Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by magnolia_magic 

18th July 2013:
Hi, back again! I love that Audrey's family is so close, and I really do think that's one of the biggest strengths of this story so far. The scenes with Audrey and her family just warm me. They each have their little role to play, and they all just fit together so well. And I think Audrey's father is becoming my favorite character besides Audrey and Percy themselves. He's so wise in such an unassuming way, which reminds me of Audrey. You would never know he was once a hit wizard! And I love that he has a different flower name for all his girls; that's such a sweet and indulgent little thing. It's things like that which really bring characters to life, and I think you've done a great job paying attention to those little details so far. It's just a pleasure to read!

And more Percy/Audrey feels! Awesome! The thing about a good relationship is that the partners make each other better in ways. I loved seeing the beginnings of that with Audrey suggesting that Percy be a little nicer to his co-workers. It's not a bad suggestion for him, as he can be so intimidating, and it was great to see Audrey confident enough to bring it up. And the kiss! Of course I loved that part! I was very surprised to see Audrey take the initiative, but hey, one of them had to sometime. And it all worked out for the best :)

This is such a fun story to read! You've done such a wonderful job on it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark Whisper 

4th February 2013:
Awe... their first kiss was so sweet! He was nervous... adorable! 'What's wrong with him?' Hahaha!

I LOVE her timing... "half second... 2 seconds, 5 tops." LOL! That had me laughing out loud, it was so cute!

I must say that I really like her father. He seems so patient and I see him as a big teddy bear type. He is wonderfully supportive. :)

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #3, by mystic05 

2nd January 2012:
I barely started reading this story today...
Found it in the Dobbys for best romance I believe and boy does it deserve it
I'm absolutely in love with this its so well written and just downright awesome I cant wait til you have a new chapter up since I seem to be going through the chapters like nothing lol


 Report Review

Review #4, by Owlpost68 

27th November 2011:
Yayy!!! good for her :D lol, I liked she just told Percy to be nice, and that's all it took lol he's whipped :P Cutest kiss ever? I think so :D I love all the interaction with her family too, just seeing how close everyone is, and how much they love each other has been clear from the very beginning and I love it! I am now becoming addicted to this story, so you now can't delay us too long on chapters, pretty please? lol no, really I understand, I'm just being encouraging :) Really love this story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by seymlour 

19th November 2011:
Once again, I'm just utterly baffled at how you're making such a nice, realistic... wonderful thing out of Percy and Audrey... Again, I find it especially impressive as ultimately, we know nothing about Audrey, and Percy hasn't been an enormously central character in the canon... So I imagine it must be kind of difficult to piece together - I certainly wouldn't be able to. Great job, truly.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Marie 

12th November 2011:
Ah! This is, by far, the best fanfic I have ever read. And I mean it. I always disliked Percy before but now I think I am seriously in love with him. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by reading_is_my_life 

1st February 2011:
I love Percy and Audrey! Hurry and update

Author's Response: Haha, trying. :-) Working on the next chapter currently. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Aderyn 

24th January 2011:
ahh! this is a simply wonderful story! i love how you made Percy likeable, when most people keep him as a prat. And Audrey is a quite refreshing character as well.

I'd be so happy if you updated this. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I know I've been on a hiatus for a long time, but I'm back now and working on the next chapter...
:-)


 Report Review

Review #9, by ivelostmywaffel 

17th January 2011:
this is amazing.
absolutely love it!


Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Serendipityyyy 

14th January 2011:
this is seriously cute. i love percy :D

Author's Response: Haha, thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Arthur 

26th December 2010:
Melanie--
I am in love with this story!

I absolutely adore Percy/Audrey. My little sister does as well and we're always being teased for it.

Percy really isn't talked about all that much. All that is written about him in the books makes him seem extremely arogant and bossy. Sure he probably can be super bossy, but who hasn't?

