Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cleopatraa 

24th December 2012:
Such an interesting idea you have here. Iíve not read anything like that before and it is rather a shame. You always see how the main characters deal in this period so it is nice to see how someone, who isnít in the order or a death eater, wants to contribute in a way. Especially the way it happened. After the death of her son. Her motives are different yet I think most people would contribute after such an event like this would happen . Not everyone is as brave as the Weasleys. I like the way your characterized her. Especially when she didnít want to send her daughters to Hogwarts. My own mother would have probably wanted the same. I also thought this was rather realistic, even though they have connections to several main characters, it still seems realistic. After all Harry would not know all of the Weasleys friends. I liked the way the Weasleys supported them. Its such a Weasley action. As you can notice from my review I really liked this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't see a lot of these sort of stories either. This one is part of a larger series, so these characters are ones I've written before, especially Hattie. I created her to be Molly's best friend when I was writing The Unsinkable Molly Prewett (Molly and Arthur's 6th year at Hogwarts). Hattie's not as brave as the Weasleys, yes, but she was a Gryffindor after all. Sending the kids to Hogwarts must have been very scary that year, I would've wanted to keep my kids home. They are connected to main characters but it's a bit peripheral. This is Molly's friend from school, not someone that Harry is going to interact with really. :) Anyway thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rose_Weasley123 

17th October 2010:
Ever since you requested my banner for this story, I've been meaning to read this. And wow, am I glad I did.

I love tha characterisation you've done here. The Weasleys seem perfectly in canon, and your OCs are really well done. Reading other reviews, I gather you've written them before, in the Unsinkable Molly Prewitt? I'll definitely go and read that now, because the characters you have here are really interesting.

The writing style is perfect, striking the perfect balance of description and dialogue, and the emotions are portrayed perfectly ^^.

I just love this! I'll definitely be reading more of your work :D.

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by! And for the banner, I really love it :) Yes, these characters originated in Unsinkable, and have continued throughout that series (The Unsinkable Molly Prewett, Fireworks, The Black Velvet Band, I Will Follow, Shift, What It's Worth, At The Hour, Over the Anvil, and All Things Life Must Be).

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by GinnyCullen 

6th October 2010:
This is sad and makes me want to go back to The Unsinkable Molly Prewett story when everything was happy. I loved the chapter though and think it was brilliant. Can't wait to see what you have in store for these darling characters!

Author's Response: I kind of feel that way sometimes too. It was fun to write everybody happy, but it's more interesting to write them with hardships. I suppose it all works out. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by couldyoureallyknow 

2nd October 2010:
i think this is really great from hattie's POV i really like this idea and how you branched out like this :)
write more soon please!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it! It was fun to write adult Hattie, even if it's very sad and angsty. Branching out, yeah :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Kristin 

29th September 2010:
It's good to see that you haven't lost your characters, despite of the years, kids and wars that have passed. Although there wasn't a lot of action in this chapter, I'm already hooked :) I feel so sorry for Hattie, but while I do sympathize with her way of acting, I'm also a bit worried that she's doing things too quickly. The last dialogue (between Hattie & Edwin) was brilliant and sent shivers down my spine ("The greater good" ...).

Author's Response: She's taking it hard, of course, and her grieving process is still in the anger stages. I think she is doing things too quickly and without thinking about them too much, but that's all part of her dealing with her son's death. She wants to distract herself, and to feel like she's contributing to the effort against his murderers, kwim? Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by almonster 

28th September 2010:
Oh dear, poor poor Hattie. She's such a good person and to lose her son... I'm happy she's starting to help the order. I love your stories. You're awesome. Can't wait to read more.

~alex

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This story has been percolating in my head (and in my OpenOffice files) for a long time now - two years I think - so I'm glad to finally write it and post it. And I'm very glad you like it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Georgia Weasley 

24th September 2010:
Such a different Hattie here. Grief like that will do those things to you. Makes you harder and a bit colder, and refines what's both good and bad about you. You depicted her rage at the audacity that she could lose her son after the war was supposed to have ended with Harry so brilliantly. The parts that got me most, though, were her interactions with Edwin. That distance between them was so painfully obvious. I identify with Hattie so well in this, as I react in grief the same way she did. Anger and a driving need to do something, anything, to rectify the situation and get some revenge for the pain nearly chokes her. She's become a different woman, and Molly can see that, I think. I loved the depiction of Molly and Arthur in this, looking out for their friends but wholly on the side of right and good. This is a great story, as always. Well done.~GW

Author's Response: Yes, exactly, Hattie is very brittle at this point. She and Edwin are pretty stretched thin here, driven apart a bit. And yeah, I wanted to highlight the sacrifices Molly and Arthur have made for the cause over the years. They've lost a lot, the entire Weasley-Prewett family has, and I think that gets glossed over a lot in fan fiction.

I'm glad you liked it! Yay! I love hearing your opinion on my stories. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Canadian_Hogwarts 

23rd September 2010:
Yay! It's up! I've wanted to read a war story based on Molly and Arthur's friends. It's going to be amazing... heck, it's already amazing! Update soon!

Author's Response: Aw thanks, I'm glad you were excited about it! I hope you continue to like it. I'm still working on chapter two, hopefully will be up sometime next week. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by I Heart Remus 

22nd September 2010:
This is amazing! I love seeing Arthur and Molly within both the Unsinkable series and the plot. Excellent story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by thehyacinthgirl 

22nd September 2010:
The title is the first thing that drew me in. I love cherry blossoms, and I can't wait to see the way that ties into the story - though, I have a bit of an idea already. We'll see if I'm right.

Your pieces are always so full of complexity, depth, and emotion. This was no exception! I absolutely loved it.

I adored your descriptions of Hattie and her anger. I'm sure the grief will come eventually, but I think her fury was depicted realistically.

Then the way she wants to help with the war effort, it's really admirable. I was angry with Edwin for questioning her, but I couldn't help but feel bad for him when Hattie was so sharp with him. All things considering, though, it was understandable.

Your characterizations, as always, are brilliant. I think that your characters are some of the lifelike that I've ever come across and I love that about them.

This is surprisingly very close to canon which I give you kudos for. I think very few authors could pull their OC's from a different era and put them into a DH and pull it off half as convincingly as you did!

Awesome job!

Keep up the good work!


Linders

Author's Response: We'll see if you got the cherries ;) It started with a song, I'll say that much. This story was originally meant to be for a challenge, but that was about two years ago, and it's long done. So it's going to have to stand on its own feet, I suppose.

This is definitely not a good time between Hattie and Edwin, though they're still in love of course, it's just how they're both dealing with their son's death. Each pulling away a bit, but they'll get through it. I'm a romantic lol, I like happy endings, even when I kill characters off.

Edwin's concern over Hattie endangering the family isn't unreasonable, I think, now that two of their girls are at school - remember what happened to Luna when her dad was working against Voldemort.

I set Hattie's children's ages to fall into canon pretty carefully. Humphrey was Percy's age, Beatrice is Fred & George's age (she was a Hufflepuff), Addie is friends with Romilda Vane you see - a year younger than Ginny - and Effie is a year younger than Addie. So they can fit in without anybody being in Harry's way, as it were. You know how obsessive I am about canon. I've always had in mind how the Unsinkable characters could fit in during the DH era into canon.

I like your new username! Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review