Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm 

10th July 2014:
Omg, what did you do to me with this story!? I actually have tears in my eyes and I just donít know what to do with myself.

On the one hand I was really hoping the person was Cecilia whilst Reid was talking because then I would have known they actually managed to stay together and then be married, but I didnít want it to be her too because then she would be dead and gone which would be too sad and too much to deal with. Reidís emotions and voice when he was talking to her or thinking about her throughout though was so raw and so pure it made it hurt even more than before, because he was just trying to keep it normal and sane for her but he just couldnít at other times and I didnít know what to do.

Here, the mentions of everyone else like Hattie, Molly and Arthur and Petula were just too much as it made Cecilia being gone even worse as I knew they were carrying on their lives and living while she was gone. The ending was what did it for me though because Reid was stuck in this weird in-between state with the way he was clinging onto her but wanting to move on too, and I just didnít know what to do. At least there was a glimmer of hope with the way Hattie was helping him plant the roses so they can live on happily together I hope.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by GryffindorSeeker4 

17th August 2013:
You should have warned me that I would need a box of tissues! Poor Reid!

Author's Response: Aww sorry! This is a sad one, I know. Poor guy. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheWorldISee 

4th April 2011:
Poor Reid... his has become a story that tugs at one's heartstrings. These one shots are as amazing as all your work is. It's great to get these little snippets of what is happening in their lives and sort of fill in the rest yourself. Marvelous job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Poor Reid, yeah. He winds up a bit tragic, but he presses on. Bit of a backslide here though - he kind of snaps a bit. I'm really pleased that you're enjoying this addition to the OC stories :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by RonsGirlFriday 

9th March 2011:
*sob*

Where to even start? Reid's devastation, even three years later, is so palpable. What stuck out to me a lot was his attitude towards digging up the rose bush - in contrast to Hattie, whose first thought is that it's a very odd thing to do, in Reid's mind it makes perfect sense, and nothing will convince him otherwise.

These quotes are wonderful:

If only it said beloved wife instead of beloved daughter, so he could know that he still belonged to her, even when she was gone. Mad, he knew. She'd owned him, heart and soul, since he was sixteen. Maybe before, even.

He wasn't sure how he'd survived without Cecilia, come to that. It had to be because Hattie had told him he must.

"I miss you," he whispered, staring at Cecilia's roses, and Hattie, who always knew when to pretend she hadn't heard something, pretended not to hear him.

Seriously close to bawling right now. And I love the relationship between Reid and Hattie. It's gorgeous. I love it.

Melanie

Author's Response: Poor Reid. Yeah, Hattie is aware that he's sort of lost it here, but Reid isn't seeing it. Sinking into madness for a minute there, but Hattie will drag him back. It's what she does. Hattie and Reid developed sort of slowly through Unsinkable and WIW, and then in Over The Anvil, Hattie really takes charge of Reid. But never in a romantic way; they only ever were friends. I think it's good for both of them.

I tried to show that he had been getting better, but this was sort of a big set-back for him. He says to Cecilia that he hasn't been by for a few weeks - he's getting to the point where he doesn't visit her grave as often, which is good for his grieving process. Anyway, hopefully that made sense. As much as Reid's disjointed thoughts can make sense here.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by GinnyCullen 

3rd October 2010:
You were right this was horrid sad. Reid and Cecilia are my favourite OC's of yours. The story of them is so strange i love them both dearly. I love that you slowly put in things like The baby crawling or that Petulia had a baby as well and that hattie is married. You are gifted with words my dear and I am glad for those words have touched my heart. Congrats on a great story you are an amazing Ravenclaw!

Author's Response: I have to admit, I sort of enjoy throwing tragedy at Reid. Poor guy. He kind of snaps a bit here.

