Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita 

30th November 2016:
Now we know why Ron is so terrified of spiders. I absolutely loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! Though this story is getting up there in years, it still has a fond place in my heart. ♥ Always happy to hear from readers!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Isabel 

20th June 2015:
I'm glad that yo wrote this story for your sister! It is a very great story, too! I hoped your sister enjoyed this story as much as I did!

Author's Response: This review made my day! I'm so happy you enjoyed this story. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts! ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by hplover10130101 

9th February 2014:
omg that was amazing i am so hooked now. i wont be
able to walk away from the screen til i finish
reading.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed it! This is one of my favorite one-shots I've ever written, and it makes me really excited to hear things like you won't be able to stop reading. Is it bad that I hope you can't?

Probably.

Thank you for reviewing and making my day! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMolly 

24th November 2012:
TenthWeasley,
This is the second story of yours I have started. I am very pleased with this first chapter. It seems you won't be doing them in birth order, which is a good thing. Otherwise you'd be writing the Weasley story and you'd need to start with Arthur. I have an idea of what Ron lived through being the youngest son and being after the Twins. I now understand his fear of spiders. I'm surprised he ever got on a broom. I must go on.
FoM

Author's Response: It's lovely to see you back again! :3 And I'm excited to read all your opinions on this story -- this was written before GUM, which I know you also read, and I think I might even be a bit fonder of this one. I did not write the Weasleys in birth order, and that mostly came about because I wrote Ron's story as a one-shot before eventually choosing to expand into a short story collection of all the Weasleys as little kids.

My sister requested a Ron-centered story as a homecoming present, and this is what I came out with. And now you know why he's so scared of spiders! :) Thank you for taking the time to review this for me!


 Report Review

Review #5, by hedwigs_theme 

18th June 2012:
I love the spider bit! I wish that actually was written into the books because it's so creative! On to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I did take this from a mention in canon, although expanded on it quite a bit -- who knows what JKR was actually thinking? I'm very glad you liked my interpretation of it, though!

Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on this -- I'm really, really glad you did. It means a lot to me. :) Hope to see your name back around here soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica 

25th May 2012:
Yep, this one is on my list, too :)

I LOVE BABY WEASLEYS ♥ Especially baby Ron. How cute is he? Just imagining him toddling along with Mr. Stuffing warms my cold, cold Slytherin heart. I really love your characterization here, not just of the children but of Arthur and Molly as well. Arthur, in particular, strikes me as being right on point, as a seemingly effortless calming force in a household of chaos. I'm so excited to read more about your Weasleys.

The imagery is perfect -- I've got a serious sticky bun craving right about now. (Ron has a point. Sometimes a sweet treat really is all you need.) I love how easily I could follow the action and imagine everything playing out right in front of me. I think it really takes a special talent to be able to write like that -- and it always seems to happen when I read baby Weasley stories, interestingly enough -- and it really made this flow well for me.

Great job! :)

-Amanda
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Oh, you're here too! :) I'm trying to respond to each new review coming in because dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap slaughtered ITB with loveliness earlier this week, and my backlog is insane. :P So I'm trying to make it a habit to quickly respond to new reviews and then work on that! One step at a time!

Baby Ron is unbelievably cute. And I, with my huge bias in his direction, still have to smile at how adorable he is every time I check this over again. :D And considering I was a Slytherin when I wrote this, I get where you're coming from! Arthur's one of my favorites in this story -- such a patriarchal figure. :3

Sticky buns are necessary for life. My mom makes them on Christmas morning, too, and I know EXACTLY what I was referencing when reading this, and I always, always want one! I'm so happy you could follow this, as you said -- that's a really awesome thing to hear I've accomplished. :) I'm so happy you told me that!

I can't wait to see what you think of the other stories, although this, admittedly, is one of my favorites of the eight. :D Thank you so much for dropping by! Your reviews are the greatest. ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Aiedail 

30th April 2012:
i'm writing this review at midnight, i apologize in advance for the things that do not make sense.

:3 BABY RON. SO CUTE.

