Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMolly 

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
Whatever inspired this tale, it was a great one! So far in this and the other story, what you write is very easy to picture as canon. I was truly afraid Budgie was going to tear Mr Stuffing apart. Charlie the hero, just as most of us view him. It's the quiet ones you need to watch.
FoM

Author's Response: I'm actually not sure what inspired Charlie's section of this story -- but I'm happy to see you enjoyed it all the same! And it really makes me grin like an idiot to see that you could see these stories as canon, too, because that is (of course) what I was striving for.

Budgy's really a nasty old rooster, and was way too much fun to write, let me tell you. Charlie really is a hero, and I wish people wrote more about him! But anyway. Once again, thank you for taking the time not only to read this story, but to review it, too! :3


 Report Review

Review #2, by academica 

9th June 2012:
I'm back :)

I love how whimsical this story is. I really can't think of a better word for it. This should be under 'whimsical' in the dictionary. (Would that count as getting published? Hmm.) I love how you took a small element of what it must be like to experience a typical day at the Burrow and built an entire plot line around it. It was super sweet of Charlie to rush off after the evil rooster and rescue Mr. Stuffing.

This is just so cute. Gosh. I like how you pointed out there at the end that this piece reflects Charlie's love for animals, because I totally agree. It's like he's facing the child version of the creatures he will one day be in charge of, and I can see how this little act of bravery (and novelty) might have encouraged him to charge off to Romania after he finished up at Hogwarts. You've given great depth to a mostly unexplored character, and he's really fascinating as you've written him.

I also love your little nod to Percy - he's a background fixture, but he still has his own personality that creates a great contrast with those of Charlie and Ron. You definitely give each of the Weasley siblings their own lives, which I love.

As always, the flow is wonderful, and your imagery just adds the cherry on top. Fantastic job! :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Amanda! This is such a lovely review, and basically the perfect thing to wake up to in the morning. :D I'm so happy to see you back again!

Charlie's is one of my favorites in this collection (although, admittedly, I've probably said that about all of these) because of the reason you pointed out -- this is supposed to be a fairly ordinary Weasley day, really. I kind of see the Burrow as maybe a bit chaotic. :D But also, like you said, it's kind of a trial run for the dragons he'll eventually be up against, and I loved making him the hero, too.

PERCY. ♥ He might have been the most fun to write, even when the chapter wasn't focused on him, because he's got a lot of traits that are perfect for exaggeration. I do love the boy!

Thanks so much for dropping by and leaving me this review, Amanda. :) I really am so glad and appreciative that you did! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by charlottetrips 

22nd April 2012:
Again, I CANNOT STAND HOW ADORABLE RON IS!! I want my own Ronnie!! I just want to SQUISH him. When he was throwing the feed at the chickens, I could just imagine this little redheaded tyke having a blast just chucking feed at the chickens who are squawking indignantly. It made me giggle.

The whole battle between Charlie and Budgy was PRICELESS. Budgy sounds like a really scary rooster. I can see where Charlie might equate this adrenaline rush with needing to go tame dragons. It’s just a foreshadowing of what’s to come.

Author's Response: I think everyone needs their own small Ron to carry around with them. True statement! He'd definitely make me feel better on horrible days. :) My sister loved the bit about the feed, too!

Ohh, Charlie. ♥ I do enjoy writing him, and I feel like people don't often enough. I wonder why that is? He's a /Weasley/, he's fan fiction gold!

Oh, I'm rambling now. That's embarrassing. I've had quite a long and stressful day and I think I'll stop now. :) Seriously, though -- I really appreciate your doing this for me. ♥ You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Tonks1247 

29th January 2012:
Hahaha, I loved this chapter! Charlie is definitely one of my favorite Weasley’s. His character really isn’t developed in the books, which gives a lot of creative room to authors in fan fiction. And I must say you do a great job of portraying him! You give him his love for animals, but make sure to leave in the 10 year old attitude. And you add in his affection for his little brother, which isn’t something I necessarily expected, but it fits in so nicely!

I also have to say, Mr. Stuffing knows how to get in trouble. Or cause trouble. Or be in the middle of trouble. The last chapter he gets turned into a spider by accident, and now he gets kidnapped by an evil rooster? It’s great!

