Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SillyGriffy 

7th October 2015:
Hi!
I know this story has been completed for a while, and you probably don't read new reviews for this story anymore... but I would never forgive myself if I didn't tell you how absolutely amazing this story is. I'm only up to chapter 5, and it's already one of the best next-gen stories I've ever read. No freaking wonder you won a Dobby Award.
Leaving a review is a small price to pay in retur for such a lovely story :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by my_voice_rising 

16th February 2015:
JUULIIIAAA

I am finally getting around to reading more of this story, and I'm in the middle of a binge... Your characters are so lovely! I love Scorpius; the more I read of him the more I like him. He's so different from other characterizations. And Lucy is really likable and so normal--not in a dull way, but I feel like she's actually real! That's hard to come by in many OCs these days.

I must continue on! ♥

Author's Response: Sarah!! Hi

Ah! I'm so glad you like Scorpius - he's a precious BB to me, especially in this story. And I'm glad you like Lucy too!! Her voice is probably the funnest I've ever written. I do miss this fic sometimes :'(

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the fic! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapoo 

26th October 2012:
Hahaha, beautiful! The prank - wow... I didn't even catch on at first! And dearest Lettuce... Mm... I'm not too sure I'd feel comfortable trying to hold a conversation with him - it sounds excruciating. :D

I'm loving the the buildup! And the artistic episodic journey Lucy's jumped aboard.

Author's Response: sometimes I wish I knew Lettuce in real life, because he'd be great comedy value for when I am sad.

thanks for your reviews! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by marissa lily potter 

29th July 2012:
Scorpions is actually nothing like the Scorpius' I've read about in other fics but you know what? I like this Scorpius so much better! He's funny, quirky and all around awkward. I don't think I've ever loved a character more than him! I love your chapters. They're funny and always interesting. By the end of them, I always find myself wanting to read more. I haven't been disappointed so far :)

-Marissa

Author's Response: heh, my headcanon scorpius never really matched with the accepted fanon ~smarmy sex god~ type (I have never met a real boy who fits that mould). aww, lucky it's a completed story then, haha! thanks for the lovely reviews ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by SunSation Gal 07 

4th January 2012:
A guy named Lettuce! -bursts out laughing- singing about cats and he caught fire and had to be put out with beer! Oh, this chapter was the good laugh that I needed for today! And Scorpius's reaction to the picture of Rose. -gigglesnort-

Author's Response: Haha, glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

22nd December 2011:
'Lucy, honestly,' he pointed to the picture he'd drawn. 'Look, that's supposed to be you, with the flag symbolising your Scottish-ness, and then that's Henry, with a German flag because he was speaking German, and then that's a bird which is supposed to be Raven, because I thought she was behind it...duh!'

Scorpius, hands down, is my favorite. He's such a push-over and yet I feel like he's secretly planning to murder them all...or something equally dramatic. I hope that he sees Rose one day and sticks up for himself or maybe he'll just shrug in response to whatever she says...he seems to do that a lot.

Author's Response: Scorpius has more than a few tricks up his hipster sleeve. He's actually got, like, little sharpened hipster triangles like Batman's batarangs, and someday he will wreak his revenge on all who mock him with his ninja hipster skills. Oh yes. Thanks for the review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by BeaJerry 

18th December 2011:
Zut Alors; did you, by any chance, learn that by reading Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging? Hahaha ;)
Amazing! I always thought that the daughter of Percy would end up being a hippy rebel. Such a great story!

Author's Response: Angus, thongs, and full-frontal knutschen indeed! Ahha, I adored those books back in the day. It's been ages since I've read them. Thank you so much for reviewing - really glad you liked it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack 

28th October 2011:
"The Brooding Nameless One" oh I like that one! haha ;) But of course his real name is Barry. I love your portrayal of Scorpius. It's rather inspiring.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Originally his name was something like Lachlan Odin Thor Valhalla, but Barry seemed to have more comic oomph as a name. A bit more je ne sais quoi and such. Thank you very much for another review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Liz 

26th October 2011:
Not gonna lie, Lettuce and his sister Carrot makes me think of Leaf Coneybear and his siblings Marigold, Brooke, etc. of The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. If you've seen/read it, you know what I'm talking about. If you haven't, you should.

