Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RedHairGinny 

24th April 2014:
Oh my gods!
This brought tears to my eyes!
It was amazing - the things I felt when I saw the Cattermoles coming to Hattie's house...
And I think you've done a beautiful portrayal of how people outside the Order view the entire war. The Weasleys, Remus and Tonks, Sirius and Snape and the Hogwarts staff and DA members were really at the epicentre of this whole war.
The others - outside this tight circle - must be really confused all the time and the grief they would feel when a family member died, all of this is shown in a wonderful way here!

All I can say is - I can't imagine how this isn't canon!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wanted to show the effects of the war on people who aren't in the Order, and bring the Unsinkable characters forward into the canon timeline as well. And bringing in the Cattermoles was fun to do. The Order would have needed ways to get Muggleborns out of the country when they could, so I liked this idea. And it let Hattie help, which was good for her. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheWorldISee 

4th April 2011:
Poor Hattie, what a sad story. But you've done it again, this is marvelous work. The way you weave the details from the series into this one is really remarkable. It's great to think of Arthur and Molly figuring out that it was Harry, Ron and Hermione at the Ministry that day. I'd like to think they did so they would know not to be worried about whether or not they were still alive. This is a great, albeit sad story. 10/10.

Author's Response: I wanted to use this story both to give Hattie an additional story and to fit her into canon, even if in a small way. I hope Molly and Arthur did find out that it was the trio in the Ministry that day. I imagine it would have given them some comfort.

Thank you so much for all the wonderful reviews you've left! I've loved reading them. If you'll excuse a blatant advertisement/beg for reviews, have you read my NextGen novels? Just Another Midnight Run, and the sequel is nearly complete now too. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginny 

21st February 2011:
I have read many fanfiction stories bu none have been more accurate that yours. Everything from the details from the actual novels to the mannerisms of he characters. Ive read most of your stories and instantly became connected to your own characters. You would make an excellent author of your own stories.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much, I am totally speechless! I'm hoping to get published someday with my original stories, so this review really means a lot to me. Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by RonsGirlFriday 

15th February 2011:
It seems like it's been so long since I've read anything of yours, when I finally went poking around for some new stories I saw this one and spazzed out momentarily. (Omnomnom Unsinkableverse!)

This just killed me, it's so beautiful and heartbreaking. Once again you inspire me with your ability to dig into human emotion and relationships, and bring them to life with your words, but without overcooking it into some kind of meaningless mush. I was so glad to read more about Hattie's character, in another era of her life and in the face of a new and more terrible kind of adversity. Her anger and grief were palpable. And even though the story was Hattie-centric, Molly and Arthur shine as always. Your interpretation of them is pitch perfect.

I really liked how you blended in the DH Ministry break-in, with all these characters trying to piece together what really happened while we as readers know the full story - another example of the excellent attention you pay to canon details, and how you really set your stories in the HP world, not using canon events as a mere afterthought. The effect of it is that this seems like a scene that could really have happened.

I can has more Reid, please? You have no idea how glad I was to see him lurking around this story. XD

Melanie

Author's Response: lol! Omnomnom. That was hilarious. It made me really happy though. I kind of miss writing the Unsinkableverse - I love Rose, but I was thinking I haven't written anything on these guys in like four months. I have some stuff on Siobhan I want to write. Maybe I'll get to that this spring, after I finish off with Weirder Shade of Midnight.

I am seriously ecstatic at this review - I am sooo pleased that you liked this story so much! I adore sorting canon details and events into the stories I've already written (I think it's been easier on me than on some past writers since I started my pre-Hogwarts stories after reading all the books), it always makes me happy to hear someone appreciates it. :)

Poor Hattie, this is a horrible time for her. Here's a backstage detail: I had originally intended to kill off Edwin as well. He was supposed to have died when Hattie's youngest was only about two years old. But then I started writing further and really wanted him in the story - and I thought it was too much for Hattie to lose her husband and her son. So he got a reprieve and I actually think the story worked better with showing how he is dealing with his son's death. I liked putting in a flash of Beatrice's grief for her brother, too. Hattie's very internalized at this point, like she's almost forgotten she's not the only one grieving. She's having the roughest time of it, though.

Did you read the Reid chapter in "All Things Life Must Be"? He gets brief mentions in other chapters, mostly the Cosmo one. The Siobhan stuff I mentioned above, he does appear in it. I need to finish that.

Thank you, thank you for this review! I loved reading it.


 Report Review

Review #5, by jrg0715 

17th October 2010:
You are very good at giving words to the feelings of grief and the pain of loss. I think that is a difficult thing to do and you've done it so well. It's easy to write a story with a happy ending but to write a story that doesn't have a happily ever after and still leave the reader satisfied is real talent. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I love a happily ever after now and then, but sometimes I'm just in the mood for life, and life is messy and ugly and doesn't end in tidy ways, kwim? Thanks for the review and the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kristin 

17th October 2010:
What, did you just finish the story? Oh no, I'd been expecting so much more :( That doesn't mean this wasn't good, of course, because it was. I'm not surprised about Reid. Poor bloke. But please ... write more about the 'unsinkable' characters? :)

Author's Response: Yes, it was just the three chapters. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't think I'm done with the Unsinkable-verse, but for now there's nothing in the pipe. I'm still debating whether to do NaNoWriMo or continue with my ff plans for a Midnight Run sequel. Sigh. Anyway, thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by LidaRose 

