Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

9th August 2011:
I am always amazed when I read stories that in so few words convey so much. Especially when the action surrounds an original character.

Orla seemed like such a well rounded character. Her fear, her incredibly wise decision to play according to her strengths, every thing was so convincing about her. She seemed to blossom with every word you wrote. She is far from being a Mary Sue if you ever worried about that. Her emotions felt real and convincing, her decisions could have easily been followed by dreadful consequences and you haven't even described how she looked. Simply perfect!

I'm very happy you chose to show us how the Battle affected other characters than the ones we knew about. This is a reminder to everyone that there were still other students who were certainly as affected by the War as the canon ones.

Oh and Professor Trelawney was spot on! She was so herself randomly spluttering prophecies and not even being aware of doing so. It's always a pleasure to read her when depicted so well.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
Hmmm strange but nice.

well written.

~AD

P.S. 41st review! OMG!! So near to my target!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
OH I love OC war moments they are truly amazing! I loved her conversation with a Death Eater made me giggle! It was a smart tactic on her part it really was! :) Great story!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

24th March 2011:
Yay for Ravenclaw :) and Orla of course.(note to self I KNEW those theater classes might come in handy someday who knows maybe i'll have to use them to fight a death eater in the future)

 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins 

18th August 2010:
Oooh, Orla Quirke, no one ever writes about her. I like the background you gave her. We got only a brief glimpse into her character and her history, but it was enough to color her as a character.

You know, I wonder how many prophecies Trelawney has made that either no one heard, or went unrecognized? It's an interesting concept. She may have been better at Divination than anyone thought.

 Report Review

Review #6, by melian 

15th August 2010:
What a fantastic story! Orla Quirke was not someone I expected to see in this collab but you told her tale really well. I particularly liked the lead-in with Professor Trelawney's prediction, and the character she pulled out to fool the Death Eater for long enough that Natalie (McDonald, I assume) was able to retrieve her wand and cast the Stunning spell needed. Very very well done and a take on the battle that I would never even have thought of. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
I like the fact that you used an OC in the story and did it effectively. Your backstory with Trelawny wove in well and didn't stick out like a sore thumb. :) I dunno about the acting part though. It seemed like something that she just remembered at the right time, you know? kind of like a horror movie where she runs and runs and runs, then all of a sudden realizes she has a gun at the last second.

But overall, it was done well

 Report Review

Review #8, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
Great character creation! The acting abilities add depth and a history to Orla's personality. The way she uses them shows how innovative and witty she was.
I really like the style of this piece. It's light enough - a nice change after the darkness of the previous chapters - but it keeps our minds in Hogwarts. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #9, by propertyoftheHBP 

23rd July 2010:
Oh, I love how you incorporated the hourglass into a prophecy! Such an original idea, and the riddle was written well, too.

I really like the Orla that you created--I didn't remember her at first, but it's nice to see a take on a character who we know literally nothing about.

And speaking of character, I love the one that Orla made up! It's a genius idea to come up with to fool a Death Eater, because of course they'd fall for it. While they're insanely intelligent humans, they're dumb in the way that if someone challenges their curse-casting abilities, of course they'd 'fight' back.

Great story! Though it was a battle one, it had a really good sense of humor, and I enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by blueirony 

28th June 2010:
The idea of another prophecy is an interesting one and one I had not thought of. It tied in really well, though.

I love that you too ksuch a minor character and gave her a story. I especially loved how she took the qualities that make her a Ravenclaw and used them to her advantage. That was really, really cleverly done and I was almost smiling at parts of this piece, which is strange, given the dark subject matter of it!

It's lovely to see author's interpretations of the smaller characters so that we can see that they, too, played parts in the battle, no matter how small.

 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFriday 

26th June 2010:
I really like how you worked in the theme of being a Ravenclaw and Orla using it to her advantage. And I'm glad someone wrote about a minor character like this!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Malvado 

22nd June 2010:
I really like how you took a character that basically nothing is known about and made her believable. It's also interesting that you had Orla come to her friend's rescue, but without the use of magic. She really had to use her brains, but that's no problem for a Ravenclaw, right? :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review