I feel this is the perfect explanation for this traumatic experience. Poor Fred, and poor Ron, mostly Ron though, ahem. Spiders.ICK ICK ICK ICK. and not the plath kind of ich x 4. though they're pronounced differently, whatevs.

i love how Ron is totally, overly obsessed with the sticky buns more than presents. it's totally on par with his character in the books and ofc, the movies. reminisce upon chickron, ahhh. also i feel i am the same because, well, presents are great but sticky buns are forever.

your writing is so good, as always, and i love that you've included all these details about such a big family so that it's not overwhelming and feels v. cozy. OMG my cat totally just ran by me at 100 mph. also, i was looking at our texts earlier and realizing how weird GUW looks, like GOOO so i was saying GOOO while i walked around the house with my phone in front of my face and everyone ignored me :'(

but seriously, this is enough trauma to make me believe that he is forever traumatized. trauma trauma galore. also my eyes are having problems staying open and seeing things rn so i might have a lot of typos and i'm sorry.

while i was reading this i did not suspect that mr stuffing would be the unwitting teddy later to morph into a carnivorous arachnid, so that was a lovely surprise! i also love all the talk of "little" things, it was v. cute and i was smiling creepily at cute little ron while i read this but also at your writing because it's fab and you're fab and always fab forevresa, yo.

♥♥♥

Author's Response: Midnight reviews are clearly the best. I mean, just LOOK at this one! ♥

I can't explicitly recall, but I'm pretty sure I just started typing this out without quite knowing where it was going -- and I definitely don't think I would tie it into a canon event. Basically, my sister wanted Ron, and I had a very adorable image of him as a toddler in my head. And that is where this story came from. :3

Also -- the sticky buns were based on something my mom actually does make for Christmas morning. And they are TOTALLY worth obsessing over. Ron cannot be blamed. (HELLO, LILY'S KITTEH.) GUW is a very weird acronym but I mostly try to forgive this story its faults.

Lily, your reviews make me mush. And not the pleasant kind either, but the kind that just sort of runs all over the floor from the feels it has received. ♥ TANKS MUCHO FOR SUCH A LOVELY REVIEW, YOU MEAN A LOT TO ME ~


 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleBabeBlue 

24th April 2012:
I really, really loved this story, but there's one problem in this chapter that really irritates me. Can you find it? No? Okay, I'll tell you:
You said, "Three-year-old Ron Weasley" had seen "a handful of Christmases", now, in my experience, three-year-olds do not remember "a handful of Christmases", nor can they make connections and decisions so easily. All of the three-year-olds I know (quite a few), I would not trust with a sticky bun anywhere, much less in bed, under their covers when they are upset.
Sorry about my rant, but it's just my pet peeve, ya know? anyways i can only think of a few words to describe your story they are:

SMAWESOME
FANTABULOUS
DELICACIEOUS
HARRY POTTER WORTHY

thank you...

Author's Response: I do think that it is important for you to remember that Ron is three -- as, of course, you stated in your criticism -- and that as such, he's a bit of an unreliable narrator. In case you don't know what that is, in layman's terms that means it's a narrator who cannot be trusted blindly to tell the truth. A handful is not a set amount, too, so I think I'll leave that bit in there. :)

As for the sticky buns -- first of all, I think it's a fairly safe thing to say that in canon, Arthur wasn't always the most pragmatic of parents (remember how he wasn't mad that Fred, George, and Ron flew the flying car until Molly reminded him to be?). Additionally, Ron's just undergone a fairly traumatic experience, and although he initiated it, I'd like to think his father would want to comfort him with his favorite treat, in bed or no.

I'm glad that you told me that you enjoyed the story otherwise. :) Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by charlottetrips 

22nd April 2012:
Yes!! 200th Review! :)

I love the Weasleys. I will read all of this because Ive just started Rons and its so cute!! I cant even stand reading this and imagining a tiny Ron with his little redheaded brothers and sister. The Cuteness of it all will literally kill me I am sure. So if I dont leave a review on the last chapter, youll know why.

Ah, the infamous bear-into-a-spider incident. Poor Ron! Forever traumatized! I like that it was done in response though to something Ron did, like it was inadvertent magic instead of knowingly trying to scare the bejesus out of the little guy.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for being my two hundredth review -- it's very much appreciated! :)

I'm so glad you like this. It never started out to be as big as it got, and I sort of like that about this collection -- from small things, etc. Ron's story is still one of my favorites, though! He is quite adorable. :3

I wrote this for my sister, and the reason it took from a canon event is because she was quite new to fic at the time. :P And still is, really. But anyway. Thanks so much for taking the time to swing by here and leave me these reviews! It really means so much to me that you did -- I cannot thank you enough.


