Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by spreaddapoo 

2nd November 2012:
Wonderful chapter! Whew~ That was another close one; I don't know how many times Lucy'll be able to get away with Sc-Tarquin... Hmm... Suddenly craving a huge slab of chocolate. ;)

Author's Response: sc-tarquin is not the most subtle of names, no. thanks for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by marissa lily potter 

29th July 2012:
I love sisterly arguments. My sister & I do it all the time so it's nice to see Lucy and Molly do it too. I just think that's how sisters bond really. And aw, Rose, I sort of felt bad for her this chapter.

-Marissa

Author's Response: glad you liked it! I'm an only child so I never really know how to write sibling relationships - I just kind of hack away at it and hope for the best. yeah, rose is kind of universally hated amongst readers and I do regret how I've drawn her a little bit - I empathise with her quite a lot sometimes and, shock horror, I'm a bit like her in certain neurotic ways, which is why I brought her back in the sequel to make up for all the horrible things I did to her character. so I'm pleased to hear you felt bad for her, ahha! thanks for the review~ :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

22nd December 2011:
I rather enjoyed the rendition of Jingle Bells and Rose crying was a nice touch. I suppose my idea of her being a robot is wrong...sigh...I'm always wrong with these things!

Seriously though it was very festive, got me in the jolly spirit. I feel like writing a poem myself but I can't write poetry and I don't like poetry so there goes that. Maybe a haiku? Anyway...well, I really have nothing else to say. Uhm, let's see. Happy Holidays? :D

Author's Response: psst: Rose is actually a robot. More like an evil mutant cyborg from the future. SHE'LL BE BACK.

Anyway, glad you liked it, & thanks for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack 

28th October 2011:
Well I actually think this was a rather good chapter. Filled with plenty of Lucy sarcasm, Rose angst/ obsessiveness, and art kid- craziness. I'm also glad that Rose is finally showing her true feelings for Scorp. Love Wealsey Christmases :)
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Thank you! I do like my sarcasm-angst-crazy triangles in fic, heh. Thanks again and glad you enjoyed it ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by hdawg 

18th October 2011:
I'M BACK! HAVE YOU MISSED ME? I BET YOU HAVE, YOU BEAUTIFUL THING. SO, LET US START...

"all you get is an awkward silence and a lot of staring" I KNOW THAT FEELING TOO WELL. I don't think my household quite understands our sense of humour, which is sad :(

'Going up to Brum to see the family.' Tarquin said. NO TARQUIN. DON'T GO. PLEASE. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, DON'T DO IT! As you can tell, I very much like and appreciate Birmingham.

Julia, just to warn you, but I could kiss you right now. 'Your parents are divorced?' DRACO GET OVER HERE RIGHT NOW FOR SOME HANNAH KIND OF LOOOVING.

It's Christmas, it's Christmas, stop global warming, it's Christmas, it's Christmas, cats cats cats or something like that.' You better have made that EP Julia. I want it in my car to listen to on the way to your house. Just sayin.

'Raven's worse, I think her shoes are still in next door’s garden...I think Henry might be too.' what have they been doing? TELL ME. Also, I like this:
'You ran halfway across London to bring my wand? ' THEY SHOULD JUST SMOOCH THERE AND THEN. THEY BELONG TOGETHER. LIKE ME AND YOU.

'Come off it, you look like the wild woman of the Forbidden Forest. Smell like her too...' I knew you'd get your cameo in there somewhere! HAHA LOLOLOL ME SO FUNNY.

AHA LOSER: 'The turkey!’ she sniffed. 'Won't...won't fit in the oven!' I want that turkey now woman.

In my mind, she slept in a coffin and was secretly a bat animagus. No way! Raven would totally be the festive type with tinsle all around her house and wound up in her hair, once she'd killed every small rodent in sight just to get her hopes up of a good day :)

SO TRUE! Bearing in mind that I spent a lot of time holed up in a pitch-black room inhaling photographic chemicals, I didn't exactly consider this strange behaviour. DUDE, YOU WEREN'T THERE MAN, YOU WEREN'T THERE...