Author's Response: I...I really have no idea what you are talking about, but I will conduct appropriate research and report back with comments in due course. I wish I had a name like Leaf. Well, I don't, but...well. Off I go for my research~ ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by Toujours Padfoot 

16th October 2011:
HEY HEY HEY, JULIAR!

I am making my way through this story slower than Voldemort's monologues. This is due entirely to my laziness, and not a reflection on the fic itself, which is spectacular in all of its satire and fail-deepness and bad poetry and band performances/sequined bodysuits.

This made me lulz because it's such a mockery of some people's lifestyles - people who take themselves extremely seriously. I adore the way you write Scorpius - he's so awkward and endearing. He tries to be legit but it's just...lol. "Rainy Tuesday (Death of the Raven)" made me laugh out loud. I can picture him sitting there all gloomy, thinking to himself, "How can I get revenge on Gwendolyn/Raven for hitting me in the head all the time? I KNOW! *lightbulb moment* I SHALL WRITE WORDS. VENOMOUS WORDS. SERIOUS WORDS. SERIOUSLY VENOMOUS WORDS." -he withdraws an Edgar Allan Poe-esque quill and begins to write in an old, elaborate script, furrowing his eyes with dark/serious/venomous/fail triumph.

This is one of my top favorite characterizations of him, and certainly the most original. And I'm pretty sure Lillie agrees because I was reading this aloud to her and she enjoyed it. Especially when I tried to do the accents.

THIS STOREH IS ADORBZ. IT DESERVED THAT DOBBEH FO SHO.



Author's Response: SOROH THO SCOLO MON FOSH. AWH HEY THARR.

message for Voldemort - Dude, srsly, just hurry up and kill Harry already. I've seen longer plot exposition in War & Peace than in your little dastardly monologues.

Aand back to soroh's rovoow.

Heh. Yes, I often think there are three types of artists - those that love themselves, those that hate themselves, and those that are just ambivalent about the whole ego thing. The first sort is Lettuce, the second is Scorpius, and the third sort is so rare you won't find them even if you look under rocks and stuff. But at the same time, they're all sort of loveable. D'awww and stuff.

THE PEN IS MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD- oh, you seem to have chopped my arm off. Maybe the sword is mightier after all.

Heee ♥ ALSO D'AWWW ♥ ♥ ♥.

Thank you so much for the lovoly lovoly rovoow! O om glod yoo onjoyod ot ond thonks ogoon!


 Report Review

Review #11, by hdawg 

16th October 2011:
I HAVE DECIDED TO START YOUR REVIEWS WITH A LOT OF CAPITALS. I FEEL IS SHOWS MY EXCITEMENT WELL.

"a rather odd move that was somewhere between a hop, a skip, and a jump, and nearly whacked his head off the low-hanging lamp I can imagine it now. It's the move you do whenever I pinch your botto- we'll move on now.

I like the sound of Rose's photo. Particularly Percy in the background. This makes me happy.

"The Brooding Nameless One", that would be another good nickname for good ol' Voldemort. Or Harry in OOTP. They're pretty much the same person in that book, anyway.

'I can't read it,' I told him. 'It's in Russian.' DOES THIS REMIND ME OF SOMETHING ELSE? OH YES IT DOES. Good old S.S.those were the days. THE ACCENTS ARE THE BEST AND NOTHING MATTERS. I particularly like the 'combine harvester' and the fact that Lucy is from Glasgow ~cough~ School of Art ~cough~

"Unhand me, you rogue!" I genuinely laughed out loud at that point. THESE ACCENTS ARE TICKLING ME. And LOL, Scorpius beating a piano up for half an hour, I would love to see that. I feel that with Scorpius being such a wimp, the piano would win hands - or keys - down.

I love Tarquin and Raven. They are such a good dream team. Like Sirius and James, yet slightly more wacky. FELIX FELICIS WUT? HE PERVY. HE WAY TOO PERVY. But the sequins set off some of the perviness, so overall, nice job. 2 house points.

"Not that bad? Lucy, our lead singer caught fire." I do not think that line will ever be said in real life, or in another fanfic, ever again. I salute you, good sir, for a once in a fanfic quote.

