Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan 

26th November 2013:
I'm so incredibly proud of Bea. I haven't even known her for that long but I already feel like a proud mama bear. I could see why she was out in Ravenclaw before this chapter but she did come off as really sweet-minded so I was a little bit shocked when Bea came out with this long intelligent explanation.

And then I felt like clapping my hands because that must've shocked everyone else in that room as well. But yeah, go Bea, you tell Scorpius where he can stick it!

I can definitely see why Scorpius wants to buy her invention though, if it actually works, that could change the wizarding world in a really huge way and it could make Bea probably one of the richest, if not THE RICHEST, magical being in the world.

Author's Response: Teehee, I always love seeing people's reaction to that scene, because I thought it would be the best way to set up how Bea is perceived by her friends and peers. She's a bit of an adorable hassle, but very sharp when she wants to be. And instead of her adorableness being a static trait played for laughs, it's also her primary flaw and what's she struggles with, being a part of her identity and what's holding her back at the same time.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #2, by spreaddapoo93 

15th November 2012:
Haha, Bea is so adorable~ And, I love the intelligent, nutty fiasco happening in her characterisation (then again, the two usually go hand in hand, right?). I mean, she has to have SOME wit to be not only be sorted into Ravenclaw, but come up with those amazing inventions, right?

Haha, Anj and Scorpius are so perfect and tempting and all that which walks with seduction and power... I can only imagine the look on Scorpius' face as Bea casually snacked away while offhandedly turning him down.

Author's Response: Funnily enough, this fic sort of set up to give you that reaction :D You'll probably find that all the characters have a role and an expectation of them that they've come to tire of. It's sort of an unintentional common theme that became a lot of what Capers is about!

 Report Review

Review #3, by NadiaX 

1st May 2012:
Again, I have no idea if you remember me, probably not, but still... I said I have a fear of unfinished stories, I don't like reading them and I avoid them. Usually successfully. But, please, tell me, how can I avoid yours? You're everywhere. EVERYWHERE. I mean, did you make banners for everyone?! There're in every place I go (metaphorically xD). And this fic... I finish something, I like it, so I check what stories the author likes - and there you are. Like I said everywhere. And every time I have this conversation with myself (not monologue!):
- So, Nadia, are we going to read it?
- I don't know, Nadia, it's not finished yet and you know how we hate it...
- Yeah, you're probably right... But, you know, it's quite long.
- Not long enough.
- And it's not like we don't read any unfinished stories.
- But we regret it every time.
- Yeah, yeah, you're right. We'll wait.

But then I see it day by day, in my favorites’ favorites.
So here I am.
And I bore you. Sorry, I do that sometimes ^^'.

Usually I don't review during reading (only in the end), but I couldn't stop myself: Bea is SO adorable. She's fantastic! And Fred is too! And Scorpius! And this Slytherin girl! And whole story (ekhm, almost 2 chapters xD) is awesome :D.
And I have to use dictionary! I mean, I don't know English perfectly, but still usually I don't have to do it that often. I think it's a good thing for you (rich vocabulary). And probably for me (improving my vocabulary).

Okay, so I keep reading and then I'll review the whole thing. I will do it as slowly as I can, I hate finishing unfinished stories. I think I might have mensioned that already xD.

See you (read you? O.o) later!
Nadia

Author's Response: I do! Hullo again! ^__^ Bahaha, err, well, for awhile I did make banners for everyone xD It's super mind-boggling to realize that my stories are in a few hundred favorites pages, now that I think about it *___* insane.

Ahh, don't regret reading this one! It's the one I will definitely definitely finish. In fact, I just recently re-outlined it, and it's currently standing at 33 chapters, and I know what happens up to the end, and I've got lots of bits in-between written. I try to update every 3 weeks or so :)

I'm glad you like it! I hope the words aren't too confusing for you. Your English is really good, by the way ^__^ I can't tell you're a second-language speaker.

♥ I can't wait to see what you think of it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by notreallyblonde44 

30th April 2012:
Hey Gina! It's elliesaurus rex. from TGS, doing the review swap :) Sorry it's the last possible day, I'm the worst, but hopefully these reviews make up for it! Also, apparently I've already reviewed the first chapter for the 10 year anniversary haha silly me so here is my first review for the swap on chapter 2 :P

OMG LOUIS! I want more of his prissy artistic nature in the future. Pwease. He is so high strung, I love it!