Though, I can understand the fear of roosters. I don’t have a lot of experience with chickens or roosters in general, but I do have a little bit, from visiting my cousins farm. And I can say from experience, they aren’t the nicest creatures ever. They do tend to charge at you and have the arrogant air about them. Which you’ve portrayed well…

One thing I did notice, which was just a word confusion:

“Eyes trained on the coop where Budgy was concealed – he wasn’t above to take his eyes off that rooster again – Charlie sidestepped over to the stick and picked it up gingerly.” –I think it was intended to be about, not above.

Otherwise, this was another great chapter! The detail and the characterization of Charlie was great! I’ll be back to read more soon! :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Oh, Charlie is one of my favorites, too! And I think it's precisely because of the reasons you mentioned -- there's so little about him canonically that writers can take a few liberties here and there. :)

Mr. Stuffing is such a beast. And you'll definitely see him again if you ever drop by for another snippet! He is rather prevalent in Weasley childhood. I, myself, have never really been around roosters, but they just look... evil.

And thank you for catching that mistake, too! A bit embarrassing to think that's been hiding out there all this time. :3 So glad you've enjoyed this, and thank you for such a sweet review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Riverwind 

9th January 2012:
I know that chicken, nasty little biddy.

This is a delightful little story,

River

Author's Response: I sort of wish I'd had an experience with a chicken like this -- not fun while it's happening, but it would make a great icebreaker. Alas, such as it is, I had to write from imagination. :)

Thanks for dropping by again to leave another review! It means a lot to me that you did, and I'm glad you're liking the collection, too!


 Report Review

Review #6, by BKL8008 

8th January 2012:
Ah, the memories of chickens on the farm, and the evil roosters! Yes, I remember well, except that my sister was chased around the house a dozen times before she managed to come in the door. It's just perfect. I think you must have done battle with a rooster in much the same way, it's so accurate?

Author's Response: Ahh, I am glad this evoked memories from you! I've never been around chickens, or really animals, very much -- we've had one dog for about eight years, but she's a bit lazy and doesn't do much, so it's a bit hit-or-miss whether she counts. :P

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave all these reviews! It totally made my day, if not my week -- I really, really appreciate it. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Sam 

6th January 2012:
Good, but a bit wordy.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing anyway, and sorry my writing style didn't seem to suit your tastes. Hope to see you back nonetheless!

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

1st January 2012:
Haha! Arrogant chickens! poor them being hit in the heads and eyes by their own food.
This one was hilarious! I love Charlies war with Budgy and those chickens and rooster are so brilliant and evil I love it!
10/10 for a wonderful chapter and story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found this funny! This story's been an exercise in using my funny bone, let me tell you, and I'm glad it was met with such positive results. :3

Thank you so much for such positive and encouraging reviews!


 Report Review

Review #9, by forsakenphoenix 

23rd December 2011:
Mr Stuffing is just always getting into trouble, isn't it? I LOVED THIS CHAPTER. I think I'm going to say that for every one but seriously. Charlie is fantastic. I love how he tries to pass time by staring at floral wallpaper (really, floral wallpaper in the boys room, it seems like something Molly would do because she's surrounded by boys all the time) and he wishes he was older so he can join Bill at Hogwarts.

I really love his protective nature of Ron, and wanting to include him in everything. It's really sweet. You'd think with side a wide age gap, Charlie would just think of him as an annoying little brother.

Percy is great in this too, just the few bits you included of him, with his nose in a book and then acting like a pompous jerk at such a young age already! He's just practicing for when he's older, of course.

The whole debacle with feeding the hens and pelting them in the eye with kernels and then Budgy stealing Mr Stuffing. It was just very light-hearted and had me chuckling through the whole thing.

You're greatest strength in your writing is your descriptions. I'm telling you, everything you write is golden, and there's something about the way that you describe a scene and it's like you're really there. It's fantastic. Your characteristics of the Weasleys are great too. I can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Mr. Stuffing is the original troublemaker. Fact. :D I had a hard time letting go of his character, the poor bear. And so now he just pops up everywhere. :3

I just love the idea that, despite age differences, the Weasleys really did care for each other. They're just so fun-loving, I imagine -- definitely not carefree, but such a strong and close-knit family that they can overcome anything. I think that's where all the lightheartedness comes from, me trying to convey that. I'd like to think so. :)

Thank you so, so, so much for coming by and reviewing these! It completely made my day, no contest. ♥ I'm so glad you enjoy them!


