Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jchrissy 

2nd June 2012:
This is amazing. Narcissa fascinates me as a character. I think this does an amazing job making her emotions and reasoning come to life. Wonderful work, and very beautiful words!

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne 

14th August 2011:
I love that Narcissa gave him a fighting chance by saying that he was dead.
And how she has faith in Harry by knowing that Voldemort was soon to meet his downfall. Even if it is for her own gain, she still thinks that he's too young.
I really like how you wrote Narcissa and her thoughts and feelings

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #3, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

31st March 2011:
Horray for Narcissa making the right choice woo hoo GO TEAM MOMS! now off to the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #4, by Capella Black 

19th August 2010:
Ooh, good insight! I love Narcissa's part of the final battle - she was one of the biggest chance aspects that ensured Harry's side won, and yet her actions have always been somewhat mysterious to me. This explains them beautifully - the way she could see him as the better of two bad options, and the way it finally hit her that Harry and Draco had the same right to live. A really intelligent exploration of Narcissa's motivations all round.

I also love how you show her emotional roller-coaster through the story - starting off appalled at Harry's survival, and the possibility of Voldemort's defeat, and ending with comfort at the exact same concept. This development is one that happens extremely quickly in canon, yet you've managed to make it utterly believable.

 Report Review

Review #5, by melian 

18th August 2010:
Penny, you know I love your writing, and this has just reinforced that. You even moved me to tears with that last bit - how Draco was too young to die and therefore, so was Harry. It's a point of view I had never thought of before but it makes perfect sense and does help explain Narcissa's decision that night.

I really liked how you had her pretty much weighing up the pros and cons of which reality would be better for her family to live in, and I smiled when she chose the light because that at least would mean her family COULD live. Very much the thoughts of a mother; I can't imagine any parent making a different decision in those circumstances. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by propertyoftheHBP 

14th August 2010:
Go Narcissa fics! ;)

I love how she realizes that it's over the second she feels Harry's heartbeat. Her following thought process was perfectly in character from what we know of her and very much what she would have been thinking, in my opinion, in canon during those moments. The last few paragraphs were some of my favorites; I loved the line: "And so she let him live". It just has such an air of simplicity for the situation while saying nothing but the truth.

Great piece, I enjoyed it very much. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by witch_in_training 

14th August 2010:
Gah, I've always wanted to see what was going through Narcissa's mind in that moment!

It's ironic how relieved she is that they're going to lose the war. But then, your explanation was true; Voldemort was not exactly providing a comfortable life for her, and even if Harry wasn't the perfect savior for someone in her position, it had to better than Voldemort, right?

Narcissa's reasoning that she couldn't let Harry was beautiful. Actually, everything in this piece was beautiful, from the descriptions of the moment to Narcissa's every thought. Glad I chose to read this story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
The part of this that really got me was Narcissa's logic in lying to Voldemort, telling him that Harry was dead. I never thought of it that way before. I always thought and wrote it out to be because she wanted to protect her family so she lied but it was really interesting to read that she did it because she decided Harry was too young to die, just like Draco. Very maternal of her. I liked that about it. This was well written and interesting to read, good job.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jenna822 

14th August 2010:
Very nice portrayal of Narcissa. I really liked her inner thoughts on this one. Her logic showed through. The way she likened Harry to Draco and actually did it more out of sense of family and self preservation, rather than for the sake of the World. Very SLytherin-like. ;) --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle 

14th August 2010:
Such a well written story! The viewpoint from Narcissa is really interesting. I thought your characterisation of Narcissa was spot on. Overall, it was just really well written. I have no criticisms whatsoever! And I love the ending. It's great that Voldemort might be about to lose, and Narcissa can gain. It's great that Narcissa realises that. Your writing is so wonderful to read!

 Report Review

Review #11, by queen_luna 

8th August 2010:
Very nicely written one-shot! I love how it covered a moment that lasted only a brief second, and yet you managed to put so much thought and emotion into it too. I also like the way you characterized Narcissa as an uncomplicated woman who, when it comes down to it, knows right from wrong. Great job! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review