"Your bribes were delicious and unsuccessful." - Haha, glad Bea's got a sense of stability to her, sugar-high and all, and I like the social commentary. I can't help but think of capitalism with the mentions of profit maximization, etc, etc. I hope for much social commentary and the like in future chapters :)

Kudos on the creativity all around with this story. There is so much to like about it: strong characters, who seem very accurate to their upbringing thus far, a realistically modern Hogwarts complete with hijinks and insanity, and oodles of creativity. Never would I have thought of something like this ever! Off to the next chapter...Bea is such a silly girl, I can't imagine would will come out of her mouth next haha.

-Ellie

Author's Response: Oh nooo they're wunderbar!

There is unfortunately a lack of Louis (what with my ridiculously large cast), but perhaps Lucy will spar with him again. There is not enough space in the family (even the Weasley family) for two artists!

I'm always flailing around about handling high society and fancy economics because half the time I'm making guesses about them, but I hope to present a somewhat realistic view of it. Both Bea and Scorpius have kind of naive views of the world in this sense, it turns out.

Thanks so much! :D This fic totally took on a life of it's own. Sometimes I have no idea how any of this came to be, but now I can't imagine it not existing in my head.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Miriel 

25th March 2012:
Hi,

here's Miriel again.

You got me by surprise with this one. I'd never expected something like Scorpius' offer and I'd love to know what's going on in his mind. I could imagine him very well, sitting there in his chair, trying to get them into agreeing. He seems to be a manipulative one, using Fred's weak points against him.

Bea's hunger for sweets is another lovable trait of her...I can understand how she feels...Strawberry Cauldron Cake...Mjamm.

I think it's really interesting that Fred is so different from Bea. It promises a lot of action during the next chapters.

Loved it!

Miriel

Author's Response: You do get to see what's going on in Scorpius' mind later! :) Lots of fun with rotating PoVs.

Heheh, I never really expected all these sweets to pop up, but they did as I wrote! Definitely for the better.

Duos are totally the most fun when they clash in what they want. There's quite a lot of little antics coming up :) and definitely lots of action later on.


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica 

2nd March 2012:
HI! Back again from review tag :)

I opened this and there was Alex Pettyfer and SIGH. I really, really want to not be attracted to him. Stupid Scorpius.

I am in love with your writing style. You really have a gift for humor, be it with your insults ("two halves of a half-wit") or off-handed commentary (that bit about the first years getting lost in the labyrinth that leads to the Slytherin Common Room was hilarious). I can see why this is so popular!

...and now I see why you chose Alex Pettyfer. He's the perfect embodiment of this smooth, practiced Scorpius, perfectly comfortable living in the lap of luxury and determined to follow in the footsteps of his family's success. And LOUIS! How adorable. It's cliche Victoire as a boy, but with a twist of art, and I love it. So delightfully unorthodox.

I really admire how much work you put into your characters. You've taken fairly common prototypes, given them a magical twist, and filled them with so much life. A lot of times, I find it all too easy to sacrifice plot for characterization, but you've woven both together in such beautiful harmony. This reads like a published novel, the very best kind.

Excellent! I'm certain I'll be back for three soon.

Amanda

Author's Response: Let Alex P compel you~ He never really caught my fancy until I actually cast him as Scorpius - indeed for the vast amounts of smarm in his hair. And then suddenly he starts strutting around in my mental canon and phew~

Teehee, someone actually wrote a bit on the first years getting lost actually inspired a one-shot - Rite of Passage by Mad Hatter, which oops! I ought to mention in my a/n.

:3 omg thank you so much. eee, to hear that my silliness can even be compared to a published novel. It's so odd to read reviews on early chapters now (though I'm trying to get a bit of editing done on the side), because the characters have taken quite a journey since then. It's almost nostalgic!

♥ thank you so so much!


 Report Review

Review #7, by charlottetrips 

10th February 2012:
Oh, I think I’m going to really love these two, aren’t I?  It’s the straight guy and the comedian and you can’t help but love the pair because they set each other off so well.  Reading them stumble through this explanation is priceless! PRICELESS! 
>
>  
>
> James is a smooth-talker, eh? We’re getting to see bits of him here.  And Anjali?  What is she doing? Butting in as she is…
>
>  
>
> Don't disgrace the eyes of our dear departed with your shameless baby-making!" OMG.  Did he literally just say that?  Did you see The Proposal with Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds? Because this statement totally reminded me of Gammy and the “Baby-Maker” (i.e. a magical blanket – supposedly).
>
>  
>
> Geez, Fred is like a Percy, except…cooler, a tad more willing to break/bend rules.  Anj sounds like she wants to take over James’ spot.  Another good chapter! 

