Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Courtney Dark 

17th January 2014:
Tag!

So, I read the first chapter of this ages ago and remembered that I'd really enjoyed it, so I thought I'd come back to this particular story, as I have a strong need to be cheered up today, and reading a humourous story that involves a slightly mournful character seemed to be the way to go.

Anyway, this chapter was awesome, I really, really enjoyed it and I am thinking that I am just going to have to read as many more chapter as possible when I get the chance because this story somehow managed to make me feel so happy! Perhaps because of how crappy Rose's life currently is!

I love the relationship between Rose and Molly, partly because their personalities are very contrasted. Molly seems a lot more confident, slightly more outgoing, more positive and seems the time that always has a plan, always has something to do next. Rose is definitely more negative, mopes around a lot and, like Molly mentioned, wishes and thinks about what her life could be like, rather than actually doing something about it. I relate to her a lot, so I think you have created a very believable, realistic character here.

Aw, I actually felt very bad for Scorpius - or 'rat-boy'. He was just coming round to do Rose a favour and then hears her bad-mouthing him, poor bloke. And then when Molly invited him for lunch, I could pretty much feel Rose's horror!

Agh, how I wish I could Apparate and avoid the snow all together. All my life I have lived in the warmth but a few days ago I moved to a VERY cold place for five months and its FREEZING! I want to be a witch so badly!

I loved this chapter, and this story is definitely going on my favourites. I will be back!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne 

15th January 2014:
I love that they have severe reactions to being around family, I feel that way about being around certain members of my family. :D

Yay! Molly is going to help her!

Haha is it bad that I'm rooting for Rose/Scorpius to get together? Once we all get past Scorpius's stalkerish ways of course.
He needs to calm down on his creepiness.

Ahhh! He's staring in her window! That's so scary haha.

Brilliant! although he shouldn't have been listening in on the conversation.

What? Where was her coat? Why was it outside? That's strange

Ah! Scorpius! I should have known.

Conga Solo? How... how is that even possible?

Another brilliant chapter! Definitely adding to my favourites :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jchrissy 

17th December 2012:
Okay. I really want to feel bad for Scorpius for overhearing the conversation but WHY WERE YOU IN THE WINDOW YOU LITTLE CREEP. Although I do think Rose may have been a bit harsh. Scorpius doesn't sound terrible, just a bit annoying/stalker/over the top. So really, even if he adores her, how are you going to date a stalker? I love the idea about asking Teddy for advice! Molly really may just be a genius.

Really, I like pretty much everything Molly does in this. She may be my favorite version I've read of her. I still absolutely love that you've chosen her and Rose to be so close, because I've definitely never read that in a story. She's organized, bossy but in the sense that she really does seem right most the time, eats too many cookies, is blunt but also seems like a really, really good friend to Rose. My heart is all friendships fuzzy ♥

'Scorpius was looking dangerously close to sulking' omg hahaha. He sounds like such a big baby. Poor Scorp needs a hug. And after that awkward lunch (random question - is it pronounced Hesuse? Or am I totally off? Hahah) ANYWAY after that Awkward lunch he's asking to come back for coffee?? Goodness gracious. This seems like it's going to be one seriously awesome story, darling!



 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHallow 

6th August 2012:
I LOVE this story! LOVVVE IIIT! :)

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by tangledconstellations 

4th August 2012:
Helloo again!

I kinda feel bad for Scorpius. I know I probably shouldn't right now, and yeah, he is overly creepy and he does have slicked back hair, but I guess he does really like Rose, and that's kinda cute! I could have died when he overheard them badmouthing him. I felt so bad for him! But then at the same time - he was at the window!?! And Molly...she is the best. In the worst way possible. She is cheeky and she is a busybody and I love her for it. Without her, how on earth is Rose actually going to do anything?!

I'm really enjoying this! Like I said before, no part of this feels forced or false or anything. Rose is instantly likable, not just because she's geeky and relatable. I like that she is a bit too hotheaded and that she's awkward. Your writing just makes it seem that much more genuine. This just really stands out against all the romcoms I've read before, because of little things that make it real...like, the way instead of blushing cutely and inappropriately once or twice to make the character endearing, Rose blushes profusely and gets all flustered. Which is SO realistic. I don't think I have ever blushed in an adorable manner. I tend to look like I've been working out when I'm embarrassed. So many things about this so far just make it stand out and make me love your characters :)

I kind of like that at this point Rose has made no impression what so ever on Teddy. It makes me think about all those times (we've all been there) I've spent hopelessly thinking about one guy...until I would realise how much time has passed and nothing has happened, haha x) Because we don't know that much about Teddy just yet I kind of get the impression he's almost unattainable and so far ahead and I guess out of Rose's league in a way - but then the fact that this story is about Rose's crush on Teddy it makes me all excited because we're going to find out more about him and they'll start chatting and eep!

