Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

9th August 2011:
There was something about Harry finally breaking down into tears with finding out Colin's death that made this entry quite an emotional one. It really felt like for the first time in his life, he really, honestly appreciated Colin and how much the boy looked up to him in his life. He even wanted to battle like Harry would. That must be the most touching part of the story.

I loved this story a great deal. Colin is a far too overlooked character and you proved to everyone who has read this little piece that he is capable of very much when depicted by a talented quill user.

I must also praise you for your bravery on using Harry and Ron as characters in this story as well. It's not easy to tackle with them when we know SO much about their mannerisms, their way of talking, thinking, acting. I don't think I could ever achieve them properly. But you did. And quite well I might add!


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hello,
Another amazing story by theelderwand. I don't expect anything less anymore.

I really love how you took a different angle within a different angle. Many have not done a Colin story but you went a step further and made it from another minor character's POV. It is very well done, I actually don't have a single thing I would change to make this story better.

On top of that, it was truly heartbreaking. The last few lines had me in tears, they really hit the heart.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
aww. this was so touching. :(

good one though! well written!

~AD

P.S. 30th chp done!! wohhoo!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
This was one of those overly emotional stories that just prove to you how heroic anyone of any age can be. I love the way you wrote Colin and Wood they both seemed to in character and the camera part had me nearly in tears.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
Collin was a true hero! Saving the Life of Oliver and being willing to fight even when it seems all is lost. *wipes away tear*

 Report Review

Review #6, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

21st August 2010:
I too lost my battle with tears at the end, I always loved Colin. Despite not being set at Hogwarts the ties with the story were so carefully woven I could not help but be amazed. I doubt Harry would have been able to remain tearless following the death of his younger friend, and you've captured both his strength and how he felt about Colin so perfectly, I have nothing but praise for this fic.

The flashback being from Wood's perspective worked well, seeing his death from this perspective worked as it was never mention who he died in the presence of and in the end, his death was fitting to his personality, standing in a friends place was something Colin would have done. The camera was a nice touch, it was this moving tribute to Colin's love of taking photos that had me in tears in the end.

Overall the piece was exceptionally well written and beautifully moving, yet haunting at the same time. It truly was a remarkable piece to have read. Keep up the amazing work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #7, by Drummergirlred 

18th August 2010:
I could have cried reading this story. I like that this is much later after the final battle and is looking back. Having Harry get the camera was an emotional moment but very nice. I enjoyed reading this.

 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
This was a very good story. I liked how you did it a bit different than alot of people by bringing in the present with the past. The bit with the camera was the final moment for me, and my heart broke for both Harry and Oliver. You did a wonderful job at bringing out the characters (from both sides of the fight). Great job!!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by writeyourheartout 

7th August 2010:
Oh Eldy... What a truly lovely story. I love everything you've done here, from the well-kept secret that was Colin's death, to the heroic and selfless way in which he died, to the reactions his death provoked even five years after it occurred.

"...a heavy snow began to blanket the orchard in white." Ah, right from the very first line you capture us with this seemingly simple event. It's your magnificent way with words that immediately draw me in and having me holding on tight to every syllable written. What an incredible Gift (haha) you showcase here! And this is just an example from the very first line of text! There are countless others as well.

The build of this story was so wonderful, so fluid. Before we even get to Colin's arrival in the tale you have me beyond curious to know what is going on, what happened that caused Colin's death to be kept secret? My anticipation was present from the very start and it only exponentially increased the further I read!

"Just like Harry." - Oh God, there is nothing like a perfect, simple set of three words to just rip my heart out with an unbearable force of power. And this was so spot-on Colin Creevey. You captured that boys heart, which is of an incredible size, so really well done. Such a small, scrawny little boy with such a large, unstoppable heart... I mean, what a pure soul Colin Creevey has, and this story only escalated his case. I could picture this being exactly how he did pass away... an act of pure selflessness and bravery from a kid no one had really put any faith in. And there he is, saving Oliver Wood's life through his own sacrifice... Stunning.

Not only that, but your description of the action scene here is so perfectly strung together that it had my heart pumping faster with anticipation - something that does not often happen to me. You know exactly how to bring a battle to life and keep a reader on the edge of their seat, which is so difficult to do. So many try, yet few prevail, but you, my friend, just broke through that barrier with elegant ease.

And then the gift... Colin's camera... Gah! You just know that Colin would have wanted Harry to have it. That boy looked up to Harry so faithfully, of course he'd want him to have his most prized possession... And also, I am so deliciously satisfied with your choice to have Harry so incredibly and heavily impacted by little Colin Creevey, and you just know that that boy is up in heaven beyond ecstatic that he made a true and lasting impression on Harry Potter's heart.

This piece is so beautiful. The simplicity of the story line powered by these perfectly placed words and structures just gave the piece so much impact, which was only increased by the incredible believability of your flawless characterizations. Ron, Harry, Oliver, and Colin were all so accurate and so in character that this might have been a scene taken from their real lives after the battle.

A simply stunning piece. Thank you for sharing it with us.
xTanya

 Report Review

Review #10, by melian 

30th July 2010:
You know, I've been looking forward to reading this, and it didn't disappoint. Brilliantly done, particularly the way it was told in retrospect, five years after the fact. It made it all the more poignant, I think, especially as we witnessed Harry's reaction to the tale that had hitherto not been told.

I thought the battle scene itself was very well done, and the pointless tragedy that was Colin taking the curse for Oliver really illustrated what happens in war and how unfair it all is. My favourite bit, though (aside from the poignant ending), was the image of Neville bringing his band of fighters in, their "wands aflame with curses". It was so vivid with so few words. Oh, and that part where Oliver complained internally that he'd been given Ravenclaws to command - a lovely touch given this was written for the House Cup.