 Report Review

Review #10, by angelicdemon1209 

2nd February 2012:
Ohhh! Ron sounds sooo cute!! :D

Author's Response: I love little Ron! And so, consequently, he pops up a lot in these little Weasley stories, I think. :P I don't know why he, of all of them, tugged so much at my heartstrings, but such is life.

Thanks so much -- again -- for taking the time to leave a review! Every time I see your name pop up, it really just makes me smile. I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your reviews. :3 So glad you're liking the story, too!


 Report Review

Review #11, by EvannaBlackthorn 

14th January 2012:
That was a very enjoyable chapter to read. You captured Ron so well. I'm really looking forward to reading the rest. :D

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this! :) I wrote this about a year ago now, and it's always sort of nice when all that old stuff still surfaces now and again. :D Ah, but listen to me ramble.

I'll look forward to seeing what you think of the others! I won't tell you which one's my favorite (although you could probably find out from looking through reviews), but this one's a contender. :P Thanks so much for the review, though, and I'm really so glad that you took the time to leave it! Hope to see you back soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Riverwind 

9th January 2012:
A friend who writes and post here told me to read this set of stories, he said I would like them.

I have finished the first one and he is right, what a wonderful little story, now on to the rest.

Author's Response: Wow! That's a really high honor for me -- silly, but true! -- and I'm so glad you took the time to swing by, too.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and definitely hope to see you back! Thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by BKL8008 

8th January 2012:
It's just awful of me to sit here and laugh about a child being so traumatized, isn't it?! I always wondered how Fred'or'George had managed to turn the teddy bear into a spider. Now we know! I have to admit, I was an awful parent, too, when I DID warn my Godson about the spiders in the HP2/CS movie. But he wanted to go...well, the theater was surely entertained, yes. Poor Ron. So well done in his reaction to looking at the restored bear and screaming again! It started off as Christmas, Ron was little, it was all so happy and fuzzy - then BOOM! I loved it!

Author's Response: Not at all -- I was in giggles the whole time while writing this, and while writing the other stories here, too! Your godson's reaction sounds appropriately humorous, too, and I'm sure I would have been entertained by it as well. :P

Ah, Weasleys. I can't imagine a lot of things go as expected around their house, what with seven very headstrong children. Thanks so much for dropping by, it really does mean a lot to me!


 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne 

1st January 2012:
Ron's name for his bear is so cute! And Ron is so cute I just want to snuggle him hehe. He's still obsessed with food and still a little grumpy like when he's older.
I really enjoyed this chapter, but I feel sorry for Fred and his broom. Loved it!
10/10

Author's Response: I don't know where the name Mr. Stuffing came from, but I'm rather attached to it. :D And Mr. Stuffing's quite become a star, now, so I'm /really/ glad I didn't name him, for example, Beary! :P

I tried to keep the canon personalities of all the Weasleys, so thanks for commenting on Ron's. I'm so grateful for this review, thank you so much for leaving it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by lizmusic45 

16th December 2011:
Aw! God, your so talented! I love this, and Ron god he's just so cute! and Mr. Stuffing I want that Teddy bear, this chapter is just too cute. I love this, Jane you're so bloody talented!

I loved how Fred and George liked to scream in Percy's ear, that was just so cute! I'm love this story! I'm off to read the next chapter!

Lizzie

Author's Response: Lizzie! ♥ I can never properly respond to your commentary -- you just sort of make me melt into a puddle, a happy puddle. :3 Mr. Stuffing is such a star, no?

Fred and George! ♥ That's (selfishly) one of my favorite bits of this chapter, that line is. I'm glad you like it too! Thank you so much for the lovely review, I am so flattered!


 Report Review

Review #16, by seymlour 

16th December 2011:
A passage worthy of Jo herself.

Author's Response: Honestly? It's one line, and one of the best reviews I have ever received. Hands down. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it, it means the world to me.



