Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

8th June 2013:
This story was wonderful!! And so complex - there were so many things happening and so many emotions and it really captured the chaos of the wizarding world at the time, but how there's peace as well, even if it is hard to find.

Molly and Arthur were so caught up in themselves that they didn't even consider their parents worrying - I think their parents were right to be worrying in this case, given what had recently happened to Cecilia. But I liked that they found their own bubble of happiness away from the war, and you really captured the energy and obliviousness (is that a word?) of newlyweds. And I bet Gideon and Fabian were so proud of Molly for doing something so wild and eloping haha.

It was nice to see Reid starting to recover, and how the whole group which was starting to fracture during their last months at Hogwarts really tries to stay together in order to stay strong. And I liked the scene with Siobhan and Arthur, it was nice to see her talking seriously to someone. And Arthur seems like a good confidant. I worry about Siobhan though, but I wasn't surprised she decided to run. She reminds me of Jenny from Forrest Gump - always running to escape her past.

AMAZING work!!

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I feel a little speechless. *hugs* Thank you!

They did get so caught up they forgot, and I agree, the parents had good cause to worry. Being freshly married does give you sort of blinders to the rest of the world. But it's nice to be in that happy bubble for a little while. And Gid & Fab were definitely happy for Molly to be the one in trouble for a bit ;)

Reid's getting better. Hattie will help him. But it's a long time before he's really past what happened. At least he's functional again though. Siobhan on the other hand... Yeah she's definitely a runner. An escapist. She doesn't want to think about it or feel it so she shoves it down inside and pretends she's fine and finds ways to distract herself. If she'd stuck around, Arthur and Molly could've helped her, but she took off instead. I wrote some one-shots to show each of them in the future, though Siobhan's doesn't take her through to a healing point, just continuing her self-repression. Anyway if you want to continue reading about these characters, there are three more short pieces :) All Things Life Must Be, Cherry Blossoms, and Never There.

Thank you so much for all the lovely reviews! I've enjoyed reading them so much, and I'm very glad you liked the stories!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Moonyxluna 

2nd January 2012:
I must have forgotten to review this, although you can probably guess that I loved it.

I'm happy Reid is on a recovery, maybe with Hattie? I'm probably reading way too much into it, but oh well, I can hope for him to be happy, right? :) Hattie's such a sweetheart. I suppose they are different personalities. alright I'll stop now.

I loved their parents' reactions, I think based on Molly&Arthur's characters, the reactions were spot on. I read it in a public place and I got a few weird looks for laughing so much :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you loved it! :D Reid and Hattie, nope, not going to happen. They're just not ever going to be attracted to each other that way. I do love Hattie though, and she's good for Reid in her own way.

I tried to make the reactions appropriate to how I've set up the parent characters, and with how we know Molly settles into being a Weasley in canon (she's very comfortable around the rest of the Weasleys at Bill's wedding). I'm quite pleased to hear you think I got it right, so thanks very much! And thank you for reviewing, of course. I adore reviews.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Singularity 

29th August 2011:
It's so nice to see Reid on the road to recovery. It's good that he's able to laugh again. And I love how you slipped in the bit about Hattie. She really is an overlooked and under-appreciated member of the group, isn't she, but her role is very important. She would be the person to go kick Reid into gear. Everyone needs a friend like that.

And Siobhan, she doesn't seem to be coping quite as well, but at least she's a bit back to normal. I'm interested to see what happens to her.

This was a lovely ending to this story. I'm glad that it ended on such a hopeful and happy note. There's still the twinge of fear and sadness, but life and love goes on. Thanks for sharing all of your lovely insights into Molly and Arthur's younger years. I love reading your stories :)

~Singularity

Author's Response: Reid recovers, mostly, and you're right, Siobhan's not really coping. She's burying her feelings as usual, instead of dealing with them. Thus her desire to skip town. Siobhan specializes in running away from things that are hard, poor thing.

I tried to end it on a hopeful note - but yeah, it's a bit sad and there's still the fear of the war.