Actually, in my own messed up little mind, Audrey has always been a muggle. You're right in saying that wizard/muggle relationships can be quite boring to read about. It think it just depends on the person writing and also how the reader is taking in what they are reading. And in most of those relationships, the wizard is female and the muggle male. I really like that you switched that with Audrey's parents. Audrey's dad makes me laugh so much.

"oh, so he's one of those fellows who doesn't have a surname, is he?"

LOL

But, yeah, i aboslutly love, love, love this story and your writing style. It's like your funny without trying to be. You could read some stories on this site that obviously show that the author was trying too hard to be funny.

Irrational is my absolute FAVORITE story on this site, no doubt about it. I love that it's got this great simplicity to it that is so appealing to a reader. Great smooth storyline, the chapters fit really well together. Alot of stories like this--at least the ones i've read--seem to get really choppy, but, NO, not this. Irrational is lovely and reading this story just makes me smile :) *happiness*

Well I 'spose i should probably stop rambling on about all this now.
**Lots of Love**
--Arthur

P.S.-- I'm stalking this story and i've been checking everyday for a new chapter.
I really don't want to sound whiny but you really need to put up a new chapter! I am normally a very patient person but everyone has a breaking point.
Mine was reached a week ago, and i fear i may be close to spontaneous combustion.

Author's Response: Hi Arthur! Thank you for the review, and I'm so sorry it took me so long to respond!

Despite his arrogance and bossiness, I have always had a soft spot for Percy. And I don't fool myself into thinking that he would ever have been able to get away from his Type-A characteristics, but it's part of what I like about him, and I think he can be a decent person despite being uptight.

I have read stories where Audrey is a Muggle, and I can see the appeal. For some reason I really wanted her to be a witch, though (but I wanted them to not have met yet, which meant she couldn't have gone to Hogwarts, which meant homeschooling). :-P

I am so happy and flattered that you like this story. I do apologize for the erratic updating and long periods of time in between new chapters. I've recently taken a long hiatus from the site, but I'm back now and really trying to finish up Chapter 7. Hope to see you back when it's posted!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #12, by a_pevensie 

23rd October 2010:
I love this! Poor Percy, he needs some love, and this story is excellent. Nice to see him portrayed realistically - because he IS flawed, and kind of bossy, and insecure, but also hurting, and not a bad guy. And I like Vivian - like Percy, she's a realistic character (no Mary Sues here, thank goodness!) and their their relationship so far, such as it currently is, really works. Looking forward to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Canadian_Hogwarts 

9th October 2010:
Yay! Finally! I've been waiting for that forever! Perfect scene! Absolutely perfect. You're making me fall in love with Percy a little bit more every sentence. Now, at risk of sounding all bossy and Percylike, YOU HAVE TO UPDATE REALLY, REALLY SOON! I'm serious. I'm going to go into unupdated- story induced shock. I'll be sitting in class one day, and then I'll spontaneously have a major breakdown because I don't know what's happened with Audrey and Percy. You wouldn't want to be the cause of that now, would you? So the path is obvious. This story must be updated... and soon. Great work on this, and every other story. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you!! I know, I am really behind on updating...my job is keeping me really busy lately, and I haven't been able to write anything in weeks...but I'll try to get a new chapter up soon!! Don't have a breakdown! I could not live with that on my shoulders! XD

Thanks again!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #14, by arielle.pevensie 

12th September 2010:
Lovely story :) Poor Percy gets the short end of the stick a lot, so I love the depth you're giving him here - and I love Audrey!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I agree, Percy is treated a bit unfairly, and I have always adored him slightly. I love writing him. Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Niraye 

23rd August 2010:
Ok, I admit it: I've never liked Percy, and I even hated him when he was following the minister around and laughing with him at Harry. So, how come I'm reading this to begin with? My cousin. She's one year older than me but she's very much like Audrey in this story, while I would be Vivian. And she loves Percy, and everyone just mocks her because of that. Included me.

