Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
83 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PCB 

22nd February 2015:
WILL YOU EVER UPDATE THIS.PLEASE, THIS IS TOO GOOD. P.S. I HOPE THAT YOU ARE STILL ALIVE.

Author's Response: I am alive! I just posted the next chapter, I hope you like it, I am so nervous about it! It makes me happy that you are enjoying the story :) thank you

 Report Review

Review #2, by firebolt_31 

9th December 2012:
So does Pippa clean the common room? I just didn't get that bit but it is an amazing chapter!!!

Author's Response: Yes :) She cleans anything, her stuff, Cassie's stuff, cleaning helps focus her mind, so when everyones asleep, she cleans the common room :) And thank you so much for the review and I hope you have an amazing day! Xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by rose4ever 

8th July 2012:
hmm, i wonder what albus' nightmare was all about? It was kind of a short chapter, but it was necessary to get to know them a bit better.

love,
janke

Author's Response: Hmmm, you'll find out eventually :) And yeah, a chapter to start off the angsty hate that they have towards each other now, haha. Thanks for the review and I hope you have a great day :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderqueen 

3rd June 2012:
I like this. Very much. Like a duck likes um..water. Or a klepto likes to steal things.

I understand Pippa's whole insomnia thing which makes it all the more interesting to read! I usually just end up reading or at one stage I actually - shudder - did my homework. There was a lot and by the time I was done I fell alseep from utter boredom I think ;)

I like Pippa because she's actually like an ordianry person. People clean. You should see my sister with a thing of bleach and a sponge. It's rather frightening. But seriously, she's fun to read about and her thoughts are like people's thoughts. The randomness that suddenly pops in for a tea is my favourite thing to read about!

So, yeah...I really like this and well done and all that. You are a very good writer too, as you probably know already! You keep true to the characters, like you don't suddenly have Albus and Pippa having a tender moment after his nightmare or anything. Which is good :)

I loves it. Yays

~Izzy

Author's Response: Hi. For some reason, that made me giggle but I'm so glad you're liking the story, it means a lot to me :) Haha, yeah, I do that too, I usually turn to cleaning really, but not to the obsessive tendency. I always need to clean because I am so messy. Haha, that does sound scary! Thank you so much, I'm glad. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story :) And aw, that's so sweet. And thank you, I always try to write what feelings right to them :) Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleWelshGirl99 

24th May 2012:
So Pippa reminds me of Monica from the TV show Friends in this chapter! Her cleaning obsession is strangely relatable for me; I like having everything in its place. I love all the little night time escapades Albus and Pippa get up to throughout the story :)

'This is about as fun as being eaten alive by a shark.'

Pippa's thoghts are so awkwardly funny :P For an evil Slytherin she reminds me too much f the chocolate bunnies from chapter one!

Author's Response: Haha, I actually watch too much friends for it to be healthy, so it's kind of taken from there, as it makes so much sense for her character. I'm glad you like them and thanks, I love writing them. Haha, yeah, I'm glad you're finding them funny, I'm just so happy you're enjoying the story, it means a lot to me. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by Deltaris 

28th March 2012:
Oh, Pippa. You definitely give more information about Pippa in this chapter, it helps solidify her as an OC and make her real.

Pippa learned a little more about Albus too, which is nice. It's strange how just one little thing or comment can cause a person to question their view on another. I like how the interactions between the two are developing, it doesn't feel over the top or forced at all.

Del<3

Author's Response: Hey :) Yes, I like to explore the characters through the whole story and not give away too much in the first chapter. I'm so glad that you thought this chapter helped do that. And yes, it is very strange, but that is what happens quite a lot of the time. Thank you, I never want it to feel forced so I'm glad you think it doesn't feel that, I want the story to go at it's natural pace. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day.

 Report Review

Review #7, by SerpentineOffering 

27th March 2012:
I love the way you have written Pippa, she seems so independent and of course a little bitter. I enjoy the bickering relationship between her and Albus so far, it's quite entertaining! Great chapter!! I also love that you made her character enjoy cleaning the muggle way, it adds to her character a lot! Great job!

