Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
61 Reviews Found

Review #1, by insertcreativeusername 

30th October 2017:
Scorose is my OTP, so this is right up my alley! Your first chapter is the epitome of perfection! It's not too short, and it's not too long, it it provided a wonderful preview of the familial situation and Rose's personality. I've never read a story where Scorpius was a stalker or not correlated to Albus in a way, so this concept is new to me, and your writing is making me love it!

I like your Molly, and I took an instant dislike to Hugo, but he's just being a little brother, and it's nice to see someone capture an actual sibling relationship.

Can't wait to keep reading, your an amazing author Marina!

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne 

15th January 2014:
I must say that I am loving this story already! Rose seems like so much fun and awesome, I can't wait to read more about her.
I love that Rose suggested a guide dog when thinking of Scorpius's job, I couldn't help but chuckle.
Speaking of Scorpius, I love how he's just randomly sneaking around and stalking her, I can just imagine him lurking out of sight, peering around corners as he waits for her to appear.
I can't wait to read more!
Excellent job Marina *squishes with hugs*

 Report Review

Review #3, by GoldenFeather 

29th October 2013:
Lovely!I love the idea of Rose and Scorpius together! :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by loveology 

26th July 2013:
Okay so I love your version of Rose! I've wanted to read this fic for ages, so what better than the Golden Snitches dragon duels mcthing as a perfect excuse to read a fic I've heard such good things about! Sorry, being a bit rambly.

But this was such a good start! I like the friendship between Rose and Molly, and your Rose is so different from anything I've ever seen before, it's refreshing! In fact, I can sense that this whole fic is different from what I've ever seen before, haha. :) And your Scorpius kind of freaks me out, I'm sure I'll understand him better as I read on, and it's only because I'm seeing it from Rose's point of view, and he freaks her out haha.
I like the tidbit of her being in love with Teddy too, and your view of Hugo and Rose's relationship is so... real.

I dunno, the entire fic just seems so real and stuff??? I look forward to reading more of the fic, and I also look forward to reading more of your stories in the future!

:D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I hope you enjoy the rest and the sequel if you ever get that far :) Marina

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jesslovesharrypotter xx 

28th January 2013:
That was awesome! Author,I have just one thing to say to you:
KEEP
CALM
and
CARRY ON
WRITING

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jchrissy 

16th December 2012:
I've never read a Rose lusting after Teddy!! Ahhh! And it seems like Rose just generally isn't crazy about Scorpius, not that she loves and hates him at the same time and I LOVE it. I love that she doesn't seem like she's trying not to like him, but that she really doesn't!

Molly is such a good friend/cousin in this. Sometimes when a girl is jealous, even if it's a lie.. hearing the other girl is ugly does actually help. Haha, I'm terrible.

I have a secret obsession with anything that includes large portions of the Weasley and Potters together, so the fact that you started this out as a gathering just made my day. And I like her and Hugo's relationship in a brother sister way. And that Molly came to the rescue with the information about the clock hands. But I did feel my stomach churn a bit when I thought about Hugo telling the entire family.. but at the same time maybe it wouldn't be bad if they knew?

I've heard so much about this story, and I'm sorry that I'm reviewing one that already has so many reviews. I just couldn't stop myself :(.

This was an awesome, awesome first chapter. You do such a great job at first person. I don't feel like I"m trapped inside her head as much as living through her eyes. First person is such a struggle for me that I'm always jealous of writers that can pull it off seamlessly.

OH AND I JUST REALIZED MARINA = TMWTTI = WORDUPMARINA. Wow. I should be a blonde.



 Report Review

Review #7, by LovlyRita 

8th December 2012:
I was unsure whether to start this story because it's just so damned long, and yet i'd heard SO much about how amazing it, so I decided to give it a try :)

I really enjoyed this. I feel like you can totally tell that I don't read stories very often, I've never seen one where Rose lusts after Teddy. And even more hilariously, the fact that Scorpius is kind of a nerd! he's never a nerd! That just made this story even more awesome! I do like the fact that you have characterized him like that though. Too often he is an exact copy of his father, and it's refreshing to see him depicted like this.

I feel like, being the 55th review on this chapter that I'm not going to say anything at all that you haven't already heard. :P

I like Rose though, she's so real and likable, she could be your best friend. That's one of the hardest things about creating characters, is making someone that you can empathize with, someone you can see yourself hanging out with, and I think you've managed to do that in this first chapter.

