Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by spreaddapoo 

27th October 2012:
:) Hello! I'm loving every chapter thus far - and am quite convinced by this stage that it'll only get better and better. I think stylistically even, you can see Lucy's development in her narration, from the fairly simplified first chapter to now - everything's becoming not only more detailed, but her comfortableness with being one of the starving artists is really showing through even in her own undertones of philosophising...

There's a pure tangibility and crispness to the story which I have fallen in love with and am proceeding to bow down and kiss the holy soil upon which your writing capabilities stand!

Thanks for the amazing read, and I'm continuing onto the next chapter!

P.S. I've fallen into the habit of enthusiastically reading aloud each chapter to my (elder) sister, and we're both having loads of fun! It's like a live-podcast!

Author's Response: thank you so much! yes, the improvement's noticeable to me when I read back - not necessarily in lucy, but in my own writing. the first ever, /ever/ version of chapter one was riddled with grammatical errors and poor phrasing that I've just about got over...I think.

eee, thank you so much for saying that!

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Anon 

31st July 2012:
I love the story! My ships are Lucy/Scorp (Because that's completely inevitable) and Tarquin/Gwendolyn/Raven.

Author's Response: thank you, glad you like it! well...yes. and maybe. perhaps. possibly. yes. have a biscuit. ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by marissa lily potter 

29th July 2012:
I've never seen anyone portray Rose as so violent but it seems to work for her in this story at least. I've always been a Rose/Scorpius shipper but Scorpius/Lucy all the way! :D

-Marissa

Author's Response: my headcanon was worst of ron + worst of hermione = rose. so tactless AND neurotic. egads. glad I converted you ;) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LunarLuna 

21st April 2012:
Oh scorpy!!^^ I'm officially in love with him... He's like me but in less violent!! xD

Albus is great. He's like... a really buff, really cool dude^^

Lettuce is terrible, but I think I like him because of that!!^^

Raven is hilarious, Tarquin is... Tarquin :P

And man poor Scorpius!! He makes ME sound agile!!!

Other than that well, I have to say I'm now offically addicted, so... congratulations!! :P

xx

-June

Author's Response: baha, scorpius is the kind of person that gravity dislikes. bit like me, really...

thank you for reviewing & I'm glad you liked it :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

22nd December 2011:
Oh poor scorpious I feel so bad for him sometimes. He has the worst luck and I'm not entirely sure he has talent but then again I'm not so sure about the others as well. It's all up in the air, isn't it? Ah, well, another excellent chapter.

Author's Response: If Scorpius has anything, it is not luck. Nor talent. He's just hipster water vapour. glad you liked it & thanks for the review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

28th October 2011:
I must say that I do love Scorpius and all his woe. Laughed again by the way :)
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Haha, glad you liked it! Thanks ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by hdawg 

17th October 2011:
OH YOU START THE CHAPTER OFF WITH &DROO IN "NEVER LET ME GO". OH YOU BEAUTIFUL THING. OH.

'mutilated fringe' THEY ARE SO ALIKE. When will they just snog? Tell me tell me tell me. 'Probably off killing puppies and making children cry' LOL, ME SO GUD AT DAT.

And those yoga lessons.crazy flashbacks there to that Scottish man shouting at us to be calm. Dude, never again. 'You are a lighthouse' THIS ACTUALLY IS OUR YOGA LESSONS. WOAH THERE. THIS IS SCARY.

he offered me his elbow OHMYGOSH HE IS OFFERING HER HIS ELBOW! THAT'S PRACTICALLY OFFERING HER HIS LOVE. HIS HEART. HIS SOUL. yeah, I might be getting a bit carried away with my new found ship.

"'Brought back the fleas, too.' Scorpius muttered." TROLOLOL, HE SO WITTY. and HA, moustache! I can just imagine it now...&droo wouldn't suit one, methinks. How sad.

Tomorrow, I feel I deserve a drawing of this: "that made him look like a skinny, eyeliner-wearing meringue". Yes? Cool. We're agreed.

"me, Albus, and a couple of drunk guys at the back who looked to be comatose" = our friends...oh, how well you represent them. AND OHMYGOSH I'VE JUST REALISED WHO LETTUCE REMINDS ME OF. I'LL TELL YOU TOMORROW BUT HE'S BALD AND NEVER LISTENS TO ANYONE'S WOES. GUESSED WHO I MEAN YET?