There's still two more stories in the Unsinkable-verse after this one, if you haven't read them yet :) Thank you so much for all the lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mary 

27th July 2011:
Fabulous! I love all the Molly Prewett (or should I say Weasley) stories you have written! You are a fantastic author and I hope to see you stories on the shelves of my local bookstore one day! I only noticed one mistake in the whole of the Unsinkable series, where Molly talks about her five years or remembering Arthur but it could have been just a trick of the eye because I was devouring the story so fast! Your writing style is very mature, and I am glad to have found a story that's not about a girl who hates Sirius Black and then falls in love with him and cures him of his womanizing ways. Your series is a breath of fresh air. Well done momotwins, congratulations on writing my favorite Harry Potter so far! You obviously have researched well, and you make the characters seem real. I love how Hattie is always correcting Siobhan on the way she speaks, it really seems like its the 60's! Five out of five stars! In fact you have inspired me to try my hand at writing my own fanfiction!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope you checked out "All Things Life Must Be" and "Cherry Blossoms" for a bit more Unsinkable past this story ;)

I'm glad it had the tone of the 60s, I tried to keep it in the appropriate era when I was writing these stories. I'm not sure which spot you mean about the five years, was that in this story? I want to correct it if it's an error. Thank you so much for the compliments on my writing, I really appreciate it and I'm so glad you enjoyed the Unsinkable series! I feel honored to be your favorite HPfanfic and to have inspired you to write :) Stop by the forums when you post it and let me know your penname!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by OMGILuvHP 

12th July 2011:
beautiful story. i smiled the whole way through. granted i took a break from it for awhile in the first part of the story, but man i love your writing. so glad you wrote how they got married too. it was perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your review really made me smile, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I really loved writing this one. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheWorldISee 

31st March 2011:
Oh goodness, I don't know how to feel. You're really a talent at pulling at one's heartstrings. I'm happy for Molly and Arthur, I'm sad over Cecilia, I'm worried about Siobhan, I'm so many things at once it seems impossible to think it all at the same time. This story was, though much sadder than Unsinkable, just as well written and overall enjoyable. You really have done an amazing job with all the characters. I applaud you on another fantastic story. 10/10!

Author's Response: Feeling many things at once is a big part of this story, I think. You can be terrified for the future, ecstatically happy at a new marriage, and sad at a friend's death, all at once. That's life, you know?

Thank you so very much! I love reading your reviews, I'm so glad you found my stories!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Georgia Weasley 

24th September 2010:
Gorgeous. I adored it. I think the way you left it with Siobhan leaving, untethered to their world through Cecilia any longer, and Reid being dragged back into the land of the living by Hattie, is perfect.The ending made me smile and giggle a bit. Screw it. This IS canon. I said so. Tell JKR. LOVED it, hon!~GW

Author's Response: OMG girl, you are so silly. It'll be canon in our heads (by the way, your Astoria is canon in my head now). I'm glad you thought it was good - I wanted to sort of send Siobhan on to the next part of her life, and Reid is going to be absorbed into Hattie's family, because she won't let up on him until he's healed. If Siobhan had stuck around, Hattie would have gotten her too, but Siobhan's a runner.

Thank you so much for the review! You're the best :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aidenk77 

2nd September 2010:
Absolutely brilliant. I've really enjoyed the story, it was beautifully written, and had me glued to my laptop.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by heather 

23rd August 2010:
well done as always. great character development.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Renegade Niffler 

21st August 2010:
Well, once again I've reached the sad feeling that comes when one of your stories has ended. *sigh*

I loved this last chapter. You capped off a sweet, romantic story in a very poignant way. Molly and Arthur had their brief escape into undisturbed romantic bliss but had to return to the harsh realities of the world they were living in. I think this was very symbolic of what their first years of marriage were like, they had to take whatever joy they could amidst the pain of loss, and fear of war. I also like how you left things with Reid and Siobhan. They were still, of course, deeply grieving, yet you left me with a sense that they would live to smile again.

Excellent as always. :) Can't wait to see what you do next. (Hmmm, perhaps I should check out JAMR)

Author's Response: The story definitely circles around back to reality for the last chapter. They make the best of things in wartime, but it's still there waiting for them. And Reid and Siobhan begin to deal with Cecilia's death, in their own ways.

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I'm very pleased that you liked the story!

Please do check out JAMR! It's quite a bit different from the Unsinkable series, but I hope you'll still like it. I'd love to hear what you think of it. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by couldyoureallyknow 

19th August 2010:
that was amazing ! :) :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jen 

18th August 2010:
OMG... I can't believe I missed the last two chapters... You must sneak them in or something! lol

Loved it. I always thought Molly and Arthur were a lovely couple and your depiction of their early years together is very sweet. Thanks for sharing. :)

Author's Response: Haha! I posted them a while ago now. I guess it was stealthy ;) I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by arthurandmollynerd 

2nd August 2010:
Ok this review is for the whole story. This is one of the most wonderful stories of Arthur and Molly when they elope that I have read. It is so romantic yet sad. Great balance of both sides and i like that you didn't write a sex scene; leaves it to the readers imagination espicially when we read that clothes are thrown everywhere. To sum it up great story loved every bit of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I think leaving that to the imagination is better. And more keeping with the tone of how I write them. I'm glad you liked it, thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rachel 

31st July 2010:
Wah, it's over! :-(

But so so so so so lovely. :-) Thank you so much for taking this story as far as you have. It's been absolutely delightful, and I'm sure that I will return to read the full ones many times. I absolutely adore your characterizations and your way of mixing normal life with the horror of Voldemort. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

And please do keep writing, even though I know it won't be Molly/Arthur, necessarily.

