Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

31st March 2011:
Yay for the ghosts!! Go sir Nicholas now off to the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #2, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

22nd August 2010:
This is my first Nic fic for this collab and I must say I admire the way you have gone about it, no, I'm in awe. The way you've captured his despair in thinking he is unable to do more than simply stand there and watch then slowly turning it into hope was quite wonderful and very realistic. Although I can scarcely imagine what a ghost may experience emotions wise, I imagine this is very close to the real thing. He seems to be so in character it really does make for a piece that kept me captivated right from the beginning until the very end.

This was a really nice fic and I enjoyed reading it quite a lot! :) Keep up the brilliant work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle 

19th August 2010:
This was great! Haven't yet read a Ghost story, so I loved this! I also thought Nick's characterisation was perfect. And i loved Myrtle here as well! I can well imagine Nick feeling useless. It makes me think that it would be pretty horrifying to watch people dying right in front of your eyes and not being able to do anything about it.

I loved the way you came up with for the ghosts to help. If they did flood the bathrooms though, wouldn't the DA/Order of the Phoenix trip as well? But maybe I'm thinking too deeply here. I loved the story. An enjoyable read, so thanks for writing :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Capella Black 

18th August 2010:
Awesome! At the start of this piece, you really get the reader to feel for Nick; the horror - of being surrounded by such atrocities and yet being unable to help - is very vivid. Then, little by little, you reveal the way he can help, and how he comes across the concept. It really gives a sense of hope to the piece, and of victory.

I also love the idea of the Gryffindor ghost taking charge, and of Moaning Myrtle being the co-leader - for once, the underdogs and the unwanted show their true value. From what we see in canon with Neville and Kreacher, this seems to be what the final battle showed all round, and so this was a great extension on the theme.

 Report Review

Review #5, by melian 

16th August 2010:
Nearly Headless Nick! I'm so glad to have read a story about him in this collab. I've read the Grey Lady once and the Fat Friar twice so it's lovely to see Nick got a role as well. And flooding bathrooms? Ingenious. I love how you had Myrtle joining in the fun to defeat the DEs by making them slip up on the water. Her surprise that Nick complimented her was also very good, because you get the impression that Myrtle wasn't complimented on much, either before she died or after. It's great that she was able to contribute and feel appreciated after all that time. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by theelderwand 

14th August 2010:
What an amazingly original idea. I loved this!

It would be rather hard for the ghosts to properly partake in the battle. I thought it was genius that, of all of them, it was Myrtle who found a way. She deserved a win in her column. Especially liked your flourish with the Gray Lady.

Good work!

Eldy

 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
That was a really clever way to get the ghosts involved in the battle. I've always wondered about them and what they did during times like this when there wasn't much of anything they could do. So I'm really glad that you found a way to get them involved in the battle. Very unique and clever. And Myrtle. Ahah. I love her. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Northumbrian 

7th August 2010:
Interesting use of Nick as a combatant.
I loved the litle reference to the feelings of the Baron and the White Lady.
One thing "a bunch of ghosts" reads oddly to me, but as a Brit I've now realised that "bunch" is often applied to people in US English. In British English only bananas and grapes come in bunches. This isn't a criticism - simply an observation. Although I like to think that the collective noun for ghosts is "a haunting".
N

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review