I LOVE THIS ONE. PARTICULARLY RAVEN SHOVING THE PEOPLE OFF THE SOFA. SHE IS ME. I LIKE THAT.

Author's Response: DO NOT WORRY, ME GUSTA CAPSLOCK.

I know that move well. Heee.

That is also true. HARRY POTTAH AND DA BROODING NAMELESS ONEEE.

It does remind you of a certain Slytherin Sleepover. Oh those Quizzilla days. DON'T DRAG THE GSofA INTO THIS. THEY'RE SENSIBLE FOLK.

The piano always wins. Scorpiuswoeee.

Felix Felicis is my fave, if I do say so myself. I likea the sequins.

YOU ARE RAVEN, OBV. Also I love you. Etc ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by HarrietHopkirk 

8th August 2011:
I love his reaction to the Rose picture! Made me laff and laff and laff. The Brooding Nameless One (BARRY! HE'S CALLED BARRY!) is my favourite of the more minor characters (which doesn't include Gwenquin or Scorpius), I think, tied between EuNICE (feels like a question mark should go after her name like 'you nice?' and spoken in a slightly Borat-like voice) and pretentious-but-quite-potentially-hot-and-obscure Henry.

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD THEY DO REGIONAL ACCENTS. Green Wing, much? Gawww... I love it, natch.

'And even if it goes badly, you'll still get really inspired for another anguished poem...or maybe even a play!'

'Is this going to be like the open mic again? Tarquin getting drunk and leading a one-man stage invasion? A vendetta against me and my creativity?'

'They're a bunch of avant-garde ar-teestes in too much makeup and tights. Like poets... only in drag, and with about an ounce of musical talent between them.'

OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD. LETTUCE. LETTUCE SPEBBINGTON/FELIX FELICIS AND AND GRIFF FINDOR AND SKYLARK (the wonders of the mononym). Cat lyrics. Big, hairy cats.

EEE EEE EEE JULIA. LOOK AT LONG THIS REVIEW WAS IN CONTRAST TO MY PATHETIC EARLIER ATTEMPTS ♥

Author's Response: LOL. Eunice? I 100% see that now. I feel I should also ship her with Baz, but he's too deep to have a girlfriend. And Henry, oh Henry. He's every /sane/ art student I've ever met rolled into one big almost-hot and obscure bundle

GREEN WING ♥

Mononyms rule. Lettuce Spebbington does have a lot of unexpected fangirls. He shows up heavily in da cquel.

BIG, HAIRY CATS OF CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU, HATTIE. ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hyenni 

22nd July 2011:
" 'Don't mean to alarm you, guys...' Tarquin's curiously normal voice drifted up from the stairwell. 'But Mr Holstone's fallen down the stairs.'
There was a moment of scuffling, then Mr Holstone shouted 'Unhand me, you rogue!' "

OH HOLY PRETZEL WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME?! IT'S NOT NATURAL TO LAUGH THIS MUCH.

I think...and this is still uncertain...that I love Tarquin more than Mr Holstone. I CAN'T EXPRESS HOW MUCH I APPRECIATE HIS SENSE OF HUMOUR SO I'LL JUST TYPE IN CAPS LOCK KAY YOU COOL WITH THAT THANKS.

'You sound superior,' Gwendolyn/Raven said, plonking herself down onto the sofa between us. 'Why do you sound superior? That gives me some cause for concern.'

oh, Gwendolyn/Raven. it gives me cause for concern as well. if Scorpius was ever superior, it would mean the apocalypse is nigh. and the apocalypse is baaad.

Scorpius' band...oh, MERLIN. Lettuce. i love him, but i hate him so much.

" 'He made us play the song about cats! I hate that song!'
'You played quite well, though.' I offered, but was instantly ignored.
'Cats!' Scorpius blustered, as if he didn't know what to do with himself. 'Cats!'
'Cats,' Tarquin nodded in agreement. 'Big, hairy cats.' "

OH SCORP I FRICKING ADORE YOU. he's so incredibly cute that it makes me want to cry. how is it possible for anyone to so, so adorable? I'm in love. i don't want Scorp/Lucy, Scorp/Gwendolyn/Raven (that looks like a weird 'ship) or Scorp/Nice or ANYONE. i want Scorp/me. PLEASE. THANK YOU.

so much love for this story. (:

Author's Response: My mission in life is to make people laugh and get funny looks. Yep...I lead a fulfilling life indeed.