I will admit, rather embarassingly, that I still get confused between all the different cousins and who belongs to who, so I don't know who Molly belongs to (but I'ma wikipedia that so don't worry.) But I really liked the relationship between the two of them.

It's also interesting to see the dynamic between Rose and Hugo, and maybe it's because I never had a brother but when I write them, I always kind of write them getting along, so it was a little sad to see them so hateful to each other, but that's most likely more real than the alternatives.

Over all a great start to a long and decorated story, and I look forward to seeing where you take things :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Courtney Dark 

6th December 2012:
Hey there!
First off, I want to say that I am actually SHOCKED that I have not read this! I absolutely love humourous (I'm pretty sure I just spelt that wrong-oh well) fanfictions that involve the whole of the next-generation Weaslet family, especially one from Rose's point of view. And this story ticks all of those boxes!
Teddy/Rose is nothing new but I love the way you wrote it-it was very unique in the respect that Rose didn't seem to have feelings for anyone other than Teddy-by this I mean Scorpius. I like the fact that he had a crush on her, but the feelings weren't returned.
I ALSO like the fact that it seems like Molly is going to become a main character. She has always intrigued me-having Percy and Audrey for parents-and she is always written in such different ways, though I've never written her myself!
Great first chapter!
Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #9, by tangledconstellations 

4th August 2012:
Hey, lovely!

You posted on twitter that you wanted to reach 400 reviews, so here I am!

I have always wanted to properly read this fic - its one of the names that I hear about all the time but I've never quite got round to really settling down and reading it. This first chapter, though, was so ace, and so funny. It was so much more effortless and honest and in a way more realistic than a lot of the humour's I see on HPFF, because sometimes they come across as quite forced. But Rose is just perfect - flawed, but not annoyingly so, and I bet really kindhearted too. It's gonna be an interesting story!

Next-gen's are always so cool because you have all these complicated family ties to really make your own. I felt like you did that so well here! Teddy and Victoire - ugh I can just imagine them now, looking perfect together. Probably wearing matching outfits or at least complimenting colour palettes, hahaha. Because this has so much Rose/Teddy potential, I am so excited to read on. Anything with Teddy in is just beautiful! I love the way he hasn't spoken yet though - it makes me feel all the more as though Rose is well and truly cutting herself off from him. Does he really have no idea? Oh, Rose. Tell him! Tell him!

:D can't wait to keep going with this!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #10, by I_trusted_Snape13 

13th July 2012:
A very common thing I see in Rose-centered fan fictions is the same personality, over and over. She's a booksmart, boring, dull person or she's a completely OOC partier and binge drinker who plays perfect Quidditch and doesn't get very good marks, who is telling the story of how she got pregnant with Scorpius Malfoy's child after a party. Same old boring, dull, overdone cliche. This, however, was a refreshing MASTERPIECE! Her inner dialouge is truly hilarious and I adored every word! Each character seemed perfect given everything we know of them (parents, etc). I love it so much Thanks for making her in her twenties too - most Roses seem to only be sixteen or seventeen lol. You already defeated so many cliches and I look forward to reading more. Plus, I've only mainly read the stories where she secretly dates Scorpius, I've never read one where she seems him as a stalker. Lol. Brilliant job - JKR would be proud, I do believe. (:
Keep it up! :D

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SiriuslyPeeved 

28th June 2012:
Marina, congratulations on finishing Just Rose :) I'm excited to dive in and read something out of my angst-ridden comfort zone!

I can clearly picture the mayhem of a Weasley family trivia night in my head as I'm reading! It fits that Audrey would be the ringleader for such things, being married to Percy. Your line about family events and bacon sandwiches rings completely true also, it really made me smile.

Rose has a funny and quirky point of view, it's nice to see her a little bumbling and unsure of herself (being Ron's daughter...) as well as having a fruitless crush on her cousin's fiance. (poor thing!)

Scorpius is quite the creeper in this chapter, isn't he. I don't want to make assumptions but perhaps he will learn a less creepy way of moving in on Rose as the story progresses? ;)

I hope Hugo pays for breaking the clock! I will review along as I can -- This was a lot of fun to read!

Author's Response: It feels so weird to have finished it, I tell you. I keep rereading it because I miss writing it so much already. I am going to be an emotional wreck after I post the last chapter I tell you that now!

Thank you so much, Mary!


 Report Review

Review #12, by LyrisLovegood 

15th May 2012:
Hi :)

I'm here to cheer you up (or at least try anyway haha)

So I've already stumbled upon 'Just Rose' before but never gotten the chance to leave a review.

I love a good Next Generation story. And I don't much read anything base on Rose or Scorpius but I was extremely drawn to this.