BUT. I kinda like Percy. Now I understand that, even if he was a bit stupid when he worked for the minister, everyone makes mistakes. I understand that his family never supported him, except for his mum, and that Fred and George just made a hell of a life for him (it seems so strange writing this -Fred is... WAS one of my favourite characters). And it's not like he's not that serious! I mean, I loved the conversation:

"Al-alright. Is there anything else you need me to do?" "No." Percy picked up his paper again. "Thank you." As Robbie shuffled out of the office, Percy muttered under his breath, "Unless you know the twelve-letter name of the wizard commonly credited with discovering Gillyweed." LOL

Anyway, you have made me read a fanfic whose main character is Percy, probably the Weasley I like the less. That really is something, you know.

I'll be reading you. In the meantime, I'll post another review.

(Sorry if I've made some mistakes -English is not my mothertongue)

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm sorry I'm a bit late in responding to your review. It was very lovely and thoughtful of you!

I can understand your attitude towards Percy. He wasn't very pleasant in the books, but I always figured, first of all, that he had a lot of insecurities, which was why he felt like he needed to be good at everything. So for that reason, I've always had a soft spot for him. Add to that the fact that I think he would have become a little more pleasant after Deathly Hallows, and, well, I love him.

How interesting that your cousin is like Audrey, and she also loves Percy! I must be on the right track with Audrey's character! :-D

I think Percy is someone who will always take himself a little too seriously, because that's his nature, and that's why so many people, including his brothers, make fun of him. But since he's shown in the past that he can actually have a sense of humor, I love bringing out that part of him, showing the pieces of his personality that people may have overlooked.

I am so happy to know you're enjoying this fic. Maybe I'll turn you into a Percy lover in the end! ;-)

Thanks for the wonderful review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Cool Girl 

22nd August 2010:
Oh my god, I love this!! I actually really love Audrey (and it's rare for me to find that I like an OC) and Percy is so perfect! I adore how you have developed their relationship, and I can't wait to read more.

Definitely one of the two best fanfictions I have ever read. In any fandom.

Author's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review! I'm glad to hear you write Audrey. I usually see her written as someone who's basically the female equivalent of Percy, and I never envisioned that dynamic working out very well. In my mind, she needed to be much softer, but strong in her own way. I'm hoping she proves to be a good complement to him. :-)

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Pixileanin 

20th August 2010:
Wow. I just love Audrey's dad.

"Oh, heís one of these fellows who doesnít have a surname, is he?"

... and all the other stuff, especially how he was supportive and prodding Audrey to have a little self confidence at the same time. Mom was suitably momish, I think, and Vivian was suitably trying to cause a little sisterly trouble... because even when we're older, isn't that what sisters are for?

When she talks to the plant... that's my favorite part of the scene! It's the only thing that won't talk back at her.

The whole Saunderson issue (and the crosswords too!) was a wonderful way to showcase how Percy and Audrey have started interacting together. Loved that too... maybe even better than the plant.

And of course the kiss was perfect. I don't gush... okay, maybe I do a little... on special occasions. Very well done!

Author's Response: Her dad is a pleasure to write. I have a lot of fun writing their interactions. Vivian is also a lot of fun. I think here they were acting a bit young, considering their age (mid-twenties), but I'm around that age and I still like to bother my sisters. XD

I'm glad you have spotted how the Percy/Audrey interactions have developed as they've become more comfortable around each other. Audrey feels comfortable sharing her opinions, and she is perhaps one of the few people on the face of the planet whose opinion Percy will value above his own.

Thanks for another fantastic review!!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #18, by SnapesBoggart 

19th August 2010:
Yes, they kissed! Audrey is so sweet and adorable. I might have wrote this before, but I think those two are perfect for each other! This was a great chapter; I can't wait for the next one! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! I am really glad you're enjoying this story and the characters. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #19, by Violet Gryfindor 

17th August 2010:
This review is being written by the puddle of goo in front of my computer. It used to be me, but I melted with this chapter. It's just so cute! They're such a cute couple! No matter how awkward they are - and they are really awkward - it'd be impossible not to love them together.