Author's Response: Hey :) Thank you so much, I have a lot of fun writing Pippa. Yes, she has a hard time asking for help and she's very bitter about a lot of things. I'm glad you're liking the way things are slowly developing! Thanks! It's something that crops up in the story a lot so I'm glad you think it's a good thing. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a wonderful day. xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by VioletBlade 

27th March 2012:
Hi there! Thanks for doimg the review swap with me! Pippa is really starting to grow on me! In the first chapter she seemed a little over the place and a little too random but she definitely improves in this chapter in my opinion! I really like the details you have added about her as well, that really makes her character believable!

My favorite is that she cleans when she can't sleep! If I were ever to be an insomniac, that is something I would so totally do! I'm already obsessive with my claeaning habits if I really get into it I actually get angry at people who interrupt me! That's how come I can really relate to how Pippa felt when she found Albus sleeping in the Common Room haha. One question about that that I did have though was was this a random occurence? Albus made it seem like he does it all the time but Pippa was really surprised to see him down there so I was a little confused on that part!

I also really like the awkward tension and situation Pippa and Albus are in during this chapter! It made me laugh! I tend to laugh at awkward situations though and this definitely had awkward written all over it! At least, I think that was what you were trying to get at here!

Overall, I liked this chapter a lot! It was definitly well-written so thanks for offering it up for the review swap! :) Also, I do apologize in advance if there are any typos/things that don't make sense in this review... I am using my sister's iPad and it's much different from a computer to me! Hehe!

~VioletBlade

Author's Response: hey :) I'm glad she's growing on you, I can see why you would think that, it takes me a bit of time, (aka a chapter or two) to find the voice of the character. Thanks, I'm glad you like the little details.

Thank you :) I'm so happy you like that aspect of her character as it comes up a lot throughout the story. I know it's not stated, but Pippa recently only started cleaning the common room, as she used to clean the dorms, before her best friend Cassie made her stop, as it effected her sleep. Also Albus comes down a lot, but he managed to miss her, as usually he just sits in his dorms while he can't sleep, he only comes down, when he finally wants to sleep. I hope that makes sense.

Thank you :) It was very awkward wasn't it? But I love writing awkward things.

Thank you so much for the review, it's been great to read. Haha, yes, I can see why that would be very different! Thanks again and I hope you have a great day! xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

25th March 2012:
I really really like this chapter.

The confrontation with Pippa and Albus is actually really funny (I don't think it was meant to be but I do laugh in awkward situations so). I like how she also wants to clean because she can't sleep. Its a perfectly normal thing that a lot of people, me included, like to do when they can't because it gives that sense of completeness and makes sure everything is just-so which helps settle your mind.

The confrontation is interesting as they are both irritated by the other but in a way Pippa seems almost concerned about him having his nightmare, why else would she ponder over waking him up or not? It was sweet!

Also the whole putting her foot in her mouth made her to me seem very funny! And saying that she couldn't clean around him because 'people are messy'!

Well done on this!

Author's Response: Hey :) I'm so glad you liked this chapter. Haha, yes, I can see why it was funny in that awkward kind of way. Yes. It does! I thought a lot of people could relate to that, so I thought it would also make an interesting quirk to her character.

Maybe. They are irritated about other things and each other. Pippa wonders whether she should wake him up from his nightmare or just leave him in it.

Thank you ;) People are messy! And it annoys Pippa a lot.

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you have a wonderful day! xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by forsakenphoenix 

22nd March 2012:
I'm going to do a running commentary while I read, so hopefully it makes sense!

I have to say that I am in love with Pippa. I swear, I find myself snorting in laughter at some of her ridiculous narrative. I like her deduction that bad things hide in the dark and shiny things bask in the light - real cute.

Oh my god, I can't believe she cleans when she can't sleep. She seems so indignant that the house elves cleaned the common room before she ever could. She's a trip, that one, and I'm definitely not surprised that she isn't one for sharing. You know, considering how greedy she was in the first chapter with that chocolate bunny.