16th October 2010:
Another beautiful story. I've come to love the Unsinkable OCs as much as many of the canon characters. They're so real and fit so wonderfully that I sometimes forget they're not a part of it, and miss them in the novels or other stories.
I hope you never run out of inspiration.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! In my head, they're all real, so I'm glad other people think that way sometimes too. I feel less crazy ;) Seriously though, this is such a wonderful review, it really made my day. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Georgia Weasley 

12th October 2010:
This was beautiful. Achingly so. I identify with poor Hattie so closely. She is strong, angry, defiant in the face that such tragedy should dare touch her family. But inside, she comes to terms with her grief, thanks to Reid. Gah, I love him. The little snippets you give about how his life turned out makes me sad for him. There really was no other for him besides Cecelia. Trying to make it so didn't change that fact. Again, your details and character development make this story so real and so alive that I can see it. Beautiful job, hon.
One little typo. When Beatrice is telling the children about Portkeys, you have "Floor" powder instead of "Floo". Dang spell check!
10 billion out of 10, as usual.~GW

Author's Response: Poor Reid, he's a pretty pathetic guy in a lot of ways. He really wants Cecilia back, but nobody else is the same, even if they look a lot alike and act like her in some ways. It's not the same. Anyway, omg funniest typo ever! I went and fixed it. That's hilarious. Thanks, autocorrect! I'll have to add "Floo" to my OpenOffice dictionary. Hattie is a lot stronger than she might seem, with all her pink and propriety, she's my British steel magnolia ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #9, by GinnyCullen 

11th October 2010:
Hattie is not one of my favourite OC's of yours but Reid is! I love that they are so close after all these years. I love how he is so messed up from his first loves death that he can't keep a stable relationship. It shows how hard death is on some people. The Cherry Tree was by far one of my favourite things that you had in this chapter, it reminded me of the rose bush. I can't wait to see what you have up your enlightening sleeve.

Love GinnyC

Author's Response: I do love Reid. He's such an idiot haha. I'm pretty fond of Hattie, though, I really like her. Reid is still messed up, but then, he was always a little messed up anyway - his obsession/stalking of Cecilia was pretty unhealthy.

Thank you so much! I'm not sure what story I'm going to be writing next, I think I'm going to take a little break until Halloween or so. I still haven't decided if I want to tackle NaNo this year. Anyway, thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Canadian_Hogwarts 

11th October 2010:
Wow. Once again, I'm impressed. I loved everything about it. When Arthur was telling Hattie about Harry, it made me think. You never realize how horrible Harry's life really is; he doesn't dwell on it continually during the books. But when Hattie was comparing his life to her own son's it really showed how different and terrible it must be fr Harry. On another note, I loved the little snatch of humour between Reid and Hattie. He would be banned from a country, wouldn't he? I'm glad to see that Reid eventually continued on with his life, even if he married quite a few women. I guess that's the only way he would be able to deal with all the loss. Anyways, I just want to say that this was a really great story, and I was always waiting for a new chapter... and I'd be very happy if any new stories that focused on these characters surfaced. Once again, great story!

Author's Response: Harry has a crap life, really. A lot of horrible stuff happens to him, but as Ron points out in OotP, Harry always gets away with stuff. ;) And Reid, oh he is definitely the type. He isn't banned *exactly*, but returning to Tahiti would be a very bad idea. I think it's only when Reid lets go of the idea that he can find and marry another version of Cecilia that he actually finds a woman worth loving in her own right, if that makes sense. Thank you so much for the review! I don't think I'll ever say I'm totally done with the Unsinkable-verse, but for now, I have nothing else planned. I always have it in mind, though. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #11, by thehyacinthgirl 

11th October 2010:
This very nearly made me cry. It was so beautiful and simply so sad. I can't imagine what Hattie must be going through, but we all know it can't be anything good.

I absolutely adore, like I've said before, how you fit your OC's so well within the canon and give them ties to canon characters without it being over the top or displacing them from the 'canon' realm. It's amazing.

Just to clarify from the last chapter since there seemed to be some confusion - I was well aware that the Cattermoles were in the canon (if barely), but what I meant was you miraculously wove them in with your OC's in a way that I found convincing.

Your descriptions and the way that you wrote their emotions was so beautifully done. I absolutely loved that Reid was the one to comfort Hattie. It just was sweet and tender and I wanted to give them both a hug.

I also was glad that Hattie could finally get over her anger, so that she could move on through the grieving process. Not that it ever means that she'll forget her son, but she can still move on and get on with her life.

I found this chapter to be very realistic and very tragic, as well. Yet the ending seemed bittersweet.

I also wanted to mention how much I loved your descriptions of the cherry tree. I wish that it could have, at least, given her one blossom, but I think that it was better the way that you wrote it.

This was a gorgeous story full of depth and musing, and I really liked it. Very much so!

Don't worry about the name change confusion . . .some other people don't seem quite used to it, either. At least, not yet. :3


Linders

Author's Response: Reid has become Hattie's other best friend, her brother. Despite him being in such utterly different places in his life than her, they always remain close. He pretty much reserves any emotional depth he has left for Hattie, which is kind of a shame for his ex-wives.

I love cherry trees. The ones along the banks of the Potomac in Washington D.C. are gorgeous when they bloom. The cherry tree will bloom again, and Hattie will appreciate it even more, but it was the wrong time of year for it. It was definitely meant to be bittersweet.

I'm really glad you liked this story, and my characters. I'm pretty fond of the Unsinkable group myself, so it always makes me very happy when reviewers like them as well :) Thank for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review