ANYTHING IN CAPSLOCK I'M COOL WITH YEP KAY NO PROBZ

The moment that Scorpius becomes superior, hell will suddenly be plunged into winter, and, in the background, a little pig with wings will go fluttering past. And I was about to say that Voldemort would be annoyed in hell because the end of his nose would freeze but, well...awkward.

Lettuce is the marmite of the fanfiction salad.

Scorpius/Hyenni? I shall...consider it. *steeples fingers, cobbsquints at screen*

thank you so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

10th July 2011:
OMG. NOEL FIELDING IN CI. Noel Fielding looking all kinds of shiny and creepy, admittedly, but you know: NOEL.

Scorpius banging into lampshades ♥ Bless the awkward fool. It's like he expects Rose to jump out of the picture. Which would be even more scary than Noel, really. Or should I say Lettuce. You have the naming capabilities of JKR, honestly. Lettuce Spebbington. Brooding Nameless Barry. Gwendolyn/Raven.

I loved the spell that Tarquin cast on them. It's so random and I was hugely confused to begin with - it doesn't take much - but I thought it was a great prank by him :P Russian Scorpius. It fits, in a really weird way.

Now, coming back to Lettuce and Screaming Bloodthirsty Disco: ahahahahaha. So awful. Most of Lettuce's contribution seemed to be lyrics about cats: I'd have thrown that in favourite lines but it fits here really well. I love them. Even creeper Lettuce, for his utter insanity and sparkliness.

Faves:

- Say combine harvester. - I love British people writing FF because all the accent business comes out. You've got me singing the song now ^_^

- Like poets…only in drag, and with about an ounce of musical talent between them

- 'Big girl's blouse.' Tarquin muttered, darkly. - because that is not said enough.

And onwards!


xx

Author's Response: Heh, I totally see Lettuce as Noel Fielding. Gives me an excuse to watch episodes of the Mighty Boosh for 'research purposes'.

I...I like my names. I have a list of names to use - got to find a way to cram Prentice Prendergast and Nicodemius Entwhistle into another story.

lettuce...is a creeper. Yup. Cr33p3rworthy indeed.

Accent business ♥ and me! Oh, I've got a brand new combine harvester and I'll give you the key...

Thanks for another fabbo review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by gingersnape 

3rd July 2011:
That is a TERRIFYING chapter image! But that's what Lettuce is, so it works! And a spin off series would be hilarious, though I don't know how much of him I could take!The languages had me confused, but I did figure it out and is was as always, a hilarious chapter! Can't wait for more of Starving Artists, which I shall go read now :)
Annie

Author's Response: Haha, yes, I know! I stumbled across it by chance after watching an episode of the Mighty Boosh and I knew I had to use it. A Lettuce spinoff series...haha, that would be far too much fun! He definitely turns up in the sequel I'm planning. You can never get enough Lettuce ;)
Thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TallestTower 

5th May 2011:
I AM CHOOSING TO LEAVE MY 300TH EVER REVIEW ON THIS CHAPTER. IT IS POSSIBLY (PROBABLY) (ALMOST CERTAINLY) THE ONLY FIC THAT HAS A NOEL-FIELDING-IN-SPARKLY-CATSUIT-ONESIE-THING CHAPTER IMAGE, SO THIS SEEMS APPROPRIATE.
Phew, capitals bashing over. Also, I'd like to take this moment to appreciate your casting. It's fabby.

Oh Scorp, he really has hit a new level of fail-flaily-malfoy. He plays piano in a band that sings about cats? It's too perfect. I hope there are more gigs in the future :D Scorp. No words can describe how incredible he is. And he sulks. And facepalms. And almost-maybe-awkward hugs. Yay!

Nameless brooding one is now nameless brooding Barry, which can only be an improvement. He really is one of the most wonderful things to happen to fanfiction. Brooding Barry.

OH MY GOODNESS. Mr. Holstone MUST be squeed over. 'Jolly queer'. Oh I was laughing so much throughout at this. Might well just quote it back (The scarf, not the guitarist. Just to clarify.)