(Please ignore the strange formatting. The Archive wasn't working last night and I had to save my review in my email and I am on my iPad and am too lazy to fix it :P)

Author's Response: Hee, the wise-cracking duo. It's a classic because it works. And you've always got to have someone in a suit. Well, maybe not, but it's a rule I go by. I'm quite glad that I prefer sticking students in uniform 8D

Hee, Fred is not a Percy as much as Weasley with a sense of responsibility. Which... I guess almost qualifies, aha!

Thank you very much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Didi_Sartat 

9th February 2012:
didnt get till way later it was in freds pov :P

Author's Response: Aw, the PoVs change a lot per section, though there's generally not too huge of a difference in narrative voice. I usually just express the thoughts of the character in question, like the whole Ringleward part is Fred's thoughts.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TheGoldenKneazle 

6th February 2012:
Hello :) - I do believe this was meant to have come through from my iPod earlier, but hasn't... so yeah, this is the actual review! *team blue*

You jumped straight in with the punishment, which really caught my attention straight away and brought us perfectly around to Anjali. The way that those two had been caught just demonstrates again how scatty Bea is, and how much of a martyr Fred is ;)

But Anjali was straight away pegged as a suspicious character, because although she was a Slytherin (and therefore enemy) she was reciting James' Procedures easily, and subconsciously threatening Fred, and insulting him. She seems like an interesting twist on the evil villainess and hot girl smushed together, so it'll be very cool to see how that works out!

Also, I liked this Fred-POV (which was somehow possible in 3rd person) because it showed us more his side of the dealings - such as official reigner-inner of Bea, and trying to talk their way out! It also brought James up again, which was great for showing us what he's trying (and failing) to live up to. He's more of a wingman than the inventor, easily.

Great chapter! 10/10 totally, can't wait to move on to the next :)
~TGK

Author's Response: Erp, so I heard about your ipod problems D: I hope they're fixed! You leave such nice reviews, I wouldn't want them to get erased!

I love writing all of them so much. Anjali isn't a villain as much as someone with conflicting interests, you could say. She's got the 'tude, but (knowing that you've read the rest), she really isn't a ~evil~. As much as I root for Bea, she is breaking all sorts of rules right now ;D She is quite lucky to have the villainess here.

James popped up a lot in Capers unexpectedly. I totally did not mean to include him as sort of 'that leader who isn't there anymore' but it turned out that way, and wonderfully too, I think. A lot of Fred's conflict stems from trying to fill that spot and facing what he wants for the future.

♥ thank you for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by shadowcat2 

11th January 2012:
do you know how hard it is to leave a review when your chapters are this amazing and i am dying to read the next chapter?
the potions master is fun and i kinda like Angie. i hope she is nice.

Author's Response: Baww thank you! :3

Ringleward certainly hasn't been called 'fun' before! Anjali would probably kill you if she heard you calling her that xD


 Report Review

Review #11, by hdawg 

4th January 2012:
I'M BACK! Did you miss me? I bet you did ;) and so I shall continue with my atrocious reviews. I'm sorry if they make no sense, but alas, that is the plight of the fangirl.

"the fluffy end of a sleeping cap" Wow. That man is old school. I like him already. And this noise: "brfffooom" does not beat the Inception BRM. Just saying.

"Snogging." A tall brunette stepped between them." I like this Anjali already. Please tell me she's good, please?

OHMYGOD THIS MAN IS BRILLIANT. "Let this be a lesson to keep this late-night canoodling out of Hogwarts. The portraits see all! Don't disgrace the eyes of our dear departed with your shameless baby-making!" Can he please teach sex ed to the students? It would make my life. And, honestly, I have no idea what he just said, but I love it: "heathens running around the grounds these days with distracting Muggle whim-whams up the wazoo. Rubbish parenting... it's pandemic!"

Okay, Anjali sounds cunning. I'm not sure if I like her as much...I'll get back to you on that score. But poor Fred :( : "It had only been two weeks since the start of the term, and he already missed him." He is just too lovely.

Who on earth is Mr Welly? I hope he's nice as I have just decided that Anj is not totally to be trusted. Maybe it's those legs, they are so intimidating...

AND AWO! SEXY-SMARMY SCORPIUS IS COMING UP! I CANNOT WAIT!

Author's Response: I DID. But now not anymore. Not until I finish this anyhow.

He kind of looks like CGI Jim Carrey as Scrooge in my mind.

The leggy ones are never good.

RINGLEWARD IS THE BEST POTIONS PROFESSOR HOGWARTS HAS EVER HAD, OFC. He teaches impromptu sex-ed.

Mr Welly is a Kneazle, you silly head.