 Report Review

Review #17, by Tonks1247 

10th December 2011:
This was absolutely amazing! I had a feeling from the start that this chapter would be about Ron getting his fear of spiders, just from how he kept close watch on Mr. Stuffing. And I'm more than content to see I was right, though it unfolded in a way I was not expecting! Definitely a different view than what I thought when envisioning Ron getting his teddy bear transformed into a spider. Having Christmas and the breaking of the toy broom included added a whole different twist, though I can definitely see that happening! [Haha, I also love the chapter title! Didn't really notice it until AFTER I finished reading ;) ]

I also have to say, I adore how you describe everything while keeping it in third person! I've always had difficulty with third person, but you've nailed it! And the description? Beautiful. It's not overboard, like many stories get with description. Even the dialogue, when it comes in, stays balanced with the description perfectly! I also saw no problems with switching tenses, which is great!

And my favorite part has to be all the Weasley boys lining up on the stairs and looking through the railing. I could definitely picture that in my head. Along with them all jumping when Mr. Weasley cleared his throat behind them! That sounds exactly like what would have happened in the Weasley house!

Looking forward to reading more chapters of this story, to see what other trouble happens with the Weasley children! Excellent story!

Author's Response: Mr. Stuffing has become -- I must admit it -- one of my favorite characters I've ever written. He never says a word, but darn it, he's always there! :D

Thanks so much for your lovely and complimentary review, it really does mean so much to me. :) Third person actually comes easier for me (MUCH easier) than first person!

Thank you very, very much!


 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemorefic 

8th December 2011:
Oh my god everything is just so precious and ickle and Mr. Stuffing. I can't imagine Christmas with like, six boys xD

And of course, Ron is the one who sees and wants, as the youngest one (because Ginny doesn't count, heh ;D). Dreams of sticky buns (now I want sticky buns), and even at three, he knows to be disappointed at a sweater and be asdfjk jealous of a flying toy broom because who wouldn't. I wonder how much they cost :O Must've been quite the dent in the wallet.

BAWW, DON'T BE LIKE THAT FIVE (is it five?) YEAR OLD FRED. HE DIDN'T MEAAAN TO. ...oh right, Ron's afraid of spiders because of that 8D I totally forgot, and now, oh god, if I was hugging something and it turned into a spider -- yeesh. Never again. NEVER AGAIN.

D'aww, that was so adorb/sad-squishy-Ron. I get used to dunderhead!Ron and hyper!Twins in fics sometimes, it's nice to read something more about the family, and it's not always happy times, but still sweet in the end (Arthur is such the coolest dad, and to think JKR was almost going to kill him off D:).



Author's Response: GINAAA. Pip pip and what ho and all sorts of posh-sounding greetings, forsooth! ♥

I craved sticky buns the entire time writing this. Fact. I never had a Christmas quite as hectic as this, although I never really had any normal Christmases either, so I can't totally say I drew on personal experience.

Also -- this is the most justified explanation for arachnophobia ever. Trufax. Thank you muchos muchos muchos for the review, lovely Gina-of-the-graphics. Je t'aime! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by theelderwand 

1st December 2011:
Well, that was truly impressive. Capturing the emotional nature of a three year old at christmas is never easy, especially when you have to take a character everyone knows exceptionally well (Ron) and "immature" him to such a degree.

But you did it; the slight let down of an "unwanted" christmas present to the disasters that tend to happen in such situations (the broken broom). The holidays are always a trying time - especially for a poor, large family like the weasleys. You've also captured the problem of being the youngest son so well. And, brought this entire chapter right back to canon with Fred turning the bear into a spider. Good show!

And Congrats on the Dobby. Well deserved!

Eldy

Author's Response: Thank you SO much -- I have a lot of respect for you as a writer, and seeing that you unexpectedly dropped by with three reviews for me meant a lot more than I think I can tell you here.

My family isn't nearly so large as the Weasleys, but somehow we always seem to have a sort of hectic Christmas, and so it was pretty easy to draw from those sorts of memories. Thank you very much for being so complimentary; my ego is now the size of a small country. :3 I'm so glad you enjoyed the piece!