This is great :D hopefully I will get round to reading some more soon - but I kinda feel bad about neglecting my review thread, so I think I'll send it some loving before I visit chapter 3! Can't wait to carry on though :)

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by potterfan310 

18th May 2012:
My 102nd Review :D
I have to admit, this has been in my favourites for a while, i just haven't got round to reading it.
I really like rose and her personality :) she's great especially when she calls scorp "rat boy" lol, It's a little creepy how he just appears out of now where as well.

so far i really like it, you have captured rose really well and how odd her life is and also some of the people in it (cough*scorpius*cough)
I'm looking forward to reading the other 24, from whats i've read so far i cannot wait to see what happens.
I wonder does rose get with scorpius?
10/10
-potterfan310

Author's Response: Congrats on your 102nd review! that's awesome :D

Thank you so much for lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

24th April 2012:
Hey. I'm here for your prizes for the challenge. Well, mostly - I decided to read this one, because it's awesome. :D

So, Scorpius scares me just a little bit. One minute Rose is alone, the next he's just there. At the window! *shudders*

But I love the bit about it being possible to get rid of Vic just to get to Teddy. I couldn't help but laugh while thinking "poor Vic." She must really want him. I think she lurves him. :P

But I love Teddy/Rose, so I'm not complaining. I can't wait for some awesome Teddy/Rose moments (I see major embarrassment on the way. :P)

Sam.

Author's Response: He's supposed to scare you - I tend to go the wrong side of over the top with him at times, but it's all in the name of comedy so it's fine :P

I can definitely promise you embarrassing moments in the future. Cringe galore ;)

Thanks Sam!


 Report Review

Review #8, by NaidatheRavenclaw 

26th March 2012:
So I just typed this all out and then I closed the tab by accident *headdesk*. Okay, version two. With me copying the review every two seconds, just in case :P

Back to what I said last chapter, I think that Rose's quirkiness makes her feel more normal. I wholeheartedly believe that we're all a little crazy inside. No one can think about one thing for long, and no one can think in a straight line, and that's what a lot of people forget in their quest to make a character normal. You, however, make her thoughts sound like a real person, and the quirkiness just enhances that :)

Onto this chapter, I absolutely loved the dynamics between Molly and Rose. I especially liked the part when Molly was talking about Rose growing up to live with owls and cats. The wizard version of a crazy cat lady ;)

The whole scene with Scorpius and the coat was also genius. I love chance meetings like that, and Rose's reactions were priceless.

Good luck with getting to 300 reviews! I may be along again to help you with that ;)

-Naida

 Report Review

Review #9, by SexyDoorFrames 

19th March 2012:
Marina! This was an amazing second chapter. I just adore Scorpius. I really do. He's just so creepy that I find it amusing. And Rose, who can not love Rose. You can really relate to her and I love that. She's so believable and not a carbon copy of her mother, which is always refreshing to read. This is quite a funny story, it just comes across as effortless. Excellent first chapter! I really do adore this story.

Author's Response: Yeah, I was trying so hard not to make her exactly like Hermione. She'll be similar to her parents in some ways, but she's definitely a unique person.

Thanks so much -wub-


 Report Review

Review #10, by accioHPFF 

20th February 2012:
This chapter was excellent, although I'm sure you don't need me to tell you that. :)

I really like how you write about Rose, she's so... average. Normal. She's not amazingly clever, beautiful and popular- she just has a normal life. I really like the fact that, although all of these things happen, and she has this funny predicament, her life is normal.

Scorpius, or Rat Boy, makes me laugh so much- the way that he doesn't seem to pick up on the awkwardness that I imagine is just hilarious, and Molly inviting him for lunch made me laugh. The way she did it to annoy Rose was funny. :)

I love this story so much, I'm hooked after only two chapters :D

Author's Response: Who doesn't need telling they're excellent every once in a while ;)

What I really wanted to express when I started this was that people CAN be normal and still have a story worth telling. A lot of fanfics are so hard to relate to because it's in an unfamiliar setting, or the characters are different to people we know. I wanted Rose to be someone that anyone could relate to. (and the more I write, the more either she becomes like me or I become like her. I didn't have a stalker when I started this and now I sort of do :P )

thanks so much! I'm glad you're hooked :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heaven 

2nd February 2012:
Another wonderful chapter. I particularly enjoyed the Rose/Scorpius interaction - maybe I was too harsh and judged the poor boy too early - he isn't as weird as I thought. Maybe he's just as lonely and confused as Rose and he's just trying to connect with a kindred soul or something? Or maybe not?

Anyways, I also liked the alliteration earlier in the chapter - it addded a nice rhythm! Very lovely!

Author's Response: Alliteration has become a bit of a habit, actually, so I'm glad you like it!