Author's Response: Yes, this part is over, but I am still writing some more on the Unsinkable-verse, so there'll be a bit more before it ends completely.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked that characters and the stories :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by jrg0715 

28th July 2010:
Absolutely love the series you created with Molly & Arthur. You did a great job of creating characters I cared about and were very real and believable. I feel like they really fit into the HP world. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am very pleased that you've enjoyed reading my characters and stories :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by 21always 

27th July 2010:
This was so good. I love your writing. I hope that this isn't the end of your Molly/Arthur stories! You've done such a good job on this. I have to say when I read the part of Cecilia dying, I cried. Can't wait for whatever you write next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Nope, not done with them quite yet. I still have a few more things for the Unsinkable cast of characters. I was pretty sad to kill off Cecilia, I really like her :( Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by theelderwand 

26th July 2010:
Excellent chapter and an excellent story. But there's still so much more to tell!! Arg.

I hope you've got the next installment of the Unsinkable verse on tap. I'm enthralled.

You had everyone's emotions exactly where they should be. glad to see Reid is starting to recover and Siobahn...it makes infinite sense that she'd leave the country now.

Arthur and Molly. You've really fleshed out the one great romance that JKR never had the time for. Sweet couple. They always bring out the old softy in me the way you write them.

A fabulous tale and I do hope there's more.

Elder

Author's Response: lol I know, it's still lots going on. I'll get to some of it, I'm really warming to the idea of a collection of one-shots before I leave the 60s.

Reid has made the first step toward recovery, and Siobhan is going to run away, which I think fits both their characters. She's sort of dealing with it, but she's an avoider with strong emotions, so she'll cut and run. She's never really been a British citizen anyway, being raised in Ireland, so...

You know, I've always thought they were a great romance. Epic, even, despite their normalcy and the "calm pool of married affection" they've fallen into in later life, to paraphrase Amelia Peabody. I do love them.

Thank you so much for the review - and all the reviews you've left! There will be more :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by RonsGirlFriday 

26th July 2010:
THEY'RE SO CUTE I'M GONNA DIE! (Paraphrasing, of course, a line from Despicable Me)

I've said this before, but your Unsinkable OC's have become canon for me. I can't imagine Molly and Arthur's era in the Potterverse without them. This was a great ending to this short story.

Before I read all of your Unsinkable stories, I didn't really think much about the Arthur/Molly ship. I always thought they were cute, and a very solid couple in the books, but they were like 50 years old, and I didn't feel strongly about them. I just never thought about what they would have been like younger, or about the foundations of their relationship. Now I adore them. There was a discussion thread recently at TGS about favorite HPFF character crushes. I can safely say that your Arthur from the Unsinkable series is mine. Reid comes in a close second. XD

But what now?? Is this the end of the Unsinkable saga? What will I do without them? Or do you have something else up your sleeve?

Author's Response: hahaha. I kept saying "it's so FLUFFY" at Infinitus, and I haven't even *seen* that movie (yet - I'm sure my kids will ask to see it eventually). The fluff is sucking you in again I see. It does that to me periodically too.

I have to admit, they're canon in my head. I imagine Molly having tea with Hattie at least once a week for the rest of their lives, and visiting Petula out in Yorkshire regularly too. It's all in my head, I know, but I think I've just been writing them so long now that I can't imagine it any other way.

When I started writing Unsinkable, I wanted to show Molly as a girl, explain the love potion incident that's mentioned in canon, and that was pretty much it. I hadn't thought a ton about them either, just that I really liked them, and had always really identified with Molly. But the story really took on a life of its own, and the more I wrote, the more I had to keep writing. Sounds crazy, I know. I do love Arthur, and I have a soft spot for Reid, even though he's a big jerk ;)

This is not the end - I had thought to move straight to the 90s, where I have a few stories planned out for the Unsinkable characters, but I'm starting to think I need to round out the 60s a bit more. I wrote a one-shot a few weeks ago, it just popped into my head, of Hattie at the end of the summer of 1968, and I wasn't sure what to do with it. Another reviewer mentioned a short story collection, and the idea is growing on me. Kind of glad for the queue closure, gives me some time to think. And maybe write too.