Of course it's Albus on the settee, because who else would disturb her peace like that? It's weird reading about Al having a nightmare from Pippa's POV, haha. Poor kid is going to go from one nightmare only to wake up to another.

Bahahah, I love Lily too! I thought Pippa was kind of quirky and whatever, but Lily takes the cake. I mean, her obsession with Damien is like...crazy. I'm not quite sure how flattered I would be if someone taped my head to the body of a penguin...

Oh, come on, Pippa...don't you know that boys are only mean to you because they like you and are too dumb to just tell you? At least, I'm going to pretend that's why Al is so mean to her all the time. I just snorted again - she thinks he has beautiful eyes! Albeit...dead, but still beautiful!

And it just keeps coming, my god, does this girl not have a filter? Wait, never mind, I know she doesn't. Thank you, Pippa, for your fascinating story about why you don't dance. I'll take five autographed copies of your book, The Useless Tales of Philippia Nott.

...now she's obsessed with his watch. Pippa, darling, Albus is going to think you're even more nuts than you already are if you keep staring at his watch like that.

Oh, dear, Albus is all angry now that she wants to clean. I swear these kids never get a break from each other's anger. Though I did giggle when Pippa said that Scorpius snores...all I can picture is that pretty boy snoring like a freight train. She keeps talking about how blank Al's stares are, how there's nothing to them, and that kind of makes me sad. It goes back to her first description of his eyes being dead and I can't help but be curious as to what happened to make him so cold.

Is Pippa a bit OCD? I'm just curious because she seems like she has an order for which she takes her supplies out and lines them next to each other, and the idea of cleaning calming her insomnia down..it just reminds me of OCD.

I'm really enjoying this story. I was never a big fan of Next Gen stories but the more I read, the more I really like the freedom you have with these characters. I can see why Pippa won a Dobby for Best Original Character - she's fantastic, quirky, and a little bit crazy.

Also, I'm kind of in love with that actor you chose for Albus. Delicious. ;)

Author's Response: Oh! Interesting idea! I can't wait to see what you say about this chapter.

I'm so glad you like Pippa. She can be a little bit ridiculous at times, but I think that is half the fun, as all people can be.

Haha, yes, so it's not really dirty when she starts cleaning! Which is the funny thing, but she doesn't feel right when it's not up to her standards. Yes, Pippa doesn't share, never. She has problems with it :P

Haha, yes, Albus and his nightmares! Yes, he hardly woke up to heaven!

I'm so glad you love Lily. She is a lot of fun to write it. She is pure crazy in her 'love' for Damien, her stalker ways are so amusing.

Haha, maybe. Maybe it's something different. And hey, Pippa has eyes :P

Pippa doesn't have a filter for these sort of things. Haha, at least someone would buy her book!

Yes. They really don't. One of them is always angry. Haha, yeah, Scorpius snores, loudly. Albus is a mystery that shall be explored throughout the story, and secrets will be revealed to the reader eventually on how he got that way.

Yes. She does indeed. It sort of came out when I was writing her and I decided to go with it.

I'm so glad you like the story, yes there is a lot of freedom with them, which is why I personally like it so much. Thank you so much, that is a very nice thing to read!

He is rather yummy isn't he? ;)

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you have a wonderful day! xxx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Erised 

21st March 2012:
Another excellent chapter! It was funny, full of banter and full of laughs. It's great to see some of the little quirks of the characters and to discover more about them as the story progresses!

Great work!