First of I love that you made Rose close to Molly. We don't often see Molly centred in a story. I like the fact that Molly was the brainy one and not Rose (as many people assume and expects being the daughter of Hermione Granger and all). The interactions between the two is great and I love how you've portrayed Scorpius as somewhat an outcast. I like your take very much, not the usual I read about.

Rose is simply hilarious. Just love how you characterized her.

I love a bit of Teddy. Oh my Merline! I hope to see more of him...I think I want him to be with Rose rather than Tori. Suppose I'll have to read on :)

Author's Response: This review really did cheer me up! Exams get you down, but this was so lovely to read :)

I love the dynamic between Rose and Molly. I'm not sure it would have worked with any other characters, because they've both got such unique personalities :)

Yeah, I think Scorpius is portrayed as the popular kid far too much and I just don't think he'd have been that popular or attractive. Maybe my Scorpius is a bit over the top, but I think he definitely would have been weird!

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by NaidatheRavenclaw 

19th March 2012:
Hi there!

So I'm a really bad procrastinator who planned to read this story several months ago...oops...But I'm finally here and I absolutely love it!

I'm a huge Scorpius/Rose shipper so just that is enough to make me read this, but Rose's voice is also brilliant. She's absolutely hilarious, but not in your typical Next Gen way. She's quirky and her thoughts are definitely strange, but they feel real.

I also love that Molly is her best friend. Molly is cast aside in a lot of stories I've read, so it's great to see her brought to the forefront of this. Oh, and Audrey was brilliant. I can see now why Percy married her :P

Of course, Teddy was great, showing up at the end (I have a small place in my heart for Teddy/Rose too) and I love Rose's reaction to it. Even though she's older now, it was a typical teenage reaction, which made her so relateable.

Excellent first chapter! I'll be back!

-Naida

Author's Response: Aww Naida you're so lovely! I hope Rose didn't come across as too quirky, though in situations like this with lots of family she tends to get a bit over the top - more than anything, I want her to be normal!

Thanks so much for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by charlottetrips 

22nd February 2012:
Gah! Iím finally here to fulfill my end of the Tag! Work cycles kidnapped me and I wasnít able to break away until now! Letís get to the actual review since Iím sure we donít really want to here my sorry excuses :(

I like your summary. Itís funny and honestly I was surprised to see this type of story on your authorís page. Iím pretty used to your more somber, dramatic (and very well-written) stories so this was unusual to me. And then I read your authorís note and it made sense!

Family meetings are similar to that one bacon sandwich too many; the concept was excellent but in the long run the effect was pretty disappointing. - I love this analogy! Bacon Sandwich! Makes me want to eat all the Wotters :P

No doubt he had seen us sneak a glance and had decided that was enough to warrant starting up conversation. - it always is

Rat Boy is related to a Ferret! :)

I could just casually slip into any conversation ďand this is my Scorpius, he follows me aroundĒ and I was suddenly interesting. - LTM, I seriously did :P Amused was I. Iím really liking Roseís voice. Sheís wise-cracking (at least in her head) but still, it seems so far, with a faÁade of an unassuming nature.

I love the bits of family history we introduce here such as Auntie Audrey crying and the bit about getting her tissues for her birthday. I also love having NextGen characters out of Hogwarts. As Iíve become more familiar with these peeps, I find that I rather enjoy reading stories with them not in Hogwarts. I guess itís because thatís a bit old now.

Oh no! Hugo! Brothers are not to be trusted! Oh dear, especially brothers who really didnít like you.

I cannot believe that clock is dead. Iíd be sobbing too. In fact, I may be sobbing now. Wait, hang on, that was sweat. Ew.

You done good! Of course I didnít think you wouldnít (gar, double negative but you get what I mean) and I laughed and I was amused and I got introduced to your telling of the Weasley-Potter family! Yay!

Author's Response: I know what you mean. I'm still surprised to see something like this on my author's page, and that's after a year of writing it! I have to say, I always just assumed I couldn't write lighter stories. I tried fluff and it was hard because I have a tendency to turn everything angsty given the chance. But I'd never tried humour and I was reaching the point in writing where I was bored of writing sad stories. I'd got into the same habits and my description wasn't developing. SO I tried something new. And I'm glad I did :)

Anyway, thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked it! :D



 Report Review

Review #15, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

20th February 2012:
Ah! I love (potential) Teddy/Rose stories! My favorite (non-slash) pairing!