JULIA I LOVE CHRISTMAS AT THE WEASLEY HOUSEHOLD! I WISH WE COULD GO TOGETHER AND ENJOY SOME CHOCOLATE AND FANCY HIPPOGRIFFS AND SATSUMA-LOOKING YOUNG GIRLS (although we see that on a daily basis anyway).

NEXT ONE TOMORROW!

Author's Response: I MISSED YOUR MUSK.

Darling, we always know that feeling. It's called a 'julia moment' for a reason.

If I could, I would have held Tarquin back. But he ignored my pleas and went to Birmingham regardless. Sad times.

*sends Draco over your way for some hannah kind of loving*

I'M RECORDING ON THE NEXT FULL MOON. Yamaha, cowbells and all. You can replace 'hummingbird heartbeat' with my kitteh-themed choons. Otherwise - 'and if a london midland train, mushes out my brains...to die by your side is such a heavenly way to die!'

YOU SHIPPER, YOU.

That's funny you're funny o_o

YOU LITERALLY WEREN'T THERE, MAN, YOU WEREN'T THERE. I wish you had. Dark room times are mega mega awkward.

WE SHALL GO TOGETHER, HONNOH. WE SHALL GO AND CONSUME CHOCOLATE AND SATSUMAS AND FANCY HIPPOGRIFFS - I MEAN, RIDE THE HIPPOGRIFFS. YEEES.

i love you.



 Report Review

Review #6, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

4th August 2011:
Loved the line about mince pies - I know the concept to be baffling to several people (genuinely :P ) Molly - little bit hard for me to bear seeing her like that but it's a brilliant characterisation. Trowelled-on make-up always bodes for an interesting character. Or at least gives away a 16-year-old :P

Scorpius and Lucy are so cuuteee. I want to squish them together and pinch their cheeks and ... things. Love them.

the shiny red face, plastered back fringe and the glasses at a jaunty angle made him look like a librarian in a sauna. So much awesome. So much envy!
I'm absolutely fan-dabby-dosey - Rose reminds me of my mother. The right amount of crazy, too.


xx

Author's Response: Just like Scorpius, I also avoided mince pies like the plague until I figured out that mincemeat isn't anything like mince. Or meat, for that matter. Stupid name, much?

Thank you again (and sorry for taking so long to respond!)


 Report Review

Review #7, by gingersnape 

3rd July 2011:
When I first saw the chapter title, I kind of said "Nuh uh. Not possible. Rose does NOT have a human side. HOW can this be pulled off?" and then Rose did have as much of a human side as possible for Rose! Scorpius is adorable, and I agree... slabs of chocolate are much better than those gift boxes with like three little bits. The Weasleys and all the starving artists amuse me, but I am starting to get a little worried about Lucy's rent :P
Annie

Author's Response: Yes, it is a little unbelievable, haha. And slabs of chocolate are always the way to go :)
thanks for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by TallestTower 

11th May 2011:
FESTIVE!SCORP. This is the best thing ever. I had a remarkably bad day (topped off by some kind of crazy contemporary dance shindiggles, which I'm sure was lovely...but...yeah...) AND THIS CHEERED ME UP SO MUCH THEREFORE YOU DESERVE A PRIZE AND A MINCE PIE. Considering it's May now, it should be nice and stale for you. Only the best. ♥

"Not even in an outwardly miserable, woe-is-me tortured artistic turmoil sort of way. That was Barry’s trademark."
No one can emulate The Barry.

Oh wow, festive angst.

"Even Obscure Henry was a bit iffy about it, and, boy, was he open-minded."

I love the endless minion-ing of Scorpius. "Could you stop with the festive?" "No." Fringeflop. This review is covered in jinglebells and tinsle and tea stains by the way. And the aforementioned stale mince pie.

OH WOW. I MUST FIND THIS CHRISTMAS EP. AND SPELL OUT THE LYRICS ON A SCRABBLE BOARD.