Author's Response: Hey :) I'm so glad you thought it was a good chapter. Haha, the chapters have a lot of quirks, which you'll see throughout the story. I'm glad you found it funny. Thanks so much for nice review and I hope you have a great day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #12, by bri_5_stars 

20th March 2012:
Oh gosh I just love this! I totally identify with Pippa, who is a very interesting girl to say the least. Her commentary throughout is hilarious, entertaining, very fitting. Especially all of the stuff with Albus. Its so different and great to see him not looked on as brightly as he would be in others.
Anywho, yet another great chapter!
brithewriter :D

Author's Response: Hey :) I'm glad you like the story. I'm glad you think Pippa is interesting, she's a lot of fun to write and I'm happy you think that. And I'm glad you find it different! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by slytherinchica08 

19th March 2012:
Another wonderful chapter! I really enjoy your Pippa and how she has problems sleeping and to help her she goes and cleans the common room. I thought the chapter was really sweet and I enjoyed the interaction between her and Albus. Altogether, I think you have a very interesting and original story and I really look forward to reading more of it sometime and see where it goes from here. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hey :) I'm so glad you thought it was a wonderful chapter! Thanks! I'm glad you're liking Pippa. Thanks! Things are slowly developing, but they have issues to overcome first before anything really starts happening. Thank you, that is such a huge compliment! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xx

 Report Review

Review #14, by AC_rules 

18th March 2012:
I'm an insomniac on some days of the week so I can pretty much sympathise with Pippa on that front. The frustration of not being able to sleep (and the tiredness it inevitably brings) really really sucks.

I liked Pippa even more in this chapter and I love how you've already gotten so much about Pippa and Albus and about Albus being, like... pretty mysterious all ready. It's been a fabulous opening to a story and I'm really glad I'm here :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you can relate, as I can too, and you're right, it does really suck. And I'm glad you like Pippa more. Yes! Albus is a mystery for a good while yet. I'm glad you're liking the story so far though, it means a lot to me. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #15, by EverDiggory 

6th March 2012:
First off, I love some of your sayings, like "this is about as fun as being eaten alive by a shark". Priceless line,I may start saying it(:

Now if you will give me a minute to pick my jaw up off the floor...

I'm still in awe and complete shock as much as I was when I read chapter 1. Darn you for being such an amazing author(:

You have done a fantastic job, and I really think this shows your ability as a writer. Everything from characterization, flow, descriptive words...everything is just wonderful!

Can't wait to read more,I may just do that now! Job well done, as I expected(: 10/10

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you :) These are some of the things I'd say in real life, so I'm glad you like them :)

Aw! You're too kind!

I'm so glad you liked chapter two :) I had a lot of fun writing this. And thank you very much.

Wow. You're far too nice to me, seriously. I'm just so happy you like it! I adore writing characters so I'm glad that has shown through.

Aw! Thank you! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a wonderful day.

xxx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Elenia 

6th March 2012:
Ooh, really good chapter!

I'm really, really liking Pippa's character, she's so fun and awkward, and her internal monologues are just brilliant! Well done! I love all the little details you slip everywhere, they really develop your characters and make them more real!

I'm loving Lily and her stalking! The part about the scrapbook was just brilliant d: Also liking Albus's character, it's nice to read such a different version of him!

The story seems so interesting and I can't wait to read more. You're such a brilliant writer!

Keep up the good work!

~E

Author's Response: Heya :) I'm so glad you liked the chapter! And I'm glad you're liking Pippa. She can be rather awkward at times. And thanks, I love slipping in a lot of details throughout the story! And I'm glad you like Lily. She plays more of a part throughout the story. And thanks! Albus is very different from how people usually write him but I'm happy you like him anyway. Aw! Thanks! And you're far too kind! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #17, by Cassius Alcinder 

19th February 2012:
This was a very interesting chapter, and definetely not what i'm used to seeing in next gen fics. It seems that in most of these type stories, the OC is somewhat Mary Sue-ish and tries way to hard to be "quirky and sarcastic" and ineviteably wins over the wild player James Potter and hi quidditch toned abs, but this one is clearly much different, so I salute you for that.

I've enjoyed Pippa's characterization. I like how she has such a bitter and saracstic narrative voice that keeps the story humorous and amusing, but at the same time it deals with some pretty intense emotions. Albus's characterization is great as well. He's usually the kind sensitive foil to James, so its nice to see something completely different here.

Great story so far!

