Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

9th August 2011:
A Theodore Nott. I am incredibly grateful that you wrote a story about him. He is a character just waiting to be explored with so many possibilities that it's always a wonder no one notices him.

I don't know much about him, so I'll just go ahead and assume that you created his past. I think all that's said about him is that he could see Thestrals and that his mother had died, being raised by his father. I loved the fact that his past with his family is a little different. That his father did not particularly like him and was probably the one that causes his mother's death. It seems very real and sad that because of his father's mistakes, and choices in life, he had to pay for him by being sorted into Slytherin when he clearly did not wish to.

You have really brought this tertiary character to life in this little piece. It's so easy to feel for him when he's described by you. It was very pleasant to discover that in the end he revolted against his father and decided to do what's right. That really speaks a lot about him :)


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
wow! another good work!! this one keeps amazing me!!

cheers!
~AD

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
I like this. Slytherins are not all cowards and this really accents it. Just how he stays and fights it is just truly remarkable here! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
well this breaks the mind set that all slytherins are death eaters or evil yay for theodore nott for breaking the cycle :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins 

18th August 2010:
Good job explaining why Theo Nott can see thestrals. It really gives him a background that's both very Slytherin-ish and also a real motivation to fight. I think you did a good job covering his psychology in such a brief passage, which is not the easiest thing to do. Well done! I wonder how many other students fall into two houses. It's an interesting concept, the choice in Sorting. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
Wow. I never would have thought of Nott as one to turn sides. I'm glad you went at it from this point of view though. It really puts a kind face on slytherin house. THANKS! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
The idea of a child going against their parents' wishes, when mixed with an extreme situation and a good writing style, always makes a great read. Nott was characterized spot-on as the pureblood child who turns away from family beliefs. A really good read!

 Report Review

Review #8, by melian 

13th August 2010:
Great chapter! I liked how you brought in that key theme of the books, being doing what is right compared to what is easy, at the end there, because this is a key example of that theme. We don't know what Theodore Nott actually did that night but this is a very believable scenario and I would like to think that it is what he did. I particularly liked his dismissal of Malfoy as someone not worth giving the time of day to. (Though, I did see a grudging respect or wariness or something at the recognition that Draco was up to something.) Very well done!

 Report Review

Review #9, by propertyoftheHBP 

22nd July 2010:
I haven't read much of Nott Jr., so seeing your take on him was interesting. I like that you made more of a Ravenclaw than any other house, and the line:

"The Hat needs no further explanation, no begging on my part, because it feels my terror just as I feel it,"

gave me chills, I'm not exactly sure why, but the Hat recognizing why Theodore needed to be put into Slytherin and doing so is almost eerie to me.

It was a great piece overall, very powerful and well-written. I enjoyed it, good job!

 Report Review

Review #10, by katebabelovesharrypotter 

19th July 2010:
Here I am with your review... I was really touched by this. It uses excellent imagery and I had no problem reading it. It was a nice new look at things. I enjoyed that you wrote about a Slytherin. I know I worte about a Gryffindor and it was probably easier to write about the traditional hero, but you gave us all a new insight. It was nice to see a Slytherin hero, somebody who fights for their school, even if it is partially brought on by revenge. I can't stop raving about the imagery... I read it out loud to my little neighbor (who's too young to understand) and I loved the way it sounded aloud. You have a gift and nurturing it will only result in better writing. I honestly don't have a crtique for this and I thank you for wanting my review because it gave me an oppurtunity to read this :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by blueirony 

28th June 2010:
This was brilliant. The way you captured Theodore's capture was really something. That desire inside him to not be like him, to not be like his father was really lovely.

I liked you how provided some backstory to this. How his mother and him had struggled. The reason why he was put in Slytherin. It really put so much more into his character and his sostyr.

I really felt that determination from him to do what's right in that last line. The fierceness really came through. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

25th June 2010:
That was a haunting ending there; "for once in my life, I'm going to do what's right." The idea of a Slytherin disgusted with his own house and choosing the right thing is extremely appealing, and you wrote it well. The explanation of Nott's past was essential; otherwise, you would've been just another author taking liberties that weren't properly done. But explaining why Nott was placed in the wrong house, showing how deeply and personally he despised Voldemort were an explanation in themselves for how he summoned the courage to fight. This was a well written snapshot into the life of someone who must have felt like he was hiding from the truth all his life. Nicely done!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review