Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita 

29th November 2016:
Oo how romantic! So excited for Hattie to meet her love as well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm 

10th July 2014:
Hi again! The Unsinkable series still has a place in my heart so I couldnít resist coming to check this out!

I really loved this! ♥ Hattie was such a wonderful narrator that I could read from her mind all day long. Thereís something just so quiet and calm about her that you almost feel peace when you step into her mind which was a rather strange experience but a really lovely one though. You still managed to make her voice so distinct and her feelings known to us throughout this story so that was really impressive given the sense of calm in it too.

Another thing I really loved was all the little historical things from her dress, the way they spoke and their names. The history nerd inside of me was just squeeing away with each historical aspect and I really could tell that there was research behind this which is something I always appreciate.

Hattieís thoughts out in Muggle London were really interesting to read too, because naturally she was going to feel some apprehension about the whole thing, but it was actually fun to read them and see her slowly embrace this new world too. I really liked the fact that she seemed to have developed a fondness for it too, and didnít want to let it go with the way she wasnít going to give into the threat of war just yet and hold onto this sort of freedom for as long as possible!

This was so lovely I canít wait to see more excerpts from the series now!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Moonyxluna 

2nd January 2012:
Aww go Hattie! I think I've said 'I love her/him/them so much' about almost every one of your OCs, but Hattie's so wonderful. I'm glad she found someone. (I realize they just met, but I can be hopeful, can't I?)

"From an unusual, even fractional platform?"
Oh god I could cry. That's so funny!!!

Author's Response: Be hopeful! They did just meet, but this is Hattie's future husband :) I wanted her to have somebody wonderful too, cause I really like Hattie. I'm glad you do too!

That was one of my favorite lines when I was writing this ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by GinnyCullen 

3rd October 2010:
I love this! A badger and a loin how sweet. I love Hattie and I love that Hattie is finding a good fellow! Jack is becoming one of my new favourite characters of yours! Great job!

Author's Response: I really like Jack, I have to admit. He's a nice guy, he really wanted a sister and was glad to have one finally. And in a roundabout way, he set her up with her future husband. He's a good brother :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by La_Tua_Cantante 

11th September 2010:
I fell in love with Hattie in What its worth!! Thank you for writing a one-shot of her! Do you think you could write a short story on her and Edwin? PLEASE!

Author's Response: Yay, I'm always glad when someone says they like Hattie! Actually I am working on a Hattie short story, but it isn't a romantic one. Edwin is, of course, there, and it takes place during the Deathly Hallows era. It'll be coming soon - I'm not quite done with it yet. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFriday 

3rd September 2010:
Do I even need to tell you how excited I was to see MORE Unsinkable-related business from you? I love the idea of a series of one-shots focusing on the supporting characters. It's nice to give them each a bit of spotlight, particularly for a character like Hattie, who is so quiet and proper and never really in the foreground of things (or at least, not the most prominent voice when surrounded by others such as Siobhan and Cecilia).

And how adorable, the way she and Edwin figured each other right out and then told Jack to bugger off. I cannot imagine anything cuter. Fantastic way to kick off this new fic!

Melanie

Author's Response: Oh yay! I'm glad you were excited lol. And I'm glad you reviewed! Hattie is definitely not as prominent a voice as Siobhan and Cecilia, but I do think she's an important character (or maybe I just like her). She and Edwin are kindred souls for sure. They really get each other.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Georgia Weasley 

12th August 2010:
Oh, yay for Hattie! She's always been the "good egg". Good old dependable Hattie. Never the center of anyone's attention, that's certain. I adore her relationship with her new brother, and even in the midst of his confusion and alarm, he finds a way to connect with her and let her know she's special to him. Edwin is brilliant, and the fact that he immediately sees Hattie's worth just wins him billions of brownie points with me. Excellent story, hon. I love these glimpses into the characters' lives. I've grown so fond of them, you know. Can't wait for more!~GW

Author's Response: Yep, good old Hattie. It was nice to make her the central point. I've got more coming for her later.

I thought she was the type that once she decides to do something, she does it whole-heartedly (she's got a lot in common with Molly, really) so once she got to know her stepfather and brother, she really adopts them into her heart. That's Hattie. :) And I like Edwin a lot, even though this is only a brief glimpse of him.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LindaSnape 

11th August 2010:
Ha ha, I can totally sympathize with Hattie. Everyone's always telling people I'm a 'good girl'. Which is infuriating. As if I'm only meant to be this sweet young woman with no prospect of marrying or running off some day. (I'm really considering the latter, you have no idea).

I adore that she gets along well with her step family. I know that not all people do, but I couldn't see Hattie really hating anyone unless, of course, they were a DE or something.

I can't wait to see more about Miss Fitzgerald, though. I'll be honest, she's my favorite. Though, I can't quite place my finger down on why. I think it's because she's the one most like me, to be honest.