Is it wrong that I was getting Gwenscoravenorp vibes in this chapter almost? Although one-sided. On Gwe-errr, I mean raven's *scared eyes* side. 0_o I love her view of artists, being one herself, and yet just acknowledging all their pretensious-semi-snobbery. And Scorpius' arteest occasionaly peeks out (through his marvellous fringe. Snobby-artist-scorpius lives in clumsy-awkward-Scorpius' hair you see.) which is hillarious, as always.
YET AGAIN, QUITE SPIFFING - as Mr. Holstone (from this chapter) would say Xx

Author's Response: OMG 300TH REVIEW? WE NEED CAKE, QUICK! A BIG SPARKLY 300 TIERED CAKE WITH A PICTURE OF A CAT IN A WOOLY JUMPER PLAYING THE KEYBOARD ICED ON TOP. IN THE SHAPE OF A CAMERA. YEAH. I'M A SLYTHERIN, I'M SUPPOSED TO BE AMBITIOUS.

I NEED TO STOP BASHING CAPITALS TOO BUT IT'S HARD D:

okay i'll stop now. for sanity's sake.

brooding barry. oh yes. he was original called Lachlan, I think. And he had about five hundred long middle names. But then, you know, Barry seemed more...well, it had more comedic value. ergo Barry. you'll be pleased to know that this sequel i'll hopefully write one day has a barry mark two in it. (i've got to stop giving away the plot of this darned sequel thing)

everyone gets gwenscoravenorp vibes every so often. It's natural and, well, you know, this fic could end up anywhere. I could ship her with Barry. They'd get on well with their combined love of the colour black. You never know.

lots of things live in clumsy-awkward-scorpius' hair >:D

THANKS FOR THE REVIEW ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ they really do make my day (:


 Report Review

Review #17, by Marzipan 

24th January 2011:
Is it considered acceptable practice to just quote your entire chapter back at you in a review? Cause that is what I want to do. I just want to copy paste everything because it is all my favourite and all SO FUNNY I AM STILL LAUGHING OUT LOUD AT IT ON MY SECOND READ. No, seriously, my father just called from the other room to ask me what I was laughing at. >.<

Pretty sure I'm falling in love with Scorpius. His jumpy, clumsy behavior; his totally obvious drawing skills (NO WONDER HE CHOSE PHOTOGRAPHY, EH??); HIS COMPLETELY EPIC BAND. Let him know that I'm going to marry him, 'kay? I'll start dress shopping now.

LETTUCE SPEBBINGTON XD With the bodysuit and the sequins and the creepiness and the cats and LETTUCE and the fire and just -dies-

Cats! Cats! Cats; Big hairy cats.

What a man. Hope Scorp plays some more gigs in the future ;D

Author's Response: You could...but it might crash the review box? (Ah, just spelt review as revueuw, that would have been calamitous)

Eeeek, thank you! Eek sound to indicate my delighted little squee at making someone laugh - OUT LOUD! Might just print this and stick it in a little frame so I can pass it around at school and prove to my friends that I can actually make a joke now and again. (Psst, what's brown and sticky? A stick.)

SCORPIUS CAN TOTALLY DRAW *shifty look* TOTALLY WHY HE CHOSE PHOTOGRAPHY *shifty look* I MEAN THERE'S SO MUCH DRAWING INVOLVED, erm...

I relayed your marriage proposal to Scorpius, but I'm afraid he fell down the stairs in fright and general clumsiness and you may have to wait a wee while for a response. I say stairs, but I do mean my mind. Um.

I have written many a horror story in my time and have made many a creepy killer/vampire/deranged/ghostly character also, but none of my characters have been as creepy as Lettuce Spebbington. The thought of that catsuit makes my flesh crawl.

Scorpius does have more gigs lined up! I tell the truth, I did just consult my plot and he does. (I sound like his PA or something.) But, er...not the sort of gigs he's played before. Hint hint.

Thanks for the lovely review! (:


 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemorefic 

11th September 2010:
‘Look, that’s supposed to be you, with the flag symbolising your Scottish-ness, and then that’s Henry, with a German flag because he was speaking German, and then that’s a bird which is supposed to be Raven, because I thought she was behind it...duh!’

