Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
98 Reviews Found

Review #1, by loopylunalovegood 

20th August 2014:
"distracting muggle whim-whams up the wazoo". that line gives me life, made my night, honestly. though i don't think the lady sat next to me on the bus appreciated my snorting, damn, you just cant please everyone. Really though, this story is a masterpiece, reads like a charm, fantastic!

Author's Response: Heee, glad you find my odd sense of humor, well, humorous; it's all whim-whams and wazoos and food jokes :'D

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan 

15th November 2013:
I wasn't sure what I was walking into when I started reading this story (and I'm really late considering everyone else has already read and loved it but whatever). I haven't seen anything like this around before so I was definitely curious.

I love Bea and Fred already. Usually Fred is the silly one that loves to prank people but I love that you've made him the cautious one out of the two of them and Bea the one that does all the inventing and planning.

But anyway, I'm interested to see where this is going!

Author's Response: Hey! I can't wait to see what you think of this ^__^ Capers is the fic that feels most like home for me, and like Hogwarts, will always have a place in my heart. I hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotter 

13th July 2013:
Hello!
I'm so glad I started reading this story! It's so much fun, and I get you're having a blast writing it! I love Bea and Fred's characters, and I think they balance each other out really well. I'm a little worried about Anjali, though! She seems pretty devious, and the fact that she could probably talk her way out of anything doesn't help! I can't wait to read more. This is a great story! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I hope you enjoy the rest!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dresdenrules 

23rd January 2013:
Very few Next-gen Fanfiction writers(or, less face it, none of them) can actually show Hogwarts More or less the same as JKR. I don't even bother to try. But you do, and what's more, you succeed. I gotta say, I'm either so jealous I want to kill you, or so happy I want to hug you. As a fellow writer, I'm proud to read your stories, steal your ideas, and call them my own.Just kidding. Mostly.

Author's Response: Eee, thank you c: Please don't kill me, I'm not done with my stories yet. I'd prefer you not killing me after I finish them too, but I understand if some circumstances prevent you from doing that.

Capers is very much my headcanon for next gen, and it's been wonderful to share it with so many people who love it as much as I do!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hedwig_Pie 

30th December 2012:
funny chapter, a really good job :) i love bea's character and the pairing of her and freddie as friends, and anjali seems really cool aswell ! awesome story :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by spreaddapoo93 

15th November 2012:
Haha, hello! I just moved in from my year-long tenancy with Game to check out this deliciously wrapped story (beautiful banner and chapter images!), and of course, I'm loving every second of it.

The accident prone Bea is just adorably delightful! I love her, I love her! And Fred is so hunky; I can't wait to see where this is heading ;)

Wonderful piece of writing!

Author's Response: Wah, I'm excited! :D I'm still working on responding to all your reviews xD I'll probably get to them this weekend, as I've got a story to update as well.

I hope you enjoy! It's veeery k-dramaish if you saw what I mentioned in my other response xD


 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 

21st August 2012:
Oh your chapter pulled me in right off the bat! I loved the different characters from Bea to Fred to Anjali! It was so fun to see such random characters thrown together and the different personalities that come with them! Really I think that might be the best part of this chapter were the different personalities and in particular Bea and her explosion-prone tendencies. You really knocked the characterization of each one out of the park with something fun and different for each of them! The chapter read really well and flowed great too! I couldn't spot any errors in this chapter either so great job on that! Altogether, I really enjoyed this! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it :) It's a very diverse cast and it's one of my favorite things about this fic, and I love writing each and everyone one of them.

 Report Review

Review #8, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne 

10th July 2012:
I love this :D I just hope it's not about actual capers... cause those are a bit gross
Anyways, awesome, hilarious chapter
~Gill

Author's Response: Bahaha, thanks! Starting from the beginning again? 8D I can't ever look at Capers the same way ever again.

 Report Review

Review #9, by RHadley 

5th July 2012:
Wow. Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow.

You really know how to write a very good first chapter, that's for sure, I loved every line and am definitely going to read the rest of this story.