Your characterizations were wonderful, and I think it's sweet that Hattie finally found someone. A wizard, none-the-less! She does deserve some happiness, after all.

I love the fact that Jack is so oblivious. It's adorable, not to mention terribly realistic. I have friends like Jack and while I love them, sometimes, I just want to shake them.

I love Edwin and how forceful he has to be to get Jack to leave. It's not Jack's fault, he's trying to be a good brother. xP

I didn't pick up on any spelling errors, either. :)


Linders

Author's Response: Yeah, being the "nice" girl is a problem all in its own. But Hattie really is nice, so she's not likely to decide to try to break out of that role.

Eloping rules. For real. Weddings are such a waste of money. I got married in between: we did out entire wedding - dress, license, flowers, food - for about $500, which is what my sister paid the DJ for her wedding *eyeroll*. Such a waste. Anyway.

Siobhan is everyone's favorite, I think, although a few people did say Cecilia was their favorite. I quite like Siobhan. I haven't finished writing her chapter yet, about halfway done, but Cosmo is next, then Reid, before we get to Siobhan.

I actually originally wrote Edwin as a Muggle, but changed it afterward both to fit better into canon (Arthur's lack of knowledge of Muggles), and because I liked the idea of all these hidden wizards in Jack's life and he never knew it. And cause I liked writing the moment of awareness when Hattie realizes what Edwin is.

Anyway thank you so much for reviewing! I really do appreciate hearing what you thought, you leave really great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Kristin 

10th August 2010:
It's so great that you're writing this collection of short stories! I don't know if I asked for it, but I definitely wanted it ... Maybe more than simply a sequel to Over the Anvil, because if you should write out like 20 years, that would be quite a lot and probably not very interesting :P

I was almost disappointed when it turned out Edwin's a wizard too ... because I'd already started imagining how Hattie married a nice Muggle, and Arthur asking him hundreds of questions every time he and Molly visits Hattie's!

Author's Response: A few people mentioned it in reviews, and I've had a few PMs about it. Yeah, I don't think a sequel or filling in 20 years would be very interesting. I'd rather do a few snapshots.

You know, I considered making Edwin a Muggle, and part of the reason I didn't do it was because Arthur doesn't know a thing about Muggles by the canon era, and he would have if his wife's best friend was married to a Muggle. I think it's fun that Jack suddenly sees how wizards and magic are everywhere and he never knew it, too.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rachel 

7th August 2010:
CUTE! I'm so glad that you are doing this. :-) It makes me quite happy.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're happy ;) It's surprisingly fun to work on these one-shots.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Celestie 

7th August 2010:
Ah, this was so nice to read. :-)

Even though things are getting difficult for Molly and her friends, it was so lovely to read this side of it. And pairing up Hattie with an OC! It was definitely coming - everyone else's been paired off, practically, so it was inevitable, I suppose. I just didn't know how you were going to go about it.

And you did it perfectly! It's great to see that Hattie's getting along with her step-family and her stepbrother so well. Jack was adorable - they definitely had a good brother/sister harmony going there. And Edwin! Edwin was so swoon-worthy! I definitely gasped a bit when she found out he was a wizard! I was definitely hoping he wouldn't be a Muggle - Hattie'd only be in even more danger if he was one.

But they have such a cute chemistry! And Hattie being so in awe that someone like him noticed her made it even more sweet. All in all, it was such a nice getaway from the sadness that followed Cecilia's death (I'm still depressed over this. She was my favorite and the gang just won't be the same without her there raging about something or the other. Take Petula or Hattie, but not Cecilia! D:)

But overall, a wonderful read. ^__^ I'm so glad you're going on with this time period!

- Celeste

Author's Response: I really like Jack. I really like Hattie too, so it was fun to devote a one-shot to her. It's nice that she's accepted her Muggle stepfamily so well, I think. I wanted to give her someone to love of her own. Edwin's very cute and sweet.

Yeah, I'm still sad about Cecilia, I have to admit - I really liked her. I laughed about the "take Petula or Hattie instead" comment though. lol - It wouldn't have worked as well if it hadn't been Cecilia.

The next chapter will be about Petula's wedding. I haven't quite finished it yet, I'm going to try to get it posted by next weekend. :)

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it thus far.


 Report Review

Review #12, by BelleNuit 

6th August 2010:
I just finished reading "Unsinkable" so it was nice to see this! I thought it was really cute with Hattie and Edwin meeting! Your characters are so much fun to read about, I enjoyed reading this quite a bit, so thanks for writing it! I can't wait to see more, and now I have to go finsih reading all your other stories :)

Author's Response: I got a lot of reviews asking me to write more about this era for these characters, and it got me thinking. So I hope everyone likes them! The chapters will each be on a different character, and will jump through the years in the 70s. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review