 Report Review

Review #10, by WeasleyGirl16 

17th December 2011:
this is so... well written ! haha it's amazing (: xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! It means a lot to me that you did -- I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the story! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by lizmusic45 

17th December 2011:
I loved this chapter to! God, you have such a talent. I love Charlie in this, and Percy well I have a small love for him you didn't make him evil you made him a brother. Also my sister writes Percy Weasely and Audrey so I've learned to have a side feelings for him.

Still love Ron, how could I not he and his bear are just so cute. I'm like that with my stuffed animals, at my age, though when it comes to names, Ron beats me. I name mine things like Beary:)

Loved this chapter and have so much love for this story :)

Lizzie

Author's Response: Charlie and Percy are two of my favorite Weasleys, too! I feel like a lot of people give both of them very little credit in fan fiction, and so I'm happy when I get the chance to include them. :)

I, too, was not very original when naming my stuffed animals, so I felt like changing that here. And dear Mr. Stuffing, he's taken on a life of his own! Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Lizzie!


 Report Review

Review #12, by theelderwand 

1st December 2011:
Charlie's love of animals is a simply brilliant way to build this chapter. Especially like his protectiveness/fondness of Ron. Percy's characterization is perfect, as well.

I really can't compliment your toddler-Ron enough. Brilliant stuff. Mr. Stuffing- a great flourish that.

off for more

Eldy

Author's Response: Percy, I've realized, unintentionally has a bit of a problem with always having a book in his face in these stories. But then again, that's how I imagine him to be, the lovable old pompous buffoon.

I'm really, really glad you're so pleased with toddler-Ron, as well. I've never spent much time around toddlers and really don't have a lot of knowledge as to how they act, so positive reinforcement is a blessed thing, to be sure. I cannot thank you enough for leaving such nice reviews! Best wishes to you. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter 

21st November 2011:
I love how Charlie lets Ron help him feed the chickens! I always thought that Charlie would have been a really good older brother! I think you do a really good job of making this story really relatable. Everyone knows what it's like to be sitting in your room totally bored, and then suddenly you are completely immersed in whatever your parents have suggested that you do. You should write stories for little Harry and Hermione! And maybe one for Luna? It would be cool to see what her life was like before her mom died. I bet she had an interesting childhood!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Isn't Charlie adorable? :D I have no idea why, but he and Percy and Ron are my favorite Weasleys -- I think especially since so little fic is written about the first two. It leaves a lot to the healthy imagination. :)

I can't say much here, but I will say you won't be disappointed about what's in store! :D Thank you so much for reviewing, Cassie, it means a lot to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by classicblack 

4th November 2011:
This whole story is just shaping up to be absolutely adorable. I don't think I said this in my last review, but this is such a creative idea- showing what happened at the Burrow before Harry came into the picture. I loved the whole Charlie vs. Budgy plot and that Mr. Struffing continues to make an appearance ") This was superbly well done! Ickle Ronnikins is so cute. I hope to see more of Fred and George.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :) Charlie's chapter is one of my favorites, although I'm not sure why -- I just sort of remember writing it, and I have fond memories of doing so. Mr. Stuffing is at least mentioned in each chapter, so keep your eyes peeled for him!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TeddyFreakinLupin 

24th October 2011:
I love Charlie too! I imagine Tonks and him to be friends...

Author's Response: Well, they are in the same year at Hogwarts! Charlie is one of my favorite Weasleys. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by deathlyhallowsmaster24 

18th October 2011:
aww! I love it!
I wish there was more than a 10/10, for then i would rate this INFINITY AND BEYOND!!!

Author's Response: WOW. Thanks so much! I am so glad you're enjoying these stories, and I hope to keep seeing you back!

 Report Review

Review #17, by AC_rules 

5th October 2011:
This is every bit as cute as the last one. I loved the way you described Budgy's movements - it was brilliant and easy to imagine. It's the sort of thing that would happen.