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotter 

20th November 2011:
I love this! A three year old Ron is one of the cutest things I could imagine! You do such a good job of painting the picture in our heads, and bringing in the personalities of all of the Weasleys! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I LOVE writing little kids, a lot more than I ever thought I would, so thank you very much! :3 I am so glad you think it worked out well, I'm trying as hard as possible to make all the characters believable here. Your review was so sweet, thank you very much!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by BoathouseBlues 

6th November 2011:
Aww, this is such a cute story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I hope you'll enjoy the other installments, as well! :3

 Report Review

Review #22, by forsakenphoenix 

4th November 2011:
I don't think I've ever read anything quite like this and I must say, I adored it. You write Ron's three-year-old self so well and you take a fantastic scene to explain Ron's terror of spiders. I love Mr. Stuffing and Ron's attachment to him and the small glimpses we get of the boys' relationships with each other.

I think my favorite part was the descriptions. The idea that a lot of what Ron has are hand-me-downs, the disappointment that Ron feels when he doesn't get his own broom is so very tangible, and I think that's what makes this such a strong first one-shot in this collection.

I think you've definitely paved the way for the rest of the one-shots to really flesh out the Weasleys with the glimpses we get of them here and I can already tell it'll be fantastic. No wonder this won a Dobby!

I'd really love to continue this at one point when I get away from studying, but just from reading this first story, I'm already a fan!

Author's Response: This review just totally made my night. I am... speechless. ♥ I'm actually really relieved to hear you've read nothing like this, too -- one of my goals as a writer of fan fiction is to sort of write things /I/ want to read, and what I can never find. Hence... Cedric-fluff. :3

Wow, this was such a fantastic review, and I am so grateful for it. YOU'RE AWESOME WITH CHERRIES ON TOP. I really hope you'll enjoy the rest, they're a lot of fun to write, those Weasleys.


 Report Review

Review #23, by classicblack 

31st October 2011:
Aww! I loved the backstory of Ron's fear of spiders! Oh my goodness this was just so adorable and hilarious! Ron as a child: too cute! It's simply brilliant- well done! I can't wait to see what you've got up your sleeve for the rest of the collection. ")
Until one-shot,
classicblack

Author's Response: I loved writing little Ron -- that's why he crops up in so many of the other stories, too. :D For some reason, he is just so fun and natural for me to do. I hope you continue on to the other pieces, and thank you so much for leaving me a review for this one! I really do appreciate it, so much. ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by TeddyFreakinLupin 

24th October 2011:
LOVE THIS!!!
Terrible review. Sorry.

Author's Response: No review is a terrible review. :) Glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #25, by FoundriaPenguin 

23rd October 2011:
AH JANE!
I've heard lots about this story, and well, especially because it just won a Dobby, I had to check it out! :D Plus you won Pin the Tail on the Dragon. Y u so cool, Jane.

Anyways, OMG THIS WAS SO CUTE. UBER CUTE, EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS A SPIDER (SPIDERS AREN'T CUTE, BUT FOR SOME REASON TEDDY-MORPHS-INTO-SPIDERS ARE). FULL TO THE BRIM WITH LOVELY CUTENESS AND VERY, VERY JKR-LIKE. I see why this won Best Canon, m'dear. You could pop this into a Harry Potter prequel and I would believe it to be da real truth.

As I read this one-shot, my mental picture of Ron was SO ADORABLE. EEEK. The scenes you described in this was really so warm and loving and Weasley-esque. I could FEEL the family atmosphere emanating into my soul 8D

AND THIS WAS SO REAL, SO VERY REAL. The relationship between Ron and his brothers. "Ron tried to keep up, but as always, the good chairs were taken before he arrived there." I feel like that sums up his place in the Weasley family very well. The fact that he's already decided to not make a huge deal out of it at such a young age...gah, my heart goes out to him. ♥

Erm, if you couldn't tell already, I loved this very much and I can't wait to continue. This is also going on my favorites. :D Onward to the next chapter!

--jordan

Author's Response: JORDAN Y U SO AWEZOME. Like seriously, it's raging. Raging with awezome. So much so that it needs to be spelled with a 'z' just to express it. LIKE WOAH.

Your comments made me squeal just a bit and perhaps do a self-congratulating dance, because my ego's been puffed up several notches after reading this. I CANNOT HELP IT. You are just so lovely.

My brain is mush. Simply melted. I cannot even... Thank you so much, Jordan. Really. :3 ♥ ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>