Author's Response: Heya :) I'm so glad you found it an interesting chapter. And yes, I wanted to do something really different with this story. Pippa isn't like that. She is mean at times and the story is mostly going to exploring human nature. So I hope the story is different.

I'm so glad you are liking her character. Yes, she is very much like that. And yes, it has it's lighter moments through her eyes and it has it's deeper moments. And yes, Albus is nothing like that either, he has issues.

Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! xxx


 Report Review

Review #18, by CambAngst 

13th February 2012:
This story is pretty intense, in a way. I keep expecting something to happen: some breakthrough in relations between Al and Pippa. I think I expect this because that's what happens in almost every fic: there's some huge breakthrough (or breakdown) in relations between the main characters at a very early stage and the rest of the story is almost downhill from there, in a way. This story is following a different pattern so far, and I commend you for that. It really adds to the sense of anticipation.

Pippa is a pretty complex character. At first, I was tempted to relegate her to the "quirky on the surface, normal in the center" pigeon hole, but you clearly set her apart in this chapter. She definitely has some issues, and the fact that she scrubs a table until her hands are raw drives that home definitively.

Al, for his part, also appears to have some issues. Not just with sleep, but also with hostility. Assuming that the two are related, it seems that we have some awesome back-story that has yet to be delivered. I'm looking forward to it!

Another really good chapter. I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Heya :) I know, I try to write lighthearted, but it doesn't want to be. It is an intense story as emotions can be intense at times. Also, it's a slow burner of a story as I'm trying to do what is real for the characters. I don't want to rush because it doesn't feel right.

Yes. I didn't want to show everything all in the first chapter so I'm revealing layers to her character throughout the story. She is pretty complex but I think that adds to the realism.

And yes, Albus has a backstory that will be explored in the future.

Thanks so much! I hope you like the rest of the story that is up so far! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! Xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Secret Santa *hands you a candy cane* 

30th December 2011:
She taped his head onto the body of a penguin because they are her favourite animals.

That's a bit scary but cute in a creepy stalker kind of way. It's a bit sad that I love penguins as well so I wouldn't mind my head being on a penguins body. Reminds me of those dancing e-mail grams people used to send out where you put someones head on like an elf and santa and they dance and sing.

I know that was random but I thought that line was clever and interesting. After reading Nellie, Pippa is on a whole different spectrum. I wonder. How do you write two different people? Nellie, Chandler and Pippa don't have too much in common it seems so do you ever get confused writing them? Do you slip up and sometimes see yourself writing Pippa wanting to do cart wheels and calling Albus a fish finger? That'd be interesting for Pippa's characterization you have going on here.

I've always wondered about insomina and how people cope with it. I usually find myself not sleeping when my semester is in session because I'm nervous about school, grades and everything under the sun. I can relate to Pippa with her cleaning habits because when I get stressed out I can't go to sleep until everything in my room has been picked off the floor, the floor itself has been swept and everything has been dusted. If it's not I have nightmares but I wonder what exactly is making Pippa tick.

There seems to be so much more to her and it also seems like Albus and Pippa fight to mask their true feelings from each other. I'm not saying they like each other or they're secretly lusting after each other but it seems like they're using the other as their scapegoat to hide themselves.

You really can't write any bad chapters or characters. Even when they act mean or say terrible things I find myself embracing each character. You're such an excellent writer!

- Your Secret Santa

Author's Response: Heya :) Lily is cute. And she is very creepy sometimes, but she's harmless. Plus Damien loves the attention so he doesn't really mind Lily. Haha, that is a funny image! I can see why it would remind you of that.

As for writing different characters, The characters just write themselves, not much thought goes into it. Sometimes I have to decide what they would do base on who they are when I have too many options, but I never get confused, as they write themselves. I don't even control them, haha, Pippa is a lot different to how I originally thought her out but I like her a lot better this way.

I'm sorta glad you can relate, I like people relating but sometimes it can be bad to relate :P I'm personally really messy person, my room is often a tip. You'll find out more about what makes Pippa tick throughout the story as we learn more.