I just had to say that. Anyway... I love the idea of Rose being close to Molly. I usually read her being close to Dom and/or Roxanne, so this is different for me and something I'm excited to read as I continue, to see their relationship.

I also like the idea of Scorpius not being as likeable, physically wise. He's usually hated (at first) but still good looking. I don't think I've read him as being described as a rat before. Then again, I don't read many Rose/Scorpius stories.

I have read Hugo and Rose hating each other, though not many. I think it's a really interesting relationship between them and I look forward to reading more of there relationship. The same with Rose and Victoire; not every family member likes each other. This seems more real to me than everyone getting along.

This is a great start. I will definitely continue reading this. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Teddy/Rose is my absolute favourite pairing! Though I'll confess to you that I don't see them as they are in this story... I prefer them a lot grittier (says the angst fan in me).

Yeah, I hate it when Scorpius is described as good-looking. It's as bad as Draco being fit or something, it just doesn't work in my head.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by accioHPFF 

16th February 2012:
TAG! :)

This was brilliant, Marina. At a few occasions throughout, I was having to suppress the laughter that this caused. It was excellent. :)

I really like that Rose is close to Molly, because usually Rose is only friends with Lily, Dom, Roxanne etc. Percy's children are usually written to be the outsiders of the group, so her being a central character, who isn't ignored, is really great.

Scorpius? Thank you! You've written about him like I imagine him, I always imagined him to resemble a rodent. Everyone seems to write this popular, attractive Scorpius, but you haven't. I really like the fact that he's unpopular, although it sounds cruel. I just can't wait to see what happens next! I love this description of him that you used...
"Molly and I had affectionately nicknamed him Rat Boy, because his pointed features strongly reminded me of an unwanted rodent. Well, not necessarily just unwanted rodents, but this one certainly wasnít wanted by us."

Rose is great, her little explanation using the bacon sandwiches was great, and I think you've established a great narrative voice. I was really hooked, and the humour that you infused into this story is really fantastic!

I do sympathise with the characters in this chapter though, those family gatherings with trivia games, are not fun at all. But sadly, we do have an Aunt Audrey in our family.

Author's Response: I'm glad it made you (suppress) laugh! That's sort of the whole point so that's really great to know :D I just love writing Rose and Molly. Friendships are an underrated aspect of fanfiction and it's nice to write more of it in this fic than I have before. I mean, this is listed as a romance but that isn't really the main point. For Rose, there's so much more about her than who she's going out with even though she seems to think about it a lot of the time.

Scorpius is how I've always imagined him - I just cannot picture him as attractive or popular. It's a bit like how Draco becomes the Slytherin Prince or whatever, it just doesn't sit right. But when I came to write this I knew there was no way he could be "normal" or "popular" because he has such a weird family. Haha.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Cassius Alcinder 

9th February 2012:
Here from review tag!

This was such a great start to the story. This is definetely a new take on ScoRose, since pretty much all the ones I've read before take place in Hogwarts. I enjoyed how you were able to take a really common ship and prsent it in a new way without the common cliches.

The characterization was excellent, especially the back and forth between Rose and Molly, especially since Molly doesn't seem to be written very much. I also really liked that you had Scorpius be average looking and not particualrly popular, that's a ver nice change from the "silvery orbs and quidditch toned abs" we usually associate with the Malfoy boys.

The general sense of humor that we see throughout from Rose's oberservations and interactions with the other characters is very amusing. Great start!

Author's Response: Well, I've always had problems with certain interpretations of Scorpius. I just can't believe he'd be hot, so this was my way of trying to put his character back on track haha.

I love writing interactions between Molly and Rose, I think they're such a great pair and their friendship is slightly different because they're related which doesn't help sometimes.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by LittleWelshGirl99 

6th February 2012:
Hello!

I absolutely love the start to this story. A good ScoRose is always a treat, and this is a completely fresh view on the ship.

For a start, it appeals to me because there aren't many ScoRose's that are set after Hogwarts. The whole thing is usually a Hogwarts shenanigan, and I think this could go in very interesting directions.

I also adore the way you've characterised Scorpius. He didn't have many friends at school? I actually feel kind of sorry. From the reference to his pale clothes and the 'fading into the background' thing we get the impression that he's not exactly the hot guy all the girls moon over.

-Which makes me love him! :D

I ALSO really like the relationship between Rose and Molly. I can see they are good friends, and that makes an even more enjoyable read.

So basically, I just loved it!