Oh, Scorp, you little wimp you. (Not you, Julia, although he reminds me heartily of you) "I mean, he chucked a daffodil. That's hardcore for Scorpius." Oh bless him. I just want to run up to him and give him a cuddle. Can I?

I LOVE IT. however I can no longer read any more tonight as I must actually do some homework. Tomorrow, however...he he he. I love you.

Author's Response: NEHVER (never!) NEHVER (never!) NEHVER (never!) LEEHHHTTT MEEE GOOOH!!!

We're totes better than Judy Bridgewater. Tommy should have bought our tape as a present for Kathy instead.

DEM YOGA LESSONS. 'I will now count to ten very slowly and very quietly...1.2.3...4...FIVE!SIX!SEVEN!EIGHT!NINE!TEN!. You are now wiiide awaaake.' Happy days those were. Happy days.

HANNAH, YOU READ TOO MUCH INTO THINGS.

Nope, I don't really ship &droo/tache either.

HEH I KNOW WHO YOU MEAN. hey! well done! thank you! (hey hey hold this fire for me? somebody hey hey look at this ladle...)

Scorpius accepts your invitation to cuddle. Cuddle away.

THANK YOU AGAIN MY LOVE, HONNOH ♥ heh, homework, what is that?


 Report Review

Review #8, by HarrietHopkirk 

8th August 2011:
OH MY GAAAH! SCORPIUS QUIT THE BAND! HE THREW A DAFFODIL IN LETTUCE'S FACE! HE QUIT THE BAND! THEY DID YOGA! HE QUIT THE BAND! LETTUCE JUMPS OUT AT GARDENERS AND BELIEVES THAT VEGETABLES HAVE RIGHTS! HE QUIT THE BAND! HE IS LIMP! I am sure that Lettuce is weeping, clinging to his cats for company.

A lovely chapter, as always. ♥

Author's Response: HATTIE! CAPSLOCK! DUCKS! FROGS! KITTENS! PUFFINS! TOM HARDY!
Lettuce wept for only a few minutes, then went home and treated himself to a nice big vegetable-free salad and cuddled some kittens. Thank you for reviewing, dear ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

4th August 2011:
I've deserted Skype to focus on catching up on this wonderful piece of genius. Reviews'll probably be shorter given I'm tired and want to finish this tonight so I can move on down that ever-growing reading list :P

Lucy and Scorpius arm-wrestling - I'd pay to see him doing that. Yoga with Frances is an experience I hope they never have to go through again. I felt my ears aching with that whale music and it was only in my head... Then Lettuce being all gross and limp and watery with copious amounts of dressing on.

'I splinched my fringe,' he said, miserably. 'I always do that.' - Oh bless him ♥
'Sort of hardcore with the politics thing, likes to dress up as a vegetable and jump out at gardeners' - I'd like to step into your imagination for the day, lovely.
His sentence was cut short as Scorpius threw a daffodil at his face. - I LOVE HIM.

ONWARDS


Author's Response: Aaaargh sorry for taking so long to respond to this!

Lucy and Scorpius arm-wrestling is basically just Lucy = victory, Scorpius = on floor, in pain, whinging.

Whale music and limp lettuces. Sounds like an average day in the life of me.

Please do not step into my imagination...although, if you do, exits are here, here, and here...

ONWARDS AND UPWARDS ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by gingersnape 

3rd July 2011:
Poor Lucy! But it was still awesome and yay for Scorpius quitting the band? Lettuce really is a pain, even if he skipped the glitter this time. And I kind of want Al to move in with Lucy, but I'm excited for whatever turn this takes. Scorp really does have too much woe for his own good. Can he do anything (other than photography) right? *hugs all the starving artists* Your woe cracks me up, so keep the awesome up! :D
Annie

Author's Response: Ah, Scorpius. Yeah, he's...miserable. If he was a muggle, he'd totally be in love with the smiths and mope around on tumblr at the weekends. And, no, there isn't much he can do right. He's cursed with woe. Woe. Haha, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by PetrificusTotalus 

9th December 2010:
AH UPDATE!!! Totally made my day!
I honestly don't know what makes this story so awesome, but it SO is!
Like everytime I read a chapter, I try to write down what makes it good but I can never put it into words! It's so frustrating!!
All I know is that I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! :)
xx

Author's Response: Well, thank you very much! (: An update can be expected...blergh, sometime in 2011. That's sooo specific, I know, but I'm of an artistic temperament and precision isn't really my thing.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Insert_Witty_Comment_Here 

9th December 2010:
Oh, this story has absolutely and utterly made my WEEK! I adore every single character... especially Lucy and Scorpius. Scorpius is so... woeful, I guess. Like you said, he has too much for his own good. Lucy is just hilarious. This entire story just reeks of awesome. Everyone's so mopey, I love how much they all fail... it's just a giant heap of real life at it's worst/best.