Tarquin's rhymes were really quite great, in fact I'd eat them if they were on a plate, I hope this rhyme you don't hate, rather, I hope it's one you rate.

OH YEAH. I GOTS THE SKILLZ.

I don't care about Molly's youngeryness. In my mind she is younger anyway. Do you know why canon is called canon? So people can put it inside an actual canon and blast it away. THEN PEOPLE LIKE YOU AND I SHALL RULE THE WORLD. Along with cats and Lettuce Spebbington.

Scorp was so pathetic and adorable and floppy. Standard bar of chocolate = perfect gift. AND HIS WOOLY JUMPERS! YES! So many arteest types/human types own these, which I find amusing. But I um, actually also love them so scorpius plethora of wooly delights can only cheer me furthur.

I NOTED THE SUBTLY FESTIVITY OF HER MIDDLE NAME. Smoth.

This reminded me worrying amounts of some aspects of my own family christmases.

Lucy's character is so amazing and relatable too and pajama-y.
Scorpius is heaps of adorable on a plate.
THANK YOU FOR CHEERING ME UP WITH FESTIVE!SCORP.

And never mind Rose owning humanity, I am sworn against liking her. Still, turkey marinated in tears was a pretty enjoyable piece of character development.

And finalmento: Ellen is a bit like Helen without the H... jus' saying.
Xx

Author's Response: CONTEMPORARY DANCE? WAS IT INTEPRETIVE? DID THEY DANCE TO POETRY? WERE THEY DUCKS OR FROGS?

stale mince pies. only the best. please accept my offer of a mouldy christmas pudding.

nobody alive can emulate the mysterious elan of barry.

fringeflop.
i must use this word more often. or action, rather. my fringe is rather long though, flopping it might take quite a while. everyone will be sitting around for forever and a day while i whip my hair back and forth in the most angtsy fashion possible but ANYWAY moving on

DUDE YOU HAVE TO. THEN TAKE A PICTURE WITH INSTAMATIC AND PUT IT ON TUMBLR AND IT'LL GET LIKE 5000 NOTES

i appreciate your feelings for tarquin's rhymes. i was quite sure they'd shine, but my rhyming dictionary was covered with slime, and often my poetry is maligned.
we all gotz the skillz. blank verse poetry? lowe that. obvious rhymes win like...like...time.

the day we rule the world with cats and lettuce will be a glorious day of snacking and festivity. can we put it in the skypeland manifesto?

don't worry about the wooly jumpers. i have six. guess how many are from vintage shops? five. er, the other one's from topman. so indie it hurts.

'I NOTED THE SUBTLY FESTIVITY OF HER MIDDLE NAME. Smoth.'
smoth. SMOTH.

SMOTH = Scorpius Munches Ovaltine Toasties and Haggis...and turkey marinated in tears?

finalmento: Helena is a bit like Elena with a H. OH SEE WHAT I DID THERE.

outrageous amounts of love and flail and stale mince pies for you ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by awesome247 

28th January 2011:
I wrote a really long review and then deleted it by mistake. I don't feel like re-writing it, so I just want to let you know that it was all about the amazing job you did, and how it the several years that i've been reading fanfiction, none has ever made me laugh like this. I also talked about Psych and cookies. Again, fantastic job!

Author's Response: I hate it when that happens! It's the thought that counts ;D Thank you very much, my aim is to churn out slapstick humour that hopefully makes people giggle a bit every now and again, so I'm glad you enjoyed it (: Happily I've just whacked chapter nine in for validation and I'm working on a lot of the later chapters so there is a lot more to come (:
Thanks for the review! (:


 Report Review

Review #10, by flying_rabbit 

1st January 2011:
Sorry it took me a while to get here. Busy break, and all that. Anyway, happy new year! :D
Oh yes, that's horrible, isn't it? Trying to crack a joke and then have nobody understand it (or maybe they do, but they just don't think it's funny while you're having trouble not to double over laughing).
Lucy's mum's letter sounded funny :) Just wondering, she mentions Dominique at the beginning, and then talks about the eldest Delacour-Weasleys and their partners... so not just Victoire, but Dominique as well? Oh well. The final sentence of the letter was great :D
The group's gathering sounded... festive? The Christmas song Scorpius' old group recorded must've been a great hit, no? ;) And they're ducks again? That's starting to become a recurring theme in the story, isn't it?
That party was quite something, then. A snake? Birds? They really are an odd group :D But it's nice that Scorpius came by to bring Lucy her wand.
It's nice to see that, no matter how much Molly and Lucy seem to fight, they'd still team up against Rose :P Still, it's too bad that Al, James and Louis aren't there. I didn't even know Lucy and Louis got along that well? And it must be awful for Molly (sr) not to be cooking at all for Christmas. Seems like her thing, and nobody else's.
I wonder what was wrong with Rose. Why would half of her friends (are they even really friends, though?) not speak to her anymore? And is it Scorpius she misses? :)
Good thing Rose didn't see that photograph at the end. That would've been painful. For both Rose and Lucy, I think.
Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hello again! Happy New Year to you too! (I know I'm two months late, but I honestly don't give a flying...flying thing. Happy Chinese New Year? It is closer...)

>Oh yes, that's horrible, isn't it? Trying to crack a joke and then have nobody understand it
You have no idea -_- happens to me on a daily basis. Apparently HPFF is the only place where I'm actually vaguely funny.

>Just wondering, she mentions Dominique at the beginning, and then talks about the eldest Delacour-Weasleys and their partners... so not just Victoire, but Dominique as well? Oh well.
You know this fic well enough to know that I'm a terrible proof-reader :') My excuse this time is 'eldest' refers to Bill and Fleur too...(and I think I insinuated via the room-sharing plan that Dom was girl!Dom in this fic when my original plan paints her as a him. Alright then. Let's just pretend I never wrote that.)

>The Christmas song Scorpius' old group recorded must've been a great hit, no? ;)
They sold copies by the cauldronload.

>And they're ducks again? That's starting to become a recurring theme in the story, isn't it?
Who doesn't love a duck every now and again? :') I also notice that tea is a recurring theme - not just here, but in every single thing I seem to write...not doing much to quash British stereotypes, am I?

>It's nice to see that, no matter how much Molly and Lucy seem to fight, they'd still team up against Rose :P
...which, I assure you, will probably be an important plot point later on. But then again I am kind of making this up as I go along, so...

>Still, it's too bad that Al, James and Louis aren't there. I didn't even know Lucy and Louis got along that well?
I suppose they're cousins, they probably see quite a lot of each other and went to school together. I'm actually vaguely sort of working on a prequel to this focussing on Scorpius and Rose's whole Hogwarts fandango, and Louis is possibly a more major character in that. Anyway. I don't know. I'm a very vague person.

>Why would half of her friends (are they even really friends, though?) not speak to her anymore?
Would you want to speak to someone like Rose? (:

>And is it Scorpius she misses? :)
le gasp! How did you know? Was it my supa subtle hinting? Oh, god, that whole 'I miss him' line has to be the most obvious plot point since...since...writing began. I feel shame.

>Good thing Rose didn't see that photograph at the end. That would've been painful. For both Rose and Lucy, I think.
The photograph does make a comeback...hinthint.

Thanks very much for the review! (:



 Report Review

Review #11, by PetrificusTotalus 

24th December 2010:
I absolutely love this story! It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :) haha lol and it makes me laugh SO MUCH!
And Lucy is such a great main character!! And characterisations are perfect! And it's just so good! And I'll stop now but MERRY CHRISTMAS!! :)
xx

Author's Response: Aahh, I'm reading this so late! Ah well, all the way from February the seventeenth...MERRY CHRISTMAS! I'm glad you like it, & I'm happy to report that the new chapter is in validation and hopefully more reports of 'woe is me, for I am Scorpius' angst will carry on the warm fuzzy-ness. Anyway. Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by justonemorefic 

23rd December 2010:
So my boyfriend called while I was reading this and he wouldn't leave me along ('I'm reading fic... ;A;') so I started narrating this out loud and that got rid of him (though he said that was unfair).