As for capturing the essence of the school (and not the powder - badum-tish), you did perfectly, reading through this felt like the first book's balance of humour and seriousness - a perfect balance I should add.

Honestly, it's no wonder that this story won a Dobby last year, nor the TGS stroy of the year, both are very well deserved.

I can't wait to read the other chapters, and look to more ensuing capers!

-RH

Author's Response: Thank you! :3 I've always had lots of luck with opening chapters in my stories (I always have a certain scene in mind); I can't wait to hear what you think of the rest of the story ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by potterpotterweasley 

2nd June 2012:
Lots of pretty banners without alot behind them. Very dissappointing authors page

Sad

Author's Response: lol okay.

 Report Review

Review #11, by married to black 

26th May 2012:
This story is FABULOUS. I got hooked from the first line. And I absolutely adore how Victoria Song and Alex Pettyfer are both used in the banner images. They happen to be dear loves of mine.

I am forever in love with this tale!

Author's Response: Eeep, I'm so glad you like :3 AND YES! Heh, always do wonder how many people recognize Victoria (especially since I don't always end up using her pics, but some lookalikes instead, and I wonder how many people know). Alex P is perpetually handsome ofc.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Charlotte 

2nd May 2012:
Okay I'm sorry this is so irrelevant, just got suggested this story from a friend, because I've literally only just become interested in the whole hpff and the whole fandom.

I can already tell this will be such a great story, and I'm excited to carry on reading this! But...

I am bloody in love with that banner!!

I actually write a few fanfictions on the one direction site, huge directioner. ;)

anyway's I was just wondering if you take any requests at all because I have been on the forum's and everything hoping for someone to make me a 'cartoon-ish' looking banner, like no one get's what I'm talking about :')

So yeah, I'm just inquiring haha don't mind me!

It's fine if you can't make me a banner I understand completely. :)

but if you can, could you contact me on the one direction fanfiction website? my pen-name is 'charlottewrightxo' :) please? :)

Now if you excuse my ranting I am going to continue reading this. :)

xo

Author's Response: Ooh, have fun browsing! ^__^ I love dashing around new fandoms. I don't take requests anymore, but there are plenty of people who do at The Dark Arts forum, some of whom have that style you're looking for.

I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by MazK 

9th April 2012:
Looove it so far!! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Hope you like the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Me =D 

9th April 2012:
Hey! First, I'd just like to compliment the sheer brilliance of your idea. You've written this story as if everything really happened (in the HP books) and created new characters too! Scorpius is just how I pictured him to be, and Rose, well, she's a crazy one! =D Bea is such a loveable, adorable character, and I could definitely see her working with Scorpius, but is it bad that I kinda wish he and Anjali had worked out their differences and gotten together for good? Anyway, I really loved the chapter-pictures-intro thing and of course, the AWESOME BANNER! And the actual story was fantastic, the banter, the one-liners... ugh! Just too amazing for words! Please update soon!

Author's Response: I try to integrate as much Hogwarts-style adventure as I can, and I'm trying to learn to build this world more intricately still -- sneaking details around and what not. And not all is lost with Scorpius and Anjali yet! I really like exploring their relationship, because they're sort of like the perpetual exes. They know each other best out of anyone.

Eep ♥ thank you so so much :3 really, this review totally made me flail~


 Report Review

Review #15, by Miriel 

25th March 2012:
Swappy :)

So, when I saw this story, I wasn't quite sure what to expect.

When I started reading, I had to laugh nearly immediately. It's brilliant!

The characters are growing on me already, although I just know the first chapter. Bea seems to be a very nice and funny person, and Fred the sort of friend to go trough thick and thin with.

My favorite expression from this chapter: 'James Potter's Patented Procedures for Pandering to Profs' *lol*

Anjali is interesting, too. She's different, and I don't know what to think about her yet. I doubt that she's trustworthy and I'm not sure if it's wise to follow her... Her mentioning of Fred being James's wingman reminded me of Harry and Ron... Did you intend that association or is it my personal impression?

Anyway, great beginning!