The other thing I loved about this chapter was the rosebush. That was an adorable inclusion and it's something that I haven't seen enough of in fanfiction. A lot of writers focus on the characters and the spells, but not so much on the objects, or in this case, flora of the magical world. It's also very Alice in Wonderland. :D

I'll be looking out for the next chapter! This is a phenomenal story and it has to be my current favourite WIP. It's too perfect a story not to love. ^_^

Author's Response: Gah! I melted Susan! o.O

Oh, lord, the awkwardness. I was really glad to finish this chapter, because now a bunch of that awkwardness can GO AWAY and they can just be two relatively normal people who are dating. I mean, the awkwardness needed to be done, just because of their respective personalities, but it is so frustrating to write.

Yes, I thought it was time for the plant from the first chapter to make a reappearance! ^_^ I do like bringing in magical touches to anchor the stories a bit and make them relevant to the HP world. Glad you liked it!

I am so flattered to read these comments from you. To hear the phrases "phenomenal story" and "current favorite WIP" coming from YOU - about MY story - is a feeling I can't put into words, because I think you're that brilliant. Thanks so much for the wonderful reviews! I hope to get the next chapter up soon.

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jellyman 

16th August 2010:
UM, I'M MELTING. THANKS. That was the single cutest thing everrr and I'm so projecting myself as Audrey right now!

I AM IN LOVE.

Author's Response: XD

Thank you, Georgia! Project away! ILY! Thanks for being so encouraging all the time.

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #21, by GloGirl3223 

16th August 2010:
You are awesome, just so you know. I think any writer who can make me get butterflies in my stomach deserves the title of "awesome."

Honestly, you made me completely fall in love with Percy/Audrey. It's amazing! Thank you so much for such a wonderful story.

Author's Response: Well, thank you so much! I am very glad you've fallen in love with them - I hope you continue to enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #22, by louise_loves_hp 

16th August 2010:
Wow they Kissed!! YAY I am so happy for them, this is so sweet, I just cant belive that happened. I love her dad and mum its just so nice to see a muggle and a wizard together, I think this adds a great element to your story as well as the quiky little things you have going on as well.
I cant wait to see what happenes next a date? or is does it become to werid between them before that?

Author's Response: I do think Muggle-Wizard relationships are fun to write. And I realized most of them, for some reason involve a witch with a male Muggle - so I did it the other way around, which is a fun new idea to explore.

No, things won't become weird. They've slowly been coming out of their shells around each other, and Audrey has started to discover she can be herself around him, so now that it's all out in the open they'll be able to date like two completely normal nerds. XD

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by whacked 

16th August 2010:
OMG they kissed!! Percy and Audrey are easily in the top 5 of cutest HP couples. They're just so ... I don't know how to say it.

I really love how you've kind of inverted the typical perception of Percy. Yes, he's a workaholic, and yes, he's a fair bit on the dorky side, and he is terribly funny when he's not trying to be, but rather than showing that as a negative like many authors do, you've made it a positive, because he's Audrey soulmate.

And I love the dramatic irony - "how are you" actually DOES mean "I want you to have my babies!"

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!

I think inverting the typical perception of him was one of my main goals in writing this - so yay! I'm on the right track! And I think you hit it on the head - he is still very much a dork, and a lot of people around him don't think much of him, but the point is that Audrey values the traits other people don't. So where others see something wrong with him, really he's exactly what she wants.

Thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by lucekd08 

15th August 2010:
So, after re-reading this (40 of your reads are probably me making up for the lack of Percy/Audrey stories out there), I have come to the conclusion that this is one of the cutest things ever. I absoluetly adore it. From the sisterly teasing to the mentions of "beautiful ginger children", this has to be one of my favorite chapters of any story.