Yes, they don't like each other but they are using each other. It's complicated because they hate each other and like hurting each other.

Aw. You're too sweet! I'm so glad you like my characters and my stories, it means a lot to me :) Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! Xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Santa Claus 

24th December 2011:
IT'S CHRISTMAS EVE!

Told you I'd be back soon, this story is great. :P

How did you manage to write an entire chapter about her insomnia and still keep it interesting?!

The humour in the story is great. You manage to slot in words and phrases that just seem to work well in the story.

I can see why this won best Original Character, your way of building up character is amazing- and that's obvious in chapter two!

I can't wait to read more, but I must resist as it's Christmas Eve and I have to be social, apparently.

Have a fantastic Christmas, and expect more reviews soon!

Santa

Author's Response: haha, I hope you had a great christmas :) I'm glad you thought it was interesting and I'm so happy you like the humour. Thanks so much! I try not to force it or anything like that and just allow Pippa to speak. And thanks so much :) that is such a nice thing to say! Haha, I understand! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a wonderful day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

9th December 2011:
If I was a ghost and I was dirty, I'd spend eternity trying to figure out how to get clean or at least another outfit.

That was the first line that made me snort in the chapter. Really funny in an odd Pippa way.

I'm amazed at your ability. You were able to write an entire chapter about her insomnia and obsessive cleaning abilities. I like how you have the whole chapter pretty much focused on her thoughts and yet we get enough descriptions of everything that's going on and somehow you incorporate a good chunk of Albus so it's not just dear Pippa. I still think he's mean though!

Author's Response: Haha, that is just typical Pippa. She just hates to be dirty. She's a real neat freak. Wow! You're so nice! Yes. I just wanted to introduce everything because her obsessiveness cleaning nature makes up a lot of her character. Plus, it introduces the night time chats that Albus and Pippa have occasionally :) I'm glad you liked this chapter! It means a lot to me. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a wonderful day! xxx

 Report Review

Review #22, by andy 

2nd December 2011:
i just started reading your story and it i just want to congratulate you because it is amazing
the characters are great and the story its funny and serious at the same time and i dont really feel like im reading a cliche and that is always appreciated
i also wanted to ask you who are the actor or models in the chapter images for pippa and albus?

Author's Response: Heya :) Wow! That is such a lovely thing to say! That is a huge compliment. I'm so glad you find it both serious and funny. Thanks! I don't like my stories to be cliche and I'm glad you think the story isn't one. The models that I use are Kevin Flamme for Albus and Rosie Tupper for Pippa as she has this innocent fragile look that Pippa has. Thanks so much for the review, it means a lot to me! I'll try to update soon and I hope you have a wonderful day. xxx

 Report Review

Review #23, by doglover 

29th November 2011:
why is al mean to her?

Author's Response: Al is mean to everyone, he's a little bit messed up :) You'll learn more about Al as the story progresses, but he is quite a complicated boy. I hope you like the other chapters. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day! Xxx

 Report Review

Review #24, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

20th October 2011:
I do love your own twist to the characters. It's refreshing, and not the same thing as the rest! :) I loved this chapter too. Pippa is becoming one of my favorite characters. I really enjoyed the scene between her and Albus! Can't wait to read more! :D

Author's Response: Heya! I am so glad you like my twists on the character! That's what I wanted. I wanted them to be different and I wanted them to be my own, I couldn't write them any other way. Yay! I'm so glad you're liking Pippa so far! I have a soft spot for her myself. Thanks! I hope you enjoy the rest of the chapters! Thanks so much for the review and I hope you have a great day!

xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Goldemort 

15th September 2011:
Hahaha I loved this chapter, it was just as funny as the first (which was very amusing) =), and I just love Pippa's character! I really enjoyed it, and cleaning to make her feel better was priceless =). This is s well written: I love it! =)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so glad you liked this chapter! And that you found it funny. I'm so glad you like Pippa's character! I have a special place for her in my heart! Aw! Really? You're so nice! Thank you so much for the review it's made my day!

xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>