Oh Merlin, Scorpius is so snobby and pathetic and all of the artist stereotypes I laugh at that I so, so absolutely love him.

‘They’re a bunch of avant-garde ar-teestes in too much makeup and tights. Like poets…only in drag, and with about an ounce of musical talent between them.’ Preach it, Raven. I love her for being the complete opposite of Scorp. I secretly ship them, just a little bit.

"But mine’s good enough to be fake anyway." HAH, I love that subtle jab.

"a glittery catsuit being drenched mid-kick." THE IMAGE!

Nitpick time! I do love all the awkward conversations, though the repetition of silence falling is getting noticeable. I do like that Lucy is more of the observer of events and not quite so involved in the action as she is dragged around by people. I find that I don't know her character all too well yet, though I don't mind because of the nature of the story. I'd also like to get a little more hints as to what the future holds.

Can't wait for an update 8D

Author's Response: Experiences of Art College degree shows and actual artists have led me to a sad, sad, bitter little belief that art is just one big festering lump of pretentious snobbery a lot of the time. Ka-pow! Scorpius has a little arty snob growing inside him. Not literally, that would be dead weird and verging on mpreg, which is banned both on this site and inside my own mind and I'm going to stop typing now before the universe implodes with confusion.

YOU SHIP GWENDORAVEN/SCORPIUS? Oops, sorry for the shouting. Maybe if they're drunk? They do get drunk later in the story and there is a lot of catastrophic failing and concussion, but I have to say that I never thought of shipping Gwendoraven/Scorpius. It's like...Gwendopius, or Gwendipuss, which sounds like a really sadistic name for a cat :P ahha, I absolutely love you for shipping Gwendoraven/Scorpius. You're amazing. That's the most utterly obscene yet hilarious ship I've ever seen, apart from Giant Squid/Vernon. I would applaud you if my hands weren't so busy typing.

THE IMAGE INDEED! I've seen it done, apart from the glittery catsuit was absent and the poor chap was in drainpipe jeans, a waistcoat, and one of those 'vintage' tshirts that probably came out of H&M for ten quid. You might be surprised to hear that about 80% of this fic is pretty much real life experience. It might also surprise and sadden you to know that I like writing Scorpius so much because he's basically a slightly (and I mean slightly) more masculine version of myself. Woe.

Nitpick response time! Ah, I'm pleased that you nitpicked. I hadn't noticed the endless repetition of awkward silences. Probably, if you take all of the other words out of the story, it just reads as AWKWARD SILENCE AWKWARD SILENCE AWKWARD SILENCE on and on and on. Whoops, I'll revise that in later chapters (:

Hints as to what the future holds? Well, Percy shows up a couple more times, Scorpius takes a surprise bath (surprise for him, not surprise in the sense that he doesn't wash and...oh, nevermind), Lucy makes some more stupid comments, Tarquin transfigures himself into a guitar, Obscure Henry goes on a gap yah and Rose destroys half of London in a rage. Then again, I might just have made all of that up. Actually, I did.

Thank you so much for the lovely review :D I have no idea when the next chapter can be expected, but I seem to be updating every 30 days or so like clockwork, so maybe the 20th September? I dunno. Before Christmas, anyway.

Thanks again, :D

PS.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ronsgirl29 

22nd August 2010:
This has got to be one of the funniest chapters yet! I especially enjoyed the part when they were all speaking different languages. But Scorpius' band was equally funny. Lol their name alone is enough to crack me up.

Great chapter!
10/10
-ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Scorpius' band are absolutely terrible. They're very amusing to write (:

Glad you enjoyed it!

PS.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Abhorsen 

21st August 2010:
I find it particularly amusing that the lead singer changed his name to Felix Felicis. That is a little detail, but it goes a long way to assert the magical-ness of the fic. Sometimes people are so caught up in everything else, they forget to do that.

I really enjoyed their tea-break babble. It was rather hilarious, to be honest. Great job.

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm trying to put more little magical thingmybobs in there because I have a real habit of making stories overly 'muggle', which is pretty lame when it's supposed to be about wizards.

Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed it.

PS.