No divorced. Well, now that I think about it, political!Astoria and Draco would never beget a child of such skittery fringe.

OMG I'm going to just attach bells to everything and call it festive from now on. FESTIVE SCORPIUS HAS BELLS ON HIM OMG PERFECT. "it’s Christmas, it’s Christmas, cats cats cats or something like that. " WHERE IS THIS EP? (I've been on a hipster-christmas-music spree) AND HOMG YOU RHYMED DEBUSSY. WHAT IS THIS (although I went on a rhyming spree too, remember that musical number I was talking about? T'was Scorpius.)

Baww Scorpius. Bringing her a wand and card. YOU ARE TOO CUTE. Still mostly due to the patheticness.

Oh god, Carol. That is so subtly festive. I see what you did there.

WAIT MOLLY IS THE OLDER ONE THOUGH?

"There was no chance in a million years that the two would meet." F I SHIP TURKEY/OVEN. And... and... THEY MEET!

Hah, so me + three friends. SUPA SERIOUS ABOUT SCRABBLE. Nothing gets past us and games go on forever.

"Scorpius’ was a typical slab of chocolate" We have enough of those to build a small house. Most delicious building bricks ever.

ROSE DO YOU MISS YOUR ABUSED PUPPY?

You never stop with the lovely and festive! Until next time!

Author's Response: ;A; ZOMG, that's the best smiley I've seen in my life. It's all NUH! I'm going to use that more often, as of now.

;A;

'Well, now that I think about it, political!Astoria and Draco would never beget a child of such skittery fringe.'
Truesay. Believe it or not, I made the rash decision for this Draco and Astoria to be the same from Memento, the other fail of a WIP I'm falling behind on. Once I finish posting it and you find out what happens to Astoria in the end, everything will become clear. Unfortunately.

'WHERE IS THIS EP? (I've been on a hipster-christmas-music spree)'
I SHALL RECORD IT FOR YOU MY LOFF, with my super duper band that's totally failing because only two of us can write songs and none of us have the same lunchbreaks free so we can only jam on tuesdays at one o'clock and we don't have a percussionist or a double bass player yet, oops going off topic.

I shall say this: Screaming Bloodthirsty Disco are basically the angst of The Smiths + the camp of the Vengaboys + the screeching of Bjork + the dress sense of an explosion at Hobbycraft. In my mind, Lettuce talks like Noel Fielding when he's being the moon in the Mighty Boosh.

'Baww Scorpius. Bringing her a wand and card. YOU ARE TOO CUTE. Still mostly due to the patheticness.'
The love is neverending.

'WAIT MOLLY IS THE OLDER ONE THOUGH?'
EK I KNOW, I'M FAILING! I used a lot of old notes for a very abandoned Scorose fic for this, and on the copy of the Weasley family tree I had in my notebook I'd put Lucy as the eldest, argh, big mistake! Oh, so many regrets ;A;

' I SHIP TURKEY/OVEN. And... and... THEY MEET!'
You ship Gwendoraven/Scorpius too! What's next, Tarquin/Hippogriff? Barry/Happiness? Rose/Scorpius? Oh wait...

'SUPA SERIOUS ABOUT SCRABBLE'
Gosh, that sounds like a motto. I want to adopt it and make it into one of those twee little tapestries you hang on the wall. My family are pretty supa serious about scrabble too, but usually it's a heart-stopping showdown between me, my dad and a triple word score, and nobody else really ever gets a chance ;A;

'ROSE DO YOU MISS YOUR ABUSED PUPPY?'
Wait and see. OOH ENIGMATIC RESPONSE.
Short answer yes. It's probably deadly obvious which way this fic is going now ;A;

Ta for the review & merry christmas!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review