You'll have to wait and see to see what happens between Rose and Scorpius ;) Thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lillylover22 

17th January 2012:
I love rose. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: I'm glad! thank you very much for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ghetto Santa 

23rd December 2011:
yo, i'm back to spread more cheer! -chucks cheer-

I adore your take on Rose. She's witty, original and more than that, she feels like a real person. She has flaws. She isn't perfect nor is she crazy OTT either who shouts bananas at random moments cause they are randomzzz. You have a real nice balance going on. She cracks me up a lot of the time too, (Happy people make me grumpy, I can so relate to that!) Molly is also a wondeful edition to the story. I just love what you have done with her character. The idea of a family hangover made me giggle too. Marina, you're amazing, you can write amazing angst and now I find you can write an amazing humour story too. Share your skills, yo. Do a workshop or something cause I'd attend. In all, I'm really liking this story so far and I can't wait to see where you take this!

- ghetto santa is signing out, (got to get the snow off the drive way).

X

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Santa! Your reviews have kept my spirits high all Christmas, I really really appreciate them! Thank you SO MUCH!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Violet Gryfindor 

5th December 2011:
Aww, Rose is so sad and pathetic, yet utterly sympathetic. XD She's very normal, and it's kind of frightening just how normal she is. She seems in this chapter like an average late-teen-early-twenty girl who loves sleep and biscuits sucked into a weird romantic comedy that's trying to make her, of all people, it's heroine. It makes for a lot of great humour - the one-liners in this chapter are fantastic. Many of them had me laughing out loud (thank goodness I'm alone right now!), they were so well-suited to the moment.

Scorpius is a creepy fellow. Yes, he's a nice guy, but he's so much the "nice guy" type that it's creepy. There has to be something wrong with him, other than his appearance of course. You describe him with great detail, but he's entirely unappealing. Yet Rose seems to admire the way that the light strikes his hair and the colour of his eyes at one point, revealing that she's repressing some sort of feelings in his favour. :P

This is a fantastic story, Marina, and it's great to pick up the threads of it again. I keep seeing you updating and keep wanting to read it - hopefully during the holidays I'll be able to get through more of it because it's so enjoyable, striking just the right balance of "real life" and humour with a great cast of eccentric characters. :D

Author's Response: I couldn't put it better myself - Rose is exactly how you've described her. She's got no interest in being a typical "main character" type, where everything is all go. She'd much rather wait for stuff to happen rather than go out and fight for it and that doesn't bother her in the slightest.

Scorpius is over-nice. I think Rose is really confused about him. She can see that he's not the average bloke, but she doesn't really like average blokes anyway so she doesn't know whether that's a good or bad thing.

Thank you so much for the lovely lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by AC_rules 

25th September 2011:
This chapter was just as good and funny as the last! Scorpius, of course had every right to be moody, but seemed to recover pretty quickly to go back to his normal loveable self by the end of the chapter.

I love Molly and her desire to help Rose, even though Rose is pretty down with being miserable and most of all I love how Rose is sort of 'boring' but her story isn't in the slightest, and her thoughts aren't boring and yes, I love this Rose - she's fabulous :)

-Ac

Author's Response: I like to think of Rose as normal ;) thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by May_Diggory_Weasley 

12th September 2011:
hehe. this is so epic!
Unfortunately I am too lazy to review each chapter... but I must say that this has amused me greatly so far, the idea of a stalking scorpius is one of the most hilarious mental images I have had in a while.
"he preferred cooking casserole whilst dancing to Spanish folk songs to doing anything remotely normal."
My favourite line! Keep it up! May :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, May :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

8th August 2011:
Oh lord. My smile will not go away! I loved this chapter, your writing technique is perfect. There's always so much going on but it flows perfectly so I'm never confused and I'm never cringing. I only cringe because Rose is delusional (in a good way of course).

My favorite part was this:

- Happy people made me grumpy; gross people sent me into a deep, dark pit of despair, more commonly known as Rose-Land. I'd said it before and I'd say it again: help me.

Poor Rose. But more importantly poor Scorpius. I feel like I'm just starting to get to know his character, he has some spunk.

Author's Response: thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by BellaFountain 

24th July 2011:
This chapter simply reeks of awesomness!!! Biscuits and dancing Spanish waiters!!! More biscuits por favor - ooh I love love love me some biscwits!!!

Lol, sorry about that. Now that I've finished blinding you with exclamation marks (which for some weird reason I've chosen to deliver in groups of three), I'll get down to the review. Alas, where to begin...I loved it ALL!

I love how stressed our Rose gets; it's so much fun getting to observe her freak out over the littlest things - her 'Scorpius dilemma' had me rolling on the floor in fits of laughter - why do I love this creepy Scorpius so very very much? I think it's the effect he has on Rose; he has the ability to really push her buttons even if he isn't doing it intentionally. It'll be interesting to see what lies on the horizon for this unlikely duo. Would it be totally weird and insane for me to say that I want these two to end up together?