But anyway. No, this is not the end, and yes, I do have more up my sleeve ;) Thank you so much for reviewing! I always love reading your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ilisten2potterwatch 

26th July 2010:
WHOA WHOA WHOA!!! this story is finished??? what about Siobhan? and Reid? they seem so lost and unhappy! i cant live the rest of my life not knowing what happens to them! and what about molly and arthur? i was really looking forward to reading about their lives as newly weds as they moved into the burrow. Please dont stop here! i love this story so much! i understand if you are too busy to write or you have other things going on... but if you ever get a chance to write more about molly and arthur PLEASE PLEASE do! i have enjoyed reading your stories so much!

Author's Response: lol. Yes, it was only ever meant to go to this point. Not a full ending of their story, merely this particular chapter. Now everyone's making me paranoid that I should have kept writing, and I'm contemplating starting a collection of one-shots to round out the 60s Unsinkable-verse before I move on to the 90s. I'll think on it over the queue closure. I have to admit, I have a Hattie one-shot set just after this that I'd love to post. Hmm.

Anyway, thank you so much for the review! I promise, this is not the end, I'm still going to write these characters for a while more. They still live in my head and have stories to tell, so I know I can't be done with them yet. And I love Molly and Arthur


 Report Review

Review #20, by Celestie 

24th July 2010:
I don't think I've ever reviewed you before, but I absolutely adore your writing - it's really fluid and easy to read. And I love the Unsinkable series to the extent that I don't much like to read Arthur/Molly because none can compare to yours.

Every character in this series has held their own. Molly and Arthur are absolutely perfect and I feel like I've always known your OC's - Cecilia in particular for me. :) Molly's dynamics with her family and with the Weasley family are so, so well written. I'm envious of your writing style and method because it's gorgeous.

When I read this chapter, I didn't even know it was the last one until I saw your A/N. But regardless, I felt this huge sense of nostalgia - the friends meeting and remembering their past. It's a small, realistic moment that's hardly ever captured in fanfiction.

I'm not sure if this is the last in the Unsinkable series and I sincerely hope not! I'm not ready to part with these characters yet - especially not your OC's. We know how Molly and Arthur turned out, but not the rest of your gang. If not a sequel, then perhaps a short story collection? XD

I'm in awe of your writing and how well you've developed your characters. A lovely, lovely read.

:D

Author's Response: Ah, sorry about the abrupt final chapter - I tried to give it a sense of finale while still leaving their futures open, as it were. A beginning and an ending. Hard to write, and I always have a hard time writing endings anyway, so... I'm glad you liked it, and I always greatly appreciate when someone who isn't a frequent reviewer leaves me their thoughts. It means a lot :)

I've now been writing these characters for nearly 3 years, so I feel quite close to them as well. I'm not done with them yet either, so you will certainly hear more about them. Whether that's in the 60s or in the 90s, I'm not sure yet. I'm starting to think I'd like to fill in a few details before I leave the 60s, so I may start a few one-shots. But I definitely have Deathly Hallows-era stories planned out (and partially written), so those will come soon. I'm pretty fond of this lot :)

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It really made my day.


 Report Review

Review #21, by thewatergirl 

24th July 2010:
lovely, lovely, lovely.
I look forward to more stories from you.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by evil little devil 

24th July 2010:
What a lovely ending. Molly and Arthur have to be the most adorable couple in the entire hp fandom, they're just so sweet together.It's good to see that Siobhan and Reid are both moving on somewhat, that the whole group is really.
It's been an absolute pleasure to read this story, you're a brilliant writer. I look forward to seeing more from you :)

Author's Response: Molly and Arthur are definitely my favorite couple (as I'm sure is obvious from the amount of words I've expended on them). Siobhan and Reid have both made a start at dealing with their grief, but it will take time, of course. Thank you so much for the lovely review! I hope to have new stuff posted when the staff break is over.

 Report Review

Review #23, by LidaRose 

24th July 2010:
Wonderful! Thanks for such a delightful read! What's next???

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I have a few things planned still for this cast of characters, but right now I'm working on a songfic (weird, I know, I never write them) that's mostly about Ginny.

 Report Review

Review #24, by GinnyCullen 

24th July 2010:
I loved it as always! So happy this chapter is posted I have been checking back daily!
I loved that it was not all about Molly and Arthur that Cecilia was a huge part of it as well. It made me laugh and want to cry. Your truly are a gifted writer!

Are you continuing this with showing Petulia's wedding? or even more on where lovely Siobohan?

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry it took so long, I really have no decent excuse. Just couldn't seem to get it finished. Anyway, I'm really glad you like how it turned out.

I had planned to leave it here, for the end of the Unsinkable-verse in the 60s, and pick up again in Deathly Hallows era, where I've already got two short stories planned out. I think I might do a one-shot collection to fill out a few bits of unfinished business, though. I'm not sure yet. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review