Love,
Miriel

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Bea and Fred quite the pair indeed, a bit of a Sherlock/Watson combo. And I didn't think James and Fred reminded anyone of Harry and Ron, but that's totally cool! It's very much a 'big star and his sidekick' combo in a way, but I think Fred's more comfortable in his sidekick position.

I am quite fond of the alliteration~ ^__^ a bit too much eheheh.

Anjali is definitely a shifty one ;D

♥ thanks!



 Report Review

Review #16, by Cassius Alcinder 

17th March 2012:
Hey thanks for the review swap!

Looks like you're off to a really good start so far. Bea looks like an interesting character from what we can see of her thus far, and Fred is definetely living up to his proud name. Their interactions and banter were really well done.

The scene with the professor was great, and I'm guessing the girl is the daughter of Roger Davies and one of the Patil's? Definetely a master maniuplator, and their interactions were very humorous.

Great start so far!

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Anjali is indeed the daughter of those two families - quite powerful with the combination of their fame/money~

 Report Review

Review #17, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

17th February 2012:
I decided it was about time I started reading your stories (I kept forgetting) and yay for reading this one!

I love the comedy, the banter between Fred and Bea, how close they are (I assume they're best/close friends). It's just so natural and fun and funny and I love them. I can't wait to fin out what happens next!

*Reads on, apologizing in advance, when I get hooked to a story I forget to review to say how awesome it is. It's awesome, I tell you now* :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Oh, yay! :3 This is my fav out of all my stories, so I'm glad you chose this one!

They've actually got a very strange friendship. They're mostly friends by association through James, and you could say they're close, but they've never really had to work in a dynamic without James before.

Baww I'm just glad you're enjoying it! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Didi_Sartat 

9th February 2012:
Hilarious, bit sad James isnt introduced personally. always my fav 2nd generation character

Author's Response: Thanks :D James makes a cameo later. He's in the hearts of the cast~

 Report Review

Review #19, by Keira7794 

7th February 2012:
Oh this is brilliant!

I have to admit as soon as I read 'Chang', I was immediately put off her character slightly. Purely because her mother wasn't given a fantastic reputation in the books and fanfiction really hasn't helped it!

But Bea is completely different to her mother (from what I gather so far) , she seems like a really fun, slightly scatty, girl. Her characterisation is really good and for somer eason I'm imagining her with a bit of dirt on her face or a feather in her hair - I can't see her being pristine! So to get this impression from just the first chapter just shows how well you've written her!

Fred. Oh - I think Freddie is my favourite character from the Next Gens and I have no idea why! I really like how you've taken his character a completely different way to the way that most HPFFers take him. You've still made him cheeky and fun but he seems more serious and less.. what's the word? Random? Well, I really like what you've done with him - I know from writing one of my fics that breakign away from the mould can be fun! :D

The flow was really good. Honestly, I was just reading then suddenly it's finished. I didn't even realise how much I'd read. So good job on that. I'm not brilliant at grammar so I won't even comment on what I'm sure is great anyway :)

Fantastic start and I'm looking forward to reading the rest!

Keira :D

Author's Response: She is quite different! I think it's silly to assume that the next gen children would be exactly like their parents. There are so many different possible upbringings, and people seem to forget that there's a mother AND a father. George, at one point in this fic, says that Fred takes after Angelina :D Fred's really such a dork, but there's no denying the Weasley blood in him!

Haha, it's a pretty short chapter; it's meant to be read with chapter 2. Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #20, by charlottetrips 

7th February 2012:
I love you, I really do. I love reading your stories because they make me smile (well, except for the angsty-drama ones, but the majority of your stories are funny and light. I don't know how you pull off humor so well but you do and I love it.

Bea Chang is like one of the original Weasley Twins reincarnated (Fred in a girl's body) and Fred II is so not like his father except for his willingness to get into scrapes.

I've been meaning to get to this story for a while since I keep seeing it around and now I'm getting the chance! You certainly started off with a bang and I'm interested to see where we go from here!

