Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

31st March 2011:
Great Chapter i enjoyed reading it and now off to the next one

 Report Review

Review #2, by Northumbrian 

22nd August 2010:
I love Sir Cadogan (well perhaps love is too strong a word) but this story brilliantly points out that, despite Cadogan's wishes, war is neither noble nor chivalrous.
Personally I'd have loved to see the words varlet and blackguard, to, but then I've always been a sucked for the cod-medieval.
One thing, it should be chivalric skills, not chivalry skills.
N

 Report Review

Review #3, by Capella Black 

21st August 2010:
Aw, Sir Cadogan, you can't help but love him. It must have been so hard for him to see all the battles going on, and all the rules of warfare being ignored, without being able to do anything about it.

I really liked how you stressed the importance of fairness and morality in this story, as these are exactly the type of thing that sir Cadogan would have been focussed on. I also love the vocabulary you've chosen - "rogues", "dogs", and my favourite "unhand her!" - all very true to the character, and fun to boot.

A pretty simple storyline, but a unique and fun viewpoint.

 Report Review

Review #4, by melian 

20th August 2010:
I love Sir Cadogan. He's probably a pain in the neck to actually encounter but it's wonderful to have a bit of comic relief Sir Cadogan-style in the midst of a battle, I think. I love how he's still trying to maintain the laws of chivalry and the traditional ways to fight - which, of course, he would have - and his fury at the DE taking on a woman to fight was glorious. Wonderful little POV fic here, you shoudl be proud of it.

cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #5, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

20th August 2010:
"And I realized that I was happy with seeing those picture perfect battles drawn only in portraits. A real battle was not fit for those with a noble heart." That line was extremely powerful, something about it really moved me as a reader. Perhaps it was the fact that he spoke of the fact that real battle was unclean and messy, not at all as it is painted.

This really for some reason has had a lingering impression upon me. Perhaps as the narrator speaks of being one of those who had seen battle before, yet all they'd seen was a painting and the reality of it all shocked them, just as perhaps it would shock any of us.

This was a very nice piece, well written and lingers behind in my mind. Keep up the great work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #6, by theelderwand 

18th August 2010:
Sir Cadogan! Excellent. I must say you've got him perfectly in character. At parts, it seemed almost tongue in cheek, in others, somber and heartfelt. It works.

Good work here.

Eldy

 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
Ahh! Sir Cadogan FTW. This was awesome. I liked that it kept the drama and action of the battle while alternatively creating kind of a humorous scene of Sir Cadogan. I mean, it's hard to not giggle at the guy. I think you captured his character well. The over the top chivalry and such. Very nicely done, good job. (:

 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggle 

14th August 2010:
Ooh, this was fascinating! I really enjoyed it! Story from the perspective of a painting, right?

I considered writing one of these, but found it was too hard. I simply didn't know what to write. Your story is excellent! I love how this person is one of those 'traditional' people with honour. The idea that they are cowards is great, because they certainly are. I love how the paintings shouting at the Death Eater, but the Death Eater is laughing. It's so in character, and makes for a great story!
Well written! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review