Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne 

14th August 2011:
I could hurt that death eater myself for taking that picture of Colin *shakes fist at death eater*
I like how you portrayed Colin, his fear of the battle and how he didn't feel strong or brave enough to do anything apart from run and take pictures, because people needed to remember these moments.
And when he got that rage that made him want to fight showed that he did have Gryffindor in him. It's such a pity he didn't notice the death eater until it was too late.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #2, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

31st March 2011:
Poor Collin :( Great Chapter i enjoyed reading it and now off to the next one

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jazzeh Turnip 

22nd August 2010:
Eurgh, I hate how the death eater used Colin's camera against him. I'm actually disgusted by that -shudder-

I love how he was so determined to do something useful, not just as a "spare", despite his fear. I think that's really representative of the whole of the side of the Order. The death eaters seemed to go into the battle wanting it and excited for it, whereas the good side wanted anything but and were scared about it. I think that in itself prove which side is the best, if not the causes they were fighting for.

Colin may not've survived the battle, but I really hope that camera did.

10/10
Lorren

 Report Review

Review #4, by Capella Black 

20th August 2010:
More darkness from Ravenclaw - what are they feeding you in that common room?

To start with, I wasn't too sure about this piece - I wasn't too sure that all Colin would do is take pictures. However, I then realised you agreed, as he joined the battle proper, and everything fell into place, with me quickly forgetting about the idea. Only at the end did the point of that make sense, and the dark twist really ended the piece well (if not disturbingly).

I love the idea that he would rail against the idea of being a spare, and that you have him taking out at least one DE before dying himself, thus ensuring that his death was for a reason, and that he truly was more than a spare. That was a really good concept.

 Report Review

Review #5, by melian 

20th August 2010:
Poor Colin. I like the idea of him darting around trying to record the events of the battle, kind of like the Battle of Hogwarts' own photojournalist. But being a Hufflepuff? Codswallop. The fact that he was at the battle at all meant that of course he was a Gryffie, even if it was the last thing he ever did. And no matter how many times I read his death, it always brings a tear to my eye, and this was no exception. The absolute futility of it all was really drummed home here and you really recognise what a waste of a life it was. A life with so much promise. *reaches for tissues* Excellent fic.

cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #6, by propertyoftheHBP 

18th August 2010:
I love how you have Colin taking pictures of the battle like a war reporter. It's a very fitting job, and a very important one at that. I can only imagine how happy he'd be if they were found and put up somewhere like an exhibit in a museum. Then I loved how he found the strength to prove that he had something to offer to the battle and how he really did. The thought of a Death Eater taking a picture of poor Colin's dead face is just so...eerie, to be honest. Of course, it's sad as well. Colin's character was perfect, very true to what we know of him. I really liked this one-shot, you did a fantastic job with it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
That was dark and kind of twisted. Which really just made it all the more better. I adored the way you wrote this. There were so many ups and downs. And it was kind of ironic how Colin felt hopeless in the beginning and then when he was finally feeling like he was a part of something and that he mattered, his life was ended. And then the final touch of the Death Eater taking his picture, that is one truly dark snippet of a story. I loved it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggle 

14th August 2010:
Loved this. It flowed really well, and it was just generally all around brilliantly written.

Since Colin is such a minor character, its hard for me to write him, but I think you did a fabulous job. The connection with his camera is great, and follows on from the Harry Potter books. I like how Colin Creevey manages to take down a few Death Eaters!

The ending is sad. I thought the last snapshot was a tad unrealistic - a Death Eater probably would've stepped on the camera instead, but it was a nice touch to the bittersweet story.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review