10/10 without a doubt. Keep going, don't change a thing!

-InsertWittyCommentHere

Author's Response: Ooh, thank you very much! An update can be expected sometime in the new year, and hopefully there'll be more epicwoe!Scorpius shoved in. Well, I can't really help it, he's just too much fun to write.

Thanks for the review! (:


 Report Review

Review #13, by flying_rabbit 

9th December 2010:
Wow, that was quite the Howler Lucy got there. I think it's quite imaginable that wizards send those to their debtors after some time of not receiving payment :) Just wondering, and I'm sorry if this has been mentioned before - why doesn't Lucy just apparate towards the school? Seems much easier, and less of a hassle. Or is she really that afraid of splinching herself? Sounds almost like she and Scorpius got their apparating licenses just so the instructors were finally rid of them.
Wow, that school really knows where to get its students xD Now they're doing yoga all of a sudden? Alright, if there's nothing else to do... but still. Where do you get your ideas :)
Scorpius really sounds like a big wimp, doesn't he? It's as if he has absolutely no strength in his body at all.
So... drinking too much gives them both a headache, which makes Scorpius stop thinking and/or worrying about Rose so much. He should do this more often :D
I bet it was quite a change for Scorpius - from his life in luxury at his parents' house to this shabby flat. But that's cool; I mean, I don't think I've seen this happen to Scorpius in other stories :) And it's a pity indeed that he failed his Potions NEWT. But why did he say earlier that it didn't have a label, and later, it's his own potion? Even if he made it himself, he could've just grabbed the wrong vial, right? It wouldn't have anything to do with his Potions grade...
Hahaha, Al's definitely cool. It's quite funny how he, pretty much like everyone else, I suppose, stays around even though/because the performance will be bad. You'd think Scorpius is used to it by now. Haha, and Lucy thought Al referred to Scorpius as 'that skinny boy'? I don't know why, but pretty funny :D And Lettuce sounds even more disturbing than he did last time.
Scorpius threw a daffodil? That's pretty hardcore indeed for him :D Did he really quit the band now, or will he be back? One thing though - Albus talks about his sister at the end; do you mean his cousin or does Lily also have something against Scorpius? Either way, if I were Scorpius, I'd hide. And, maybe Lucy should do so too, once they find out that she and Scorpius have been hanging out together for some time now.
Hopefully you'll manage to update soon! :)

Author's Response: I shall begin by being soppy and saying thank you for your super long reviews. I love hearing what you think about the chapters, you always have so much to say! So thank you (:

Okay, soppiness can be banished now. Onto the response.

Eek! Okay, now it's peppersweet-makes-lame-excuses-time! Lucy doesn't apparate because:
a) She's often quite tired/hungover/sickly/in the midst of a blonde moment and this affects her apparition performance.
b) She lives in muggle-infested London, so people would get the heebie-jeebies if she randomly dissapeared from the middle of a street and turned up on the other side of the city.
c) She likes the feeling of the wind in her hair (and pina coladas, and getting caught in the rain.)
Er, I did just make that up on the spot, but I hope it sufficed (:

Where do I get my ideas? Unfortunately, from real life. I signed up for yoga class at school and lay on a mat that smelled of feet listening to my PE teacher hollering all sorts about positivity and energy for about ten minutes before I decided it wasn't for me. She was all 'You are a POSITIVE soul! You bring LIGHT to others! SOULS!' etc and all I could think was 'I'm quite cynical and pessimisstic, actually.'

'So... drinking too much gives them both a headache, which makes Scorpius stop thinking and/or worrying about Rose so much. He should do this more often :D'
He may just take that advice in chapters to come.

