

:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by SiriuslyPeeved 

2nd July 2011:
This was a fine balance between the fairy tale we know and the magical world you're connecting it with. I particularly enjoyed the humorous touches with Circe's background and her relations with her fellow "fairy witches.". (really intrigued to hear more about your take on this in the Potterverse!). You've set the scene very vividly, my only possible item you may wish to look at again is the similarity to the spoken text in the prologue to the Disney film. (the last line in particular). Overall I enjoyed this chapter very much and plan to review more as time permits :). sorry this took so long to arrive!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! Now that you mention it, the Disney-ish prologue really does stand out. I shall go edit it right now!

:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by WitnesstoitAll 

4th June 2011:
Sarah.

I told you I was reading this! I like the set up. When I read about the dark castle, I think of, well, fairy tales. Then I get to the part with Malfoy manner and I remember that I am in fact still reading fanfiction. It's a really clever balance that you've managed to create here!! I'm probably the most impressed by the character casting. Lucius was perfectly in character for both roles he played in this chapter (king of de castle and himself).

Great job!!

Expect more reviews as I pop in to read more...
-xx-
Melissa

Author's Response: Aww, thank you Melissa. :)

I had been dying to write Lucius/Narcissa for a fair while, mostly because I went onto the archives in search of some Lucius/Narcissa to read and found it astonishingly lacking. There were a lot of cobwebs in that section...some tumbleweed... So when I read the challenge, I thought, "Yes!" I had written a one-shot, but I was eager to do more, and now I get to write angry, haughty Lucius and...I'm not exactly sure how to describe Narcissa. She's not extremely likable, which is how I wanted her. Self-absorbed would be a good way to go.

BUT I DIGRESS.

Thank you for reading. And thank you oodles for leaving a review. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by TenthWeasley 

26th May 2011:
I am so sorry.

I should have made my way over here days before now, and I didn't. You said not to bother, but I KNOW I should have bothered, and for that, I offer most humble apologies and a nice, hopefully substantial review to comfort you. :3

The atmosphere you've already created in this story is absolutely spectacular. I can't describe it - your own descriptions have left that power to you alone - but it's mystical, and eerie, and ancient. It evokes the exact picture and theme I know you're working with, and that's so impressive. You don't have any need to build and build and create this - it simply appears from the moment you set fingers to keyboard, and that's something to be admired. I certainly admire it.

There's so much to say, and next to no words to say it. I am so bad with words sometimes, it's unbelievable. I wish I could tell you everything I felt upon completing the first chapter of this - the excitement I can take this journey with you in your first-in-a-while WIP, the awe I feel once again at your writing. The envy, the happiness, the anticipation. I hope my ramblings can do it some semblance of justice, because I can't articulate feelings too well right now.

Most interesting, I think, is the author's note - how you plan to combine so many varied fairy tale characters into the one character of Narcissa, who - quite frankly - doesn't resemble any of them to me. That's something I'll be reading with anticipation, how you can turn a character I don't think about too much and spin her into something totally new. I'm really excited for you to be writing this - again, something I can't type into appropriate words - and I will be reading on, and watching for updates, as faithfully as I possibly can.

Fantastic job - one of the best first chapters I've ever read, and it will definitely keep people coming back for more. Your writing has an addictive quality that is just too good to refuse, and I won't even try. You've seriously pulled out all the stops here. I just wish I could tell you better! Your writing is next to flawless.

Love you! I shall read chapter 2 after my guitar lesson - wild hippogriffs couldn't keep me from it, now I've started!

Author's Response: Your reviews are always so much lovelier than I deserve. You're so encouraging and mood-boosting and I want to give you squishes.

-insert teddy bear emoticon on skype here-

This part right here:

It evokes the exact picture and theme I know you're working with, and that's so impressive. You don't have any need to build and build and create this - it simply appears from the moment you set fingers to keyboard, and that's something to be admired.

- made me swoon. I am still swooning. I am swooning over a review. Do not judge me.

It's difficult for me to be vulnerable enough to get excited about writing and posting a story, since you know I'm such a harsh critic on my own writing. I'll probably start hating this story about six months from now, or at least the beginning of it. In six months, I might still be writing it. Who knows? I plan on it being a very long story - twice as long as Curious Happenings, at least. So right now, as I venture into wip-ness, I can't even tell you how much I appreciate your kind feedback and support. It makes me do the happy dance.

And as you are a very busy bee, do not feel obligated to read this religiously. I'm going to be busier this summer than I have been through the winter, and I won't be able to read many stories, either. Purgatory will always be here for whenever you feel like some fairy-tale-ness.

:)

MASSES OF HUGS AND SQUISHES. I love you!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

24th May 2011:
Fairy tales - Malfoy style ;)! I like it. Actually, no, I don't... I love it!

Next chapter... :D

Author's Response: Woo fairy tales with a Malfoy spin!

:D

Thank you so much for reading.


 Report Review

Review #22, by VioletBlade 

21st May 2011:
Hi Sarah!

I saw this in the recently added stories and I thought I'd give it some love! And it was well worth it. Extraordinarily well-written, and I love the fairy-tale you're writing about. Beauty and the Beast has always been one of my favourite stories ever!

I really loved your explicit attention to detail, and the characterization of the woman was spot on. (Or old hag as it were) Anyway, great choice for the pairing, I'm extremely interested in seeing how Narcissa Black, cold and seemingly uncaring, can fit all those roles!

I'll definitely keep on reading!

~Becca

Author's Response: Narcissa is going to become something of an unlikely heroine, I think. She's going to be shoved into a lot of very bad situations, so it will be very fun for me to write about how she reacts to them and deals with them. I'm quite interested in that kind of psychology with people, and how people will change so drastically to adapt to a threatening situation. So I'm going to have a lot of fun writing this story.

Thank you tons for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it a lot. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review