This review really left me speechless. I don't even know what to say! You are so sweet, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Georgia Weasley 

20th September 2010:
Oh my god. Girl, how desperately beautiful. His grief is almost palpable, and my eyes are full of Reid's tears. I don't have words for this one. ~GW

Author's Response: This is the first one I wrote deliberately for this collection (the Hattie chapter had been written just for funsies), and yeah, it's super-sad. Reid really loses it when he finds out Cecilia's house was sold, but fortunately Hattie is around to draw him back to sanity when he needs it. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by LindaSnape 

25th August 2010:
Hey there!

Sorry it took me so long to get to reviewing this. I hadn't realized that you'd updated again. I read Cosmo's chapter, and thought it was quite sad and heartbreaking ó then I read this.

This was so sad. Like Jo said, it wasn't over the top, but it was still quite tragic!

I cannot help but want to hug Reid and tell him that everything will get better, but in all honesty, how could I possibly know? How do any of us know really? I know how hard it can be to lose someone and years later óyou think of them, and the wound is just as fresh as if they had died the day previous.

As always, I loved your characterizations. I adored Reid and Hattie. Oh goodness! She is such a doll. I just want to hug her. I'm so glad that they're making sure that Cecilia gets her roses. It was really quite eccentric of him (yet thoughtful, too) that he should give them to her.

I still adore Hattie/Edwin. Edwin really does seem to be a good man, and I adore him. Though, we haven't seen much of him.

Ah, I think this might be my favorite chapter. :)

As always, I didn't find any grammatical errors, and I absolutely love that! I've said it a thousand times, but I really do appreciate the time and effort authors take to give their works that polished look. It makes reading things like this such a pleasure.

Also, like Jo, I do appreciate, too, that you don't resort to cheap sexual degradation simply to get a read, and not always or simply resorting to that gives your works a touch of realism; I think.

Not everyone's relationship is based on that alone (and I think you would be hard pressed to find a relationship solely based on that), and it is refreshing to read a story that doesn't discuss it frequently, if at all.

Great work!


Linders

Author's Response: Hi Linda! Thanks for stopping by, I always love reading your reviews. :)

Poor Reid, he really kind of snaps here. He's been getting better, but finding out her house has been sold sort of makes him lose his grip on reality for a bit. Hattie obviously realizes the insanity of digging up the rosebush and planting it on Cecilia's grave, but she goes along with it because she is a romantic, and she really does care about Reid. Edwin is a really good guy - I wanted to finally give Hattie someone to love.

I'm really not a fan of the cheap sex "plots" that frequently appear in fanfics. It doesn't show anything about the characters, and it just isn't interesting to me. I'd rather read (and write) about emotions.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you liked this chapter. It's been my favorite so far too.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Margravine 

25th August 2010:
Oh my goodness.

Firstl, I do have to apologise - not only have I been MIA from ff for personal reasons, but I also didn't realise this collection was even out til now! I can't tell you HOW much I enjoy your writing and this collection really showcases you at your very best. I love how real your characters are, how polished your writing is, and how you never, ever, resort to cheap gimmicks and base your stories exclusively around sexual tension.

It's an incredible pleasure to follow your stories, which read like published work, and I keep putting off reviewing until I have time to do you justice (which never comes :P). Long way of saying I owe you a million reviews and will maybe deliver eventually :P

I had to drop you a short line now though, because this chapter very nearly made me cry. It was so, so heartbreaking, but not over the top - it felt perfectly natural, and I loved how you connected the oneshots throughsmall things (Hattie/Edwin is my new favourite ship)

I look forward to reading the rest!

Author's Response: It's good to see you back! And I was extremely happy to get this review, I was a little concerned at the lack of response to this chapter, which I'm pretty fond of.

I ship Hattie/Edwin too ;) And I am trying to keep some continuity as I bounce through the years, although the next one will have less of it, since Siobhan has been away for years.

I hope you do review the others! I always love reviews. But I'm glad to hear you're still reading and enjoying the stories anyway :) Thank you so much for the lovely compliments on my writing, and for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jen 

22nd August 2010:
*sniff*
Beautiful. Thanks. xx

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review