Just one thing though. It may be just me, and my incredible obsession with anything Ron/Hermione, but this relationship seems to be more like theirs than any other relationship we see throughout the series (we actually see the interaction between Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione, Molly/Arthur, Remus/Tonks [kind of], and... I think that's it. Maybe a bit of Bill/Fleur. Did I miss any? Probably). Ok, anyway, so there's the playful bickering, the incredible awkwardness, and the kiss (these Weasley men seem to lack the ability to make the first move, don't they?), although the kiss seemed to be at a much more appropriate time...

So, yeah, I just wanted to say that little tidbit of info before I go praise my invisible shrine to you and bask in your amazingness. Amazingness isn't a word... Last words: Loved it!

Author's Response: Naw, thank you. :-) I'm really glad you liked this chapter. I think this chapter was my favorite so far to write, just because of all the interactions that take place between them.

Hmm, interesting comparison to Ron/Hermione. I will say I think Percy is VERY much like Ron in many ways (I could write a novel just analyzing their similarities, but I won't) - but I don't think Audrey is really anything like Hermione, apart from the bookish smarts. So I don't personally see the two relationships as incredibly similar, because Audrey definitely doesn't (and won't) nag Percy the way Hermione nags Ron. I suppose there was some playful bickering in this chapter, but it was more along the lines of flirtation - Audrey has started to come out of her shell a bit. However, Audrey has shown now that she can say things to Percy that will challenge his way of looking at things, and he respects her enough to take those comments to heart (i.e. the way she told him to stop terrorizing Robbie Saunderson). Overall, though, I see Audrey as a much more gentle force in Percy's life - whereas Hermione's tack with Ron is literally or figuratively bashing him over the head with something. XD I do like that you're looking for those similarities, though.

But now you've got me thinking...(and that's never a good thing) XD Which HP female in a relationship is Audrey most like? I don't really know if I see her as very similar to Hermione or Ginny or Tonks or Fleur, or even Molly. She is just so much less forceful than any of those characters (but still powerful, in her quiet way, because I think Percy will respond to that better than if she were constantly up in his business). So off the top of my head, I can't think of which dynamic in the book the Percy/Audrey relationship most closely mirrors. Interesting question!

Definitely a serious lack of initiative by Weasley dudes. Ginny is the most forward of them all - and she's the sister! (Though the reason for Percy's behavior here is that he's just so nervous - he hasn't exactly had a lot of dating experience, and he knows he's not all that cool, so the self-confidence is not flowing.)

Thanks for the wonderful review! I'm really glad you're thinking so much, looking for parallels, etc. I am super flattered by the review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #25, by TheDirigiblePlum 

15th August 2010:
Yay!!! Could that have potentially been the cutest scene I've ever read on this site?? I think it might just be! Oh Percy I just want to give you a hug. They're so perfect for each other... I feel like my brain is full of candyfloss, rendered completely fluffy and "squeee!"like after reading this.

Again your funny quote had me in considerable giggles, especially this one because this is e.x.a.c.t.l.y what my Dad does whenever my mother and I decide to have a heated debate over dinner and one of us turns to the calm old male for back-up that never comes.

"I gaped and looked to Dad for support, but Dadís policy was to stay out of these high-strung female discussions. He was contemplating a potato with vague interest."

Marvellous ! :D

Audrey's great fun to read, mainly because she's so believable. It's funny but I find female characters harder to make "real" than male ones so I always have lots of admiration for people who manage it! Basically I'm just saying that you're a writing genius.

Please update soon! You can't leave a cliffhanger like that and not let me know what happens next!! :D

10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think so! It was certainly cute in my mind, so I was hoping it would translate in writing. I really wasn't sure I'd be able to accomplish it, though - I keep worrying the characters' awkwardness is just going to make my writing seem awkward. XD

Audrey's dad is so much fun to write. I love his placid demeanor and his relationship with Audrey. Unfortunately for her, her future husband is a little more high-strung.

I'm getting more comfortable with Audrey's characterization every time I write her. In the beginning, I wasn't too sure about it, especially because I was using first person and all. But so far I guess she's working out! :-)

Thanks for the review! I will try to update very soon!

Melanie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>