Author's Response: Baww, and I totally love you. I swear half my humor comes from a) puns or b) making fun of wizarding logic. When it's not those, I just get lucky.

I always get comments on how the way I characterize my next gen is NOTHING like how people imagine them xD especially Fred. But I thought it'd be fun to have Fred as rather un-Fred I. He feels the pressure to be like Fred I all the time though.

Hope you enjoy it! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheGoldenKneazle 

1st February 2012:
Hi there :) *team blue!* also, I just discovered that my iPod hadn't sent this review earlier. So it looks very late now *le sigh*

I've been tracking this chapter by chapter from the start, so I thought I'd take advantage of the lull to reread properly and review!

So I love how you started this chapter, with introductions. We're shown Bea, and Fred, and their mission - we're also being introduced to their characters pretty fast, and the liabilities of being around each other!

Also, you've dropped just a couple of hints, which work well in bringing us easily into the next chapter. You've brilliantly shown how Fred and Bea work together, too - she's the madcap one with the ideas and he's the one who makes them actually work. They're a team, but as you mentioned, different now James isn't here.

I know it's not much of a review, but they'll continue and get longer (hopefully) :D
~TGK

Author's Response: You can send a review from your iPod? :o ...iPad? And yay! I love knowing what current readers think. It's quite difficult to get feedback on later chapters sometimes.

A lot has changed in my outlines and characterizations since I've first plotted this out, but amazingly, the intro all still works. I think to a certain extent, the plot changed /because/ of how I introduced them xD and I'm quite glad i went this route.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by shadowcat 

11th January 2012:
i never read a Fred 2/OC before. So this is new and therefore fun. I love the fact that you're including more magical stuffs in your next generation story. I'll keep that in mind when i try to write something. I missed reading funny stories in hpff. (the ones i read are either completed, lacks updates,or abandoned).
*goes off to read the next chapter*

Author's Response: Cool, I can't wait! :D Although mind, the couples might not be what you think they are at first.

I love the magical atmosphere of Hogwarts - I think that has the most potential for humour! 8D

I'm definitely going to keep constant updates on this fic ^__^ Once a month is usually my schedule, maybe a bit more when I'm on holiday.


 Report Review

Review #23, by academica 

9th January 2012:
Hey! So it's funny, I've been meaning to check your page out too. And now look, here I am! The magic of review swaps...

You've got a real talent for humor. (Also, I am going to use "oh, for Fawkes' sake" at least once this week. Genius.) I really like your OC, and the idea of having little Fred help out with the family business by continuing his namesake's legacy is just brilliant. I think the little reference to the problem of drugged chocolates was my favorite moment, though. "And one house elf." - hah, too cute! This is a really cute start, and I'll have to try and invent some time (think there's a product for that?) to come back and catch up with the rest of it.

Fantastic! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: :D I've met the best people through swaps!

Thank you! Hee, I have a terrible addiction to puns. There's probably a clinical name for it. I'm glad you like Bea and Fred (and their trail of glory/destruction) - they are very Sherlock-and-Watson. Except on sugar. But same amount of explosions :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by hdawg 

4th January 2012:
First of all, before I start fangirling, I must apologise for taking so long to read this. I have wanted to for so long and now I actually have some time, so this is taking priority (screw exams). GINA, I AM SO EXCITED I COULD CRY.

"It was the third time that month he singed his eyebrows." Fred and Bea combined have the Potions skills of Seamus Finnegan, it seems...

THAT WAS ONE TIME! "You said the same thing when we were trying to replicate my dad's Portable Swamp."
"That was just that one time."
Sorry, but Mean Girls is everywhere I look.

"...over a dozen Quidditch players fell victim to lovesick girls (and one house elf). Star Hufflepuff Keeper Deric Kingsworth was afraid to eat anything for a week after Valentine's Day." Kingsworth and the elf? Who'd have known it... ;)

"Save-Me-from-the-Stalkers Salve" Yes, please, name it that. (If you haven't worked out, I'm reviewing as I read so some of the things I say may be cleared up a few lines later, but I haven't read on yet, so...)

