Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne 

14th August 2011:
I love how you wrote Rosmerta! she seems so amazing fighting to protect the students she served and who were too young to be fighting at all. She has such attitude and confidence, and your last line of how people shouldn't mess with barmaids just goes to show that.
I enjoy reading about outsiders of Hogwarts fighting in the battle and see how they feel about it and what side they're fighting on.
I love your take on this and you wrote Rosmerta just beautifully.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #2, by parashar_harry 

9th September 2010:
ultimate u have plotted her very well.keep it up.but i think it should be a bit longer

 Report Review

Review #3, by Capella Black 

22nd August 2010:
What a refreshing change! You know, I think you're the first writer to have Rosmerta actually entering the battle, and while I understand the concept that she might sit out due to fear and guilt, your account rings more true for me. Instead of running due to guilt, she uses it to fuel her rage - definitely sounds like a more appropriate response.

Love the concept too - barmaid in a magical pub? She's going to have learnt a thing or two, if only to keep safe during bar brawls. Great stuff, can't wait to read more. Oh wait, I don't have to!

 Report Review

Review #4, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

20th August 2010:
I loved this insight into Rosmerta's mind. I'm really glad you portrayed her as resentful for her actions whilst under the Imperius Curse, despite not actually having any control over her actions, it just seemed to fit her character well and to me seemed to be something she would feel. Although if placed within that situation what would any of the characters have felt?

I particularly liked the strength you've portrayed her with, that strength that gives her the will to fight for those she wishes to protect and also the strength to beat her adversary. She's rarely portrayed with such a strength but it seems so fitting that I wish she was portrayed as such always. I particularly liked the little comment to herself on the end, which really just topped the whole piece off, proving to me once again of the strength she had as a character despite her actions in the past book.

A brilliant insight into a mind we rarely are given the chance to see into! Keep up the good work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #5, by theelderwand 

19th August 2010:
Go Rosmerta!! Kicking posterior and taking names. This was great EJ. One of the flourishes I like best throughout the collab is how everyone seems to agree that the students are SOO out of their depth fighting Death Eaters. We're a pretty logical bunch, aren't we?

Your writing was tight and the story was good. A quick one-two punch.

I really enjoyed this.

Eldy

 Report Review

Review #6, by propertyoftheHBP 

15th August 2010:
I really liked your take on Madam Rosmerta here. I wrote about her as well, but I made her so ashamed from the past year that she didn't leave her home--but it's really interesting, and I like it, that you had her use that anger and regret towards something more positive--fighting in the battle. I love the end--it shows how strong she is as a character and what a powerful witch she is. The line "That's why you don't mess with barmaids" is utter genius, as well.

I loved this! Her character itself was easily my favorite part. :]

 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggle 

14th August 2010:
Awesome! I thought this was really well written!

I can believe that there were a lot of emotions in Madam Rosmerta's head when she was fighting, probably everyone had tons of emotions going through their mind. I find it hard to believe she was 'excited to take part in the battle' though! I like how you included the part about where she was imperiused! And I loved how you made Madam Rosmerta sort of 'protective' over the students. It was great.

I especially enjoyed the ending. It's definitely something that sounds like canon, and I can really imagine it happening. Overall, I really enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Northumbrian 

13th August 2010:
Why did I expect this to be about Hannah? Personal prejudice. Nice story, even a Death Eater should know not to mess with a barmaid.
N

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review