Your writing, in my view, is positively sensational! You just make reading your story that bit more easy and enjoyable because everything flows so beautifully. I wish more than anything that I could steal into your thoughts and snatch away this amazing talent that you have lol. I've added you to my list of favourite authors - I simply have to read some of your other stuff if your writing is this brilliant!

The window scene had me clutching my sides. I love random things like that, where you turn around and there's someone stood outside your window, peering in - and then there's that awkward moment where you both exchange looks whilst thinking 'what the hell???' Really though, this is comedy gold! I adore this chapter and look very much forward to reading the rest of this story.

- Olivia

Author's Response: thank you very much, Olivia :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ellyn Rose 

12th July 2011:
Hmm. Okay. Still a little out of sorts. But I really like it so far, I just really want to read more. So, I'll be doing that...

Author's Response: thank you so much :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by Phoenix_Flames 

20th June 2011:
Ahaha! Another great chapter, Marina love. This was wonderful.

Again, I love the close knit family you have created with the next gen characters. They all get along so well and just seem to click. Well not Vic of course. ;) I loved the suggestion of killing Victoire. That was quite a funny little interjection. :P

I don't know if I mentioned my love of your characterization of Scorpius in my first review to you, but I do. He doesn't seem like the typical Malfoy, and I love that in Scorpius.

Lovely chapter! I will try to get to the nest soon, my love. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Drue ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by orderofthephoenix 

4th May 2011:
Hey Marina! Reviews for you for winning Best Characterisation. :)

I'm not at all surprised you won the award for Rose's characterisation. She's brilliant! Aww, I want to laugh at her, but at the same time, I feel sorry for her. She's got Stalker Scorpius after her, but pines after Teddy. It's sad she's got too little self esteem and I'm glad Molly's there to help and encourage her. :)

I actually love Molly's character in this story. She's so different to how I imagine her. And the one-liners she comes out with are full of win!! :D Like this one: "This is your problem, you're so pessimistic all the time. Life isn't as hard as you make it seem. Go with the flow." :D

I simply LOVE the biscuit references!! And all the food you put in just makes me hungry! Sausage rolls, bacon sandwiches... :P

Scorpius is definitely a little creepy, as far as I'm concerned. Especially when he turned up at Rose's flat without warning. But I feel sorry for him too, which is weird because I normally wouldn't. It's a change to see that it's Scorpius going after Rose, instad of the other way around which is what's normally done.

I laughed out loud so many times while reading this, it's unbelievable! I really shouldn't read this story while I'm in a library. Never mind.

-Sophia x

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Sophia :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by ericajen 

22nd March 2011:
Oh, Scorpius. Oh, Rose. Oh, Molly. Your characters are so win, Marina. I love Scorpius. He's like a puppy. A lost, confused puppy who is just looking for someone to love him, hahah. I may even have to ship Scorpius/Rose. But that depends on Teddy because there hasn't been enough of him yet. Hmm. Anyway, great chapter. This story is definitely becoming one of my favorites(:

Author's Response: Thanks, Erica! I love writing the characters in this fic because I reckon they can be pretty crazy and come off as completely acceptable in the context. So much fun :D thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyFire 

19th March 2011:
Hi, Lily here with your review(:
Rose certainly has some problems. Very low self-esteem, in love with Teddy who is marrying Victorie, a stalker by the name of Scorpius Malfoy, and a crazy family. Sheís definitely a believable character, not just a copy of a generic Weasley, her mother, or her father so props on that. Normally when I read her, itís like reading about Hermione, occasionally with Ronís eating habbits.
I like the story so far. Youíve done a wonderful job. Iím really curious about Scorpius, and the role he has to play. And why heís perpetually around Rose (according to her, anyway, as he claims itís coincidence).
Well, thatís it for now, Iíll be back again soon!.

Author's Response: thank you so much for the great feedbacl. I was really hoping to characterise them like that so it's great to hear I succeeded! thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by silverstarletworld89 

17th March 2011:
Wow, I never thought I would ever say this, but I LOVE Molly! I adore the banter between her and Rose and she is just filled with wisdom ďis that you are a waiter. Youíre waiting around for Teddy to fall in love with you and youíre not doing anything to push him along the way.Ē LOL, like i said, so much wisdom. Awww poor Scorpius, how can Rose not see the hotness pouring out of him!

Another Great chapter =D!
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: I love Molly too! she's so much fun to write - she's the best friend figure who's supportive but often says these really odd things :P thank you so much for the lovely review :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Liberator600 

28th February 2011:
Hi! Liberate60 from the forums again.
I think I'm going to follow this story. it's funny to see how Rose tries to cope when the world seems to be against her. 10/10.

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>