Oh, is that all that he's going to give her? "Now come on. I'll give you half my treacle tart when we get back." H3 h3 h3, I'm such a cr33p3r, it's untrue.

FINISHED. I LOVE BEA ALREADY. SHE SOUNDS TOO WONDERFUL FOR WORDS. AND THIS: "Coming soon: A plot, sexy prefects and things you'll never want to hear a professor say HOW CAN YOU DANGLE THIS IN FRONT OF ME AND NOT EXPECT ME TO LEAVE MY REVIEW UNEDITED AND LESS FANGIRLY?! I will flee to chapter 2 now...

BUT I LOVE IT SO FAR! AWO~

Author's Response: AHHH HANNUHS. ♥ ♥ ♥ I COULD CRY AS WELL.

Bea just doesn't like to follow instructions if they're boring. Which means she doesn't get past step 1 very often. Whatever, instructions are for wussies and Fred.

lolol Mean girls is all around us.

HE'S JUST A STUD NOT EVEN THE ELVES CAN RESIST.

Bea is attempted to get that very name. DO NOT WORRY SHE IS ON YOUR SIDE.

lolol hay it's a very good treacle tart.



 Report Review

Review #25, by forsakenphoenix 

23rd December 2011:
Oh, for Fawkes sake! I've been meaning to read this story for ages and what luck would have it! I received you for the TGS Secret Santa exchange!

I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO SAY. Except that you've already got me hooked with your first chapter and I'm kind of just flailing about, wondering how it's possible that a story as exciting as this exists (AND IT'S ONLY THE FIRST CHAPTER!) This bodes well for the future chapters, for sure.

Everything about your writing is perfect. Your flow, your characterization, your dialogue. The banter between Fred and Bea is fantastic and so realistic. Bea is a perfect protagonist with Fred as her faithful friend, getting involved in all these humorous escapades. Your descriptions are wonderful, I can imagine everything as it's going on, like a movie in my head.

We get a slight glimpse at how (un)successful Bea can be sometimes as an Innovator and it makes me excited to see what else is in store for these two. I love how the Marauders Map has been handed down through generations and its use in troublemaking activities. Bea and Fred coming up with Weasley Wizarding Wheezes and their lame attempts at alliteration. The lovepotion drugging of the Quidditch players. All of these are just little details that bring your story to life. It's been such a long time where I've read a story that's really just about the goings on at Hogwarts. There is no war, no fighting. Just kids enjoying their time at school, and Bea is certainly enjoying her time at Hogwarts.

The ending was perfect. I laughed, out loud (I'm glad no one's home). Again, you're giving us glimpses of Bea's character through her actions and interactions with Fred and it's just so wonderful. I'm so excited to continue this and read about Bea's (mis)adventures. I'm sorry this review isn't quite as long as I would have liked but I'm kind of at a loss for words to explain how much I'm already in love with your story. I hope this will suffice and all the other reviews I shall be delivering to you will more than make up for my inadequacy in putting my flailing into words.

Author's Response: I'M QUITE BESIDE MYSELF WITH GLEE as I'm sure you've heard quite a few times now ;D Your reviews are always the best thing ever and when I opened up hpff to 12 news reviews and I saw your name, I was like O___O OHHH MY GOD SHE'S MY SECRET SANTA OH MY GOD OH MY GOD. And oh Merlin, if this isn't a long review, I don't know what is xD It's as long as this chapter!

I'm so glad you like the beginning :3 I'm always afraid it's not interesting enough. And you know, that's exactly what I wanted to write! A real adventure set in the next gen, maybe not dark like the HP series, but something that encapsulates the magic of studying there. Hogwarts is an adventure all in its own :D

Teehee, I love their little inventing escapades, though I haven't been able to write much more of the same since then (but they are coming up in the chapters I'm writing now).

THERE IS SO MUCH FLAILING IN YOUR WORDS, YOU ARE SILLY ♥ I ADORE YOU WITH EVER FIBER OF MY BEING RIGHT NOW :D (as long as that doesn't scare you away)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>