'But why did he say earlier that it didn't have a label, and later, it's his own potion? Even if he made it himself, he could've just grabbed the wrong vial, right? It wouldn't have anything to do with his Potions grade...'
More lame excuses time! Er, Scorpius made the potion about a bajillion years ago, didn't label it, then mistook it for a headache potion. Erm...is that okay? Gosh, I should really proofread more often.

'One thing though - Albus talks about his sister at the end; do you mean his cousin or does Lily also have something against Scorpius?'
Proved by this. That's a huge typo on my part. I meant cousin D: I'll correct that when the queue opens again, it's utter stupidity and too many 2am writing sessions on my part.

'Did he really quit the band now, or will he be back? '
Screaming Bloodthirsty Disco are finito (:

Thank you very much for another super review! Looking forward to hearing what you think about chapter 8 (argh, it's so festive) ;D


 Report Review

Review #14, by justonemorefic 

8th December 2010:
I don't think I've heard Scorp's voice as sad as when he said "I splinched my fringe".

YES. YOGA. DUCKS. WHALE MUSIC. The absurdity never ceases.

‘Yeah, but the bloody blub has gone and we don’t have any spares,’

"He let an anguished sigh, staring dramatically upwards." I can't even complain about adverbs. It's just so Scorpius.

YOU MUST DESCRIBE THIS WITH MORE TERROR, I DEMAND IT > ‘Ah! Where?’ he shrieked.

I was JUST thinking about the child on the bike at this part:

"The sarcastic sting of his words was somewhat ruined by the bus that drove through a nearby puddle at that precise moment and drowned Scorpius’ feet. He frowned down at his sodden trainers, looking as miserable as the small puddle he now stood in.

‘At least you didn’t trip?’ I tried to console him. ‘At least it wasn’t a small child on a bike?’"

And I might've seen that visual gag a million times but I loveee how you describe it in words. OH AND THIS: "Scorpius frowned at the sky this time, as if pulling faces could influence the weather." AND today I learned what a begonia is. I am still so jealous of your bitter characterizations.

Oh and the (mustache'd) fails keep coming. Woman! You spoil me.

Okay I literally did a bad stifled laugh in which spit flew across my computer screen when Lettuce announced 'We’re going to play a little song for you about global warming...and kittens!’ AHAHAH--"the songs were so ‘avant-garde’ that it was hard to tell what was a wrong note and what was a right one." In my head, avant-garde translates to 'excuses'.

'I mean, he chucked a daffodil. That's hardcore for Scorpius.’ She took the words right out of my mouth.

WOEEE the chapter is over. It started a bit slow on the humor but MERLIN WOMAN YOU NEVER DISAPPOINT AS IT GOES ON. I have been waiting for the glorious reunion of Rose and Scorpius for ages now! Can't wait!

Author's Response: When I was writing it I was imagining it in a really small, downtrodden little voice. I was imagining how I'd said 'I forgot my coursework' to my English teacher on the crucial coursework deadline day. Believe me, I felt small then, so I just had to channel that into Scorpius and BAM! fringe.

Adverbs = so Scorpius, eh? I'm now determined to say clever things like Verbs = so Gwendoraven because she's always doing things, but, honestly, I got a B in my English report and I'm tired, so that's not going to happen.

You asked for it. " ‘Ah! Where?’ he shrieked, clawing at his chest in absolute terror, eyes popping with fear, gangly legs akimbo as he started to flee the scene, screeching at the very top of his voice at a frequency so high only dogs could hear it, and hence every dog in London began to howl. I hid in a bush to escape the stares of passers-by."

'today I learned what a begonia is.'
SO DID I! Oh my, we're becoming regular little botanists, what with the Draco/Bonsai and all.

'Okay I literally did a bad stifled laugh in which spit flew across my computer screen'
GROSS. Actually no, I've done worse. In public. And in front of famous people. I'm glad I provoked such an intense reaction in you with my prose.

'I have been waiting for the glorious reunion of Rose and Scorpius for ages now! Can't wait!'
IT IS COMING! Quite a few chapters away, but Rose turns up in the next chapter. Definitely. Don't fear, there will be a reunion. Whether it spells bad or good for our peckish and creative friends I shall not say...

'In my head, avant-garde translates to 'excuses'.'
It has done in my head for what seems like most of my life.

Thank you for another review! Ah, you cheer me up, you do. If I could, I'd send you flowers...bonsai begonias, of course.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review