LWG :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you loved it :) I'm not sure why I wrote Scorpius that way, I guess I was just looking for a change. I don't like writing him as good-looking, because I honestly don't think he would be. Anyway, thanks very much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heaven 

2nd February 2012:
Hahaha! My favourite line: "and this is my Scorpius. He follows me around." Hilarious! Molly seems like the only sane one in the family. And Scorpius... is just a little weird... I hope that was what you were aiming for, because if you weren't - absolutely no offence meant (it was supposed to be a compliment)!

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much! He is supposed to be weird, don't worry :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Lillylover22 

17th January 2012:
Great start. She should date scorp to get everyone off her back 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Haha well you'll see... :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ronsgirl29 

7th December 2011:
Great first chapter! I love how you've done the nextgen characers. One of my favorite things about nextgen is that the same characters can be crafted in such different ways. I've never seen Scorpius characterized like a creepy stalker, so that will be fun to read! And having Molly be good friends with Rose isn't something I've seen much either, so I'm excited by that as well!

I really like this story, I can't wait to see what happens with Rose and Teddy.

-Ronsgirl29

Author's Response: I love next gen for its scope - you can write the same characters multiple times and they're different every time. It's fun and it gives you so much room for creativity. Love it :P

I'm glad you enjoyed, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

5th December 2011:
First chapter's of a story generally have to intrigue the reader into reading the rest of the story and I think you've done that really well within this one.

The idea of throwing them straight in to a Weasley family party gives an idea of chaos but also gives you a lot of characters to play around with and mention within the chapter. I think the amount of characters you actually introduce is just right without being too overpowering.

Scorpius and Rose hating each other is also quite interesting because although it is used in a lot of fics, they're almost always don't by the time they'd finished school however with this one it isn't which is fairly unique. You've characterised him as almost a younger version of Draco with what I imagine to be his smooth talking with the ladies.

The relationship between Molly and Rose is also interesting because Percy's children are often portrayed as almost being ostracised by the rest of the Weasley children which makes your idea even more unique. Their relationship seems to be quite close which will be interesting to see develop over the story as Rose has already started to confide in Molly about her feelings.

Teddy and Rose as a couple are not often shown so I'm interested to see what you will do with those as Rose seems very attached to him and the mention that him and Victoire are eloping next month, you cant help wonder if it may forshadow ideas in further chapters.

And the clocks broken. I'm a little heart broken, I love that clock!

Well done on this I think the story has great potential

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it intriguing. I really want to include the family as a really big influence on Rose's life. There's no way she could have so many close relatives without that impacting on her. I love writing the Weasleys, there are so many of them that there's loads of room for original characterisation.

Scorpius and Rose don't hate each other! Scorpius really likes Rose, actually - he's not being creepy to annoy her, it's because he genuinely doesn't know how else to get her attention :P I think she just finds him irritating more than anything. Hate is a strong word :P

Molly and Rose are really close - I think out of all the relationships within the family, Molly and Rose are closest. You'll see more of that later, though. :)

Teddy/Rose is my favourite ship, but that doesn't mean anything about the future plots. You'll see ;)

I'm sure the clock could be repaired, never fear!

Thanks so much for the great review :)

Marina


 Report Review

Review #23, by SexyDoorFrames 

1st December 2011:
MARINA. I adore this. I love your take on Rose, it's refreshing and I've never quite read a story when she's characterized like this. It's so interesting and I love her already as character. She's too funny and I cracked up throughout this, you have an effortless knack for humour. It doesn't seemed forced or anything. I also like how you used Molly, she tends to be an underated character. Roses crush on Teddy made me giggle too. In all Marina, a perfect opening and I loved reading this.

xxx

Author's Response: KEELY ♥ I fangirled a bit over this review. You're like, the goddess of this genre. thank you for the lovely review and know that it means OODLES to me that you found it funny. ILY :D

xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by littlemisssnape 

5th November 2011:
i love the start to this story :) I'll continue tomorrow, since I'm going to bed now, but it really does seem very good.

Author's Response: thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #25, by AC_rules 

25th September 2011:
You really couldn't tell that this was out of your comfort zone at all - which shows for a very good author methinks :)

I loved the idea of them all hating on family gatherings with the trivia quizes - goodness knows my family, although thankful a considerably smaller family, has tried that a time or too - and this chapter had a great amount of humour within it.

My favourite bits were Scorpius trying to be smooth and in doing so calling Uncle George a lady and Scorpius trying to be smooth by refering to the so called 'romantic mood' Oh, Scorp.

Anyway, you had a lovely amount of drama to start this along too. All round a very good opening.

Happy QTR anniversary :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, AC :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>