Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

9th August 2011:
This was an interesting twist to how we knew things went in the book. I appreciated that you went around canon so you could picture Neville clearly. I really enjoyed reading him overcoming his fear of death for the last time. It felt even greater that when the image of his grandmother and Voldemort appeared, he faltered in his decision to kill the snake. It felt real, human. Being offered the chance to be with your parents when you have never known them other than in St. Mungo's is a very tempting offer, as Neville himself admitted. He wouldn't be able to push it away that easily.

What I do consider a little impossible is his knowing that the snake was a Horcrux. Harry never explained it to him and even if Neville had overheard Ron, Hermione and Harry talking about it, it seems strange that he knew what a Horcrux was. Very few people knew what that meant, and even fewer were willing to talk about it.

All in all it was a cute Neville story with lots of insight into his mind and feelings. It's greatly appreciated that you decided to write from his POV as he is one of my favourite characters :)


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
Great one there!! I loved this one!!

cheers!
~AD

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Hm, this is an interesting take on Neville. Seeing what he might have seen in the horcrux was really genuine and sad. I really do like this story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
I'm In love with the chapters wher Neville comes into his own It's amazing the imagination and muse of the authors on this site!

 Report Review

Review #5, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

21st August 2010:
Although you've changed quite a bit from the story we know as to how Neville really kills Nagini it is interesting in a sense that you've given it such a remarkably unique twist that ties in with what little we know of Horcruxes so well. Having only been exposed to what they can really do a number of times within the books you've done a wonderful job of portraying Neville in such a situation.

Although Neville seemed a little like his old, pre-DA self there is no denying that he ends up finding his courage as he does in this piece which you have portrayed well. I particularly loved how you have done this, and the memory-type images that it drags up for him. A well written and highly unique piece! Keep up the great work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
This was an interesting twist to Neville. You chose to change quite a bit, which is fine, but I kind of felt like it was out of character for Neville to just walk into the forrest and seek out a giant Boa Constrictor that could easily be right next to Voldemort himself. Would Neville really wanna put himself in that much of danger?
Because at least if he tried to kill the snake in front of everyone (as in canon) then if he failed, there would still be others there who now know what he was doing and try to kill the snake as well. If he would have died in the forrest with the snake, then there wouldnt be anyone who knew to kill the snake and Voldemort may have one.

Otherwise, besides the fact that you switched Nagini's sex about three times, it was pretty well done. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
This chapter was a very good read, but your characterization of Neville at the beginning is too much like the Neville we know from the earlier books, from before the DA. In his seventh year, Neville Longbottom wasn't a frightened boy. He stood up to the Death Eaters and purebloods of the school and he was punished for it. He grew stronger each day until he was just as brave, just as much of a survivor as Harry was.
The rest - writing, plot, flow - brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #8, by melian 

3rd August 2010:
This was a wonderful story. You really captured how Neville must have felt, with all this responsibility and wanting to run and hide but knowing that his destiny was to stand and fight. I liked how he used the dead bodies of Fred, Lupin, Tonks and even Colin to motivate himself to fight. The offer of bringing his parents back was a good one and had echoes of the end of Goblet of Fire and I really liked how Neville saw it was a trap and kept on his true path. Great fic!

 Report Review

Review #9, by JLHufflepuff 

24th June 2010:
I like the way Neville had the courage to confront his greatest wish and deny himself because he wanted to help the right side. I like that his courage builds throughout the chapter.

 Report Review

Review #10, by theelderwand 

21st June 2010:
Well done!

I love this new take on Nev killing Nagini. Especially the temptation tactic, so very much like what poor Ron went through with the Locket. Nice twist too that Nev knew about the Horcruxes and Crookshanks too.

Good work!

TEW (aka Eldy)

 Report Review

Review #11, by blueirony 

20th June 2010:
What an amazing insight into what was going through Neville's mind when he killed Nagini. I loved that battle that he had with himself between fear and courage. And I like that you acknowledged that he was probably terrified out of his mind.

The horcrux itself was very interesting. That fear that his grandmother is ashamed of him and that ever present need to have his parents back. Very interesting and a very good portrayal of what might have come out of the horcrux, I think. I loved that he used those who had died to give him strength. That suits his character so well and the entire piece was just fantastic.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review