Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm 

11th July 2014:
Ok, this gave me so many mixed emotions! ♥

First I was feeling as if my heart would break from the sadness about Dustan and Gemma not being able to have any children because it just seemed as if they wanted them so badly and to be denied that was so, so sad. You wrote those scenes so well and they were so powerful I’m sure they’ll stay in my mind for a while.

I really liked how you addressed the fall of Voldemort and what everyone’s reactions to it were, because I didn’t see it coming in this story so I was really caught by the shock and surprise they must have all faced when it happened. I loved how you made Harry and the Weasleys crop up a lot in conversation as it just made me laugh that no one knew then what that family would mean to Harry.

Finally, the ending! ♥ That really was lovely that even though the two of them had decided to give up on the idea of children, they could still have something to love in a way with the dogs and that was just so sweet and so adorable and I really loved that scene!

This was such a good read!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by RonsGirlFriday 

9th March 2011:
I'll be honest and say I'm glad you ended this with a squishy, happy feeling. :-D How adorable. And of course I love that you tied it in with Voldemort's defeat by baby Harry - it puts us right back at the beginning of canon! Dunstan wondering who the devil was Harry Potter made me laugh a bit.

This has been so wonderful to read. Your OC's are hands-down the best I have EVER read. And now that I think I have caught up on all recent Unsinkable stuff, I will promptly go back into withdrawals (seriously, have you considered the idea that nobody is ever going to get enough of this, and we're going to force you to keep writing Unsinkablicious stuff until you're about 90 years old??) :-)

Melanie ♥

Author's Response: It was a lot of sadness in this one, wasn't it? But it's wartime, so... And Dunstan and Gemma will be happy once they can let go of the dream of parenthood and let themselves have a new dream. At least they have each other. I had fun with the Harry Potter bit, because he's so famous at age 11, but no one would have known who he was before that day.

Thank you, thank you! I'm so pleased that you like my OCs. I'm pretty fond of them, so it makes me very happy (and relieved) when readers like them too. I hadn't considered that - haha! I figured people were probably done by now with this stuff. I've written so much in the Unsinkable-verse, but I don't think I'd ever really say I'm done with it. Maybe I should work on another one after I finish up Rose's latest adventure.


 Report Review

Review #3, by jrg0715 

3rd March 2011:
I am always so astounded by your ability to make me care about noncannon characters. It's a testament to your talent as a writer. You have a skill that can't help but surpass fan fiction. I hope you never leave the genre but you could be a very successful writer of original fiction. I would buy anything you write!!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much. I can't even tell you how much this review means to me. *hug* Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by GinnyCullen 

4th October 2010:
This was a sad chapter with a happy ending. I love it thats all I can say. that and I am so sorry for Dunstan and Gemma poor things.

Author's Response: It's sad, yeah. I felt bad doing this to Dunstan. He'd have been a decent father, he's a pretty good guy. I did like throwing in more of Petula's life here, though. I picture her living down the road from Dunstan for the rest of their lives, both popping in and out of each other's houses all the time.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked these stories, even though many are quite sad.


 Report Review

Review #5, by LidaRose 

17th September 2010:
Aww... As always, delightful. SO glad to see all of these little moments.

Hope to see more from you soon!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm going to be posting the first chapter of a short story set in the DH, focusing on Hattie, very soon :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jen 

16th September 2010:
Oh... puppies. That's my solution too. I reached a conclusion that I wasn't meant to have kids in this life, but I love my little puppy to bits. :)
I like this chapter. bitter sweet, but they love each other and will be just fine in the long run.

Author's Response: lol. I'm actually not a dog person, I don't like them much. But, it's what I had planned for Dunstan and Gemma for quite a long time now :)

Bittersweet, yeah, but they will be all right. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by LindaSnape 

15th September 2010:
What an ending!

This story made me sad. I know that it's supposed to be so happy because the Dark Lord's gone and Gemma has her puppies, but it made me cry.

I feel so bad for her and Dunstan. I can't imagine how painful it must have been for them knowing that all their friends had the one thing that they couldn't, children.

I don't know if that was your intention or not, but that was all I could focus on.

I couldn't be happy even with the Dark Lord gone.

Your characterizations were brilliant, but really that doesn't come as a surprise anymore. I have to say that I liked Dunstan more than Gemma. I'm not sure why, but I do. Not that it should have to be a competition, that's just the way it turned out. (For me.)

Your descriptions were brilliant, as per usual, and I'm glad that the story ended on a happy note (even if it couldn't make me happy maybe it will work on someone else).

I was surprised to see that Petula resurfaced, but I'm glad that she wasn't forgotten. Three children, though? I never would have imagined that from her, and I'm not entirely sure why.

Beautiful job!


Linders

Author's Response: Yes, definitely the focus is on their infertility, and it's not really supposed to be happy. They aren't even fully able to appreciate the defeat (alleged) of Voldy. I had originally intended they were childless by choice, but when I started writing, they wouldn't have it any other way but they had been unable to have them. Either way they wind up breeding Yorkies, and hanging out with Petula and her kids.

I'm kind of surprised you were surprised at Petula's appearance lol. She's Dunstan's best friend. I think I said in my MTA thread once that Petula and Dunstan live down the road from each other in Yorkshire. Anyway, I like her, and I wanted to reveal a bit more about her. Jeffrey Ockham is a bit like Johnny Lupin in JAMR ;) Petula's flakey, but I don't see why she wouldn't have kids.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate hearing your thoughts, and I'm glad you liked the stories!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aidenk77 

15th September 2010:
Oh wow. I've enjoyed this series so much, I'm a bit sad now that this has come to an end, I guess this is the end for the 'Unsinkable' series too...

Anyway, fantastic work and thanks. :D

Aiden

Author's Response: Not quite over yet! The next thing upcoming will be "Cherry Blossoms", a DH-era short story revolving around Hattie. I'm not sure if that will be the last of the Unsinkable series or not.

I'm so glad you enjoyed these stories! I had fun writing them (or as much fun as one can have throwing curveballs at one's characters, I suppose). Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review