Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

31st March 2011:
Who would have guessed that the fat lady's singing would come in handy and actually be good for something off to the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #2, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

22nd August 2010:
It seems as though even the portraits have found a way to fight back! I was unsure of how she would manage it however I suspected she would find a way, although for a moment there I thought she would swing open and take him out by surprise. However, I like this way better it tied together that interesting scene from the third movie and her moving about the castle to protect her beloved students so well. It is clear that her duties have given her the certain protectiveness over her students that I would have expected of her.

I particularly loved how you wrote that she continued to search for more windows and Death Eaters, almost as though even she felt her work was not done yet. I particularly loved how you've used her perspective to your advantage when writing this piece and it has turned out very well! Be sure to keep up the excellent work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle 

19th August 2010:
Haha, I really enjoyed this! Haven't read a Fat Lady story yet! I loved this! The personality of the Fat Lady was quite comical actually. I loved all the talk between the Fat Lady and the Death Eaters. It was very believable, and even though there was quite some dialogue, it flowed really well.

I loved the ending of course - her voice as the most dangerous weapon. I really enjoyed this. Great characterisation as well. Well written, lovely story! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Capella Black 

18th August 2010:
Yay! I love how you take such an unusual character, and have her finding her role in the battle. It's a really uplifting piece, showing how anyone can do their part - if all we have is a voice, then that's what we'll use. It certainly is a clever concept - I thought the idea of the ghosts fighting was impressive, but this is even more a case of making the most of what we've been left with!

I also like that it took being told she was useless to force her to find her use - that's the Fat Lady to a tee, that and protecting her kids, and that's what you write. Great story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by theelderwand 

16th August 2010:
This was really well written and exceptionally creative. I was at a loss as to how she'd fight back. Brilliant idea having her rain glass on the DE's with her voice. I never would've thought of that!

Cool story!

Elder

 Report Review

Review #6, by melian 

16th August 2010:
What a unique take on the Fat Lady? I see you've borrowed from Dawn French's portrayal of her in the later films but that's all right, as there's nothing that says that she DIDN'T break glass when she sang. And it's a great attacking move against the DEs, too - they think that, as a portrait, she can't do anything, whereas she actually can. Excellent twist!

I also liked her maternal feelings towards the students - they are for her to protect and you captured that really well. Her crying out for Dumbledore was also touching - a force of habit, I imagine, but deflating when she realised that it couldn't come true.

Excellent bit of writing. I really enjoyed this. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
This kind of made me LOL a little bit. Or a lot. Whatever. I mean, the Fat Lady! How perfect. She would insult Death Eaters like that and then with the singing and the breaking of the glass. How perfect for her. I adored it. I think you did a fantastic job with this(:

 Report Review

Review #8, by Northumbrian 

7th August 2010:
Well, that was different.
LOL
N

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review