NOW I MISS YOU.


 Report Review

Review #12, by nightingale14 

31st December 2011:
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I love this story. :)
Also, I love the new banner. I must ask though, what software or program do you use to make your banners? They always turn out so fabulous.
Update soon please!
nightingale14

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I use Photoshop CS5. The new banner took quite a while!

I'll be updating soon!


 Report Review

Review #13, by forsakenphoenix 

23rd December 2011:
I'm dying a little inside. Professor Ringleward in his pajamas. That's enough to give anyone nightmares. Let's not mention the fluffy night cap. And then you pulled out this line, "He hoped people thought he had better taste than that." I started giggling uncontrollably and thought it was the greatest line in the chapter BUT THEN there was this, "Don't disgrace the eyes of our dear departed with your shameless baby-making!" And, oh my god, I can't believe it! I'm dying. Of laughter.

Haha. Anjali is the perfect James Potter pupil. Fred's right - she is good. She's not very nice to Bea though, is she? And Fred's little musings about being too "responsible." Pfft. Who needs responsability when you can blow things up? I mean, really.

You're going to have to deal with somewhat short reviews just because, well, I can't form coherent thoughts, really. At all. And I just want to keep continuing on to the next chapter! I'm trying to write things down as I read them but it's hard. Your characters, the banter, everything just sucks you in as a reader and pulls you along for the ride. I guess I better buckle up then! ;)

Author's Response: Professors are the best! They were the quirkiest people of all in the books and movie. They get sillier as the years go on; the wizarding world seems to have that effect on people ;D

Poor Fred, devoted to the role of the Watson. Someone has to do it, and well, at least he gets to wear a sharp suit, right?

oh yes, buckle up! except there are probably no buckles.

... ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lovely_Disaster 

11th November 2011:
Haha that was great, good job.

Author's Response: Thanks ^__^

 Report Review

Review #15, by honoraryweasley 

1st October 2011:
BRFOOM brought tears to my eyes. And also led to a break from reading in which I shouted it out loud several times. BRFOMMM. I love being home alone.

This is a rather fabby wabby chapter image ♥ I hope you don't make them, because if you do it would be an unfair imbalance of talent.

WIZ*MART. HAHAHAHA. (In my head that laughter was ha, ha-ha, har. But I suppose that's unimportant.)

Your dialogue is never-endingly fabby wabby. Would love to stay and chat, but there is promise of Scorpius, in sexy-smarmy! state. ♥

Author's Response: IT IS THE SOUND THAT AN EXPLOSION MAKES. THIS IS PROVEN. SCIENCE AT WORK HERE.

Actually, I do make them ;D Don't worry, I sold my soul and my ability to ride a bicycle, so it all evens out.

Sexy-Smarmy Scorpius has such sibilance. Splendid!


 Report Review

Review #16, by SnitchSnatcher 

8th September 2011:
SHAMELESS BABY-MAKING - I AM WHEEZING.

I can tell I'm going to love Anjali. She's so suave. And according to Fred, svelte. And she's a Slytherin. Sounds like a dream, really.

PROMISES OF SCORPIUS ARE IMMINENT, WHICH MEANS I CAN'T TALK LONG.

AWAY!

Author's Response: A CRAZY PROFESSOR, I HAD TO. HOGWARTS HAS A HISTORY OF NUTTERS, IT'S TRUE.

Anjali is the lady in red. Who's side is she onnn -twitchy eyes- She gets to be the one who's Awesome All The Time, like Clemence in etc 8D

SCORPIUS.



 Report Review

Review #17, by lizmusic45 

8th September 2011:
brfffooom! I don't know why, I think I laughed so hard at that, and the line after that I was crying.

It just might be my very stupid sense of humor. I like the story, because it feels as though it sometimes has a serious tone, but just ends up being funny.

I love Agj, even though she doesn't like being called that. The professor is great, and I'm curious as to see what is going to happen.

Lizmusic16

Author's Response: EXPLOSIONS = automatic humor. This fic will milk that so much.

It's very much a plotty story underneath it all! It's all planned and everything ;D I can't wait for the action sequences.


 Report Review

Review #18, by TweetyByrd 

14th August 2011:
I sense a romance in the Fred department...

Author's Response: Hahah, perhaps? ;D A very scary romance!

 Report Review

Review #19, by RonsGirlFriday 

12th August 2011:
"Shameless baby-making"! *giggle*

I fell officially in love with your Fred with this line: Fred shuddered at the idea of little tangled-hair Beas running around his feet, all equally unhygienic and ADD.