 Report Review

Review #21, by purplewings721 

21st August 2010:
Gosh, I love this story. I really really really do. I love how it's completely not what I thought it would be. I love how original and awesome it is. I love how it's artsy, without being cliche. I love the characters. I love you, because you wrote this.
Seriously, I love how everything makes sense in this story. It's not just some random wannabe cool artsy story, but everything ties together, and it's just so believable! I could really see there being a Wizarding Institute of Arts in the HP world, after reading this. I love how you kind poked fun at the whole "Scorpius in a Rock Band" cliche. Oh gosh, that was just amazing. Screaming Bloodthirsty Disco, wow they sucked, lol.
Poor Scorpius - so awkward, heartbroken, and such a lousy poet. XD
Gah, you need to update! Like really, you have to. Because if you don't, then I'm going to be really, really, really sad. And I don't like being sad.
So yeah! This is definitely one of my favorite Next Gen fics, and keep up the awesome work!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you. I love you because you wrote in a review that you love my story and therefore me, and basically this review is just one big heap of love. Love, love, love. The word love looks so weird now...

Screaming Bloodthirsty Disco do suck indeed. They suck like a proverbial hoover. Although they're probably better than a few bands I've seen in my time, some of whom inspired the band scene in this chapter. Candles onstage and all. I even saw one full-blown heavy metal screamo band who had, like, these canopies on stage with fairies painted on them, and they stank to high heaven. They were seriously terrible. I chose that moment to skulk around the bar with my friends looking furtive, because I was about thirteen and looking furtive was my aim in life.

I digress.

Yes, I do feel quite sorry for Scorpius sometimes. It can't be easy being the only son of Draco Malfoy when you turn out as a soppy, gangly, scrawny little runt with a moleskine and a head full of iambic pentameter.

Oh dear! I'll try not to make you sad. According to my 'manage stories' I've been adding one chapter every month (goddd, I'm taking ages!) so expect one up in September sometime.

Thank you very, very much indeed! :D

PS.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Friday_Star 

20th August 2010:
Ahahahahah you are truly amazing :P this is like...WOW. I wish I could write like this, honestly. When the lead singer caught fire, I almost wet my pants. Also: (The scarf, not the guitarist. Just to clarify)
I FELL OUT OF BED. That is how much I was laughing :P

Great work (: (:

xx

Author's Response: Oh dear! I hope you didn't bash your head or anything when you fell, but it pleases me that my chapter was amusing enough to cause a bit of a tumble :P

Thanks for the lovely review!

PS.


 Report Review

Review #23, by flying_rabbit 

18th August 2010:
I bet Scorpius liked Lucy's first photo :) I was surprised at his reaction to Rose's photo, though. I thought that he might've fled immediately. Not that his real reaction was much better than that. Oh, and maybe Lucy and Scorpius can have a darting tournament with that board, then? :P And it's a good thing Draco didn't really Avada Kedavra Scorpius. Who else would teach Lucy the art of photography, then?
Ooh, I absolutely loved that joke xD Seriously, it's a pity that that can never happen in real life :( It would come in quite handy for a specific class, and it's just plain hilarious :D Words cannot express its awesomeness :D Was it a spell, or did he mess with the tea?
Haha, Scorpius' band! I bet he loves all the attention for it. G/R isn't very nice to him indeed, she keeps mocking him. But she's right, he is an easy target. Merlin. Still, I do feel a little sorry for him.
Ah, the Brooding one is no longer nameless! Barry? I didn't see that coming. G/R can pester Scorpius for three hours before she gets bored, even though he's been ignoring her for two hours and 55 minutes by then? Quite the talent.
Oh dear indeed. That band is certainly interesting. If I were Lucy, I would've asked Scorpius to keep Felix/Lettuce away from me too. Although, I might not fully trust Scorpius to be able to do so. The names parents call their kids nowadays... it should be forbidden :P
G/R really likes picking at Scorpius every chance she gets, doesn't she? Good thing he wasn't there to hear her now. And hey, at least the place filled up a little bit. They're not the only ones there anymore!
Uh... well, that first song was... interesting :P I don't really know what to say about it. Yes, at least Scorpius seems to be doing alright, but I guess he might be the only one who actually practises (even if it is at unfortunate times)? Who even sets up candles near the microphone? That's like asking for trouble. Lucy's attempts to cheer up Scorpius, though not working, were nice. I suppose Scorpius says that after ever gig, that he doesn't ever want to play with the band again, or isn't it that bad?
Hopefully you'll update soon!