Excellent job!! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by siledubhghlase 

27th June 2010:
TEW:

First, you have a typo: Chidlren's Crusade. Second: It's a fateful day; not a faithful day. Now on to the good stuff...

Wow. Creevey died to save Wood. Another "what would Harry do" moment for a DA member. Colin did what Harry would have done, too. I have to wonder if Colin's sacrifice affected Oliver the way Harry's affected the whole or the way Lily's...and James'...affected Harry. If you ask me, I think it was more than Lily's sacrifice that imbued Harry with that protection...

The camera. I wonder if there was film inside to be developed. What would it show? The DA hiding out in the RoR? Evidence of the Carrows' crimes against the students? Battle scenes?

I thought it was interesting that Oliver snarled about "why didn't McGonagall give me a team of Gryffindors," and there was Colin to take the AK for him, and then Neville's squad showed up. I guess it's a lesson about being careful what you ask for because you just might get it. But there's always a cost, isn't there? A Gryffindor died for him and several more helped shore up his line.

Actually, I think this could be dressed out a little more. Maybe a more emotional accounting from Oliver to Harry in the form of a flashback about what happened rather than just the narrative. I think it might have more impact, and then return to the present to reveal "The Gift." I'm not saying this wasn't good, because it is, but I think it could be so much more.

I've marked this story as a Favorite, so at some point, I'll go back and read the whole thing. Maybe my attitude will change? But seriously, this is a good chapter, but it needs more emotion, I think.

Good job, though.

SD

 Report Review

Review #12, by RonsGirlFriday 

27th June 2010:
I like this take on the story of Colin's participation, and framing it with this scene of Ron and Harry was a nice touch. But I particularly like the idea that Oliver didn't tell anyone about it for 5 years. It adds quite a bit to Oliver's characterization and helps illustrate the gravity of the situation. Great job. :-)

Melanie

 Report Review

Review #13, by 1917farmgirl 

25th June 2010:
Second time's the charm, right? So, let me try this again.

Wow.

Just wow.

That was one of the most powerful things I have ever read. I'm not even sure I have words to describe how it affected me, so I guess I will start with something I DO know how to do, praising the author.

Eldy, you're writing never ceases to amaze me. The power and punch you can pack into something without it seaming like you are trying. It reads effortlessly and reaches in and grabs your heart. You are simply one of THE best authors I have ever read, and you keep getting better! Ever new thing I read from you is slightly better than the last and I come away going no idea how he's gonna top that one, and then you do! Brilliant! Amazing!

The story itself... It was heartbreaking. Seriously. You owe me several packages of tissues now. I loved that you focused on Oliver to tell the story. It was nice to see how incharacter he was, and yet also how he had grown up. (Besides, I've always liked him.)

Harry's reaction was just gripping. I understand completely how he feels. I do the same thing. When things overwhelm me and I can't deal with them I push them aside until it gets to the point they just have to break and then everything chrashes down. Reading that part with Harry and seeing him finally let it all out - it was almost a relief amidst the huge, aching sorrow.

And I'm so glad you had Ron there for him during it. Ginny seems like the logical choice, but Ron was so much more right. Loved it.

Also loved that you let Neville in on the story. Have a soft spot for him in my heart.

Poor, poor Collin. I'm so glad you made him a hero.

Eldy, thanks again for such a lovely fic. You really have a gift (pun intended) for this and I'm glad you take the time to share it with us! Keep up the good work, putting the rest of us to shame!

 Report Review

Review #14, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
Damnit. I have tears in my eyes. None of the other pieces affected me this much.

In DH there is a line about how Colin looks 'tiny, even in death' (or something along those lines). This made me think of that. And it's just so sad that he had to die that way.

More than that, you also showed us a side of Oliver that we rarely get to see. You kept him in character, yet you could see that innate goodness in him.

That was so sad that the gift ended up being Colin's camera. Sad, but utterly brilliant, as was the rest of this.

 Report Review

Review #15, by CessZ 

18th June 2010:
Wow...that was SO touching...!!!
n like the other Gryffies I dont find u evil :P
u r too good with ur words...

 Report Review

Review #16, by butterbeergal 

18th June 2010:
Awesome job, TEW. I already have some idea of the quality of your work, and you've proven once again how good you really are. I honestly haven't thought much of Colin, but you've depicted him so well here, and you wrote his death in the most honorable of ways. For Oliver to have been the one to witness it just made it all the more poignant.

Great, great one-shot. ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by JLHufflepuff 

18th June 2010:
This is a really awesome concept. It's cool that the story is viewed as a flashback almost. You set up Colin's death to be really emotional for all involved. I like it that he died valiantly, and there seemed to be a good bond formed between him and Oliver. Harry's emotions over the whole thing are what make this superb.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Adrielne 

18th June 2010:
Wow.

This is really all I can say. Eldy, you told us we'd hate you for this, but I don't - this is a marvelous piece of writing and I can see how this would really be a big thing for Harry and Ron. The camera was the perfect final touch...

Moving and heartbreaking, but in a very hopeful way.

 Report Review

Review #19, by ericajen 

18th June 2010:
TEW! Why are you so amazing? This was... fantastic. Wow. I loved it. The way you made Oliver a part of Colin's death was really nice. I knew that he helped carry him, but I never thought of him as so involved with the actual ocurrence. I also really liked that it was a flashback from the tale Oliver told Harry. I think that made it special. Plus the camera thing at the end, that was really something. Great job! (:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review