And I love the tricks for getting out of trouble. So very true. Not that I would know.

I'm loving the cast of characters so far, by the way. You're not just acting like the Weasley grandkids are the only next gen-ers who exist. :-)

Melanie

RonsGirlFriday (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: :3 Fred is woefully unloved; I'm not terribly nice to him hee, putting him in unfortunate situations of responsibility, although he's improved over subsequent edits.

-whistles- not that I would know either.

I LOVE HUGE CASTS. It shall be my downfall, I swear. I'm working on the adding-more-background-characters like JKR did.

more ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by Lumos_Nox 

2nd August 2011:
Just as good as the first. A really charming story :)

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it ^__^

 Report Review

Review #21, by Mad Hatter 

9th July 2011:
Firstly: I know this has nothing to do with you, but blimey, what a chapter image.

Ahem.

Also, 'your shameless baby-making' is, for some reason, one of the funniest things I've ever read. Oh, so much love for this professor. I also really like this shadow that James casts over Fred, particularly -- Anj expects him to be good just because he was James's 'wingman' and Fred always seems to be thinking about James -- James and professors this, James and should be better that...it's really interesting. It's as if James has become the new Harry -- a larger-than-life figure that people can't quite live up to and golly, I love it to bits.

But yes, I did adore this chapter -- from finding quills in the loo to snogging, it was all absolutely perfect.

Author's Response: Aw thanks :D I hate making chapter images, but occasionally, it happens.

Ringleward is one of my fav creations. Doddering old men need to show up more in fic, I swear, trying to get kids off their lawns.

It was really odd how James ended up in this story, because I never intended for him to be so prominent. I wanted him to be like the first James Potter, who definitely left his mark, and it simply ended up that this James II affects so much as well. He may even show up later :D

-stalkering your reviews-


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jasmine_d_Princess 

7th July 2011:
Hey! Its me again!! :P

"James Potter's Patented Procedures for Pandering to Profs" I am assuming (and hoping) that this isn't the end of your amazing, astounding and astonishing alliterations.. :D

Going on to the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hey! SEE, THE ALLITERATIONS NEVER END! XD

Can't wait to hear what you think about the next chapter :D Lots of things going on!


 Report Review

Review #23, by amandatonks 

20th June 2011:
What a fabulous second chapter! I was pleasantly surprised at the turn of events you introduced to us in this chapter. I am really curious as to where Anjali is leading Bea and Fred and why she would stick up for them in the first place. I enjoyed the character of Professor Ringleward. He reminded me of dear old Professor Slughorn in a way. I also loved your addition of James' rules. Fred seemed somewhat jealous that he couldn't even follow the rules himself, as would be expected. Anyhow, I am quite amused by this story. I am curious to see where you'll take this in the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: I love writing professors. Unappreciated lot, really, but I think shine so much life and humor into Hogwarts. They did in the series for me, anyhow.

That whole James' P.P.P.P.P. thing began my obsession with acronyms and just worsened my habit for alliteration xD I never intended James to be quite as important as he ended up being, but he left a very noticeable void in terms of leadership. Fred feels that on his shoulders.

Thanks for another review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by SunSation Gal 07 

14th June 2011:
Those two trying to come up with an excuse was hilarious. And then Anjali shows up and says that they were snogging. Priceless. Anyhow, onto the next chapter!

Oh, and loved Ringleward. He made me giggle. :P

Author's Response: Ringleward is too fun to write 8D Hogwarts professors, I swear it's like being nutty is a job requirement.

 Report Review

Review #25, by soliloquy 

7th June 2011:
MOAR SNIPPY COMMENTS. seriously. you banter. and you observe. and these observations are what makes the story so fabulous. i LOVE your style. everything, as i said previously, is incredibly natural. it just flows together so well. the descriptions. the action. the dialogue (ps. why is chrome telling me that dialogue is spelled wrong/not a word? THEY STUPID!) especially is my favorite! :D YOU CAN DO NO WRONG, GINA. i want to see where this plot is going.

already, i can see the characters that you're developing. and the roles they might play in the plot. :D very good!

p.s i review because i can't sleep because i had coffee at dinner and it probably was not the best idea because my brain is all !!! awake and my body is all z

Author's Response: Baww Tanya ♥ I'm still working on my style. Too many one-liners and prepositions and conjunctions; it's epidemic!

CHROME IS A SILLY BILLY.

Ahaha, I REMEMBER I WAS LIKE ERRM. TANYA ISN'T THIS FINALS WEEK? WHY ARE YOU REVIEWING INSTEAD OF SLEEPING?


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>