Author's Response: Well, my original chapter had him jumping out the window and catching the next ferry to France, but that would probably have rendered the rest of the story a bit pointless because he wouldn't have been in it.

Okay, I told a lie there. But the headbutting the lamp thing might be a bit of crafty foreshadowing...or it might not be, I haven't really thought this one out very well.

'Twas a spell! Although I honestly wouldn't put it past him to slip things into the tea. And, oh, god, I wish I could do that in real life. Just, like, poof! and everyone speaks funny. Would brighten up boring conversations a fair bit (:

G/R is actually a rather pleasant person...just not to Scorpius. But they're friends, really. Honest. *shifty look*

The Brooding One now has a name. Yeah...Barry. I'm not exactly sure what to say.

Scorpius probably grew up with Grandad Lucius harping on about blood purity every five seconds, so I imagine that's where he got his ignoring from. Probably. Probably not. Maybe he's just got superpowers. It's all those Dark Room chemicals, they do funny things to you...

Oh, no, they do all practise, but it's a question of what and not how much :P Believe it or not, one of the last bands I saw actually lit candles AND draped scarves over their mic stands! I know, how sad is that? The lead singer had a huge rip in the crotch of his jeans as well, and he spent the whole gig trying to cover it with his shiny Gibson guitar. They failed rather spectacularly. Lots of big hair and pouting, lyrics about heartbreak, pointy shoes and the like. I laughed. Lots.

Scorpius is always in the pits of gloom after gigs, but then he remembers that, however measly, his contribution pays his bills and shuts up a bit about it. But, seriously, they're a terrible band.

Updates...ooh, now that's a tricky one to answer. Life will be hectic again in September, plus there's the queue and I've got two other WIPs to think about, although only one really needs regular updates. I shall do my best! But, after all, I'm technically an art student, so my definitions of 'regular' and 'punctual' may differ slightly from those of the wider world.

Thanks for the lovely (and very in depth!) review! :D

PS.


 Report Review

Review #24, by evil little devil 

18th August 2010:
Aww, poor Scorp XD
This is absolutely hilarious! I really do love the whole arteeste image of Scorpius you having going on, it's incredibly amusing to read. The picture I have in my head of that band has me chortling rather loudly.
It may be a bit on the silly side, but it's a hilariously entertaining silly side that was really enjoyable to read. I can't wait to find out more, this story is simply fascinating :)

Author's Response: I do feel rather sorry for Scorpius sometimes. He's ever so picked upon. Because I like wasting time, I have this piece of paper filled with little drawings I've been doing as I've been going along so I don't forget what I've said about him, and it was great fun drawing him wearing a smock and clogs. Or is that the next chapter? I don't know, but I did draw a picture of him wearing a smock.

The band, oh, god, the band! They're like a hybrid of most of the terrible bands I've seen over the last few years. Except I have yet to see someone in a glittery catsuit catch fire. I have not yet lived, I feel...

Thank you very much for the review (:

PS.


 Report Review

Review #25, by whacked 

18th August 2010:
I could eat Lettuce :P I started choking when I read "Lettuce", because then I imagined a man made out of lettuce dressed in a sequinned bodysuit.

So the nameless one is Barry! Hahaha, who would have thought his name was Barry? I was expecting something like "Manuel" or "Odin". Barry sounds positively comical for some reason.

Seriously, this story = ice-cream with awesomesauce.

Author's Response: Ahhhaa! I did actually just laugh out loud at that. Made out of lettuce! Well, lettuce gets soggy after a while. The sequins would fall off and he'd be sad ):

Barry! He was going to be called Lachlan, but that was far too serious. I was trying to channel Barry from Hollyoaks, as in the emo one who calls himself Newt, because when I used to watch Hollyoaks once upon a golden yonder, he was like the spitting image of this broody guy I've got in the story.

Odin is a smashing name. Is it viking? Maybe he could be called something like Barry Odin Thor Valhalla Longship Horn or something. I'm determined to write him into a scene wearing a horned helmet now. Ooooh teh inspiration.

You used my word of the month! Awesomesauce, that is. Double points for you!

Thanks for the lovely review (:

PS.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>