Percy's "I'm trying to read you know," was fabulous and I just want to eat up little Ron! He's a darling :D

-AC

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- I'd say this is one of my favorite stories here, but I have a hard time picking. :D It certainly was a lot of fun to write, though!

Thanks so much. :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Mihali1432 

29th September 2011:
Awesome Evil Rooster is awesomely evil! XD
This one made me laugh!
Can't think of anything else, but thought an ok review was better than no review!

Author's Response: Budgy. ♥ What a diabolical little rooster. (As an aside, I've no idea if roosters act like this, but it was too fun to imagine it to be so.)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lady Mouldywart 

25th August 2011:
Love this one too!

Author's Response: Rampaging roosters always make for a good time. Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Roots in Water 

17th August 2011:
Another great chapter! You characterized Charlie wonderfully- just like a 10-year old boy!

This whole scenario was wonderfully written and very funny to read. The line "Budgy had been a fixture at the Burrow for as long as Charlie had, and for some reason each had taken an intense disliking to the other" put a huge smile on my face when I read it. Budgy was a great rooster as well as adversary for Charlie and Ron.

I hope Molly cleaned Mr Snuffles.

Author's Response: That is so wonderful to hear -- especially as, in my life, I have had very little contact with 10-year-old boys! :D

Don't worry, I'm sure Molly's sanitary. :3 Thank you very, very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

16th August 2011:
MR STUFFING ♥
LITTLE RON ♥

What a drama! Budgy is one evil rooster: there has to be one animal that Charlie doesn't like, after all. I had the most amazing image of it all in my head as I read this and that doesn't always happen for me. You really bring the scenes to life. They don't feel weighted or dull. Everything's so alive.

I like Percy's cameo! He's spot-on, too. You really gave Charlie individuality in this. As such a minor character, there's always a lot of freedom and a lot of places people can take him but he seemed pretty in-line with my imagination here, which I always like :P It makes me think that my ideas of people aren't completely manic and wrong.

Gorgeous chapter again. So much cuteness and action and chickens...


xx

Author's Response: Your compliments make me attempt to stand on my head and do the hula at the same time. Which is hard, but fun. LIKE RESPONDING.

I do love Charlie, it was fun to write about him. :3 Thank you oh-so much for leaving such a sweet review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Drecklin 

14th August 2011:
I absolutely loved this. Like you said, in the same general way anyways, the simplest is sometimes the best and that really shows here :D It was just adorable how you made little Charlie have all the qualities I imagine big Charlie to have! He is my favorite Weasley for the reason you mentioned, that we don't know so much about him. But I've always imagined him as easily bored, adventurous and brave :D All of which little Charlie here has. It was just adorable to read and hilarious too! The battle between Budgy and him was just too funny. You really did brilliantly with this, adding in what could possibly be a snippet of the Weasley life before Harry Potter :P

Loved it!

Drecklin
Slytherin

Author's Response: Your review leaves me speechless. Thank you so much for it! Charlie is one of my favorites as well, and so underappreciated in fan fiction, in my opinion. I like expanding a bit on his personality, making him into someone readers enjoy hearing about (hopefully). It's great that someone else thinks the same!

Thank you so much, you totally made my day. :D Glad you enjoyed it so much!


 Report Review

Review #23, by flozoeoreo 

24th June 2011:
You should do one about an older Ginny--four or five. I'd love reading about her :)

10/10

Author's Response: At the moment, I'm not planning to write any more -- unless inspiration strikes. But I will certainly be thinking about it, now I know you're interested! Thanks much!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lady of Tears 

23rd May 2011:
Oh please, oh please, oh please write more. Even as children, everyone is still totally in character. I am loving Mr. Stuffing, and I hope we get to see more of him.

Author's Response: Ha, I certainly will be writing more! This collection is more of a sort of side project, but it definitely will not be abandoned, so I hope you keep checking back for more! Thanks for the lovely and much-appreciated review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by magicmuggle01 

19th May 2011:
What a hoot. I couldn't stop myself laughing at the picture I got in my mind seeing a ten year old charlie fighting of a cockeral. Another 10/10 and adding you to favs so when you update I can find you again.

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review - I'm glad you liked this one, as well! You've really made my night with this review. :3

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>